Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 95 reviews | 3.2 out of 5

3.0 stars

95 reviews | 3.2 out of 5

3.0 stars

95 reviews | 3.2 out of 5

55%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
32
4 stars
17
3 stars
7
2 stars
14
1 stars
25
1-20 of 90 total reviews
55%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 90 total reviews
1-20 of 90 reviews
SO FAR SO GOOD
8/23/2012

Customer review by 1 LIL WISE OWL

4.0 stars 8/23/2012 by 1 LIL WISE OWL
by 1 LIL WISE OWL

My husband bought me a Bissell Powerbroom for Xmas 2012 and it worked for about 6 months before the suction stopped working and previously purchased a Bissell Power Force Turbo and it lasted about 8 months and the same thing happened. So don't Buy Bissell ever..... Now I exchanged the Bissell for this Hoover and so far so good the suction is great, I love the retractable cord it reaches almost all over the house before I need to move the plug. But I did notice that the cord gets pretty hot in about 5-10 minutes of use and I don't know why, I notice another review metioned that same issue. Also interior is hard to clean the dust out of the lil holes and is hard to dry I have to let it air dry. But over all I really like this Hoover Product Hopefully this will be my last vac purchase for years to come. Although this vac bagless area is smaller then the Bissell vac at the same price, I rather empty the filte a few extra times then having to run back to the store to exchange it every 6-8 monthes.

1 LIL WISE OWL
WAYNE NY USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Short Term Satisfaction
1/17/2015

Customer review by Momof2Boys

2.0 stars 1/17/2015 by Momof2Boys
by Momof2Boys

I've had this vacuum for right at 2 years. At first I loved it. I'm not sure if it was that great or just much better than the vacuum I had previously had. Over the last 9 months, I feel like it's been losing some of it's suctioning. So I decided to put it to the test. I borrowed my neighbors vacuum. I vacuumed over with ours and then again with hers. It was ridiculous the amount being left behind by mine. Ironically, as I was finishing this little test our vacuum stopped working at all. It comes on but leaves a horrible burning smell, sounds weird, and the brush doesn't spin. I checked the belt and it is still fully in tact so I am unsure at this point if it could possibly be the motor going out. I was very please with it the first year of ownership, I just hoped it was going to last longer with two little ones running around. As I've been looking at new vacuums, I've found two I like one is a Hoover and it's making me weary to buy another one ... we will see what happens.

Momof2Boys
Somerset, KY, United States
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Female
UH71009 belt coming off
2/2/2014

Customer review by JDCO

1.0 stars 2/2/2014 by JDCO
by JDCO

After resetting the belt (7) seven times I search the web for answers and came to the Hoover site. What I find is that the single biggest complaint/issue is the belt repeatedly coming off...and each time you say your sorry and engineering has a solution and to call 800.932.9200 and you'll share the secret. Well it's Sunday and my wife wants to clean and you're not open.  Now let me speculate, the majority of people who want and need this "solution" are the husbands who just happen to get home in the evening or  over the weekend are asked by their wife to see if they can fix the vacuum..  I realize that I'm about to suggest something really radical; but why not put the "solution" on the web site or in your answer to your  customers comments.  Thereby giving immediate help to us poor saps trying to fix an issue after hours that your engineers created to begin with and quality control missed.  Oh, not to worry, I'll call 800.944.9299 during you business hours and take time out of my business day. But wouldn't it just be better to post the solution on line in the first place?

JDCO
Fowlerville, MI, United States
Gender:Male
Nice enough
3/10/2015

Customer review by Picks

3.0 stars 3/10/2015 by Picks
by Picks

I've had the vacuum for more than a year. I have never had a busted belt. It has now stretched and it won't pick up very well due to this. I tried to buy a belt at the store, but they don't carry many Hoover parts at our local stores. They sell Hoovers like crazy they just don't carry replacement parts. The attachments are good but fall off sort of easy if you bump the sides. The rotating brush stops with very little pressure or very little hair build up. I don't use it much, I wouldn't even know where to buy the small belt if it gave out besides ebay or hoover.com. Sometimes the dirt kicks back towards your feet if it has bigger than a BB pellet sized debri, you have to re-vacuume to get the kick back dirt if it is a bit of a heavy soiled area (front door area) . It's ok for the price. I have washed the filters lots of times and they are still good. The re-wind cord is nice, it gets a bit slow now towrds the end of the cord and needs a little help sometimes (now that it's older) but not too hard, better than winding it by hand. Not messy to clean the canister or the filters.

Comment from Giselle - 3/11/2015

Hi Picks! Sorry to hear you're unable to locate the belts to your cleaner locally. As you mentioned, you can always locate parts on our site. You can also try one of our service centers. You can locate the nearest service center to you here; http://hoover.com/locator/ simply enter your zip code. The part number to your belt is # 562932001. Provide this to the dealer and they will let you know if it's available at their store. Hope this helps!

Picks
New Mexico, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Moderately priced, but big on suction.
10/10/2011

Customer review by Carol the Cleaner

4.0 stars 10/10/2011 by Carol the Cleaner
by Carol the Cleaner

My husband chose this brand and model, and I'm very happy with it. It has gotten dirt my last vacuum couldn't touch. The handheld attachment works great in hard to reach areas and works great on upholstery. I love that the filter is rinsable and the HEPA filter looks like it will last a while, as I used it in 2 rooms, and filled the cup twice with dirt my old vacuum was missing and it still looked pristine. The more expensive Hoover models have a brush-roller stop switch and 2 lever belt access, nice features I wish this had. This unit promises "no loss of suction" and has an indicator light that signals when the filter needs cleaning. Fairly lightweight, its easy to push around. 12 amp motor seems powerful enough. And the cord rewind feature is nice. I'm liking this machine! It exceeded my expectations. I wish it was made in USA, though. It's made in China.

Carol the Cleaner
Bear Mountain, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Save your money!
11/8/2014

Customer review by JeanaRae

1.0 stars 11/8/2014 by JeanaRae
by JeanaRae

This is the first vacuum I've ever bought. My mom recommended Hoover because she's always found their vacuums reliable. Boy, was she mistaken!! It worked great for a while, but then it lost suction. After some research, I found that it was the belt, which seems to be a VERY common issue. After figuring out what a belt actually is (remember it's my first vacuum), I went through the LONG process of actually getting to the belt, and put it back in place.I was relieved that my vacuum was working again. Until after a few uses, it happened again. And again. And again. It's SO frustrating because you have to grab a screwdriver, get on the floor, go through the 10-15 minute process just to vacuum up a few crumbs.I am not satisfied in this product. Being a college student, this wasn't cheap & for it to fail so quickly is disappointing. 

Comment from Giselle - 11/9/2014

Hi JeanaRae, we’ve seen these reviews regarding the belt slipping off during use. When we took the first reviews to our engineers. Our engineering team has developed a solution for those having this problem. We'll send you an e-mail and resolve this issue. We appreciate you reaching out to us. We want you to be happy with your vacuum. We pride ourselves on building quality cleaning tools that perform above your expectations. Thanks for giving us a chance to deliver on that promise.

JeanaRae
Englewood, CO, United States
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Female
great value!
3/3/2012

Customer review by Domesti-Kate

4.0 stars 3/3/2012 by Domesti-Kate
by Domesti-Kate

I chose this model/brand because it had the features I wanted at the right price. Hoovers have always held up well in the past, so I hope it lasts longer than some of the "throw-away" brands for the same price. I love the turbo upholstery tool! It picks the dog hair right up, something that my commercial vacuum didn't. I have hard wood floors, so I don't need to vacuum that often. For the most part I need the tools and/or special features. So far, I am very satisfied with this product. On board tools, retractable cord and no bags to buy are a big plus. It's also much lighter than my old commerical vacuum. Only downfall so far is that the dirt cup makes a bit of a mess when you empty it--not as good as a well known expensive brand, but for a quarter of the price, I'm satisfied.

Domesti-Kate
Cleveland, OH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
cord gets hot
2/3/2012

Customer review by vacreviewer

2.0 stars 2/3/2012 by vacreviewer
by vacreviewer

This would be a great vac if it had windtunnel technology and no cord rewind. The suction is great and the pre filter is washable but cleaning the cyclonic assembly is a joke it can't be rinsed and using the brush or a towel doesn't get the dust out of the tiny holes. Now for the main flaw the cord rewind. The cord gets very warm to the touch after 5 mins of usage and the HEPA filter gets HOT to the touch not to mention suction escapes out of the cord rewind opening. Overall if they were to get rid of the cord rewind and add windtunnel tech this would be a great vac but mine went back and I purchased another cyclonic from another brand and im very pleased with it. So if you want a Hoover get one of the non-rewind T-series instead.

vacreviewer
Virginia
Would recommend to a friend? No
Belt ALWAYS slips off!!!!!
2/15/2014

Customer review by Jan71

3.0 stars 2/15/2014 by Jan71
by Jan71

This is the best vacuum I've had regarding suction, ease of use, and features, especially the brush for the furniture. However, every time I use it, I have to take it apart and put the belt back on. I vacuum for a few minutes and the belt slips off AGAIN! Based on other reviews, this is definitely a common problem, and obviously a design flaw. Unfortunately, the store will not take it back because I no longer have the box for it, so I am stuck with a vacuum that I cannot use without all of the "prep" work before vacuuming each carpet. I can only hope that Hoover will help me with this issue! I cannot recommend this product to others because of the problem with the belt. Otherwise, it would be a great vacuum!

Jan71
Waynesboro, VA, United States
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Female
Belt comes off
5/30/2016

Customer review by Shelly602

1.0 stars 5/30/2016 by Shelly602
by Shelly602

I've been a Hoover customer since birth- my mom, my grandma...all the ladies in my life used a Hoover. This vacuum has suction but the belt keeps coming off- disappointing product I thought Hoover was better than this!

Comment from Michael - 6/1/2016

Hi Shelly602! Oh no, we don't want you to be disappointed in your Elite Rewind. We want to help. If the belt keeps slipping off, it may be stretched. The belt stretching could have happened if anything got jammed in the brushroll or if the height adjust was set too low. We recommend replacing the belt every 6-12 months depending on usage. You can find the belts here: http://bit.ly/1dqyOOc. Hope this helps!

Shelly602
Phoenix, AZ, United States
Would recommend to a friend? No
Great vacuum when properly assembled
10/6/2013

Customer review by Sasquatch

2.0 stars 10/6/2013 by Sasquatch
by Sasquatch

This is an excellent bagless vacuum.  However, the belt falls off after five minutes of light vacuuming,  very frustrating.  Was about to return when I finally discovered the issue.  Quality control in the manufacturing process should be more closely analyzed. The floor height adjustment knob was installed incorrectly.  You could turn the knob, but the riser beneath the knob  would  just stay on hard floor,  which caused too much stress on belt, causing it to fall off. I removed the piece adjusted the turn position to correct spot.  I  have not had a single issue since.  So, great  vacuum  when made correctly, but since quality control was underlying issue I gave two stars.

Sasquatch
Fort Worth, TX
Gender:Male
The belt comes off every 5-10 minutes.
12/19/2012

Customer review by Jules

1.0 stars 12/19/2012 by Jules
by Jules

I just read a review complaining about the belt coming off the pin and I felt compelled to echo their frustration. The suction is very good,and overall this was a decent vacuum for about 4 months. A couple of weeks ago, the belt started slipping off the pin. Thank goodness for electric screwdrivers because I have to fix it at least 2-3 times EVERY time I vacuum the house. I have 2 cats and must vacuum every few days so this is unacceptable. It is so frustrating and I am planning on returning the product. (I've also found that the cord gets really hot, especially if some of it is still coiled up. If the cord was another 10 feet long, it would be the ideal length for me. )

Comment from Hoover Customer Care - 12/19/2012

Thank you for your feedback! We are sorry to hear about the issues you have experienced with your vacuum. The belt slipping/breaking can indicate an issue with the brush roller end caps. Please check and clean these or the brush roller may require replacing. Also make sure your height setting is set correctly for the most effective cleaning. If the height is too low to the carpet, it will cause resistance or may snap/slip the belt. Please call our Customer Care Department with your unit for assistance at 1-800-944-9200, 8am - 7pm, M-F EST or visit http://hoover.com/locator/ for a list of service/warranty dealers for assistance.

Jules
Orange County, CA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Replaced with no retractable cord
2/22/2014

Customer review by Janunhappy

1.0 stars 2/22/2014 by Janunhappy
by Janunhappy

This vacuum worked for a while then of course like everyone else the belt popped off every time it was used. So I called Hoover and the lady said it was a design defect and she would send me a replacement vacuum. They did HOWEVER, the one I bought had a retractable cord which is why I bought it in the first place. The replacement they sent did not. So thanks for sending me a less desirable product. If you were going to send me a replacement you could have at least sent me something comparable to the one I bought in the first place. I guess you wanted to get rid of some overstock vacuums laying around.

Janunhappy
Cleveland, GA, United States
Would recommend to a friend? No
Time spent constantly putting the belt back on
4/9/2015

Customer review by ChrystalCruz

1.0 stars 4/9/2015 by ChrystalCruz
by ChrystalCruz

More than the time spent vacuuming my carpet. Seriously if I had enough money to purchase another vacuum cleaner, I would purchase something other than this brand. I also would take this Junk and Office Space it to death with a bat. I've had it for approx. 16 months and it's a big waste of my time since I have to constantly stop and put the belt back on between 5 to 8 times just to vacuum the whole house! Which is 1100 sq feet and only 700 of that is carpet! Ughhhh! Very frustrating. Don't purchase this, it's a whole bunch of a waste of anyone's time!!!

Comment from John - 4/10/2015

Hi ChrystalCruz, Your belt shouldn't be slipping like that and we want to help. This is the belt you should be using: http://bit.ly/1ycmgek. If that's the belt you are using and it's slipping, we suggest you take your Elite Rewind into the nearest Hoover service center to get checked out. Here's the closest to you: http://bit.ly/1CzwsJs. We are sending an email to follow up with you. Thanks!

ChrystalCruz
Ladson, SC, United States
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Female
NOTHING GOES INTO THE BAGLESS COMPARTMENT
2/28/2015

Customer review by GMA SUE

1.0 stars 2/28/2015 by GMA SUE
by GMA SUE

I have had this sweeper for about 6 months but have only used it for about 3 months. It is picking up but then shuts off before I get finished sweeping. I followed suggestions from other review and changed the belt, cleaned the filter, and made sure the hose and section from the bottome were cleared of blockages. I swept again and it picked up everything and the carpet looked good, but nothing is going into the bagless compartment. It is totally empty after sweeping three rooms. The the power went off again. Do you have any further suggestions.

Comment from John - 2/28/2015

Hi GMA SUE, From the sound of it, if it is picking up debris that is not getting to the dirt cup, something is still blocked. The motor overheating strengthens this belief. You can always check if there is a clog by looking at the performance indicator on the dirt cup. If it's red, not green, there is a clog. Also, you could take the hose out and put it against your hand. You should feel strong suction. We want to help you directly, so we're also sending an email. Thanks!

GMA SUE
Greenfield, IN, United States
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Female
Good Little Vacuum
4/2/2013

Customer review by CatMama

5.0 stars 4/2/2013 by CatMama
by CatMama

I would recommend this vacuum. I've had several vacuums in my life and this is my favorite so far for the money. I've never spent a lot of money on a vacuum and this one is the best I've had for the least money spent. I have 3 cats and a long haired dog so I vacuum regularly and have no problem picking up all of the hair. The hand held upholstery attachment is very handy and works well. I had to call Hoover for a replacement part today and they're sending it for free. NICE! Didn't even know there was a warranty.

CatMama
Washington Coast
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Disappointed/(
6/14/2013

Customer review by Homemaker11

2.0 stars 6/14/2013 by Homemaker11
by Homemaker11

I have owned thsi vacuum for almost a year and have been extremely disappointed for almost the entire time. There is zero suction....it pretty much just pushes the dirt around the floor. When I use the attachment, the brush keeps spinning and leaves dirt under the vacuum. When I use the bare floor setting, it just blows the dirt all over. I've already had to pay and have it serviced once for a horrible noise it was making. The ONLY pro to this vacuum is the ease of winding the cord. That's it. 

Homemaker11
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Female
The struggle is real
12/21/2014

Customer review by Pmcox

2.0 stars 12/21/2014 by Pmcox
by Pmcox

We got our vacuum a year ago and it has been a struggle since day one. At first, the belt would come off once per use but the unit worked so well that we just put up with it. My wife had been telling me recently that it had been giving her a lot of problems lately but I just witnessed this first hand. She has now vacuumed two rooms and I have had to replace the belt four times! The most frustrating part about this is that when the belt stays on, the vacuum is the best I've ever seen. 

Pmcox
Bon Aqua, TN, United States
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Male
Great suction
1/13/2014

Customer review by Pinecomb

4.0 stars 1/13/2014 by Pinecomb
by Pinecomb

I absolutely love my vacuum. The suction is still great after a year.  I have hardwood floors and an occasional area rug so it worked great.  Until the belt kept slipping off. I called customer service and she told me to turn it inside out. I have done so and two weeks later it slipped off again. I put it back on and the second I went over the rug it came off again. HELP I AM FRUSTRATED. I would highly recommend this product "if" they fix the belt problem.

Pinecomb
Pine City, MN, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Isn't holding up
11/26/2012

Customer review by Laura

2.0 stars 11/26/2012 by Laura
by Laura

I've owned this vacuum about six months. I bought it for the lightweight and pet brush features. At first it worked great. Within the past few weeks, the belt just comes off the pin causing the brush to stop agitating. Today I had to unscrew (six screws) the bottom and place the belt back on the pin and re-adjust the brush head four times just to finish a chore. If there is a way to secure the belt so it doesn't slip off the bottom pin, I do not see it.

Laura
Charlotte, NC
Would recommend to a friend? No
1-20 of 90 total reviews
1-20 of 90 reviews