Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 105 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

4.5 stars

105 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

4.5 stars

105 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

86%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
84
4 stars
8
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 stars
11
1-20 of 103 total reviews
86%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 103 total reviews
1-20 of 103 reviews
Great Shine, But Takes Work
3/22/2015

Customer review by TRON8888

4.0 stars 3/22/2015 by TRON8888
by TRON8888

Bought a new black car last year after not having one for a long time and forgot how much it is to keep clean. Bought the Jet Black, Black Box Finish Kit to test it out. Worked great. But this is not a beginner's product or for those that want a quick wax job. It is a 2-step process and takes time so be sure to set at least 2 hours aside for the complete clean and wax process (not including the time for the actual car wash itself!). Also, it does have black tint in the products so your rags WILL turn black. Just be sure to wash by themselves and not with clothes. Keep these rags as the ones for this product. I wear vinyl gloves when using this product to keep my hands from turning black. Combine it with the Jet Black Tire Cleaner and Tire Coat for your tires. It is a liquid product with sponge applicator so will last longer than a typical tire black spray (and you will need the vinyl gloves that come with this kit for sure). A great looking car needs black tires!

TRON8888
Chicago, IL, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Works Great!
3/28/2012

Customer review by coreyman

5.0 stars 3/28/2012 by coreyman
by coreyman

If you have a black vehicle with swirls, hazy paint, Discoloration then this is the wax kit to buy. If you have a black car that you want to keep clean then buy some carnuaba wax and use it every 3 months.

Was this review helpful? (23) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
coreyman
houston, tx
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
Does everything it should & more.
3/23/2014

Customer review by MitsuGTS2

5.0 stars 3/23/2014 by MitsuGTS2
by MitsuGTS2

The best car wax out there. Easy to apply, the shine is awesome, and it lasts for months.

Was this review helpful? (5) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MitsuGTS2
Albemarle, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
Black Box Hyundai Sonata
7/5/2016

Customer review by Donkey

5.0 stars 7/5/2016 by Donkey
by Donkey

I have been using the Turtle Black Box product on my 2011 Hyundai Sonata for almost 6 years. I use it in March and again in October every year. In between I use the Jet Black product and the Wax As U Dry product. As you can imagine, the summer sun is brutal here, especially on black paint. My car is almost 6 years old and still feels and looks brand new. I tried to add some photos but an error occurred. Too bad...I think you would have been impressed! Thanks again!

Donkey
Las Vegas, Nevada, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
7/10/2016

Customer review by Dave d

2.0 stars 7/10/2016 by Dave d
by Dave d

This isn't a bad product but I don't think it's worth the time and effort with all the stages it has you do , a spray detailer like that comes in the box is all about you need , a lot of hours and elbow grease and I'm not impressed

Dave d
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Male
The Best Around!
7/14/2014

Customer review by KJH087

5.0 stars 7/14/2014 by KJH087
by KJH087

I just used this yesterday and my car has never looked blacker! It's crazy! I have an 08 Peugeot and it's an obsidian black, so it's really metallic and almost looks black/grey, anyway it's a pain to keep clean and it shows every tiny mark swirl and water spot. I have used every product on the market. This black box is miles ahead of anything else! It's mind blowing! I cannot understand how anyone gave it a 1 star!!! I'm not going to lie, it's really hard work, but don't let that deter you, it's so worth it! I have had professional detailing done quite a few times and it's never shined this much! I only ever buy black cars and this will be my me staple. I have no comment on how long the shine will last but I don't care if I have to do it every fortnight, it's worth it! I never review products but I could not help myself this has me grinning from ear to ear!! Thank you turtle wax!! if you chucked in one of those stone chip lipstick looking things this pack would be even more perfect!!!

KJH087
Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Save your hands
7/6/2016

Customer review by cosmic

1.0 stars 7/6/2016 by cosmic
by cosmic

This stuff is just a black goo!! It did nothing to my 2014 Camaro but cause me a lotta work!! Just buy a GOOD paste wax and do the job once!!

cosmic
Kentucky, United States
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Male
Made a believer out of me!!
6/1/2016

Customer review by Slim

5.0 stars 6/1/2016 by Slim
by Slim

My wife and I recently got ourselves a black Cadillac 2007. It was handed down to us from family. The car is in good shape all and all. So I decide to give it a good cleaning and waxing one afternoon before the brutal arkansas summer hits and just to see how good she could really look. First round wash and wax I used a clear wax ( a very good wax I might add) only to see how many scratches and damage the car had. Round 2 jet black turtle wax kit. This product hands down made that car showroom worthy. My son has a black car as well that is in pretty rough shape finish wise. So I wanted to see if the jet black could rescue it. I'll be if it didn't make that car showroom worthy as well.I have to say for black cars breath taking results.

Slim
Arkansas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
BLACK IS BACK
6/15/2016

Customer review by BIG GUY

5.0 stars 6/15/2016 by BIG GUY
by BIG GUY

MAZDA, 02 PICKUP, WORK TRUCK, NOT A PLAY THING. SCRATCHED FROM LOADING BRUSH AND BRANCHES WITH LOADER. I AM 75,SO IT TOOK ME 3 DAYS, WAX/RUB, BREATH,REST. BUT IS WAS WORTH IT, TOOK OUT 85% OF SCRATCHES, ONE'S AS BIG AS FISHING WORM, IT DIDN'T HELP,BUT OTHERWISE WORKED GREAT

BIG GUY
VA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Excellent product, results as promised
10/2/2012

Customer review by medboy

5.0 stars 10/2/2012 by medboy
by medboy

It's a long tedious process which took me about 4 hours for my black BMW X5, but the results were phenomenal. The car shined so well, and water beaded up as should be expected from a good wax. Since the wax is tinted black, there were no issues of white crust visible in the cracks between door and hood panels, as with regular wax products. Since the products in the kit are petroleum based, be careful NOT to get the products on any plastic surfaces such as bumpers, lest you end up with a faded haze on these parts. Best to use a non-wax-based product for these surfaces such as 303 Aerospace Protectant (Walmart does not currently carry this brand.). Of note, I have no relevant financial or other personal gains in recommending either the current Turtle Wax or 303 products.

Was this review helpful? (31) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
medboy
Cincinnati, OH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per month
It Gonna Take Lots of Work but You'll Love It!
5/31/2015

Customer review by SmilinJoey

5.0 stars 5/31/2015 by SmilinJoey
by SmilinJoey

I can't speak of what this wax will do to a car that has a finish that hasn't been properly maintained. Yet if you wax your car twice a year with regular wax and it's now starting to get long in the tooth (5 years/75,000 miles) and you want something to make it look like the day it left the factory.... This product will make it look even better. You need to follow the directions exactly and input way more elbow grease than most lazier waxes on the market. Most of them say they can shine your car in 15 minutes, but really take an hour to be done correctly. In comparison, this product actually says it's gonna take 3 hours plus right on the package. So you need to multiply that estimate out to real world time. If you expect to spend an hour and have your neglected junkyard finish restored, don't even bother with this product. If you love your car enough to have maintained its finish and want to invest some time making your black car gorgeous, you can't go wrong. Similar products for black finishes on the net go for $50 to $150 a kit, this does the same thing they do. All it takes is hard work.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
SmilinJoey
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Excellent product
5/27/2016

Customer review by SSMONTE

5.0 stars 5/27/2016 by SSMONTE
by SSMONTE
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I followed the instructions and my cars paint looked so black and shiny.I would recommend this to anyone who loves their car as much as I do. You will not be disappointed.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
SSMONTE
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
wax & scratch remover system for black cars
5/12/2014

Customer review by softwhispers

5.0 stars 5/12/2014 by softwhispers
by softwhispers
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This is the second season I have bought this product..... I LOVE IT. It is a cleaner, wax, scratch remover and a bottle that "sets" it. You have to go over the car 4 times BUT IT IS WORTH THE EFFORT. It will look like it is right out of the showroom. UTube has several VERY good & informative videos on how to do this and what it will look like. I watched the videos first. YOU SHOULD too. Yes, you will need some "elbow greace" but I am 5'2" and weigh 90lbs so if I can do it so can you!!\ I also live in upstate NY so I get all the really horrible for cars weather, salt, dings, chips wih all the construction and THE BLACK BOX DOES IT ALL!!!! BECAREFUL....everything hands, clothing, rags everything will turn black........wear rubber gloves, I used my medical surgical gloves............2 at a time and I used old, soft socks for the final buffing. They do not include enough clothes..........you go through them fast. An old soft robe, t-shirts, old, soft socks, Have plenty on hand and you WILL have to throw them all out......everything turns black.................buy this product!!!! My name is Jan from Rochester NY and I HIGHLY recomend this product!!!

Was this review helpful? (10) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
softwhispers
Irondequiot, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
5/13/2012

Customer review by rlpm

5.0 stars 5/13/2012 by rlpm
by rlpm

If you own a black vehicle, this stuff really does work as advertised. Beware, it's a lot more work than you think, but the results are without dispute. The sray bottles don't go as far as you might think, so go easy with the spray. With prudent use of the black spray, you should get at least 4 or more full vehicle preps. (standard size sedan) Be prepared to throw your applicators and micro cloths away after each application. Latex gloves are a must. This is a good value for the money.

Was this review helpful? (35) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
rlpm
Wyoming
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:A few times per year
really works
10/13/2012

Customer review by TucsonTerry

5.0 stars 10/13/2012 by TucsonTerry
by TucsonTerry

This stuff is great for a black car. My hood looked like a star-filled night sky before I used this product. Now the white dots are gone and several years of aging have vanished. Highly recommended. It does require two steps, so be prepared to spend some "quality time" with your car! ...but so worth the results.

Was this review helpful? (11) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
TucsonTerry
Tucson, Az
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
Spring time to Shine
4/25/2016

Customer review by Urbanmob

4.0 stars 4/25/2016 by Urbanmob
by Urbanmob

Another cool spring day, perfect to try Jet Black Box. First time user. I did the whole car for each step. I then waited until the product was dry. I am very pleased with the results. Now I have to keep the birds at bay as they really like this car. Is it OK to add a second layer of wax after my next car wash without going through all the steps. Just want to keep that shine and protect the finish. Also, is the jet black box detailer something I can use for spot sprays to loosen up bird dropping using a wet microfiber and soak technique? It was a nice way to get a workout, will do the whole thing again at the end of summer.

Urbanmob
Toronto, ON, Canada
Gender:Male
Great Product for a black car owner
7/25/2012

Customer review by Bingy1

5.0 stars 7/25/2012 by Bingy1
by Bingy1

It takes some time to go thru all the steps as instructed in the kit, (allow an afternoon), but the results are well worth it. Helps to hide swirls and minor chips, and makes the car shine like glass. Great product for a good value. Would definitely recommend.

Was this review helpful? (12) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Bingy1
Missouri
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
Black box did wonders
3/18/2016

Customer review by Blk stallion

5.0 stars 3/18/2016 by Blk stallion
by Blk stallion

Got this as a gift from my wife last last christmas. I was saving it for when my car needed it. I just bought my black impala and did not use it because the paint was in great condition. But of course with owning a black car comes the inevitable black swirls that will eventually show up no matter how careful you are. So i washed my car recently and when the sun hit it as i was staring at it from the store i seen all the swirls and scratches that came after owning it for 3 years. So i grabed the black box my wife bought me and did my whole car. Wow was i very happy how it turned out. Corvered all of the swirls, and rock chips. Really impressed with the results. Highly recomend for any black car owner to get that new car look again. Its just like when i bought it new. The reflection is amazing. The only complaint besides it talking so long is the second step which is the wax, it was a littel tuff to get off. But nothing you cant do. Use the speay detailer for a final wipe down. I parked it in the sun so i could see all the residue i needed to get off. Happy customer from Hawaii. Worth the time and effort to do the process. End results speak for themselves. Had trouble uploading my pictures from my phone. Sorry i could not share any. Heres a tip that helped me. Break the car up into 2 days worth of work. I did the hood, roof, trunk, and quarter panels the first day and the rest of the car the next day. It helps trust me. Because doing it all at once would be a task. So I does not end up taking the whole day.

Blk stallion
Waipahu, Hawaii, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Must use if you own a black car/truck!!!!
12/7/2015

Customer review by Davidsomebody

5.0 stars 12/7/2015 by Davidsomebody
by Davidsomebody

I bought this product based on reviews and it was the best product I used in many years of buying wax. I owned several black cars and always had issues with fine scatches and rock chips. What bothered me most about regualar wax is when it drys it leaves all the little white spots. Not with this wax! I had bought an 02 ford pick up and it had not been wax maybe ever! lots of fine scatches and very dull paint. I took a $20 gamble on this and it looks like new! all thouse stone chips in the hood and grill, gone! all the fine scatches from years of abuse, gone! Highly recoment this product! Only note, this is tinted black and will stain anything! use gloves and old pair of jeans and t-shirt

Davidsomebody
Grand Rapids Mi
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
True Believer!
1/4/2016

Customer review by BMW335i

5.0 stars 1/4/2016 by BMW335i
by BMW335i

I purchased used, black BMW 335i. The car looked fantastic but the black paint did have some scratches and fading on the hood. I passed this product in AutoZone one day and went back a few days later to try it. Low and behold, it was a drastic differences in the before and after of my car. I've only done it once. I will be doing it again to get a buff on the final step. Kit worked perfectly and really exceeded my expectations. I honestly thought it would not work at all. Well worth the money! Live in Alabama and female; no issues completing by myself.

BMW335i
Alabama, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
1-20 of 103 total reviews
1-20 of 103 reviews