Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 12 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

4.0 stars

12 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

4.0 stars

12 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

83%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
6
4 stars
4
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 stars
1
1-12 of 12 total reviews
83%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

You get exactly what you pay for.
10/15/2011

Customer review by Khaotic

2.0 stars 10/15/2011 by Khaotic
by Khaotic

To start, the bike has a great pricetag. Dirt Jump / Urban bikes of similar look generally carry a tag of 500+. On the other hand, inferior components nearly all the way around really take away this bike's potential. The frame geometry is half-decent, and the brake is very responsive. However the weakest points of this bike are going to be in it's horrible sticking/bouncy/lackluster fork and it's cheap and weak one-piece cast cranks. Also, mind you, the frame is hi-ten steel (the cheapest and weakest of the common frame materials) so this bike will absolutely not stand up to the real abuse of aggressive trail riding or jumping. All in all may be a decent by for someone who wants the look of a DJ bike without any of the real functionality.

Was this review helpful? (67) (22)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Khaotic
Would recommend to a friend? No
Great Value
2/29/2012

Customer review by Kissamontana

5.0 stars 2/29/2012 by Kissamontana
by Kissamontana

This bike is very sturdy. My son loves this bike. He is 11 and is 5'6 this bike fits his perfectly. Easy to put together.

Was this review helpful? (32) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Kissamontana
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Solid n Heavy
9/9/2011

Customer review by Molotov

5.0 stars 9/9/2011 by Molotov
by Molotov

I'd like to start off by saying this is the 3rd Mongoose bicycle I have owned in the past 25yr's. I've alway's been very happy with the quality of Mongoose bicycle's. This bike look's good and feel's solid, but it's too heavy to take for a long ride.

Was this review helpful? (55) (23)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Molotov
McAlester, OK.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great geometry, but expect upgrades.
1/12/2014

Customer review by Koin24

4.0 stars 1/12/2014 by Koin24
by Koin24

My background: I've been building bmx bikes out of Danscomp since the late 90's. I'm 29, 6'3", 170 lbs. From BMX to Downhill. I ride park, dirt and street. When I had money I built a fully custom Fly Bikes Pantera frame and I loved it until I got into hybrids/cruisers. I've built a custom 26" Kona hardtail as well on that front, but needed some money for bills after I injured my shoulder snowboarding 3 years ago. Now I'm getting back into it with little money. I know what quality bikes are, and I know exactly what I bought when I picked this up. I have enough experience to ride smooth on a cheap bike. What they don't tell you about this bike: It is made of Hi-Tensile Steel, not 4130 chromoly. Hi-Ten steel is only 2/3's as strong as 4130. The headset is actually a good quality set. The head tube is 1-1/8". The forks are extremely heavy, and don't support much of any thing other than cruising around. The rear hub is a freecoaster hub, which means when you roll backwards the pedals don't move. The rear hub is problematic as it is a freecoaster, as even high end brands are problematic. They often get bound up, and restrict wheel movement making you work harder. The rear hub bearing nuts on the NON-drive side need the washer taken out between the inside bolts #the dark grey wide, small washer#. Those bearing nuts need to cinch together so they don't move. This also means you need to get a fender washer to make up for the space next to the dropout as well as the diameter of the bearing nut washer is too small and will damage the dropout slot if tightened down. The front wheel rolls well and the bearings stay tight. It could last a while if treated well. The rim size is 24"x1.75". The tires are 24"x2.30" and are VERY heavy. The one piece cranks will hold up to some jumping but they come loose often. After hitting a 3 set of dirt jumps twice they were noticeably loose but haven't bent yet. The bottom bracket is an American size. The pedals will NOT fit 3-piece cranks and are plastic. The gearing is 25/9T. #Front sprocket is 25 teeth, the rear cog is 9 teeth# It's pretty hard to pedal with 2.30" knobby tires and a sticky freecoaster hub. Both axels are 3/8". What I recommend with this bike: The forks really stink. I am serious. The worst forks I've ever ridden. Including old school rock shox from the 90's- those were better. Go to pinkbike or craigslist and find some used Rock Shox Judy's or Marzocchi DJ3's as those are the cheapest forks that hold up well that will work with this headset and front wheel. Get some cranks asap. I can't tell you enough how annoying it is to have to keep tightening them. I found some 3-piece Rant S-8 cranks on Danscomp and some mid size bottom bracket bearings with an American adapter cup for really cheap. Look for the Primo BB Kit and be sure to select the American size. Throw on some chain tensioners as the rear wheel will move around and is not easy to maintain the correct chain tension without them. Next is that rear wheel. The freecoaster hub is fun to play around on but it's not reliable. Build a wheel or find a cheap one with a bmx rear casset hub so you can put a 9-12T cog on it. I recommend a 10-11T cog as it's pretty hard to pedal and get acceleration. If you run smaller tires you could get away with a 9T cog. Conclusion: The frame is great for a tall guy. Especially if you have big feet as the frame is a little relaxed. It's super stable on jumps yet still pretty easy to flick around. Snobby rich riders will you that you can't jump on a Hi-Ten steel frame but I have already proven them wrong. Way wrong. I never bent a frame when I had a Hi-Ten mongoose back in the 90's and I abused that bike hard. This frame is built way better than that one and I approve of the welds. I put together this bike with cranks, pedals, chain tensioners and a fork for three hundred. Just know you will need some parts with this for a fulltime bike. I would not recommend this bike to a young kid, it's really heavy until you change some parts again if you expect them to do more than ride around the block. Otherwise it's fine for cruising around.

Was this review helpful? (16) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Koin24
San Jose, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Mongoose 24 inch boys mountain bike
12/18/2014

Customer review by R1b121

5.0 stars 12/18/2014 by R1b121
by R1b121

Great bike. Looks awesome. Store put it together. 10 year old son loves it. Good quality. Great value.

Was this review helpful? (3) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
R1b121
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
awesome
12/21/2014

Customer review by petlocagal

5.0 stars 12/21/2014 by petlocagal
by petlocagal

Easy to assemble. I'm a grandma of 7 and I put 2 of these bikes together in about an hour and 15 minutes. Sturdy looking bikes for 2 rough and tumble boys.. I cant wait until Christmas morning!!!

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
petlocagal
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great Bike
12/23/2013

Customer review by iamahappygirl

5.0 stars 12/23/2013 by iamahappygirl
by iamahappygirl

I am excited to get to see my daughter enjoy this bike. All she wanted was a "simple" bmx style bike with no gears and only one break. This fit the description perfectly!! She is a tall girl and this size is PERFECT!!! It's so nice that even I can ride it! We will definitely be fighting over who will get to ride it next!

Was this review helpful? (2) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
iamahappygirl
Temecula, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
4/18/2012

Customer review by Chaseums

4.0 stars 4/18/2012 by Chaseums
by Chaseums

Got this bike for my son for Easter... and he loves it... BUT the wheels that came are black NOT white like in the picture. Not a HUGE deal but I think what "sold" me on the bike was the different look that the white tires gave it. But other than that... so far it's a good bike.

Was this review helpful? (8) (13)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Chaseums
Mount Clemins, MI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Decent Bike
5/8/2013

Customer review by Kisosen

4.0 stars 5/8/2013 by Kisosen
by Kisosen

This bike was easy to assemble. Assembly took only a few minutes. The bike is a nice single speed ride, and perfect for around town, back and forth to school, etc. My son also rides on a trick/jump track. My only complaint was that the break cable was frayed when the bike arrived. We have replaced this and had no other issues since.

Was this review helpful? (2) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Kisosen
Montpelier, VT
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
rear hub fell apart !
4/6/2014

Customer review by idiotforbuying

1.0 stars 4/6/2014 by idiotforbuying
by idiotforbuying

After one week rear hub bearings fell apart ! used for a week ...

Was this review helpful? (1) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
idiotforbuying
95124
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
Good deal
1/1/2013

Customer review by gama2013

4.0 stars 1/1/2013 by gama2013
by gama2013

This bike was hard to find in stores as its a 24" BMX and was glad to get it online. Was not able to choose color of tires however and they arrived black, which is fine but the handle bar grips are white and I thought they should match. Arrived in time for Christmas, no problems and the local Walmart aired up the tires for free.

Was this review helpful? (0) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
gama2013
Rosenberg Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Bike
7/31/2015

Customer review by Debbie

5.0 stars 7/31/2015 by Debbie
by Debbie

Purchased this bike for my Great Grandson 9th Birthday. Store assembled it for me. Clerk even added a Birthday ballon. We are very happy with this bike. Hasn't been off of it since arriving home.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Debbie
Would recommend to a friend? Yes