Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 31 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

31 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

31 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

87%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
18
4 stars
8
3 stars
1
2 stars
3
1 stars
1
1-20 of 26 total reviews
87%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 26 total reviews
1-20 of 26 reviews
OK bike
10/27/2011

Customer review by sportbikes

3.0 stars 10/27/2011 by sportbikes
by sportbikes

I liked the bike. It looked good and the fitment was good for me at 5'11" 200lb. My weight was no problem for the suspension. Sag was where I thought it should be and had ample travel. Solid shifting. Why I am returning it... - the front suspension was not smooth. It was binding and motion was jerky. Not sure how to fix, so this was the return issue. - The front disk brake was not great. I could not lock the front tire. I cleaned the disk with brake clean and rode... maybe a mile occasionally dragging the front brake to 'set' it in, but I could not get a good feel. The rear brake was excellent and the front worked fine, but it would not grab fully. I like to lock up the front and raise the rear wheel (a stoppie) for fun and I could not. This would have been acceptable, but the front suspension added to this issue just made me unhappy. I would recommend for the casual rider. I'm sure the front-end suspension was an issue with this bike and probably not all.

Was this review helpful? (17) (24)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
sportbikes
SoCal
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Good for the price
11/24/2011

Customer review by SHYGUY6816

4.0 stars 11/24/2011 by SHYGUY6816
by SHYGUY6816

I just got this bike today and it almost seemed too good to be true, well..... it was. On my first ride around my neighborhood, most of the gears wouldn't shift and there was this constant clicking sound coming from them. The suspension on the bike is AMAZING and whenever I go over larger cracks of curbs, I barely feel anything. Although the suspension is great, I would still recommend a memory foam seat cover which is what I got because the seat is very hard and there is no built in cushion. The bike overall is very sturdy and has great suspension but the gears seem to have problems so I'm going to my local bike shop to get them fixed for around 30 bucks which is highly recommended.

Was this review helpful? (52) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
SHYGUY6816
Canoga Park CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Excellent Bike for the Price
9/27/2011

Customer review by ChasMichaelMichaels

5.0 stars 9/27/2011 by ChasMichaelMichaels
by ChasMichaelMichaels

I was between this bike, a Schwinn, and the Genesis. I chose this bike due to the size and the overall look of the bike. I couldn't judge it in person as it was not in stores in my area so looks were what I was mainly going off of. When the bike came it was easy to assemble and get ready to ride. There isn't a part of this bike that seems cheaply made and I have yet to find a flaw while riding it. The only thing is that some adjustments may need to be made to the brakes to get the front disc brake functioning properly but it is really simple.

Was this review helpful? (126) (14)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ChasMichaelMichaels
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
10/31/2011

Customer review by Purplepain

5.0 stars 10/31/2011 by Purplepain
by Purplepain

I really like this bike, the seat must go very uncomfortable. Everything else is great, I like the higher ride height, gears change smoothly, brakes are sharp. I like the way it looks and I get a lot of compliments from other riders. I've owned her about month I try to ride daily.

Was this review helpful? (60) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Purplepain
San Antonio Tx
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Enjoy This
3/2/2012

Customer review by rueski

4.0 stars 3/2/2012 by rueski
by rueski

For us big guys, over 6'5", 270, i beleive this bike is great, use 4 times a week, about 60+ miles, run good. Also like that it arrive four days before was expected.

Was this review helpful? (51) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
rueski
bayamon, pr
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Great value!
2/16/2012

Customer review by CZEE

5.0 stars 2/16/2012 by CZEE
by CZEE

Needed new bike for bike path riding. As a senior the shock absorbers make the ride very smooth and enjoyable. Delivers both performance and comfort at an affordable price.

Was this review helpful? (12) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
CZEE
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great way to get a 29er
1/19/2012

Customer review by SeeOhDee

4.0 stars 1/19/2012 by SeeOhDee
by SeeOhDee

Took off a star because the inner tubes were pinched or something and the back tire blew out and bent my rim. I was planning on replacing the rims anyway though. Its a nice looking bike and if you are into big box frames then this is a super way to get in the 29er game. If you are going to ride it a lot be sure to check spoke tension, inner tubes and pretty much everything that was pre-assemebled to make sure it is done right. For the price you know what you are getting here and primarily that is a very decent 29er frame. The rest of the equipment is usable until you can upgrade it or take very good care of it.

Was this review helpful? (12) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
SeeOhDee
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great Bike!
2/23/2012

Customer review by 4CRAZYBOYSMOMMA

5.0 stars 2/23/2012 by 4CRAZYBOYSMOMMA
by 4CRAZYBOYSMOMMA

My husband bought this bike Saturday and he loves it. I wanted a new bike too, so I thought I'd give his a whirl... Lol, it's a bit beefy for me, as I'm 5'3, but I had a good time on it, showing off that I could handle the size. So today, I went and bought the exact same bike for myself. I have to tip it to the side to get on and off, but I like it! It's built really well and rides nicely. Hopefully, after spending that kind of money, these bikes will last a while!

Was this review helpful? (9) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
4CRAZYBOYSMOMMA
Amarillo Tx
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
2/11/2012

Customer review by eagle14

5.0 stars 2/11/2012 by eagle14
by eagle14

Great bike! Very solid construction. Good idea to take all new bikes to be tuned up at your local bike shop. Some of the previous reviews are misleading. They show they need to get the bike tuned. Once that is done you should be fine. This bike should be able to handle anything you through at it.

Was this review helpful? (18) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
eagle14
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Excellent Bike and Price
6/1/2012

Customer review by RSPone

5.0 stars 6/1/2012 by RSPone
by RSPone

After going through 2 Genesis OneX 29er's, One was stolen and the other was pure junk which I took back. After waiting a month I decided to buy another Bike from Wal-mart. I seen this Mongoose Hatchet 29" for 219.00 US bucks, I started to examine the bike and discovered it had a flat tire(rear). I asked the bicycle personel if they could put some air in so I could test my weight out on it, and He pointed me toward the Tire and Brake center where they accommodated me with no questions asked. The front and rear derailuers were right on, but the rear brake needed some adjustment. I will be replacing the rear brakes with some disc brakes. All-In-All....Bike is fantastic and so was the help at the Hinesville, Ga. Wal-mart Store. I would reccommend this bike to anyone that wants to take up bike riding as a hobby.

Was this review helpful? (5) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
RSPone
Hinesville, Ga
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Happy Feelling!!!!
7/2/2012

Customer review by Churchboy40

4.0 stars 7/2/2012 by Churchboy40
by Churchboy40

I stand at 6-5" and weigh 245lbs. I ride this bike about 3-4days out of a week and the only change I had to make was the seat of course. I can't speak for no one else, but this bike is tough as nails and so far I'm satisfield. However, if I could change anything it would be the ability to adjust the height of the handlebars.. but overall the Hatchet is proving itself trustworthy!

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Churchboy40
Alexandria, VA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
New Bike
4/9/2012

Customer review by Beffry

5.0 stars 4/9/2012 by Beffry
by Beffry

Just got this....great looking bike....took it for a test spin....great fit as I am 6'3" and 225...had to switch out seats for a gel padded one....had to adjust rear brake after using it a few times....paid 219 on line....went to pick it up and the cost was 154.....great, great surprise....the 29" size is a godsend....I hope it serves me well on the local rail trail.....

Was this review helpful? (6) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Beffry
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Overall the bicycle is good, rear sprocket failed
6/29/2012

Customer review by Richard91910

2.0 stars 6/29/2012 by Richard91910
by Richard91910

Overall the bicycle is good, rear sprocket failed with in 2 weeks. Cost of replace for rear better constructed sprocket was $29.00. They bike was used for its intended purpose-riding No hard used sprocket still failed

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Richard91910
chula vista ca
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
A lot of bike for the price
8/6/2012

Customer review by brotherLeRoy

5.0 stars 8/6/2012 by brotherLeRoy
by brotherLeRoy

Saw this a few weeks ago for $219. My wife thought it was red ... I thought orange. Looked at it again over the weekend & it was on sale for $154. It was a steal at that price. The seat had a small cut in it & there were a few scratches on the frame but its a mountain bike. 29" wheels are the way to go nowadays. Also disc brakes in the front. Nice suspension. Grip shifters work fine. Rear brake no disc. Hooked up my baby seat to it. The kids love it. Lets roll!

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
brotherLeRoy
Red Oak, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Great deal!!!
7/11/2012

Customer review by TheRLGWizzard

4.0 stars 7/11/2012 by TheRLGWizzard
by TheRLGWizzard

I got my bike about a month ago and it’s a great bike. The book tells ya to run half of the air pressure that the tire needs, that explains why people are bending rims, I am running 50 PSI. I had to change the seat, I am not 20 anymore but that is not a big deal! (lol) It is a nice bike for the money. I would recommend this bike to anyone that is looking for a great bike an and good price.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
TheRLGWizzard
Summerton, SC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
3/7/2012

Customer review by weapons

5.0 stars 3/7/2012 by weapons
by weapons

okay so I just got this bike had to tighten everything but that was exspected it being a walmart bike the one problem I found is the first gear sproket was not tightened so when I first got on and peddled it just spun but it got tight after a few rides up a hill, also the rims weren't straight so I had to straighten those but thats easy if you got the tool. the bike its self is great

Was this review helpful? (5) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
weapons
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
great value and good starter bike
7/17/2012

Customer review by junkman4

4.0 stars 7/17/2012 by junkman4
by junkman4

bought 2 online put together myself one damaged in shipping minor rip in seat and marks in frame and pacific cycle is sending me a new seat otherwise its a nice bike overall

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
junkman4
lebanon me
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Great Buy!
7/28/2012

Customer review by marinaman

5.0 stars 7/28/2012 by marinaman
by marinaman

Well...you know how sometimes you are are down on Walmart. This purchase was excellent. I ordered online on a Tuesday and received this bike by Fedx on Friday, FAST. The bike is great. It's a lot better than I expected for this low price. This bike could easily sell for much more. I'm 6'5" and it fits well. I will note that it doesn't have a bolt tapped water bottle holder area, you will need a strap-on type. I had to attach my tire pump to the front folk, due to the frame thickness. Overall I would buy this again and I may buy more for a rental fleet. I like the comfortable ride and the nice looking style/colors.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
marinaman
North, MS
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Looks nice but poor technology
7/18/2012

Customer review by VJRocky

1.0 stars 7/18/2012 by VJRocky
by VJRocky

Bought this for my Grandson as his first mountain bike, so I did not want to invest big money. I had to send the first one back due to poorly manufactured parts that where tooled imperfect. The second bike (same model) had other less troublesome imperfections like stripped set screws, a slit in the rear of the bike seat etc. I was able to overcome these problems since I am pretty handy myself and kept it anyway, but I was less than satisfied. I had no trouble returning the first bike to my local store. Both bikes were well packaged but poorly made. Be ware!

Was this review helpful? (4) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
VJRocky
Long Island, NY
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Be careful not to bend the rims ....
5/6/2012

Customer review by brotherfabain

2.0 stars 5/6/2012 by brotherfabain
by brotherfabain

I had the bike for only one week, my family and I went onto the local bike trail and the front rim bent on me from just vering slightly off the concrete path, and it's supposed to be a "mountain bike". That was hardly a mountain. I took it back

Was this review helpful? (5) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
brotherfabain
Columbus Ga
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
1-20 of 26 total reviews
1-20 of 26 reviews