Back

Customer Reviews

Average rating: 4.4out of 5 stars
4.4 out of 5 | 315 reviews
5 stars
218
4 stars
54
3 stars
10
2 stars
12
1 stars
21
Sort by: 
1-20 of 286 reviews
1-20 of 286 reviews
Great price, totally useful
11/10/2013
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
After some research and price comparisons i came upon this humidity monitor. I live in a basement and to my shock and horror i had a moldy closet of incredible clothing. It never occurred to me to even think about the issues of living down under. All the sudden i was faced with monitoring the humidity level daily (which i knew nothing about,) but using the AcuRite, I soon found out it got up to 64% humidity (not good,) according to other research to prevent mold and mildew. I was really getting a lesson on moisture! I did order online and picked up in a nearby store with no problems or delay. I loved that they do free pick up in store, even though it's a ten dollar item, other stores do not. Overall, it become necessary to know the humidity level in my home, so no more leather or stuff gets ruined. Especially any the health concerns or air quality issues. It led me to buy 2 dehumidifiers that now my AcuRite monitors the new lower levels. It has already paid for itself, the peace of mind it has given me is great, the digital display instantly reminds me levels are safe and that makes me happy. Very satisfied with the product and in-store pick-up.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (89)No (14)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Excellent product for the price
9/22/2012
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I purchased 4 of these items to monitor the temperature and humidity in my home and two homes I am watching for some friends over the summer. I was very surprised at the accuracy these units have. I verified the accuracy of each unit against a thermometer that is accurate to 0.3 degree Fahrenheit, and in a wet salt chamber which is at 75% relative humidity after 24 hours to stabilize. The measured temperature accuracy of all four units was found to be within +/-1 degree Fahrenheit at the test temperature of 75 degrees, and the relative humidity reading was within +/- 1% of the 75% RH for each unit. A problem I encountered is that the response time for the reading to stabilize to the measured accuracy is slow. Temperature takes 15 minutes and relative humidity takes about 2 hours to stabilize. Also, the history reading reset about every 24 hours. All thing considered, you get a very accurate temperature and humidity monitor for the money. I would not hesitate to recommend this product to family and friends.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (163)No (20)
Report
Was this review helpful?
If you want to reset the max/min values...
6/1/2015
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
simply remove the battery. Someone else mentioned not knowing when the values reset and wishing for this feature. GHthree I believe. The instructions states it resets every 24 hours, according to when the battery was inserted(obviously). I figured I would share that news since I read it today after opening the package in case anyone would like the same feature. Some lower reviews reported defective units. I can't speak to that because mine worked out of the box and frankly, even if it fails in a month, the low cost is well worth the info I got out of it based on my needs. I picked up this unit to monitor the moisture in a basement. I popped the battery in upstairs(no A/C, high humidity) and seeing the stark contrast in values once I hit the basement was refreshing(pun mildly intended). It dialed in within minutes and the magnet is solid---I've seen similar items not stay but slowly creep down the side of whatever they were affixed too. Good times if you want to have a magnet race I suppose.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (38)No (14)
Report
Was this review helpful?
GREAT PRODUCT, ONE MINOR FLAW
11/26/2014
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I use it to measure temperature and humidity in two rooms of our four-room cottage, where we have humidifiers. It's accurate and portable, and allows me to calibrate the humidifiers to keep the humidity near 40% and the temp near 72 degrees in both places. A minor point: the maximum and minimum values of both temperature and humidity are meaningless, since they don't tell me WHEN these values are reset. Are they max and min over the last 24 hours? Last week? Does the unit contain a clock that resets the readings at midnight? If so, how is the clock regulated? Via Internet? Unlikely (and unnecessary). I would prefer a button that lets me reset max and min values myself. I would do this in the morning and know that the max/min values were for today. But the unit works well at displaying the things that interest me: the temperature and humidity NOW. That's what's important. It changes within a few minutes when I move the unit from one room to another. Overall, five stars!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (31)No (15)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Failed after only six years! <g>
6/29/2017
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I bought one of these sometime in 2011. We used it on a four-week cruise to display the temp and humidity on the balcony of our cabin, and it was exposed to salt spray that whole time. We used it as a refrigerator monitor in our motor home for four years after that. Currently, my wife uses in the little fridge she uses to store cheeses that she makes, so she can control the temp and humidity for aging them. Through all that, it worked well. The temp reading has always been accurate, but, not having another humidity gauge to judge against, I can't vouch for the accuracy of the humidity display. We had to replace the single AA battery once, I think A couple months ago one of the segments died in one of the digits for the temp display. I think I got my eight buck worth. I'm buying another one.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (6)No (1)
Report
Was this review helpful?
NOT ACCURATE; DELAY IN UPDATING
9/16/2017
Average rating:2out of5stars, based onreviews
by
VERIFIED PURCHASER. As others have already pointed out, this product is not accurate at all. If all you want is a rough ballpark estimate of temperature or humidity then it is acceptable but not otherwise. I bought it based on reviews and am sorely disappointed. There is a ten to fifteen minutes delay before readings update. this explains why others who posted they held it in fridge or against cold air flow and got no change. you need to leave it in fridge or hold it against AC vent for fifteen minutes to get updated readings. I would not buy this again. It is cheap but you get what you pay for. Based on review of other ACURITE products, the more expensive products with additional features do not seem to be much better in terms of accuracy. I recommend staying away from this brand
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (1)
Report
Was this review helpful?
second time i buy it
10/14/2017
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
needed it for babies' rooms. seems to work fine. gives me an idea of how i should dress them...
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Great Humidity Monitor
8/8/2017
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Large display gives relative humidity and temperature, plus 24-hr max & min. I was most interested in monitoring my walk-out level compared to my main level of the house. Wanted to be sure dehumidifier was working properly. It was most helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (2)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
7/28/2012
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I love this product! It's easy to use (battery installation is easy vs. another bought at a different store--and returned). The display is nicely large and easy to read from a distance. I bought two and might get a third.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (36)No (1)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Works Well
8/30/2016
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
I bought one of these and set it up in my apartment. The following day, my family was lent a dehumidifier. The AcuRite adjusted as expected from the high humidity reading the night before to the low humidity reading the next day. The day after that, a shipment came with a humidity monitor that my mom had ordered but didn't tell me about. That just created the chance to compare the two. Both of the monitors, by different companies, read the same when swapped from room to room. That is to say that this one from AcuRite appears to be reliable and worth the price. The temperature reading adjusts accurately too, matching the temperature setting on the air conditioner and going up when the air is off.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (10)No (1)
Report
Was this review helpful?
8/3/2012
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
After about two weeks, I found ths is a good choice if you want a small device which could tell you the ontime chnages in your room about tempoerature and humidity, then, this is what you want. The indicated data maybe not so accurate as an professional instrument, but consdiering its price, no complain.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (41)No (5)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Great
8/7/2017
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Top 1000 contributer
Purchased 2 of these. One for the bedroom and one for the livingroom. They work very well.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (2)No (1)
Report
Was this review helpful?
It seems to be accurate.
3/25/2014
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
I can tell you for a fact that the temperature reading is accurate, because I have another weather station device, and they both read the exact same temperature in my living room, including the changes. I can also tell you that the humidity in my living room reads between 16 and 20% when my humidifier is off, and when it's on it increases to 30 to 35%. So, while I have no reference to know what the actual humidity is in my living room, the monitor does reflect a difference when my humidifier is on and off, which makes me believe it's accurate. FYI, it does not read humidity below 16%.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (6)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
8/2/2012
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
This room thermometer shows accurate temprature and humidity. The feature I like the best is the magnet that's on the back.You can put it on a table top or a metal surface. The item when placed on a metal surface is vey sturdy. I would definitaley recommend this item.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (23)No (4)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Excellent Monitor
3/30/2016
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
This little monitor does exactly what it is meant to do. I have compared it sitting side-by-side with a different monitor and it is very accurate. I purchased two of these to specifically monitor humidity in my home. The size of the monitor is perfect. It is quite attractive sitting wherever you would want to place it. Small enough to not be bulky, but I can read the numbers from several feet away. Recording both high and low temps and humidity gives me specific conditions in my home and allows me to make adjustments accordingly. The black body of the monitor and the silver outlined front highlight the display quite well, making it easy to read. Recommended for anyone wanting, or needing, to know what is taking place in your home, specifically what does or does not make you comfortable.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (16)No (9)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Versatile features and excellent value.
8/13/2016
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
An excellent feature is its ability to track humidity levels (high/low) over the last 24 hours. Keep in mind that the 24 hour clock starts ticking when you insert the battery. Therefore, I suggest you first start the clock at midnight.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (13)No (2)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Works great, plus great value
11/14/2012
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
Love this product and will get one more if required. The display is nicely large and easy to read from a distance. It also has a small button inside the battery cover to switch between F° and C°. The daily Min/Max range for temperature and humidity feature is a big plus for an overview of temperature and humidity changing in the room. In addition, the product is capable of cleverly resetting the Min/Max range in daily base, even there is no clock feature inside. Wonder how it does it. :) Perhaps it is able to synchronize with radio-controlled clock or a 24-hour timer is built-in?
Was this review helpful?
Yes (5)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Dewey in the pits
1/15/2017
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
Works well. Nice and small. Fits inside my guitar case to monitor my humidifier which is necessary for an acoustic guitar in the dry winter months. Great price, will probably buy another.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (6)No (1)
Report
Was this review helpful?
It's accurate
7/7/2016
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
The unit I bought is well calibrated and accurate. The first thing I did was the salt water test, the hygrometer read 75 and stayed there. Next I checked the tempature with 2 other thermometer. All 3 thermometer read the same tempature within .5 of a degree C or so. I'm confident the unit as of right now is displaying the correct RH and temperature; for the price, this is an excellent item.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (7)No (1)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Does the Job.
5/29/2014
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
I bought this monitor because I suspected the humidity level in my house was too high. This monitor measures both humidity and temperature. It displays the current reading plus the high reading for the day which is helpful because I am at work during the hottest part of the day. In the winter I use a humidifier because of the dry forced air heat in my home. I look forward to using this monitor to help get the perfect humidity in my house.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (7)No (1)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Electrode, Comp-184643952, DC-prod-dal4, ENV-prod-a, PROF-PROD, VER-8.12.5, SHA-f8bb53b0cf6e9da799126d89d3bcede34110bf32, CID-