Back

Customer Reviews

Average rating: 4.2out of 5 stars
4.2 out of 5 | 157 reviews
5 stars
88
4 stars
43
3 stars
11
2 stars
7
1 stars
8
Sort by: 
1-20 of 151 reviews
1-20 of 151 reviews
Great base to begin building a fantastic bike.
10/24/2014
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
At first I was rather pensive about purchsing this bike. Walmart is not known for selling quility bicycles. However after reading many reviews here and at the forums at bigboxbikes.com I began to realize that this 29er was a diamond in thr rough. I had to replace the seat post and seat with longer components to make up for my inseam as the included post is rather short and the seat very uncomfortable. The suspension shock and forks will eventually be replaced with better components but the basic frame is excellent. Not perfect but for the price, fantastic. The brakes are serving me well at the moment but also will be soon replaced with Avid BB7s. So why did I choose this bike? Mainly because the bottom bracket is 68mm which is recommended for a Bafang BBS-02 Mid-Drive electric motor. The project progresses and it's a great foundation for an excellent ebike. I do recommend you buy this bike and have it delivered home. The walmart assembly drones in the stores did a terrible job on the store display unit. You can do a much better job of assembly. I have pics of the project here: https://www.flickr.com/photos/100892666@N02/
Was this review helpful?
Yes (35)No (10)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Everything I needed for a great price!
6/14/2014
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
We went into Wal-Mart looking for a basic bike just to ride for casual bike rides, not wanting to spend a lot of money and after about three hours of price comparing, reading online reviews, and test driving, I decided on this one. It is just awesome. Sleek, comfortable, very nice disc-brake system, quick release front and back tires, excellent button click up or down gear system. I paid a little more than I was expecting to pay for a bike that day but came away with a bike I will have and love for years to come. I ordered online and had the bike shipped to my house where I easily assembled it in about half an hour. This saved me some money as the price was cheaper online and gave me a mint condition bike that I am very happy with thus far. I am looking forward to many years of use and making some customized improvements to give it a personal touch.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (45)No (15)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Outstanding bike for a Lowprice!!
8/10/2012
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Ive been wanting to get back into bike riding for some time now but didnt have the funds to fork out for a bike at local bike shop ($1,000+) for there LOWEND BIKE. I did about 4 months of research and came up with the cash finally to spend on getting this bike. I will have to say that I am very pleased with this bike right out of the box. But I will be honest and say that this bike will have to have upgrades/replacement parts done to it eventually. I figured that this will give me time to replace them as they wear down, and building up your bike is just as much fun as riding it a lot of times!! Ive done a little over 200 miles with this bike and have yet to have a problem with it. I urge everyone who buys a bike of any kind to properly clean, maintain, and tune it before and after each ride. This will ensure a safe and pleasurable ride each time plus prolong the bike and its components lifetime. If anyone has any questions or would just like to read up on how others have had such a great experience with this bike please feel free to check out bigboxbikes.com and look it up in the 29er section. They also have many other forums for most all bikes sold at department stores. That way you can get a better understanding on what your buying and wont get mislead by a few ppl who had a bad experience. Thanks for reading and I hope you enjoy this product and riding as much as I and many others have!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (113)No (47)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Great bike for beginners!!!
11/25/2012
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Very nice bike for this money, just a little heavy (37lbs). Design is awesome, solid frame!!! Just upgraded with new seat and seat post, new RockShox 6.5x2, Avid brake levers, new CST tires 29x2.25, will be upgraded with new brakes and rotors (AVID BB7) and more... It's much cheaper than new bike in specialized store... That's my opinion only...
Was this review helpful?
Yes (31)No (12)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Great handling bike :)
7/26/2014
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
I have not ridden or owned a bike for over 30 years. I was about 12 the last time I pedaled a bike. I have ridden plenty of super sport motorcycles, which puts my last purchase of a Yamaha around two months ago. I enjoy my Mongoose so much that I have not ridden my M/C for over a week. For a mountain bike it is so smooth on the streets of NYC, plus it's great excersice. The bike gets so many looks, which I feel it will def get stolen soon. My only complaint is that no kickkstand is made for this bike.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (20)No (21)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Great Bike for a First Timer
9/12/2013
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I've owned this bike for about a year now, have put about 500 miles on it and am very satisfied with the product. I think that the strong points of this bike are its upscale components. My local bike shop was impressed. The only weak point that I've encountered is the weight. I wish it were a little lighter but I can deal with that. I bought the bike off the store floor so it was already assembled. It has been to the bike shop once for a sticky shifter that cost me all of $15 for the adjustment. It now shifts very smoothly. So being a retired guy, I have found that the dirt trails are not for me and pavement is really the way to go. My rides average about 20-30 miles 4 times a week. To this point, I have swapped out the tires for something a little slicker, the saddle, for something a little softer and being about 5'10", I installed a longer seat post, as it was pointed out to me it did not extend far enough into the frame for my type of riding. I really enjoy this bike and my rides when I go out. I would recommend it to anyone that is new to the sport. Its a great bike giving you a number of options as to the type of riding you want to do.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (43)No (9)
Report
Was this review helpful?
everything i needed...
10/30/2011
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
...right out of the box, put it together quickly, went for a quick ride, made some adjustments. hit the trail, urban ride, started hitting big jumps for air, cuts & climbs over anything i've thrown at it, wiped out a few times, pick'd it up, dust'd it off and nothing broke or bent. for the money, AWESOME purchase and when i wear stuff out...there's room for UPGRADES, but not anytime soon!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (46)No (8)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Great bike for the money!
4/7/2014
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
This bike has a lot of features for the price. This same bike would cost 500-600 dollars at a bike shop. I am 5-9 and 170pounds and the suspension is perfect for me and can be adjusted. The shifters are nice but took me a little while to get used to. The derailleurs needed to be adjusted -take your time and get it right, you will be happy you did. The seat is more comfortable than other bikes I have ridden. The wheels are quick release so you can swap road tires in seconds. The seat is quick release as well. The disc breaks also had to be adjusted, but once done, work well. I will ride this Bike off road more than on the road but it does both well. I am very happy with this bike.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (22)No (7)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Not for trail use
7/3/2016
Average rating:3out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I bought this bike just over a year ago, I couldn't afford a nicer bike from a bike shop and figured this would be a good bike to get into mountain biking(not a good idea). I know it's more of an xc bike then a trail bike so yes I was pushing it to it's limits but having to swing arm snap it's very disappointing. It didn't even break in a crash but when I was pedaling up hill!! I did do a good amount of up grades costing almost $300 to this bike to make it more rideable on the trails where mountain bikes belong. Now if you just plan on riding on the road or dirt roads maybe even some easy smooth trails you'll be fine. But if you're looking for a bike to ride on trails that have rocks, roots, ruts, save your money and buy something better.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (14)No (5)
Report
Was this review helpful?
almost broke my leg
8/30/2017
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
i bought a mongoose bike i was riding a month ago when the pedal snapped in half sending me flying over the handle bars tire got bent chain guard was destroyed so i say to myself I will contact Walmart and mongoose to get the parts replaced 3 weeks later i have nothing they are too busy passing the buck while I have no bike to ride
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (8)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Best bang for the buck!
10/17/2011
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I've read reviews on several forums about this mountain bike and decided to make my purchase, ordered site to store and assembled the bike myself, easy to do! The bike is a joy to ride and takes on almost anything! I test rode a Giant and Trek and this bike is almost as good for 1/3 of the price! Some upgrades are planned such as the Bottom Bracket and rear shock but they work out of the box! Great value and loads of fun!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (32)No (9)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Sort of a good bike
11/21/2011
Average rating:2out of5stars, based onreviews
by
My last mongoose was a Mongoose DH-team. http://www.walmart.com/ip/26-Men-s-Mongoose-DH-Team-Dual-Suspension-Mountain-Bike/5585806 so it was the same sort of bike but 26inch wheel. and that bike lasted 4 years of abuse and i mean abuse and with well over 3,000 miles on it . in fact it still works but the breaks need repair and front fork no longer has movement. As for the XR-PRO i thought it would be a great bike. a bike that would last me 6 years if i just take it easy and keep it inside when not in use. But i found out i was wrong, and i should of known, at first you will see the rear suspension is not balanced correctly. and does not move freely as it should. Second the front suspension fork starts to squeak after 2 months. Third, after 81 days of owning the bike the crank bearing started to fail. now i did not ride this bike hard as i felt hard to trust it. i used it just to get to and from work so maybe 180 miles on it. so here it is Pros: good bike if you want to change parts and reconfigure the rear suspension rims were well built but cheap front fork had good movement and lots of adjustments can be made paint was clean looking, tho i don't know why they hide there name under the scribbles Cons: cant use thicker tires bad balance designed on rear suspension front fork may fail within one year of owning the bike due to lower quality rubber seal low quality crank bearing higher stiffness rear shock then what is shown in the photo . you will now see there are now 2 different shocks shown in the photos of the bike. now it is because i contacted mongoose about lower quality shock and there answer was to contact walmart and have them change the photos. even tho its two different shocks it does not correct the balance issue with the movement of the rear suspension but the softer one does help the issue sad part is maybe one more day on the drawing board and this may not be the case. with little changes this could of been a great bike. i have returned the bike and am now looking for a better one.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (68)No (29)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Excellent bike for the money
9/1/2016
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
I pretty much just bought this bike by looking at the reviews. When i picked it up, I was really happy to see it looks better and bigger than I expected. I was looking for bikes up to $700 and ended up with this one. Im pretty sure this bike compares with the ones for twice of its price. I've taken it to trail few times and the components of this bike feels very cheap. I checked the individual prices and they are the cheapest one's around. But can't really complain for the price paid. I think the nice frame deserves better components, and it'll compare to high to high end bikes if i update few things. But untill then, im gonna be sharpening my mtb'ing skills and start looking around for deals in forks and derailleurs. And abt the size. Im 5' 11" and rides comfortably with fully extended post.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (1)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Excellent product
2/21/2013
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
This bike is an awesome buy... For the money it is comparable to an entry level bike at ur local bike shop... I ride motocross and cross country races on dirtbikes so I'm hard on my bikes and after several hard rides it has held up... However I will be upgrading tires and rear shock to a fox rp23... But great bike for the money and upgradable if parts begin to break...
Was this review helpful?
Yes (12)No (6)
Report
Was this review helpful?
would not recoment YET
7/26/2012
Average rating:3out of5stars, based onreviews
by
heres the story, bought it from walmart.com using site to store. got it in about 5 days which was great. picked it up from the store today. when everything was said and done, it took almost 45 minutes to put together and tune the brakes and gears. it was very easy. i think i used one wrench, two allen keys and a phillips head screwdriver. im 5'6" and 140 and its a little big for me. i have very short legs which is probably the problem. but its a little tall. now comes the upsetting part. first ride after everything got dialed in, did a little bunny hop over a tree limb,(maybe 4 inches off the ground). i heard a pop, clank, and the rear wheel locked up. i looked back to find that i pulled the head of a spoke out of the rim, and snapped the rear derailleur in half. now i dont totally hate this bike yet. as of now i am not a fan but im going to return it and try my luck again. about the bike: the brakes are great once tightened and tuned. the gears are great once tightened tuned. the shifters will take a little getting used to. both are thumb switches. but it shifts very nicely once set up. which by the way is very easy. putting it together took about a half hour. the front shocks are a great. there are knobs on top of the shocks them selves but i dont think they are real adjusters. the rear shock is basically useless. it does nothing to dampen the bumps, but it could also be due to the fact that i am rather light. the seat is not the most comfortable thing iv sat on but it gets the job done. over all it looks great, and rides great. im going back to walmart to try to exchange it for another one in hopes that it wont break that easily, but if that doesnt work. i think im going to go to a bike shop and get a nice hardtail for $400.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (9)No (12)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Appears to be a great value for a FS 29" MTB
2/13/2013
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
Walmart will not give me enough time to let me really try this out, so here is what I think so far.... Appears to be a really good value for a full suspenion type 29" Mountain Bike - especially if you refuse to spend $1500 to $2k for a bike. I took it to a bike shop to have it put together - the younger mechanic just rolled his eyes, but the older guy put it together for me and gave me some feed-back. Shock is just average, but seat, brakes and gearing all seem to be better quality than he would have expected. May need wider tires for muddier conditions. It rode great the 5 miles or so that I have riden it so far - 1 week's worth. It did come with 2 left peddles, but the people at Mongoose answered the phone in California and had me the new set overnight. So far great service! My bike may be a one-of-a-kind - the metal emblem on the front was installed up-side down. Hope this is helpful - maybe I'll up-date my review at some point, but if I dont - it means that I am satisfied.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (12)No (2)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Awesome MTB for any level!!
3/24/2014
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
This bike is awesome!!! It came in 3 days to my door,,only problem was the front brake pad was hanging up a bit,,loosened the caliper squeezed the brake lever held it there and tightened the caliper bolts,,now its perfect,,i did have to tune up the front and rear derailleurs,,they where ok out of the box but indexing was a bit off in middle gears on cassette...front forks are OK they work good for the price,,I will upgrade to Tower Expert soon,,rear shock is junk,,its just a spring so I will need to upgrade to a DMN air shock with dampening rebound...also looks like all the parts are standard up gradable,,,the frame on this thing is worth over $400 alone,,made by Kent,,awesome welds,,i pretty much bought the bike just for the frame as i will upgrade most of it in time...out of the box its plenty fun and ready to go,,so enjoy yourself on this 29'er..thanks Walmart for making this happen for me at such a reasonable price,,now I can ride with the big dogs!! Tom from Jersey...
Was this review helpful?
Yes (5)No (2)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Well worth the money spent
9/10/2017
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
The XR-PRO represents an attractive package for everyone interested in mountainbiking. Perfect for starters and even perfect for more experienced bikers as it isi s possible to upgrade all parts on this bike. If you don't like the fork, get a new one from Fox for $ 1,200 or less. If you don't like the plastic pedals get the cool aluminum ones for $ 200 a pair. From my point of view all this is overkill and absolutely unnecessary for the vast majority of bikers that lack the skills and the fitness to fully take advantage of the benefits of an overly expensive bike. I love the bike well knowing that my skill set of mountainbiking is definitely not worth spending $ 3,000 or more for a more fancy bike I will never push to its limits.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (1)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Great Bike !!!
2/8/2014
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
I am 72 years old (retired engineer) and was looking to modify a bike into a cruiser / hybrid with all the bells and whistles. I also did not want to take a second mortgage on my house in the process. I did an extreme amount of research and was really impressed with the 29” Mongoose XR-PRO MTB from Walmart. You will not find a MTB with all the features that this bike has for $379.00. The only major upgrade I made was a wider and softer seat which I knew would do automatically. I added the following creature comforts. Mileage Computer Rear Beam Cargo Rack Rear Kick Stand Water Bottle And Holder Adjustable Stem Stem Riser I typically ride 10 miles a day and really enjoy this bike. I know this is not the typical use for this bike but it matches my requirements to a “T”. If your requirements are similar to mine you will love this bike. I ordered this bike on line and the delivery was 4 days. It was easy for me to assemble and only required minor adjustments. If you are not mechanically inclined at all, you should have it assembled by your local bike shop. I hope this review was helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (13)No (1)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Great bike for the price. Wal-Mart high price bike
10/12/2011
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I decided to start at hundred fifty dollar range for a trail bike, because I haven't ridden in a while and did not want to over spend on a bike. After reading reviews posted here convince me to look at this bike even though price was more I wanted to spend. Locating Wal-mart store that had one. (supposedly assembled) in my area. The negative: NO KICKSTAND! I know its a mountain bike and should be light as possible, but I hate to trash my bike by laying it down or against brick wall. As far as assembly yes it assembled but not tuned, (derailleur and disk pads) not adjusted. I recommend taking it to your Pro bike shop for a good tune and some upgrades, before some serious trail rides. New grips, lights and speedometer. Nice ride on the trail. 29" wheels and Full suspension soaks up the bumps well, feels fast also. Seat works OK for now. Pedals are aluminum, not plastic. Disk brakes great control stopping power. Great frame, five year warranty. Good starter bike to build from. Four hundred for the frame is bargain and the rest is free. Columbus took a chance! Look what happen. I did 10/12/2011
Was this review helpful?
Yes (66)No (19)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Electrode, Comp-184642867, DC-prod-dal3, ENV-prod-a, PROF-PROD, VER-8.12.5, SHA-f8bb53b0cf6e9da799126d89d3bcede34110bf32, CID-