Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 30 reviews | 3.1 out of 5

3.0 stars

30 reviews | 3.1 out of 5

3.0 stars

30 reviews | 3.1 out of 5

57%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
11
4 stars
5
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 stars
12
1-20 of 30 total reviews
57%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 30 total reviews
1-20 of 30 reviews
I loved it!
8/5/2016

Customer review by MrsWaters

5.0 stars 8/5/2016 by MrsWaters
by MrsWaters

Ive had this straighter almost 7 years and I'm just now getting ready to order another one! it worked amazingly great! I have very thick hair and it was so hard to keep straight or do anything with and this straighter could do it all!!!

MrsWaters
NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Loved It
8/5/2016

Customer review by Nicole

5.0 stars 8/5/2016 by Nicole
by Nicole

I have had this one for almost 7 years now and it just quit. IT was amazing and worked how I wanted my hair! Best Hair Straighter I have ever owned!!!!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Nicole
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
BEST STRAIGHTENER EVER!
8/1/2016

Customer review by Jaidyn

5.0 stars 8/1/2016 by Jaidyn
by Jaidyn

I love it.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Jaidyn
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
fantastic
11/21/2011

Customer review by picotinette

5.0 stars 11/21/2011 by picotinette
by picotinette

just bought it two weeks ago , and my hair its very curly . so i decide to try n it actually work . my hair is not frizzy for a week now until my next shampoo. but i love it . i also try the 3 days straight , when i use the flat iron it make my hair smooth n not frizzy.

Was this review helpful? (56) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
picotinette
deland,fl
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
GREAT,GREAT,GREAT product!!!!!!!
8/6/2012

Customer review by handyhelpergirl

5.0 stars 8/6/2012 by handyhelpergirl
by handyhelpergirl

I absolutely love this flat iron!! works great, this takes half the time to straighten myy hair than myy last one and it leaves my hair soft and shiney(: it also is light and myy straight hair lasts through the dayy without getting frizzy.

Was this review helpful? (31) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
handyhelpergirl
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Badly Placed Power Button
10/15/2012

Customer review by EmmaLee123

1.0 stars 10/15/2012 by EmmaLee123
by EmmaLee123

When you use this straightner it's hard not to turn it off or turn the temperature down when gripping the handle. It was poorly designed and I returned it.

Was this review helpful? (20) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
EmmaLee123
Roanoke, VA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Ineffective and poorly designed
10/11/2015

Customer review by Lily059

2.0 stars 10/11/2015 by Lily059
by Lily059

I bought this hair straightener in a hurry without really looking at the reviews for it or any background information. I was very disappointed with the product. I like the idea of having custom heat settings, but it is overcomplicated and too difficult to know which temperature to use, so a simple high, medium, low would have been a lot better. The placement of the buttons makes absolutely no sense. If the buttons are all over the top of the flat iron then where am I supposed to put my hand to hold it? Once I had finally manoeuvred my hand into a position where I could straighten my hair without turning it off or the temperature up or down, I found that the hair straightener itself didn't do much for my hair. I have very thick, frizzy hair and even after blow waving it, I was still left with wavy, burnt smelling hair. I would definitely not recommend getting this product, I would Get anotHer proDuct instead.

Lily059
Melbourne, VIC
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Female
Poor design. Not worth the money.
2/7/2012

Customer review by Kyle

1.0 stars 2/7/2012 by Kyle
by Kyle

I go through cheaper straighteners fairly often, so I decided to splurge a little and get something that might perform better and last longer. I have been very impressed with John Frieda products (I swear by the 3 Day Straight spray), so I thought this straightener would be a knock-out. My first problem with it is that the control buttons are in an awful location and it is absolutely impossible to hold without lowering the heat or turning it off completely. This is terribly annoying and I wish I had returned it after the first time I used it for that reason alone. I am also extremely disappointed in the overall performance of this tool. I thought being by such a good brand and for the price that my hair would look much better--shinier and straighter. It is really no different than a tool half its price, and in fact I don't even think it straightens my hair as well as the last brand that I went with. I am very, very, very disappointed and regret falling for the 'better name must mean better product' and 'highest price must mean more for your money' ideologies.

Kyle
Pennsylvania
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Female
Do Not Buy!
10/3/2012

Customer review by PURPLEBEAR85

1.0 stars 10/3/2012 by PURPLEBEAR85
by PURPLEBEAR85

The on/off switch gets pushed as you are trying to use the straightener and it doesn't straighten very well at all! Taking it back!!

Was this review helpful? (10) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
PURPLEBEAR85
Texas
Would recommend to a friend? No
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Awkward buttons, but fantastic straightener
8/23/2012

Customer review by Berg525

5.0 stars 8/23/2012 by Berg525
by Berg525

I have severely damaged hair from a botched Brazilian Keratin Treatment, so I try to avoid heat products as much as possible but from time to time, need to straighten it. The last 3 straightening irons I've bought would literally drag across my hair ripping every weak end and strand out. So to say the least my ends continued to look very fried no matter how many products I used to smooth them. I recently switched to the Full Repair line and was pleased with the results so I decided to give their straightener a try. No snagging, ripping or breaking of my damaged ends! Sure the on/off switch is in an odd position but it was truly worth finding a new way to hold it. I haven't felt this confident since before the bkt. I threw every other product and straightener out I could find in my bathroom and have began restocking with John Frieda products only.

Berg525
Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Was not impressed...
10/1/2013

Customer review by mizell73

3.0 stars 10/1/2013 by mizell73
by mizell73

I bought this straight iron 2 days ago and I am returning it. The on/off switch is on the handle where you hold it and I kept turning it off while trying to use it. It also seemed to make my hair drier even though I use a heat protector. I've used Conair in the past and had much better results.

Was this review helpful? (6) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
mizell73
Holden, LA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great Straightener
1/9/2014

Customer review by Lovely90

4.0 stars 1/9/2014 by Lovely90
by Lovely90

The only thing that I don't like is were the switches are it make it hard to straightener your hair without turning it off by accident other then that its a great product I have used it once so far and made my hair feel so soft and shiny. Thanks John Frieda.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Lovely90
Coconut Creek, Fl
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
10/10/2013

Customer review by An anonymous customer

4.0 stars 10/10/2013 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

love the straightener., great product!! .....but come on Walmart .....you shipped just one in a HUGE cardboard box that was big enough for at least fifty of them!

Was this review helpful? (6) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
An anonymous customer
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
piece of junk - stopped working after 2 weeks
12/29/2015

Customer review by VanessaO

1.0 stars 12/29/2015 by VanessaO
by VanessaO

This flatiron is a piece of junk. It stopped even turning on after about 2 weeks, with minimal use (maybe a couple of times). Design is terrible, the controls are placed directly where you hold the iron while using it, which means you are changing the temperature or turing the unit on and off while trying to use it. The company will only replace it with a new iron if you pay to ship it to Arizona AND pay 5.00 to process the exchange even though it was a factory defect. The last thing I want to do is pay MORE for this junk. I bought another iron and threw this in the trash where it belongs.

VanessaO
MA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Female
Jon Freida flat iron
9/29/2015

Customer review by Tlstlb2

4.0 stars 9/29/2015 by Tlstlb2
by Tlstlb2

Why would they make a flat iron with buttons on the barrel? Every time you use it you change the temperature inadvertently. It's a great flat iron but the design was not well thought out

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Tlstlb2
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
This is the worst purchase ever
11/24/2015

Customer review by chelsea12

1.0 stars 11/24/2015 by chelsea12
by chelsea12

Do not but this. I am honestly astonished this is even on the market. I never write reviews anywhere but I was so utterly disappointed and angry that I had to. This blatantly did not even straighten my hair I have such manageable hair that is relatively thin and not hard to straighten whats so ever. It normally takes me 5 mins to straighten my hair but this iron took me half a century on the highest heat setting.

chelsea12
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Female
Junk Straightener
1/26/2016

Customer review by Pixie

1.0 stars 1/26/2016 by Pixie
by Pixie

This straightener is junk, I will not ever use it again and I just got it and used one time. I wish I would have read the reviews before I even bought or even opened and used it, because I wouldn't have and now I stuck with it and it was a waste of money and now I am out the money and NO straightener. It is awful and the worse straightener I have ever bought.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Pixie
Would recommend to a friend? No
Good
1/24/2016

Customer review by Jenny

5.0 stars 1/24/2016 by Jenny
by Jenny

It is perfect

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Jenny
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Bad placement of controls
10/1/2012

Customer review by SusanfromWisconsin

1.0 stars 10/1/2012 by SusanfromWisconsin
by SusanfromWisconsin

I've recently purchased the Sleek Finish flat iron, model JFS1.....and it works fine as long as you don't touch the controls on the handle - which is impossible to do!! Whomever did the design for this didn't think about FORM & FUNCTION!! I turn it on and it heats up quickly, but since the on/off switch is also part of the temperature switch - guess what happens? You either end up turning the iron off while you are working on your hair, or the temperature doesn't stay at the spot that you set it on. I am not happy with this purchase, but since I am on unemployment I don't have lots of money to spend on yet another replacement - as this was a replacement for my other flat iron that died after several years. I think that the company really ought to have REAL STYLISTS try out the products they are going to sell to see if there are any function issues with it - and IF they HAD done just that....this particular brand shouldn't have made it to market! POOR DESIGN!!! It would be great if the company would issue everyone who has bought this piece of junk, a new one that doesn't have function problems like this brand does!! WHY in the world would you put the long skinny button the whole length down where you hold the implement and squeeze together the wand? THUMBS DOWN on this product! I wish I hadn't wasted my money on it and bought some other brand that the controls don't get accidentally pushed all the time while using it. :(

SusanfromWisconsin
Kenosha, WI
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Female
You're new flatiron rocks!!
1/6/2013

Customer review by Robininwillows49

5.0 stars 1/6/2013 by Robininwillows49
by Robininwillows49

We had a our old flatiron for 5 yrs and it recently broke. I was disappointed until I found John Friedas' flatiron at Walmart. I didn't know anything about John Frieda or the new flatirons on the market but took a chance and so glad I did. I have "problem hair" which means, even after I flatiron my hair, it will get frizzy later bec of humidity. After I use the John Frieda flatiron, my hair is super soft and silky and does not get frizzy. Even my daughter noticed the difference. Thank you, Robin

Robininwillows49
Willows, Ca
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
1-20 of 30 total reviews
1-20 of 30 reviews