Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 119 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

119 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

119 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

89%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
70
4 stars
34
3 stars
5
2 stars
5
1 stars
5
1-20 of 113 total reviews
89%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 113 total reviews
1-20 of 113 reviews
Full suspension 29er w/ good componentry and value
8/29/2011

Customer review by twomoonsdesign

5.0 stars 8/29/2011 by twomoonsdesign
by twomoonsdesign

Ive done just under 100 miles on this as well as the Deception 29er, and then I returned the latter, keeping the XR-PRO 29er knowing the extra $160 was well spent. I liked the Deception, and think its a great value, and frankly, other than the horrible (but good looking) seat as well as the twist shifters, I would have used it until things needed replacing. The XR-PRO raised the bar substantially however, in almost everyway. First, its a great looking bike, with no tubular sections (other than the seat post) and the frame mirrors current upper end bike design. The aluminum frame is heat treated, and the bike weighs an acceptable 38.4 pounds. The shifters are SRAM X-4 which are excellent. The fork has 113mm of travel and is a Suntour XCT V3, the crankcase is also Suntour XCT V2, as well as the headset. The stem is a beefy ZOOM 90mm affair slightly angled at 10 degrees. The bars are a very nice and wide 680mm, the brakes typical PROMAX both being 160mm with what I think are the same calipers as Big D but different handles (they are labeled Carbon XL with a fake carbon inset...grrr). The sadle is WTB SpeedV and may not need replacing, which is unusual, as its acceptable if not really comfortable. The rear suspension is just a spring, but you can get a shock in the aftermarket for $40 and up. The tires are Innova 29 x 1.95 and while the front will take larger, there is not a whole lot of room outback. Maybe a quarter inch to each side; maybe more. The wheels are 32H flat profile affairs (in contrast to the 29er Genesis's V profile rims) on Quandry hubs with QRs by the same company. The pedals are on many WalMart bikes (common set). It would be nice to have a Rockshox Recon and Juicy brakes, but those equal the price of the total bike! The componennt are just good enough to get by with, and the shifters better than most. I may put s Dart 3 and a SID rear shock I have and see how she does, but out of the box she is very liveable for XC, trails and asphalt. Ive put her over some roots and large holes that used a over 100mm of the front fork and it did better than i expected. My hardtails cant do what this one does without getting out of shape. Actually, at the price, this is a blast to ride and while I have many other bikes to ride, I generally take this one now. It has handled everything Ive thrown at it so far, but I expect the tires and wheels are the weakest points and so I will look to upgrade those soon. I want to point out that the frame is a 17 inch, and so you will likely use much of the seatpost if tall. I am 6 ft 3 and 240 pounds and Im near the end of the 420 length, with enough in the tube for safety. Shorter riders should do fine on this bike as well. If serious about MB, consider a better fork when this one wears out and a rear shock, and do the same with the wheels and tires if not sooner on the latter. Ill update when I put some larger rubber on the back. The design looks fantastic. The graphics are understated and ironically the mongoose moniker is "scribbled" out as part of the design. Please note that the final production bike reaching US shores if slightly different in the rear suspension than that pictured on this website. The fulcrums are now different with cutouts and the fake reservoir is now, thankfully, gone. Dont worry, as its all improvements in my opinion. I love this bike. Its a great ride. I can turn off the asphalt and not worry about whats in my path as with a hardtail. Makes for faster and longer rides. I try to do 6-12 miles everyday. Its a 29er and its FS, and thats special, especially given the low price. If you are a big person, the wide bars will also feel terrific. Ill be replacing the wheels, tires, then the rear spring (with a rock shox shock), and eventually the front fork (DART, TORA or RECON). True, I already have these parts in my garage, but ebay has good offerings from time to time also. Better grips might be in order also. Ill see how the frame holds up, but it actually looks outstanding, and thoughts of a racier paint job already fill my head..lol. Truthfully, its very fun now (stock), and Id recommend it very highly! Its just that the price allows you some room to play with. Very happy with Big D (Deception); just love the XR-PRO even more. I ride it all the time now!

Was this review helpful? (299) (30)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
twomoonsdesign
Central Valley in California, USA....vineyards!
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
XR-PRO 29er. It won't cost you an arm and a leg.
9/28/2011

Customer review by Cewakiyelo

5.0 stars 9/28/2011 by Cewakiyelo
by Cewakiyelo

Conclusion: This bike has been a blast to ride stock. It has a solid frame, which is what I bought this bike for. Once things are set up properly they work as they should. Shifting is adequate for urban and most cross country riding. Most of the components are quality though a bit out dated. Cranks are solid and should stand up to some abuse. Taller riders will need to replace seat tube. Though this frame is only a medium it rides bigger while having turning characteristics of a 26” wheeled bike. The seat was the weakest of the components lasting less than a ride. The frame shock is the second weakest component but depending on the rider and the riding done might be acceptable for them. I bought this bike for the frame and I would say that it is well worth the 379.00 given that your not going to find any other 29er full suspension frame for less than 1000.00. Furthermore you get all the components for that 379.00 so you can actually ride while you gathering the components you ultimately want on your ride. I fully expect this frame to be able to withstand riding up to the all mountain level and possibly downhill depending on the upgrades to suspension and stem. While the crankset is strong and capable I look forward to upgrading them with a higher end set that has ramps in the chainrings to assist in more responsive shifting as well as shifting under loads which this stock set does not do. There is quite a bit of pedal bob due to the cheap spring frame shock but was not enough to deter me from riding every chance I get. With the spring shock fully preloaded the bob was bearable and for lighter riders will be even less a problem. Weight was acceptable 35lbs which will be shaved down closer to 30 once upgrades begin to find there way onto the frame. If you are looking to break into the 29er scene but don't want to be broke getting there I would highly recommend this bike. And though Walmart is not a bike shop they do however, give you 90 days to return it, if it isn't right for you. What bike shop is going to let you ride for 3 months and then return it? If your looking for the lightest frame with the best components, capable of extreme downhill and freeride this is not the bike for you. But if your someone that wants to ride a full suspension 29er, without taking out a second mortgage, that is fun and will make you want to ride it, and seeks a frame that one can grow into with upgraded components, capable of most types of riding from urban to mild downhill, than this bike just might be the ticket. FULL REVIEW broken down by component can be seen at: http://bigboxbikes.com/viewtopic.php=2&t=499&sid=1c139488b367d0322ad2356b9f959998&start=80 or http://forums.mtbr.com/29er-bikes/29ers-officially-mainstream-mongoose-full-suspension-29er-now-walmart-736227.html#post8488306 Note" If your bike isn't set up properly it may not shift correctly or stop as it should. This is not really the responsibility of Walmart. The bikes come direct from factory 90% preassembled. The store just tightens the handlebars down and puts the seat and pedals on. Things can be bent like the derailleur hangers or brake discs. Once things are straightened and adjusted properly the components will usually work as intended. If you have operational problems take it to a bike shop where an experienced repair person can set it up correctly and have them show you what they did so you can do it also.

Was this review helpful? (97) (12)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Cewakiyelo
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
everything i needed...
10/30/2011

Customer review by badrudy

5.0 stars 10/30/2011 by badrudy
by badrudy

...right out of the box, put it together quickly, went for a quick ride, made some adjustments. hit the trail, urban ride, started hitting big jumps for air, cuts & climbs over anything i've thrown at it, wiped out a few times, pick'd it up, dust'd it off and nothing broke or bent. for the money, AWESOME purchase and when i wear stuff out...there's room for UPGRADES, but not anytime soon!

Was this review helpful? (38) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
badrudy
San Antonio, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Great bike for the price. Wal-Mart high price bike
10/12/2011

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 10/12/2011 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

I decided to start at hundred fifty dollar range for a trail bike, because I haven't ridden in a while and did not want to over spend on a bike. After reading reviews posted here convince me to look at this bike even though price was more I wanted to spend. Locating Wal-mart store that had one. (supposedly assembled) in my area. The negative: NO KICKSTAND! I know its a mountain bike and should be light as possible, but I hate to trash my bike by laying it down or against brick wall. As far as assembly yes it assembled but not tuned, (derailleur and disk pads) not adjusted. I recommend taking it to your Pro bike shop for a good tune and some upgrades, before some serious trail rides. New grips, lights and speedometer. Nice ride on the trail. 29" wheels and Full suspension soaks up the bumps well, feels fast also. Seat works OK for now. Pedals are aluminum, not plastic. Disk brakes great control stopping power. Great frame, five year warranty. Good starter bike to build from. Four hundred for the frame is bargain and the rest is free. Columbus took a chance! Look what happen. I did 10/12/2011

Was this review helpful? (58) (15)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
Naperville, IL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Outstanding bike for a Lowprice!!
8/10/2012

Customer review by XCTrailRider

5.0 stars 8/10/2012 by XCTrailRider
by XCTrailRider

Ive been wanting to get back into bike riding for some time now but didnt have the funds to fork out for a bike at local bike shop ($1,000+) for there LOWEND BIKE. I did about 4 months of research and came up with the cash finally to spend on getting this bike. I will have to say that I am very pleased with this bike right out of the box. But I will be honest and say that this bike will have to have upgrades/replacement parts done to it eventually. I figured that this will give me time to replace them as they wear down, and building up your bike is just as much fun as riding it a lot of times!! Ive done a little over 200 miles with this bike and have yet to have a problem with it. I urge everyone who buys a bike of any kind to properly clean, maintain, and tune it before and after each ride. This will ensure a safe and pleasurable ride each time plus prolong the bike and its components lifetime. If anyone has any questions or would just like to read up on how others have had such a great experience with this bike please feel free to check out bigboxbikes.com and look it up in the 29er section. They also have many other forums for most all bikes sold at department stores. That way you can get a better understanding on what your buying and wont get mislead by a few ppl who had a bad experience. Thanks for reading and I hope you enjoy this product and riding as much as I and many others have!

Was this review helpful? (89) (36)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
XCTrailRider
Cherryville, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great Bike for a First Timer
9/12/2013

Customer review by Snapshot46

4.0 stars 9/12/2013 by Snapshot46
by Snapshot46

I've owned this bike for about a year now, have put about 500 miles on it and am very satisfied with the product. I think that the strong points of this bike are its upscale components. My local bike shop was impressed. The only weak point that I've encountered is the weight. I wish it were a little lighter but I can deal with that. I bought the bike off the store floor so it was already assembled. It has been to the bike shop once for a sticky shifter that cost me all of $15 for the adjustment. It now shifts very smoothly. So being a retired guy, I have found that the dirt trails are not for me and pavement is really the way to go. My rides average about 20-30 miles 4 times a week. To this point, I have swapped out the tires for something a little slicker, the saddle, for something a little softer and being about 5'10", I installed a longer seat post, as it was pointed out to me it did not extend far enough into the frame for my type of riding. I really enjoy this bike and my rides when I go out. I would recommend it to anyone that is new to the sport. Its a great bike giving you a number of options as to the type of riding you want to do.

Was this review helpful? (33) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Snapshot46
SE Michigan
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Sort of a good bike
11/21/2011

Customer review by superskreech

2.0 stars 11/21/2011 by superskreech
by superskreech

My last mongoose was a Mongoose DH-team. http://www.walmart.com/ip/26-Men-s-Mongoose-DH-Team-Dual-Suspension-Mountain-Bike/5585806 so it was the same sort of bike but 26inch wheel. and that bike lasted 4 years of abuse and i mean abuse and with well over 3,000 miles on it . in fact it still works but the breaks need repair and front fork no longer has movement. As for the XR-PRO i thought it would be a great bike. a bike that would last me 6 years if i just take it easy and keep it inside when not in use. But i found out i was wrong, and i should of known, at first you will see the rear suspension is not balanced correctly. and does not move freely as it should. Second the front suspension fork starts to squeak after 2 months. Third, after 81 days of owning the bike the crank bearing started to fail. now i did not ride this bike hard as i felt hard to trust it. i used it just to get to and from work so maybe 180 miles on it. so here it is Pros: good bike if you want to change parts and reconfigure the rear suspension rims were well built but cheap front fork had good movement and lots of adjustments can be made paint was clean looking, tho i don't know why they hide there name under the scribbles Cons: cant use thicker tires bad balance designed on rear suspension front fork may fail within one year of owning the bike due to lower quality rubber seal low quality crank bearing higher stiffness rear shock then what is shown in the photo . you will now see there are now 2 different shocks shown in the photos of the bike. now it is because i contacted mongoose about lower quality shock and there answer was to contact walmart and have them change the photos. even tho its two different shocks it does not correct the balance issue with the movement of the rear suspension but the softer one does help the issue sad part is maybe one more day on the drawing board and this may not be the case. with little changes this could of been a great bike. i have returned the bike and am now looking for a better one.

Was this review helpful? (64) (21)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
superskreech
Portland, Or
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Best bang for the buck!
10/17/2011

Customer review by poikaaa

5.0 stars 10/17/2011 by poikaaa
by poikaaa

I've read reviews on several forums about this mountain bike and decided to make my purchase, ordered site to store and assembled the bike myself, easy to do! The bike is a joy to ride and takes on almost anything! I test rode a Giant and Trek and this bike is almost as good for 1/3 of the price! Some upgrades are planned such as the Bottom Bracket and rear shock but they work out of the box! Great value and loads of fun!

Was this review helpful? (30) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
poikaaa
Michigan's upper peninsula
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Nice 29er 24 speed
9/8/2011

Customer review by 949GearHead

5.0 stars 9/8/2011 by 949GearHead
by 949GearHead

4 for 'meets expectations' because it did not come with a kickstand. I have contacted customer service and I believe they are contacting the manufacturer to send one, since I did get an email regarding a site to store shipment the day after I received a response from customer service. Over all this bike has everything I was looking for -dual suspension, 24 speed, trigger shifting and dual disc brakes. rides great, well made, looks good too! Also has quick release wheels.

Was this review helpful? (34) (12)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
949GearHead
Roanoke, VA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
This is a very well built bike.
10/1/2011

Customer review by BillytheSquid

5.0 stars 10/1/2011 by BillytheSquid
by BillytheSquid

I'm 65 and have developed some serious plantar fasciitis. This bike is intended for exercise more than anything. I'm not a bike person but the quality of the frame and components is immediately apparent. It was no sweat to assemble. I only do 5 milers right now and don't use hardly any of the gearing available to me but that's OK since it's there if needed. I'm 6' 2" and 190# but this bike serves me well. I'll look for a longer seat post if and when I get to the big city (no bike shop in Truth or Consequences, NM) I wish I were a better bike mechanic as the derailleurs could shift more smoothly but that is simply a tune up issue and not a manufacturing issue. All in all, this seems to me to be a great value.

Was this review helpful? (16) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
BillytheSquid
Truth or Consequences, NM
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Good ride
1/14/2012

Customer review by wolfpaw

5.0 stars 1/14/2012 by wolfpaw
by wolfpaw

I bought this bike site to store in august 2011 and had it assembled and on the road in about 2 hours. The gears worked good out of the box and the front brake needed minor adjustment. This bike rides and handles great. The full suspension and big wheels smooth out the roughest broken and pot holed pavement. I take this bike down some of the poorest maintained streets in town that I avoid when riding my rigid frame road bike. I Took this bike to a nearby state park and rode the mountain bike trails. It handled rocks, small tree trunks and lots of mud since there had been heavy rain the day before. I rode into the ravines and zigzagged between trees in the woods. The next day I took the bike for a ride on the unpaved towpath trail along the river. I found out that the disc brakes work good in heavy rain when I got caught in a sudden summer storm miles from home. ...I had been looking for a dual suspension 29er with disc brakes for some time. I couldn't touch one with this equipment at any bike shop for under $2000.00. This one is a great value and has handled everything I have thrown at it.

Was this review helpful? (15) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
wolfpaw
Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
NICE
3/30/2012

Customer review by ALLONE

5.0 stars 3/30/2012 by ALLONE
by ALLONE

THE BIKE IS WELL MADE AND DECENT QUALITY FOR THE PRICE. IT HAS EXCELLENT FLOATING DISC BRAKES (PROMAX), NICE HANDLE BARS, SHIFTERS, DERAILLERS, ITS REALLY ALL GOOD. FOR THE MONEY IT IS A GOOD VALUE. FOR A LITTLE BETTER QUALITY IT WILL COST YOU $1000+. I PUT 2.25IN BELL KINGPIN TIRES FROM WALMART (BUY IN STORE FOR 27.99 GREAT DEAL NICE, LIGHT, ON LINE $39 ??) THEY FIT - LOTS OF ROOM. THE REAR SPRING IS RATED AT 850LBS - NO BOB AS FAR AS I CAN TELL. THE BOTTOM BRACKET CRANK HAD SOME PLAY - JUST TIGHTEN UP, CALL PACIFIC (WARRENTY PH NUMBER) THEY WILL TELL YOU HOW, IT EASY. PACIFIC IS GREAT, NICE, HELPFUL . I THINK THAT IS GREAT. WARRENTY 1YR, 5YR FRAME, 3MO. RUBBER AND BRAKES. REAR DERAILLER CABLE RUBS FROM REAR SUSP. FLEX- FILED GUIDE- NO BIG DEAL, YOURS MAY NOT. MINE WEIGHS 37LBS, ITS HEAVY -SO WHAT, BUT BUILT STURDY. IT HAS WIDE RIMS, DOUBLE WALL, THE FRONT SHOCKS ARE HEAVY, BUT BETTER ONES COST AS MUCH AS WHOLE BIKE. THE SPROCKETS AND CHAIN MAY NEED UPGRADING, AS SOON AS WORN OUT, OK TIL THEN. I READ TONS OF REVIEWS, FORUMS AND SPECS. ON THIS BIKE AND MANY OTHERS IN THIS PRICE RANGE FOR MONTHS! THE FULL SUSP., 29IN, QUALITY AND PRICE CANNOT BE BEAT. SOMETIMES SHOW OUT OF STOCK/IN STOCK- CALL THEM AND SEE IF THERE WILL BE MORE AVAL.. THIS IS MY FIRST WRITTEN REVIEW. I THOUGHT IT WAS IMPORTANT DUE TO THE FACT MY WAL. STORES DON'T STOCK THIS BIKE, SO SIGHT UNSEEN. DON'T WORRY YOU CAN RETURN IT, AND I AM JUST A OWNER - NO MONKEY BUSINESS WITH THIS REVIEW LOL.

Was this review helpful? (16) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ALLONE
PRESCOTT, AZ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
For the price, can't be beat
9/30/2012

Customer review by rounder333

4.0 stars 9/30/2012 by rounder333
by rounder333

I've owned many quality bicycles over the years (both mountain and road types), and at this point decided to add to my lineup a relatively inexpensive 29er for short blasts of fun & exercise on a network of unpaved back roads & paths close to where I live. I settled on the $379 Mongoose XR-PRO based on several positive reviews. After about 90 minutes of assembly & adjustments, I went for a first spin, and was impressed with the solidity, stability and general feel of this bike. Dirt roads with potholes and washboard surface were eaten up very well between the 29" wheels and the basic but effective coil-spring front & rear suspensions. By now I've put some 200 miles on this bike, and it's definitely a keeper. Would have given 5 stars, but as this model is only available online (and not Site-to-Store, though at least it's only 97 cents for home shipping), it is up to the buyer to either be fairly experienced in bicycle setup, or else cart it to a bike shop and pay a fair amount to have it correctly assembled & adjusted. I will say, however, that the assembly & adjustment manual is excellent in explaining associated finer details, so if you have a mechanical aptitude, you may get through this process just fine.

Was this review helpful? (14) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
rounder333
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great Bike
6/21/2012

Customer review by DrDufus

5.0 stars 6/21/2012 by DrDufus
by DrDufus

As a long term casual MTB user with occasional single track use, this is the best bike I've ever used or owned. It does ride smoother and easier over mixed terrain as well as paved surfaces. I had to get a longer seat post to fit my 6' 2" height and I bought some pedals with toe clips -- I don't get it why a MTB bike doesn't come with toe clips standard, unless it's just a casual bike. As others note, there are plenty of ways one can build on this basic bike to make it lighter and perhaps a better performer in more heavy applications. At this point, I'm happy with it just as it is.

Was this review helpful? (13) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
DrDufus
Snohomish, WA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Great bike for the money!
4/7/2014

Customer review by MBbbbbbbb

5.0 stars 4/7/2014 by MBbbbbbbb
by MBbbbbbbb

This bike has a lot of features for the price. This same bike would cost 500-600 dollars at a bike shop. I am 5-9 and 170pounds and the suspension is perfect for me and can be adjusted. The shifters are nice but took me a little while to get used to. The derailleurs needed to be adjusted -take your time and get it right, you will be happy you did. The seat is more comfortable than other bikes I have ridden. The wheels are quick release so you can swap road tires in seconds. The seat is quick release as well. The disc breaks also had to be adjusted, but once done, work well. I will ride this Bike off road more than on the road but it does both well. I am very happy with this bike.

Was this review helpful? (15) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MBbbbbbbb
Xenia Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great bike for beginners!!!
11/25/2012

Customer review by ViCt0R

4.0 stars 11/25/2012 by ViCt0R
by ViCt0R

Very nice bike for this money, just a little heavy (37lbs). Design is awesome, solid frame!!! Just upgraded with new seat and seat post, new RockShox 6.5x2, Avid brake levers, new CST tires 29x2.25, will be upgraded with new brakes and rotors (AVID BB7) and more... It's much cheaper than new bike in specialized store... That's my opinion only...

Was this review helpful? (17) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ViCt0R
Philadelphia, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
9/25/2011

Customer review by Mixerman1

5.0 stars 9/25/2011 by Mixerman1
by Mixerman1

So this is Walmarts most expensive bike and it is definitely the best one they have to offer. I am no expert but the bike performed very well at the Petrified springs bike trails in Kenosha Wisconsin. The front shocks soaked up the rocks and tree roots excellently and the 29 inch tires made all the obstacles easier to go over for sure. I am five foot eleven and 185lbs and the bike fits me very well. it is a "big" bike and feels great to ride. The next step is another 1.000.00 jump and I can only imagine how a bike like that would feel to ride but for a weekend warrior like me this bike is a great value as far as I can tell and seems to be a real quality build .

Was this review helpful? (11) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Mixerman1
Lake Geneva
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Awesome Mountain Bike
8/23/2012

Customer review by JRXC

4.0 stars 8/23/2012 by JRXC
by JRXC

I've been shopping for a full featured mountain bike most of the summer. reviewing 100's of bikes at REI, Dick's, Sports authority, online, as well as performance bike shops, and for the price this bike cannot be beat. The bike assembly was a snap and the tweaking of the brakes was simple too. I've only been out twice on so far, but the trails i"ve been on were sufficient to get a good feel for the bike. I love the the front/rear disc brakes, and the especially the 29" wheels. This is a good by for the money if you're a weekend warrior as myself.

Was this review helpful? (10) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
JRXC
Stone Mountain, GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Entry level at best.
3/23/2013

Customer review by AlienLogic

3.0 stars 3/23/2013 by AlienLogic
by AlienLogic

There are things to like about this bike and if you are familiar with bikes and can service them this can be a good value. That said anyone who is going to actually ride this bike any real distance can expect to start upgrading from day one. First the tires. The tires are acceptable as is for dirt riders but this bike will see streets and packed trails. I bought the bike knowing the tires had to be switched out. 29 inch mountain bikes accept 700c tires available in a number of widths. 700c by 47c Continental Touring Plus tires were installed. Men will discover the supplied seat is a medieval torture device as it has no relief in it. Thankfully good seats start in the 35 dollar range, I like, use and suggest the ARS Classic from Planet Bike. The handle bar grips were starving model thin and replaced with Ergon GP1-S to support the hands. If you suffer hand numbness I cannot recommend a better product. The coil over rear shock is a cruel joke, there is no shock. It is a 850 Lb/inch coil that should you actually land it hard enough to compress it (if your that large and ride off a cliff) you can expect it to bounce you skyward quickly. I replaced it with a 550 Lb/inch coil over shock with adjustable damping from Ebay. While your in there use a plastic grease to keep the pivoting smooth. If the rear springs were too strong, the front setup seems soft in comparison. Your going to want to dial up the spring preload a lot. This will make the road feel stronger and give you more confidence on turns. Last but not least, no kickstand, seriously? Why would you sell a bike without a kickstand? Worse attaching a kickstand to this frame is almost painful. I'm still figuring it out. These details aside the bike has good road manners with these changes and upgrades and I can't wait for warm weather to arrive. I plan to take the bike in to fine tune my rough settings and future upgrades will only improve the bike. Overall the bike is a good choice if you have the skills, tools and time to do the work yourself. That said out of the box it's weaknesses should be a warning to folks who just want to ride.

Was this review helpful? (17) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
AlienLogic
Columbia, Mo.
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Initial impressions
10/3/2012

Customer review by cwburke

5.0 stars 10/3/2012 by cwburke
by cwburke

As others have stated, the assembly and setup process takes a couple hours (unpacking alone takes about 1/2 hour or more). I took my time so as not to mess up my bike through this process. The bike was well packed for shipment with a double box and lots of protection around individual parts. I had no damaged or scratched parts in my box. It took me about 2 more hours to fine tune the gears and brakes. I cannot stand grinding noises in the gears or brakes that rub. Once I got everything correctly adjusted the bike runs beautifully. This is my first experience with the trigger-type shifters. Once I got used to them they are pretty nice. The frame on this bike is not real big. If you are 5' 8" or taller (30" or greater inseam) you might want to purchase a longer seat post. I bought a 400 mm carbon fiber seat post and also a 3 1/2 " stem extender to raise the handlebars. These 2 items vastly improved the riding of this bike for me. I am 5' 8 1/2" tall (inseam 30"). I've ridden with the stock seat for about 100 miles and decided it was a little too hard for me. Does good for about 5 miles but then I start getting sore. The stock seat is padded somewhat, but not quite enough for long treks. I've taken this bike on some really tough trails in the last few weeks and I'm very happy with it's performance. The suspension is decent, although a "true" shock absorber (i.e. air shock with rebound control/adjustment) would be a nice upgrade in the future, but for now it does pretty well. The bike seems very solid and handles the rough MTB trails quite well. Of course, being a real mountain bike, it doesn't come with a kickstand. I purchased a Sunlite 2012 Adjustable Rear Mount kickstand off Amazon and it works very nice. It mounted very nicely to the rear frame near the back wheel. No modifications were necessary. Mongoose did not offer to send me one or sell me one as other reviewers said they would. I guess I got the wrong support person on the phone! They told me to buy a third party kickstand and so I did and I'm well pleased with it. I also replaced the hand grips. The stock grips aren't horrible, but I like softer grips. All the other components seem pretty decent so far. The wheels, tires, gears, brakes, shifters, etc., all function quite well. Originally I was considering a Diamond Back mountain bike that was over $100 more than this Mongoose and it didn't have rear suspension. It was a nice bike and all, but it didn't offer near as much for the money. I would still have had to replace the same components (seat post, seat, etc.) on that bike as I did on this one. Finally, this bike looks real good. It doesn't look like a cheap discount store bike, but it looks professional. It looks as good as bikes costing much more. I know that looks doesn't mean much if the functionality and quality aren't there, but this bike seems to have them all for a bike at the low end of the price scale. Only time will tell how well it holds up to continuous use on the trails, but so far, so good!!! I highly recommend this bike as of the time of this review! If things change, I will update accordingly.

Was this review helpful? (9) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
cwburke
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
1-20 of 113 total reviews
1-20 of 113 reviews