Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 77 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

77 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

77 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

91%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
43
4 stars
25
3 stars
4
2 stars
1
1 stars
4
1-20 of 60 total reviews
91%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 60 total reviews
1-20 of 60 reviews
quaility bike, even over more expensive bikes
11/20/2011

Customer review by turtleking1974

5.0 stars 11/20/2011 by turtleking1974
by turtleking1974

where to begin, i researched alot of bikes decided to buy mongoose deception good bike for money but not good enough, many issues and after going back to store for third time it stayed there. I saw the scwinn comp (origanally in silver) when buying the deception but when i went back it was in a very nice metalic dark blue and some changes than picture online, frame style little different, squared bottom tube (improved i think) instead of gear wires running along bottom of bike all wires are run along top of the top tube, nice click shifter instead of twist(much much better), has almost all features of deception with exception of disk breaks which i really didnt like at all anyway,and without quick release back rim but this bike is awesome and so happy with it, i know i havent had it for very long but you can tell quality difference over other bikes right away

Was this review helpful? (119) (17)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
turtleking1974
tacoma, WA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Great bike with one exception....
3/16/2012

Customer review by AJC1102

4.0 stars 3/16/2012 by AJC1102
by AJC1102

I love the bike, it's a great priced bike, it's light, and it rides great....but I implore you......GET A NEW SEAT. The seat it comes with is very uncomfortable and narrow. I took the bike for a nice little 10 mile ride the second day I had it, really loved the ride until my butt started calling out for help:) I switched the seat out to a much softer and wider seat and have not one single complaint. You may have to tune the gears a little but they still shifted nice from the get go. I did a lot of research on a lot of low priced bikes before I bought this one, and am glad I ended up with this bike. It's perfect for regular trail riding or road riding, but I probably wouldn't take it down really extreme trails or go canyon riding......of course if you are half way intelligent you know that a $200 bike is not built for the extreme riding. If you are just looking for a nice, inexpensive bike to have a little fun on and get out for some exercise, this bike is the way to go! Have fun everyone:)

Was this review helpful? (83) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
AJC1102
Tampa, Fl
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Awesome Bike, Poor Shipping!
11/22/2011

Customer review by PennellUSA

5.0 stars 11/22/2011 by PennellUSA
by PennellUSA

The bike once fully assembled is beautiful, It has everything you can need on a bike, However I suggest shipping with site to store and have an associate assemble the bike. The bike was damaged in shipping. The chain guard was cracked and bent. Do not let that stray you from the bike itself. Thank you.

Was this review helpful? (62) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
PennellUSA
Fisk, Missouri
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
9/27/2011

Customer review by hillsiderider

4.0 stars 9/27/2011 by hillsiderider
by hillsiderider

Much better bike for the money than the Genesis v2100, and the saber. The v2100 was riddled with issues, it went back and I got the saber, the saber has nice features but when it comes down to it, it's heavy and weak, it also went back and I got the aluminum comp - very light - no disc brakes, but they you can tell the quality difference and they hold up, shifts well. It may not be a bike from your lbs, but for the money - its what to get. The only issue is that the rear rim needed to be trued at the lbs - but that's expected

Was this review helpful? (78) (15)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
hillsiderider
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Good all-around bike.
4/9/2012

Customer review by EDinRI

5.0 stars 4/9/2012 by EDinRI
by EDinRI

I'm in my late 50's and wanted to get into riding again after about 10 years and wanted an economical bike that was built well and would take some punishment and didn't look like a kid's bike. The Schwinn Aluminum Comp Mountain bike is just what I was looking for. Not a lot of frills, but pleasantly equipped. Lightweight, great breaking system, the paddle-style shifters are all pluses. The derailleurs needed some tweaking, but for the most part work well and are smooth. And the silver color doesn't attract attention. Store assembly was not bad, a couple of minor adjustments that took all of 15 minutes was all was needed to be perfect. All in all, I'm impressed with this $200 bike having logged about 50 miles in the first 2 weeks of ownership and not one issue. I recommend it, just remember it is a $200 bike and you won't be dissapointed.

Was this review helpful? (35) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
EDinRI
Pawtucket, RI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
a lot a bang for the buck
6/28/2012

Customer review by Geee2

5.0 stars 6/28/2012 by Geee2
by Geee2

I have been pretty happy with this bike right out of the box. The frame and main components seem very well made for a $200 bike. I have put 150-200 miles on it so far and feel that it is well worth it. There are a lot of pros. The price, an aluminum frame, v - brakes that so far stop on a dime, shimano rapid fire shifters that have worked well, long alloy seat post with quick adjust clamp, alloy rims and hubs, the rear derailleur is a shimano tourney which is not high end but better than what you will find on a lot of other cheaper bikes, the front fork is decent for the light riding that I do and will be fine for xc use, It does not have a lock out but it really does not bother me much. You can feel it moving but it is not drastic enough for it to be a negative. There are a few cons but they are minor. The grips are nice when new but I am already rubbing the texture off on the sides and they are getting slippery and they are not as thick and cushy as they could be, the front derailleur is a no name (literally there is no name on it at all) and looks very cheap but it does work. Even though this is a mtn bike most of my riding thus far has been on pavement and gravel and I am already noticing significant wear on the rear tire. It must be pretty soft rubber which means great traction but it is wearing quickly. The only other complaint that I have is the seat. For some it will probably be fine but it was killing me and I had to replace it but this is personal preference. Some of the other reviewers said that the free wheel gave out on them very early and that it was a no name. They may have changed this because from what i can tell and the limited paper work that I got it looks like it is now a cassette style rather than a freewheel so here is to hoping and if it does go bad I will just get a replacement on line whichever style it is. You can buy a nice shimano deore for a very fair price on amazon so no biggy. Hope this helps anyone looking at this bike. I have been very pleased so far and would definitely recommend this bike.

Was this review helpful? (30) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Geee2
Greenwood WI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Buy this Bike!
5/24/2012

Customer review by JohnATtheFALLS

5.0 stars 5/24/2012 by JohnATtheFALLS
by JohnATtheFALLS

This weighs 32 pounds ready to ride! It has good quality V brakes which are much better than cheap quality disk brakes. The tires have deep tread and are ready for off road. Seriously, look at the other brands on the rack and read reviews. Schwinn put excellent tires on this bike. I have put 60 miles on this bike in the past week, at least half are off road. These are great off road tires. I shopped around and test rode $500 bikes at the local bike shops. They were all heavier and had cheap tires. You can get a similar priced bike with more features but they will be cheap features. I was not interested in rear suspension as it would add 8 to 10 pounds to the bike along with the extra complexity. I purchased a Schwinn Medium sized seat with the hole in the center and this takes the edge off of most bumps. Of course with a properly fitted bike, raising off your seat just a bit is the proper way to go over the rough spots. I have a 32 to 34 inch inseam. I had to purchase a 350 mm seat post to get an extra inch for the proper leg extension on this bike. A seat post upgrade is a worthwhile investment as it will lighten the bike by getting rid of the heavy two nut seat post tilt and clamp assembly. Of all the other "mountain bikes" at Wal-Mart, this had the largest frame and required the least seat post extension.

Was this review helpful? (28) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
JohnATtheFALLS
Adirondack Mountains
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Top 25 contributor
Terrific bike for the price
4/16/2012

Customer review by Whitspur

4.0 stars 4/16/2012 by Whitspur
by Whitspur

A great example of the difference between paying $150 or $200 for a bike. The extra $50 got me an aluminum frame instead of the heavier steel, and Shimano shifters. Light, easy to maneuver, smooth shifting. A great bicycle for the price!

Was this review helpful? (24) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Whitspur
North Hollywood, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
good value for low-end bike
12/31/2011

Customer review by merimichele

5.0 stars 12/31/2011 by merimichele
by merimichele

My 10-year old son needed a new bike, but I wasn't willing to pay the money for a good bike...although I am pretty fed up with the gears on these low end bikes never working right. This bike seems to be very sturdy and easy to ride. Pleased so far. Looks nice and will be good for easy trail riding. Took advantage of the free shipping to store since we were celebrating Christmas out of town. The bike shipped quickly and there were no issues with pickup. Overall a positive experience.

Was this review helpful? (28) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
merimichele
Raleigh, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Schwinn for the win!
5/3/2012

Customer review by JOURNEY1

5.0 stars 5/3/2012 by JOURNEY1
by JOURNEY1

Doctor asked me to get more exercise and was lookin for low impact exercise equipment. Schwinn was the answer, makes a great product. The frame is not too heavy. the Alum Comp has thumb shifter which is handy. Color is great. Frame is not your ordinary round tube, has details that I have not seen before. For my size 5'-10" and weight 220lbs handles great. plenty of room for adding tool bags, water bottles and night lamps. One of the best buys I have made for myself.

Was this review helpful? (20) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
JOURNEY1
San Antonio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
lite great looking bike
5/9/2012

Customer review by farhadny

5.0 stars 5/9/2012 by farhadny
by farhadny

I love this bike.. nice trigger shift system. very light weight. good brakes. good looking in silver color. i'm 5'6" and i place the seat all the way down so that my feet can touch ground while in seating position.

Was this review helpful? (17) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
farhadny
humble, tx
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Lost to my wife!
5/25/2012

Customer review by JBHofCO

5.0 stars 5/25/2012 by JBHofCO
by JBHofCO

I found this bike looking for a model light enough to take in and out of my SUV for daily noontime exercise at work. After a week of riding and tweaking the new bike my wife asked if she could test it too. She loved it so much I had to look for another bike for me again. It is in the 30lb area and rides like our old $650 Giant mountain bike (that we both liked too). Considering the quality of the components and the great aluminum frame at this price it is possibly the best deal one could find anywhere.

Was this review helpful? (16) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
JBHofCO
Colorado
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Good inexpensive bike
5/3/2012

Customer review by Herminator

4.0 stars 5/3/2012 by Herminator
by Herminator

Just to stay in shape, wife wanted a bike to ride the trail along the river and neighborhood streets . Got her an Aluminum Comp Ladies. Thought I should ride also so got this bike. Both of us are in our 60's and these are our first bikes since we were kids. Had both shipped to house costing a whopping 97 cents each. Free assembly at the store but wanted to do it myself. Both are very nice looking bikes and seem to have good quality considering the investment. Nice controls, grips, paint. After I got the derailleurs set up they work well. Read several reviews complaining of wheel run out problems. Our's were out a little so made up a spoke wrench and snugged them all up and trued the wheels where necessary. Since, I have added the Schwinn water bottle/holder combo and the Bell Lumina light set, both purchased at Walmart. These items work well and coordinate nicely with the bike. Once I got some proper riding shorts seat comfort is not an issue. I find that I ride more streets than off road so if I had it to do again, I might go for more of a street bike but still very pleased. Already in better shape!

Was this review helpful? (15) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Herminator
Atlanta, GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
6/28/2012

Customer review by PakiKid

5.0 stars 6/28/2012 by PakiKid
by PakiKid

Great Bike! If you don't know how to assemble bikes, don't try to assemble it. I tried assembling it myself and ended up putting the fork backwards. I received a free assembly card with the bicycle. It's better to get it assembled at Walmart for free or any bike shop rather than wasting your time and energy trying to assemble it. Also, you can't get free assembly if you've tried assembling it, Walmart will only assemble it if you haven't tried assembling it.

Was this review helpful? (11) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
PakiKid
Brooklyn, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Excellent bike
6/22/2012

Customer review by Househub

5.0 stars 6/22/2012 by Househub
by Househub

I purchased this from my local Walmart about two months ago and have put about 50 miles in so far. I did have to touch up the derailer adjustments and brakes but expected this after reading other reviews. I weigh 230 lbs. plus but it seems to accept this with no problems to date. I find the light weight of the bike (due to the aluminum frame) to be a nice feature as it can be lifted easily to turn around or load for transport. Many other reviews suggest replacing the factory seat and they are right on the money. I first purchased a larger S----- seat that looked like it would be the ultimate in comfort. Looks were decieving plus I was always sliding forward. I finally purchased a Selle Royal Mahattan from a local bike shop which solved both problems - comfort and slipping. If anyone is looking for a seat, be sure to check for a non-slip surface. I would recommend this bike to anyone. If I had to make one design change, I would make the handlebar height adjustable.

Was this review helpful? (11) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Househub
Maine
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Good Looking Bike...Loose Pedal
5/8/2012

Customer review by VBBiker

3.0 stars 5/8/2012 by VBBiker
by VBBiker

The bike looked great but one of the pedals fell off after just 2 days of use. Took it back to the store where they gave me a brand new bike! Great service but the new bike also has a loose pedal but hasn't fallen off yet. Maybe it is just this model because Schwinn has a great reputation...

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
VBBiker
Nice bike. Worst customer service.
1/21/2013

Customer review by Lycanthrope

1.0 stars 1/21/2013 by Lycanthrope
by Lycanthrope

My Aluminum Comp was shipped to my door as expected, but was assembled incorrectly. Specifically, when the cranks were installed at the factory the chain was pinned between the sprockets and the frame. The cranks were torqued down and it's hard to say what damage was done. It certainly chewed up the sprocket and likely bent the chain. I called Pacific (who makes this bike for Schwinn) and their response was to "Take it to a bike shop and if there are parts broken we will replace them, but we won't cover labor". Essentially this means: "We assembled the bike wrong and probably broke some parts, but it's your responsibility to pay for our error." I asked if they'd pay for a $5 crank puller and I'd do it myself, but they declined. So.....I paid for a puller and I'm waiting to see what real damage was done. Worst customer service ever.

Was this review helpful? (10) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Lycanthrope
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
Excellent bike after some work
10/26/2012

Customer review by MountAiry

3.0 stars 10/26/2012 by MountAiry
by MountAiry

I gave this excellent bike 3 stars. Why? This is a note to those who want a bike to assemble and ride and be very happy with right out of the box. To make this bike excellent, the front derailleur must be replaced. It is incompatable with the Shimano EF-51 shifter. No way to adjust it properly and I'm a pretty good adjuster of things. The original no-name derailleur probably cost $2 - really! The Shimano instructions advise using Acera or Altus models. So I installed an Acera $17 which meant, for me, buying a chain break tool $12 and a new shifter cable (and I threw in a new chain $18 but that was my preference.) I also had to replace a bent front brake cable, which came that way. Had to buy the $5 Bell brake and shift cable repair kit at Walmart. (I could have pressed for warranty repair under my Walmart service plan, but it was easier for me to buy the repair kit.) This requires hardened cutters or a cut-off wheel to cut properly. I also had to shorten the rear brake cable housing by a full 1 1/2 inches to make it right - also used my dremel cutoff wheel for that. Now the bike is perfect. I'll see about the seat which some have complained about. In all, I'm very happy with my purchase, but I advise those without the skills or tools to take the bike to a professional bike shop for assembly and upgrades before you ride it. (Walmart will assembly it for free, but of course will not do upgrades.) Overall, the bike, with the upgraded derailleur, chain tool and cables and $0.97 delivery and MD state tax came to about $245, which is a steal for what I have now. But if you need to take it to a bike shop to really make this product shine, then you may be paying an extra $100+, so buy accordingly. One final observation: this bike has the best paint and graphics I've ever seen. It really sparkles and looks great!

Was this review helpful? (7) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MountAiry
Mount Airy, MD
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great affordable quality product
7/21/2012

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 7/21/2012 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

I wanted a bike in the range of no more than 200 dollars. I did my research at different retailers, bike sites and online merchants. By far, this is the best bike I found by far. I found that this specific bike is sold exclusively to Wal-Mart, so that's why you may not find it somewhere else. The product arrived one week later, it comes with a free assembly flyer at any walmart store. However, I am living in Manhattan, NY. No walmart was close enough, so I had to assembled it by myself, and surprisingly it was very easy. The bike comes pre-assembled, basically you need to put the front wheel, the seat and the maneuver. Everything else is already in place, and brakes and shifts are already adjusted. Even wheels come with some air, so I was able to ride the bike to the closest gas station. I recommend this product 100%

Was this review helpful? (6) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
New York, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
7/16/2012

Customer review by pjcycler

3.0 stars 7/16/2012 by pjcycler
by pjcycler

The gears have been the issue with this bike from the beginning, I have had to have the right hand side gear shifter replaced at a cost of 40$ it broke going over a bridge in less than a year. I ride this bike for transportation everyday at more than 10 miles a day and this is mostly flat riding with climbing one bridge 2x a day. Also the bike derailed early on in the first month every time I crossed a bridge with the chain falling off and I had to take it to the bike shop to have it serviced 2 or three times. I wore the tires out in 7 months, so I believe the tires are very cheap , the tires I put on are a smooth tire since I do not ride the bike off road. I am a woman and bought this bike the day I did to replace my woman's bike that was 2 years old also a schwinn that I had had no problem with doing the same kind of riding. I was very disappointed with this model .

Was this review helpful? (6) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
pjcycler
Stuart , Florida
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 60 total reviews
1-20 of 60 reviews