Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 178 reviews | 2.9 out of 5

3.0 stars

178 reviews | 2.9 out of 5

3.0 stars

178 reviews | 2.9 out of 5

50%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
43
4 stars
37
3 stars
17
2 stars
30
1 stars
51
1-20 of 166 total reviews
50%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 166 total reviews
1-20 of 166 reviews
We love this coffeemaker
11/16/2013

Customer review by jazzcatj

5.0 stars 11/16/2013 by jazzcatj
by jazzcatj

My boyfriend and I bought this after returning the red Mr. Coffee that only lasted 2.5 months. This coffee maker is a gem. It brews coffee quickly and it's hot, keeps the coffee hot for 2 hours and has a nice count down timer to let you know how long it has been since the pot was brewed. Yes the front where the clock is get condensation on it, but that has not affected it at all after three months of use and we brew several pots a day. I love that it beeps when the coffee is brewed anf at the two hour mark and shutting off. You can also program it to go off at a set time. The water does not leak out of the carafe when pouring it into the reservoir as another review stated. Also it water level indicator is very easy to read. We never though we would find a coffee maker we enjoyed as much as this one after our much loved Cuisinart Thermal carafe coffee maker died after five great years, but the Balck and Decker coffeemaker is just great and we would not hesitate to buy another one.

Was this review helpful? (40) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
jazzcatj
TN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
A very good coffee maker with a few quirks
1/24/2012

Customer review by allothernamesweretaken

4.0 stars 1/24/2012 by allothernamesweretaken
by allothernamesweretaken

I purchased this coffee maker after accidentally breaking the decanter on my old Black & Decker. This is probably the best coffee maker I have ever owned. It is super quiet while brewing and the only reason I know it's finished is it beeps. The auto brew feature works great and allows me to set it to start brewing a few minutes before my alarm goes off so I already have fresh coffee when I wake up. The clock does not light up which most people find a con but it doesn't really bother me. Moisture will condense all over the front of the coffee maker while it's brewing which I was worried would damage the buttons and clock but so far they all still work fine. The only con I have with this coffee maker is the sneak a cup mechanism sucks. It doesn't drain the coffee properly so when you remove the decanter more than just a couple of drops of coffee drips down onto the heating plate. I have recently removed it from the basket (I never get a cup of coffee until it's finished brewing anyway) and the problem has been solved.

Was this review helpful? (17) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
allothernamesweretaken
Hazard, KY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Very excited to greatly disappointed
1/27/2013

Customer review by Breezer521

1.0 stars 1/27/2013 by Breezer521
by Breezer521

Bought this last night. I was so excited about it as it looks like a great machine. Have owned Black & Decker in the past with no complaints. Unfortunately, this unit is going back today. Cons: Water all over the counter when filling the back reservoir. (Don't use the carafe to fill the reservoir.) Could barely see the water level located in the back, it's so dark. Took 20 minutes to brew a full pot, sadly that is unacceptable. While brewing, the whole top front area where the clock, on/off and programming area is located was absolutely soaked from the steam. I can't imagine the buttons working after a month with that much moisture. I'd give the LCD clock display screen 2 days at most. The carafe, be sure to open the lid a little while pouring a cup or it will drip/leak coffee and the condensation that builds up in the top of the lid all over the place. Pros: Was nice and quiet. Beeps when brewing is complete Overall: had such high hopes. Our excitement was replaced with disappointment.

Was this review helpful? (7) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Breezer521
Fl
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Poor display and poor carafe design
4/19/2014

Customer review by WHODATV

2.0 stars 4/19/2014 by WHODATV
by WHODATV

I thought the name brand and the price would be a good fit. It’s not bad, but it has a few flaws. For one, the front display is hard to read. It’s small black letters on a grey background with no back light. So when you set the timer and hit “Auto” to have it ready when you wake up in the morning, sometimes the auto function does not set because you need a flashlight to see if you hit the button right to turn it on. I’ve pressed it a couple of times only to wake up the next morning with no coffee ready. Also filling the water in the back of the unit, with the carafe will spill all over the place. This is also a problem when pouring that first cup of coffee with a full pot. It just doesn’t pour very well. Other than those 2 things, it brews coffee just fine and it’s at the right temperature, which any coffee maker should do. Black & Decker make great tools, stick to that and leave the coffee making products to Mr. Coffee.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
WHODATV
New Oleans, La
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Excellent Coffee Maker
11/30/2012

Customer review by KansascityJim

5.0 stars 11/30/2012 by KansascityJim
by KansascityJim
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

When our Krups pot died, we looked at all the pots on the market. Most were high dollar $100 to $200+. After looking at the high dollar ones, we choose this one because of price, ease of use, and appearance. It uses the Mr. Coffee type basket paper filters, openings on either side makes it easy to pour in the water. Some of the high dollar ones made it tough for a "lefty" to pour the water in. The only down side is the display does not have a back-light and it is hard to see. The pot is easy to use, makes excellent coffee, looks nice and has an automatic cleaning setting when it builds up scale. None of the high dollar ones had that. If you like good coffee, a pot that looks nice, at a good price-buy this one.

Was this review helpful? (14) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
KansascityJim
Kansas City
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
I love ot
1/12/2016

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 1/12/2016 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

Only leaving the review because I thing it deserves a better rating. This is a great little coffee maker. had it for 5 years now

An anonymous customer
10/19/2011

Customer review by traaace

4.0 stars 10/19/2011 by traaace
by traaace

this coffee maker has great features like auto brew, turns off automatically after 2 hours, has an option for strong brewed coffee and it pours great!!! However, there is no back light for the clock, and its hard to see in the dark, and it steams excessively. After the coffee is brewed the whole coffee maker is covered in steam which ultimately gets the whole counter unnecessarily wet. Other than that, the price is great for the fabulous coffee it brews and i absolutely looove the auto-brew!!!!

Was this review helpful? (71) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
traaace
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Does Everything I Need
12/22/2011

Customer review by shakey1272

4.0 stars 12/22/2011 by shakey1272
by shakey1272

We've had this coffee maker going on 3 months now, and have been very pleased with it so far. The selling point for us was the price and the programmable feature. We've used the auto turn-on 5 days/wk for 3 months with no problems what so ever. Coffee is brewed quickly and it tastes good. Since our coffee cups are larger than the standard, it took a few days to adjust the water/coffee ratio to meet our needs, but that was to be expected. Some features I wished the coffee maker had (but are not deal breakers) would be a light on the clock, and maybe stronger built buttons. There is no back light on the clock which doesn't really bother us since we aren't really looking for the time in the dark often. The coffeemaker does steam which also fogs up the clock. Referring to "stronger built buttons" - the buttons feel cheap... brittle. Like if you push too hard they will pop off. Again, not a deal breaker for us. I just find myself being gentle when pushing them. The water gauge on the side of the tank is also a bit hard to see at times. It's almost as if it is tinted. On the plus side, (as stated before) it brews coffee quickly. It does gurgle but I've never seen a coffeemaker that doesn't. It beeps when the coffee is finished and beeps again after 2hrs before it shuts off. A cool feature it has is a clock the shows how much time has lapsed since the brewing finished. All in all, it has been a great coffeemaker for us. We are very pleased with our purchase and would recommend to others.

Was this review helpful? (37) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
shakey1272
Reelsville, Indiana
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Coffee Grounds!
1/3/2016

Customer review by WWBJ

1.0 stars 1/3/2016 by WWBJ
by WWBJ

I am so sick and tired of coffee grounds in the coffee! Seems no matter what I do with this coffee maker, there they are! I've been drinking coffee for years and I've never had this kind of trouble keeping coffee grounds out of the coffee!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
WWBJ
Would recommend to a friend? No
very good coffee maker
10/30/2011

Customer review by scoodini

4.0 stars 10/30/2011 by scoodini
by scoodini

hot coffee, quiet brewing,strong coffee option. only draw back is the water level is hard to determine. the plastic is too thick or dark. good feature is you get 3 beeps when coffee is finished brewing and turning itself off. very happy with my purchase.

Was this review helpful? (29) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
scoodini
crawfordville,fl
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Nice Coffee Maker, good design, NO FRILLS
9/13/2012

Customer review by nymphrenic

4.0 stars 9/13/2012 by nymphrenic
by nymphrenic

My previous coffee maker finally broke (a Mr. something or other brand) one morning, and I had to make a mad dash to Wal Mart to get a new coffee maker in order to get my morning fix. I was willing to spend 100 max for the features I wanted, and ended up grabbing this reasonably priced B&D coffee maker. I've had it for about 6 months now, and it has brewed me a full pot of coffee every day for 6 months. Here are the pro's, and the con's. PROS: *Color/design aesthetic: Looks quality and sleek; and matches my appliances, which are chrome, black, or both. *Has a unique (as far as my experience goes) basket/drip mechanism where I don't have to worry about my coffee filter being "just so" to avoid overspill. I can't explain it, but I could put my coffee filter in the basket in the most clumsy red-eyed morning way, and there is no overspill because of the drip/mechanism from the basket to the decanter. My previous coffee makers did not have such a design and there was always the worry that even if I was meticulous in my placement of the filter in the basket that the pressure from the heated water would move the filter in such a way to cause/create overspill. No such worries with this machine. *Can be programmed for morning coffee * Auto clean works efficiently well * brews a full pot fast (10 minutes or less) * When set to strong brew the brew time is about the same as my old coffee makers (15-20 minutes) (noticable difference in strength of brew when set to strong brew, fyi, also a feature not on my previous coffee makers) *user friendly, no rocket science degree needed for this machine. No user manual needed really, the whole set up of the machine is pretty self-explanatory, few buttons and little logic needed to utilize all the features. *Is plastic on the bottom. This pro is based on my previous coffee maker (Mr. so-and-so brand) which had some kind of metal on the bottom that rusted and would stain my counter, especially because of the evaporated steam leaks and spillage, and was even worse when we moved to a place that had hard water. Eventually I had to place a towel underneath my coffee maker because brewing just one pot of coffee would create rust stains on my counter that were nearly impossible to get out, not to mention that it would make my kitchen smell like metal just from moisture hitting the metal bottom of the coffee pot that developed a gross crust of rust. This coffee maker, fortunately, doesn't have a metal bottom. Pro in my book. *Spout on decanter is easy to pour *lid on decanter is easy to remove for prep and placement in the dishwasher * basket has convenient handle. *2 hours before machine shuts off. (important feature, wish it was 3 hours, though, but my previous coffee makers had always been only 1 hour, so...) CONS * As other reviews have mentioned, the clock widow gets steamed during brewing and keeping decanter contents hot; however, its really not some kind of end-of-the-world "gimme a refund" kind of con. You can still see the clock, for the what a coffee-maker clock is worth. It's just a little foggy/condensation/blurred. *Clock is not back-lit. This is actually pretty annoying. Not just when the coffee maker is brewing or on (though it's annoying then too), but when it's not brewing or on, if you ever had a back-lit clock on your coffee maker before, you'll soon figure out how dependent you are on it, for the time, with this machine which lacks this feature and has the old-school digital greenish background and black digits and no backlight. *Clock window is at an odd angle. I agree with the previous reviews on this, the digital clock is at a weird angle which probably wouldn't be noticeable at all if it were backlit, but since it is not, then you have to be in a certain place in space-time based on your height, etc. in relation to the coffee maker to see what the digital window says. It's not so ridiculous where if you move just a little the info in the digital window disappears, but it's just less clear and less vivid if you're not in the right place in space/time or whatever. Which can be annoying to a cranky person in the morning who hasn't yet had their cup of joe. *This decanter seems to stain more quickly than my previous decanters and seems thinner in the glass material. I guess it just serves as a reminder to clean the decanter more often, but still... I would recommend this machine, especially to those who have had troubles with spillover in the past and just want a no-fills coffee maker with the most features for a good price. Also, a side note about the decanter, some people have complained about the pour spout of the decanter being messy, I disagree, somewhat. It's messy if you have bad depth perception, if you're one of those people who tries to cram a square peg in a triangle hole. Use it with ease, it pours beautifully, if you get too excited or impatient, then yea, expect a mess. And Yes, I have experienced a mess when I've been impatient with it.

Was this review helpful? (22) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
nymphrenic
VA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Sad :(
6/10/2014

Customer review by Fuell2009

1.0 stars 6/10/2014 by Fuell2009
by Fuell2009

I purchased this coffee pot for my husband at the end of last year and he barely used it. I began drinking coffee this month and was excited that I would have a basically brand new coffee pot to brew in. This morning I get up and there is no coffee brewed in the pot. I figured that I forgot to set the timer but it was set. I turned the machine on and still nothing. I reset the outlet and still no luck. The lights come on but it will not go through the cleaning cycle or brew. I wish I would have read the reviews on this machine before purchasing. Looks like I will be moving on to a new brand of machine.

Was this review helpful? (14) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Fuell2009
Would recommend to a friend? No
Great coffee made for the price
1/15/2012

Customer review by Texcita

4.0 stars 1/15/2012 by Texcita
by Texcita

I'll start by saying I've never been one to buy expensive coffee makers... nothing over $50 for me. This Black & Decker coffee maker was $24. So far it's one of the best coffee pots I've purchased. I like the loud beep when it's finished brewing and when it's auto shutting off. It brews hotter than some other pots I've had which I like. I have used the 1-4 cup brew option (which brews it slower) and I like that. There are a few annoying things.... the steam it creates when it brews comes out and covers up the display clock which bugs me in the morning when i'm getting ready for work. Like another B&D pot I've had the water level is hard to read because the plastic is so dark. Where you pour the water in it's kind of awkward. I tend to get some in the place where the coffee grinds go. All three of those things are minor though! You can't go wrong with this coffee pot.... great coffee maker in the $25 range!

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Texcita
Houston
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Usage:Every day
Makes a great cup of coffee
12/24/2011

Customer review by EarthAngel4u

4.0 stars 12/24/2011 by EarthAngel4u
by EarthAngel4u

Only have had this unit for about a week now, it does seem to steam a bit more than my last coffee maker. The clock is hard to read and I have to use a flashlight in order to read the settings. Auto brew does not have a light to let you know it has been set, only the word "auto" shows up in the bottom left hand corner, where my last coffee maker had a small light that would let you know you had it set on auto. The biggest selling point for me is the clean button, although I have not had to clean it yet, but with hard well water my units need cleaning more often because of the calcium build-up, also why I don't buy expensive units because I find they clog up and are useless after about a year of use. Do wish I could find a unit that would let me know when it is time to clean it as I did have one before that I loved because after brewing 60 pots it let me know it was time for a cleaning and the unit lasted longer than usual, but it was recalled and I had to give "her" up. So far this one makes a great cup of coffee and I would suggest it to others because of the price.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
EarthAngel4u
Cheshire, CT
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
10/6/2011

Customer review by Debjsol

3.0 stars 10/6/2011 by Debjsol
by Debjsol

We have had this maker a week & the auto brew still does not work. Will be taking back this weekend.

Was this review helpful? (36) (10)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Debjsol
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
Absolute Junk
8/12/2014

Customer review by MrBuzzcut

1.0 stars 8/12/2014 by MrBuzzcut
by MrBuzzcut

Bought this coffee maker because it seemed to be from a reputable brand and had the features I wanted. On day one, the clock kept resetting itself to keep flashing 12:00, but then worked fine for a couple of days. Within a three weeks the auto-start feature quit working and the machine would beep at random at any hour of the day or night, but it still brewed coffee. A week later, the display (which was impossible to read from day one) went out for good. This morning, I push the button to start it up and nothing happened. Unfortunately, Wal-Mart wouldn't take it back because the manual was missing (I had saved the box and receipt after the first day in case it started acting funny) so I'm left with a six week old hunk of cheap plastic with a fake stainless finish. I don't know why they really want the manual back anyway. It should be one small sheet of paper that reads "Thanks for buying Black and Decker. Now throw this piece of junk in the trash and go somewhere else and buy a real coffee maker that won't ruin your morning in the near future."

Was this review helpful? (1) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MrBuzzcut
Las Cruces NM
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
A horrible coffee maker!
11/6/2015

Customer review by Terra Maria Manor

1.0 stars 11/6/2015 by Terra Maria Manor
by Terra Maria Manor

I had this coffee maker for less than 4 months. It one day it just stopped. I think it is the heater unit that gave out. Black & Decker should refund all purchasers.

Terra Maria Manor
Ellicott City, MD, United States
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Female
It does the job
10/14/2013

Customer review by genieyes2000

5.0 stars 10/14/2013 by genieyes2000
by genieyes2000

Really have been enjoying this coffee maker. I tend to shatter the carafe's on just about every coffee maker I have had and so far, I have not shattered this one. I like that it beeps when brewing is complete and when it shuts off. I have yet to use a coffee maker carafe that HAS NOT spilled, dripped, poured out and gotten on the counter and this one is no exception...no matter how slow you pour, the angle you pour it at etc., The "sneak-a-cup" feature is awesome along with the programming features in general. Then one thing we all seem to be in agreement on is there is no back light to see the display window. I set it up to auto make and somehow for not being able to actually see the display window, I did not program correctly and missed waking up to an already brewed cup of coffee, just happy it was on a Saturday morning and not one that I was craving coffee and running late. Overall, a very pleased consumer of Black and Decker Coffee Maker.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
genieyes2000
Texas, Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Gender:Female
Love It
11/18/2015

Customer review by HappyCustomer

4.0 stars 11/18/2015 by HappyCustomer
by HappyCustomer

I bought this coffee maker six years ago an it is still making great coffee. I notice the off/on switch is getting hard to push. I am looking to purchase another one. I love it.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
HappyCustomer
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Black and Decker Coffee Maker
10/9/2013

Customer review by vikki60

2.0 stars 10/9/2013 by vikki60
by vikki60

I bought this maker 8 months ago and it doesn't work any more! The clock is in a bad location...gets all wet from the steam. Went to make coffee today and the light comes on but the heating element that keeps the pot warm and brews the coffee is gone! Didn't last long and didn't keep the coffee very hot. Put more money towards a better product!

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
vikki60
Detroit, Michigan
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
1-20 of 166 total reviews
1-20 of 166 reviews