Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 312 reviews | 3.9 out of 5

4.0 stars

312 reviews | 3.9 out of 5

4.0 stars

312 reviews | 3.9 out of 5

78%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
170
4 stars
68
3 stars
9
2 stars
12
1 stars
53
1-20 of 294 total reviews
78%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 294 total reviews
1-20 of 294 reviews
Looks nice, works good, but breaks easily
8/4/2013

Customer review by thewston

1.0 stars 8/4/2013 by thewston
by thewston

I've had my Black & Decker Food Processor, FP1700B for about a year now. I don't use it very often and when I do, it's mainly just to grate cheese, zucchini, and such, for quick preparation. I have a Ninja that chops very well, so this food processor doesn't get heavy use. I bought it because it looks nice and was a great price. But, it didn't take long for a piece of the plastic bowl to chip off. It chipped at the top rim and was small enough that I could still use the food processor and just put my finger over the chip so that food didn't leak out. Well, the other day, I was grating some zucchini and the plastic hinge that locks the lid into place to allow the processor to operate broke off. I was able to put it in locking place then put the lid on so that I could finish my job, but I threw the entire food processor away afterwards. I won't buy another one of these. I guess this is one of those 'you get what you pay for' appliances. I'll spend more money next time and hopefully get a better quality product that is more durable.

Was this review helpful? (91) (20)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
thewston
Farmington, UT
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
FANTASTIC! Black and Decker 8 cup food processor
7/20/2014

Customer review by Deedors

5.0 stars 7/20/2014 by Deedors
by Deedors

Excellent for slicing!! I was wanting something to slice cucumbers when I make Bread and Butter pickles as I have a garden and do a lot of canning. I searched the stores and the internet for food processors, reviews,etc., and found this one at Wal-Mart, the price was good, like $24.00?, and thought I'd try it, since the price was good and first time user for a food processor. Let me tell you this machine is fantastic! It slices perfect! Such uniform perfect slices and quick. I also used the shredding blade and it does a great job too for shredding zucchini for zucchini cake or bread. Easy to insert/remove blades/cutters and easy to clean. I am so proud of it. It is one investment for my kitchen appliances that I am so glad to have. I don't know how the "high dollar" food processors compare to this one, but this one does an awesome job for me and soooooo glad I got it.

Was this review helpful? (71) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Deedors
South central Illinois
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Poorly Designed
7/7/2016

Customer review by Pteromyini

1.0 stars 7/7/2016 by Pteromyini
by Pteromyini

Too complicated to assemble, way too many nucks and crannies to clean, must store grating/slicing blade separately and lack luster performance... Tried whipping frozen Bananas last night, somehow it made a vortex that pulled the puree up through the blade assembly and ran down the inside(underbelly) of camber making a huge mess. Making shrimp burgers was also a bad experience, felt very lucky to finish unharmed and again every nuck & cranny. Breadcrumbs, took forever and wasn't very consistent. Clean up is horrid, feed tube has a mini gap as did the the lid lock and cutting blade slick so it was hard to remove then slippery and dangerous to clean. For the price I'll give the performance a pass, it'll do it's job... eventually... But all the other flaws combined it fails miserably so it will be returned after just three uses...

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Pteromyini
Would recommend to a friend? No
Not disapointed
12/15/2012

Customer review by Chiyna

5.0 stars 12/15/2012 by Chiyna
by Chiyna

I just purchased my B & D processor yesterday. I like to make falafel and in order to get the perfect texture a processor is mandatory. First I read all the positive reviews. I was comfortable with most of the comments. It seemed the main complaint was the noise. Since this is not my first processor I understood that it would be noisy but no more so than my last processor. I took the time to read all the instructions and began. It worked perfect! I was not disappointed. My texture was perfect. It was easy to clean (much easier than my older one) and for the price well I was really impressed. I admit I'm a long time fan of Black and Decker products as they are well made and last and last and last. I would advise anyone considering this item to take the time to read the instructions as I believe some of the "negative" reviews may have been the result of not taking the time to find out how to use the processor. A definite thumbs up!

Was this review helpful? (56) (24)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Chiyna
Californis
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Not worth the low price.
7/4/2016

Customer review by iris

1.0 stars 7/4/2016 by iris
by iris

There used to be a time when Black and Decker used to mean quality. Not anymore. This is just one more VERY DISAPPOINTING appliance with the name Black and Decker. This is the last straw. I have a large food processor, that I bought almost three decades ago, which still works fine. I bought this one to keep on the counter top in my kitchen for very light jobs because the other one is hard to get to due to the size. First time I used it, it overheated (based on the burning smell) in less than three minutes of trying to shred CRACKERS. Second time I tried to use it. Does not turn on. It's going in the garbage same as the B&D trimmer and the B&D leaf blower that I had previously purchased. Three time and you are out. Too bad, I still have some very old B&D tools that actually lasted.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
iris
Would recommend to a friend? No
Nice appliance for the money
10/30/2011

Customer review by thetwinsgrammy

4.0 stars 10/30/2011 by thetwinsgrammy
by thetwinsgrammy

I had been looking at this food processor for months trying to decide if I needed one or not. I finally decided at 24.99 it was too good to pass up. I made pie dough in it, and it was a snap. I have also done bread crumbs which came out perfectly. I have decided that it needs to sit out on my counter in order to take advantage of it, so if you don't have room for it on your counter, you may not want one. This is one of those appliances that you COULD do without, but I'm glad I bought it and look forward to experimenting with it during the holidays, especially for chopping items for canapes and maybe also soups. The bowl is a nice size--I don't think you would want one smaller, and it is NOT overly noisy. Also, the suction feet keep it firmly in place.

Was this review helpful? (204) (15)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
thetwinsgrammy
Newton, NJ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
10/27/2012

Customer review by bigfatmadcowmoo

4.0 stars 10/27/2012 by bigfatmadcowmoo
by bigfatmadcowmoo

Pros: -Looks sleek and nice -Holds a lot and is good price for the amount -Slices and purees very well, everything gets cut Cons: -A little difficult to lock and unlock from base -Suction cups on bottom don't really hold well in place -The liquid limit: So I read through the instruction manual (because I'm a nerd) and noticed it had a 3 cup liquid maximum. OK, that's fine. Except it does not mention ANYWHERE that if you put that much liquid in first that it will then leak out the bottom and all over the counter and onto the floor. So...would have liked a heads up on that one. Was not a fun experience. Now I put in my dry stuff first and create a paste on the bottom (when I'm making dip) to keep liquids from escaping. Anyway just a heads up to anyone who doesn't want to feel stupid :D

Was this review helpful? (133) (20)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
bigfatmadcowmoo
Bryan, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Sharp, does a terrific job
5/14/2016

Customer review by Dixie399

5.0 stars 5/14/2016 by Dixie399
by Dixie399

My processor had gotten old & I hadn't realized how dull it was. This food processor has terrific power & excellent cutting, slicing, dicing ability. I'm glad I bought it. J

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Dixie399
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Outstanding machine!!!
12/9/2012

Customer review by saleofcentury

5.0 stars 12/9/2012 by saleofcentury
by saleofcentury

I've now had this machine for almost 3 weeks. I bought it to use on Thanksgiving Day and it cut my prep time for everything by at least 2-3 hours. Since then I've used it to prepare fresh vegetables for use in soups and stews and it does a letter perfect job. I read the other reviews here before buying it. In spite of the negative comments and reviews I read, I bought this food processor based on the Black and Decker name and reputation. I couldn't be more pleased with it. To those who wrote the negative comments I say this: For the guy that couldn't get the shredding disc down in the bottom of the bowl, had you read the directions and owner's manual, you would have known that the shredding disc was not designed to be used in the bottom of the food bowl. For the person who said it was only their third use and the motor was already shot, I suggest not trying to chop extremely hard foods. Finally, for the people that wrote in about the bowl leaking, this is why they have lines on the side of the food bowl which clearly state "Max Food Line" and Max Liquid Line." When all else fails, read the directions. They'll usually clue you in on what you're doing wrong. But I expect to get many years of satisfactory use from this machine.

Was this review helpful? (201) (30)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
saleofcentury
Buckhannon, WV
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Works well - price is unbeatable
2/2/2012

Customer review by rlaudig

5.0 stars 2/2/2012 by rlaudig
by rlaudig
Top 1000 contributor

We were looking for a low priced food processor to use for chopping raw potatoes to make potato pancakes. Blenders have not worked well and we decided to try this because the price was so reasonable and it had gotten good reviews. After a quick setup we tried our first batch of potatoes. It worked like a dream - the potates were turned into a puree in minutes. Clean up is really easy as it all comes apart to wash. We even use it for recipes for which we used to use the blender. The box shows it being used to slice cukes and tomatoes, but that isn't realistic because the chute in which the food is loaded is much too small for that purpose. Carrots and other items of a similar diameter would work quite well, however.

Was this review helpful? (20) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
rlaudig
Springfield, Mo
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Top 1000 contributor
Great entry level machine!
12/30/2015

Customer review by Northquabin

5.0 stars 12/30/2015 by Northquabin
by Northquabin

Makes 3 cups of hummus perfect. I had some left over ham and made ham salad that came out great. Noise level doesn't bother me but then again neither did working on an aircraft carrier fight deck bother me. What, did you say something? Chops and shreds like a champ with plenty of power. Slicing comes out a little regard but for soups it is fine. Easy to use and clean. I wanted a Cuisinart 7 cup processor but being a first time user I opted for this Black and Decker. For under $25 it's a great machine.

Was this review helpful? (20) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Northquabin
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Loud!
7/22/2016

Customer review by tmall

3.0 stars 7/22/2016 by tmall
by tmall
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Way louder than I thought it would be. And doesn't hold as much as I thought either.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
tmall
Would recommend to a friend? No
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great Processer. For the prce you can't go wrong!
9/24/2011

Customer review by SiouxCityBoy

5.0 stars 9/24/2011 by SiouxCityBoy
by SiouxCityBoy

This is an updated version of the B&D FP1600B which Walmart previously sold and was fully reviewed, both on the Walmart site and elsewhere. First: The instruction booklet is easy to understand and in English and Spanish. After you have un packaged the unit, sit all parts out on your counter top and then read the booklet as you assemble the unit for the first time. There are several safety lock features, if you fail to read and assemble the unit properly it will not run. The safety interlock features are very similar to the early Cuisinart machines. As such you must first un-lock the workbowl cover prior to un-locking the workbowl itself. Like the previous model the workbowl cover is domed and because of this the food chute extends into the processing area. This creates an area that can on occasion be difficult to clean. I use a basting brush to brush this area when washing it. A paint brush would work well also. The parts are all dishwasher safe ONLY if you use the top rack. Also avoid any fancy "steam cycle." I find it easiest to simply wash it in sudsy water in the sink, rinse and then air dry. It will make pasta, pastry, pie, pizza, and bread dough. Use your favorite recipe. As soon as the ball forms you must remove the dough ball and hand kneed the dough. Freeze your butter chips for a flaky pie dough crust. I can do most anything with this machine that I can do with a $1,600 French machine. At around $25 it's a steal.

Was this review helpful? (344) (30)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
SiouxCityBoy
Rural Missouri
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Broke
6/29/2016

Customer review by Elis

1.0 stars 6/29/2016 by Elis
by Elis

I bought this food processor couple of months ago and bowl coupling broke after used it for few time. Finding replacement parts online is impossible so I can not use it.

Elis
New Jersey, United States
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Female
Black and Decker food processor
7/12/2016

Customer review by Angi1958

5.0 stars 7/12/2016 by Angi1958
by Angi1958
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I bought this due to my arthritic hands. I have a hard time chopping and making hummus has been a whiz. If you need assistance with your help for cooking. I suggest you try it. It's the best in my opinion.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Angi1958
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great Processor/replacement parts very expensive
7/4/2016

Customer review by thornjosie

5.0 stars 7/4/2016 by thornjosie
by thornjosie

This is a great processor for the price. However, I dropped the workbowl and it broke beyond being usable. The replacement part (very hard to find online) was only $4 less than the whole processor kit (plus shipping). It doesn't look as if the Walmart Added Protection warranty will cover this oops, so I am not purchasing that. Besides....I have an extra base and all the other parts if needed!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
thornjosie
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
It leaks!
1/3/2013

Customer review by SaintDennis

1.0 stars 1/3/2013 by SaintDennis
by SaintDennis

Cons: Made some butter, and when removing the unit from the base, there was a small "puddle" of buttermilk on the top of the base. This led me to believe that some of it leaked into the electronics of the base and may be in the process of doing some kind of damage that I would not have been aware of if that small puddle went unnoticed. Another thing is that it is only 1 speed. Now that I have experience in food processors (2nd one), a potentiometer to control the speed would be in order. Do you agree? Also, there seems to be no "butter blade" for the thing. Searched all the websites, including B&D's and still nothing. So I cut a small plastic syrup bottle to fit, burned a hole in the bottom with a pencil torch (great thing to have!) and while the plastic was still molten (extremely soft), I pressed it onto the shaft of the S-Blade so that the plastic would literally beat the heavy cream into butter and buttermilk. The Spell worked! Pro: It's a nice looking unit, though I'd prefer a red one over a black one to match my kitchen decor. Recommendation: Put a gasket or O-ring on the underneath side of the pitcher.

Was this review helpful? (15) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
SaintDennis
Knoxville, TN
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
PERFECTLY SIMPLE!!!
1/9/2012

Customer review by srandjlsims

5.0 stars 1/9/2012 by srandjlsims
by srandjlsims

I am not a chef, heck, I am not even a cook! However, my husband has become a Type 2 Diabetic. I no longer have the ability to just open a can anymore and my daughter already had this contraption so she gave me a simple lesson and the rest is a love affair that rivals Cary Grant and Deborah Kerr. My husband and I fight over who gets to pulse!!! I am a long time Black and Decker fan anyway. If a gadget is invented, we usually won't buy it unless B & D has a version. Do you know what the single greatest function of this processor is? THE SUCTION CUPS!! I am easy to please!

Was this review helpful? (19) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
srandjlsims
East Portland, Oregon
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
An overall good product for the money
6/19/2014

Customer review by Musicklady

4.0 stars 6/19/2014 by Musicklady
by Musicklady
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

The capacity is good, and it does a wonderful job of pureeing and mixing things well. My only issues with it are minor. First, the center blade housing is awkwardly shaped, so that removing it is rather difficult when there is food in the cup. Also, the cover has a tiny area between the opening for the hopper and the edge of the cover where food gets stuck and is a bit difficult to remove, sometimes requiring a bottle brush. Same thing with the housing on the bottom of the cup, food and sauces get stuck in the housing and it takes quite a bit of flushing to get it out. These last two issues are solved with placing in a dishwasher, I am sure, but hand washing is more difficult. Other then that, I love it so far.

Was this review helpful? (20) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Musicklady
white pine, tn
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Well made, dependable, great price
10/20/2011

Customer review by Jewelry4Gal

5.0 stars 10/20/2011 by Jewelry4Gal
by Jewelry4Gal

This is a great option for a lower priced, moderate sized food processor. Be prepared, however, because it is very loud for a small kitchen appliance; guests will no doubt run in a hurry when this thing is turned on. As far as construction, it seems to be very well made. Strong suction cups keep it in place. The regular cutting blade is sharp. I have used it for bean spreads and mincing vegetables. There is also a round shredding and slicing blade insert, which you insert after removing the other cutting blade. I used it to slice veggies, including carrots and onions, for soup. Slices come out very thin, but much easier than chopping or slicing by hand. This is really a great bargain.

Was this review helpful? (129) (41)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Jewelry4Gal
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
1-20 of 294 total reviews
1-20 of 294 reviews