Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 79 reviews | 4 out of 5

4.0 stars

79 reviews | 4 out of 5

4.0 stars

79 reviews | 4 out of 5

85%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
39
4 stars
25
3 stars
3
2 stars
0
1 stars
12
1-20 of 72 total reviews
85%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 72 total reviews
1-20 of 72 reviews
Good shoes for an ol horse
9/18/2014

Customer review by olgizzer

5.0 stars 9/18/2014 by olgizzer
by olgizzer

Needed two front tires for my truck and decided on douglas. People say this tire is junk and not a name brand. Name brand yes, GOODYEAR, POC, nope.. Drove really smooth, cornered great, no noise. Going back next week for the back set. Got Goodyear viva's on my other truck and they do make noise.. Used to have Liberators but walmart stopped selling them. Now that was a good tire ! We'll see how these Douglas's hold up in the winter months. So far, I like them..

Was this review helpful? (138) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
olgizzer
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great tire for the price
7/22/2013

Customer review by Pappaw

4.0 stars 7/22/2013 by Pappaw
by Pappaw

This is a very good tire for the price. The ride and handling are good and they are very quite for an all-season tire. Traction is good on a dry or wet road. Have not driven on snow so I cannot comment on that. After 10,000 miles it is apparent that they will more than likely last around 40,000 miles. This is not a premium tire and it does not have a premium price. But for a budget tire you cannot go wrong.

Was this review helpful? (205) (11)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Pappaw
Mayfield, Ky
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Top 500 contributor
195/60/15
10/28/2013

Customer review by DemonDoctor

4.0 stars 10/28/2013 by DemonDoctor
by DemonDoctor

Before I bought the douglas xtra trac 2 I did some research. I found a lot of bad comments on them, and a few good comments! But I went ahead and bought 4 of them for the price! I have a older car that is a 99 grand am SE. After I had them installed a week later I went a road trip from PA to INDIANA and back to PA. The tires had a great smooth quit ride! The handling response was great! I had no problems with the tires even in wet conditions. I have yet to know how they handle in the snow but that is coming up! One thing I would suggest is after you have your tires installed is to check the air pressure in each one! The walmart tire center I went to had all 4 tires at different pressures, anywhere from 21 psi to 38 psi. the max on my tires are 44psi. I put 40 in each tire and have had no problems!

Was this review helpful? (251) (25)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
DemonDoctor
PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Very happy with the purchase
12/23/2013

Customer review by ru4krisk

4.0 stars 12/23/2013 by ru4krisk
by ru4krisk

first i found out that these are made by Goodyear put out under Douglas xtra trac II name. Most if not all major tire companies do such things. Second the price for this tire in this class was hard to beat through any of the regular sources belle tire, discount tire and such. i've only had these a couple days(Michigan winter driving so far) they handled some ice better than i expected and dry pavement with ease and quietly mind you too for such an aggressive tread pattern. I haven't had any snow to test them with but feel these should clear out the snow with ease due to the tread.so far i am very happy with them.

Was this review helpful? (106) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ru4krisk
South Lyon, Mi
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Douglas tire worked for me
10/4/2013

Customer review by Mot04

5.0 stars 10/4/2013 by Mot04
by Mot04

I've got a little car for work so I went with the cheapest tire I could find in a hurry when my firestones blew out. I found these at walmart for a good price when my car had 70 thousand miles on it, it's now got a hundred and 14 on it and the Douglas tires are still goin strong. Keep in mind I am younger and drive the car like I stole it.

Was this review helpful? (162) (12)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Mot04
Fort dodge ia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Very Very Good Tire for the price.
4/27/2015

Customer review by Tinman

5.0 stars 4/27/2015 by Tinman
by Tinman

I got 52,235 miles (highway & City) from my first set and could easily rack up a thousand miles more. Of course, I no longer drive like a teenager or pretend I am driving a race car. I am retired and drive with common sense. I also do regular tire rotations, have regular alignments and maintain my car as finances allow. Just got my tax refund and plan on some vacation driving so, I am headed in today for a new pair. Now that I am retired I drive a lot, visiting the kids, grandkids and just sight seeing. Don't misunderstand, I'm not you're typical 40 mph grandpaw, I regularly exceed 70 and 75 mph on good highways. With 50 years driving experience and 223,000 miles on my current vehicle, I still trust these tires with my life, and the lives of my grandchildren as well.

Was this review helpful? (88) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Tinman
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Good Value
11/9/2013

Customer review by jcga2009

4.0 stars 11/9/2013 by jcga2009
by jcga2009

I got these tires for 2 reasons: 1) difficult to find, so I didn't have a lot of choices, and 2) value for the price. These may not be 80K mile, top of the line tires, but for daily commutes, a long lasting tire, and a good ride - you can't beat the value for the price. I put two on the front in February 2013, and replaced the back two in October 2013. All four together, I have about $320 after tax, with lifetime balance and rotation, and since I have an odd size, most larger brand names would cost me $200 each. I just can't think of a good reason to put $1000 in commute to work tires on my truck. It's not a luxury car, so I don't need a luxury tire. I need a good, dependable tire and that's exactly what this is. I drive the mountain daily with these and get good grip and traction. The previous set lasted 4 years, and I hope for the same length of time on these. $80/yr - that's a bargain!

Was this review helpful? (125) (13)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
jcga2009
Blairsville, GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great inexpensive (cheap) tire!
12/10/2013

Customer review by Happytirecustomer

5.0 stars 12/10/2013 by Happytirecustomer
by Happytirecustomer

Tires wear well, aren't noisy, and are good in any weather. Great in the snow! I have 4 of these now on my car for over 20,000 miles and still plenty of tread. I live in northern Pennsylvania and these tires see all four seasons and perform well in each season. FYI I rotate and keep them balanced with Walmart lifetime balancing.

Was this review helpful? (80) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Happytirecustomer
Norteheast PA.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Good value tire
1/20/2015

Customer review by DJDA

4.0 stars 1/20/2015 by DJDA
by DJDA

I was looking for a reasonably priced well traction tire to put on my 2006 Subaru Forester. I'm using the car for a daily commuter 50 miles each way. A friend of mine recommended these Douglas tires. The tread is aggressive and @ $57.50 per tire it's hard to beat the value. I will suggest that you check your air pressure after leaving Walmart because mine were only set to 26 pounds. I noticed less noise than my previous Goodyear tires. I drove in driving rain yesterday and they seem to hold the road well. I'll follow up with how they wear, but they are only a 45,000 mile tire. If I can get 30 or 35,000 miles out of them, it's a good value. The reviews seem to be mostly positive. Time will tell.

Was this review helpful? (81) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
DJDA
Downingtown,PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Darn good tire
1/17/2014

Customer review by whisketjack98

5.0 stars 1/17/2014 by whisketjack98
by whisketjack98

I bought a set of four, for my front wheel drive Ford Windstar van for road and snow because my driveway starts off going up hill and, getting back into my parking area is also going up hill. I am the ONLY one who didn't have a problem. They are without a doubt the best year around tire that I have had. They are a little noisy on the road if your window is down but well within an acceptable noise range. For my use, this is a great product and was a very good price as well.

Was this review helpful? (58) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
whisketjack98
Kansas City, Mo.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
FOR AN INEXPENSIVE TIRE FOR A CHILDS CAR OR A WORK
2/19/2015

Customer review by almoman2

5.0 stars 2/19/2015 by almoman2
by almoman2

I have been buying these tires for my teenagers car and my 2nd car. They are not a high mileage tire but for the price they are an excellent tire. You never know how long your teens car will last so without spending big money on a tire you can have a peace of mind these tires will be a dependable and excellent ride. I have been buying these tires for different cars for the last 5 years and yet have one fail. You can plan on at least a couple years of good service out of these tire. If I would trust them on my kids car, trust me they are a great tire for the price.

Was this review helpful? (66) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
almoman2
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great Choice!
12/1/2013

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 12/1/2013 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

These tires are great tires, they go good in snow and rain! And handle very good! I would recomend xtra trac II tires to anyone

Was this review helpful? (60) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
West Virginia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Good tire for the price
12/16/2014

Customer review by Glockguy01

4.0 stars 12/16/2014 by Glockguy01
by Glockguy01

Good tires at a good price great in the rain have not had a chance to try them in snow 12/14/14

Was this review helpful? (66) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Glockguy01
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Good cheap tire
12/3/2014

Customer review by jayman77

4.0 stars 12/3/2014 by jayman77
by jayman77

I have put about 1000 miles on a set of these so far. I drive a 1991 Corolla. The handling is fine. The ride seems to be as smooth as the Michelin tires I had on my car before. I have no complaints. And I saved alot of money over regular name brand tires. A set of 4 installed, without warranty, was about $200.00.

Was this review helpful? (47) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
jayman77
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Very reasonably priced & warranty appropriate.
12/16/2014

Customer review by Msya

5.0 stars 12/16/2014 by Msya
by Msya

Very reasonably priced and warranty appropriate for planned use.

Was this review helpful? (85) (17)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Msya
Banning, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
No Problems with Douglas Xtra Trac
10/17/2013

Customer review by Luv2RoadTrip

5.0 stars 10/17/2013 by Luv2RoadTrip
by Luv2RoadTrip

I got some Douglas Xtra Trac tires on my 2003 Honda Accord in 2007. Those tires went through heavy snow in the Sierras by Lake Tahoe, through all sorts of weather. I was on sheet ice in the middle of Wyoming, which was more like a parking lot than an interstate because of the ice. The state patrol wouldn't let me back through because of the snow and I didn't have chains or 4 wheel drive, but I had no problems running around in the snow. These tires didn't slip. These tires are still on my car, and have been rotated a couple of times. They have about 6/32s left on them, after about 24,000 miles and I will probably replace with Douglas Xtra Trac. Because I live in Colorado, I need true all seasons, (i.e., is the tread design gonna get me through the snow#. Since I've driven in the mountains enough to know what I need, I always look at tread. Tires can say they are all season and have bad tread design, which will slip around in the snow. I think these are at least a good design for snow. I had Yokohamas on a RV once, all 6 of them separated and one blew at 70 mph. Because of that, I am hyper aware of tires. I check air pressure regularly, especially if I'm going at high speed anywhere. I'm always amazed at how many people drive around with no air in their tires, and then wonder why the tires don't hold up. Also, this summer I was on my way out of town for a 6 week trip through Canada in a Subaru, nothing to do with tires, but with the tire guys. Discount Tire put the tires on and didn't balance them, and didn't put my tire sensors in. My whole car shook, and thank goodness for Walmart, because I stopped at the nearest one, the guys stayed late, balanced my tires #9 p.m.) and off I went-not a very good start to a 13,000 mile trip. I've never had a problem with Wal Mart and the tire guys. They seem to do a better job than the tire "professionals". Kudos to Wal-Mart for their pricing and the products they sell.

Was this review helpful? (40) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Luv2RoadTrip
Denver
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Great tires
2/22/2014

Customer review by ibjgh

4.0 stars 2/22/2014 by ibjgh
by ibjgh

First set of tires ran for 60,000 miles plus. Rotated and balanced every 6k miles. 20k on second set and they dont even look used. Best economical tire I have ever owned.

Was this review helpful? (54) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ibjgh
Wisconsin
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
More then I expected
12/8/2014

Customer review by Mrbill1957

4.0 stars 12/8/2014 by Mrbill1957
by Mrbill1957

As others have mentioned, a 215/70R14 tire is becoming harder to find. I needed tires for a 1995 Toyota Tacoma, and wanted something inexpensive since I'm not keeping the truck too much longer. The Douglas tires are made in the USA by Goodyear, the price at Walmart was good and they were in stock. I was shocked at how much better the truck rode, and the usual thump thump thump from seams in the road is gone!! The tread design is a bit noisier then my old Goodyear Allegra tires, but not too bad. I can't speak on how long they last but at this price, it's not an issue with me. I would have given a 5 star rating if I could speak for the tread wear.

Was this review helpful? (37) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Mrbill1957
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great Tire for Quality and Price.....
2/2/2015

Customer review by hdcruzer

5.0 stars 2/2/2015 by hdcruzer
by hdcruzer

Douglas tires are made by Good Year to Walmart specs. Hate to say this but these have out lasted any good year I have ever had. To date 64,000 on the set I have right now, and still not to the wear bars. Couple of flats that were fixed for free under extended warranty. Will be buying another set soon.

Was this review helpful? (34) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
hdcruzer
Nor-Cal
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
GREAT TIRES
1/17/2015

Customer review by blld

5.0 stars 1/17/2015 by blld
by blld

this is my 3rd set of these tires and bing my 3rd set these are by far the best tire wal mart sells for the price have worn all the sets to the ware bars almost 45,000 miles on all 3 sets hope i get that many on the set i had put on last night 1/16/15

Was this review helpful? (36) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
blld
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1-20 of 72 total reviews
1-20 of 72 reviews