Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 93 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

93 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

93 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

90%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
55
4 stars
23
3 stars
7
2 stars
4
1 stars
4
1-20 of 75 total reviews
90%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 75 total reviews
1-20 of 75 reviews
nice bike
10/30/2011

Customer review by deguatemala

5.0 stars 10/30/2011 by deguatemala
by deguatemala

Excelent purchased,Nice,smoot,never get tired whit beatiful aluminiun bike, I tried another two models before,but this one definetely is the best,We got two,one for my wife and one for me. We enjoy riding this bike.

Was this review helpful? (77) (10)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
deguatemala
los angeles,ca.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
great looking bike at a nice price
9/2/2011

Customer review by RandDG

5.0 stars 9/2/2011 by RandDG
by RandDG

Very nice looking vintage style bike. Fast shipping to the store. Easy to assemble. Very nice styling gets compliments wherever you go.

Was this review helpful? (75) (16)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
RandDG
N. Idaho
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
cruiser bike
12/15/2011

Customer review by rickymiami

5.0 stars 12/15/2011 by rickymiami
by rickymiami

I love this bike , it was delivered on time , very easy to assemble , lightweight , comfortable ride to work and with a nice basket great for grocery shopping , overall a good buy . I definetly reccomend it .

Was this review helpful? (44) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
rickymiami
Miami Beach , Fl
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
10/26/2011

Customer review by Stinger911

5.0 stars 10/26/2011 by Stinger911
by Stinger911

Looks great! and rides good. Back in the day ( late 50's ), I had a red Schwinn that looked like this one for my paper route, so nostagically I bought this from Walmart. I'm happy I did and I ride it every day and it have gotten complimentary looks from people. Makes me feel like a kid again.

Was this review helpful? (41) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Stinger911
Sunnyvale, California
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Very Nice Cruiser!
4/4/2012

Customer review by BRigo2

4.0 stars 4/4/2012 by BRigo2
by BRigo2

Great online price, plus 97¢ shipping! I received my bike just a few days after ordering. It came double boxed, and with plenty of protective packaging to protect the beautiful paint job. After unboxing, assembly was (relatively) simple. Install handle bars, seat and front wheel with a screwdriver, allen wrenches, adjustable wrench, and pliers. The front wheel was a little tricky as the tire wouldn't fit through the brake pads. Removing 1 pad allowed easier access to complete installation. The only issue I had with the bike was that the front wheel was very warped. After buying a $9 spoke wrench from a local bike shop and finding video instructions on YouTube, I was able to straighten the front wheel in about 15 minutes. Most beach cruisers don't have gears, but this one has seven. Just the right amount for cruising the neighborhood and beyond. The gears also needed adjustment to achieve all gears. Out of the box I was only able to change through 5 of the 7 gears. The seat, and riding position is very comfortable for a 50 year old, 230 lb guy.

Was this review helpful? (22) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
BRigo2
Cleveland, OH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
4/26/2012

Customer review by Grumpaw57

3.0 stars 4/26/2012 by Grumpaw57
by Grumpaw57

The bikes of my youth were the Schwinn Stingray and the Schwinn Varsity 10 speed. This is a Schwinn in name only. If it were made in the U.S.A. it would probably cost in excess of $500.00, so for the money it's a good value. To me, the best looking Schwinn is the Men's 700c Admiral. You won't find it anywhere on the web but it is stocked in Walmart stores. It is less 'retro' looking than the Point Beach, it's more reminiscent of a 70's Varsity. It would have been my first choice but for a couple of things. I live in a rural area with bad roads and my concern was that the skinny, low profile tires would not be the best choice. That's why I chose the Point Beach. Its' tires are a larger profile and will provide more cushion which hopefully will prevent rim damage on potholes. The Admiral has much more chrome #fenders, rims, rear rack#. It looks better but I noticed that the bikes on outdoor display @ Walmart were already starting to rust so I surmised that the chrome might be inferior and not last as long. The Point Beach only has Chrome on the handlebars and seat post. One of my biggest disappointments is the color. In the picture it apprears to be a medium bright red. All of my other internet purchases have been successful as concerns colors so I am confident that my monitor is not at fault. Nowhere on Walmart's webpage is the color described. On the shipping box the color is named Cranberry. It would best be desribed as a dark red metallic or a medium dark maroon metallic. It's dark and muddy looking, not at all bright. Yuck. The paint is also thin in a couple of spots. Fortunately I paint cars so it's fixable with a lot of time and materials. Color is important to me so next winter I expect I'll be repainting it. The other issue is size. Size matters. Schwinn recommends 26"' or 700c tires for people up to 74 inches. I am 6'0 tall with a 32" inseam. I don't have particuarly long legs for my height. The bikes with 700c tires sit up higher and would be a better choice for my body. The 26" Point Beach with the handlebar stem and seat stem at maximum height are the minimum comfortable height for me. If I were any taller this bike would be too small to be comfortable. I ordered the bike and it was shipped promptly, arriving damage free except for a small #matchead sized# chip in the front fender. I specifically wanted to assemble it myself because I was not impressed with the quality of assembly at any of the local Walmarts. Assembly and adjustment was simple with clear instructions included.

Was this review helpful? (20) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Grumpaw57
east texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
The perfect cruiser at the perfect price
5/12/2012

Customer review by winegal23

5.0 stars 5/12/2012 by winegal23
by winegal23

This bike is great, especially for the price. It is easy to assemble, easy to ride and beautiful. I have a couple of much more expensive ($1000-3000) bikes but I wanted something to keep at our beach house to use and for others to ride. This is perfect. I'm a bit picky about smooth shifting and little or no noise coming from the gears so I used the manual to make some small adjustments and now it shifts like a much more expensive bike. It seems durable. I suggest getting a lock right away since this bike gets a lot of looks. It is a classic comfort cruiser with some climbing capability.

Was this review helpful? (13) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
winegal23
California
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
12/23/2011

Customer review by vingy

4.0 stars 12/23/2011 by vingy
by vingy

Bought this one a few months ago in blue and white. After some wrestling with the gear adjustments (you could make this easier for peps schwinn people) I have to say I'm impressed. Rides real smoooooooth! lol

Was this review helpful? (11) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
vingy
Punta Gorda, Fl.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great Bike
6/7/2012

Customer review by Arth5

5.0 stars 6/7/2012 by Arth5
by Arth5

any one looking for a geat get around bike this is great and well worth what i paid for it. i also like the way it was paked in the boxs and the boxs where seald. and the bike was easey to put together. and rides great

Was this review helpful? (9) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Arth5
Salt Lake
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Excellent bike
4/10/2012

Customer review by DBOCPA

5.0 stars 4/10/2012 by DBOCPA
by DBOCPA

I purchased a Schwinn 26" Point Beach bicycle for myself and also one for my wife. We both are very pleased with them. They are very good looking , they ride nice, shift gears easily, and are a pleasure to ride.

Was this review helpful? (10) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
DBOCPA
Oil City,Pa.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Great Bike
5/18/2012

Customer review by Hank1946

5.0 stars 5/18/2012 by Hank1946
by Hank1946

Best bike I have ever owned. Smooth ride with big tires, great gears for hills. Very comfortable seat.

Was this review helpful? (10) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Hank1946
Ozark, Alabama
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
6/14/2012

Customer review by bikeresearcher

4.0 stars 6/14/2012 by bikeresearcher
by bikeresearcher

I wanted a heavy duty bike with wide tires and cruising design that accomodates sitting upright and making short trips mostly for shopping groceries and such. This Point Beach Shimano 7-speed gets me to Kroger much smoother and easier than my Huffy 1-speed did. However, the seat placement is inferior to the Huffy design. I find myself crunching harder to pedal because of my body position only. Other than that, this bike is excellent, and I recommend it to anyone doing short hauls.

Was this review helpful? (10) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
bikeresearcher
Houston, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Very good bike for average biker.
11/4/2011

Customer review by ScubaS

4.0 stars 11/4/2011 by ScubaS
by ScubaS

Brought back memories of biking days in my youth. Great bike for the price. Looks good and handles nicely. Would not hesitate to recommend.

Was this review helpful? (9) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ScubaS
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
fantastic bicycle. great quality and fine looking
3/14/2012

Customer review by TampaBayRay

5.0 stars 3/14/2012 by TampaBayRay
by TampaBayRay

I am not used to getting compliments when riding my bicycle. I live at the Beach in Florida and have mostly had rusted out old bikes to ride. Well, now, everywhere I go, I get folks saying....wow. what a nice bike..... it is really an attractive bike and rides wonderfully. you will not be dissapointed....

Was this review helpful? (8) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
TampaBayRay
Anna Maria Island Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
3/19/2012

Customer review by jjltco

5.0 stars 3/19/2012 by jjltco
by jjltco

This bike was picked up from the store still in the box. It was easy to assemble, all the parts were there and undamaged in shipment. It would be nice if Schwin would enclude a owners manual for this spicific bike instead of a generic to cover all their bikes. Othere than that I am well pleased the bike.

Was this review helpful? (9) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
jjltco
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
12/24/2012

Customer review by Jwdrs

1.0 stars 12/24/2012 by Jwdrs
by Jwdrs

The directions are very generic. We had to keep referring to the picture of the bike in order to get it put together and because the front fender is going to need some adjusting ( the hole where it mounts to the front tire needs to be bigger so it can be drawn closer to the tire) it can't be ridden until we take it to a bike shop to get this fixed. Because of this problem you can't steer the bike without the front tire hitting the frame of the bike. It was a present from Santa and very disappointing because he couldn't ride it Christmas morning and more money has to be spent before he can get any use out of it.

Was this review helpful? (7) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Jwdrs
NC
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great bike ... Great value ... Tune up and ride!
7/10/2012

Customer review by Tooawesumone

4.0 stars 7/10/2012 by Tooawesumone
by Tooawesumone

Two thumbs up. We bought this bike for our son to ride around campus at Oregon State ... Go Beavs! We had Walmart assemble the bike and they did a good job. However, as other reviews have stated, it's a good idea to subsequently take the bike to a local bike shop and have it professionally tuned up. It really helps the bike perform much better. Although this bike doesn't weigh 2,000 pounds like the old tank-like Schwinn bikes of yesteryear, it still feels solid and rides nice. Just add a big wire basket on the front for carrying "books" ... and u r gtg ... He enjoyed riding this bike until last week-end, when someone cut his cable lock, and stole the bike from beside his house. ADVICE TO THE WISE: Buy the STRONGEST LOCK you can! The cheap locks only keep honest people honest. PS: We also bought the corresponding 26" Point Beach Cruiser girl's bike for our daughter .... and she loves it as well. They both like the flexibility that the 7 speeds offer. Good luck with your bike selection. We have never gone wrong with Schwinn or with Walmart. Rock on!

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Tooawesumone
Area 51, Starship Enterprise
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
I couldn't be happier with my new schwinn !
12/1/2011

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 12/1/2011 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

Was this review helpful? (6) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
Wyoming Mi.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Nice 7-speed Cruiser
7/23/2012

Customer review by FringeTheory

5.0 stars 7/23/2012 by FringeTheory
by FringeTheory

I searched for some time for an affordable 3-speed beach cruiser when I stumbled upon this 7-speed Point Beach Schwinn cruiser in a Walmart store. I bought the floor model and got a %10 discount because of a scratch. I have since had fun with this bike. I bought it not only because I loved the retro look, but because it just feels good on my body. The frame of this bike is smartly designed for comfort. I say this after trying every other cruiser in the store, including the Panama Jack and the El Lesso, both of which felt wrong (and weren't as sturdy). When sitting on the Beach Point, I sit straight up with my legs in a comfortable, slightly forward position. I also like the comfortable seat and the shape of the handlebars. My hands sit comfortably straight and my elbows remain unbent when the handlebars are adjusted at the same angle as in the picture above. The ride is quiet and gentle. The frame is as light as you could expect for such a strong aluminum build. Overall, this a great sturdy, comfy, cool looking bicycle. I can't wait to accessorize it :).

Was this review helpful? (6) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
FringeTheory
Springfield, MA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Fine for women too
7/11/2012

Customer review by LuckyChicken

5.0 stars 7/11/2012 by LuckyChicken
by LuckyChicken

I desperately wanted the Ladies' Point Beach bike, but it was sold out. When I noticed that the wheels on both bikes were 26", it seemed to me that the only difference between the men's and women's bikes was the bar in the middle - the women's one has the "step-through" frame and the men's one you have to hop on over the back. A month later I couldn't take it anymore, didn't find any other affordable bike I liked that had cruiser handlebars AND multi-speed, so I caved and bought the men's one. And I love it. Slap a basket on the front of it and it's the ideal bike for casual neighborhood bike riding. Makes me feel like Peewee Herman.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
LuckyChicken
Long Island, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
1-20 of 75 total reviews
1-20 of 75 reviews