Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 131 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

131 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

131 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

88%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
75
4 stars
36
3 stars
9
2 stars
6
1 stars
5
1-20 of 125 total reviews
88%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 125 total reviews
1-20 of 125 reviews
Everything I needed for a great price!
6/14/2014

Customer review by devinski33

5.0 stars 6/14/2014 by devinski33
by devinski33
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

We went into Wal-Mart looking for a basic bike just to ride for casual bike rides, not wanting to spend a lot of money and after about three hours of price comparing, reading online reviews, and test driving, I decided on this one. It is just awesome. Sleek, comfortable, very nice disc-brake system, quick release front and back tires, excellent button click up or down gear system. I paid a little more than I was expecting to pay for a bike that day but came away with a bike I will have and love for years to come. I ordered online and had the bike shipped to my house where I easily assembled it in about half an hour. This saved me some money as the price was cheaper online and gave me a mint condition bike that I am very happy with thus far. I am looking forward to many years of use and making some customized improvements to give it a personal touch.

Was this review helpful? (22) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
devinski33
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great base to begin building a fantastic bike.
10/24/2014

Customer review by 0utriderZero

5.0 stars 10/24/2014 by 0utriderZero
by 0utriderZero

At first I was rather pensive about purchsing this bike. Walmart is not known for selling quility bicycles. However after reading many reviews here and at the forums at bigboxbikes.com I began to realize that this 29er was a diamond in thr rough. I had to replace the seat post and seat with longer components to make up for my inseam as the included post is rather short and the seat very uncomfortable. The suspension shock and forks will eventually be replaced with better components but the basic frame is excellent. Not perfect but for the price, fantastic. The brakes are serving me well at the moment but also will be soon replaced with Avid BB7s. So why did I choose this bike? Mainly because the bottom bracket is 68mm which is recommended for a Bafang BBS-02 Mid-Drive electric motor. The project progresses and it's a great foundation for an excellent ebike. I do recommend you buy this bike and have it delivered home. The walmart assembly drones in the stores did a terrible job on the store display unit. You can do a much better job of assembly. I have pics of the project here: https://www.flickr.com/photos/100892666@N02/

Was this review helpful? (16) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
0utriderZero
San Antonio, Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Outstanding bike for a Lowprice!!
8/10/2012

Customer review by XCTrailRider

5.0 stars 8/10/2012 by XCTrailRider
by XCTrailRider

Ive been wanting to get back into bike riding for some time now but didnt have the funds to fork out for a bike at local bike shop ($1,000+) for there LOWEND BIKE. I did about 4 months of research and came up with the cash finally to spend on getting this bike. I will have to say that I am very pleased with this bike right out of the box. But I will be honest and say that this bike will have to have upgrades/replacement parts done to it eventually. I figured that this will give me time to replace them as they wear down, and building up your bike is just as much fun as riding it a lot of times!! Ive done a little over 200 miles with this bike and have yet to have a problem with it. I urge everyone who buys a bike of any kind to properly clean, maintain, and tune it before and after each ride. This will ensure a safe and pleasurable ride each time plus prolong the bike and its components lifetime. If anyone has any questions or would just like to read up on how others have had such a great experience with this bike please feel free to check out bigboxbikes.com and look it up in the 29er section. They also have many other forums for most all bikes sold at department stores. That way you can get a better understanding on what your buying and wont get mislead by a few ppl who had a bad experience. Thanks for reading and I hope you enjoy this product and riding as much as I and many others have!

Was this review helpful? (101) (43)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
XCTrailRider
Cherryville, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great bike for beginners!!!
11/25/2012

Customer review by ViCt0R

4.0 stars 11/25/2012 by ViCt0R
by ViCt0R

Very nice bike for this money, just a little heavy (37lbs). Design is awesome, solid frame!!! Just upgraded with new seat and seat post, new RockShox 6.5x2, Avid brake levers, new CST tires 29x2.25, will be upgraded with new brakes and rotors (AVID BB7) and more... It's much cheaper than new bike in specialized store... That's my opinion only...

Was this review helpful? (21) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ViCt0R
Philadelphia, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Great handling bike :)
7/26/2014

Customer review by TWOWHEELJUNKIE

5.0 stars 7/26/2014 by TWOWHEELJUNKIE
by TWOWHEELJUNKIE
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I have not ridden or owned a bike for over 30 years. I was about 12 the last time I pedaled a bike. I have ridden plenty of super sport motorcycles, which puts my last purchase of a Yamaha around two months ago. I enjoy my Mongoose so much that I have not ridden my M/C for over a week. For a mountain bike it is so smooth on the streets of NYC, plus it's great excersice. The bike gets so many looks, which I feel it will def get stolen soon. My only complaint is that no kickkstand is made for this bike.

Was this review helpful? (9) (18)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
TWOWHEELJUNKIE
NYC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Not for trail use
7/3/2016

Customer review by Jason

3.0 stars 7/3/2016 by Jason
by Jason

I bought this bike just over a year ago, I couldn't afford a nicer bike from a bike shop and figured this would be a good bike to get into mountain biking(not a good idea). I know it's more of an xc bike then a trail bike so yes I was pushing it to it's limits but having to swing arm snap it's very disappointing. It didn't even break in a crash but when I was pedaling up hill!! I did do a good amount of up grades costing almost $300 to this bike to make it more rideable on the trails where mountain bikes belong. Now if you just plan on riding on the road or dirt roads maybe even some easy smooth trails you'll be fine. But if you're looking for a bike to ride on trails that have rocks, roots, ruts, save your money and buy something better.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Jason
Would recommend to a friend? No
Great Bike for a First Timer
9/12/2013

Customer review by Snapshot46

4.0 stars 9/12/2013 by Snapshot46
by Snapshot46

I've owned this bike for about a year now, have put about 500 miles on it and am very satisfied with the product. I think that the strong points of this bike are its upscale components. My local bike shop was impressed. The only weak point that I've encountered is the weight. I wish it were a little lighter but I can deal with that. I bought the bike off the store floor so it was already assembled. It has been to the bike shop once for a sticky shifter that cost me all of $15 for the adjustment. It now shifts very smoothly. So being a retired guy, I have found that the dirt trails are not for me and pavement is really the way to go. My rides average about 20-30 miles 4 times a week. To this point, I have swapped out the tires for something a little slicker, the saddle, for something a little softer and being about 5'10", I installed a longer seat post, as it was pointed out to me it did not extend far enough into the frame for my type of riding. I really enjoy this bike and my rides when I go out. I would recommend it to anyone that is new to the sport. Its a great bike giving you a number of options as to the type of riding you want to do.

Was this review helpful? (40) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Snapshot46
SE Michigan
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
everything i needed...
10/30/2011

Customer review by badrudy

5.0 stars 10/30/2011 by badrudy
by badrudy

...right out of the box, put it together quickly, went for a quick ride, made some adjustments. hit the trail, urban ride, started hitting big jumps for air, cuts & climbs over anything i've thrown at it, wiped out a few times, pick'd it up, dust'd it off and nothing broke or bent. for the money, AWESOME purchase and when i wear stuff out...there's room for UPGRADES, but not anytime soon!

Was this review helpful? (42) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
badrudy
San Antonio, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Great bike for the money!
4/7/2014

Customer review by MBbbbbbbb

5.0 stars 4/7/2014 by MBbbbbbbb
by MBbbbbbbb
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This bike has a lot of features for the price. This same bike would cost 500-600 dollars at a bike shop. I am 5-9 and 170pounds and the suspension is perfect for me and can be adjusted. The shifters are nice but took me a little while to get used to. The derailleurs needed to be adjusted -take your time and get it right, you will be happy you did. The seat is more comfortable than other bikes I have ridden. The wheels are quick release so you can swap road tires in seconds. The seat is quick release as well. The disc breaks also had to be adjusted, but once done, work well. I will ride this Bike off road more than on the road but it does both well. I am very happy with this bike.

Was this review helpful? (18) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MBbbbbbbb
Xenia Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Best bang for the buck!
10/17/2011

Customer review by poikaaa

5.0 stars 10/17/2011 by poikaaa
by poikaaa

I've read reviews on several forums about this mountain bike and decided to make my purchase, ordered site to store and assembled the bike myself, easy to do! The bike is a joy to ride and takes on almost anything! I test rode a Giant and Trek and this bike is almost as good for 1/3 of the price! Some upgrades are planned such as the Bottom Bracket and rear shock but they work out of the box! Great value and loads of fun!

Was this review helpful? (31) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
poikaaa
Michigan's upper peninsula
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Sort of a good bike
11/21/2011

Customer review by superskreech

2.0 stars 11/21/2011 by superskreech
by superskreech

My last mongoose was a Mongoose DH-team. http://www.walmart.com/ip/26-Men-s-Mongoose-DH-Team-Dual-Suspension-Mountain-Bike/5585806 so it was the same sort of bike but 26inch wheel. and that bike lasted 4 years of abuse and i mean abuse and with well over 3,000 miles on it . in fact it still works but the breaks need repair and front fork no longer has movement. As for the XR-PRO i thought it would be a great bike. a bike that would last me 6 years if i just take it easy and keep it inside when not in use. But i found out i was wrong, and i should of known, at first you will see the rear suspension is not balanced correctly. and does not move freely as it should. Second the front suspension fork starts to squeak after 2 months. Third, after 81 days of owning the bike the crank bearing started to fail. now i did not ride this bike hard as i felt hard to trust it. i used it just to get to and from work so maybe 180 miles on it. so here it is Pros: good bike if you want to change parts and reconfigure the rear suspension rims were well built but cheap front fork had good movement and lots of adjustments can be made paint was clean looking, tho i don't know why they hide there name under the scribbles Cons: cant use thicker tires bad balance designed on rear suspension front fork may fail within one year of owning the bike due to lower quality rubber seal low quality crank bearing higher stiffness rear shock then what is shown in the photo . you will now see there are now 2 different shocks shown in the photos of the bike. now it is because i contacted mongoose about lower quality shock and there answer was to contact walmart and have them change the photos. even tho its two different shocks it does not correct the balance issue with the movement of the rear suspension but the softer one does help the issue sad part is maybe one more day on the drawing board and this may not be the case. with little changes this could of been a great bike. i have returned the bike and am now looking for a better one.

Was this review helpful? (66) (27)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
superskreech
Portland, Or
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Excellent product
2/21/2013

Customer review by Chevelle109

5.0 stars 2/21/2013 by Chevelle109
by Chevelle109
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This bike is an awesome buy... For the money it is comparable to an entry level bike at ur local bike shop... I ride motocross and cross country races on dirtbikes so I'm hard on my bikes and after several hard rides it has held up... However I will be upgrading tires and rear shock to a fox rp23... But great bike for the money and upgradable if parts begin to break...

Was this review helpful? (12) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Chevelle109
Hot springs, ar
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
would not recoment YET
7/26/2012

Customer review by eng18ine

3.0 stars 7/26/2012 by eng18ine
by eng18ine

heres the story, bought it from walmart.com using site to store. got it in about 5 days which was great. picked it up from the store today. when everything was said and done, it took almost 45 minutes to put together and tune the brakes and gears. it was very easy. i think i used one wrench, two allen keys and a phillips head screwdriver. im 5'6" and 140 and its a little big for me. i have very short legs which is probably the problem. but its a little tall. now comes the upsetting part. first ride after everything got dialed in, did a little bunny hop over a tree limb,(maybe 4 inches off the ground). i heard a pop, clank, and the rear wheel locked up. i looked back to find that i pulled the head of a spoke out of the rim, and snapped the rear derailleur in half. now i dont totally hate this bike yet. as of now i am not a fan but im going to return it and try my luck again. about the bike: the brakes are great once tightened and tuned. the gears are great once tightened tuned. the shifters will take a little getting used to. both are thumb switches. but it shifts very nicely once set up. which by the way is very easy. putting it together took about a half hour. the front shocks are a great. there are knobs on top of the shocks them selves but i dont think they are real adjusters. the rear shock is basically useless. it does nothing to dampen the bumps, but it could also be due to the fact that i am rather light. the seat is not the most comfortable thing iv sat on but it gets the job done. over all it looks great, and rides great. im going back to walmart to try to exchange it for another one in hopes that it wont break that easily, but if that doesnt work. i think im going to go to a bike shop and get a nice hardtail for $400.

Was this review helpful? (9) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
eng18ine
new york
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Appears to be a great value for a FS 29" MTB
2/13/2013

Customer review by Knarf2

4.0 stars 2/13/2013 by Knarf2
by Knarf2
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Walmart will not give me enough time to let me really try this out, so here is what I think so far.... Appears to be a really good value for a full suspenion type 29" Mountain Bike - especially if you refuse to spend $1500 to $2k for a bike. I took it to a bike shop to have it put together - the younger mechanic just rolled his eyes, but the older guy put it together for me and gave me some feed-back. Shock is just average, but seat, brakes and gearing all seem to be better quality than he would have expected. May need wider tires for muddier conditions. It rode great the 5 miles or so that I have riden it so far - 1 week's worth. It did come with 2 left peddles, but the people at Mongoose answered the phone in California and had me the new set overnight. So far great service! My bike may be a one-of-a-kind - the metal emblem on the front was installed up-side down. Hope this is helpful - maybe I'll up-date my review at some point, but if I dont - it means that I am satisfied.

Was this review helpful? (10) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Knarf2
Matthews, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Awesome MTB for any level!!
3/24/2014

Customer review by jerseyboy577

5.0 stars 3/24/2014 by jerseyboy577
by jerseyboy577

This bike is awesome!!! It came in 3 days to my door,,only problem was the front brake pad was hanging up a bit,,loosened the caliper squeezed the brake lever held it there and tightened the caliper bolts,,now its perfect,,i did have to tune up the front and rear derailleurs,,they where ok out of the box but indexing was a bit off in middle gears on cassette...front forks are OK they work good for the price,,I will upgrade to Tower Expert soon,,rear shock is junk,,its just a spring so I will need to upgrade to a DMN air shock with dampening rebound...also looks like all the parts are standard up gradable,,,the frame on this thing is worth over $400 alone,,made by Kent,,awesome welds,,i pretty much bought the bike just for the frame as i will upgrade most of it in time...out of the box its plenty fun and ready to go,,so enjoy yourself on this 29'er..thanks Walmart for making this happen for me at such a reasonable price,,now I can ride with the big dogs!! Tom from Jersey...

Was this review helpful? (4) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
jerseyboy577
nj
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Good ride
1/14/2012

Customer review by wolfpaw

5.0 stars 1/14/2012 by wolfpaw
by wolfpaw

I bought this bike site to store in august 2011 and had it assembled and on the road in about 2 hours. The gears worked good out of the box and the front brake needed minor adjustment. This bike rides and handles great. The full suspension and big wheels smooth out the roughest broken and pot holed pavement. I take this bike down some of the poorest maintained streets in town that I avoid when riding my rigid frame road bike. I Took this bike to a nearby state park and rode the mountain bike trails. It handled rocks, small tree trunks and lots of mud since there had been heavy rain the day before. I rode into the ravines and zigzagged between trees in the woods. The next day I took the bike for a ride on the unpaved towpath trail along the river. I found out that the disc brakes work good in heavy rain when I got caught in a sudden summer storm miles from home. ...I had been looking for a dual suspension 29er with disc brakes for some time. I couldn't touch one with this equipment at any bike shop for under $2000.00. This one is a great value and has handled everything I have thrown at it.

Was this review helpful? (18) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
wolfpaw
Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Great bike for the price. Wal-Mart high price bike
10/12/2011

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 10/12/2011 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

I decided to start at hundred fifty dollar range for a trail bike, because I haven't ridden in a while and did not want to over spend on a bike. After reading reviews posted here convince me to look at this bike even though price was more I wanted to spend. Locating Wal-mart store that had one. (supposedly assembled) in my area. The negative: NO KICKSTAND! I know its a mountain bike and should be light as possible, but I hate to trash my bike by laying it down or against brick wall. As far as assembly yes it assembled but not tuned, (derailleur and disk pads) not adjusted. I recommend taking it to your Pro bike shop for a good tune and some upgrades, before some serious trail rides. New grips, lights and speedometer. Nice ride on the trail. 29" wheels and Full suspension soaks up the bumps well, feels fast also. Seat works OK for now. Pedals are aluminum, not plastic. Disk brakes great control stopping power. Great frame, five year warranty. Good starter bike to build from. Four hundred for the frame is bargain and the rest is free. Columbus took a chance! Look what happen. I did 10/12/2011

Was this review helpful? (61) (16)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
An anonymous customer
Naperville, IL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Beast of a bike...
7/26/2016

Customer review by rollBack

5.0 stars 7/26/2016 by rollBack
by rollBack
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

The bike is great especially for the price.. $323 plust the $51 4 year warranty and taxes it came up to $400... Strong looking and sturdy my only grip is that walmart put it together poorly.. The brakes were loose the gears were slipping.. The seat is uncomfortable but I'll upgrade! I couldn't even get the bike out of the store and received a few compliments! I'm glad I purchased it.. My last mongoose was a "BlackComb" i still have it.. The xr made it look like a big wheel.. Upgrade!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
rollBack
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Awesome project bike!
4/20/2016

Customer review by Dime

4.0 stars 4/20/2016 by Dime
by Dime

This is a fantastic deal! You won't find this for less than $400 anywhere else. Now for the specifics... At 6'4" and 215 lbs, I'm not what you'd call "normal" sized. Out of the box, the seat couldn't be adjusted so as to be high enough for my size. Had a few instances of gears slipping, but that was under intense strain so YMMV. The beauty of this bike, though, is the frame. VERY well constructed! Even the stock "spring" rear suspension holds up well but eventually it'll be replaced with an actual shock absorber. Same with the front forks. Literally EVERYTHING on this is replaceable and upgradeable. Out of the box? Perfect frame, decent/good everything else. Make no mistake, this is a project bike but it rides excellent already. It'll keep up with you as you slowly upgrade components and customize it to your liking. The finish is beautiful, too, doesn't look as cheap or flashy as some other offerings. All in all, love my new Black Beauty!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Dime
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great bike for the price!
9/20/2014

Customer review by Maddogrising

5.0 stars 9/20/2014 by Maddogrising
by Maddogrising
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Bought several bikes in the last two months and this one definatly met the expectations. Others were diamondbacks which were much more expensive. Little trouble with front disc brake not adjusting properly but after riding a bit after moving it all the way out it seems to have worn down just enough to not drag anymore. You can tell a slight difference but not as much as the savings. We are buying two more for grown kiddos but they have decided to go a different way. It will be interesting to compare them all at that point. Comfortable ride and nothing broke on average trails. Shifts fairly easy and don't really see much difference from the more expensive diamondbacks. Bottom line if you want to have a bike that you can actually use on a trail but don't want to invest too much or are just starting out, this is a good choice. Smart to spend on the upper end of this catagory rather than sacrifice brakes, shifters or duel suspension. Not sure it's worth the extra $500 to $1000 for next rung up especially if just starting out.

Was this review helpful? (4) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Maddogrising
San Leon tx
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1-20 of 125 total reviews
1-20 of 125 reviews