Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 148 reviews | 3 out of 5

3.0 stars

148 reviews | 3 out of 5

3.0 stars

148 reviews | 3 out of 5

51%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
40
4 stars
29
3 stars
14
2 stars
23
1 stars
42
1-20 of 136 total reviews
51%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 136 total reviews
1-20 of 136 reviews
10/19/2011

Customer review by traaace

4.0 stars 10/19/2011 by traaace
by traaace

this coffee maker has great features like auto brew, turns off automatically after 2 hours, has an option for strong brewed coffee and it pours great!!! However, there is no back light for the clock, and its hard to see in the dark, and it steams excessively. After the coffee is brewed the whole coffee maker is covered in steam which ultimately gets the whole counter unnecessarily wet. Other than that, the price is great for the fabulous coffee it brews and i absolutely looove the auto-brew!!!!

Was this review helpful? (71) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
traaace
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Does Everything I Need
12/22/2011

Customer review by shakey1272

4.0 stars 12/22/2011 by shakey1272
by shakey1272

We've had this coffee maker going on 3 months now, and have been very pleased with it so far. The selling point for us was the price and the programmable feature. We've used the auto turn-on 5 days/wk for 3 months with no problems what so ever. Coffee is brewed quickly and it tastes good. Since our coffee cups are larger than the standard, it took a few days to adjust the water/coffee ratio to meet our needs, but that was to be expected. Some features I wished the coffee maker had (but are not deal breakers) would be a light on the clock, and maybe stronger built buttons. There is no back light on the clock which doesn't really bother us since we aren't really looking for the time in the dark often. The coffeemaker does steam which also fogs up the clock. Referring to "stronger built buttons" - the buttons feel cheap... brittle. Like if you push too hard they will pop off. Again, not a deal breaker for us. I just find myself being gentle when pushing them. The water gauge on the side of the tank is also a bit hard to see at times. It's almost as if it is tinted. On the plus side, (as stated before) it brews coffee quickly. It does gurgle but I've never seen a coffeemaker that doesn't. It beeps when the coffee is finished and beeps again after 2hrs before it shuts off. A cool feature it has is a clock the shows how much time has lapsed since the brewing finished. All in all, it has been a great coffeemaker for us. We are very pleased with our purchase and would recommend to others.

Was this review helpful? (36) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
shakey1272
Reelsville, Indiana
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
We love this coffeemaker
11/16/2013

Customer review by jazzcatj

5.0 stars 11/16/2013 by jazzcatj
by jazzcatj

My boyfriend and I bought this after returning the red Mr. Coffee that only lasted 2.5 months. This coffee maker is a gem. It brews coffee quickly and it's hot, keeps the coffee hot for 2 hours and has a nice count down timer to let you know how long it has been since the pot was brewed. Yes the front where the clock is get condensation on it, but that has not affected it at all after three months of use and we brew several pots a day. I love that it beeps when the coffee is brewed anf at the two hour mark and shutting off. You can also program it to go off at a set time. The water does not leak out of the carafe when pouring it into the reservoir as another review stated. Also it water level indicator is very easy to read. We never though we would find a coffee maker we enjoyed as much as this one after our much loved Cuisinart Thermal carafe coffee maker died after five great years, but the Balck and Decker coffeemaker is just great and we would not hesitate to buy another one.

Was this review helpful? (38) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
jazzcatj
TN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
very good coffee maker
10/30/2011

Customer review by scoodini

4.0 stars 10/30/2011 by scoodini
by scoodini

hot coffee, quiet brewing,strong coffee option. only draw back is the water level is hard to determine. the plastic is too thick or dark. good feature is you get 3 beeps when coffee is finished brewing and turning itself off. very happy with my purchase.

Was this review helpful? (27) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
scoodini
crawfordville,fl
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Nice Coffee Maker, good design, NO FRILLS
9/13/2012

Customer review by nymphrenic

4.0 stars 9/13/2012 by nymphrenic
by nymphrenic

My previous coffee maker finally broke (a Mr. something or other brand) one morning, and I had to make a mad dash to Wal Mart to get a new coffee maker in order to get my morning fix. I was willing to spend 100 max for the features I wanted, and ended up grabbing this reasonably priced B&D coffee maker. I've had it for about 6 months now, and it has brewed me a full pot of coffee every day for 6 months. Here are the pro's, and the con's. PROS: *Color/design aesthetic: Looks quality and sleek; and matches my appliances, which are chrome, black, or both. *Has a unique (as far as my experience goes) basket/drip mechanism where I don't have to worry about my coffee filter being "just so" to avoid overspill. I can't explain it, but I could put my coffee filter in the basket in the most clumsy red-eyed morning way, and there is no overspill because of the drip/mechanism from the basket to the decanter. My previous coffee makers did not have such a design and there was always the worry that even if I was meticulous in my placement of the filter in the basket that the pressure from the heated water would move the filter in such a way to cause/create overspill. No such worries with this machine. *Can be programmed for morning coffee * Auto clean works efficiently well * brews a full pot fast (10 minutes or less) * When set to strong brew the brew time is about the same as my old coffee makers (15-20 minutes) (noticable difference in strength of brew when set to strong brew, fyi, also a feature not on my previous coffee makers) *user friendly, no rocket science degree needed for this machine. No user manual needed really, the whole set up of the machine is pretty self-explanatory, few buttons and little logic needed to utilize all the features. *Is plastic on the bottom. This pro is based on my previous coffee maker (Mr. so-and-so brand) which had some kind of metal on the bottom that rusted and would stain my counter, especially because of the evaporated steam leaks and spillage, and was even worse when we moved to a place that had hard water. Eventually I had to place a towel underneath my coffee maker because brewing just one pot of coffee would create rust stains on my counter that were nearly impossible to get out, not to mention that it would make my kitchen smell like metal just from moisture hitting the metal bottom of the coffee pot that developed a gross crust of rust. This coffee maker, fortunately, doesn't have a metal bottom. Pro in my book. *Spout on decanter is easy to pour *lid on decanter is easy to remove for prep and placement in the dishwasher * basket has convenient handle. *2 hours before machine shuts off. (important feature, wish it was 3 hours, though, but my previous coffee makers had always been only 1 hour, so...) CONS * As other reviews have mentioned, the clock widow gets steamed during brewing and keeping decanter contents hot; however, its really not some kind of end-of-the-world "gimme a refund" kind of con. You can still see the clock, for the what a coffee-maker clock is worth. It's just a little foggy/condensation/blurred. *Clock is not back-lit. This is actually pretty annoying. Not just when the coffee maker is brewing or on (though it's annoying then too), but when it's not brewing or on, if you ever had a back-lit clock on your coffee maker before, you'll soon figure out how dependent you are on it, for the time, with this machine which lacks this feature and has the old-school digital greenish background and black digits and no backlight. *Clock window is at an odd angle. I agree with the previous reviews on this, the digital clock is at a weird angle which probably wouldn't be noticeable at all if it were backlit, but since it is not, then you have to be in a certain place in space-time based on your height, etc. in relation to the coffee maker to see what the digital window says. It's not so ridiculous where if you move just a little the info in the digital window disappears, but it's just less clear and less vivid if you're not in the right place in space/time or whatever. Which can be annoying to a cranky person in the morning who hasn't yet had their cup of joe. *This decanter seems to stain more quickly than my previous decanters and seems thinner in the glass material. I guess it just serves as a reminder to clean the decanter more often, but still... I would recommend this machine, especially to those who have had troubles with spillover in the past and just want a no-fills coffee maker with the most features for a good price. Also, a side note about the decanter, some people have complained about the pour spout of the decanter being messy, I disagree, somewhat. It's messy if you have bad depth perception, if you're one of those people who tries to cram a square peg in a triangle hole. Use it with ease, it pours beautifully, if you get too excited or impatient, then yea, expect a mess. And Yes, I have experienced a mess when I've been impatient with it.

Was this review helpful? (21) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
nymphrenic
VA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
10/6/2011

Customer review by Debjsol

3.0 stars 10/6/2011 by Debjsol
by Debjsol

We have had this maker a week & the auto brew still does not work. Will be taking back this weekend.

Was this review helpful? (36) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Debjsol
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
A very good coffee maker with a few quirks
1/24/2012

Customer review by allothernamesweretaken

4.0 stars 1/24/2012 by allothernamesweretaken
by allothernamesweretaken

I purchased this coffee maker after accidentally breaking the decanter on my old Black & Decker. This is probably the best coffee maker I have ever owned. It is super quiet while brewing and the only reason I know it's finished is it beeps. The auto brew feature works great and allows me to set it to start brewing a few minutes before my alarm goes off so I already have fresh coffee when I wake up. The clock does not light up which most people find a con but it doesn't really bother me. Moisture will condense all over the front of the coffee maker while it's brewing which I was worried would damage the buttons and clock but so far they all still work fine. The only con I have with this coffee maker is the sneak a cup mechanism sucks. It doesn't drain the coffee properly so when you remove the decanter more than just a couple of drops of coffee drips down onto the heating plate. I have recently removed it from the basket (I never get a cup of coffee until it's finished brewing anyway) and the problem has been solved.

Was this review helpful? (17) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
allothernamesweretaken
Hazard, KY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Excellent Coffee Maker
11/30/2012

Customer review by KansascityJim

5.0 stars 11/30/2012 by KansascityJim
by KansascityJim

When our Krups pot died, we looked at all the pots on the market. Most were high dollar $100 to $200+. After looking at the high dollar ones, we choose this one because of price, ease of use, and appearance. It uses the Mr. Coffee type basket paper filters, openings on either side makes it easy to pour in the water. Some of the high dollar ones made it tough for a "lefty" to pour the water in. The only down side is the display does not have a back-light and it is hard to see. The pot is easy to use, makes excellent coffee, looks nice and has an automatic cleaning setting when it builds up scale. None of the high dollar ones had that. If you like good coffee, a pot that looks nice, at a good price-buy this one.

Was this review helpful? (13) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
KansascityJim
Kansas City
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Sad :(
6/10/2014

Customer review by Fuell2009

1.0 stars 6/10/2014 by Fuell2009
by Fuell2009

I purchased this coffee pot for my husband at the end of last year and he barely used it. I began drinking coffee this month and was excited that I would have a basically brand new coffee pot to brew in. This morning I get up and there is no coffee brewed in the pot. I figured that I forgot to set the timer but it was set. I turned the machine on and still nothing. I reset the outlet and still no luck. The lights come on but it will not go through the cleaning cycle or brew. I wish I would have read the reviews on this machine before purchasing. Looks like I will be moving on to a new brand of machine.

Was this review helpful? (11) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Fuell2009
Would recommend to a friend? No
Good for 5 months
2/20/2013

Customer review by WhatsHisFace1

1.0 stars 2/20/2013 by WhatsHisFace1
by WhatsHisFace1

If you need a temporary coffee pot this is a nice one. It looks good, makes good coffee and in just a few minuets you will have coffee for 5 months. Our has lasted 5 months and two days. So if you don't mind pying $6 a month for a coffee maker this one might be for you! On the plus side we do use it a lot. about 4 to 5 pots a day, so if you only make one pot a day it should last about a week past the guarantee.

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
WhatsHisFace1
branch mi
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:65 or older
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Didn't last too long
6/6/2012

Customer review by Jensco

2.0 stars 6/6/2012 by Jensco
by Jensco

We have had this coffee maker for less than six months, and the steam coming from the pot has totally disabled the electronics. At first, it only ruined the clock, but now the coffee maker won't even turn on. Don't waste your money.

Was this review helpful? (9) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Jensco
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Poor display and poor carafe design
4/19/2014

Customer review by WHODATV

2.0 stars 4/19/2014 by WHODATV
by WHODATV

I thought the name brand and the price would be a good fit. It’s not bad, but it has a few flaws. For one, the front display is hard to read. It’s small black letters on a grey background with no back light. So when you set the timer and hit “Auto” to have it ready when you wake up in the morning, sometimes the auto function does not set because you need a flashlight to see if you hit the button right to turn it on. I’ve pressed it a couple of times only to wake up the next morning with no coffee ready. Also filling the water in the back of the unit, with the carafe will spill all over the place. This is also a problem when pouring that first cup of coffee with a full pot. It just doesn’t pour very well. Other than those 2 things, it brews coffee just fine and it’s at the right temperature, which any coffee maker should do. Black & Decker make great tools, stick to that and leave the coffee making products to Mr. Coffee.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
WHODATV
New Oleans, La
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Pros/Cons
11/5/2011

Customer review by Mamasan1956

2.0 stars 11/5/2011 by Mamasan1956
by Mamasan1956

The pot brews fast, the auto brew works great, but I agree the display is hard to read and it steams out the front and up over the display. I have only had the pot for 3 weeks and the basket that holds the grinds has a weak mechanism that stops the flow when you pull the pot out while brewing. The inner ring that holds it in place went down the drain before I realized and now can't find the basket replacement anywhere...and the 800 the customer service center is closed for the weekend.

Was this review helpful? (12) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Mamasan1956
Jacksonville, FL
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Very excited to greatly disappointed
1/27/2013

Customer review by Breezer521

1.0 stars 1/27/2013 by Breezer521
by Breezer521

Bought this last night. I was so excited about it as it looks like a great machine. Have owned Black & Decker in the past with no complaints. Unfortunately, this unit is going back today. Cons: Water all over the counter when filling the back reservoir. (Don't use the carafe to fill the reservoir.) Could barely see the water level located in the back, it's so dark. Took 20 minutes to brew a full pot, sadly that is unacceptable. While brewing, the whole top front area where the clock, on/off and programming area is located was absolutely soaked from the steam. I can't imagine the buttons working after a month with that much moisture. I'd give the LCD clock display screen 2 days at most. The carafe, be sure to open the lid a little while pouring a cup or it will drip/leak coffee and the condensation that builds up in the top of the lid all over the place. Pros: Was nice and quiet. Beeps when brewing is complete Overall: had such high hopes. Our excitement was replaced with disappointment.

Was this review helpful? (7) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Breezer521
Fl
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Great Product for average coffee drinker...
10/15/2011

Customer review by HiDemand1

4.0 stars 10/15/2011 by HiDemand1
by HiDemand1

The look of the item is what caught my eye. I love the modern look and it goes perfectly with my stainless steel appliances I would only make one minor change. it would have been nice if the display box with the clock lit up. It really dark and hard to read. But overall Im happy with my purchase and the site to store option was even better....

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
HiDemand1
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Smells like burnt plastic -- Do not buy
4/14/2012

Customer review by brk771

1.0 stars 4/14/2012 by brk771
by brk771

I bought this coffee making thinking it was a great value. When I tried to brew coffee for the first time, it smelt like burnt plastic. I ran water through it several time (5 or so), ran vinegar and water through it, ran more water through it, ran coffee through it, and it still smells and tastes like burnt plastic. This coffee maker is as good as a paper weight.

Was this review helpful? (7) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
brk771
Tempe, Az
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Black and Decker Coffee Maker
10/9/2013

Customer review by vikki60

2.0 stars 10/9/2013 by vikki60
by vikki60

I bought this maker 8 months ago and it doesn't work any more! The clock is in a bad location...gets all wet from the steam. Went to make coffee today and the light comes on but the heating element that keeps the pot warm and brews the coffee is gone! Didn't last long and didn't keep the coffee very hot. Put more money towards a better product!

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
vikki60
Detroit, Michigan
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Lasted less than 2 years
2/10/2014

Customer review by CampingMom7

1.0 stars 2/10/2014 by CampingMom7
by CampingMom7

I purchased this coffeemaker because of the reputation of the brand, the reasonable price, and the overall look of the product. Loading up the coffee filter and coffee were easy enough, but I found it awkward to pour in the water as it tended to spill easily. It is a very noisy unit, loudly beeping when the coffee is brewed and at the 2 hour shutoff time. I bought this item in the summer of 2012, and immediately had problems with the programmable timer not always starting the brewing. After only having the unit for about 18 months, it failed to brew anything this morning when I turned it on. I am very disappointed, and will be replacing it with another brand of coffeemaker.

Was this review helpful? (4) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
CampingMom7
Shorewood, IL
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great Coffee Maker.
7/21/2012

Customer review by Creole45

5.0 stars 7/21/2012 by Creole45
by Creole45

Love it. Since I bought this Coffee Maker I have had at least four freinds that I have gave them the model number to. My friends and their wives are like me when it comes to our Java. after the shower thats the first thing we want.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Creole45
Kingman, AZ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
love it, and delivery to the store was easy
10/19/2011

Customer review by chattykathy52

5.0 stars 10/19/2011 by chattykathy52
by chattykathy52

I loved that I could shop online, pick the features that I wanted in a coffee pot (I love the 1-4 cup option), and then have it delivered to my local Walmart to save shipping. Shipping take a little longer sending it to the store verses home delivery so plan accordingly. This pot makes great coffee and the price was perfect, and the programming is so easy to understand.

Was this review helpful? (13) (17)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
chattykathy52
Galloway, OH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 136 total reviews
1-20 of 136 reviews