Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 52 reviews | 4 out of 5

4.0 stars

52 reviews | 4 out of 5

4.0 stars

52 reviews | 4 out of 5

85%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
30
4 stars
8
3 stars
5
2 stars
3
1 stars
6
1-20 of 51 total reviews
85%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 51 total reviews
1-20 of 51 reviews
Great dresser!
4/1/2013

Customer review by hlb006

5.0 stars 4/1/2013 by hlb006
by hlb006

I have been very pleased with this dresser. My husband and my father put it together with little difficulty, although it did take them awhile. I bought this dresser to coordinate with the matching changing table (also by South Shore) and the Graco Charleston crib in white. The details match very well (see second picture)! We originally registered for a much more expensive dresser (a $550 one by Baby Cache) that matched a more expensive crib at Babies R Us, but felt guilty asking anyone to spend that much on one piece of furniture! While I'm sure the more expensive dresser was of a slightly nicer quality, for the price and the quality, you cannot beat this one! Some of the reviews complained about the plastic drawer sliding mechanisms but I've found that it makes the drawers incredibly quiet! I cannot wait to use the dresser and other pieces when my daughter is born in 2 momths!

Was this review helpful? (8) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
hlb006
Manchester, MD
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Every few days
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Age:25 - 34
Perfect!
5/21/2016

Customer review by JDooley

5.0 stars 5/21/2016 by JDooley
by JDooley
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I'm in love with this dresser! It's the perfect size and looks beautiful in my son's nursery!!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
JDooley
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great product
4/9/2014

Customer review by Hideel

5.0 stars 4/9/2014 by Hideel
by Hideel
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

It is exactly what it says. My husband put it together pretty easily it took a couple hours but that's expected but it's very good material and very good quality we are extremely happy with our purchase

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Hideel
Damascus,md
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Every day
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Age:18 - 24
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Super cheap flimsy
4/5/2017

Customer review by Satisfid customer

1.0 stars 4/5/2017 by Satisfid customer
by Satisfid customer
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Super cheap quality nd very flimsy dont plan on moving this furniture around a whole lot after you put together may fall apart! Looks way better in pic then real life husband had to add washers to the inside to make drawers fit because they were too loose nd everytime u open bottom drawer the decorative bottom pops off as it just attached by pushing it on the bottom of the dresser. I bought it for the price nd the color looked like it would already match what i had but seriously dissapointed nd wouldnt buy this if i had to do all over again.

Satisfid customer
Calgary, AB, Canada
Would recommend to a friend? No
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
cheap quality..
9/5/2011

Customer review by freezoesmile

2.0 stars 9/5/2011 by freezoesmile
by freezoesmile

we are very disappointed by the quality of the dresser. The drawers are running on plastic gliders. The laminate finish seems to come off easily. One back panel is made out of carton!! I would not buy this dresser again.

Was this review helpful? (23) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
freezoesmile
Tallahassee, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Every day
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Age:35 - 44
Not sturdy at all!!
2/24/2016

Customer review by Sarah18253

2.0 stars 2/24/2016 by Sarah18253
by Sarah18253

We got this to put in my 3 year olds room, and I hate to say it, but I'm Soooo disappointed! It is very beautiful, and LOOKS exactly like what I was looking for, but it is VERY wobbly! If you just barely push against the side, it leans! We had already put together the matching nightstand, and that was really sturdy, so I thought the dresser would be good too. Not so much! I would not recommend this for a young child, unless you can completely trust them to never be rough with it, or climb up on it. My daughter has already broke one of the drawers, and my husband had to fix it. I guess you get what you pay for. I was so hopeful too.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Sarah18253
Would recommend to a friend? No
Perfect!
2/11/2017

Customer review by Amanda

5.0 stars 2/11/2017 by Amanda
by Amanda
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This was fairly easy to put together. Took my husband maybe 45 min! It's a little shaky so I would definitely recommend to anchor it. But it looks great in my daughters room!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Amanda
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
South shore savannah 4drawers
2/15/2017

Customer review by Gini

2.0 stars 2/15/2017 by Gini
by Gini
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

The piece came damaged

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Comment from - 2/15/2017

Thank you for contacting South Shore. I am deeply sorry your 4-drawer chest arrived damaged. Please contact our warranty department so we may replace the damaged pieces for you. We look forward to resolving this for you.

Gini
Would recommend to a friend? No
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Cheap material and weak structure
1/14/2017

Customer review by LadyKiran

1.0 stars 1/14/2017 by LadyKiran
by LadyKiran

We purchased this three years ago and within a month it was falling apart. The particle board structure gets scratched and damaged easily. I put a damp burp cloth on it and within a matter of minutes the top coating bubbled and started to peel. We made this purchase thinking it was an economical choice, however it's cost us so much more in the long run as we've had to replace this dresser and the armoire (the armoire door never actually closed due to the way the furniture pieces were made; our babe arrived so we were never able to return it) Please don't waste your money on this item... or any other South Shore furniture. If it was possible to rate this item a zero I would or even -5!

LadyKiran
Victoria, BC, Canada
Would recommend to a friend? No
Great dresser
9/25/2012

Customer review by DANR123

5.0 stars 9/25/2012 by DANR123
by DANR123

We almost didn't buy this based on the one bad review. However, since we thought it would go good with the South Shore - Savannah Changing Table we went ahead and took a gamble. I just finished building it and it looks and feels great. I'm not sure why the last review said the back was "carton," but I found it to be as study as any other dresser I've put together. I thinks its great quality, especially for $170. I'm very glad with my purchase.

Was this review helpful? (6) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
DANR123
Fairfield, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Every few days
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Age:25 - 34
nice looking, but could not assemble w/o damaging
1/15/2013

Customer review by DEcountymom

1.0 stars 1/15/2013 by DEcountymom
by DEcountymom
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This item is exactly what I wanted - an inexpensive dresser that fits a small space for our infant daughter. It arrived well packaged with no damaged parts. I had it shipped to store and it arrived within the specified time. HOWEVER, I have assembled a lot of furniture, and this one was awful. The directions were fine, but it took me over 4 hours, just because of how it was designed. And what makes me rate it so low is that the assembled version ended up damaged and sub-par. The composite material of the back just crumbled/broke where the connectors were when I tried to complete one step. And adding the bottoms to the drawers was ridiculous. You have to nail the bottom on, with nails that are too large. Both my husband and I tried to get the nails just right, but the nails were too large for the width of the composite material of the drawer back, and again, it just crumbled on one edge or the other, unless you got the nail in exactly centered and straight. We are not carpenters, so the nails were sticking out inside or outside of the drawer, and multiple pieces of the drawer back broke off. It should be designed so that the back has a groove that the drawer bottom slides into, like the front and sides have. Then, the knobs were not pre-drilled at all. My husband used all his strength to try to screw in the screws, but was still not able to get many of them tight. So, several of them are too loose.

Was this review helpful? (3) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
DEcountymom
PA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Usage:Every day
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Age:35 - 44
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Garbage
12/28/2016

Customer review by Handymanot

1.0 stars 12/28/2016 by Handymanot
by Handymanot

First thing it says in instructions is Assembly requires two adults. Then you pull out 200-300 unmarked parts. I had a professional in to do it. Took 10 hrs. Flimsy too. I c'd stick my baby finger through the bottom of cardboard drawers. Impossibly pitiful as a whole... if can assemble at all.

Handymanot
Toronto, ON, Canada
Would recommend to a friend? No
As expected
12/10/2013

Customer review by adpihogalum

5.0 stars 12/10/2013 by adpihogalum
by adpihogalum
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I bought this and the matching changing table/dresser. I felt they both were true to the advertisement. They are exactly what ready to assemble furniture is so you'll need to make sure you stabilize the dresser with the mounting screws provided into a stud in the wall. It is cute and stylish and I'd recommend it. It is not difficult to assemble, but some sections are time consuming and you'll need an extra set of hands.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
adpihogalum
San Antonio, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Age:25 - 34
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Beautiful Dresser for a Nursery
6/29/2013

Customer review by trgrass4

5.0 stars 6/29/2013 by trgrass4
by trgrass4

I got this dresser yesterday, it took my husband about an hour to put it together. It is beautiful, and the drawers close very quietly. There is a lock on the drawers to keep them from being pulled all the way out. Don't understand the low reviews this great peice of furniture is getting. Maybe due to the fact that people expect way to much... Anyway, I even put a changing pad on top and it fits perfectly!!!

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
trgrass4
Franklin, Va
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Every day
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Age:35 - 44
Beautiful piece of furniture!
4/22/2013

Customer review by ioamary

4.0 stars 4/22/2013 by ioamary
by ioamary
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Plan on spending approximately 2-3 hours to assemble. (my son-in-law & I built it). The pieces were packed very well in the box. I didn't see but one flaw in one of the drawers but hardly noticeable. Would be better if drawer bottoms were of wood but seems they will hold up well with baby clothes. They did have to be nailed to the bottom of the drawer (nails are included). Very solid piece of furniture once assembled. Only wish it had a few more written instructions for each step rather than just pictures. Also wish that drawer slides were metal instead of plastic, but they do work well. One of the drawers has the decorative grooves which matches the wainscoting in the bedroom just perfectly. All-in-all I think this piece will last my new granddaughter quite a long time if taken care of properly!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ioamary
Missouri
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Every day
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Age:55 - 64
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Loved it at first, but it's so cheap....
10/9/2016

Customer review by silkydee

1.0 stars 10/9/2016 by silkydee
by silkydee

We bought this for my daughters nursery 2 years ago, loved the way it looked but could tell it was cheaply made. 2 years later, it has fully fallen apart. The bottom drawer will not stay on the track because the dresser is pulling apart on the right side. Now the 2nd and 3rd drawers are starting to do the same and yesterday the bottom of the top drawer fell out. Not happy. Trashing it and buying something that will last more than 2 years!!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
silkydee
Would recommend to a friend? No
Nice finished product
11/19/2013

Customer review by Minnesotagrgrmpa

4.0 stars 11/19/2013 by Minnesotagrgrmpa
by Minnesotagrgrmpa
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Looks good, but was a difficult assembly project with somewhat limited instructions. Not a lot of wood, but for the money, a good value.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Minnesotagrgrmpa
Minnesota
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Age:65 or older
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great for kids
11/14/2013

Customer review by mrose10

4.0 stars 11/14/2013 by mrose10
by mrose10
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

The product came when promised and box free of damage, unfortunately the product inside was damaged. There was some scrapes and chips in the paint. I still put it together and it went together smoothly. I am very mechanically inclined so I had no issues, but for the average person it would have been difficult. I would recommend this product for a kids room or an area low key. I wish the tracks were metal but can deal with the plastic ones. It is exactly what I would expect from an inexpensive piece of furniture. If I wanted a $600 dresser i would of bought one.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
mrose10
Exton, Pa
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Every day
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Age:35 - 44
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great for baby's Nursery
2/25/2014

Customer review by AmiJ123

5.0 stars 2/25/2014 by AmiJ123
by AmiJ123

I ordered this to go along in my baby's nursery. Very pretty piece for the price. Putting it together was a little time consuming, but was very easy. My husband and I put it together in about 2 hours. Piece looks just as pictured. Took a little bit to get used to the drawers, because they have a child safety feature and are harder to open and close. Great feature to have for little ones. Would recommend this piece to anyone.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
AmiJ123
Alabama
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Every day
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Age:25 - 34
Gorgeous!
3/16/2016

Customer review by Skbottema

5.0 stars 3/16/2016 by Skbottema
by Skbottema

Absolutely beautiful dresser. Looks way more expensive than expected. So easy to put together. It was shipped in a way that kept every piece perfect and undamaged. I am so happy with this purchase.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Skbottema
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1-20 of 51 total reviews
1-20 of 51 reviews