Back

Customer Reviews

Average rating: 4.5out of 5 stars
4.5 out of 5 | 53 reviews
5 stars
35
4 stars
15
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 stars
1
Sort by: 
1-20 of 50 reviews
1-20 of 50 reviews
This is the one you need
1/5/2013
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
At this point, I have only used it once - and am satisfied. From experience, this works great with a 6-8" snowfall. It also does a good job of completely removing the snow, and not leaving residual snow behind. I am very glad I went with the 208cc instead of the 179cc I was considering. For a $100 difference, the larger motor (and headlight!) are worth it. The electric start is a great feature too. Past my driveway, there is a small section of gravel - and when I was clearing that part, I heard noises 30+ feet away ..... it was gravel hitting mailboxes from this blower. So I had to be more careful and not let the blades get so close to the ground off of the pavement. Also beware of welcome mats that may be buried under the snow .... found that out the hard way. During the first use it will blow snow further after 5-10 minutes of use (I read this in the manual and it is true.) Also mine came with some oil already in it - so you will only have to add a little your first time. This blower is making me anxious for the next heavy snow fall!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (39)No (16)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Great machine at the best price.
1/25/2012
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
If you go to www.mtd.com you can see who sells what models. Wal-Mart has the same models for about the same price if not better then others & has the headlight! I bought this model in Sept. & was super easy to set up. 98% assembled. Put on the handle & chute, double check the oil to be sure & fill the gas tank. Itried the electric start, but haven't needed to use it since it starts so easy. Usually on the 1st. or 2nd. pull. Then I turn the choke to the halfway position for about 15 to 30 seconds & then to full open. Once I turn it off, I always turn the choke back on, leave the key in it, slide the slow/fast (Run) lever back to fast (Run.) Then I leave it outside & just cover it well with a full size tarp. I'm going to get the cover for it though. This is a great machine at a great price. The only thing I don't like it the super slow Reverse on it, but when you release the drive handle, push down slightly it pulls back very easy on it's large enough wheels. Most machine have slow reverse because you are backing up a snowblower on snow & ice. If you went too fast & slipped you could get hurt. Awesome machine & made in the USA!!! Below it asks how often do I use it. I use it when ever needed as not even the weatherman can tell me how many times it will snow per week or month...
Was this review helpful?
Yes (36)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Just in time.
2/12/2013
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
Just purchased this at the end of January to replace my 28 year old MTD single stage snow blower, that needed a new carb because of the new E-10 gasoline. I did not realize that you need to add ethylalcohol gas treatment to your gas at all times now. I just mix the treatment in the 5 gallon gas can every time i fill it up from here on out.I live in Webster N.Y.on lake Ontario just outside of Rochester, and we just got hit with some major snow this past weekend and the new snow blower cut it like a hot knife throught butter. Checked out many snow blowers on line and at Sears, Home Depot, Lowes, and the local small shops. Was considering a similar sized Sno-Tek, but read some bad reviews about plastic gears in the auger assembly. Read good things about the PowerMore engine, and i knew that Yardman MTD were built to last from past experience . Also checked out what Consumer Reports had to say about the model i had purchased, and it was all good.The Sno-Tek had better snow shoot controls, but i wanted a snowblower that will last me another 28 years, and not one that mite last 28 months.Snowblower from Wal-mart with free delivery $598, chompin through 2.5 ft. of snow and ice at the end of the driveway like a spoon through lumpy oatmeal,PRICELESS !!!!!!!!! P.S. set was easy , about 15 minutes. Mine came with oil,but its always a good idea to check it anyway.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (23)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
All around great value, excellent snow blower
12/27/2013
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
Site to store pick-up, fully assembled, oil already in it, just had to add the gas & go! This Snow Blower totally exceeded my expectations 10 fold! Living in the snow belt with Lake Effect snow showers, it plowed through a 10" accumulation like a breeze. For me, having had 5 back surgeries, it handles like a charm with no effort on my behalf. TOTALLY LOVE this blower, so happy I chose this one over the many I compared :)
Was this review helpful?
Yes (41)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Love This!
12/27/2013
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
I love my new snow blower! My husband passed away almost 3 years ago and I needed something that was easy to use and operate. My old snow blower decided to quit on me in last year's huge snow storm and I recently went out to purchase this one and am so glad I did! It's saved me so much time already plowing my driveway and very long sidewalk! I would definately recommend this product!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (19)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Good thrower
11/11/2011
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
It is easy to assemble. And it worked very well on the heavy and wet snow like we got in October this year.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (57)No (4)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Great Machine
2/5/2014
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I was really impressed today 2/5/14 with this machine. We had a 8 inch snow fall and then it rained, making this snow extremely heavy. I thought that I was going to have problems removing this snow, but this machine went through it very easily. I did spray the exhaust shoot with silicone and I never had one jam. The electric starter in a great feature and works perfectly. and this engine has a lot of power.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (24)No (2)
Report
Was this review helpful?
A VERY GOOD SNOW BLOWER.
12/14/2013
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
HAS AN ELECTIC START, WORKS WELL. ALSO VERY EASY TO START MANUALLY, 1ST PULL. AND DOES HANDLE THE SNOW (9") WITH EASE .
Was this review helpful?
Yes (15)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Good Snowblower
12/14/2013
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
Does an excellent job at clearing snow. Works best on flat, level surfaces. My only complaint is that it's difficult to turn due to its weight, even when the auger is engaged. Overall, it does a great job. Starts without a problem.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (13)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
very good
12/23/2012
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I came home from Phx to the White Mountains and found 14 inches of wet snow in my driveway. I went into the garage and plugged the electric start in and the machine fired right up, the first time I had started it. It handled this snow easily, never plugged up. I went slow but in one hour all of my driveway was done. In the past it would have tqaken me 4 hours to shovel it. No back ache now. Love the machine, well built and easy to handle.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (10)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Good machine. great price.
2/16/2014
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
The machine does a great job. The day I got it, it snowed the next 3 days. We had 18 inches the 1st day, 6-8 inches 2nd day and 1 inch of wet snow the 3rd day. It threw the snow over 20 feet.The wet snow about 3 feet. It clogged only one time in those 3 days. The machine didn't labor or rev up. it ran the same when it was cutting or just running. My neighbor said it sounded quieter then his. It's a little tough to spin it around. the wheels seem to have some resistance. I was a little disappointed.I tried to pull start it the first time and it wouldn't start. I used the electric started right up. Had to put more gas in shut it off. Took about 12-15 pulls to get it running again. It looks like you need full throttle and 1 or 2 clicks of choke and no priming . I've got it down to 2-3 pulls now. It seems to need very little choke even when it's cold. The starter pulls through very easily. When the plow came by and piled 2 feet high of snow at the end of my driveway. It went easily through it. I'm very happy with the machine. I have an MTD 2 cycle one stage electric start 21 inch snowblower I had for 20 years. It still works well. I changed the spark plug for the first time in that 20 years. I'm giving the machine to my daughter. I'm very happy with MTD Products.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (9)No (1)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Good snow blower
12/22/2013
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
I have only used it 3 times this year so far but it works well. The only complaint I have is that the reverse gears 1 and 2 are slow.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (18)No (2)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Good value.
10/5/2012
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Overall very good. I purchased as a gift for my Son. It was delivered on time and assembled very easy . It started easy and runs well. The only dissapointment was that the light did not have an on/off switch. The light is always on when running.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (8)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Wish I'd had it years ago!
12/26/2013
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
I'll keep it short. In my opinion, this is a great machine. It took all of 5 minutes to get it out of the crate, assembled and ready to run. Everything works as advertised. I am very happy with the whole experience.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (8)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Great Buy!!!
12/18/2011
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Great Buy but big! Big is cool. After getting it unpacked and a little minor assembly (make sure you adjust the skid shoes on each side!), filled it full of gas and it started on the first 1/2 pull! (which is very easy also). Another bonus it came with electric start (I don't remember reading that on the description) but very handy also.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (28)No (8)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Good Buy for the price
12/18/2011
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I purchased the 'Yard machines 24" Two Stage Snow Thrower' from Walmart online and picked up from the local store. The store associates were so helpful and a couple of guys loaded it into my van without any waiting. It needs little bit of assembly but fairly simple. The only problem was the manual is a generic one for all their models, and there is no model number to identify them!! So I had to compare different diagrams, with my machine and finally could find the right assembly procedure!! Filled up the gas and oil. It started on the first try. The electric start is a nice feature too and every thing looks fine. I am waiting for the first snow fall to try it out. In short, so far everything looks fine and is a good buy for the price.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (3)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Ready out of the box.
12/24/2011
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
The snow blower was easy to put together. Put the gas in, and with the electric start, the blower started right away. Hoping that there will be some snow to test out the snow blower.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (12)No (4)
Report
Was this review helpful?
So Far so good!
1/22/2012
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I've used it once so far this winter, about four inches of snow. Easy to control and start, well powered throwing snow thirty feet. Love the electric start!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (11)No (4)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Easy to put together, Snow Blower
11/11/2013
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
Snow Blower, easy to put together. No Snow yet, but started right up. Had a previous 22" MTD Snow Blower just a step down, from this one. Price, size, light is why I bought this model. Looks impressive, w/shoes, and past experience w/this American made product.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (10)No (4)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Good Product
3/25/2014
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Purchased the Blower on 2/21/14; I have a single stage unit that I have used for 15 + years. The singe stage unit was a two stroker; worked great on the light fluffy snow. However when the snow was wet it was useless. Always wanted the two stage blower; but never got around to getting one. I have used the blower now on three snowstorms; they have not been too deep just around 6" each. I love the electric start feature. This blower will throw some snow; even when it is wet. The only thing that I would suggest is to install a switch on the light. Easy job; just mount the switch on the panel and wire it inline on one of the wires to the light. I think that will make the lamp last a lot longer. Get the switch at Radio shack. Also I recommend to change the glides; the stock ones are wimpy and will not traverse well on gravel or imperfections in the sidewalk and they dig into grass. I bought a pair from Home Depot called Armor glides; they cost slightly more than the stock replacements. I paid $35 for the pair; free shipping to the store. They work great; and will protect the housing because they are a foot long and bolt right up using the same bolts. They are an inch wide; and work great on sidewalk joints; grass and gravel without causing any problems. They remind me of a pair of skis on the front; slightly protruding forward to protect the housing from damage when you bump something. After the five hour break in period and before I retire the unit for the season I will put Mobil 1; 5w30 synthetic and top off the tank with an extra dose of Stabil.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (2)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Electrode, Comp-184641780, DC-prod-dfw4, ENV-prod-a, PROF-PROD, VER-8.12.5, SHA-f8bb53b0cf6e9da799126d89d3bcede34110bf32, CID-