Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 75 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

4.5 stars

75 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

4.5 stars

75 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

92%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
47
4 stars
21
3 stars
0
2 stars
3
1 stars
4
1-20 of 64 total reviews
92%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 64 total reviews
1-20 of 64 reviews
Superb Bike for the $$
6/26/2012

Customer review by kaelaini

5.0 stars 6/26/2012 by kaelaini
by kaelaini

We went to several Sporting goods Stores and a Performance bike store. My wife wanted an aluminum frame for light weight and trigger shifters - Everything the bike stores had in that category was around $349 and higher. The bike at the sporting good stores that were under $300 we of very questionable quality, especially for the price. We went to Walmart after not finding anything anywhere else, just to see what they. Their more inexpensive bikes are pretty durable, but also pretty heavy. We stumbled upon this Schwinn by accident and were very impressed by it's lightweight, solid constuction, features and value for money. We went home, read the reviews on some of the bikes we had looked at that day - Sporting good stores inexpensive bikes recieved 2-2.5 stars. The $349 bike from the bike store had good reviews, but was more than we wanted to spend. Based on the reviews on the Walmart site we decided to purchase this bike. After we got it home and rode it around for a few days we have been more than impressed!

Was this review helpful? (96) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
kaelaini
Highlands Ranch, CO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
awesome bike for the money
12/19/2011

Customer review by vettegirl10

5.0 stars 12/19/2011 by vettegirl10
by vettegirl10

I bought this bike and was very hesitant because I wanted a mountain bike but decided on a cruiser for comfort. This bike is extremely comfortable and I bought it on sale for 165.00 instead of the list price. I liked it so much I bought my daughter and friend one. Worth the money!!

Was this review helpful? (98) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
vettegirl10
Riverview, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Good Value, but be prepared to make adjustments
9/26/2012

Customer review by SoccerDad196

4.0 stars 9/26/2012 by SoccerDad196
by SoccerDad196

As a gift for a daughter, the color was important and was beautiful. I bought it online, and it arrived promptly and in good condition. My daughter is delighted with the bike. It was generally easy to assemble the remaining parts onto the bike. However, some of the assembly done at the factory was done foolishly/poorly. The bottom bracket (BB) was installed way too tight, so there was significant resistance to turning the crank. I have bike tools and knowledge and was able to mostly disassemble it, but even with the right special tools and extreme force could not remove the bearing cup on the right side. I had wanted to replace the BB (which is a somewhat cheesy, 9 bearings-in-a-race per side "open" type) with a low-cost sealed bearing unit, but could not get the factory-installed cup out. (I risked damaging the aluminum frame if I applied any more force.) That bearing cup must have been installed without lubricant and either cross-threaded and/or way overtightened. So I had to put it back together with the factory parts, but with better lubricant. It was good that I disassembled it, nevertheless, because I was able to get the factory-residue metal chips out of the grease and bearings. When that BB needs replacement, I'll have to machine and/or break out that (painted steel) cup. The front wheel bearings were also overtightened, but correctable. Overall, the bike seems a good value, but be prepared to do some fine-tuning. Recommendations to Schwinn: * On this level of bike, use a sealed bottom bracket. That is the most critical part of the drive train, and you could spend another $ or 2 on it to make it a much better product. * Train your assemblers better and provide them with torque specs and torque-limiting tools. * Use quality bearing grease. That will also enable the bike to last longer.

Was this review helpful? (56) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
SoccerDad196
Bedford, MA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
I love this bike
4/6/2012

Customer review by SittingByTheBay

5.0 stars 4/6/2012 by SittingByTheBay
by SittingByTheBay

This bike is light, comfortable and rides very well. I haven't been on a bike in so many years I can't count. I got on this great riding bike and felt young and free again! So glad I made the purchase!

Was this review helpful? (55) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
SittingByTheBay
Tampa, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great Deal -Smooth Ride
4/11/2012

Customer review by Elginite84

4.0 stars 4/11/2012 by Elginite84
by Elginite84

Great bike for the price. My wife loves it. Shifting is balance and click change. Would buy again!

Was this review helpful? (38) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Elginite84
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great bicycle!
3/22/2013

Customer review by posyfields

5.0 stars 3/22/2013 by posyfields
by posyfields

I've had this bicycle for several months and am currently using it indoors on a trainer. It is comfortable, though some may want a larger one for further comfort. Most bikes I tested in stores, the pedals felt like they were too far back. This one feels comfortable. I am about 5'8" tall and have the seat as high as it can go. If you're much taller than me, this bike may not work for you. The color is a light periwinkle and is nice to look at. The tires are more like a mountain bike than a street bike, but it is not a heavy bike. It's light and will work for both off-roading and street riding. The only trouble I've had is with the lower four gears staying in place. But a couple adjustments should solve that issue, I'm hoping. The front wheel has a quick release lever. The pedals have a cleat-like surface so your shoe does not slip off when riding. Bare-foot riding would be uncomfortable. I love this bike and am very glad to have found an inexpensive one that I really enjoy riding.

Was this review helpful? (17) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
posyfields
Pittsburgh, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Nice bike!
2/16/2012

Customer review by ptjacks5

5.0 stars 2/16/2012 by ptjacks5
by ptjacks5

Got this for my daughter and she loves it! I had it delivered to my home and assembled it myself. It only took me about 20 minutes. Everything works fine on it. She rides it everyday to and from school. Good quality and great price!

Was this review helpful? (18) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ptjacks5
Orange City, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
i would recommend this bike
11/17/2013

Customer review by jennyw222

4.0 stars 11/17/2013 by jennyw222
by jennyw222

i ride at least three times a week and have had the bike almost two months. havent had any problems...rides well, shifts well, seat comfortable

Was this review helpful? (13) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
jennyw222
ny
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Was skeptical, but now a very happy customer
12/22/2012

Customer review by Biotechnocrat

5.0 stars 12/22/2012 by Biotechnocrat
by Biotechnocrat

First of all Walmart is to be commended on a prompt response to my questions, and extremely fast shipping. For $0.97 I can hardly believe how quickly they arrived (I bought both a men's and a women's) in very good shape. After putting it together all I could think of was how much value both of these bikes offer for the money. Like others we went looking at several local bike shops, only to be shown $450 models that were nice, but in now way 'twice as nice' as these bikes are! The click-shifters work very well - very little adjustments were needed - and assembly was very simple. The hardest part was the front tire: instead of loosening the front brake cable, simply 'unhook' the short metal housing piece right before the rubber covering off from the small 'bracket' holding it in, and the entire brake pad assembly opens up so that the tire can enter the brake assembly. Then unpack the quick-release clamp / nut from the small box inside the package, put the bolt through the axel and then screw the end nut on. Straightforward but the first time was confused with the double nuts already on the axle - simply leave them on, and don't do what I did which was dissemble the thing! Then the seat goes on easy, the pedals are easy to bolt on, and the tires are pumped up to 45-60psi (make sure you have a pump handy with a gauge). One other item - the manual states that with a 26" wheel, these bikes are suitable for individuals '64 to 74 inches tall'. I was worried before purchase that there was only one size frame - but for me 67" inches tall (5' 7"), the frame is fine. It would seem a bit small for individuals 6 feet tall or taller, but that is just my opinion. I was a bit hesitant, but when assured that my 'ship to home' bike could be returned back to my local store (the local store did not have any in stock for me to try out before purchase), it was an easy choice to make. Very high quality for the price.

Was this review helpful? (10) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Biotechnocrat
Rockville MD
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Perfect
8/6/2012

Customer review by Harvedog

5.0 stars 8/6/2012 by Harvedog
by Harvedog

Took one bike back to Walmart and came across this iv'e been riding this bike now over a month i'm not the smallest guy I weigh about 240 and rides perfect even know it says it's women bike I don't care even had a few compliments on the bike. Even the bike stores says just the parts alone are over $200.00

Was this review helpful? (9) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Harvedog
Salt Lake City
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great value
6/18/2014

Customer review by Skipinjupiter

5.0 stars 6/18/2014 by Skipinjupiter
by Skipinjupiter

The bike is a great value when you consider it's aluminum and has paddle shifting vs. grip twist. The bike was double boxed and in great shape. Assembly was a breeze. My wife loves the bike. We swapped out the seat to her old one as the seat supplied was a bit narrow, but no big deal. Great purchase

Was this review helpful? (9) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Skipinjupiter
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Never been more disappointed in a purchase...
5/20/2013

Customer review by KarenC42

1.0 stars 5/20/2013 by KarenC42
by KarenC42

The single good comment I have to make about this bike is that it shipped and arrived quickly. There is a VERY serious design flaw with the front derailleur of this model!! Both men and ladies. My fiance and I bought his and hers 26" Schwinn Aluminum Comp mountain bikes. They've been nothing but a nightmare. The front derailleur hits on both sides no matter how you try to adjust it. Neither his bike nor mine will shift into 3rd on the left hand shifter. My fiance has extensive experience adjusting derailleur's on multi-speed bikes (mountain and street) and after 7 hours of spent trying to adjust these two correctly he threw in the towel and called a bike shop. They took one look at them and said 'Who the heck designed this??'. The shop could not get them adjusted correctly either. The final solution was to spend $30 for a new Shimano front derailleur for each bike. Having owned them just over a week we've done our research on new Trek bikes and are just going to trade these in. Before you spend your hard earned money on one of these. Read all the reviews. You will see we aren't the only ones who ran into this problem. I wouldn't recommend this bike to anyone, friend or foe.

Was this review helpful? (13) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
KarenC42
Wisconsin
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great buy, good price.
4/4/2012

Customer review by Ala2000

5.0 stars 4/4/2012 by Ala2000
by Ala2000

This bike is nice and light. You will need to put the bike together, not too hard to do it. Very happy with it.

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Ala2000
Garfield, NJ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Do Not Beleive These other Hyped Up Reviews!!!!
7/31/2012

Customer review by Schwinndaled

1.0 stars 7/31/2012 by Schwinndaled
by Schwinndaled

My wife was looking into getting a bike to join me on our recreational trail this summer. She looked into this bike and asked me if it was a good purchase. I was very hesitant--because most big box bikes are proan to defects and are poorly made. I went over some reviews and figured....what the heck...sounds ok... we might just have to replace the tires. I myself have a GT outpost and a Diamondback Response... both solid bikes and I really didn't want my wife to have a bad bike, but she liked the looks of it and because of the reviews she did purchase the bike. After I assembled the bike, which was quite easy, I relized the whole bike felt cheap. The seat, the handbars, the shifters....all of the quick releases for the tires and seat were plastic. And the tires are ....well junk... and thats being nice about it. Once we got the bike on the road, my wife shifted gears and immediatly had problems. Then the chain ended up getting caught between the petal/frame and gear box. It would not budge out.... After all of this.. I said I cannot see her riding a bike that is this poorly made. We took it back the same night and went to another store and piced her up a better brand bike. The only credit I give to this bike is that the frame seems very sturdy, but unless you want to gut the entire bike... stay away from this!!! Pay the extra hundred dollars at your local bike store or somewhere with higher quality products.

Was this review helpful? (23) (17)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Schwinndaled
Appleton, WI
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Great bike for the price
7/15/2012

Customer review by BikeRidingForFun

5.0 stars 7/15/2012 by BikeRidingForFun
by BikeRidingForFun

We bought this bike for the wife about 3 weeks ago and so far are very pleased with it. We mainly ride on dirt/cement trails that are somewhat hilly but nothing real radical. This bike handles the terrain with ease. The trigger shifters are very smooth and operate just as they should. For the type of riding we do this bike is perfect and the wife loves it which makes me happy!

Was this review helpful? (7) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
BikeRidingForFun
Cedar Park, Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Nice bike to start over again
4/16/2014

Customer review by Keldug513

5.0 stars 4/16/2014 by Keldug513
by Keldug513

I haven't ridden a bike in about thirty years. It's great riding again. I'm 5'3 and it's the right size for me. I did buy a more comfortable seat. The directions were a little confusing but watched a utube video that helped. Great bike for the money.

Was this review helpful? (8) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Keldug513
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Lot of bike for a great value.
6/23/2012

Customer review by JAH469

5.0 stars 6/23/2012 by JAH469
by JAH469

I have been a long time fan of Schwinn bikes, and this one is no exception. The wife is very happy with it's feel and finish. It's weight makes it easy for her to pop it onto a car rack. I like it for it's finish, equipment, and aluminum chassis. Cool bike!

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
JAH469
Plantation, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
I love the Bike!
8/15/2014

Customer review by 55155

5.0 stars 8/15/2014 by 55155
by 55155

I wanted a bike to work out and this bike is perfect!! so good I am planning to buy another one for my daughter. I recommend to have the bike put together at the store.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
55155
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Nice bike. Might need a pro to build it.
4/9/2014

Customer review by cszp

4.0 stars 4/9/2014 by cszp
by cszp

This is a nice bike. Not really a mountain bike - a bit heavy - but sturdy and comfortable, I looked at my local bike store, but the bike prices started around $400. I don't plan on racing or long-distance touring, so I didn't want to spend that much, For about $200 I bought this bike. I tried to build it and got most of it done OK, but I was sure the brakes and derailleur (gears) needed adjusting - ok, ok...fixing - I do not know anything about them. So I spent another $80 to have the bike checked out at the local bike shop. I still saved money, just not as much. It is worth it, I think, to make sure the brakes and gears are correct - for safety and the "lifespan" of the bike. If you think you will need the bike built by a pro, you may want to buy it from a bike shop. So far, I've been riding to and from school (about a mile) with my kids, and it's just fine.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
cszp
Laurel, MD
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
great bike
7/22/2012

Customer review by mom2AMS

5.0 stars 7/22/2012 by mom2AMS
by mom2AMS

I haven't been on a bike in 23 years and the Schwinn is a great bike for the money to get me back up and riding!

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
mom2AMS
Ridgefield, CT
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
1-20 of 64 total reviews
1-20 of 64 reviews