Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 95 reviews | 3.2 out of 5

3.0 stars

95 reviews | 3.2 out of 5

3.0 stars

95 reviews | 3.2 out of 5

55%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
32
4 stars
17
3 stars
7
2 stars
14
1 stars
25
1-20 of 90 total reviews
55%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 90 total reviews
1-20 of 90 reviews
Great Vacuum, excellent price!
11/7/2011

Customer review by LauraSF

4.0 stars 11/7/2011 by LauraSF
by LauraSF
Walmart associate

First time using a bagless vacuum, I was impressed. I put this vacuum to the test with some major fall cleaning. As soon as I had it out of the box and set up I was immediately impressed by several features. • First was it automatically pulls itself forward, meaning less arm muscle for pushing a pulling. Making much faster to zip around the house. Great option for an elderly person or someone with a bad back. • Secondly I thought the retractable cord (Elite Rewind) was genius. Every vacuum I've ever owned has had cord problems. After your done vacuuming you just step on a lever and it pull the cord back into the vacuum as quickly as it come out. • Love all the attachments! Especially the upholstery brush worked really well on my couch and chair. I thought the hose was very easy to detach for quick vacuuming in tight spots. • Wasn’t sure I was going to like the bagless option but found it very quick to empty with little to no mess. I like the idea of a reusable filter – just need to rinse off and then reuse. Much better than buying vacuum bags. Overall I really liked this vacuum. It held up to a deep cleaning. Would make a great gift – excellent price point too.

Was this review helpful? (23) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
LauraSF
San Francisco
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Walmart associate
Great features for a Vacuum at this price
10/21/2011

Customer review by EC42

5.0 stars 10/21/2011 by EC42
by EC42
Walmart associate

Out of the box, the vacuum required only minor assembly (had to attach the handle with three screws) before putting to immediate use. The unit comes with the standard tools and a power hand-tool that's great for the tight corners or cleaning stairs. My favorite feature, easily, is the 25ft retractable cord. It will ratchet out as you clean and, with the press of a button, will automatically rewind into a spool on the vacuum. You don't even have to bend over to press the button. The motor was powerful to pick up some small pebbles and even some coins (though I would recommend avoiding vacuuming up your spare change). The bag-less collector for the dirt was pretty easy to empty, but I would recommend doing it outside to keep any stray dirt from reentering your freshly vacuumed space. Another great feature that I liked is the reusable HEPA filter. With my last bag-less vacuum, I had to replace the HEPA filters, mitigating the convenience of not having to locate bags. Being able to rinse and reuse the filter makes this bag-less even more convenient. It's not a super-featherweigh, but it's lighter than some vaccums I've owned. The only other thing I would have preferred would be to have the power switch on the handle instead of the side, but that's only a minor inconvenience.

Was this review helpful? (45) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
EC42
San Francisco
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Walmart associate
This vacuum has a belt problem...
12/3/2012

Customer review by FWS44

1.0 stars 12/3/2012 by FWS44
by FWS44

After purchasing this vacuum and getting home with it, I took it out of the box and assembled it, very easy to assemble… then I turned it on and it wouldn’t pick up anything, I looked at the vacuum and realized the brush wasn’t spinning, I then took the bottom off and the belt wasn’t in place, put the belt in place, replaced the bottom and started it up again… it worked beautifully, picked up everything in it’s path, then the belt came off… took bottom off the vacuum, put belt back on, put bottom back on and continued vacuuming, then my husband took it our family room (big room) and he had the same problem, belt kept coming off, after taking apart the bottom and putting bottom back on 8 times, I knew this vacuum was going back to the store for a refund… and that is exactly what I did… Walmart’s Customer Service was wonderful with my return… So if you want to buy this vacuum, keep a philips screw driver around, you're going to need it... a lot...

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
FWS44
Zanesville, OH
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
SO FAR SO GOOD
8/23/2012

Customer review by 1 LIL WISE OWL

4.0 stars 8/23/2012 by 1 LIL WISE OWL
by 1 LIL WISE OWL

My husband bought me a Bissell Powerbroom for Xmas 2012 and it worked for about 6 months before the suction stopped working and previously purchased a Bissell Power Force Turbo and it lasted about 8 months and the same thing happened. So don't Buy Bissell ever..... Now I exchanged the Bissell for this Hoover and so far so good the suction is great, I love the retractable cord it reaches almost all over the house before I need to move the plug. But I did notice that the cord gets pretty hot in about 5-10 minutes of use and I don't know why, I notice another review metioned that same issue. Also interior is hard to clean the dust out of the lil holes and is hard to dry I have to let it air dry. But over all I really like this Hoover Product Hopefully this will be my last vac purchase for years to come. Although this vac bagless area is smaller then the Bissell vac at the same price, I rather empty the filte a few extra times then having to run back to the store to exchange it every 6-8 monthes.

1 LIL WISE OWL
WAYNE NY USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Short Term Satisfaction
1/17/2015

Customer review by Momof2Boys

2.0 stars 1/17/2015 by Momof2Boys
by Momof2Boys

I've had this vacuum for right at 2 years. At first I loved it. I'm not sure if it was that great or just much better than the vacuum I had previously had. Over the last 9 months, I feel like it's been losing some of it's suctioning. So I decided to put it to the test. I borrowed my neighbors vacuum. I vacuumed over with ours and then again with hers. It was ridiculous the amount being left behind by mine. Ironically, as I was finishing this little test our vacuum stopped working at all. It comes on but leaves a horrible burning smell, sounds weird, and the brush doesn't spin. I checked the belt and it is still fully in tact so I am unsure at this point if it could possibly be the motor going out. I was very please with it the first year of ownership, I just hoped it was going to last longer with two little ones running around. As I've been looking at new vacuums, I've found two I like one is a Hoover and it's making me weary to buy another one ... we will see what happens.

Momof2Boys
Somerset, KY, United States
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Female
Amazing vacuum for the price!!!
7/3/2012

Customer review by DANISA13

5.0 stars 7/3/2012 by DANISA13
by DANISA13

This vacuum works so well it made me feel like I have been a bad mom! I vacuum every 2-3 days because we have 2 kids and 3 dogs. I had a Bissell Lift-off Pet vacuum for the past two years. I thought it was doing an adequate job on my carpet until we bought this Hoover Elite Rewind this week after our puppy ate the power cord off our old vacuum. I had just vacuumed like 3 days before and first used my new Hoover in the kid’s rooms. This vacuum pulled 3 canisters full of dirt and hair out of their high pile carpet!!! The suction is amazing! I love the easy trap door way to empty the canister, so much less of a mess than my Bissell was and much easier on my allergies. I also LOVE the “rewind” feature of this vacuum, you push a button with your foot and it sucks the cord right up back into the vacuum. No more puppies eating cords. Buy this vacuum, excellent value for the price!

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
DANISA13
Chula Vista, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Poor quality
12/2/2011

Customer review by TheNinaMonster

1.0 stars 12/2/2011 by TheNinaMonster
by TheNinaMonster

From the very beginning I was not impressed with this vacuum. It did not leave the prominent vacuum marks on my carpet as I had expected, and it did not have great suction. The extensions were nice, and the rewind feature was awesome... But after a month of use my vacuum clogged up and the suction indicator turned red. I tried my best to find out what clogged it, and after cleaning out the hoses and filters, there was no change. The cyclonic action where you could see the dirt whirl around stopped, and my vacuum stopped cleaning properly. Today, while I was vacuuming the whole thing just shut off and ceased to operate. Its a total piece of junk! Some may say that I am to blame for it not working properly, but there is something to be said about a mechanism that breaks within only a month of operation. I owned a 25$ Bissel that cleaned just as well as this vacuum, and it didnt break like this one did! I'm returning this piece of junk tomorrow! I would not recommend this product to anyone! I assume that all of the other reviews were done when they just bought the product, and were still excited about it... but coming from a person that owned the thing for more than a month, I'd advise not to get it... it stinks!

Was this review helpful? (23) (10)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
TheNinaMonster
Lancaster, CA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Belt comes off
5/30/2016

Customer review by Shelly602

1.0 stars 5/30/2016 by Shelly602
by Shelly602

I've been a Hoover customer since birth- my mom, my grandma...all the ladies in my life used a Hoover. This vacuum has suction but the belt keeps coming off- disappointing product I thought Hoover was better than this!

Comment from Michael - 6/1/2016

Hi Shelly602! Oh no, we don't want you to be disappointed in your Elite Rewind. We want to help. If the belt keeps slipping off, it may be stretched. The belt stretching could have happened if anything got jammed in the brushroll or if the height adjust was set too low. We recommend replacing the belt every 6-12 months depending on usage. You can find the belts here: http://bit.ly/1dqyOOc. Hope this helps!

Shelly602
Phoenix, AZ, United States
Would recommend to a friend? No
Good price for a powerful vacuum
11/8/2011

Customer review by skwong

4.0 stars 11/8/2011 by skwong
by skwong

This item was almost ready to use right out of the box. All I needed to do was put in ONE screw for the handle portion and I was vacuuming away. The suction power was is pretty good on this item and cleaned my floors relatively well. The product is slightly on the heavy side but not too bad at all. Bagless is also great cause I always had problems replacing the vacuum bags. My one complaint would be that the hose attachment is a little bit shorter than i'm used to. Overall a very gd product for this price.

Was this review helpful? (10) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
skwong
San Bruno, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Not sure what to think
9/9/2012

Customer review by Commando226

3.0 stars 9/9/2012 by Commando226
by Commando226

I bought this unit from my local walmart about a month ago and here are my quick pros and cons pros: 1 Easy to dump canister 2 strong 12amp power 3 easy to retrack power cord 4 efficient cleaner 5 long electric cord The cons is this. While the cord is auto retrackable it puts the cord at the bottem of the vacumm and thus making it in the way more than average I have to grab the cord and in my hands at the handle while vacuuming to help keep it out of the way. Also the belt came off after an accidental run in with a shoe lace. That never happened with my other hoover vacuum cleaner. After putting the belt back on, I had noticed a lack of protection that would prevent the belt from comming off often. The main protection is pressure from motor to brush with little or no belt guilde. There is also a burning smell but that smell seams to be comming from the heat generated off friction from the beltdrive to the rubber belt. I have not had a need to test the accesories yet That is it from me. I havent used it long enough to recommend yet. But even with the cons it seam to be a good Vacuum.

Was this review helpful? (4) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Commando226
Endicott, NY
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Wonderful Powerful Vac
2/15/2012

Customer review by Maria271985

5.0 stars 2/15/2012 by Maria271985
by Maria271985

I have two small girls and I have to sweep the carpet 3 or 4 times a day and this is the best vac I have ever used it pulls its self and gets my carpet and vinyl floor clean. My old vac didnt get the floor clean the first time and I had to clean it twice sometimes 3 times. With just one use this one got it clean.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Maria271985
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
This Vacuum Really Sucks BUT IN THE GOOD WAY
7/4/2012

Customer review by CHEFDENNIS

5.0 stars 7/4/2012 by CHEFDENNIS
by CHEFDENNIS

I had another vacuum and used it regularly. It was okay but I never seemed to really get the rug clean. I decided to try a bag-less vac and after checking out recommended models decided on this one, The Hoover Elite. Now remember I had just vacuumed my rug with my old vacuum cleaner. After unpacking it my son and myself quickly assembled the Hoover Elite. 5 minutes tops to have it ready. I asked my son to re-vacuum the area we just did and he obviously complained,"But we just vacuumed the carpet." He complied and after ten minutes had the first floor re-vacuumed. He showed me the vacuum and the Elite's catch cup was full of debris. I do not me there was some dirt. It was packed. I took the vacuum over it again and even more came out. Obviously for the first time in years my carpet was finally getting cleaned. Thank you for selling such a great product. Dennis of Lansdale PA

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
CHEFDENNIS
lansdale, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Best one I have had in years!
11/22/2012

Customer review by freddysgone

5.0 stars 11/22/2012 by freddysgone
by freddysgone
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

There is just no comparing this to anything else. I have used 2 of the other top brands the last few times, for them to only last a year or two. This one cleans better, is so light weight and that retractable cord is fantastic! I am in love with my vacuum! We have a dog and cats, and the pet hair is gone. Its the way they used to make them. You remember the ones? The ones that actually worked! You will not be sorry for taking this one home. Promise.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
freddysgone
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Powerful Vacuum at a great value!
12/8/2011

Customer review by SG2011

4.0 stars 12/8/2011 by SG2011
by SG2011
Walmart associate

This is a powerful vacuum and a great value for all of the features that it includes. There's a little bit of assembly for the handle, but it took me less than 5 mins to put it all together. The screws were taped on the corresponding areas, so it made it very easy to follow directions. I have a combination of hardwood floors, tile and carpet and this vacuum did a great job on all floor types - just adjust the dial on the front. I love the attachments for those hard to reach corners. I even vacuumed my couch and got the crumbs out of the crevices with the fabric attachment. I also love that it's bagless and somewhat lightweight which means you don't have to worry about buying vacuum bags. Overall, an effective and lightwight vacuum that's worth every penny.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
SG2011
San Francisco, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Walmart associate
WOW!!
5/22/2012

Customer review by Tracey0508

5.0 stars 5/22/2012 by Tracey0508
by Tracey0508

I owned a Bissell vacuum and was noticing it was not working as well as it should. I took it apart and cleaned it to the best of my ability and it still didn't clean that well. Thought it was time for a new vacuum. I got it out of the box and it was completely easy to assemble. I turned it on and oh my LORD does this thing suck it up! I own about a 1,200 square foot house. It sucked up so much stuff I had to empty it once per ROOM. I ended up using that vacuum about 3 hours around my house. My carpet hasn't looked better!!! For the price? This was just AWESOME!!! I'm finding myself using it almost every day, just to see what else it will suck up. I have a Maine Coon cat that I thought didn't shed that much....I was soo wrong...soooo wrong..

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Tracey0508
Garland, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Nice enough
3/10/2015

Customer review by Picks

3.0 stars 3/10/2015 by Picks
by Picks

I've had the vacuum for more than a year. I have never had a busted belt. It has now stretched and it won't pick up very well due to this. I tried to buy a belt at the store, but they don't carry many Hoover parts at our local stores. They sell Hoovers like crazy they just don't carry replacement parts. The attachments are good but fall off sort of easy if you bump the sides. The rotating brush stops with very little pressure or very little hair build up. I don't use it much, I wouldn't even know where to buy the small belt if it gave out besides ebay or hoover.com. Sometimes the dirt kicks back towards your feet if it has bigger than a BB pellet sized debri, you have to re-vacuume to get the kick back dirt if it is a bit of a heavy soiled area (front door area) . It's ok for the price. I have washed the filters lots of times and they are still good. The re-wind cord is nice, it gets a bit slow now towrds the end of the cord and needs a little help sometimes (now that it's older) but not too hard, better than winding it by hand. Not messy to clean the canister or the filters.

Comment from Giselle - 3/11/2015

Hi Picks! Sorry to hear you're unable to locate the belts to your cleaner locally. As you mentioned, you can always locate parts on our site. You can also try one of our service centers. You can locate the nearest service center to you here; http://hoover.com/locator/ simply enter your zip code. The part number to your belt is # 562932001. Provide this to the dealer and they will let you know if it's available at their store. Hope this helps!

Picks
New Mexico, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
UH71009 belt coming off
2/2/2014

Customer review by JDCO

1.0 stars 2/2/2014 by JDCO
by JDCO

After resetting the belt (7) seven times I search the web for answers and came to the Hoover site. What I find is that the single biggest complaint/issue is the belt repeatedly coming off...and each time you say your sorry and engineering has a solution and to call 800.932.9200 and you'll share the secret. Well it's Sunday and my wife wants to clean and you're not open.  Now let me speculate, the majority of people who want and need this "solution" are the husbands who just happen to get home in the evening or  over the weekend are asked by their wife to see if they can fix the vacuum..  I realize that I'm about to suggest something really radical; but why not put the "solution" on the web site or in your answer to your  customers comments.  Thereby giving immediate help to us poor saps trying to fix an issue after hours that your engineers created to begin with and quality control missed.  Oh, not to worry, I'll call 800.944.9299 during you business hours and take time out of my business day. But wouldn't it just be better to post the solution on line in the first place?

JDCO
Fowlerville, MI, United States
Gender:Male
5/31/2012

Customer review by An anonymous customer

4.0 stars 5/31/2012 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

bought this sweeper recently and have to say the suction was great and picked up stuff that i didn't even know was there. plus i love that it is light enough that my 5 year old can push it around without help. my old vaccum was much heavier than this one. the reason i only give it 4 stars is because i just realized tonight that when the handle is in the upright position and you are using the hose tools the brushes still spin. i lifted it up slightly to move it to another area of our bathroom and it caught on the rug by the tub. it sucked it in and popped off the belt. it took me a few minutes to figure out this is what had happened and thought i was going to have to return it. it was and easy enough fix. however, in my opinion it is a design flaw on hoover's part. if i had known that it did this i would have turned it off before i moved it.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
An anonymous customer
Bergholz, ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
I love it!
10/9/2012

Customer review by aprilstarr

5.0 stars 10/9/2012 by aprilstarr
by aprilstarr

I have been using this vacuum for over a month, and it's great. Very good suction! The attachment w/ the roller works like magic when it comes to sucking up dust and pet fur from my sofa! And the color looks like grey in the pics to me, but it's a lovely lavender color in person, so pretty. The cannister is super easy to empty, it comes off easily with one little click of a button, and there is a button at the bottom you just push and the bottom falls open and the trash falls into your trashcan. With my old Bissell bagless vac, trash was always falling out whenever I took off the cannister to dump it. The Bissell was also heavier and much louder then my new Hoover.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
aprilstarr
Baton Rouge, LA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
2/29/2012

Customer review by ChristinaMD87

2.0 stars 2/29/2012 by ChristinaMD87
by ChristinaMD87

It was great for the 4 months that it actually worked. If you buy it make sure to keep the warranty and hope that you have a service area close by. Mine just stopped working in the middle of vacuuming.

Was this review helpful? (5) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ChristinaMD87
Would recommend to a friend? No
1-20 of 90 total reviews
1-20 of 90 reviews