Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 97 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

4.0 stars

97 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

5 stars
59
4 stars
21
3 stars
3
2 stars
3
1 stars
11
88%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 94 total reviews
Great product for a decent price
8/12/2011

Customer review by 3000gtdude

5.0 stars by 3000gtdude

This weather station displays all the essential weather conditions with accuracy. Having the wind speed and direction along with rainfall amount is a major plus. Being a NWS storm spotter, I can now accurately relay my conditions to them.

Was this review helpful? (47) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
3000gtdude
Wentzville, MO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Excellent Product
9/8/2011

Customer review by packrodent

5.0 stars by packrodent

This is an upgrage from an other acurite product. Easy to set-up and use (very user-friendly and well thought-out). Neighbors are planning to get a reciver and piggy-back off of my sender. Very happy with purchase and impressed with product.

Was this review helpful? (23) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
packrodent
Albuquerque NM
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Outdoor Temperature is not accurate
10/14/2011

Customer review by FredSands

1.0 stars by FredSands

A nice compact unit, with a nice list of features, but if you put it in the Sun the daytime temperature will read way high. If you put it in the shade, the solar cell won't charge. Yes, there are some limited controls to calibrate/zero the outdoor temp and humidity (none for pressure), but that won't fix the solar heating of the unit. If you own one, I'd encourage you to go to http://www.wunderground.com/wundermap and check the weather stations nearest you to compare to this unit. Mine was calibrated perfectly this morning, but now at 2:30pm, it's a full ten degrees high. Getting the outdoor temperature right is fundamental, and if this can't do this correctly, it's a deal breaker.

Was this review helpful? (35) (20)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
FredSands
Atlanta, GA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Storm Chaser Approved!!
4/19/2013

Customer review by KD0JZI

5.0 stars by KD0JZI

As team lead and founder for M & M Storm Chasing, a Skywarn member, and one who reports current conditions for broadcast radio, I depend on certain equipment to get the job done. And for the price I couldn't find a better piece of equipment then this. Tested in the field and both at my home and headquarters for my team ( I own two of these) the accuracy is second to none (+/- 2% of the official NWS station at the local airport) no matter what sensor is used. And the best part is it's also compatible with AcuLink Internet Bridge. (Sold separately on AcuLink's website), meaning I can stream the local conditions to the internet for viewing by myself, my team, NWS, the public or anyone, and not to mention even via a phone app. If your looking for a weather station, that works, is priced right, easy to use, and contains all the bells and whistles, look no further.

Was this review helpful? (12) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
KD0JZI
Wadena, MN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
TECHNOLOGIE MOVES ON
9/19/2011

Customer review by bp696969

5.0 stars by bp696969

WOW ! THIS IS GREAT . HAD A 4 YR OLD WEATHER STATION THAT HAD 5 SEPARATE SENSORS AND IT NEVER DID ALL IT WAS SUPPOSED TO AND COST 500.00 ! ONE REPLACEMENT SENSOR WAS 110.00 . REPLACED IT WITH THIS . 1 MULTI SENSOR TAKES THE PLACE OF ALL OF THOSE AND EVERYTHING WORKS ! WIND SPEED RIGHT NOW IS 2MPH HIGH SO FAR TODAY 10MPH , RECORD SO FAR IS 62MPH ......

Was this review helpful? (16) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
bp696969
Prescott Az
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great product at a great price
9/13/2012

Customer review by Engr113

5.0 stars by Engr113

Great little instrument cluster with wireless inside unit. Also outputs temperature data to my existing Oregon Scientific display as well. Has a "storm alert" alarm you can turn on (based on a dramatic drop in barometric pressure). One thing I really like about this weather station is the center is around weather. Other weather stations I looked at were more centered around the time and indoor temperature. I don't need that. I want to know what the weather is outside, not inside. We mounted ours 4' above the privacy fence to limit thermal heat and to ease replacing the batteries, which reviews on other weather forums say last around 14-18 months. Keep that in mind when deciding on a mounting location. Also remember in the city there are lots of objects that deflect wind, increase humidity (like nearby pools), and increase heat (like concrete, so if you're looking at NOAA or The Weather Channel and you're off by a few degrees or the wind direction is not exactly spot on just remember why and adjust your mounting location accordingly.

Was this review helpful? (23) (13)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Engr113
Kansas City, MO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great weather station
11/14/2011

Customer review by chavelospike

5.0 stars by chavelospike

I'm an amatuer radio operator and will be using this for our Amatuer Radio Emergency Service. I live in town with a few trees. I have this mounted about 25' in the air on my radio tower. So far I have no problems. I do have it mounted in direct sunlight and the thermometer is always within 1 degree of my thermometer in the shade. So no problem there. Everything seems real accurate and real easy to use. Wish I would have bought this years earlier. I have rechargeable batteries in the sensor and seems to stay charged very good. I had to machine the mount a little different for my tower mount, but that is of my own preference. So far a great item and great deal. Thanks from Farmersville, Texas

Was this review helpful? (12) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
chavelospike
Farmersville
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
6/5/2012

Customer review by RetiredAmericanSoldier

1.0 stars by RetiredAmericanSoldier

I bought this device because I live in a very rural area and I like to know what the numbers are for my exact location and I thought this device would fit the bill. The first week was good everything working just fine but since then the indoor display will not or can not display a correct indoor temperature, I get the readings of negative 40 below freezing to the balmy temp of 158 degrees which I am sure would melt the display somewhat. The display can not keep current and correct time no matter how many times I correct it and I have installed brand new batteries straight from the package on two seperate occasions hoping that it might allievate the problem but to no avial. I am waiting to hear back from the company to see if they are gonna repair or replace it. Once the company does right or wrong with this situation I shall update my review.

Was this review helpful? (12) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
RetiredAmericanSoldier
Portageville, MO
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Awesome weather station !!
5/6/2012

Customer review by PsnalSkywarnFran

5.0 stars by PsnalSkywarnFran

This weather station keeps up with all major brand and then some.. I am Weather Enthusiasts/ Noaa Sky-warn spotter. And i have it mounted atop my car for weather surveillance. Anyway i gave it a five outta five for it quality and acturate readings.. Like i said it does everything and more!!

Was this review helpful? (6) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
PsnalSkywarnFran
Huntley,IL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
poor design
5/28/2013

Customer review by duydo

2.0 stars by duydo

It is totally inaccurate in the mornings and evenings in this local. For the fan to work in the unit, the sun must hit he solar panel which it does not until about mid morning and then loses the sun again in early evenings. causing the unit to read extremely high temperatures at those times.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
duydo
Yuma, AZ
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
AcuRite is Not Very AcuRate
7/15/2012

Customer review by An anonymous customer

2.0 stars by An anonymous customer

I would not recommend this unit to someone who wants and a stand alone home weather station. The main complaint is that the learning weather prediction algorithm that the company claims makes this device an accurate forcaster, is wrong about 50% of the time. If it was wrong 0% or 100% of the time, at least you would realize this and could plan accordingly. But you can't use this to forecast weather. Even other real time readings are often wrong. For example, it will be clearly raining outside, but the unit shows it is not raining; then other times it seems to work. Granted, forecasting weather is difficult, but you just can't have confidence in what this unit is reading. The only thing that kept me from rating it one star is that at least the anemometer seems to work. Still, if you are looking for a weather station I would explore other options and read all of their reviews first. Perhaps Oregon Scientific.

Was this review helpful? (6) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
An anonymous customer
Hartford, CT
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Very good weather staion
10/30/2012

Customer review by Rich109

5.0 stars by Rich109

Have been using this staion for two weeks now...and after going through Hurricane Sandy and still working perfectly I'd say it has passed the test for me !!!

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Rich109
Upstate NEW YORK
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Works, fairly accurate, readout is hard to read
8/21/2013

Customer review by chipster4444

3.0 stars by chipster4444

I am really on the fence with this product. The good: 1) After putting in the batteries, the units communicated and all was well 2) The outside unit seems well designed and easily mounted on a post that was occupied by the previous weather unit that died 3) Wind speed seems a bit low but is more accurate than my last unit 4) Rain gauge seems very accurate as checked by a manual rain gauge 5) Outside temp is very accurate as checked by another unit (I can hear the fan running during the day to keep the temp from misreading due to the heating of the sun -- this is a good thing) The Bad: 1) Inside temp readout was about 4 degrees or so high. I did use the compensate feature which corrected the error 2) The barometric pressure readout is off and no way to compensate 3) And this is really the issue with this unit -- The LCD readout is difficult to read and some of the readouts are so small you must be right on top of the unit to figure out the text For around $100 this unit does compare favorably with other similar priced units. If the readout was better and the indoor unit was a more interesting design this would be a great buy. I honestly think I would buy this product again, knowing that other units on the market have more flaws...

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
chipster4444
Friendsville, MD
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great while it works. Salt air may be a problem.
12/7/2013

Customer review by Nickname13579

1.0 stars by Nickname13579

Have had good response from customer service. First unit lasted about 5 months. Replaced outside sensor unit. Lasted about 2 months. Third unit lasted about 3 months, however, I think it has been under reporting rain. In each case, it reports outside temp of 67 degrees, no matter what it really is. Replace batteries, then it indicates minus 40 degrees. I think the salt air near the ocean degrades the temperature sensor. Probably a very good unit if you live away from salt water. Really nice when it works.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Nickname13579
Surf City NC
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:65 or older
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Works great
10/22/2012

Customer review by Norab444

5.0 stars by Norab444

This was very easy to set up. I attached the bracket to a 2x4 and then bolted the 2x4 to a fence post so it was up out of the way but still able to get to it easy if I need to change a battery or clean out the rain collector if leaves get in it. The rain collector doesn't actually hold the rain water but just allows the rain to run through it to obtain the measurement. The only negative is that the display unit is not backlit so I usually pick up the display to read it. Overall I am very pleased with this devise.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Norab444
Cumming, Ga
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
10/9/2011

Customer review by just2muchfun

5.0 stars by just2muchfun

Very nice weather set. Gives all needed information, setup is easy however you need a long pole (ha ha) for mounting this is not included. Very nice

Was this review helpful? (4) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
just2muchfun
owings mills maryland
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
8/14/2012

Customer review by ExtraoridinaryShopper

5.0 stars by ExtraoridinaryShopper

Accurate temperature reading in direct sunlight, seems to measure rain and wind speeds well also. And $48 cheaper than in store to boot.

Was this review helpful? (3) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
ExtraoridinaryShopper
Home
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great product for the price.
8/29/2012

Customer review by oldman817

5.0 stars by oldman817

Very easy to set up. The last one I had took about an hour to set up and didn't do as much as this one does. The hardest part was putting the 4X4 in the ground. Very pleased with this one. It does everything it claims it will do.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
oldman817
Sanger TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
12/2/2011

Customer review by rbanker

5.0 stars by rbanker

Great Item! I live in a small town on the Mississippi River and do a lot of fishing. This little weather station tells it all. Nice item to let you know if it is a good fishing day or whats coming your way.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
rbanker
Mississippi River
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Excellent value for an all-in-one weather station
6/16/2014

Customer review by XFJN84A

5.0 stars by XFJN84A

We checked this unit out against all the others we could find on the market, and couldn't find a better value for the money. It replaced a similar 20-year-old-unit that had wiring. The fact that this unit is wireless makes it a whole lot easier to set up. This weather station measures rainfall, wind speed, wind direction, barometric pressure (current and trend graph), 24-hour forecast, and indoor/outdoor temperature and humidity. Just put 4 AA batteries in the outdoor unit and 3 AA batteries in the indoor readout, mount the outdoor unit in a tall place, and it goes to work. It has a little solar-powered internal fan in the outdoor unit to help make the temperature reading accurate in direct sunlight. You can set beep alarms for weather conditions such as high wind, rain, freezing, or storm approaching. Although not necessary, it's visually interesting to mount the outdoor unit on a pole in the back yard where you can see it. That way you can see the wind spinner spinning and the wind vane changing direction as the indoor readout tells speed and direction. It's a good idea to use some insect spray near the outdoor unit now and then to prevent spiders from going inside. Also lubricate the wind-cup spinner shaft with WD-40 now and then. If you have long, cold winters, lithium AA batteries will work better in the outdoor unit. Batteries should last about a year. In case you ever need replacement parts after the warranty expires, AcuRite has a website, and sells the common replacement parts. This weather station is easy to set up and operate. It's interesting and a good conversation piece. The weather predictions that it makes have been as accurate as the local weather people. It's fun to see the wind speed and direction from inside the house.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
XFJN84A
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1-20 of 94 total reviews