Back

Customer Reviews

Average rating: 3.8out of 5 stars
3.8 out of 5 | 58 reviews
5 stars
31
4 stars
8
3 stars
5
2 stars
4
1 stars
10
Sort by: 
1-20 of 57 reviews
1-20 of 57 reviews
Great dresser!
4/1/2013
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I have been very pleased with this dresser. My husband and my father put it together with little difficulty, although it did take them awhile. I bought this dresser to coordinate with the matching changing table (also by South Shore) and the Graco Charleston crib in white. The details match very well (see second picture)! We originally registered for a much more expensive dresser (a $550 one by Baby Cache) that matched a more expensive crib at Babies R Us, but felt guilty asking anyone to spend that much on one piece of furniture! While I'm sure the more expensive dresser was of a slightly nicer quality, for the price and the quality, you cannot beat this one! Some of the reviews complained about the plastic drawer sliding mechanisms but I've found that it makes the drawers incredibly quiet! I cannot wait to use the dresser and other pieces when my daughter is born in 2 momths!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (8)No (1)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Do not buy
9/30/2017
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Very poor quality. It was breaking while we were putting it together. The bottom drawer keeps falling apart every time we open it. Please don't waste your time or money. Very disappointed
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Perfect!
5/21/2016
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
I'm in love with this dresser! It's the perfect size and looks beautiful in my son's nursery!!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (1)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Great product
4/9/2014
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
It is exactly what it says. My husband put it together pretty easily it took a couple hours but that's expected but it's very good material and very good quality we are extremely happy with our purchase
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (1)
Report
Was this review helpful?
4 drawer chest
10/5/2017
Average rating:2out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
I bought a month ago, looks nice when put together, but after a week drawer faces started to pull off (the screw/locking pin in particle board is not sufficient mechanism to hold together with "light" activity). I bought all furniture pieces in this set and double checked all the other ones and sure enough they are all coming apart. I followed the instructions exactly how to put together, but ever single one probably needs a drop of glue to hold together
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Cheap material
8/29/2017
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
The dresser is made of very cheap material. It literally fall apart as you are putting it together. The drawers are falling apart. I will be calling South shore so that they can rectify this.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
cheap quality..
9/5/2011
Average rating:2out of5stars, based onreviews
by
we are very disappointed by the quality of the dresser. The drawers are running on plastic gliders. The laminate finish seems to come off easily. One back panel is made out of carton!! I would not buy this dresser again.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (23)No (6)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Great for the price!
8/8/2017
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
We've had this whole set for just over 2 years now (my daughter turned 2 in July) and couldn't be happier. You just have to be careful not to leave standing water anywhere as this will ruin the product. Otherwise, I have no complaints. Still looks great and we've had no problem with the drawers. I imagine she will have this furniture for years to come.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Not sturdy at all!!
2/24/2016
Average rating:2out of5stars, based onreviews
by
We got this to put in my 3 year olds room, and I hate to say it, but I'm Soooo disappointed! It is very beautiful, and LOOKS exactly like what I was looking for, but it is VERY wobbly! If you just barely push against the side, it leans! We had already put together the matching nightstand, and that was really sturdy, so I thought the dresser would be good too. Not so much! I would not recommend this for a young child, unless you can completely trust them to never be rough with it, or climb up on it. My daughter has already broke one of the drawers, and my husband had to fix it. I guess you get what you pay for. I was so hopeful too.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (2)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Extremely disappointed
6/30/2017
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
This dresser is cute - and that's about it. The drawers have literally fallen apart despite a few attempts to super glue them back together. Cheap material - not worth it. Walmart would not do ANYTHING to compensate for this item because it was past the eligible return time. I wish the drawers had fallen apart sooner. I will call South Shore to see if there is anything they will do. Very disappointing
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Terrible quality
7/10/2017
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
Drawers broke within a few weeks of using. Materials are cheap and of poor quality. Overall not sturdy at all
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Great dresser
9/25/2012
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
We almost didn't buy this based on the one bad review. However, since we thought it would go good with the South Shore - Savannah Changing Table we went ahead and took a gamble. I just finished building it and it looks and feels great. I'm not sure why the last review said the back was "carton," but I found it to be as study as any other dresser I've put together. I thinks its great quality, especially for $170. I'm very glad with my purchase.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (7)No (3)
Report
Was this review helpful?
nice looking, but could not assemble w/o damaging
1/15/2013
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
This item is exactly what I wanted - an inexpensive dresser that fits a small space for our infant daughter. It arrived well packaged with no damaged parts. I had it shipped to store and it arrived within the specified time. HOWEVER, I have assembled a lot of furniture, and this one was awful. The directions were fine, but it took me over 4 hours, just because of how it was designed. And what makes me rate it so low is that the assembled version ended up damaged and sub-par. The composite material of the back just crumbled/broke where the connectors were when I tried to complete one step. And adding the bottoms to the drawers was ridiculous. You have to nail the bottom on, with nails that are too large. Both my husband and I tried to get the nails just right, but the nails were too large for the width of the composite material of the drawer back, and again, it just crumbled on one edge or the other, unless you got the nail in exactly centered and straight. We are not carpenters, so the nails were sticking out inside or outside of the drawer, and multiple pieces of the drawer back broke off. It should be designed so that the back has a groove that the drawer bottom slides into, like the front and sides have. Then, the knobs were not pre-drilled at all. My husband used all his strength to try to screw in the screws, but was still not able to get many of them tight. So, several of them are too loose.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (3)No (1)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Super cheap flimsy
4/5/2017
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
Super cheap quality nd very flimsy dont plan on moving this furniture around a whole lot after you put together may fall apart! Looks way better in pic then real life husband had to add washers to the inside to make drawers fit because they were too loose nd everytime u open bottom drawer the decorative bottom pops off as it just attached by pushing it on the bottom of the dresser. I bought it for the price nd the color looked like it would already match what i had but seriously dissapointed nd wouldnt buy this if i had to do all over again.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Cheap material and weak structure
1/14/2017
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
We purchased this three years ago and within a month it was falling apart. The particle board structure gets scratched and damaged easily. I put a damp burp cloth on it and within a matter of minutes the top coating bubbled and started to peel. We made this purchase thinking it was an economical choice, however it's cost us so much more in the long run as we've had to replace this dresser and the armoire (the armoire door never actually closed due to the way the furniture pieces were made; our babe arrived so we were never able to return it) Please don't waste your money on this item... or any other South Shore furniture. If it was possible to rate this item a zero I would or even -5!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
As expected
12/10/2013
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
I bought this and the matching changing table/dresser. I felt they both were true to the advertisement. They are exactly what ready to assemble furniture is so you'll need to make sure you stabilize the dresser with the mounting screws provided into a stud in the wall. It is cute and stylish and I'd recommend it. It is not difficult to assemble, but some sections are time consuming and you'll need an extra set of hands.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (1)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Beautiful Dresser for a Nursery
6/29/2013
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I got this dresser yesterday, it took my husband about an hour to put it together. It is beautiful, and the drawers close very quietly. There is a lock on the drawers to keep them from being pulled all the way out. Don't understand the low reviews this great peice of furniture is getting. Maybe due to the fact that people expect way to much... Anyway, I even put a changing pad on top and it fits perfectly!!!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (1)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Beautiful piece of furniture!
4/22/2013
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
Plan on spending approximately 2-3 hours to assemble. (my son-in-law & I built it). The pieces were packed very well in the box. I didn't see but one flaw in one of the drawers but hardly noticeable. Would be better if drawer bottoms were of wood but seems they will hold up well with baby clothes. They did have to be nailed to the bottom of the drawer (nails are included). Very solid piece of furniture once assembled. Only wish it had a few more written instructions for each step rather than just pictures. Also wish that drawer slides were metal instead of plastic, but they do work well. One of the drawers has the decorative grooves which matches the wainscoting in the bedroom just perfectly. All-in-all I think this piece will last my new granddaughter quite a long time if taken care of properly!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Nice finished product
11/19/2013
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
Looks good, but was a difficult assembly project with somewhat limited instructions. Not a lot of wood, but for the money, a good value.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (1)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Perfect!
2/11/2017
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
This was fairly easy to put together. Took my husband maybe 45 min! It's a little shaky so I would definitely recommend to anchor it. But it looks great in my daughters room!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Electrode, Comp-184640652, DC-prod-dfw3, ENV-prod-a, PROF-PROD, VER-8.12.5, SHA-f8bb53b0cf6e9da799126d89d3bcede34110bf32, CID-