Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 226 reviews | 4 out of 5

4.0 stars

226 reviews | 4 out of 5

4.0 stars

226 reviews | 4 out of 5

81%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
125
4 stars
54
3 stars
5
2 stars
8
1 stars
34
1-20 of 208 total reviews
81%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 208 total reviews
1-20 of 208 reviews
Great Processer. For the prce you can't go wrong!
9/24/2011

Customer review by SiouxCityBoy

5.0 stars 9/24/2011 by SiouxCityBoy
by SiouxCityBoy

This is an updated version of the B&D FP1600B which Walmart previously sold and was fully reviewed, both on the Walmart site and elsewhere. First: The instruction booklet is easy to understand and in English and Spanish. After you have un packaged the unit, sit all parts out on your counter top and then read the booklet as you assemble the unit for the first time. There are several safety lock features, if you fail to read and assemble the unit properly it will not run. The safety interlock features are very similar to the early Cuisinart machines. As such you must first un-lock the workbowl cover prior to un-locking the workbowl itself. Like the previous model the workbowl cover is domed and because of this the food chute extends into the processing area. This creates an area that can on occasion be difficult to clean. I use a basting brush to brush this area when washing it. A paint brush would work well also. The parts are all dishwasher safe ONLY if you use the top rack. Also avoid any fancy "steam cycle." I find it easiest to simply wash it in sudsy water in the sink, rinse and then air dry. It will make pasta, pastry, pie, pizza, and bread dough. Use your favorite recipe. As soon as the ball forms you must remove the dough ball and hand kneed the dough. Freeze your butter chips for a flaky pie dough crust. I can do most anything with this machine that I can do with a $1,600 French machine. At around $25 it's a steal.

Was this review helpful? (291) (25)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
SiouxCityBoy
Rural Missouri
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Nice appliance for the money
10/30/2011

Customer review by thetwinsgrammy

4.0 stars 10/30/2011 by thetwinsgrammy
by thetwinsgrammy

I had been looking at this food processor for months trying to decide if I needed one or not. I finally decided at 24.99 it was too good to pass up. I made pie dough in it, and it was a snap. I have also done bread crumbs which came out perfectly. I have decided that it needs to sit out on my counter in order to take advantage of it, so if you don't have room for it on your counter, you may not want one. This is one of those appliances that you COULD do without, but I'm glad I bought it and look forward to experimenting with it during the holidays, especially for chopping items for canapes and maybe also soups. The bowl is a nice size--I don't think you would want one smaller, and it is NOT overly noisy. Also, the suction feet keep it firmly in place.

Was this review helpful? (159) (12)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
thetwinsgrammy
Newton, NJ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Outstanding machine!!!
12/9/2012

Customer review by saleofcentury

5.0 stars 12/9/2012 by saleofcentury
by saleofcentury

I've now had this machine for almost 3 weeks. I bought it to use on Thanksgiving Day and it cut my prep time for everything by at least 2-3 hours. Since then I've used it to prepare fresh vegetables for use in soups and stews and it does a letter perfect job. I read the other reviews here before buying it. In spite of the negative comments and reviews I read, I bought this food processor based on the Black and Decker name and reputation. I couldn't be more pleased with it. To those who wrote the negative comments I say this: For the guy that couldn't get the shredding disc down in the bottom of the bowl, had you read the directions and owner's manual, you would have known that the shredding disc was not designed to be used in the bottom of the food bowl. For the person who said it was only their third use and the motor was already shot, I suggest not trying to chop extremely hard foods. Finally, for the people that wrote in about the bowl leaking, this is why they have lines on the side of the food bowl which clearly state "Max Food Line" and Max Liquid Line." When all else fails, read the directions. They'll usually clue you in on what you're doing wrong. But I expect to get many years of satisfactory use from this machine.

Was this review helpful? (126) (18)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
saleofcentury
Buckhannon, WV
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
10/27/2012

Customer review by bigfatmadcowmoo

4.0 stars 10/27/2012 by bigfatmadcowmoo
by bigfatmadcowmoo

Pros: -Looks sleek and nice -Holds a lot and is good price for the amount -Slices and purees very well, everything gets cut Cons: -A little difficult to lock and unlock from base -Suction cups on bottom don't really hold well in place -The liquid limit: So I read through the instruction manual (because I'm a nerd) and noticed it had a 3 cup liquid maximum. OK, that's fine. Except it does not mention ANYWHERE that if you put that much liquid in first that it will then leak out the bottom and all over the counter and onto the floor. So...would have liked a heads up on that one. Was not a fun experience. Now I put in my dry stuff first and create a paste on the bottom (when I'm making dip) to keep liquids from escaping. Anyway just a heads up to anyone who doesn't want to feel stupid :D

Was this review helpful? (92) (11)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
bigfatmadcowmoo
Bryan, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
11/6/2011

Customer review by mawmaw8

5.0 stars 11/6/2011 by mawmaw8
by mawmaw8

Easy to clean and easy to operate. Does a nice job. I like that it is easy to clean and get the food out after chopping. Well worth the price.

Was this review helpful? (69) (10)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
mawmaw8
Peterstown, WV
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
FANTASTIC! Black and Decker 8 cup food processor
7/20/2014

Customer review by Deedors

5.0 stars 7/20/2014 by Deedors
by Deedors

Excellent for slicing!! I was wanting something to slice cucumbers when I make Bread and Butter pickles as I have a garden and do a lot of canning. I searched the stores and the internet for food processors, reviews,etc., and found this one at Wal-Mart, the price was good, like $24.00?, and thought I'd try it, since the price was good and first time user for a food processor. Let me tell you this machine is fantastic! It slices perfect! Such uniform perfect slices and quick. I also used the shredding blade and it does a great job too for shredding zucchini for zucchini cake or bread. Easy to insert/remove blades/cutters and easy to clean. I am so proud of it. It is one investment for my kitchen appliances that I am so glad to have. I don't know how the "high dollar" food processors compare to this one, but this one does an awesome job for me and soooooo glad I got it.

Was this review helpful? (40) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Deedors
South central Illinois
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Looks nice, works good, but breaks easily
8/4/2013

Customer review by thewston

1.0 stars 8/4/2013 by thewston
by thewston

I've had my Black & Decker Food Processor, FP1700B for about a year now. I don't use it very often and when I do, it's mainly just to grate cheese, zucchini, and such, for quick preparation. I have a Ninja that chops very well, so this food processor doesn't get heavy use. I bought it because it looks nice and was a great price. But, it didn't take long for a piece of the plastic bowl to chip off. It chipped at the top rim and was small enough that I could still use the food processor and just put my finger over the chip so that food didn't leak out. Well, the other day, I was grating some zucchini and the plastic hinge that locks the lid into place to allow the processor to operate broke off. I was able to put it in locking place then put the lid on so that I could finish my job, but I threw the entire food processor away afterwards. I won't buy another one of these. I guess this is one of those 'you get what you pay for' appliances. I'll spend more money next time and hopefully get a better quality product that is more durable.

Was this review helpful? (56) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
thewston
Farmington, UT
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
Well made, dependable, great price
10/20/2011

Customer review by Jewelry4Gal

5.0 stars 10/20/2011 by Jewelry4Gal
by Jewelry4Gal

This is a great option for a lower priced, moderate sized food processor. Be prepared, however, because it is very loud for a small kitchen appliance; guests will no doubt run in a hurry when this thing is turned on. As far as construction, it seems to be very well made. Strong suction cups keep it in place. The regular cutting blade is sharp. I have used it for bean spreads and mincing vegetables. There is also a round shredding and slicing blade insert, which you insert after removing the other cutting blade. I used it to slice veggies, including carrots and onions, for soup. Slices come out very thin, but much easier than chopping or slicing by hand. This is really a great bargain.

Was this review helpful? (127) (40)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Jewelry4Gal
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
This is my first food processor and I love it.
11/24/2011

Customer review by 5255

5.0 stars 11/24/2011 by 5255
by 5255

I've used a mandolin my whole life for cutting, slicing and grating. After making my last batch of cole slaw I just could not make it the old way, and decided to get a food processor. I wasn't sure how it would work for me and I am so glad I did this. I read the previous reviews and decided this was the one for me. LOVE IT!!!

Was this review helpful? (26) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
5255
Las Cruces, NM
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Not disapointed
12/15/2012

Customer review by Chiyna

5.0 stars 12/15/2012 by Chiyna
by Chiyna

I just purchased my B & D processor yesterday. I like to make falafel and in order to get the perfect texture a processor is mandatory. First I read all the positive reviews. I was comfortable with most of the comments. It seemed the main complaint was the noise. Since this is not my first processor I understood that it would be noisy but no more so than my last processor. I took the time to read all the instructions and began. It worked perfect! I was not disappointed. My texture was perfect. It was easy to clean (much easier than my older one) and for the price well I was really impressed. I admit I'm a long time fan of Black and Decker products as they are well made and last and last and last. I would advise anyone considering this item to take the time to read the instructions as I believe some of the "negative" reviews may have been the result of not taking the time to find out how to use the processor. A definite thumbs up!

Was this review helpful? (42) (13)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Chiyna
Californis
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
An overall good product for the money
6/19/2014

Customer review by Musicklady

4.0 stars 6/19/2014 by Musicklady
by Musicklady

The capacity is good, and it does a wonderful job of pureeing and mixing things well. My only issues with it are minor. First, the center blade housing is awkwardly shaped, so that removing it is rather difficult when there is food in the cup. Also, the cover has a tiny area between the opening for the hopper and the edge of the cover where food gets stuck and is a bit difficult to remove, sometimes requiring a bottle brush. Same thing with the housing on the bottom of the cup, food and sauces get stuck in the housing and it takes quite a bit of flushing to get it out. These last two issues are solved with placing in a dishwasher, I am sure, but hand washing is more difficult. Other then that, I love it so far.

Was this review helpful? (20) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Musicklady
white pine, tn
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
An Excellent Choice!
12/26/2011

Customer review by PaulDB

4.0 stars 12/26/2011 by PaulDB
by PaulDB

I truly appreciate this food processor. Other reviewers have given thorough reviews of it. I will only add that I can also use it to grind nuts into butter to spread on bread (like walnuts & almonds - which are more healthful than peanuts). My one & only complaint is that it is hard to remove the coupling on the bottom of the work bowl. This needs to be removed & washed because there are small particles of food that will accumulate in it. I have to use a small hammer to knock it loose. It seems to be sturdy enough that it won't break - at least I hope so!

Was this review helpful? (24) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
PaulDB
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Works well - price is unbeatable
2/2/2012

Customer review by rlaudig

5.0 stars 2/2/2012 by rlaudig
by rlaudig

We were looking for a low priced food processor to use for chopping raw potatoes to make potato pancakes. Blenders have not worked well and we decided to try this because the price was so reasonable and it had gotten good reviews. After a quick setup we tried our first batch of potatoes. It worked like a dream - the potates were turned into a puree in minutes. Clean up is really easy as it all comes apart to wash. We even use it for recipes for which we used to use the blender. The box shows it being used to slice cukes and tomatoes, but that isn't realistic because the chute in which the food is loaded is much too small for that purpose. Carrots and other items of a similar diameter would work quite well, however.

Was this review helpful? (17) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
rlaudig
Springfield, Mo
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Top 1000 contributor
PERFECTLY SIMPLE!!!
1/9/2012

Customer review by srandjlsims

5.0 stars 1/9/2012 by srandjlsims
by srandjlsims

I am not a chef, heck, I am not even a cook! However, my husband has become a Type 2 Diabetic. I no longer have the ability to just open a can anymore and my daughter already had this contraption so she gave me a simple lesson and the rest is a love affair that rivals Cary Grant and Deborah Kerr. My husband and I fight over who gets to pulse!!! I am a long time Black and Decker fan anyway. If a gadget is invented, we usually won't buy it unless B & D has a version. Do you know what the single greatest function of this processor is? THE SUCTION CUPS!! I am easy to please!

Was this review helpful? (17) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
srandjlsims
East Portland, Oregon
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Bottom Fine, top, including safety latch poor.
8/26/2012

Customer review by ChooseAnother

1.0 stars 8/26/2012 by ChooseAnother
by ChooseAnother

Have owned for a few months, used less than a dozen times. There is a problem locking and unlocking the top unit to the base/motor portion of the device. Cracked the top bowl unit trying to remove from lock second to the last time, and the last time we tried to use it the safety latch stopped working, rendering the entire device worthless. I will not buy again, and would not recommend to a friend.

Was this review helpful? (18) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ChooseAnother
Los Angeles, CA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per month
Broke on 4th Use
4/21/2012

Customer review by DuvLady

1.0 stars 4/21/2012 by DuvLady
by DuvLady

What happened to a food processor that would last for years? I was not happy the very first time I used this. The cheddar (i was attempting to shred) was clumping in big clumps beneath the cover above the slicer. For some crazy reason the design of this allows way too much food underneath the cover. Same thing happened when I grated carrots the following week. I'm one of those people that actually USE a food processor. The chopper blade worked fine but it is at the bottom. I really thought being a black & decker that although the price was incredible that it would be a good product. Today was the death of the processor. As I was shredding some soft mozzarella with the pulse button, the whole top broke off, spewing mozzarella all over my kitchen. Craziest thing!

Was this review helpful? (24) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
DuvLady
Summerfield, FL
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Great appliance for the price.
12/29/2011

Customer review by MrsSAnderson

5.0 stars 12/29/2011 by MrsSAnderson
by MrsSAnderson

Although I have only owned it for a week, I have already used it many times and have had no problems. It's no louder than any other food processor would be. I like the suction cups on the bottom so it stays in place on the countertop. The only feature I'm not crazy about is that it slices very thin and as far as I know, you can't get any other blades for different thickness.

Was this review helpful? (12) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MrsSAnderson
Jacksonville, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Black and Decker 8-cup Food Processor
11/2/2011

Customer review by Mishana

2.0 stars 11/2/2011 by Mishana
by Mishana

Worked pretty well. Very loud for our household. One of the loudest appliances we have owned.

Was this review helpful? (23) (16)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Mishana
Las Vegas, NV
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great product!
1/14/2012

Customer review by 8grandsons

5.0 stars 1/14/2012 by 8grandsons
by 8grandsons

I couldn't be happier with this processor! I love it! I have had it for a couple of months now, and it comes in handy for so many mixing needs. It works great and I don't know how I got by without it. Money well spent.. If you spend much time cooking, this machine will diffidently make your life easier! It is strong enough to handle everything I need to mix and it isn't super noisy. Very pleasant to use. I highly recommend it.

Was this review helpful? (8) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
8grandsons
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Powerful, durable, easy to clean
11/3/2012

Customer review by Woody1111

5.0 stars 11/3/2012 by Woody1111
by Woody1111

Really powerful, comes apart easily for cleanup (I like the way the center post on the bowl unsnaps) and the lid 'lip' is strong. How many of these 'lips', which actuate the motor, have I seen break rendering the processor worthless... this one is really strong. Very pleased.

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Woody1111
Salem, Va
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
1-20 of 208 total reviews
1-20 of 208 reviews