Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 36 reviews | 1.8 out of 5

2.0 stars

36 reviews | 1.8 out of 5

2.0 stars

36 reviews | 1.8 out of 5

19%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
4
4 stars
3
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 stars
26
1-20 of 35 total reviews
19%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 35 total reviews
1-20 of 35 reviews
Exceeds value
7/28/2011

Customer review by clean2011

5.0 stars 7/28/2011 by clean2011
by clean2011

Great vacuum cleaner for the price. We had a previous model and it lasted 5 years and finally was defective. Family of 5 plus three pets in house. Excellent machine! Thanks DirtDevil!

Was this review helpful? (32) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
clean2011
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Hurts the ears
8/13/2011

Customer review by stripyoubare

3.0 stars 8/13/2011 by stripyoubare
by stripyoubare

I went from a hoover wind-tunnel to this. There wasn't really a problem with my old vac, it was second hand to begin with, but my mother needed one so I gave it to her. I bought this dirt devil to replace it over the weekend and I've used it twice so far. It is much heavier and harder to maneuver than my previous vac. When you take out the canister to empty it, dirt falls out of the bottom where the whole is for the filter and it can be messy. It also has a very loud, high-pitched sound that hurts my ears. It's been 10 minutes since I used it and my ears still feel strange like I can't hear very well and I have a ringing sound. I am tempted to return this and purchase another hoover instead. The store originally didn't have the one I wanted which was why I got the dirt devil and it was only about $79 plus taxes. I'd rather pay the $95 and get the hoover since the company has always been great about their vacs. I just can't stand the high-pitched sound (which is worse in the hallway because of the enclosed space) and the dirt getting back on the floor when I try to empty the thing. The suction is good and all, but this vac is not my cup of tea.

Was this review helpful? (20) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
stripyoubare
Gardner, MA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
never ever buy
9/6/2011

Customer review by junk2011

1.0 stars 9/6/2011 by junk2011
by junk2011

bought this vacuum - after a few vacuums, the tube clogged up - it took a while to unclog. Then after a few more vacuums, the belt broke. bought a pkg of 2 belts. now i know why they put 2 in a bag. replaced belt. ran around the room a few times, then wham, the belt broke. replaced belt AGAIN, only to have it break after one round around the room. And I AGREE with the other review - the noise is so loud - I didn't think anyone would make a vacuum so loud. While at the store returning this vacuum, came across another customer with the same model in their cart. I stopped and told them my problems and funny for him to say "i just returned one for that exact reason (belt broke) and i've swapped it out for another like-model. if it happens again, i'll bring it back" - I told him good luck! I knew he was going to be bringing it back soon. AND YES THIS VACUUM IS SO HEAVY!!!

Was this review helpful? (14) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
junk2011
Would recommend to a friend? No
Would Never Recommend
9/10/2011

Customer review by ravmom

1.0 stars 9/10/2011 by ravmom
by ravmom

It is cheaply made and the hose does not stay in the connector. It blows dirty in the air and does not pick up pet hair. I wouldnt say it is super loud but it's not quiet. Do not waste your money.

Was this review helpful? (10) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ravmom
Mobile, Al
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Does a great job
10/23/2011

Customer review by krisbyQ

5.0 stars 10/23/2011 by krisbyQ
by krisbyQ

I have been using small compact vacuums and they were constantly clogged with pet hair. This has not clogged yet and pulled more dirt from my carpet than any other machine i have used. Works awesome for the money.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
krisbyQ
Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
6/9/2012

Customer review by HCam

1.0 stars 6/9/2012 by HCam
by HCam

I purchased this model in August 2011. Today while vacuuming the hinge (which is plastic) broke while emptying the cup. I contacted Customer Service, and was told that I needed a new dust cup, and that I would have to pay for it. This part was NOT covered under the warranty. Really? Guess what. . it's in the trash, and I purchased an item that was NOT dirt devil. Never Again!

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
HCam
Kentucky
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Wish I had read these reviews...
6/3/2012

Customer review by India2012

1.0 stars 6/3/2012 by India2012
by India2012

My experience mirrors the other reviewers that had trouble with this vacuum. I bought this vacuum and it clogged only after a few uses. And I mean clogged to the point of not being able to use it. So thinking the problem was maybe this one vacuum I took it back to Wal-Mart and had it exchanged. Then after a couple of uses the belt broke on the “new” vacuum. We called the manufacturer and the lady was rude and insulting to my husband basically saying it’s just the nature of vacuums for the belt to need to be replaced. Just like the filter needs to be replaced and the dirt dumped. It’s the responsible of the owner not a manufacturer’s defect. But he said only after a couple of uses but she was no help. So now we are back at Walmart.com looking for a belt and I see these reviews for the first time and I wished I would have read them before because now I know very soon we will need to buy another vacuum. Please do not waste your money.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
India2012
Would recommend to a friend? No
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
This vacuum should be taken off the market!
6/1/2012

Customer review by kacwy

1.0 stars 6/1/2012 by kacwy
by kacwy

This particular Dirt Devil should be taken off the market. There are so many flaws that this vacuum should be recalled at the very least. The hose comes out of the area where you can put an extension on and blows dust everywhere. The cord comes out of it's holding area, so you trip on it or run over it with the vacuum. The WORST part about this vacuum is that it shuts off for no reason. It doesn't smell hot or anything like that. I have read other reviews that this has happened to several other people. I clean the filters and empty the canister often, so I know that I was doing the right thing to keep it running good. It is also very loud and it hurts your ears. Whoever engineered this hunk of junk should be ashamed of themselves. DO NOT buy this vacuum because you will be very disappointed.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
kacwy
Rock Springs, WY
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Horrible
3/7/2012

Customer review by 2drunk2eatchicken

1.0 stars 3/7/2012 by 2drunk2eatchicken
by 2drunk2eatchicken

When we first moved into our home, I just bought a cheap Dirt Devil, thinking that a vacuum is a vacuum. After about of year of having a few problems with that, I told my husband we WERE getting a new vacuum. In an effort to surprise me, he came home one day from Wal-Mart with this. He thought since it was more expensive than the last Dirt Devil that it would probably work better. Well, it does not. It initially worked well, but after the first time we had to empty it, it does nothing but clog. Now all it does is blow dirt all over my hardwood floors from off the rugs. It's ridiculous. I just attempted to use it and it is now sitting out on by the curb, where any Dirt Devil belongs. Do not waste your money on anything Dirt Devil. I have owned 2 of them and have had nothing but bad experiences with both of them.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
2drunk2eatchicken
Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
would not suggest this vacuum to anyone!
10/19/2011

Customer review by momof04kiddos

1.0 stars 10/19/2011 by momof04kiddos
by momof04kiddos

I purchased this vacuum about 6 weeks ago, and have been VERY unhappy!!! After 2 uses the filter needed to be cleaned, and the suction was very poor. The hose can not be used unless the vacuum is in the upright position, and still blows dust out of the opening where the hose normally sits. The vacuum is also VERY heavy and not easy to maneuver...and the worst is the extremely loud ear piercing noise it makes!!! I will be returning this tomorrow....should have taken it back after the first use!

Was this review helpful? (0) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
momof04kiddos
Damascus Oregon
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Suction is great!
6/29/2012

Customer review by Satchadero

5.0 stars 6/29/2012 by Satchadero
by Satchadero

I knew this would be the perfect Father's Day gift and it was. (Inside joke...my husband does all the vacuuming). We had the same model, only 10 years older, and my husband is very impressed with the suction power of this newer model.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Satchadero
Winter Springs, Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Great vacuum cleaner!
4/24/2012

Customer review by Cleangenie

5.0 stars 4/24/2012 by Cleangenie
by Cleangenie

Brought this Vacuum cleaner before Thanksgiving, love it! It deep cleans your carpets, you wouldn't believe the amount of dirt it sucks up. Only downfall with this product, you have to dump the canister several times before you're done a room.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Cleangenie
Stedman. NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Love this machine
7/24/2012

Customer review by lkm14

4.0 stars 7/24/2012 by lkm14
by lkm14

I had an older model of this and when it finally died, I bought another one. We had dogs and cats and tons of pet hair and this vacuum does a great job with that. I like being able to see how much it's picking up. The hose does pop out sometimes, but other than that, I really like it.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
lkm14
Iowa
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
11/20/2011

Customer review by YCACharlieBravo

4.0 stars 11/20/2011 by YCACharlieBravo
by YCACharlieBravo

Suction is great. Accessories are useful. Had a little problem with assembly (finding screws). Instruction pictures small for early senior citizen to see clearly.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
YCACharlieBravo
Augusta Ga
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Could be a good buy.. not for me though.
11/6/2011

Customer review by srm22562

3.0 stars 11/6/2011 by srm22562
by srm22562

Bought this vacuum about 2 years ago. Was surprised at how well it worked for the price (which, mind you, was higher at the time). However, I live in the country and a lot of dirt, leaves, straw, etc. come through my house and I usually vacuum at least every other day if not every day. This was WAY too much for this vacuum to handle. We change the filter like we're supposed to, my boyfriend even blows it out with an air hose once a month, but it just wore down really fast, within 6 months I could tell it was starting to wear out. It's still hanging in there, barely, but we are now looking for a new one. So if you are like me with a lot of craziness in your house, I recommend you keep looking. Spend a little extra money now so you don't have to later. Also the when you go to use the other pieces with the hose, everything that got caught in the hose blows out all over your floor.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
srm22562
Richmond, VA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Too loud
1/10/2012

Customer review by Anonoymous24

2.0 stars 1/10/2012 by Anonoymous24
by Anonoymous24

My husband brought this vaccum home one day and I wish he had not. It does clean fairly well but not deep deep clean. The problem is that it is so loud. It hurts my hears and if I have to be close to the bottom of it to use the extension hoses then I can hardly stand it. It is not necessary for it to be so loud. It is easy to clean but the main hose does it clogged quite a bit. There are better options out there.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Anonoymous24
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
Worst Vacuum I have owned
7/21/2012

Customer review by BRButch

1.0 stars 7/21/2012 by BRButch
by BRButch

Since the day we bought this vaccum it has never worked very well. You have to empty the canister very frequently to keep suction or it will just spit the debris back all over the floor. We still go borrow our neighbors instead of trying to use this vacuum because its so frustrating. This vacuum works equally horrible on wood, tile, or carpet floors.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
BRButch
Baton Rouge, LA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per month
Back order on everything
2/14/2012

Customer review by dnamom

1.0 stars 2/14/2012 by dnamom
by dnamom

I would NOT buy another one of these again. When I first brought it home I loved it. It got all the dirt and was impressed with it. Until a month later I needed a new filter. I have looked online, in stores, and even called dirt devil to get told they are on back order and won't come til May. What do I do now? I have 3 kids. One which isn't a year (everything goes in her mouth) and I have stuff all over my floor cause it won't sweep it up and blows the dust back out of the fan at the bottom. I think it is wrong for them to even put a sweeper on the shelf you can't buy replacement parts for. What about those families that have littles ones with allergies like I do???? I will NEVER buy a dirt devil again.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
dnamom
Franklin, PA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
hunk of junk don't waste your money.
1/13/2012

Customer review by callybinky

1.0 stars 1/13/2012 by callybinky
by callybinky

no suction, just blows the dirt around. i have white tile on my bathroom floors and throw rugs. the bathroom looks dirtier after vacuuming. i noticed the same thing on the hardwood floors too. The hose has no suction, and the hole left when you remove the hose blows the dust everywhere. Horrible product!!!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
callybinky
wheeling wv
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Bad experience, makes vacuuming a real chore.
2/22/2012

Customer review by B4UB

1.0 stars 2/22/2012 by B4UB
by B4UB

I have owned this vacuum for a while now (long enough to feel like my money didn't go in the trash completely) all i can say is complete junk. A week after purchase the power button broke off, not that hard to live with just reach down and use your finger to push the small button. It is insanely LOUD! The worst part is that it spits out dirt and kitty litter everywhere you go. After every vacuuming i have to clean the hose and bottom of the vacuum to get all the debris it didn't suck up but trapped inside little nooks and crannies. I decided to review this while shopping for a new one. Dirt Devil..... Never again.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
B4UB
Lawton, OK
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
1-20 of 35 total reviews
1-20 of 35 reviews