Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 25 reviews | 3.8 out of 5

4.0 stars

25 reviews | 3.8 out of 5

4.0 stars

25 reviews | 3.8 out of 5

76%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
12
4 stars
7
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 stars
5
1-20 of 24 total reviews
76%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 24 total reviews
1-20 of 24 reviews
Great Machine and Easy to use right from the box
11/19/2011

Customer review by bronxnyguy

4.0 stars 11/19/2011 by bronxnyguy
by bronxnyguy

Wonder nice looking machine. Tension is wonderful from the start. Easy to use and understand. Love the extension table it comes with. Has 100 decorative stich patterns, and they all look and work great. Ther only thing is it does not sew bulk. It will struggle and struggle and needle breaks or bobbin gets jammed. Is good for light sewing no more than 3 layers of fabric. But is great buy it.

Was this review helpful? (81) (11)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
bronxnyguy
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Hemming a pair of jeggins was a nightmare ~~~
12/29/2011

Customer review by IsDaGeek

2.0 stars 12/29/2011 by IsDaGeek
by IsDaGeek

I've owned a few different sewing machines in my day and recently mine broke so I bought a new one. I have owned this machine for only a few hours and I am considering returning it. The treader is not automatic like it states. You have to move a device and place the thread in little hooks and then swing the arm into the needle which eventually threads the needle. You then pull loop of thread. I tried to hem a pair of jeans with the hem folded only once and the machine would not stop getting jammed and giving me error code 4 which is a machine jam. Upon inspection I found wads of thread under the jean leg. The machine does not like thicker than usual thread either. I can't count how many times this happened. I was using jean thread and jean needle and it couldnt handle it. The jeans were actually jeggins which are leggings that have jean material to them. I honestly don't think I would be able to hem a real pair of jeans with this machine. The gap under the foot is too short. I couldn't get a folded hem of the jeggins to go underneath without a fight! The only positive thing I can say about this machine is that it has a lot of stich options and somewhat of a cover to it. Other than that I can't say I would recommend it especially at almost $200

Was this review helpful? (74) (13)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
IsDaGeek
Joliet, IL
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Beginner! LOVE LOVE LOVE MY MACHINE1
10/9/2011

Customer review by lovesinger

5.0 stars 10/9/2011 by lovesinger
by lovesinger

Love this machine! It's my first sewing machine and at first the threading might be a little difficult to get down but if you get frustrated just take a short break like I did and try it again. I used youtube videos for help and that's how I got it down. The machine is very easy to use once you get past the threading it really is EASY. DVD is helpful when trying to learn what each needle is used for. How to choose your fabric for certain projects and important info as such.

Was this review helpful? (39) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
lovesinger
Louisiana
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great Sewing Machine for Regular work
1/1/2012

Customer review by s0m1sstar

5.0 stars 1/1/2012 by s0m1sstar
by s0m1sstar

I have the 7256 and have used it regularly for 2 years. Its easy to use, works great, the Machine has a lot of decrotive stitiches but I usually end up using the straight or zig-zag stitches. I've read some reviews about the threader not being "automatic" but I've used it a thousand times and yes you do have to put the thread on the threader hook, but its easier then fishing it thru the hole alone! Overall this is a simple machine to use and its a hard worker. Also, I love the automatic button hole feature -night and day compared to a machine without one!

Was this review helpful? (36) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
s0m1sstar
Bridgeport, WV
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Very happy with purchase
3/22/2012

Customer review by Barb0628

5.0 stars 3/22/2012 by Barb0628
by Barb0628

I am very happy with this new Singer. It is replaceing one I had for 40 years. I wish it had a drop in bobbin, but I will get the hang of this. The needle threader is a bit trickey, I also have a Singer Futura & that threader is so easy, they should make them all the same. Very happy with all the features for the price.

Was this review helpful? (9) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Barb0628
Brooklyn, MI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
7/18/2012

Customer review by PollyKorrect

4.0 stars 7/18/2012 by PollyKorrect
by PollyKorrect

I chose this over similar models since it has a greater choice of buttonholes. Not too interested in the embroidery features although they may came in useful. I make clothes since I can never find what I want in the stores (that I can afford), love tailoring and this machine should take care of all my needs. Shame that Singer doesn't have more authorized repair places is the only downside but their machines have served me well in the past. Several users had complained about the authomatic needle threader. First time it was easy. Tried a few days later and it just didn't work - I wasn't threading it correctly, there's a final hook which goes through the eye of the needle. Is that the problem everyone else is having? Love it!

Was this review helpful? (5) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
PollyKorrect
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
Pleased with my purchase
12/26/2012

Customer review by GraceMH

4.0 stars 12/26/2012 by GraceMH
by GraceMH

I picked out this machine for christmas to make things for my horse, which often involve thick materials like fleece, velcro, web strapping, and cordura. Before now I had been using a very old singer that still used plastic cogs to change the stitch type and my friend's fancy Pfaff. I am very pleased with this machine, it is not too loud (but by no means silent) and sews quite nicely, even when sewing fleece and velcro together. The decorative stitches are very nice, and the automatic threader is a great feature that I am in love with. My only concern with the machine is the front load bobbin, as I had a cheaper singer machine a few years ago that stopped working when the bobbin case would no longer stay in. But only time will tell on that front. Other than that, it looks, sounds, and sews great!

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
GraceMH
Charlotte, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
11/8/2012

Customer review by Hoosie

5.0 stars 11/8/2012 by Hoosie
by Hoosie

Bought this for my wife. she loves it

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Hoosie
Delaware
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
3/10/2013

Customer review by dlva

5.0 stars 3/10/2013 by dlva
by dlva

Is a very good machine. It replaces my 33 year old machine that finally died. It is very quiet and sews through 5 layers without any problems. Have owned it a week and just finished a quilt and will now start next project...

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
dlva
iowa
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
terrible machine
2/3/2013

Customer review by wassel

1.0 stars 2/3/2013 by wassel
by wassel

This machine isn't worth the money. The bobbin kept bird nesting after only a couple of inches of sewing. If you sew anything with thickness it tangles up.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
wassel
Livonia, MI
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Waste of money
5/27/2013

Customer review by VPMZ

1.0 stars 5/27/2013 by VPMZ
by VPMZ

I have had nothing but frustration with this machine. First, the tension setting is so sensitive that one minute click on the dial caused intense aggravation with the tension that was not easily corrected. Took a good two hours to figure out the issue. The second time I used it, it kept jamming with C4 error. A C4 error means there is a jamb in the bobbin mechanism. Other than telling you to clear the jamb, there is NO instruction to help one figure out how to PREVENT a C4 error. Caveat emptor......

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
VPMZ
Collierville, TN
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
not worth the money! ***
9/29/2011

Customer review by Depika

1.0 stars 9/29/2011 by Depika
by Depika

well to start off with both manual and dvd are extreamly difficult to understand has alot of shoppy information it took whole day to figerout the treading part and honestly still haven't learnt will have to take a class for basic to help me. the description said it has dvd that shows everything and automatic threader but let me tell you its a big joke. please don't waste your $200 you are better off buying a simple machine for $89

Was this review helpful? (17) (65)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Depika
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Love my new sewing machine!!!
3/31/2013

Customer review by GramInTexas

5.0 stars 3/31/2013 by GramInTexas
by GramInTexas

Well, my old Kenmore that I purchased new in 1979 was finally handed down to my daughter. I was a little leary about purchasing a new sewing machine because of the cost. I paid more for the Kenmore purchased over 30 years ago than what this machine costs today. Some of the comments in reviews by others talking about thread jamming and foot pedal sticking, etc. also caused me concern. I've not really done what I would consider to be a lot of sewing. I had a sewing class in junior high and I've made a few simple items of clothing over the years. We purchased the Kenmore in 1979 because we had decided to reupholster our couch (a big undertaking which turned out great by the way). After that project, I mainly used my sewing machine for light mending or altering my clothes as necessary. My adult daughter has recently taken an interest in sewing (mostly mending) and asked to borrow my machine a few times. Also, my 19 year old granddaughter has taken an interest in sewing and asked for my help with a few very creative projects of her own design (comforter set, with matching pillow shams, and curtains). So i decided to buy a starter machine for my granddaughter and a new machine for myself so I could hand down my old machine to my daughter. Well, I'm one to research everything before I purchase, and frankly, I was a bit overwhelmed by all the different sewing machine brand names, models, and features available today. It was a YouTube video that finally convinced me to purchase this machine for myself and the Singer Simple for my granddaughter. When my new Fashoin Mate 5500 machine arrived, I read all the instruction booklet, plugged in the machine, and followed each of the "Getting Started" steps without any issues. I even learned a few sewing tips that I was not aware of before. Then I proceeded to alter and re-hem three pair of pants to fit my odd shape without one glitch (and yes, they were demin pants). This machine purrrrssss like a kitten and runs smooth as silk. Yes, there is a little bit of a delay sometimes when you go from forward sewing to reverse and then back to forward again (unlike my old machine) as another reviewer had mentioned was a problem for her because she thought the foot pedal was not operating properly. My guess is that this is a safety feature so you don't sew your finger into your project accidently (ha ha). You just have to come to a complete stop before going in the opposite direction whever this happens. This is somethng that will become second nature after using the machine a few times. And I absolutely love the automatic threading feaure. Like another reviewer mentioned, I also had to read through the instuctions a couple of times, looking very carefully at the diagrams, until I figured it out. Remember that you shouldn't have to force anything. It should work very smoothly. And It Does! Once you get it, you'll love it!!!! I have yet to try any of the beautiful embroidery stitches this machine can do. Embellishing some pillow cases sounds like a fun future project. I can't wait to give that a try. . . I say Go For It!!! Have some fun with it!!! Happy Sewing.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
GramInTexas
Frisco, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
very impressed overall
9/11/2013

Customer review by Elewpier5

5.0 stars 9/11/2013 by Elewpier5
by Elewpier5

I bought this from Walmart and have had it for nearly a month now, use it almost everyday. I very much like its style, form and function. it is handsome, feels solid, controls are just right for me, and I think is a very good value. It comes with an VERY well produced DVD that is easy to listen to and understand, full of content, lots of extra tips and project ideas, and proceeds in logical textbook order. Although it's generic for mechanical and computerized machines, the key principles are all covered regardless. The factory refurbished unit I purchased had one minor flaw...one of the tabs securing the accessory case compartment had broken off, but it stays on pretty well anyway. With the included accessory table I really can't complain especially given the refurbished price. I did try to contact customer service but like others have said, the queue was never ending and I hung up. I'm hoping I don't need to call back. I'm amazed at the technology packed into this and what it can do. I have not yet had any problems that some reviewers have often mentioned except that I agree the LED light could be a bit brighter, and the color temperature of the light is a bit too blueish white for my taste. Though I see fine by it, the Other Company features TWO LEDs providing a more daylight hue, and fuller coverage. Same general price point, but this is minor stuff. The needle threader is great once you understand how it works. Expect to fail at it once or twice, but don't give up, you'll get it and be amazed how you did without it. The SINGER is quiet and moves along with a confident thrum, the stitches are tight and well-defined, the decorative patterns are crisp and pleasing, and stitch best with some ordinary tissue paper placed between the fabric and feed dogs. The laundry washes what doesn't tear away. By using this household 'stabilizer' found in any closet, I've had no 'fabric-swallowing' problems at all that some have mentioned. I use only new, good quality all-purpose thread. For denim I used the proper thread with the proper needle and it handled double and triple seams just fine. I did tug the fabric a bit when the foot got to a heavy seam but that just seemed like common sense to me. This machine seems to have a bit more power than my Other Company machine, although I like that one a lot too. There's a lot to take in, so I take my time, follow directions carefully, double-check, then do. I'm amazed there aren't more problems with machines that are as complicated and easily victim to operator error as sewing machines are. I DID take the time to watch the whole DVD, and I highly recommend that as you don't know everything, believe me. Even the music is supportive and easy to listen to. Next to the machine, it's the best feature in the whole box. Like others have said, I found the instruction book a bit confusing. Too many languages, too much hopping around. (The Other Company includes a separate English manual as well as a multi-language one, and it is much better overall) Also, important details like which foot to use with which stitch or fabric seem to be misplaced, at least I can't find it. A downloadable English manual would be nice. Also, a simple decal on the bobbin door indicating the direction of the bobbin thread and general placement illustration (like the Other Company does) would be a nice touch. I got into sewing recently after admiring my neighbor's cushions and was told her husband made them. Fascinated by anything mechanical, and loving to see the fruits of my hands, I thought, if he can do it, I can do it. We're the two guys on the block that sew! Overall, considering the price point and what I intend to do with it, I'm very pleased so far. Will update if needed.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Elewpier5
Rehoboth Beach DE
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
My first sewing machine.
9/27/2011

Customer review by RaccoonGirl

5.0 stars 9/27/2011 by RaccoonGirl
by RaccoonGirl

I have only really started sewing this year, at first sewing by hand and then later I borrowed a family member's very, very old machine to see if I liked it. It was a bit complex but made week long projects take sometimes less than a day so I shopped around and decided to buy this machine, the Fashion Mate 5500. I am very impressed, it was easy to learn to use, and is very fun to work with. I use it every single day. I love all of the different stitches and that I can slightly customize the size of each stitch. I think the price was pretty good for a product like this too. If I could change anything about it I would change the light bulb. The light it gives off is blue and makes my projects hard to see sometimes but other than that I don't think I could be any happier with it.

RaccoonGirl
Arizona
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great Machine
11/7/2011

Customer review by BlueDolphin

5.0 stars 11/7/2011 by BlueDolphin
by BlueDolphin

I just purchased this machine a few days ago, and I consider myself a beginner. I made a few crafts when I was a teenager (20 years ago), but nothing since then. My old machine stopped working right long ago, & I thought I was doing something wrong. Then I purchased this machine. I can't believe how easy it is to use! After all that struggle with my old machine (not a Singer), this one works like a dream. This is definately the machine to buy, easy for beginners and good for more advanced users, too!

BlueDolphin
Mississippi
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great for Beginners
11/11/2011

Customer review by Sherry

5.0 stars 11/11/2011 by Sherry
by Sherry

The first machine I bought would not pick up the thread and Singer told me the timing was probably off...so I took that one back and got another one that works great! Love this machine - SUPER easy to use, I bet my 6 year old could figure it out if I actually let her, lol.

Sherry
Forest Grove, OR
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Take your sewing up a notch!
1/2/2012

Customer review by DomesticEngineer

5.0 stars 1/2/2012 by DomesticEngineer
by DomesticEngineer

Got this machine last year to take my garment construction to the next level. This machine did not disappoint. Buttons and buttonholes are a snap. I really enjoy all the decorative stitches available to add a little flair to any garment. Great for an avid hobbist.

DomesticEngineer
Great Midwest
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Good basic machine
3/29/2013

Customer review by Beetle2011

4.0 stars 3/29/2013 by Beetle2011
by Beetle2011

I have had this machine just for a little while and have had no problems with it. The stitch quality is good and all the basic and seem to be excellent. I would have liked it if the bobbin had been drop in and the needle threader is hard to get to work. But for the price I am well pleased.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Beetle2011
Kingsport, TN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great Machine
8/15/2011

Customer review by MrsHooper

4.0 stars 8/15/2011 by MrsHooper
by MrsHooper

This is a fabulous machine and looks so pretty sitting on my table.

MrsHooper
Abilene TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1-20 of 24 total reviews
1-20 of 24 reviews