Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 209 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

4.5 stars

209 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

4.5 stars

209 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

90%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
129
4 stars
49
3 stars
15
2 stars
8
1 stars
8
1-20 of 172 total reviews
90%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 172 total reviews
1-20 of 172 reviews
The perfect summer ride!
8/30/2011

Customer review by Deelio

5.0 stars 8/30/2011 by Deelio
by Deelio

I bought this bike today after spending the past few weeks at bike stores and department stores looking for the perfect joyrider. This is really it! The color is a deep crimson red metallic and light cream, not quite a cranberry red but deeper than a cherry red. The style is classic Schwinn. I hadn't ridden a bike in about 12 years, but I wanted something comfortable that I'd be able to ride around the neighborhood with my kids. This bike is a real head-turner. It's a similar style and size to the Del Mar, I believe they have the same frame. I'm quite short, but I'm able to lower the seat enough to make this bike comfortable and safe to ride. The seat angle is easy to adjust as well. The seat is a 2-tone saddle cruiser style, quite wide and roomy. I'm not sure what kind of springs it has, but they are covered on the bottom for a seamless look. My only complaint about the whole bike is that the seat is red and WHITE instead of cream. I'm thinking it won't matter much if I'm on it. I had previously purchased a different model from Walmart, which I had shipped to my home. I was very disappointed that it arrived damaged. I returned it, and decided to find a bike locally which would suit my needs. I tried all of the mountain bike and "comfort" styles, but having the pedals directly beneath the seat while leaning forward was awkward and uncomfortable for me. I like the ride of this bike - seated, upright, and able to watch the world go by instead of trying to speed through it. Much more my style. I called around to 5 or 6 different stores trying to find this bike in the red color. I finally gave up and resolved myself to getting the blue and white Point Beach. The manager found this model in the red color in a box in the back of the store after I got there. SCORE. (note: for some reason, this bike shows up in the wrong color on the inventory. Talk to someone in the bike department and have them check the stock to see what color their Point Beach bikes are.) The box easily fit in my minivan with the rear seat folded down. I loaded and unloaded it myself, and I'm only 5' tall. Awkward, but not really heavy. I unboxed it and put it together in about 1 1/2 hrs. I spent more time getting the front fender on than anything else, the tab had to be bent back a bit. This bike has an aluminum frame and is quite light compared to other cruiser style bikes that I tried. It's still weighty, about the same weight as my husband's mountain bike, but lighter than a similar cruiser from Schwinn with a steel frame. The handlebars are comfortable, the 7 speeds should be just enough for riding around the greenway and the streets near my home. I don't expect to win any races, but getting up small hills shouldn't be a problem. The brakes and derailleur still needed to be adjusted after I assembled the bike. My husband did this for me in about a half hour. If you do not have someone who can do this for you or you don't feel comfortable doing this yourself, have the store assemble the bike and adjust everything for you. Most WM's have a bike assembler who should be able to do this even after you leave the store with the bike if you call ahead. A bike shop can do this as well but they'll charge you a fee for it. The instruction manual that comes with this bike is very generic. There are good videos online at Schwinn and on Youtube that show how to adjust the gears and brakes. The gears should shift smoothly while pedaling, and nothing should clank or make weird noises after shifting. I've read plenty of reviews about bikes being returned due to being "junk" when the reviewer hadn't even bothered to tune up the bike. The rear rack is a nice touch. The reflector mounts to it instead of mounting to the seat, so I was able to lower the seat without worrying about the reflector being on the seat post like with some other models. It will be a great place to strap a picnic cooler when we head to the park. The fenders on this bike are nicely painted, the finish on the whole bike is decent, though there are tiny spots from dust that had gotten onto the metal prior to painting. For less than $200, I don't expect perfection. I was pleased to only find a small rub spot on one of the fenders as a result of shipping. (the previous bike I had ordered and shipped to my home had a lot of cosmetic damage from poor handling in transit) Overall, this is a nice quality cruiser bike. It's beautiful without being overdone, and it's sturdy and well made. I think it was the very best choice for my needs, and the price was far less than I would have expected considering everything that I got. Great ride!!

Was this review helpful? (350) (19)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Deelio
NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Hit my expectations by about 95%
10/4/2011

Customer review by DanMaster

5.0 stars 10/4/2011 by DanMaster
by DanMaster

First, I am a lifelong cyclist. Always riding either my road bike, or my mountain bike. Both are Treks. So, I can be very critical, but also very realistic. This bike is for my wife who really wanted a cruiser. She was looking at this bike and Trek Cruiser which would have been over twice the price, and probably built only slightly better. Was able to assemble it without scratching the paint. Had to spend about 15 minutes per rim, to true them up. One of them even needed to be adjusted for hop. With the rims true, could adjust the brake calipers closer, for better stopping. The derailleur, once adjusted works perfect up and down. Took 15 minutes to get tweaked just right, riding it up and down a flat road. Spent a few days tweaking the seat and handlebars for my wife, but she is very satisfied now. The only negative, is I expected the fenders to be a little less flimsy, since it is a Schwinn, and not one of the cheaper brands that Walmart sells. I had to do a little bending here and there to get the fenders to line up with the tires. But, for the price, we are both VERY satisfied.

Was this review helpful? (205) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
DanMaster
North Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
11/13/2011

Customer review by GmaWan

5.0 stars 11/13/2011 by GmaWan
by GmaWan

This bike is perfect for me!! My sons bought me a cruiser bike for my 40th birthday and when they discovered I was still using it, they bought me this one ---- for my 64th birthday!! I had never used hand brakes or had speeds but adjusted easily. I love the color and the handlebars are the best!! I can sit upright very comfortably. My husband took me on a 12 mile ride on the bike trail to try it out - the seat is VERY comfortable. I won't need another bike for another 24 years!

Was this review helpful? (147) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
GmaWan
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Nice Bike For The Price
10/19/2011

Customer review by Fuzzbean

4.0 stars 10/19/2011 by Fuzzbean
by Fuzzbean

I bought one of these "Point Beach" bikes, in a white/light blue color scheme, a couple months ago for my wife's older daughter. I have been generally impressed by it. I should mention, we also bought one of the steel-framed "Admiral" bikes at about the same time. Though I'd rather put my faith in steel over aluminum, and I prefer the Admiral's beautiful tapered fork, I think now that this Point Beach is the better bike. Although "everybody knows" that fat tires are inefficient and generally died out along with the dinosaurs, I find that this Point Beach is very noticeably smoother riding than the skinny-tired Admiral. Due to the aluminum frame material, the Point Beach feels no heavier than the Admiral, and may actually be lighter overall. In fact, I think I'd rather have these cool-looking fat tires than have the weight and complexity of the front and rear suspension systems now so much the fad on bicycles. I don't notice any big difference in pedalling effort vs. skinny tires. The fenders and overall paint job on this bike are entirely satisfactory. The brakes are very powerful, only flawed by a spring balance problem that I can't adjust out, so one brake shoe is always dragging slightly. The frame geometry is significantly better on this Point Beach than on the Admiral, making pedalling a lot more comfortable. The feature I like the least is the old-fashioned handlebars that reach so far to the rear, giving a tiller-like feeling to the steering. More practical and ergonomic handlebars would be a big plus. Also, an internally-geared-hub type of transmission would be far more appropriate and far more functional on a bike of this type than the cheapo derailleurs with their exposed parts and need for constant adjustment. The Point Beach has 7 rear cogs from 14 to 28 teeth, for a total transmission range of 200%. A good 3- or 5-speed internal-gear hub would be so much easier to keep adjusted, so much more durable and trouble-free for the average type of person likely to purchase this bike. The well-proven SRAM 5-speed, to name one example, has about a 250% range... significantly more flexible abilities but with only 5 speeds to keep track of instead of 7. The rear rack could be a bit sturdier, I'd much prefer one made of round steel rods instead of formed sheet metal, but at least the bike comes with this useful feature. It is unfortunate that Americans have come to view bicycles only as toys to be used on sunny dry days. It is a great feeling to be able to ride to work or even do shopping chores on a bicycle. But to do that a bike needs to have fenders as the first requirement, or the rider will find himself sprayed with trucker spit and liquified dog poo-poo every time the road is a bit wet. Though this bike has a few flaws, at least it does come with fenders.

Was this review helpful? (151) (14)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Fuzzbean
Upper Michigan
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Love it!
1/3/2014

Customer review by glitter4

5.0 stars 1/3/2014 by glitter4
by glitter4

After reading the reviews on this bike I was a little skeptical, but figured I give it a try. Schwinn is a good bike -I've had them all my life and at 58 I figure I needed a bike to get back into shape. Wal-Mart assembles the bike for free, so why people were complaining about putting it together, I'm not sure. I ordered it online and went to store to get it and girl wheeled it out to me. It is a pretty bike to start. I did have to adjust the seat to tilt down a little and did adjust the handle bars, but I love this bike. After having 10 speeds and mountain bikes, it is nice to sit upright while riding, the seat is very comfortable and it is so much fun to ride! I love that it has a back fender, so I can attach a basket if I want to go to local produce stand and buy stuff. Negative remarks about the quality are unfounded - it's a Schwinn and that is all I need to say. I would defiantly recommend this bike to anyone, well worth the price!!!

Was this review helpful? (36) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
glitter4
Jensen Beach,Fl.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Excellent value
6/27/2012

Customer review by Weidga

5.0 stars 6/27/2012 by Weidga
by Weidga

Walmart assembled the bike for free, which was a real bonus. The upright riding position is soo comfortable, no more sore wrists, neck, or back. It is also lighter than I expected! Though it looks substantial, the aluminum frame does seem to make a difference, which is also a pleasant surprise. My old mountain bike is noticeably harder to lift onto my bike rack. It shifts about as I would expect, 7 gears are good for basic riding on reasonably hilly neighborhood roads and highways. I think people who complain about the gears and shifting may be expecting a $500 bike for under $200! The brakes feel and work very well, and the bike looks good. Overall, I am very pleased with this bike!

Was this review helpful? (33) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Weidga
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Wonderful bike
5/1/2013

Customer review by kndkids

5.0 stars 5/1/2013 by kndkids
by kndkids

I called my local Walmart ahead of time to have them put my bike together so it was ready when I picked it up. When my husband and I were walking out of the store with the new bike we noticed that there were some major scratches on the frame of the bike but because it was an online purchase only we choose to still take the bike home and try to find paint to match to cover it so I was very unhappy about that, not sure if it was sent that way or was done when it was put together. Other then that I love this bike it rides very smooth and shifts very easy, it is a true classic and I love the colors after looking at the wild colors of other bikes this one fit my needs. I wanted a cruiser but I need knee replacements and needed one that could be shifted to meet my needs for easier pedaling up hills. The last bike I had years ago was always making noises but this one is quiet no squeeks or grinding noises just smooth riding.

Was this review helpful? (29) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
kndkids
Nekoosa, WI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Excellent Value
9/22/2012

Customer review by BusDaddy

5.0 stars 9/22/2012 by BusDaddy
by BusDaddy

My wife and I are both avid bicycle riders. Our everyday bikes cost thosands of dollars so I can speak with some authority and experience. The price point of this bike represents an excellent value. Although the components ( the parts like the gears and brakes and such) are entry level, they work just fine. It's a cruiser bike and it does what it was designed to do very well. It appears to be fairly well made and has many nice features like the quick release seat post clamp ( you don't need tools to adjust the seat) and rear rack so you can haul stuff. I mounted a very large basket on the front so the dog could ride along and the wide handlebars make it very stable. The gears and front and rear handbrakes are not usually found on most cruisers so the Point Beach can easily justify its slightly more expensive price, especially when compared to the rest of the pack. If you are in the market for a cruiser give this one a serious look. There are cheaper bikes out there but not with all of the features that this one has. And they will make your riding experience much more pleasurable.

Was this review helpful? (28) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
BusDaddy
Baltimore, MD
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Fun, comfortable bike to ride
6/16/2012

Customer review by GraceElizabeth

5.0 stars 6/16/2012 by GraceElizabeth
by GraceElizabeth

I love the look of this bike. It is attractive and fun to ride. It is also comfortable to ride. It was easy to get up the hill at the bike trail with the 7 speed. Our bike trail is mostly flat but there is one hill next to a dam that is pretty steep and is hard to get up but not with this bicycle. It was a breeze to climb. A big thank you to Schwinn for making these beautiful vintage reproduction bicycles. Love the handle bars, seat, fenders, white wall tires, 7 speeds, rack on the back.

Was this review helpful? (23) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
GraceElizabeth
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
I LOVE MY NEW BIKE
1/15/2014

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 1/15/2014 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

I received this bike for Christmas from my husband and I felt like I was eight years old again. He had it shipped to the store and Walmart put it together. After a few days, before I had the chance to ride it I noticed a dent on the fender and just like the other reviews the handlebars slipped and we couldn't get the seat to tighten up. So we exchanged it. When I picked out the same bike in the store I noticed that the back tire needed some air, so we took it to the gas station before we went home. By morning the tire was flat again. Rather then fixing a brand new bike we took it back again. Walmart gave me no trouble, replaced it for a second time. The third bike was perfect , handlebars are nice and tight and the seat is tight too. Perfect ride. I love my bike. Thank you Walmart for making it right!

Was this review helpful? (23) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
South Jersey
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
SO DISAPPOINTED!
6/23/2013

Customer review by Doogerpop

1.0 stars 6/23/2013 by Doogerpop
by Doogerpop

Walmart shows this bike having over 100 reviews - many with 5 stars - the problem is MOST of the reviews are from LAST SEASONS "Point Beach" bike - which was a different style - different size and different color (red) - THAT bike was AWESEOME and deserved a 5 star rating - THIS bike however NO! Schwinn changed the handlebars to be more mountain bike type vs cruise type (big negative) It's not nearly as well built as last seasons -they changed the color from red to blue - not nearly as classic looking - and they made the bike SMALLER - I am 5'4 and it is to small for me - even with the handle bars raised up I still have to hunch over to reach them. I am SO DISAPPOINTED that it is advertised as a "cruiser" - when it should be classified as a "comfort" - the picture looks cool - but I am taking mine back - ARE YOU LISTENING SCHWINN? BRING BACK THE 2012 MODEL IT WAS A MUCH BETTER BIKE!

Was this review helpful? (28) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Doogerpop
Portland, Oregon
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
great bike for beach and rv parks.
10/22/2011

Customer review by aireman

4.0 stars 10/22/2011 by aireman
by aireman

seat comfortable, gears change easy skipping very min. assembly was quick, but need metric tools. I do not like fenders but wife does. Breaks took awhile to adjust but work well. fenders rattle and need to much adjusting. overall nice bike for the price.

Was this review helpful? (19) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
aireman
Lake City, Fl.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Poor Packing/Damaged Product
12/24/2013

Customer review by An anonymous customer

3.0 stars 12/24/2013 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

Bought this for my wife for a Christmas present. I take off work today (Christmas eve), to assemble the bike while she is at work. I open the box and find the rear carrier rack has been crushed down onto the back fender. I jumped on the phone a few minutes ago, and surprise, Pacific Cycle is off for the holidays! I know, I didn't expect to get the part before Christmas, but this is a huge disappointment that I will have to give her the bike with all this damage (see picture below). I learned a lesson...I should have ordered it earlier to give myself turnaround for damaged parts replacements. I read about others on here having this same issue, and thought..naahh, that won't happen to me. Schwinn, Pacific Cycles AND Walmart should be working together to improve the packing for this product. It comes as a normal bike sized box, inside a larger box. That's it! No bracing inside to prevent damage. I know these bikes are made in China, and don't have a problem with that, but I ask Pacific Cycle...are you looking at the product before it goes to your customer? Quality Control.

Was this review helpful? (14) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
Laconia, Indiana
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
Everyone's head turned when my bike rolled out
11/2/2011

Customer review by AuntyMSanAntonio

5.0 stars 11/2/2011 by AuntyMSanAntonio
by AuntyMSanAntonio

You know you've made a good purchase when the associates and customers are giving you envious glances. I had two people stop me in the parking lot about the bike even before I got it to the car. For the price, I don't think you can go wrong.

Was this review helpful? (15) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
AuntyMSanAntonio
San Antonio, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
As advertised
9/24/2011

Customer review by masonmop

5.0 stars 9/24/2011 by masonmop
by masonmop

Looked around alot before I bought this bike and it was exactly what I was looking for. Everything as advertised - comfortable and fun to ride around.

Was this review helpful? (14) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
masonmop
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Love the bike
8/3/2013

Customer review by Blessed1too

4.0 stars 8/3/2013 by Blessed1too
by Blessed1too

Love the bike, but handlebars were loose. Bike needed some adjustments to brakes, handlebars, and bike chain came off. Other then that riding and enjoying my bike.

Was this review helpful? (14) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Blessed1too
Beaumont, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Nice basic bike, shifter is cheaply made,
3/5/2012

Customer review by jertigger

1.0 stars 3/5/2012 by jertigger
by jertigger

Bike itself is nice, only took 20 min to assemble. wheels needed spoke adjustments to stop wobble and stop brakes from rubbing. shifter assbly at rear wheel is cheap cheap poor quality,metal bracket bent and caused chain to jam up. Took back so wouldnt have to continually mess with it.

Was this review helpful? (20) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
jertigger
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Women's Point Beach Cruiser
4/24/2013

Customer review by Pidgeroo

5.0 stars 4/24/2013 by Pidgeroo
by Pidgeroo

I absolutely LOVE this bike! Comfortable size and great seat. It's exactly what I wanted. I got the men's style for my husband!

Was this review helpful? (11) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Pidgeroo
Eastpoint, F
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Exactly what I wanted!
10/26/2012

Customer review by DiverVic

5.0 stars 10/26/2012 by DiverVic
by DiverVic

I'm a 50ish female and this bike is just what I wanted. It's sturdy and has everything I wanted on it: fenders, rack over back fender, a few speeds, nice wide tires, upright handlebars and a comfortable seat. It's also beautiful. Don't forget to ask Wal-Mart to put it together for you, assembly is free.

Was this review helpful? (11) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
DiverVic
TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Wonderful!
5/31/2013

Customer review by IttyBitty1209

5.0 stars 5/31/2013 by IttyBitty1209
by IttyBitty1209

It was so nice to be able to find a cruiser bike with hand brakes! It looks great and rides very well. The only thing I would recommend is getting it put together at the store. I thought, with a long history of self assembled items, I would be able to handle it. It was REALLY frustrating. The instructions in the booklet were not clear at all and I had to Google a couple of things to make sure I was getting it right. Putting the front wheel on involved undoing the brakes which was really difficult to put back together. Other than that, it's been smooth sailing. I got some accessories and they all fit, even though the handle bars are not what I would call "standard." I got a wicker basket that mounts on the handle bars and even with my little dog in it (who weighs about 10 lbs) it still handles very well, although I had to move the basket over slightly as it was resting on the brakes when mounted in the center. The gear shifting is smooth as well. Everyone is jealous of my gorgeous new bike and when I tell them the price, they're even more jealous!

Was this review helpful? (11) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
IttyBitty1209
Niagara Falls, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1-20 of 172 total reviews
1-20 of 172 reviews