Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 33 reviews | 3 out of 5

3.0 stars

33 reviews | 3 out of 5

3.0 stars

33 reviews | 3 out of 5

55%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
11
4 stars
6
3 stars
1
2 stars
2
1 stars
13
1-20 of 33 total reviews
55%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 33 total reviews
1-20 of 33 reviews
Controls in a terrible place
1/31/2017

Customer review by Leonie

2.0 stars 1/31/2017 by Leonie
by Leonie

The iron is absolutely great but the controls completely ruin it. The buttons are on the handles so you're constantly turning off or changing the temp by accident. I hate using it but have no choice, it is so unreliable.

Leonie
Australia
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Female
Horrible
11/22/2016

Customer review by Perez19

1.0 stars 11/22/2016 by Perez19
by Perez19

If I could give this no stars I would!!! It literally takes me almost two hours to even try to turn it on. It is by far the worst thing I've ever purchased and so frustrating! If you aren't looking for a straightener DO NOT buy this one. I'm sorry for the. Bad review but not everyone has money to be throwing around and this is not worth your money!!

Perez19
Long Beach ca
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Female
Ineffective and poorly designed
10/11/2015

Customer review by Lily059

2.0 stars 10/11/2015 by Lily059
by Lily059

I bought this hair straightener in a hurry without really looking at the reviews for it or any background information. I was very disappointed with the product. I like the idea of having custom heat settings, but it is overcomplicated and too difficult to know which temperature to use, so a simple high, medium, low would have been a lot better. The placement of the buttons makes absolutely no sense. If the buttons are all over the top of the flat iron then where am I supposed to put my hand to hold it? Once I had finally manoeuvred my hand into a position where I could straighten my hair without turning it off or the temperature up or down, I found that the hair straightener itself didn't do much for my hair. I have very thick, frizzy hair and even after blow waving it, I was still left with wavy, burnt smelling hair. I would definitely not recommend getting this product, I would Get anotHer proDuct instead.

Lily059
Melbourne, VIC
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Female
Poor design. Not worth the money.
2/7/2012

Customer review by Kyle

1.0 stars 2/7/2012 by Kyle
by Kyle

I go through cheaper straighteners fairly often, so I decided to splurge a little and get something that might perform better and last longer. I have been very impressed with John Frieda products (I swear by the 3 Day Straight spray), so I thought this straightener would be a knock-out. My first problem with it is that the control buttons are in an awful location and it is absolutely impossible to hold without lowering the heat or turning it off completely. This is terribly annoying and I wish I had returned it after the first time I used it for that reason alone. I am also extremely disappointed in the overall performance of this tool. I thought being by such a good brand and for the price that my hair would look much better--shinier and straighter. It is really no different than a tool half its price, and in fact I don't even think it straightens my hair as well as the last brand that I went with. I am very, very, very disappointed and regret falling for the 'better name must mean better product' and 'highest price must mean more for your money' ideologies.

Kyle
Pennsylvania
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Female
Awkward buttons, but fantastic straightener
8/23/2012

Customer review by Berg525

5.0 stars 8/23/2012 by Berg525
by Berg525

I have severely damaged hair from a botched Brazilian Keratin Treatment, so I try to avoid heat products as much as possible but from time to time, need to straighten it. The last 3 straightening irons I've bought would literally drag across my hair ripping every weak end and strand out. So to say the least my ends continued to look very fried no matter how many products I used to smooth them. I recently switched to the Full Repair line and was pleased with the results so I decided to give their straightener a try. No snagging, ripping or breaking of my damaged ends! Sure the on/off switch is in an odd position but it was truly worth finding a new way to hold it. I haven't felt this confident since before the bkt. I threw every other product and straightener out I could find in my bathroom and have began restocking with John Frieda products only.

Berg525
Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
I loved it!
8/5/2016

Customer review by MrsWaters

5.0 stars 8/5/2016 by MrsWaters
by MrsWaters

Ive had this straighter almost 7 years and I'm just now getting ready to order another one! it worked amazingly great! I have very thick hair and it was so hard to keep straight or do anything with and this straighter could do it all!!!

MrsWaters
NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
piece of junk - stopped working after 2 weeks
12/29/2015

Customer review by VanessaO

1.0 stars 12/29/2015 by VanessaO
by VanessaO

This flatiron is a piece of junk. It stopped even turning on after about 2 weeks, with minimal use (maybe a couple of times). Design is terrible, the controls are placed directly where you hold the iron while using it, which means you are changing the temperature or turing the unit on and off while trying to use it. The company will only replace it with a new iron if you pay to ship it to Arizona AND pay 5.00 to process the exchange even though it was a factory defect. The last thing I want to do is pay MORE for this junk. I bought another iron and threw this in the trash where it belongs.

VanessaO
MA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Female
Bad placement of controls
10/1/2012

Customer review by SusanfromWisconsin

1.0 stars 10/1/2012 by SusanfromWisconsin
by SusanfromWisconsin

I've recently purchased the Sleek Finish flat iron, model JFS1.....and it works fine as long as you don't touch the controls on the handle - which is impossible to do!! Whomever did the design for this didn't think about FORM & FUNCTION!! I turn it on and it heats up quickly, but since the on/off switch is also part of the temperature switch - guess what happens? You either end up turning the iron off while you are working on your hair, or the temperature doesn't stay at the spot that you set it on. I am not happy with this purchase, but since I am on unemployment I don't have lots of money to spend on yet another replacement - as this was a replacement for my other flat iron that died after several years. I think that the company really ought to have REAL STYLISTS try out the products they are going to sell to see if there are any function issues with it - and IF they HAD done just that....this particular brand shouldn't have made it to market! POOR DESIGN!!! It would be great if the company would issue everyone who has bought this piece of junk, a new one that doesn't have function problems like this brand does!! WHY in the world would you put the long skinny button the whole length down where you hold the implement and squeeze together the wand? THUMBS DOWN on this product! I wish I hadn't wasted my money on it and bought some other brand that the controls don't get accidentally pushed all the time while using it. :(

SusanfromWisconsin
Kenosha, WI
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Female
This is the worst purchase ever
11/24/2015

Customer review by chelsea12

1.0 stars 11/24/2015 by chelsea12
by chelsea12

Do not but this. I am honestly astonished this is even on the market. I never write reviews anywhere but I was so utterly disappointed and angry that I had to. This blatantly did not even straighten my hair I have such manageable hair that is relatively thin and not hard to straighten whats so ever. It normally takes me 5 mins to straighten my hair but this iron took me half a century on the highest heat setting.

chelsea12
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Female
You're new flatiron rocks!!
1/6/2013

Customer review by Robininwillows49

5.0 stars 1/6/2013 by Robininwillows49
by Robininwillows49

We had a our old flatiron for 5 yrs and it recently broke. I was disappointed until I found John Friedas' flatiron at Walmart. I didn't know anything about John Frieda or the new flatirons on the market but took a chance and so glad I did. I have "problem hair" which means, even after I flatiron my hair, it will get frizzy later bec of humidity. After I use the John Frieda flatiron, my hair is super soft and silky and does not get frizzy. Even my daughter noticed the difference. Thank you, Robin

Robininwillows49
Willows, Ca
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Love the John Frieda straigtening iron but not the placement of controls
12/31/2013

Customer review by Wandi67

4.0 stars 12/31/2013 by Wandi67
by Wandi67

I bought the straightening iron because of what it does and it proved to be exactly what it described except that the controls are in the wrong place, each time I used the iron, I would touch the controls and change the temperature of it. I worked around it and was able to finish and I love the end result. I would recommend this product but the manufacturer should look into changing the placement of the controls.

Wandi67
Bronx, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Coating on heating element has worn off
12/2/2014

Customer review by curlymom

1.0 stars 12/2/2014 by curlymom
by curlymom

The coating (teflon?) has worn off of this product causing it to stick to the hair in a really bad way. Also, the controls are in the exact place you would put your thumb while using and it turns the heat down constantly. Poor design and quality. A waste of money.

curlymom
alabama
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Female
Very hard to use and turn off
5/6/2013

Customer review by seabrez48

1.0 stars 5/6/2013 by seabrez48
by seabrez48

This product is very hard to hold w/o accidently turning the temp down- if you dont keep watching it the temp can turn too low. Too easy to drop because you have to hold too close to the heating element. You have to hit the off button several times to get it to turn off

seabrez48
Port St Lucie, FL
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Female
BEST EVER !
4/28/2015

Customer review by AnnaCorrie

5.0 stars 4/28/2015 by AnnaCorrie
by AnnaCorrie

I've had my straightener for almost 5 years now, and it still works as amazing as it did when i first purchased it. I cannot wait to get the hair dryer and try it.

AnnaCorrie
South Carolina
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Works well, awkward control switch
9/9/2012

Customer review by Janna70

4.0 stars 9/9/2012 by Janna70
by Janna70

Product is one of the best that I have ever tried. BUT control switches are in a very awkward place on the handle as you constantly are changing the temp or turning it off. Redesign on control switch needed.

Janna70
Crowley, Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Terrible control placement.
11/11/2013

Customer review by Breanna

1.0 stars 11/11/2013 by Breanna
by Breanna

This is the worst straightener I have ever purchased. The controls are placed where it is near impossible to use without pressing buttons. I definitely expected more for the price.

Breanna
Lubbock, TX
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Female
This product has great features
7/4/2012

Customer review by HOLAGRRL

5.0 stars 7/4/2012 by HOLAGRRL
by HOLAGRRL

This product did exactly as it says: super-stick-straight hair! I've never found a better iron!!

HOLAGRRL
Westchester County, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
fantastic
11/21/2011

Customer review by picotinette

5.0 stars 11/21/2011 by picotinette
by picotinette

just bought it two weeks ago , and my hair its very curly . so i decide to try n it actually work . my hair is not frizzy for a week now until my next shampoo. but i love it . i also try the 3 days straight , when i use the flat iron it make my hair smooth n not frizzy.

Was this review helpful? (57) (11)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
picotinette
deland,fl
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
GREAT,GREAT,GREAT product!!!!!!!
8/6/2012

Customer review by handyhelpergirl

5.0 stars 8/6/2012 by handyhelpergirl
by handyhelpergirl

I absolutely love this flat iron!! works great, this takes half the time to straighten myy hair than myy last one and it leaves my hair soft and shiney(: it also is light and myy straight hair lasts through the dayy without getting frizzy.

Was this review helpful? (32) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
handyhelpergirl
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Badly Placed Power Button
10/15/2012

Customer review by EmmaLee123

1.0 stars 10/15/2012 by EmmaLee123
by EmmaLee123

When you use this straightner it's hard not to turn it off or turn the temperature down when gripping the handle. It was poorly designed and I returned it.

Was this review helpful? (23) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
EmmaLee123
Roanoke, VA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 33 total reviews
1-20 of 33 reviews