Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 54 reviews | 3.6 out of 5

3.5 stars

54 reviews | 3.6 out of 5

3.5 stars

54 reviews | 3.6 out of 5

69%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
22
4 stars
13
3 stars
4
2 stars
3
1 stars
12
1-20 of 45 total reviews
69%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 45 total reviews
1-20 of 45 reviews
Delivered what it promised.
10/27/2013

Customer review by arguscameo

5.0 stars 10/27/2013 by arguscameo
by arguscameo

We purchased and returned two competing brands before we tried this can opener. Each of the three brands boast of having the same features but the Proctor Silex was the only one that delivered what it promised. Our main objective was simply to open cans. One of the competitors did not even do that. We are very pleased with it.

Was this review helpful? (26) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
arguscameo
Monore, WI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
nice can opener but......
10/7/2011

Customer review by toki07

4.0 stars 10/7/2011 by toki07
by toki07

I really like my can opener but every time I use it I have to fight to get the can to be opened started. Why can it not be easier to put the can under opener and get it to open? I use the opener every single day.

Was this review helpful? (32) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
toki07
hixson tn
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
2/20/2012

Customer review by dogwood7

3.0 stars 2/20/2012 by dogwood7
by dogwood7

too light weight at the lower portion. It slides and topples over when the can is placed. You have to steady the opener when you use it. I have only 2 hands, seems to require 4. Cuts nicely though. Not suitable for women with arthritic hands. Men with strong hands, no problem.

Was this review helpful? (26) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
dogwood7
Would recommend to a friend? No
Great can opener, looks & works fine, costs little
1/14/2012

Customer review by renojack

5.0 stars 1/14/2012 by renojack
by renojack

I had recently purchasef a Black & Decker black electric can opener, at twice the cost of this Procter Silex unit, that just wouldn't work easily! It is now relegated to my garage work bench where its knife sharpening function works just fine! It looked pretty, but is a bummer!!!

Was this review helpful? (18) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
renojack
Indialantic, Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
CHEAP PRICE..WORKED FOR THREE CANS..
11/5/2013

Customer review by GZWW

1.0 stars 11/5/2013 by GZWW
by GZWW

THIS CAN OPENER OPENED THREE CANS BEFORE RENDERING USELESS. CALLED PROCTOR SILEX CONCERNING PROBLEMS WITH CAN OPENER. THE WARRANTY IS SET UP NOT TO ALLOW YOU TO RETURN TO THE RETAIL STORE. WARRANTY IN EFFECT, HOWEVER RETURN SHIPPING IS MY EXPENSE. THE BOTTOM LINE, PROCTOR SILEX WILL REPLACE THE UNIT BUT AFTER I PAY THE RETURN SHIPPING FOR THEIR DEFECTIVE PRODUCT, I COULD BUY ANOTHER AT A RETAIL STORE. SO THEY KNOW THAT, THEREFORE THE WARRANTY IS USELESS, HAVING TO RETURN THE UNIT TO PROCTOR-SILEX AT MY EXPENSE RENDERS THE WARRANTY BASICALLY USELESS. I BOUGHT ANOTHER BUT IT WASN'T A PROCTOR SILEX. IT APPEARS THE DAY HAS ARRIVED THAT ALMOST ALL APPLIANCES AND THEIR WARRANTIES ARE DESIGNED TO BE DIAPOSABLE. BUYING CHEAP IS NOT ALWAYS THE CHEAPEST, PAYING MORE OFTEN TIMES GIVES YOU THE SAME MOTOR AND TOOLING, JUST CHANGES THE COSMETIC PACKAGE. PACKAGING AND COSMETIC APPEAR SELLS MORE THAN A DURABLE PRODUCT.

Was this review helpful? (16) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
GZWW
WESTERN KENTUCY
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Nice can opener
8/29/2012

Customer review by FuriousMom

5.0 stars 8/29/2012 by FuriousMom
by FuriousMom

I bought this for my 87 year old mother who just moved into a very small apartment. She has serious arthritis in her hands and needed an easy to use can opener. This one is perfect for her. It is easy to use. In addition, it has a knife sharpener on the back. It looks great on the counter and is very quiet.

Was this review helpful? (18) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
FuriousMom
Milwaukee, Wi
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
3/15/2012

Customer review by annemoss

4.0 stars 3/15/2012 by annemoss
by annemoss

I had the same can opener for 20 years and was upset when it finally quit working. I searched all over for good reviews on a can opener and this one had more good, then bad. So far I like it. It has taken me a bit to get use to the "hands free" part of it, but I do support the can - just in case. I haven't had any problems starting cans or cutting them. It is a lot lighter weight then the old one I just had, but so far haven't found too heavy of a can that would tip it over.

Was this review helpful? (17) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
annemoss
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Fine and Dandy
11/14/2012

Customer review by TrishMM

5.0 stars 11/14/2012 by TrishMM
by TrishMM

So far, this can opener has worked great. I really like that fact that it can open tall cans. The "puncture" device is sharp and the cutting of the lid is fast. Additionally, the price was right. I'm quite pleased w/ the purchase.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
TrishMM
Virginia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Can opening made easy.
7/2/2013

Customer review by ChocolateCity05

4.0 stars 7/2/2013 by ChocolateCity05
by ChocolateCity05

Make it easy on yourself to open a can because using a hand held can opener was very hard and took too much time and strength. You can put a can in this electric opener and you don't have to hold it in place. Just walk away and pick it up when your ready.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ChocolateCity05
Chicago, IL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Only worked for 4 months
12/19/2012

Customer review by GoGoBills

1.0 stars 12/19/2012 by GoGoBills
by GoGoBills

Worked great at first. We use a can opener 1 time/week, max. After 4 months, it lost power and would only cut 1/4" section of lid circumference at a time (motor issue). About 1 week after that, it quit working altogether. We replaced it with a different brand can opener.

Was this review helpful? (6) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
GoGoBills
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:A few times per month
Love it!!!
6/29/2012

Customer review by UNCWGrad

5.0 stars 6/29/2012 by UNCWGrad
by UNCWGrad

My parents have had this opener for 5 years and they love it too!! No sharp edges and almost always only takes one revolution. Some very large cans make take two turns.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
UNCWGrad
Wilmington, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Easy to Use Can Opener
6/1/2013

Customer review by PattiSC

5.0 stars 6/1/2013 by PattiSC
by PattiSC

This product replaced an old can opener that didn't have a removable cutting assembly and had become unacceptably grimy. It is easy to operate, cuts cleanly, and now I can keep it clean and sanitary. The walmart.com price was reasonable and less than other retailers. Very happy with my purchase.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
PattiSC
Greenville SC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Not worth buying
7/5/2014

Customer review by WVTwinJA

1.0 stars 7/5/2014 by WVTwinJA
by WVTwinJA

I purchased two of this brand can opener, from two different stores. I used to like the brand, but I will never buy again. I have to fight constantly to get the can opener to open and can. When I bought brand new, at most, it lasted a couple of months. If I can't find an electric can opener that works longer that this, I might as well use a knife to open a can. The opener may be cheaply priced, but it is still a waste of money.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
WVTwinJA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Already recommended to friends!
9/28/2013

Customer review by barbelon

5.0 stars 9/28/2013 by barbelon
by barbelon

The can opener looks great, takes up less space than previous ones, runs quietly, blade is VERY sharp. Love the ability to easily remove cutting head for cleaning.

Was this review helpful? (3) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
barbelon
Fayetteville, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Proctor Silex Can Opener
5/25/2014

Customer review by LittleValleyGirl

1.0 stars 5/25/2014 by LittleValleyGirl
by LittleValleyGirl

I had this opener less than a week & it is now useless. Unfortunately I destroyed the box so am unable to return it. It opened 2 cans before it died!!!!!!! Would gladly send it back but without a container I hold very little hope that I would get anywhere.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
LittleValleyGirl
Would recommend to a friend? No
Best Value Can opener
6/5/2015

Customer review by oldwagon2

5.0 stars 6/5/2015 by oldwagon2
by oldwagon2

I tried a Black & Decker, what a slug, then tried this Procter Silex it worked smoothly wo/problems, buy one you wont be disappointed.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
oldwagon2
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
very good
3/28/2013

Customer review by MsCamille

5.0 stars 3/28/2013 by MsCamille
by MsCamille

Very affordable works great.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MsCamille
Lancaster CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Really good buy!
12/30/2014

Customer review by photophanatic

5.0 stars 12/30/2014 by photophanatic
by photophanatic

Works on the larger cans s well. Quiet. No jagged edges on the cans. Very easy to clean.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
photophanatic
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great Value, Works Well
11/24/2012

Customer review by artistwriter

5.0 stars 11/24/2012 by artistwriter
by artistwriter

Very happy with purchase. Runs smoothly and seems to have some bulk to it. So far so very good. No problems. I'm happy. Great value.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
artistwriter
TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Top 1000 contributor
Easy to Use Electric Can Opener
12/7/2012

Customer review by WashingtonianMom

5.0 stars 12/7/2012 by WashingtonianMom
by WashingtonianMom

I got this is white. It is sleek and looks good. Works perfectly. Great price.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
WashingtonianMom
Washington, DC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1-20 of 45 total reviews
1-20 of 45 reviews