Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 56 reviews | 3.8 out of 5

4.0 stars

56 reviews | 3.8 out of 5

4.0 stars

56 reviews | 3.8 out of 5

73%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
28
4 stars
11
3 stars
5
2 stars
3
1 stars
9
1-20 of 52 total reviews
73%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 52 total reviews
1-20 of 52 reviews
Great Buy!
10/17/2011

Customer review by ChickenLegChad

5.0 stars 10/17/2011 by ChickenLegChad
by ChickenLegChad

I took the Deception out on a pretty challenging (but fun!) trail right after I bought it. It handled great! I'm sure the more expensive bikes handle better, but at $219 this is a steal. After my fiance' rode her 26" Roadmaster on the trail, we took her bike back to Walmart with no problem and she also picked up a Deception. I love the disk brakes and quick release wheels. And the color is nice. We didn't like the grip shifters though, so we bought trigger shifters for a cheap price and they work like a charm. Also, we replaced the seat. After a little adjustment on the brakes and front derailleur, it rides great! If you want a great bike that doesn't hurt your bank account, you can't lose with the Deception 29!

Was this review helpful? (93) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ChickenLegChad
Ennis, TX
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Lets just put it like this
5/28/2012

Customer review by glockman1911

5.0 stars 5/28/2012 by glockman1911
by glockman1911

Ok here it is, i am 425lbs man. i was looking for a bike that would hold my weight. after doing some research i found that a bike that was "made for my weight" was $2,400! i knew i would never get myself to pay that much for a bike so i went to walmart and found this 29'' bike. i road it around the store a little and fell in love. Long story short, i have had the bike for about a month and i have put 100 miles on it #i have a speed/odomitor on my bike from walmart to# so i know i have road it that much. I have not had ANY problems with it. I would buy this bike 100x over. i have lost over 25lbs so far.... ganna keep riding!

Was this review helpful? (102) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
glockman1911
orrville, oh
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Great Bike and Surprisingly Tough
1/16/2012

Customer review by SPDeer

4.0 stars 1/16/2012 by SPDeer
by SPDeer

Bought this Mongoose aluminum frame bike from my local Walmart. I test rode it today in my local mountainous state park and it rode well and help up well. Let me be clear, this is extremely rough riding, steep hills with large rocks and many large roots and stumps. In fact, the last name-brand $700 mountain bike I had broke something each and every time I rode this course. I learned the hard way that MB warranties don't cover 'abuse' which is what the shop I bought it from said riding on rough trails was! So I was out $150 in repairs each time I rode it. So, for $200 being able to stand-up to the rough tide is critical to me and this Mongoose did it. It rode well as well and the 29 inch wheels definitely improved its ability to handle the big bumps. I never felt out-of-control or like I would go over the handlebars. The grip shifters are Ok and could be upgraded. I also relaced the seat with a cushier one also from Walmart. The stock seat was not bad but I just needed more support. Oh, the dual disk brakes were excellent and handled some very steep descents without a problem. I highly recommend this bike. It may not be a top-notch name brand but seems reasonably tough, is light enough, has great brakes, and the price cant be beat!

Was this review helpful? (57) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
SPDeer
Birmingham, Alaba,a
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Good value for a 29er.
10/27/2011

Customer review by 257Roberts

4.0 stars 10/27/2011 by 257Roberts
by 257Roberts

I purchased this bike for my son a college student who needed a bike to get to campus. He had to go down some cut throughs in the woods though. He is over 6' so I chose the Deception since it is a 29er. It was already put together in the store. I originally ordered it over the internet, but the estimated shipping was slow, two weeks. I found a bike at a store, so I traveled 40 miles and picked it up. As it turned out, the shipping to the store was exactly two weeks, so I am glad I found the bike in stock. The components are entry level but very functional. The only real downer are the forks, they are sticky, not sure if they will loosen up later. I did have to true both wheels, adjust the brakes, and adjust the gears. All in all it took about 3 hours to get the bike ready to ride properly. If you do not have many tools or time, best bet would be to have a local bike shop set the bike up properly. Believe me, you do not want to ride it in the condition that I picked mine up at the store. I would purchase the bike again. The frame and wheels alone are worth $200.

Was this review helpful? (64) (12)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
257Roberts
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
excellent bike
10/29/2011

Customer review by djs58

5.0 stars 10/29/2011 by djs58
by djs58

This is a wonderful bike, I have rode this bike everyday since I purchased it on 10/23/11. I have had some family members ride and they just love the bike as well. Looking to purchase antoher one soon in a different color. I am so glad I purchased this bike . And thanks to all that have wiritten their reviews because this help me with my decision on what bike to purchase.

Was this review helpful? (20) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
djs58
Stockton,Ca
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Good bicycle for tall person.
12/5/2011

Customer review by ELC13

5.0 stars 12/5/2011 by ELC13
by ELC13

The bicycle is great for a tall person I'm 6'3" and it allows me to set the seat up and not have my knees up in my chest like on the standard 27" small frame models. It rides good and shifts gears nicely.

Was this review helpful? (27) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ELC13
College Station, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Read the Manual
3/14/2012

Customer review by chrisolicious

4.0 stars 3/14/2012 by chrisolicious
by chrisolicious

I know it sounds crazy but i've always been a fan of cheapo bikes. But then again i dont trust anyone else to put em together. if you buy the bike from a box store expect to have to re assemble the whole thing. Start with the shifters they say their are aligned at the factory, in reality they are not. set your high and low limiters on front and back. then check the crank for proper tention. They almost always have a little wobble in em right from the store. Then adjust the brakes with the anchor bolt at the wheel so that the quick adjusts at the levers are all the way in. none of the cables are pre stretched but after about 20 miles of riding youll notice things like the low gear in the back may not engage anymore and the brakes levers are nearly to the handlebars. So now is the time to re adjust the shifter and brake levers. after that you should be good to go for a while. As a motorcycle rider regular maintenance on our two wheeled friends has become habit. So i guess what im saying is dont expect a mass produced bike to be perfect right from the store. theres nothing wrong with em, but be ready to set em up yourself or at a bike shop. I would love to buy a trek or cannondale but i live in a town where they would steal your shirt if you didnt keep your arms down so those are out of the question.

Was this review helpful? (21) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
chrisolicious
Hannibal, MO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great bike, better price
3/9/2012

Customer review by DGL1

5.0 stars 3/9/2012 by DGL1
by DGL1

Pros: Fantastic looks and quality paint scheme that belie the price, rides smoothly, the disc brakes are a nice touch. Cons: The front suspension is a bit choppy and unsure on rugged trails, heavy components contributing to an overall heavy bike, tires seem cheap. For the price point, this bike really can't be beat. I looked at several models within this price range, and this is far and away the best one--you would really have to start looking at bikes in the $600 and up range for anything better. Upon getting this bike home, I realigned the disk brakes so the wheels rolled smoothly, removed all of the reflectors, waxed the frame with a liquid car wax, and removed the kick stand (you could beat someone to death with that kickstand...it is a ridiculous, unnecessary addition of weight to the bike). The chain also needs to be greased upon getting the bike from the store or shipped directly.

Was this review helpful? (12) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
DGL1
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
excelent bike
3/1/2012

Customer review by geoffdawg

5.0 stars 3/1/2012 by geoffdawg
by geoffdawg

I just purchased this bike like 3 days ago and i gotta tell ya it rides real smooth off road ive ridden it every day on some trails and the big wheels really help go over whatever i want without loosing too much speed. as for the seat it is really uncomfortable but you cant always be sitting so its not a big deal. the gears shift real well you just need to ease up on the pedals while shifting. The brakes stop you real quick im about 286lbs and 5'11" and it stops me. the big tires give you a good work out when your goin uphill or on the road. and the frame welds are done preatty good and it seems to be real sturdy. For 219 dollars this is a killer deal. if you are shorter than me, then it will probably be too big for you. Id also recomend you get a water bottle cage cause these tires will wear you out. just dont go and jump it the rims are weak.

Was this review helpful? (10) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
geoffdawg
Arizona
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great buy!
3/11/2012

Customer review by SnRBarr

4.0 stars 3/11/2012 by SnRBarr
by SnRBarr

The bike was very easy to assemble. The assembly took about 30 minutes which included adjusting the brakes and gears (I've had NO prior experience before this). I've only had the bike about one month and it rides extremely nice both on and off road. Thus far, I've only ridden it about 100 miles around town and on nearby trails and the bike handles very well. The only thing I have to do is buy a more comfortable seat because after 10 miles, my rear end starts to hurt. Other than thst, I'm very glad I purchased the bike.

Was this review helpful? (9) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
SnRBarr
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
12/22/2011

Customer review by aznicole

5.0 stars 12/22/2011 by aznicole
by aznicole

bought this for my husband for Christmas. he is 5'9 and 30 and he enjoys it for off road and on road. he has taken it in the mudd and says it performs well.

Was this review helpful? (10) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
aznicole
Arizona
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great entry level mountain bike.
8/21/2011

Customer review by cocoloco1

3.0 stars 8/21/2011 by cocoloco1
by cocoloco1

For the price this is a good bike , the only problem I had with mine is removing the haze film over the stickers on the bike wich has a glow to it once remove . I love this bike .

Was this review helpful? (35) (28)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
cocoloco1
Ocala,FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
10/14/2011

Customer review by BIGNUGGET

5.0 stars 10/14/2011 by BIGNUGGET
by BIGNUGGET

this bike rides great, don't know why i waited so long to buy it

Was this review helpful? (14) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
BIGNUGGET
sacramento
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Surprise!
5/25/2012

Customer review by JBHofCO

5.0 stars 5/25/2012 by JBHofCO
by JBHofCO

I had the Genesis 29er for 6 months and from the first day thought it was perfect for my 6'2" 280lb size, sitting on it just felt right at home reminded me of when I was a teen spending so much time on my bike. Then I discovered the Mongoose Deception! It has some of the same nice 29er feel like the Genesis in addition its aluminum frame is much lighter weight and geometry is different with a little lower seat post - even more fun to ride! Tires hold air very well, alignments fine, no hub issues (so far), did replace the seat but the Mongoose seat is one of the best I have seen on a new box bike. I do plan on some upgrades as certainly worth it for this bike. Reading the number of rear cog/chain problems is a bit concerning and I do plan on finding out more about that issue just not first hand.

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
JBHofCO
Colorado
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Great bike
11/21/2011

Customer review by miikk

5.0 stars 11/21/2011 by miikk
by miikk

I bought the bike for my 16 year old son, and he loves it. I had him inspect it prior to purchase. The design, quality of the parts, manufacturing workmanship, and weight met his expectations. The bike meets the specs of much more expensive bikes of 10 years ago.

Was this review helpful? (8) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
miikk
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
good bike for the money but had issues
11/17/2011

Customer review by turtleking1974

4.0 stars 11/17/2011 by turtleking1974
by turtleking1974

idid ALOT of researching bikes and for the money the deception stood out, has alot of features that are awesome but then again what good are they if they are not fully functional, the gears werent adjusted right and so i tried the manual and the chain fell off and broke cheap chain guard (strongly recomend take it to bike shop to be properly adjusted), disk brakes are awesome but dont stop bike very fast and had to take the bike back to walmart to get a rim that wasnt bent so the disk brakes wouldnt rub, alot of bolts and parts were not tightend properly so check your bike thouroughly, the bolts on disk brakes were stripped out(keep in mind its not necessarily walmarts fault bikes are mostly assembled at factory). shocks are sticky.the bike is huge at least by me and im 5' 11" which made me realize the bike had to go back, dont get me wrong though for 200.00 what do you expect, the bike is a good bike overall has quick release seat, and both tires and can upgrade bike to make it awesome im just not spending the money, instead i bought the 26 schwinn aluminum comp which has all features except quick release rear tire plus it has the upgraded quick shifters and most importantly its my size, hope this helps

Was this review helpful? (13) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
turtleking1974
tacoma, WA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
good over all road bike
11/11/2011

Customer review by tuff2

4.0 stars 11/11/2011 by tuff2
by tuff2

good road bike,I would recommend buying a warranty for this bike.I blew the crank bearings out on this bike after six months.Even with warranty it cost me 100.00 dollars.Otherwise no issues with this bike.

Was this review helpful? (10) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
tuff2
bowleys quarters
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Looked great till the Gears gave in
11/30/2011

Customer review by CaliBB

1.0 stars 11/30/2011 by CaliBB
by CaliBB

I actually bought this bike twice from Walmart, it looks great and I had the first one for a week but there were problems with the front gears and that cause the plastic part to crack and break, so I changed it and bought a new seat since the seat it came with was not very comfortable. My second one broke after a week as I was going up a hill and suddenly the gears skipped and grrrrrrrrrrr and I stopped to check if anything was broken but whatever was broken was from the inside and within a week the bike got worst and eventually the gears were totally smashed inside. I did not take this on trail or anything simply going up hill and down and no jumps or anything so I don't know if I got two bad ones or the gears and all are just cheap. Well according to one bike mechanic the gears are just too cheaply made and it would eventually happen. I also had problems with the brakes as no matter how much I adjusted them they still dragged and didn't work as well as they should. So for now I think I have learned my lesson and I will go to a bike shop and try to get a more quality product or maybe try one more time since I have the credit at Walmart for a more expensive one since their return policy and extended warranty can't be beat!

Was this review helpful? (12) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
CaliBB
Santa Monica, California
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
BIKE IS AWESOME
5/27/2012

Customer review by Hapa24

5.0 stars 5/27/2012 by Hapa24
by Hapa24

I just picked this up from Gilroy Walmart and the lady was so nice to hold the only deception on the floor. I asked her to have the bike tech run through all the gears and make sure everything was calibrated. I arrived about 2 hours later and she showed me the bike. I made sure the gears were on point, checked the disc brakes and sat on it. The bike looks fantastic, feels like a tank (in a good way, not too heavy) with huge 29" wheels that scream "fun". The first gear was a bit tight so I let her know and she said, "that's the floor model, I had our tech make a brand new one in the back." Great service and everything checked out. I tightened the brakes when I got home and removed some of the stickers. I double checked the handle bars / stem and it was off to the trail. I figure if I ride it hard and it responds well, it will be a keeper. What a keeper and for $219, that's a steal. I'm loving this bike and thanks to all the people who wrote reviews. Your info really helped me with my decision to purchase. BUY THE MONGOOSE DECEPTION and WALMART ROCKS!!!

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Hapa24
Bay Area
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Good bike
8/18/2011

Customer review by airsofter108

4.0 stars 8/18/2011 by airsofter108
by airsofter108

good bike for going just about anywhere, i recommend buying a seat cover as well. good shocks, not so great gear shift and slow breaks

Was this review helpful? (13) (12)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
airsofter108
Denver
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
1-20 of 52 total reviews
1-20 of 52 reviews