Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 35 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

4.5 stars

35 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

4.5 stars

35 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

89%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
28
4 stars
0
3 stars
3
2 stars
0
1 stars
4
1-20 of 35 total reviews
89%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 35 total reviews
1-20 of 35 reviews
Follow tips & read reviews
7/16/2012

Customer review by MeScrappy

3.0 stars 7/16/2012 by MeScrappy
by MeScrappy

The tips & reviews are accurate. Instructions said apply to 2" or less leaves,,, I applied to 7-8". Maybe that's why I need another application. The leaves turned brown in most of the areas that I sprayed in rather short order. The surrounding grass is still alive (yeah). Now 5 days later, the sedge that didn't die is taller and stronger than ever,,, I will blast it again. I expect it will kill the remaining sedge. Lesson here is to buy more than 1 bottle. Buy many.... I don't know if the seed sacs below surface are killed and only time will tell, but so far most of the sedge is brown and wilted. So a second application is in the works. If I think about it, I will return and provide further updates. Prior to this,,, plucking was our only success. A little neglect and the area becomes over run. The spray is the only stuff that works so far. The game is on and the score is Tom 7 Sedge 3. Application #2 coming and that should declare me the sedge war winner. Cross fingers.

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MeScrappy
Hartford, CT
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per year
Does exactly what it should - it is a killer...
6/29/2012

Customer review by banzai77

5.0 stars 6/29/2012 by banzai77
by banzai77

Works beautifully, my kyllinga died after three days... the only drawback is, you need multiple bottles. One bottle is enough to treat a small patch of nutsedge/kyllinga.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
banzai77
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Great Nutgrass spray
8/13/2012

Customer review by MCAA

5.0 stars 8/13/2012 by MCAA
by MCAA

Hard to find & cheapest around. Great for destroying nutgrass/nutsedge. Doesn't kill good grass around it when sprayed.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MCAA
PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
It works
2/29/2012

Customer review by subaqueou

5.0 stars 2/29/2012 by subaqueou
by subaqueou

As advertised. Sedgegrass died and St Augustine is taking over again. Buy multiple bottles.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
subaqueou
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Excellent product that really works
8/5/2012

Customer review by Coronnaman007

5.0 stars 8/5/2012 by Coronnaman007
by Coronnaman007

I bought this stuff because I have had problems with Nutsedge in my Tall Fescue Lawn. I live in Raleigh NC and have had a time trying to find a product that would not hurt the lawn. This stuff works like it says. Within 2 days, I saw all of the Nutsedge in my lawn start to turn brown and wilt! The product works great and I would recommend it to anyone. My only suggestion is that the product needs to be offered in larger quantities with a pump spray option. Squeezing this small bottle can make your wrist tired. Additionally, paying almost $7 for such a small bottle seems a bit steep. This stuff is all over the lawn and I had to buy multiple bottles of this stuff. Overall, I was very pleased with its performance.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Coronnaman007
Raleigh, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Does what it says
7/10/2014

Customer review by pmharley

5.0 stars 7/10/2014 by pmharley
by pmharley

I have a lawn service, but it does not kill nutsedge. I found this stuff by chance and used it with perfect results. Taller and more mature nutsedge will need a couple applications to finally kill it so make sure you have at least 4-5 bottles on hand. I buy it by the the case of 6 from Walmart. It doesn't hurt the grass and two or three applications kill it entirely. Like someone else said, too bad they didn't sell it in larger bottles or a refill type gallon container. It is back-breaking to keep bending over to make sure you get it all and one bottle doesn't go far. This stuff definitely works though.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
pmharley
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
It worked like a charm!
5/19/2012

Customer review by nullnull6146

5.0 stars 5/19/2012 by nullnull6146
by nullnull6146

I have tried lots of different weed killers that did absolutely nothing to the spreading nutsledge patch I have in my lawn. I'd never seen this week before last summer. My regular Scott's Weed & Feed treatment worked on everything else. Applied Halts twice very early this year and again a couple of moths later. I live in a warmer climate and of course the winter was very mild this year. It was still there when my bermuda started to come out of dormancy, so I tried this product. It killed the nutsledge dead! Just wish I could buy it in "mixable" form on some other spots with just a small infestation where I see just 4 of 5 of the blades coming up fast! I highly recommend this product.

nullnull6146
Fort Worth TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Expertise:Intermediate
Wonderful product
6/17/2013

Customer review by Samcvuille

5.0 stars 6/17/2013 by Samcvuille
by Samcvuille

This product works really good in my lawn on all the grassy weeds, like nutgrass. After applying, it takes about 2 or 3 days for the weed to start dying and then in about 5-7 days, it's completely dead. It really would be wonderful if this product were bigger sizes, like in the 1 gal. or 1.33 gal.; like maybe with the pull n. spray. But overall, I'm very pleased with this product.

Samcvuille
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Works Great
6/14/2013

Customer review by pks

5.0 stars 6/14/2013 by pks
by pks

Have never been able to kill the nutsedge and it was getting thick in spots. Finally bought a bottle of this and used it 3 days ago on a small test are. The things are already dying. So far it doesn't apprear to have hurt the grass around it. Wish I could get a bigger bottle or a concentrate of this exact product.

pks
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Expertise:Intermediate
What a great job!
9/30/2012

Customer review by Kline

5.0 stars 9/30/2012 by Kline
by Kline

It killed ALL the nutsedge in my yard. My only problem is the packaging. I had to buy 8 bottles and hand pump alot to get the job done. I wish it was available in a large container with a auto bump or something like that. Even so, it is the only nutsedge product I have ever had work. It gets a thumbs up from me!

Kline
Chesapeake, VA, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Expertise:Intermediate
Fabulous new product
9/27/2012

Customer review by Mandator

5.0 stars 9/27/2012 by Mandator
by Mandator

For years I sat in the yard pulling nutsedge only to find out last year and my wife's Master Gardner meeting that pulling it encouraged more plants. When I saw the bottle Nutsedge Killer I doubted the claim but it beat pulling so I tried it. Dead in a week or so without harming the lawn. This and the spray crab grass killer should get awards for the best new products on the market.

Mandator
Massillon, OH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Expertise:Intermediate
Effective, but Inconvenient
8/9/2012

Customer review by DanG

5.0 stars 8/9/2012 by DanG
by DanG

I have struggled with Yellow Nutsedge in my lawn for over 5 years. Professional lawn treatment services could control it, but when I switched to taking care of my lawn all by myself, this weed became established in my lawn and got worse with each year. A few years ago I tried a herbicide containing methanearsonate, but it yellowed my yard considerably for a few weeks, and the nutsedge came back. Two years ago I paid TruGreen for a single application to treat it, but the nutsedge came back. I bought a bottle of Ortho Nutsedge Killer at WalMart last year and used it on my worst patch of nutgrass. It worked great, killing the nutgrass, and not damaging the lawn. I went back for more and it was sold out for the year. This year I bought 8 bottles, and have used 5 of them so far. During mid summer, I have to walk the yard a couple of times a week with a bottle, spraying all the nutsedges I see, but it then kills them.

DanG
Kansas City, MO, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Expertise:Expert
Effectively kills nutsedge, but needs more user-friendly means of application
8/6/2012

Customer review by halcock

5.0 stars 8/6/2012 by halcock
by halcock

This product kills nutsedge as advertised, but it is sold only in a small pump bottle which creates two problems. First, the small spray bottle requires me to bend ever further over to the ground as the level of the fluid decreases in the pump bottle in order to keep feeding fluid to the sprayer. A solution is to combine remaining amounts of fluid from bottles into a single bottle that is kept full, but this is hardly an optimal solution. Second, by the time I discovered this product, the infestation was widespread, so it requires tedious application using numerous small spray bottles to cover the several large areas of infestation and widely separated emerging clumps of nutsedge. It would be great if this product could be made available as a concentrate suitable for a hose-end sprayer or tank sprayer, but Scott indicated to me last year that they have no plans to market the product other than in the small spray bottles. Application problems aside, this is a great product that takes care of nutsedge.

halcock
Collegeville, PA 19426, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Expertise:Intermediate
Worth the research and money
7/11/2012

Customer review by macgyver

5.0 stars 7/11/2012 by macgyver
by macgyver

For 3 yrs now my neighbor and i have had this weed in our lawns. My lawn is like a golf course and i would always pull this weed out manually. After doing research on Nut Grass and seeing whats available to use i came across this product by Ortho. After reading the reviews of this product i tried it this month. In just 2 days the nut grass turned yellow and is dying out. I wish you could get this product in a larger bottle say 64 ozs. so you could use a pump sprayer to cover your entire lawn. I would highly recommend this product to any one, it works great.

macgyver
Southern New Jersy
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
It works
2/13/2014

Customer review by MarieMarie

5.0 stars 2/13/2014 by MarieMarie
by MarieMarie

I have st augustine grass and it was being choked out severely by nutsedge..I bought the nozzle type hose attachment sprayer and covered my lawn with the product...well it started to work in a couple days and it kept working for a few more weeks it killed most of it but if you are heavily infested with sedgegrass You must be prepared for dead looking grass around for a while if you spray too late in the season.as the nutsedge dies off it leave spaces where theres no grass. ..so spray in the summer before the fall growth spurt when it gets cooler.. as now I have to wait until spring for my lawn to thicken up where the nutsedge was thick, and Im now seeing clovers filling in the areas before the grass can...but at least the nutsedge is gone...it defiantly works! I am planning on doing it again but this time right before my grass has a growing season like early spring...

MarieMarie
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Expertise:Intermediate
Works great!
6/20/2013

Customer review by nullnull2844

5.0 stars 6/20/2013 by nullnull2844
by nullnull2844

The nutsedge in my lawn turned brown on day two after the application with no visible effects on my tall fescue. The hose end sprayer makes it very easy to apply. I treated a 1000 sq ft area, so I only used 6 ounces of this product. This product is 28 times more concentrated than the the ready-to-spray product (1.40% vs. 0.05%). Savings hint: mix one ounce of this product with 28 ounces of water to make a ready-to-spray solution of 0.05%.

nullnull2844
Indiana, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Expertise:Intermediate
Killed Oxalis & Violets
8/13/2013

Customer review by BES

5.0 stars 8/13/2013 by BES
by BES

This product is easy to use. Was able to spray weedy areas for about 5000 to 6000 square feet with one 32 oz container connected to garden hose. Have had trouble killing Yellow Woodsorrel (also called Oxalis) in the past, and with this product in 2 days it was brown and dying. Temperatures were around 75 F when applied, and my lawn was well watered from rains the week before use. The lawn looks great - no yellowing or other damage. I anticipate doing one more application later this fall to deal with a few areas missed. The Nutsedge is yellowing, but as of this review it is too early to tell if it will be completely dead.

BES
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Expertise:Intermediate
Hello? Ortho, read your reviews - GIVE US A BIGGER BOTTLE
7/10/2014

Customer review by OutdoorLady

5.0 stars 7/10/2014 by OutdoorLady
by OutdoorLady

Used 2 weeks ago on yellow nutsedge in St. Augustine grass - it works! Want to retreat new patches and VERY disappointed to learn this product isn't available in (at minimum) a 1 gallon refill bottle or (at maximum), a 1-2 gallon bottle with *easy* spray applicator. I am a jr. baby boomer, and as such, suffer from a bad back and tendinitis in my elbows (which your spray pump exacerbates). I strive to be *green* and will not waste water with hose application. There is no reason why product in gallon sized jugs could not be poured into a pressurized spray applicator for those of us with large infestations (and aging backs and elbows).

OutdoorLady
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Expertise:Beginner
WOrked better than I thought
8/15/2014

Customer review by ChrisAnt

5.0 stars 8/15/2014 by ChrisAnt
by ChrisAnt

We have nutsedge in our back yard and we kept pulling it out by hand. Spraying it twice with this Ortho product and 95% of the nutsedge is gone!

ChrisAnt
Southbury, CT, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Expertise:Intermediate
It really works!!!
8/14/2014

Customer review by gonzalesla

5.0 stars 8/14/2014 by gonzalesla
by gonzalesla

I have tried numerous products and nothing worked. I had clovers, dollar weeds, and other stuff!! This killed everything but my St. Augustine grass. It takes a few weeks to work, but it will take care of your weeds. Wouldn’t use anything else, it is expensive but it really does work!!! One more thing I was shopping at Lowes and someone was looking for a weed killer, guess what I did I told him to go with Ortho® Nutsedge Killer for Lawns its expensive but it works and he purchased the Nutsedge.

gonzalesla
Louisiana, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Expertise:Beginner
1-20 of 35 total reviews
1-20 of 35 reviews