Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 41 reviews | 4.8 out of 5

5.0 stars

41 reviews | 4.8 out of 5

5.0 stars

41 reviews | 4.8 out of 5

100%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
34
4 stars
7
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 stars
0
1-20 of 41 total reviews
100%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 41 total reviews
1-20 of 41 reviews
my 8-10 year old kids love it
1/3/2012

Customer review by soccermom0467

5.0 stars 1/3/2012 by soccermom0467
by soccermom0467

3 of my children are ages 8-10 and they all enjoy playing this game. They have gotten each of the Heroica sets and like that they can be played seperately or together as one big game. Of course as a parent I know that the hundreds of little tiny lego peices will eventually be lost but for now it is really being enjoyed. My son had friends over who played it with him for quite a while also. It was nice to see them doing something other than video games.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
soccermom0467
Indiana
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
11/16/2011

Customer review by bargainmom46

5.0 stars 11/16/2011 by bargainmom46
by bargainmom46

I bought this for my grandson's 8th birthday and he loves it, besides being a game that stands alone or can be added to, there's an animated step by step game play video on the Lego's website. Also, the price from site-to-store was a minimum of $5 cheaper than anywhere else and ready to be picked up in less than 2 hours.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
bargainmom46
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Best starter pack for the family
11/25/2012

Customer review by Meatball7000

5.0 stars 11/25/2012 by Meatball7000
by Meatball7000

By far the best Heroica set to start off with for the family. The set comes with 4 playable characters so a family of 4 can all play together. Set up took about an hour and a half working with a 6 year old who wanted to build and a 4 year old who wanted to play. There are plenty of base "zones" in this pack to create various custom made scenarios. Combined with the other 3 packs that are shown in the package the game will definitely keep children entertained for an hour or more. The rules do require adult supervision for the first few playthroughs, but my kids were able to pick them up easily enough that they were playing the game on their own for several hours. Customization is encouraged as you can change the rules or even try to mod in custom built areas from old Lego sets; my old sets from the 80s and 90s may just make their way into our game soon!

Meatball7000
Indianapolis
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Fun for ages 8 to 80!
2/25/2012

Customer review by otakujoe2

5.0 stars 2/25/2012 by otakujoe2
by otakujoe2

Heroica is a great family game for all ages. I first bought it to amuse the kids at a dinner party, but soon my wife and I were playing too! I have introduced many of my friends to the game, and we've all had a blast! The rules are simple to learn, and easy to modify for more advanced play.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
otakujoe2
Rio Rancho, NM
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Save the castle fools!
7/5/2012

Customer review by Jumpies

4.0 stars 7/5/2012 by Jumpies
by Jumpies

Wow. Just. Wow. An amazing set, took me about an half an hour or so to build. The build was fairly easy so I would recommend this kit to someone with any level of building experience. The actual gameplay was very good, I LOVE the goblins =) The ability to change the layout of the dungeon was very good. I added a rule where if a player rolls a Three twice in a row. they can change two tiles on the map. PROS Good gameplay Fab micros Amazing layout and tile detail (especially the fireplace!) CONS Not very challenging to build, may not be fun to build for more experienced builders. The keys don't stay on the hero packs very well if you're clumsy. No other gripes! Over all it's a good kit, but you should probably buy it with one other heroica game. I recommend either draida bay or waldurk forest. Have fun- and luck. From Jumpies

Jumpies
Hogwarts
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Fantastic
9/4/2011

Customer review by BlockHead3000

5.0 stars 9/4/2011 by BlockHead3000
by BlockHead3000

Castle Fortaan was the gateway game leading my wife and I to buy and build this entire series. We have never purchased a lego game before nor have we played an RPG dice game - however, our new addiction is a decent indication that Lego's first attempt to expand their gaming endeavors to an RPG format was successful! This game is perfect for younger players, but equally entertaining for more mature gamers and builders. The rules provided are simple enough on their own but may be built upon for more advanced game play. Simply put, the stories and characters that can unfold are enough to supply and stretch the imagination for an endless gaming experience. I can only hope that they release additional expansions, considering I now own them all!

BlockHead3000
Collinsville
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Excellent Beginner RPG
9/2/2011

Customer review by davee123

5.0 stars 9/2/2011 by davee123
by davee123

Heroica is an excellent way for kids to enjoy the RPG experience of more complex games, without having to be complex itself. The rules also provide a wonderful foundation for customized expansion if you want something more sophisticated. Castle Fortaan is probably the best of the individual Heroica games, thanks to its size. With Fortaan, there's more opportunity to get involved in gameplay, more monsters to fight, and more characters to act as. For adult gamers, Fortaan itself is a little lacking. The game is over pretty quickly, and there isn't too much strategy. However, when in combination with the other expansion sets, the overall Heroica game provides players with a lot more content, and can be very entertaining. DaveE

davee123
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Barbarically Great!
9/11/2011

Customer review by BarbaricBarbarian

5.0 stars 9/11/2011 by BarbaricBarbarian
by BarbaricBarbarian

I bought this today, and this is my first purchase of Heroica! And I think this set is the best way to get started! And it is surprisingly cheap and worth EVERY cent! I have played it several times, and with the choice of changing the board, it's like a new battle/mission every time! & with 4 Heroes to choose from it's just.. Words can not describe! And all 11 goblins look fantastic! Especially the king! & the rooms designs are great! Especially the kings chamber! & the Helmet of Protection is a nice touch! Pros: 4 Heroes, Goblin king, 6 Goblin warriors, 4 Goblin guardians, Helmet of Protection, King's chamber, Potions, Chests, Keys, gold, doors. Rooms, Cons: NOTHING. Recommend to anyone. (;

BarbaricBarbarian
Melbourne
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Oh Great!
1/13/2012

Customer review by Shadowruls

5.0 stars 1/13/2012 by Shadowruls
by Shadowruls

I must admit, LEGO has got me addicted to buying 2x2 plates for extra tiles to use in the game, and other LEGO elements that will look like something you might find in a video game. I recently bought all of the Heroica sets hoping I would find something LEGO-related to do in my spare time other than building my Supercar (which is now done, awesome). I was not disappointed with the detail, number of pieces for the price, or the gameplay. I finally understand why it is said that it feels like a video game, and I agree. If you want something different, or want to pull your self away from real video games or generic board games, get this!

Shadowruls
Glendale Heights
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
HEROICA is a stellar idea, and this one is TOPS
9/24/2011

Customer review by rastem

5.0 stars 9/24/2011 by rastem
by rastem

The entire line of HEROICA titles offers a great experience for play with your kids. The larger sets (like this one) offer multiple layouts for play, and you can chain adventures together to create longer play session. You can also combine sets or play sessions with different sets to achieve a longer 'adventure' that's fun and rewarding. While entry-level products for this line like Draida Bay are ok, I recommend getting a larger set like this one for the richest HEROICA experience. I hope LEGO is working on new sets. I, for one, am excited to see a set even bigger than this one!

rastem
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Heroica Board game-My best game so far
1/7/2013

Customer review by SkyGazer1

4.0 stars 1/7/2013 by SkyGazer1
by SkyGazer1

This set has a wide play experience and it has lots of different items that you can fiddle around with and I want to buy the other 3. If I get them I will do reviews on them because I have so many lego sets and I want to review them all. This board game is fun because it has lots of different ways to play it and lots of fun to build it. I loved setting everything up because there was lots of detail and fun. This game can fall apart easily and sometimes all the little pieces get lost. All up this set was a good play set and fun to have around so until next time get building.

SkyGazer1
Melbourne, Australia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
A great start
6/1/2011

Customer review by Explodeybrain

4.0 stars 6/1/2011 by Explodeybrain
by Explodeybrain

The New Lego Heroica games are great! Innovative and Engaging, they are a brilliant crossover between Legos, and Fantasy RPGing! It's easy to customize the rules and the board, and all the Heroica sets are compatible with one another, giving the game limitless replay value. Draida Bay serves as a great, albeit simple, introduction to the series. While it doesn't come with the awesome weapons that the larger sets offer, it's an easy way to learn the game, and adds depth when combined with the other games! Great family dungeon crawling fun.

Explodeybrain
Union City, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Fortaan Review (Obviously)
12/10/2011

Customer review by acidrunner1

5.0 stars 12/10/2011 by acidrunner1
by acidrunner1

Heroica: Castle Fortaan is a good substitute for video game, and is fun for any person of the genre. Also, I didn't play much of this kind; I still don't, excepting when I play Heroica. These games appeal to basically anyone (except people like my brother, who say that any game with such an unoriginal name must be boring. Whether you play expecting to have fun or expecting not, you will be right. If you want this game to be fun, play it with good intentions. The game itself: classic heroes; knight, barbarian, wizard, and also a not-so-common druid. Classic bad guys; goblins. Although the special attacks of the characters are a fun variety, there isn't much difference to each hero otherwise. If you find this true, these games were intended for rule changes by the player. If you are looking for a strategic change, try having monsters reappear or doors re-lock. If you want to add more competitive rules, try battling other heroes when you land on the same spot. If you just want a longer game, maybe just try getting more games. As you can well discover and/or predict, the board is customizable, so changing its layout is always an option. As you can see, although the game isn't perfect, it can easily be adapted to your playing style. Age range: although the box says differently, I know a six year old that plays this game. If they are patient enough, anyone from 4-144 could play and enjoy this game if they so desired. That's about all I have to say. Have fun and be creative.

acidrunner1
Livingston
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Let's save HEROICA!
1/1/2012

Customer review by ElectrodemantheLEGOfan

5.0 stars 1/1/2012 by ElectrodemantheLEGOfan
by ElectrodemantheLEGOfan

Hello everyone! I have come back with another review. This is my fourth and final review for the HEROICA games until the new one comes out in 2012. I've already covered rules and gameplay before, so I'll just stick to the pros and cons. Pros Knight and Goblin King are exclusive to this set Biggest HEROICA game Looks very cool Attention to detail is amazing Cons 5-$10 overpriced Well, that's it, then. See ya next year! Oh, wait, this isn't going to be seen until 2012....Oh, well. Happy New Year!

ElectrodemantheLEGOfan
Paradise City
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
this is so cool!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
4/1/2012

Customer review by legocanskate

5.0 stars 4/1/2012 by legocanskate
by legocanskate

I LOVE THIS SET! all the herica sets put together is the coolest and best game I have ever played! If I had to pick one it will be Castle Fortaan. this set is cool, and it has alot of detail. It has all the potions, which I like. I like the fact that it is based in a castle, which gives it that "boss level" feeling. If you change a few things, it will be like "Dungeons and Dragons". If you like lego, board games, and fantasy, this is the set for you. thank you for reading this review.

legocanskate
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Chapter 4: Fortaan
7/22/2012

Customer review by starblasterninja

4.0 stars 7/22/2012 by starblasterninja
by starblasterninja

Heroica is a sub-theme of Lego Games. It has a storyline similar to Lord of the Rings and is based after classic Role Playing Games. Castle Fortaan is the largest of all Heroica Games, and I got it first. It is great if you want to get into the action with one set. It includes four heroes, eleven microfigure monsters, and a frog. The frog doesn’t do anything normally though. It also includes a weapon rack, twelve pieces of gold, and the Helmet. In the game, the Heroes are moved with the Lego dice. They can also use a ranged ability if you roll the shield side. All characters in Fortaan, except the yellow hero, have a ranged ability, such as a projectile. When you run into a monster, you must fight it. If you lose to it, you must remove health points from your hero pack. If you roll shield in battle, you not only defeat the monster, but as the yellow hero you can defeat all adjacent enemies and move ahead one space. The weapons must be bought with 3 gold pieces each, and give you weaker versions of special abilities. There are three tracks (or quests) included in the game. In the first quest you must defeat the king of the monsters. In the second you must find the Helmet, which increases your max health points. In the third you must find the king’s battle plans. You can rearrange the pieces to create new quests, and/or connect it with other Heroica sets. You can also change the rules, such as allowing the addition of a monster player or playing one quest after another. I like to pit my monster armies against each other.

starblasterninja
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Disapointed that it is retired.
1/7/2013

Customer review by Wabvelett

5.0 stars 1/7/2013 by Wabvelett
by Wabvelett

An amazingly playble and entertaining game that has a huge audience with the LEGO and D&D communities. It is disappointing to see LEGO make it unavailable after so short a time, without replacing it with a successor game. Please bring it back so that more people can enjoy it and its companion games, and also make it possible to complete the set. Otherwise, please bring out other build-able adventure games (The Hobbit just doesn't cut it).

Wabvelett
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
AMAZING GAME!!!
7/11/2011

Customer review by inventorman101

5.0 stars 7/11/2011 by inventorman101
by inventorman101

I highly recommend this game I got this for my birthday along with the rest of the other Heroica sets! It is a great RPG, no RPG skills required! It is a great 3D boardgame with realistic views of parts of the board. I play it all the time it was definitely worth the money. It is a quick and easy build were the board is subdivided into different sections then on the mission map it tells you how to build it!...WOW LEGO you've do it again!

inventorman101
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great game
8/26/2011

Customer review by Carzo15

5.0 stars 8/26/2011 by Carzo15
by Carzo15

Heroica when i saw the ads i thought it looked stupid but then when my cousin played it with me and I loved it. now the pros and cons: Pros: lots of pieces for mixing it around better price comes with lots of monsters to battle against! the most heroes the only one that comes with the knight Cons: wish that it came with the rogue or the ranger not the barbarian all of them come with the barbarian!! thanks Commander Carzo

Carzo15
Kamino
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Worth the money.
7/26/2011

Customer review by IceCrusader

5.0 stars 7/26/2011 by IceCrusader
by IceCrusader

Its a really nice set, I loved it, me and my friend would play against eachother (he would be evil) and he would move the goblin pieces while I move the hero ones, you get to customize the track! Its really awesome. You should buy it, if you love legos, RPGs, or just a way to have fun. Pros: Complete Customization Rare pieces (potions,microfigures,etc) Great Long fun Cons: Nothing that I have found so far.

IceCrusader
Portland
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1-20 of 41 total reviews
1-20 of 41 reviews