Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 36 reviews | 1.8 out of 5

2.0 stars

36 reviews | 1.8 out of 5

2.0 stars

36 reviews | 1.8 out of 5

19%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
4
4 stars
3
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 stars
26
1-20 of 35 total reviews
19%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 35 total reviews
1-20 of 35 reviews
never ever buy
9/6/2011

Customer review by junk2011

1.0 stars 9/6/2011 by junk2011
by junk2011

bought this vacuum - after a few vacuums, the tube clogged up - it took a while to unclog. Then after a few more vacuums, the belt broke. bought a pkg of 2 belts. now i know why they put 2 in a bag. replaced belt. ran around the room a few times, then wham, the belt broke. replaced belt AGAIN, only to have it break after one round around the room. And I AGREE with the other review - the noise is so loud - I didn't think anyone would make a vacuum so loud. While at the store returning this vacuum, came across another customer with the same model in their cart. I stopped and told them my problems and funny for him to say "i just returned one for that exact reason (belt broke) and i've swapped it out for another like-model. if it happens again, i'll bring it back" - I told him good luck! I knew he was going to be bringing it back soon. AND YES THIS VACUUM IS SO HEAVY!!!

Was this review helpful? (14) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
junk2011
Would recommend to a friend? No
Hurts the ears
8/13/2011

Customer review by stripyoubare

3.0 stars 8/13/2011 by stripyoubare
by stripyoubare

I went from a hoover wind-tunnel to this. There wasn't really a problem with my old vac, it was second hand to begin with, but my mother needed one so I gave it to her. I bought this dirt devil to replace it over the weekend and I've used it twice so far. It is much heavier and harder to maneuver than my previous vac. When you take out the canister to empty it, dirt falls out of the bottom where the whole is for the filter and it can be messy. It also has a very loud, high-pitched sound that hurts my ears. It's been 10 minutes since I used it and my ears still feel strange like I can't hear very well and I have a ringing sound. I am tempted to return this and purchase another hoover instead. The store originally didn't have the one I wanted which was why I got the dirt devil and it was only about $79 plus taxes. I'd rather pay the $95 and get the hoover since the company has always been great about their vacs. I just can't stand the high-pitched sound (which is worse in the hallway because of the enclosed space) and the dirt getting back on the floor when I try to empty the thing. The suction is good and all, but this vac is not my cup of tea.

Was this review helpful? (21) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
stripyoubare
Gardner, MA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Wish I had read these reviews...
6/3/2012

Customer review by India2012

1.0 stars 6/3/2012 by India2012
by India2012

My experience mirrors the other reviewers that had trouble with this vacuum. I bought this vacuum and it clogged only after a few uses. And I mean clogged to the point of not being able to use it. So thinking the problem was maybe this one vacuum I took it back to Wal-Mart and had it exchanged. Then after a couple of uses the belt broke on the “new” vacuum. We called the manufacturer and the lady was rude and insulting to my husband basically saying it’s just the nature of vacuums for the belt to need to be replaced. Just like the filter needs to be replaced and the dirt dumped. It’s the responsible of the owner not a manufacturer’s defect. But he said only after a couple of uses but she was no help. So now we are back at Walmart.com looking for a belt and I see these reviews for the first time and I wished I would have read them before because now I know very soon we will need to buy another vacuum. Please do not waste your money.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
India2012
Would recommend to a friend? No
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
Would Never Recommend
9/10/2011

Customer review by ravmom

1.0 stars 9/10/2011 by ravmom
by ravmom

It is cheaply made and the hose does not stay in the connector. It blows dirty in the air and does not pick up pet hair. I wouldnt say it is super loud but it's not quiet. Do not waste your money.

Was this review helpful? (10) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ravmom
Mobile, Al
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Exceeds value
7/28/2011

Customer review by clean2011

5.0 stars 7/28/2011 by clean2011
by clean2011

Great vacuum cleaner for the price. We had a previous model and it lasted 5 years and finally was defective. Family of 5 plus three pets in house. Excellent machine! Thanks DirtDevil!

Was this review helpful? (32) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
clean2011
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Horrible
3/7/2012

Customer review by 2drunk2eatchicken

1.0 stars 3/7/2012 by 2drunk2eatchicken
by 2drunk2eatchicken

When we first moved into our home, I just bought a cheap Dirt Devil, thinking that a vacuum is a vacuum. After about of year of having a few problems with that, I told my husband we WERE getting a new vacuum. In an effort to surprise me, he came home one day from Wal-Mart with this. He thought since it was more expensive than the last Dirt Devil that it would probably work better. Well, it does not. It initially worked well, but after the first time we had to empty it, it does nothing but clog. Now all it does is blow dirt all over my hardwood floors from off the rugs. It's ridiculous. I just attempted to use it and it is now sitting out on by the curb, where any Dirt Devil belongs. Do not waste your money on anything Dirt Devil. I have owned 2 of them and have had nothing but bad experiences with both of them.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
2drunk2eatchicken
Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
This vacuum should be taken off the market!
6/1/2012

Customer review by kacwy

1.0 stars 6/1/2012 by kacwy
by kacwy

This particular Dirt Devil should be taken off the market. There are so many flaws that this vacuum should be recalled at the very least. The hose comes out of the area where you can put an extension on and blows dust everywhere. The cord comes out of it's holding area, so you trip on it or run over it with the vacuum. The WORST part about this vacuum is that it shuts off for no reason. It doesn't smell hot or anything like that. I have read other reviews that this has happened to several other people. I clean the filters and empty the canister often, so I know that I was doing the right thing to keep it running good. It is also very loud and it hurts your ears. Whoever engineered this hunk of junk should be ashamed of themselves. DO NOT buy this vacuum because you will be very disappointed.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
kacwy
Rock Springs, WY
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
6/9/2012

Customer review by HCam

1.0 stars 6/9/2012 by HCam
by HCam

I purchased this model in August 2011. Today while vacuuming the hinge (which is plastic) broke while emptying the cup. I contacted Customer Service, and was told that I needed a new dust cup, and that I would have to pay for it. This part was NOT covered under the warranty. Really? Guess what. . it's in the trash, and I purchased an item that was NOT dirt devil. Never Again!

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
HCam
Kentucky
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Could be a good buy.. not for me though.
11/6/2011

Customer review by srm22562

3.0 stars 11/6/2011 by srm22562
by srm22562

Bought this vacuum about 2 years ago. Was surprised at how well it worked for the price (which, mind you, was higher at the time). However, I live in the country and a lot of dirt, leaves, straw, etc. come through my house and I usually vacuum at least every other day if not every day. This was WAY too much for this vacuum to handle. We change the filter like we're supposed to, my boyfriend even blows it out with an air hose once a month, but it just wore down really fast, within 6 months I could tell it was starting to wear out. It's still hanging in there, barely, but we are now looking for a new one. So if you are like me with a lot of craziness in your house, I recommend you keep looking. Spend a little extra money now so you don't have to later. Also the when you go to use the other pieces with the hose, everything that got caught in the hose blows out all over your floor.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
srm22562
Richmond, VA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Does a great job
10/23/2011

Customer review by krisbyQ

5.0 stars 10/23/2011 by krisbyQ
by krisbyQ

I have been using small compact vacuums and they were constantly clogged with pet hair. This has not clogged yet and pulled more dirt from my carpet than any other machine i have used. Works awesome for the money.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
krisbyQ
Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Worked Great at 1st!!!
9/15/2011

Customer review by AKB21

1.0 stars 9/15/2011 by AKB21
by AKB21

I bought this vacuum cleaner three months ago. I loved it when I bought it. It ran great at first. And, then about a month ago it started causing me problems. So I thought maybe I need to change the filter (even though the filter light is still green). So I bought a new filter. It still did not work. I cleaned out the bottom of the rollers and it still did not work. I finally had enough the other night when it took me 45 minutes to vacuum my living room and my hall. I could not even vacuum the rest of my house, I had to sweep the carpet. I am so aggrivated about this stupid vacuum cleaner. And what makes it worse, I bought this one to replace the old dirt devil I had. That dirt devil only lasted 6months. I AM SO OVER DIRT DEVIL!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
AKB21
MOBILE
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
4/25/2012

Customer review by mamatop

1.0 stars 4/25/2012 by mamatop
by mamatop

After having a different brand of vaccum for a number of years we decided it was time to buy something new. Having kids and pets I vacuum on an almost daily basis and I have been nothing but disappointed with this machine. It does an "OK" job on carpet, but the minute you try to vacuum on any type of hard flooring it spews debris out the back, when the hose is used there is also debris that is spewed out into the air from the connector, it's incredibly LOUD, plus it is difficult to empty. It's pretty sad that I have to bring out my 6 year old Dyson when I'm done with this one to finish cleaning! I guess it's true what they say... you get what you pay for and I'll be saving my money for something new in the near future!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
mamatop
Elsie, MI
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
worse vacuum i have ever owned
6/2/2012

Customer review by dancingcherokeegirl

1.0 stars 6/2/2012 by dancingcherokeegirl
by dancingcherokeegirl

this vacuum was so loud.i had this vacuum for about 4 months and it just stopped and wouldnt come on any more.i kept hoses clean filters clean still to no avail it just didnt last.i have went thru several vacuums possibly im just buying defective this was one of the cheaper ones i have bought because they only seem to last 6mos or less so i was tired of paying alot and recieving a little.so i gave it a try and needless to say im buying a new one today thinkin on goin to a vacuum with a bag that is what my mom always used n she had the same vacuum for years,so far with the bagless they dont even last one year so totally will not buy this again,and honestly not sure if i think bagless is any cleaner than a bag.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
dancingcherokeegirl
cullman al
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Back order on everything
2/14/2012

Customer review by dnamom

1.0 stars 2/14/2012 by dnamom
by dnamom

I would NOT buy another one of these again. When I first brought it home I loved it. It got all the dirt and was impressed with it. Until a month later I needed a new filter. I have looked online, in stores, and even called dirt devil to get told they are on back order and won't come til May. What do I do now? I have 3 kids. One which isn't a year (everything goes in her mouth) and I have stuff all over my floor cause it won't sweep it up and blows the dust back out of the fan at the bottom. I think it is wrong for them to even put a sweeper on the shelf you can't buy replacement parts for. What about those families that have littles ones with allergies like I do???? I will NEVER buy a dirt devil again.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
dnamom
Franklin, PA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Bad experience, makes vacuuming a real chore.
2/22/2012

Customer review by B4UB

1.0 stars 2/22/2012 by B4UB
by B4UB

I have owned this vacuum for a while now (long enough to feel like my money didn't go in the trash completely) all i can say is complete junk. A week after purchase the power button broke off, not that hard to live with just reach down and use your finger to push the small button. It is insanely LOUD! The worst part is that it spits out dirt and kitty litter everywhere you go. After every vacuuming i have to clean the hose and bottom of the vacuum to get all the debris it didn't suck up but trapped inside little nooks and crannies. I decided to review this while shopping for a new one. Dirt Devil..... Never again.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
B4UB
Lawton, OK
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Worst Vacuum EVER!
12/30/2011

Customer review by Rosepetal256

1.0 stars 12/30/2011 by Rosepetal256
by Rosepetal256

This vacuum is the worst vacuum we've ever bought. We haven't had it a year and need to go buy a new one, because we are embarrassed to have anyone Over with as messy as our carpet is, because this vacuum will literally no longer pick up ANYTHING other than dust which just comes right back out. Easily clogs, makes a bigger mess than the one you are trying to clean up. I usually buy vacuums that cost $40-60 because it's what I can afford, and they usually last MUCH longer. DO NOT BUY, IT IS A WASTE OF MONEY!!!!!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Rosepetal256
Tacoma, WA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
would not suggest this vacuum to anyone!
10/19/2011

Customer review by momof04kiddos

1.0 stars 10/19/2011 by momof04kiddos
by momof04kiddos

I purchased this vacuum about 6 weeks ago, and have been VERY unhappy!!! After 2 uses the filter needed to be cleaned, and the suction was very poor. The hose can not be used unless the vacuum is in the upright position, and still blows dust out of the opening where the hose normally sits. The vacuum is also VERY heavy and not easy to maneuver...and the worst is the extremely loud ear piercing noise it makes!!! I will be returning this tomorrow....should have taken it back after the first use!

Was this review helpful? (0) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
momof04kiddos
Damascus Oregon
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Worst Vacuum I Ever Purchased
11/19/2011

Customer review by MManIII

1.0 stars 11/19/2011 by MManIII
by MManIII

Got home, took out of the box, put together, and vacuumed for 2 minutes. Waited 20 minutes while it cooled off and vacuumed for 2 minutes. Waited and vacuumed. Waited and vacuumed. If you are seeking a vacuum cleaner that shuts off every 2 minutes and forces you to wait for 20 minutes before vacuuming for another 2 minutes, I highly recommend. I took it apart, put it back in the box, and returned for a different vacuum. What a waste of time - Never buy a Dirt Devil...

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MManIII
Tracy, CA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
Horrible vacuum
10/31/2011

Customer review by Sabrinac48

1.0 stars 10/31/2011 by Sabrinac48
by Sabrinac48

I bought this vacuum and it is soooo loud not normal, had for 2 months used 4 times and now it does not want pick up. Work great the first 4 times picked up a lot of dirt. I checked to see if it was clogged, tube was clear no clogs and today it also had the odor of a hot belt burning rubber. I took it back and exchanged for another brand. Never again will I buy this brand or any product with this name lol. Dont waste your money.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Sabrinac48
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Too loud
1/10/2012

Customer review by Anonoymous24

2.0 stars 1/10/2012 by Anonoymous24
by Anonoymous24

My husband brought this vaccum home one day and I wish he had not. It does clean fairly well but not deep deep clean. The problem is that it is so loud. It hurts my hears and if I have to be close to the bottom of it to use the extension hoses then I can hardly stand it. It is not necessary for it to be so loud. It is easy to clean but the main hose does it clogged quite a bit. There are better options out there.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Anonoymous24
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
1-20 of 35 total reviews
1-20 of 35 reviews