Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 100 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

4.5 stars

100 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

5 stars
65
4 stars
26
3 stars
5
2 stars
2
1 stars
2
96%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 86 total reviews
Mini K'nex rather than standard
12/26/2011

Customer review by BBSCPA

1.0 stars by BBSCPA

My daughter likes K'Nex and has a couple of sets of standard-sized (rods about the diameter of a drinking straw) K'Nex pieces. She wanted to use her Christmas money on this coaster, as a new kind of experience. The display at the store had this coaster built using the STANDARD SIZED pieces. So we tossed the sealed box into our cart. When we got home, we find out that, once again, Walmart and K'Nex are selling mini pieces without any special labeling. The coaster might be fine, but these pieces will NOT integrate with the pieces she already has. What makes this doubly infuriating is that the display in the stored showed it with the standard pieces. This set goes back to the store, and I think it's time to complain to Walmart and K'Nex for failing to identify the size correctly.

Was this review helpful? (45) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
BBSCPA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Love the amusement park theme K'Nex has.
8/31/2012

Customer review by LANA2Chicago

5.0 stars by LANA2Chicago

We have several of the coasters and they are a big hit in our house. Only negative is they take up a lot of space but what are you going to do... the kids love them. They take all their "lego"/"K'nex" people for rides! :)

Was this review helpful? (9) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
LANA2Chicago
Chicago, IL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
So cool
1/14/2012

Customer review by TrevLO

5.0 stars by TrevLO

My 9 y/o loves Knex. He has 3 coasters and loves to build them and watch them go. Now my 6 y/o wants one. I will add that knex is super cool but it is plastic and breakable if treated too rough. Walmart.com sells great sets that are not sold in stores. Do site to store for free shipping.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
TrevLO
Gladstone MO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Easy for children to do alone or with family
1/31/2012

Customer review by Petula

5.0 stars by Petula

When my 8-year-old son saw this in the store he just had to have one so I purchased it as one of his Christmas presents. When we first began working on it together I did most of the work, looking at the directions and putting it together. He watched closely and asked questions. One day he sat down to work on it alone and did exceptionally well. I was quite surprised because at first I didn't think he could do it. The directions are fairly easy to follow (they're only in pictures)... there are instances that are hard to see so it would be good if there were some verbiage during difficult spots. It's fun for him and me! :-)

Was this review helpful? (7) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Petula
Stockbridge, GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
waiste of time
2/4/2012

Customer review by jrmintjimbo

1.0 stars by jrmintjimbo

The SUPER CYCLONE ROLLER COASTER!! Wow right? More like the SUPER DISAPPOINTMENT roller coaster! The only reason my review summary did not read COMPLETE waist of time was because I was spending time with my son and we WERE enjoying the building of the super cyclone until we got to step 26 27 and discovered the larger diameter main drive piece was not in the box! No drive piece, no way to attach the motor assembly and no way therefor to play with the toy. K'thanks k'nex...

Was this review helpful? (11) (11)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
jrmintjimbo
Reynoldsburg, Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
2/20/2012

Customer review by watts93

4.0 stars by watts93

Definitely takes a long time to put together. My box had a few important pieces missing, so I had to improvise with extra pieces and tape. It's great if you don't touch it after it is all set up, but you know how hard it is for kids to resist. I've lost several pieces, and am disappointed that K'NEX does not sell extra pieces. It looks like I would have to buy a whole other set to get the missing pieces I need. Also, it can fall apart after some use. After 2 months, it is sitting in a bag in the basement. When I get around to putting it back together again, I will probably tape most of the connecting pieces.

Was this review helpful? (5) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
watts93
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 3 months
great Christmas gift
1/1/2013

Customer review by likethepjs

5.0 stars by likethepjs

The cyclone KNEX Coaster building set is a great value. I purchased the item on sale. I purchased the item for my 6 year old twin grand daughters, so it took help from their dad to put it together. The box recommends 9+ years old, but once it is put together the twins love it.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
likethepjs
caldwell, ID
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1/30/2012

Customer review by MomBlvskids

3.0 stars by MomBlvskids

My 12 year old son enjoyed putting this together. However, because it is a smaller scale set, it did not meet my expectations for quality. It is a softer plastic than sets we have put together in the past, and the pieces do not stay together. Though it is cool, it did not meet my expectations. I will not be purchasing any more sets of this scale from Knex, and will stick to the larger scale kits.

Was this review helpful? (4) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
MomBlvskids
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Only for older children
1/7/2013

Customer review by Svillemommyof4

5.0 stars by Svillemommyof4

I wouldn't buy this for any child under the age of 10 unless they have a 180 IQ! It is very difficult to piece together, some of the directions aren't clear. We let our son (10)do this alone. He started Christmas day and isn't done yet. He works on it every other day or so for an hour or so. He does love it, just a little frustrating with the directions. This is a great gift to challenge your child with!

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Svillemommyof4
Summerville, SC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
great gift
1/6/2012

Customer review by cookiecheryl

5.0 stars by cookiecheryl

purchasing on line was quick and easy and gift arrived on time for christmas.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
cookiecheryl
clearlake, ca
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Fun for the family
12/29/2012

Customer review by shopproshopper

5.0 stars by shopproshopper

Fun to build with my son. Was missing 1 piece but we built it where we thought it was least needed & it works flawlessly. Ready for the next coaster!

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
shopproshopper
Mobile, Al
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Fast coaster. Great product
12/23/2011

Customer review by cmey

5.0 stars by cmey

My 8 year old made this and he stayed very busy with it. It took time to put together and he didn't complain once. The children liked it. Very tall roller coaster and it was faster than I thought it would be! Neat product.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
cmey
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
great gift recommend ages 11+
12/28/2011

Customer review by mommaclause

5.0 stars by mommaclause

great fun, my son was able to build the whole coaster by xmas evening. Needed help now and then. Photo instructions could be a little easier but was manageable. we even found more pieces at goodwill and my son was excited to get home to add onto his coaster. Would recommend this item for anyone over age 11

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
mommaclause
Wisconsin
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
Great toy for a child who loves to build.
6/3/2012

Customer review by SFDFROG

5.0 stars by SFDFROG

Steps are well illustrated and almost no adult help is needed. The pieces are sturdy and snap in nicely. The coaster is phenomenal when completed. Just like Hershey Park, Busch Gardens or Kings Dominion.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
SFDFROG
Catonsville, Md
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
12/11/2011

Customer review by Markaye

5.0 stars by Markaye

this is a great toy to have kids put together with the help of a family member

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Markaye
Tampa FL.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
12/12/2011

Customer review by DLongoria

5.0 stars by DLongoria

It gives children a creative imagination.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
DLongoria
San Antonio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
NOT FOR YOUNG ONES
12/28/2012

Customer review by ABCDEFGHILMZX

4.0 stars by ABCDEFGHILMZX

I bought this as a Christmas gift for my 11 yr old son. It was our first experience with K'nex ever. It is definatly NOT for any children younger than 11 or 12. The parts are easily broken if you are not careful. They don't hold together very well, but they are challenging to build. My husband and son built the roller coaster together, and it took a lot longer than we thought. I should have stuck with legos, because they are interchangable, and the possiblities are endless. But if you are looking for something to really challenge your whole family then this might be it.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
ABCDEFGHILMZX
Loxahatchee, Fl.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Very time consuming
12/31/2012

Customer review by swalker1234

4.0 stars by swalker1234

It took me an adult approximately 8 hours to put this together. It says it's for 9 plus, but it would be a difficult task for somebody 10 years old.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
swalker1234
Aurora, IL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
12/30/2012

Customer review by LancelotsCloudedStar

4.0 stars by LancelotsCloudedStar

I bought this for my eleven-year-old twins. It had hundreds of TINY pieces! Their big brother worked for hours putting it together with them. They had a lot of fun and in the end, it was very cute! I would not recommend it for a young child, or someone who is impatient. My 3 boys now have it set up, and are liking it, but wondering what to do with it! They know the work that goes into reassembling it. So, if you like a challenge, this is it. But worth it, I think.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
LancelotsCloudedStar
WV
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
12/29/2011

Customer review by angelinachristalpina

4.0 stars by angelinachristalpina

I purchased this for my 9 year old boy. He loves it. We spent several hours assembling it. I only gave it 5 stars because the diagrams could have been better. It was hard to tell which directions the connextorts were supposed to face, and we ended up having to change several of them after the fact. The diagrams were a little hard for my 9yo to follow, so I had to help him. The product is very durable. We put together and took part several pieces and it held up beautifully.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
angelinachristalpina
Rigby, ID
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 86 total reviews