Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 160 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

160 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

160 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

86%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
95
4 stars
43
3 stars
8
2 stars
7
1 stars
7
1-20 of 160 total reviews
86%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 160 total reviews
1-20 of 160 reviews
Cannot find a better printer for the price
10/14/2011

Customer review by Dave3533

5.0 stars 10/14/2011 by Dave3533
by Dave3533

I was looking for a combo printer / scanner and ended up looking at the Brother DCP-7065DN at a local office supply store. After setting my budget, and deciding I did not want an inkjet printer, I looked over the features and price of the monochrome laser printers in stock. I determined that the Brother had everything I wanted for a price within my budget. I also checked the reviews of this unit online and determined they were very favorable. I especially like the duplex printing and feed tray scanning capabilities. I am a student, so my influx of papers and notes is overwhelming. Now I can scan all of my handouts, print lab reports, and generally keep my paperwork under control. The only thing I wish the DCP-7065DN could do is duplex scanning. I did find that I can use a program called "PDF Split and Merge" to merge the front and back scans of notes, which accomplishes the same thing; it just adds another step. The toner kits are very reasonable online as well. Overall I'm very satisfied.

Dave3533
Bozeman, MT
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Very Difficult Scan Software
7/3/2012

Customer review by An anonymous customer

1.0 stars 7/3/2012 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

I am a lawyer and our firm owns several DCP 7040 units which we are very pleased with because of reliability, ease of operation, and cost of copies. My computer's hard drive died. I had Mozy back-up so saved my files but didn't save the disc that came with the DCP 7040. Brothers said I would have to buy the Paperport software. So I bought a new DCP7065DN thinking that would make sense as probably the drum on my old DCP7040 was nearing the end of its life and since I could immediately buy the DCP7065DN at a local store. (Apparently the DCP 7040 is no longer being stocked at most stores.) I now find that scanning documents is far more complicated. For example, I scanned a one page coversheet which came out as .jpg file and a fourteen page petition which came out as a .pdf file. The learning curve to scan, store and retrieve documents on the DCP 7040 was much shorter. In my view Brothers has done a disservice by making the Paperport software for the DCP 7065DN too complicated.

An anonymous customer
Las Vegas
Would recommend to a friend? No
Best B&W/Grayscale printer money can buy!
5/24/2012

Customer review by David321

5.0 stars 5/24/2012 by David321
by David321

This printer is AWESOME and the easiest I've ever used or setup! It has a networking (ethernet) port on the back that you can plug right into your wireless or wired router and it is easily a network printer for all of your home's computers. Software is easy and fast to install. MFC series are all-in-ones with fax capabilities and the DCP series are all-in-ones without fax. Duplexing is a must and toner saver is a must for me. Combining all the features and quick functionality and the low price on toners and drums makes this printer the best in class. Don't buy a wireless printer that loses the network and causes problems and costs more; just buy a wired network one and plug it in the wireless router!

Was this review helpful? (13) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
David321
Des Moines, IA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
One heck of a printer for the price.
3/7/2012

Customer review by Bodir

4.0 stars 3/7/2012 by Bodir
by Bodir

I selected this printer for its versatility and separate drum and toner cartridge. I had to by a USB cable since it didn't come with one. Hooked it up and followed instructions (a must) and all worked just great. The print is clear and crisp. If you need a printer for home or office use in black print only, you won't go wrong with this choice.

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Bodir
Pittsburgh area
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
It Finally Works For Me--That's About All
3/21/2012

Customer review by Cats

2.0 stars 3/21/2012 by Cats
by Cats

I wanted to get away from ink-jet printers because I print primarily in black and white and have used laser printers in an office setting and have been favorably impressed. I wanted to be able to do two sided printing and copying and I wanted to be able to easily print envelopes. My needs are simple--printing, scanning and copying. The instruction booklets leave much to be desired in terms of clarity on how to use the machine. Unless you've used a laser printer before, you may have troubles at the outset. The envelope feed is very, very tricky. If you don't do it just right, you get a jam message which requires you to open the front and take out the drum/cartridge assembly. Two sided copying requires for more paper handling than I would have liked. You either have to manually turn over the original or manually place two one-sided originals to get a two sided copy. I found that changing the cartridge was far easier than the instructions made it sound. I found the scanning function to be about as simple as can be. I've scanned stuff with no problems at all.

Cats
Would recommend to a friend? No
Great printer for the price.
11/23/2012

Customer review by Tank619

5.0 stars 11/23/2012 by Tank619
by Tank619
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I'm very happy so far. Installs quickly and print speed is very fast. I added the high yield toner and an extended warranty.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Tank619
Blacksburg VA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great MFP at a great price
12/25/2012

Customer review by ragtag

5.0 stars 12/25/2012 by ragtag
by ragtag

I have had my DCP-7065DN MFP for 10 months and I am very pleased. I wanted a device with this print speed, with copy and scan capability as well. It works great right out of the box, easy to put into service. I have not used the fax capability, but assume it works as easily as the copy, scan, and print features do. Good quality output. I have two minor "complaints" but they were pretty much expected. First, using it mostly for text, I do not get the rated pages from the toner packages, and they are not cheap -- suggest you adjust the pages per cartridge downward if you are comparing units by cost per page. Second, there is a considerable current draw when the unit goes from sleep to active mode. I am able to minimize the problem by plugging in to a different household circuit, but if this were not the case I would be concerned for my sensitive PC circuits. All in all, I am very pleased to have such a speedy, quality MFP from a good company that performs really well, expecially at this price point (very competitive, and I did extensive research to select this unit).

ragtag
Seattle, WA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
The Best $150 I've spent on technology for a while
7/5/2014

Customer review by FloridaBrit

5.0 stars 7/5/2014 by FloridaBrit
by FloridaBrit
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I wanted a laser jet printer (rather than an ink jet) to keep the ink costs down and ideally one with a scanner with a feeder. Really didn't want all the fax stuff as I don't have a phone line and it just clutters up the display. This printer/scanner/copier does just that. Scanner seems great so far - I use it mainly for scanning fairly large documents and it whips through them no problem. Printing is pretty quick from the power save mode and then it churns the pages out. I have it connected via USB cable so I can't comment on getting it to work wirelessly via a router. Just thrown out my old laser jet and the scanner/copier I used previously - lots of lovely desk space recaptured.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
FloridaBrit
St Augustine, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
12/28/2012

Customer review by KingCurt

5.0 stars 12/28/2012 by KingCurt
by KingCurt

I love how cheap it is to print compared to ink printers. The quality is great, and it does everything I need. I have had it for 4 months now (I am a college student, so for the past semester), and so far it works great. It's easy to use, and has all the right features for a really good price. All I need is black and white, and even with worming up I think it prints faster then an ink jet printer.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
KingCurt
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Best Printer in the Field
10/22/2011

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 10/22/2011 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

This has to be one of the greatest printer I ever came across. I am an IT engineer and History professor and change printers at least every two months because the wear out. I must have owned at least 50 Brother Ink jet printers in the last 5 years (they do not wear long, even when replaced by Brother) and one lone HL-5280DW laser printer (a great heavy grade printer with a lot of status lights). So I was sadden, when after I printed 80,000 pages in 5 years, that I need a replacement. Currently, in the same price range, Brother does not make a feature rich printer like the HL-5280DW, so hence I looked around and settled on the DCP-7065DN because of price and not necessarily the features (it had way more than I needed). I am glad I picked the printer and see no defect in for home or a small business. The only thing missing is the N series wireless.

An anonymous customer
Imperial Beach, CA.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
OK product.
12/5/2012

Customer review by phdarlinglaw

3.0 stars 12/5/2012 by phdarlinglaw
by phdarlinglaw

Used at attorney and secretary desks as general purpose printer, scanner, copier. I have 3 of these machines. The following applies to each of them: Printing quality & speed are excellent. However, the toner cartridges are too small... They require replacement too often, which translates to greater expense. I use the high-capacity cartridges. Scan quality is only average. LOTS of speckles in all scans. Doesn't matter if ADF or manual. Also- HUGE problem is streaks on ADF scans (something is being deposited and builds up on the glass; have to hand-clean the glass alot). Don't know why these machines have this problem. No other scanners of mine have this problem: Brother DCP-8085DN, MFC-8500, MFC-9450CDN. This machine is ok, but because of the speckles and streaks I would not purchase it again.

phdarlinglaw
Tehachapi, California
Would recommend to a friend? No
READ THE INSTRUCTIONS
5/6/2012

Customer review by Asong4u

4.0 stars 5/6/2012 by Asong4u
by Asong4u

"Duh" tyo By "notatechie" from Michigan Did you read the Instruction Manual? Did you listen to the sales rep. when bought the computer, OR read the fine print on the Brother web page? IF YOU HAD, you would know that shipping printers with "starter cartridges" (both ink jet and laser) that usually print only 150 copies or so, and that you should purchase a "full" cartridge WITH your printer. How do you think they've lowered the prices so much?. HP is probably the worst offender in my opinion, having physically downsized the size of the cartridges so that they CANNOT hold more ink or toner. As for noise, the MFC is quieter (measured by Db meter) than either of the HP lasers I own. So, I have two questions for you: (1) Did you contact brother when you FIRST discovered the "problems." You could have returned the printer. (2) Are you secretly a plant from a competitor. As an IP consultant, I own and have used dozens, perhaps maybe hundreds of printers, and Brothers are ALWAYS the most dependable over a long run. Yes, Brother does have problems with their printers like other manufacturers. but my experience has been that, given the chance, Brother will do everything reasonable to satisfy customers.

Asong4u
Nashville, T
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Exceeds all expectations
10/19/2012

Customer review by squids

5.0 stars 10/19/2012 by squids
by squids

Excellent value for the dollar, great linux support, fast and high-quality printing, network ready (ethernet); built-in print server. This Brother monochrome laser printer is compact and feature-filled. It is incredibly easy to use, produces beautiful, crisp, clear copies, and handles paper perfectly. Time to first print is very fast (few seconds, even from "deep sleep" mode)! The built-in ethernet print server is excellent; worked perfectly the first time each of my Linux machines (Mint, Mandriva, MEPIS, Ubuntu) were connected to it. Linux drivers from Brother are a breeze to find on their web site and install and are available for all features in the printer and for both 32-bit and 64-bit architectures and for both RPM and DEB systems. (Outstanding Linux support! Go Brother!!!) Printer has lots of very useful configuration options available directly from the small back-lit LCD on the control panel, which is very easy to use. Goes into stand-by mode within a minute or so after printing, then into sleep, then deep-sleep modes within 3 minutes of printing to save power; NICE FEATURE! The scanner scans in full color, is very fast, and works flawlessly over my LAN. Highly recommend this product to others.

squids
Pepperell, MA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great value!
12/11/2013

Customer review by ltlfal

5.0 stars 12/11/2013 by ltlfal
by ltlfal
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

If all you need is black and white, it is hard it imagine a better value for the money. Prints great quality, scans, and copies. Uses toner cartridges, not ink. According to my calculator, prints and copies will run about 2 cents per sheet. Can't get much less expensive than that! The savings in cost per sheet will more than make up for the difference in cost between this and a cheap ink printer.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ltlfal
wyoming
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Extremely Poor tech support
10/1/2014

Customer review by Jimby

1.0 stars 10/1/2014 by Jimby
by Jimby

I purchased the DCP 7065 DN because I had to, because I had to upgrade my computer from Windows Vista. When I had Windows Vista I used a DCP 7020 which worked great. So when I had to upgrade my Windows because of my book keeping program, I found that my DCP 7020 would no longer work properly. So since I had been happy with my DCP 7020 I thought that I would Buy another Brother product. To this day the DCP 7065DN does not even remotely work as well as the DCP 7020. When I contacted your tech support no one could help me and they told me to contact Nuance, and Nuance told me that they could not help me because "Brother" made some changes in the programming and they could not help me. So I will never buy another Brother product again.

Jimby
San Antonio. Tex.
Would recommend to a friend? No
Generally okay, but some flaws
5/2/2013

Customer review by FriscoMike

3.0 stars 5/2/2013 by FriscoMike
by FriscoMike

I replaced an aging MFC-8065DN with this model. While the cheaper price always means a trade-off, my complaints don't seem cost-related. The printed page storage area is too small. It's hard to get your hand in the narrow opening. The manual feed slot opening cover should extend out from the unit to support the paper, not leave it hanging over. The manual feed cover also doesn't open far enough making it a bit more difficult to insert a page in the opening. Also, the paper edge slider for the manual feed doesn't always properly secure the page, which results in an off-center print. Also, the manual feed is one sheet at a time. If more than one sheet is inserted, all get pulled through the manual feed.

FriscoMike
Frisco, TX
Would recommend to a friend? No
Good product for the features and price
9/17/2012

Customer review by BalancedConsumer

4.0 stars 9/17/2012 by BalancedConsumer
by BalancedConsumer

I've owned the product for almost 3 months now and am pretty pleased with it. If you're looking for a reasonably priced multi-function printer, this is one to seriously consider. I especially like the feature that allows multiple pages to be scanned/copied. I wish it had a 2-sided copy function. The print quality is very good and clear. I did have a problem with it recently, however, Brother support was very good and ended up sending me a new machine. Good customer service means a lot to me, and helps with my overall rating. I think the problem with my printer was a little unusual, so I am trusting that the new one I received will continue on through the one-year warranty period.

BalancedConsumer
North Carolina
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Very Good Printer
3/11/2013

Customer review by philso

5.0 stars 3/11/2013 by philso
by philso

The DCP-7065DN works very well. We are very pleased with this purchase. This is a wired network printer that we use with wireless laptops. To print and scan. We have one laptop with XP and one with Win8. These required different setups. The Win8 set itself up and required only minor tweeking to set personal preferences. The XP set up was documented and simple. Print quality is great, scanning and copying are simple. As others have stated the toner capacity is about half of what is stated, if your lucky... but then we don't print the standard test document. If your looking for a networked printer, copier, scanner this is a good choice.

philso
Central Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Good Printer
12/24/2012

Customer review by Shoebox

5.0 stars 12/24/2012 by Shoebox
by Shoebox

Bought the DCP-7065DN about 6 months ago or so. I bought it because I've had very good luck with Brother printers over the years and I needed one with scan capability. It's been a good multi-function device. Printer works well although the toner cartridge that comes with it doesn't last long. I particularly like the scanner and associated software. I do wish it could handle 2-sided originals, but given the price, I'm good with it. This model doesn't have the fax function, but I so rarely need to fax something that it's also not an issue for me. Overall very good device. I'd recommend it.

Shoebox
Raleigh, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great printer
9/10/2012

Customer review by damark

4.0 stars 9/10/2012 by damark
by damark

Installation was easy. I had trouble with duplex printing, when I called Brother Support they had a replacement to me in two days; the replacement works great. I especially like the convenience of duplex printing to save paper. The copier works flawlessly including the double sided ID copy which I used to copy my ID and insurance info for when I ride my bicycle. The included Paperport software makes creating PDFs of scanned documents easy. This is a great printer for a home office where high outputs are not needed. I am giving this product 4 stars because it lacks wireless networking.

damark
Colorado Springs, CO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1-20 of 160 total reviews
1-20 of 160 reviews