Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 22 reviews | 2.9 out of 5

3.0 stars

22 reviews | 2.9 out of 5

3.0 stars

22 reviews | 2.9 out of 5

48%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
8
4 stars
2
3 stars
1
2 stars
2
1 stars
9
1-20 of 22 total reviews
48%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 22 total reviews
1-20 of 22 reviews
Excellent Product
4/1/2012

Customer review by oklahomagirl1989

5.0 stars 4/1/2012 by oklahomagirl1989
by oklahomagirl1989

I made a flowerbed last year and planted 2 tiny roses into it...the flowerbed consisted of nothing BUT Humus and Manure Mix from Wal Mart.....my Roses have exploded with blooms during last years brutally hot summer when everything else died.....and since then, they have at least quadruplet in size....I couldn't be more happier about this product, in fact, I recommend it to all of my customers, since I work in the Garden Center and I always get asked about which soil is the best. Right now we are sold out of it and I am a bit upset myself because I want to buy lots more of it.....I would recommend this product to ANYONE at ALL TIMES!!!!!

Was this review helpful? (51) (10)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
oklahomagirl1989
Lawton, OK
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Usage:A few times per year
Walmart associate
Satisfied
4/27/2012

Customer review by Purg

5.0 stars 4/27/2012 by Purg
by Purg

I bought ten bags and didn't find any sand or pebbles in mine at all, must have been the location of the dealer that it came from.

Was this review helpful? (37) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Purg
Bag of rocks
4/5/2014

Customer review by Quaddad4444

1.0 stars 4/5/2014 by Quaddad4444
by Quaddad4444

Bought 45 bags to spread over my front yard. Had my teenagers cut the bags open while I spread it with a rake. All the bags contained many sizeable rocks and even some old carpet and plastic debris. Spent an additional hour picking this junk out of my yard afterwards so the rocks don't become projectiles when I mow later this summer. In all I picked up 18 pounds of rocks. By contrast, the compost I bought from ACE Hardware was great with no trash or rocks. Will be taking the bag of rocks back so they can see what they are selling.

Was this review helpful? (23) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Quaddad4444
Dallas, TX
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
3/22/2012

Customer review by ryanboy67

1.0 stars 3/22/2012 by ryanboy67
by ryanboy67

Don't waste your money on this product, not even at $1.47 a bag. Mostly sand and small pebbles. Bought a bag similar at another store and what a difference..

Was this review helpful? (36) (14)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ryanboy67
Would recommend to a friend? No
Inexpensive Organic Soil Ammendment
9/9/2014

Customer review by ASEDufus

4.0 stars 9/9/2014 by ASEDufus
by ASEDufus

My passion is organic gardening and I have learned a lot about why chemical fertilizer is not the best choice. About this manure humus product: this product is derived from animal waste that has been composted, it may have wood chips and other stuff in it and thats what it is. I spread one bag of this manure on a 10 foot row for a new planting of green beans. You can see a difference where the manure was applied in comparison to a different row where no composted material was ever added. Keep in mind that this product is only a buck or two and not expensive to use. The other reviews complain about product quality, you will pay more for premium product and the benefit is about the same after 3-6 months of use... I will buy this manure again because your garden needs some manure added every year to to convert organic material into useable fertilizer.

Was this review helpful? (12) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ASEDufus
Virginia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
50% good / 50% horrible
3/30/2013

Customer review by baycottages

2.0 stars 3/30/2013 by baycottages
by baycottages

Just bought 4 bags - first bag was great - oderless and spreads nicely. The second bag was one big wet clod that dumped from the bag in one big wet mess; unspreadable. Two bags good, two bags no so good. The worst part was that the two 'bad' bags had a horrible diesel fuel odor.

Was this review helpful? (11) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
baycottages
Prince Fredeick MD
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per year
Great Stuff!
6/10/2013

Customer review by ladynewby

5.0 stars 6/10/2013 by ladynewby
by ladynewby

I bought 15 bags and found only a few pebbles and twigs in each. If you find stones, check to make sure they aren't just hardened manure like I found. It sure helps the grass grow!

Was this review helpful? (9) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ladynewby
Knoxville, TN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per year
don't wast your money.
4/8/2012

Customer review by sparkyde

1.0 stars 4/8/2012 by sparkyde
by sparkyde

as previous person said, it is all sand and small pebbles, contains nothing that looks organic.

Was this review helpful? (12) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
sparkyde
Louisville Ky
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
7/10/2013

Customer review by Tarz12

5.0 stars 7/10/2013 by Tarz12
by Tarz12

BOUGHT 10 bags came home and put into my raised beds. I liked it so well I went back and boughr 10 more bags. Very good texture.

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Tarz12
NKY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
great poduct for transplanting
5/29/2013

Customer review by timtoddtammy

5.0 stars 5/29/2013 by timtoddtammy
by timtoddtammy

I purchaser 20 bag, to try w/ 20 bag of top soil, to mix for transplanting,I do about 2-3 thousan plant a year for my farm and my nursery. I will buy more to finshing out this year an store for next year season.

Was this review helpful? (8) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
timtoddtammy
kinder, La.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
DON'T WASTE YOUR MONEY!!!
6/1/2014

Customer review by Flowerpot10

1.0 stars 6/1/2014 by Flowerpot10
by Flowerpot10

Purchased several bags of this product not realizing it was a Scott's product. Had I known, I would have never bought it. At first, this product seems fine. It's not until it rains or you water it that you realize that this product is horrible. Sand, rocks, wood chips, tons of shredded plastic bag pieces, hard plastic pieces, and yes....pieces of GLASS!!! Every time it rains or I water, I feel as though I am on a treasure hunt wondering what I will find next. Last year I bought Scott's Miracle Grow for Gardens & Vegetables and experienced the same problem. They must be getting their soil from the same location. I will be calling the company to voice my opinion. I can't even begin to tell you how disappointed I am in Scott's!!!

Was this review helpful? (6) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Flowerpot10
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Good product
7/1/2014

Customer review by Bwembo

4.0 stars 7/1/2014 by Bwembo
by Bwembo

This appears to be a good mix and not stinky or anything. It wasn't too hard to break up once out of the bag either. I put some on my fruit trees and around tomato plants and it works well as not only a fertilizer but also helps keep the sun from baking the soil underneath and drying out. I would give it a perfect score if it had a touch less moisture, however. It is not too wet to handle but the excess moisture helps stretch the product so my 40 pound bag has slightly less content than I probably should have gotten. Again it is not an extreme moisture and well worth the price. I would buy this again.

Was this review helpful? (4) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Bwembo
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Just a quick follow up to my previous review
6/29/2014

Customer review by blackcrk

2.0 stars 6/29/2014 by blackcrk
by blackcrk

Please see my previous review as this is just an update. I now have plants growing in the Earthgro Organic Humus and manure next to some other growing mediums. I think I said in my earlier review that I'm unwilling to condemn the Earthgro as poor until I see how things grow in it. At the time of this early report, things aren't looking good for the earthgro - green beans planted from seed are growing, but a very light green compared to the other soils. Tomatoes look like they are struggling in the earthgro. In the last week or so I've planted squash, cucumbers, watermelon and a number of other seeds side-by-side next to the earthgro in other soil mixes, as well as several other started tomatoes (that I started all on the same day, transplanted on the same day, and the different planting mediums are separated by only one or 2 feet). If interested, please stay tuned. In all fairness to the earthgro folks, they did contact me after my earlier review and suggested that I call them if I'm dissatisfied. I plan to do so sometime next week if I have time.

Was this review helpful? (4) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
blackcrk
Would recommend to a friend? No
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Pebbles and sand
4/7/2013

Customer review by TheLoneSoilant

1.0 stars 4/7/2013 by TheLoneSoilant
by TheLoneSoilant

I have bought numerous "Earthgro" products. It's amazing how no matter what they call their product, they still put more pebbles and sand in the bag than anything else. Clearly they are trying to swindle the consumer and Wal-mart gladly sells the stuff because it's "dirt" cheap. You get what you pay for here. I used 40 bags of their dirt last year and it helped kill all my shrubs. Use it to fill pot holes BUT THAT'S ALL! Keep this stuff away from gardens. The sand in it is terrible.

Was this review helpful? (7) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
TheLoneSoilant
Central, KY
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per year
WORST soil product I ever used.
7/16/2014

Customer review by FunnyBunnysFarm

1.0 stars 7/16/2014 by FunnyBunnysFarm
by FunnyBunnysFarm

I would have given this product zero stars if I could. In years past I had used a Organic Humus, (NO manure was listed on the bag) Bought from Walmart with great results.Not since about 2005 Had I bought any but this year I had run out of my own homemade compost. And needed something to take care of some loose ends, bought 4 bags of this, it was full of sand, rocks, plastic pieces, you name it. Water will not drain through it. and it packs down hard. The stuff grown in my rabbit manure compost is all triving and doing fantastic. The one small garden that I filled with this stuff. (I can't call it the name on the bag) I planted blackeye peas and black beans in, ONLY two seeds sprouted out of the entire garden and those are struggling. The Swiss Chard in the same garden that was doing fantastic, almost immediatly stopped growing and is now about dead. I had some grapes the I was not ready to plant in the ground yet because I need to ammend the soil, VERY HAPPY I DID NOT try to use this stuff. They are currently in pots both planted the same day. The one I was able to plant in Rabbit MAnure compost is neary 5 times larger than the one I planted in this bag of poorly drained rocks and sand. and the large pot I planted my Pomagranate in well it's Alive but that is all the more credit I can give it. Organic - possibly, Humus - By definition only and as far as manure. Well there is another word I would use that rhymes with spit but I wouldn't call it manure. DON"T WASTE YOUR MONEY ON THIS PRODUCT, I can find you something just as bad on the roadside that nothing will grown in, for free. Or I am happy to sell you well rotted rabbit manure compost made with oak leaves, kitchen scraps and garden waste, that will do wonders for you. No rocks but you may find the occasional peach, plum or nectarine stone. Don't believe me, buy a bag or two for yourself. you'll find out. But I wouldn't open a whole truck load of it, hoping for something better. I wouldn't use this stuff for fill dirt.

Was this review helpful? (6) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
FunnyBunnysFarm
Montgomery Alabama
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Great product
5/21/2014

Customer review by Hawkeye121252

5.0 stars 5/21/2014 by Hawkeye121252
by Hawkeye121252

Loved it and couldn't beat the price...

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Hawkeye121252
Minot, Maine
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great Product
5/11/2015

Customer review by KaseyGardenGirl

5.0 stars 5/11/2015 by KaseyGardenGirl
by KaseyGardenGirl

I have used this product for years. In years past, was hit or miss. Completely satisfied. I bought several bags and have them out in new flower bed which is flourishing. Going to get more.

Was this review helpful? (1) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
KaseyGardenGirl
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Thanks for such a great product!!
6/14/2014

Customer review by Shayla

5.0 stars 6/14/2014 by Shayla
by Shayla

We have clay/limestone soil. We have purchased 60+ bags this year to fill raised garden beds. My garden is amazing this year. I have used it for potatoes, strawberries & now tomatoes. I am absolutely delighted with this product & am waiting on Walmart to restock so I can purchase 90+ more bags. I plan to purchase even more after that to put around my landscaping beds. It does stink, but that's why I purchased it!! Great product!!

Shayla
Maysville, Ky
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Expertise:Intermediate
Nice after you dry it
5/12/2014

Customer review by PRose

3.0 stars 5/12/2014 by PRose
by PRose

This product was available at a great price of $1.50/bag at our local WalMart so we opted to grab 10 bags instead of hauling a truck load of local manure. After mixing 3 bags into soil around our rhubarb we learned it is much easier to handle if you open one bag at a time into a wheelbarrow, break it up and allow it to air dry in the sun or a dry location then break up again before distributing. The product was very wet and compacted in the bag. Contrary to other reviews our bags CONTAINED NO ROCKS OR STONES. I am concerned about the amount of weeds that may be contained in the mix and can not find what type of manure is used. Time will tell as to the results of usage but the price makes it worth the effort and test.

PRose
Pennsylvania, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Expertise:Intermediate
To many rocks
9/4/2012

Customer review by skyfish

1.0 stars 9/4/2012 by skyfish
by skyfish

I bought 25 bags of this product and it had a bunch of rocks in it. I thought humus and manure was rock free. Most of the rocks are larger than quarters I will be picking rocks out of my garden for a while.

Comment from Consumer Service - 9/5/2012

We apologize for the rock that you have found in your Scotts Organic Humus And Manure. I would like to assure you that Scotts makes every effort during manufacturing to ensure our products stay as pure as possible. Your comments will be forwarded to our Quality Assurance Department so they can investigate this matter and look for ways to make sure this does not happen again. We want you to be confident in our products. For this reason, we offer a product guarantee to our consumers. At your earliest convenience please contact us to see what can be done. You may visit our contact page by clicking on the following link http://tinyurl.com/7ag7a3n

skyfish
Okmulgee Ok.
Would recommend to a friend? No
Expertise:Expert
1-20 of 22 total reviews
1-20 of 22 reviews