Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 158 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

4.5 stars

158 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

4.5 stars

158 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

100%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
113
4 stars
32
3 stars
3
2 stars
5
1 stars
5
1-20 of 157 total reviews
100%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 157 total reviews
1-20 of 157 reviews
HEAVY and BIG!!!!!
1/30/2017

Customer review by lisatoo

1.0 stars 1/30/2017 by lisatoo
by lisatoo

I am used to lifting heavy items(50lb feed sacks, 35lb saddles and hay bales) but this carseat takes my husband to lift it and he complains about the weight. And the base weighs as much as the seat itself. If you want to put it in and never take it out it will be ok but if you ever have to remove make sure to eat your Wheaties. It also is very big/cumbersome. I have a Ford Crew Cab F350 pickup and the front seat has to be pushed forward to fit child into seat-cannot just lift child in front of seat and place butt in, you have to turn child sideways and manuever in order to put into seat-very difficult. And the way carseat sits, the front part of base hangs way off the front of the truck seat if you sit base flush on seat. If you put seat to where back is correct then back part of base doesnt sit down onto seat!!! No matter what position there is a BIG gap where adult butt would normally sit on seat. It WILL NOT fit into our other vehicle which is a Dodge Challenger which has very roomy back seats-front seats have to be pushed up so far that person CANNOT sit in seat..

lisatoo
LOVE IT!!! Bought Two
1/6/2013

Customer review by Karin

5.0 stars 1/6/2013 by Karin
by Karin

I first bought this car seat in 2010, when it first came out, for my duaghter. Had bought an infant seat and then a convertible one. I saw this one and decided to buy it and try it out because my daughter had out grown her convertible one and I didn't want to keep buying car seats, since this one went up to a 100 lbs. Well she loved the seat and I loved it. When your child is forward facing, you can recline them when they fall asleep so that their head does not fall forward like with other car seats. Plus you can buy an extra base for a second car or a grandparents vehicle and just transfer the seat. Well we had my son in July 2012 and started out with the infant seat we had used with our daughter, which lasted her till she was 10 months. Well at 5 1/2 months my son was out growning it. I decided to buy him this seat because I loved it so much with my daughter and it would be the only car seat that I would ever have to buy for him. I LOVE LOVE LOVE this seat! So do both of my children!!!

Karin
Safety first, but this seat is too big to fit!
1/16/2017

Customer review by Baby GGs

2.0 stars 1/16/2017 by Baby GGs
by Baby GGs

We bought this seat as a "spare" as we had another one already for our 2013 Chryster Town & Country van; i.e., we had temporary custody of our great-granddaughter and bought another Graco top-rated seat for the short time we thought we would be needing the seat. As it turns out, we now have permanent, full custody and needed another seat for our other vehicles. My husband bought this behemoth. I'm sure it's a safe seat from the rider's point of view, but this thing does not fit into our 2008 Hyundai Tucson and does not fit well into our 2008 DODGE RAM CREW CAB TRUCK! We had to place the seat into the truck in the middle position in the back set, as that's the only place it could be installed. In the rear-facing position, it extends into the front seat space, and that cramped situation cannot be safe for the driver of the vehicle! Yes, it does have a base, and because of weather conditions we haven't been able to find a day to try to see if it fits any better into our Chrysler van (I doubt it....). Overall, this behemoth of a car seat is cumbersome, and getting the child in and out of it in the middle position of a 1500 Dodge Ram truck is not an easy task....almost an undoable task. Sorry we bought it. The Graco we did buy seems quite sturdy and safe and would fit the bill much better than this cumbersome thing.

Baby GGs
Smart Idea
2/24/2011

Customer review by Ted K

5.0 stars 2/24/2011 by Ted K
by Ted K

I work for a major retailer that specializes in selling baby products and I am also the grandparent of three. There have been many times when frustrated parents come to me and tell me their child has outgrown their infant seat too soon. It happened with one of my grandsons also. They end up having to buy a convertible set and then a booster seat after having already bought an infant seat. The expense is tough on these young couples. Now Graco comes up with an idea that is really smart. The convenience of the infant seat with a base available for safe installation in cars and the ease of moving the seat without having to reinstall. Also, it lasts as long as you need it too without having to buy a new car seat. Thank you to the Graco engineers for finally coming up with an idea that can provide safety, convenience, affordability and longevity all in one car seat. It has just come into our stores and I have already sold multiples on them because I myself am sold on this seat too.

Ted K
Try again
8/14/2012

Customer review by HMJ2009

2.0 stars 8/14/2012 by HMJ2009
by HMJ2009

The seat seems to be comfortable, and I like how it reclines for longer trips. That is where my likes end. This seat is the most difficult seat to fasten of all the car seats I have ever used. So much so I have opted to use our original seat in it's place and will only use it if something unforseen happens to the 1st seat. I read the reviews from others about the straps twisting and thought at 1st that those folks were just being overly picky, but the straps twist like crazy and are hard to get untwisted and is one of the most annoying things in the world to deal with especially when you are in a hurry for the pouring rain! For the price of the seat, the straps should at least twist minimally. It seems like the price point is geared toward the fact that there will only be 1 car seat from infancy through youth, but the quality of the materials used puts me in mind of lesser quality products and not a competetor for a high end car seat.

HMJ2009
Good idea, doesn't really work as promised
11/29/2016

Customer review by tees

4.0 stars 11/29/2016 by tees
by tees

I bought this car seat hoping to save some money by using one seat with two bases for two cars. However the seat itself is so heavy and the back tether is so difficult to install in my husband's truck, that we really only use it in one car anyway.

tees
One and done!
10/24/2016

Customer review by ContentMother

5.0 stars 10/24/2016 by ContentMother
by ContentMother

I bought this car seat for my first son a couple years ago. I am so happy with it I just bought another one for my second son. I feel confident that it will protect my sons if we ever crash, I trust it with their lives. It's super easy to install and use. I love that there is no rethreading of the straps, just slide the head portion up and the straps adjust automically.

ContentMother
Amazingly Simple Car Seat
4/5/2014

Customer review by tumblebugsmama

5.0 stars 4/5/2014 by tumblebugsmama
by tumblebugsmama

My daughter's original Graco SnugRide infant car seat served us well, but like most car seats integrated with the LATCH system it was an absolute BEAR to get set up--you needed two people to install the base, and there was always a lot of huffing and puffing involved, kneeling on the base, mangling your hands while tightening the straps. I certainly was *never* able to install the car seat base myself. When the time came for a new (toddler-sized) car seat, the Graco Smart Seat came up. The Smart Seat base is absolutely the EASIEST installation ever--I'm able to do it myself in under 2 minutes! No more cursing! No more mangled hands! Additionally, adjusting the straps is a piece of cake--no more unhooking the straps and removing the seat cover. Reclining the seat is a snap. At 21-months old, she's comfortable in the Smart Seat, and of course, we trust in her safety! If the Smart Seat had existed when we first registered for car seats, this would have been a once-and-done situation. As it stands, we expect to get plenty of years out of this car seat! Thank you, Graco, for making it easy!

tumblebugsmama
Think Twice!
2/27/2011

Customer review by Corey Mastin

2.0 stars 2/27/2011 by Corey Mastin
by Corey Mastin

I was so excited to purchase this seat - it seemed to be just what we were looking for for our five month old son. A seat he would be more comfortable in that is rear-facing, and one to grow in too. The seat is WAY TOO BIG! We own a seven passenger SUV. In the rear facing position in the middle - the driver seat and passenger seat have to be extremely close to the steering wheel/dash. It is truly unsafe to drive that close! And just wait until you try to install this mammoth seat! RIDICULOUS! The anchors are secured by a belt that can only be minimally lengthened. Forget trying to install in the middle of the back seat of a SUV. Ultimately, I gave the seat 2-stars because it could possibly be ok when my son is forward facing. But, the hype about this seat is "one seat from birth until five years." THINK TWICE AND HAVE A STORE EMPLOY HELP YOU TEST IT IN YOUR CAR BEFORE YOU PURCHASE!!!

Corey Mastin
Great for tall children
12/21/2015

Customer review by Catteach

5.0 stars 12/21/2015 by Catteach
by Catteach

Bought this based on a store salesman's recommendation after a thorough discussion of lifestyle and needs. My child is tall and we worried about him outgrowing the seat especially while rear-facing. Right away he took to this seat and found it very comfortable and is still able to sit rear-facing even at 2 1/2 even though he is at the 96th percentile for his height. We, as parents, love the ability to ensure the same comfort level and safety for our child no matter what car he is in from ours to his grandparents. This allowed us to purchase a higher quality seat without having to buy two cheaper ones for the cars that he is not as frequently in. This is also incredibly easy to install. The negatives are the amount of space it takes up in the car. It is in a minivan, a small sedan, and an average sedan; the front seat is very difficult to use while the car seat is rear-facing in the smaller vehicles. Some stores let you install it in your car before purchase to ensure that it is a good fit for your vehicle, which is a nice feature. My son happily gets in his car seat, which makes my life so much easier.

Catteach
Great Carseat
3/24/2011

Customer review by stay at home mom

4.0 stars 3/24/2011 by stay at home mom
by stay at home mom

I have done months & months of research for the right carseat & this is the one I chose. I love that it goes from infant all the way until they need to be out of a carseat. One carseat for the whole period of my child having to be in one. I even like the fact of it having a base which makes removable & installation into my husband vehicle easy. It is priced right if you figure between an infant carseat, a convertible carseat and than a booster not to mention if you have two cars and choose to buy one for each car it's worth every penny. Now I would have given it a 5 but installing it for the first time in the car was a bit of a pain because the instructions werent very clear, but now that I have done it; it's easy. I love Graco & pretty much own only their products because they seem to grow with the child and not buying product after product when you child grows out of it.

stay at home mom
Sturdy and Safe!
9/4/2014

Customer review by ColtsMom2013

5.0 stars 9/4/2014 by ColtsMom2013
by ColtsMom2013

My son outgrew his infant car seat so I was on the lookout for a great seat that could grow with him (in other words--I only wanted make one more car seat purchase as opposed to another car seat and then a booster seat later on). This is the best bang for the buck! It is a little pricey but "you get what you pay for" and remember you are getting three seats in one. Installation is very easy. Not only does my son seem to be super comfy in it, my peace of mind is in tact because it is sturdy! The only downside is that you do trade weight for the safety meaning it is a little awkward and heavy to carry (which will only affect you if you are removing it out of the car/in between cars often). This is NOT for someone who still likes to carry their child into the house in the seat if they fall asleep in the car. In fact, you physically can't because in order to take the seat off of the base the child must be out of the seat. It is also a little larger than most car seats so individuals with smaller cars should pay attention to the measurements. Overall, I think this is a great car seat and I highly recommend it!

ColtsMom2013
LOVE THIS SEAT!
9/16/2013

Customer review by heather38

5.0 stars 9/16/2013 by heather38
by heather38

I bought this seat for my then 3 year old daughter. I looked and studied for a long time because I wanted to purchase a seat that was going to last her and had learned my lesson about checking manufacture dates even of new purchases. This seat seemed to fit my needs. Though she was old enough for a booster, we are in the car a lot and she often fell asleep and her comfort was important to me and boosters have little to no recline and I wanted a deep head support so she could rest her head. This seat is AWESOME! She loves it and so do I. The only complaint I have is the color. We live and FL and it is hot most months of the year and therefore the darker colors attract the heat plus my daughter has difficulty sweating so I really wanted something light colored, this is the closest I could find. I would buy again and recommend I just wish it was in a lighter color.

heather38
Truly All-in-One
6/11/2015

Customer review by LKS2623

4.0 stars 6/11/2015 by LKS2623
by LKS2623

We purchased this carseat for our smaller 18-month-old so we could use her infant car seat for our newest arrival. It's great that this car seat will still allow for her to be rear-facing till she turns two. There is plenty of cush and padding to make this seat comfortable for our daughter and she sits a little higher in it than her infant seat, so she's able to actually look out the window (which I think she enjoys). It seems to be very sturdy and safe. We love that all we had to do was purchase an extra base for my husband's car instead of an entirely separate (and expensive) car seat for him to use...it's the convenience of an infant car seat with the protection of a toddler seat. With that being said, it is a bit cumbersome, which is my reason for not giving it 5 stars. The first three or four times we installed or transferred this car seat from vehicle to vehicle it was a bit difficult to maneuver and get secured to the base. However, now it seems to be a breeze. Because of it's larger size it may not fit as nicely rear-facing in a smaller sedan, but it seems to fit well enough in our large and mid-size SUV's.

LKS2623
Worth the money
8/15/2013

Customer review by LisaC

4.0 stars 8/15/2013 by LisaC
by LisaC

We bought this for our son when he outgrew his infant seat at 7 months. He is a big boy, 30 inches at 8 months and 20 lbs. this seat was great for his size. I liked that we wouldn't have to buy another one after this. At 11 months it has grown with him very well. He for the most part seems comfortable. We have taken 4 long road trips- 12 hours all four times! He has trouble falling asleep in it because it doesn't recline very far back in the rear facing position. This is our only complaint. We have a Ford Explorer and the seat is crammed in. The front passenger seat is pushed up pretty far. I can't imagine how far a seat would have to be pushed up in a smaller car. I think when he moves to forward facing we won't have any problems, but for now we have just a small inconvenience with the passenger seat pushed up.

LisaC
Good seat but a pain to install
4/30/2016

Customer review by K8mama2girls

4.0 stars 4/30/2016 by K8mama2girls
by K8mama2girls

I just installed this seat for the first time. It's a bit on the bulky side. But not outrageous. I had the hardest time trying to get the fixed latch hooked on. There is one latch you can't change the length of to anchor the base in the crease of the seat. It was very difficult to put on. I sliced my finger trying. Once I finally got it on, it was fine. The seat is easy enough to put on the base. I am not sure I will ever be able to take the base out now that it is installed. I have a 2015 Toyota Sienna which is made for families. So I can't imagine it's the car's design's fault. The click connect base went in easy. Otherwise the car seat seems fine. Easy to adjust as the child gets bigger.

K8mama2girls
Great Product Except for One Flaw
2/5/2011

Customer review by Jenscarlett

4.0 stars 2/5/2011 by Jenscarlett
by Jenscarlett

This is a great carseat idea, one that grows with your child - brilliant. Except for one thing, it really, really needs a handle! Cause when I have an infant asleep in her carseat and don't want to wake her yet, taking her out while still in the carseat is a must. And not having a handle to help carry it is really a bad design idea. I have a toddeler and having a handle on this would make my life so much easier. If Graco would just add the handle, maybe one that locks into place, but that can be removed as the child grows would then make this the absolute best carseat ever. And I have talked to many of my friends about this and they all say the same thing "Add a handle!" they too would buy this and give it a total rating of 5, cause that would then really make this the best carseat Ever!

Jenscarlett
Not so Smart Seat
10/5/2012

Customer review by Mommy7

1.0 stars 10/5/2012 by Mommy7
by Mommy7

This car seat is very heavy to left to just turn it forward or backward... if you want to adjust the seat so that it could lay back when baby is in sitting position and falls asleep, forget it! Darn this is locked under baby's bottom and will poke at baby if you tired any harder. My daughter got car sick during our road trip therefore I had to take everything apart to wash and clean it since July 2012, I still haven't been able to part darn thing back together! Have even read the manual to put it back together and still haven't been able to! Trust me, I'm a mother of seven and this is the worst expensive car seat that was a gift to my daughter. I've bought cheaper ones that works a thousand times better! Don't get me wrong, I am a number one Graco product fan.

Mommy7
Solid, safe & comfy ride for grandson
4/19/2016

Customer review by WheelingGirl

4.0 stars 4/19/2016 by WheelingGirl
by WheelingGirl

I have been wanting a car seat for my grandson that would take him through all the growth stages. This one fit the bill. It installs easily, but it is somewhat heavy. That said, it is a quality car seat, so the weight can be expected. My grandson is two and fits rear facing just fine. The straps are relatively easy to get fastened, even on an active toddler. The straps also are well padded to give him comfort. Installed properly, it is very stable in the car, and he loves the cup holder! Grandma likes that the unit is very sturdy and well constructed and that the base can be left in place and just the seat removed.

WheelingGirl
Love this seat!!
6/29/2016

Customer review by smoore852

5.0 stars 6/29/2016 by smoore852
by smoore852

We bought this seat after having our third child. I wish we would have had this seat for our two older children. It has been 3 years that our daughter has been using this seat and we aren't not disappointed at all. It is easy to take off the material and clean. The base allows us to quickly swap vehicles without reinstalling. The only down side is it is a very bulky seat even in a SUV. Great product!!

smoore852
1-20 of 157 total reviews
1-20 of 157 reviews