Back

Customer Reviews

Average rating: 4out of 5 stars
4 out of 5 | 56 reviews
5 stars
39
4 stars
2
3 stars
4
2 stars
0
1 stars
11
Sort by: 
1-20 of 56 reviews
1-20 of 56 reviews
Killed my lawn , nutsedge still growing
5/8/2016
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Used to the direction, has browned or killed my tall fescue, nutsedge still growing. Do not use, use a spot treatment, not a broadcast spray. Just keeps getting worse, after 2 weeks of almost constant rain it just kills more lawn and nutsedge is still present.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Finally, a Poa Annua killer
5/14/2015
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I was skeptical about the claim that this kills Poa Annua, but no longer. It Works! After reading all the websites on Poa Annua with no success, I tried Ortho Nutsedge Killer and voila, the Poa is dying. Hooray! You have to advertise this more to help others with the problem I had.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Follow tips & read reviews
7/16/2012
Average rating:3out of5stars, based onreviews
by
The tips & reviews are accurate. Instructions said apply to 2" or less leaves,,, I applied to 7-8". Maybe that's why I need another application. The leaves turned brown in most of the areas that I sprayed in rather short order. The surrounding grass is still alive (yeah). Now 5 days later, the sedge that didn't die is taller and stronger than ever,,, I will blast it again. I expect it will kill the remaining sedge. Lesson here is to buy more than 1 bottle. Buy many.... I don't know if the seed sacs below surface are killed and only time will tell, but so far most of the sedge is brown and wilted. So a second application is in the works. If I think about it, I will return and provide further updates. Prior to this,,, plucking was our only success. A little neglect and the area becomes over run. The spray is the only stuff that works so far. The game is on and the score is Tom 7 Sedge 3. Application #2 coming and that should declare me the sedge war winner. Cross fingers.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (13)No (3)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Great stuff !
8/9/2017
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
This is the only weed killer I have found that actually works on all the weeds in my yard and doesn't damage my grass at all.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (2)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Ortho Nutsedge Killer works great
7/19/2016
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I have had a huge Nutsedge problem in my yard for years - my lawn always looks great in the spring but as soon as the St. Louis heat starts up so did the Nutsedge. Over the years I have tried everything and nothing seemed to work until I found Ortho Nutsedge Killer. This product worked perfectly on my lawn and did not kill the regular grass - (I have a mixture of Tall Fescue / Bluegrass / Zoysia). I have a very large yard and it took a few bottles to get the Nutsedge under control and then a few spot applications as some new areas started to spring up but my yard has never been this free of Nutsedge in over 20 years that I have lived here. I always spray the Nutsedge a few days after I mow, because it is easy to see as it grows so much faster than the regular grass. I then can see it turn brown and die and by the next time I mow it doesn't come back. Hopefully I won't have any new Nutsedge next year but if I do, I know how to get rid of it now. Thank You Ortho for making a product that really works.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Effectively kills nutsedge, but needs more user-friendly means of application
8/6/2012
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
This product kills nutsedge as advertised, but it is sold only in a small pump bottle which creates two problems. First, the small spray bottle requires me to bend ever further over to the ground as the level of the fluid decreases in the pump bottle in order to keep feeding fluid to the sprayer. A solution is to combine remaining amounts of fluid from bottles into a single bottle that is kept full, but this is hardly an optimal solution. Second, by the time I discovered this product, the infestation was widespread, so it requires tedious application using numerous small spray bottles to cover the several large areas of infestation and widely separated emerging clumps of nutsedge. It would be great if this product could be made available as a concentrate suitable for a hose-end sprayer or tank sprayer, but Scott indicated to me last year that they have no plans to market the product other than in the small spray bottles. Application problems aside, this is a great product that takes care of nutsedge.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Kills Nutsedge & Pesky Weeds In One Week
9/1/2017
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I used the product on my Bermuda lawn. After 3 days, all the pesky nutsedge and other pesky weeds that didn't respond to other spraying died. I will reapply another small spot dosing soon. This is great for bermuda grass!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Does exactly what it should - it is a killer...
6/29/2012
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Works beautifully, my kyllinga died after three days... the only drawback is, you need multiple bottles. One bottle is enough to treat a small patch of nutsedge/kyllinga.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (7)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
It really really works!
8/2/2017
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I live in S. Jersey and have a great looking lawn until the nutgrass comes along. I've tried a number of products (cheap and expensive) but I have to say that this worked the best and the fastest. I sprayed in the early evening and by morning I could see the nutgrass wilting. In just 2 days they were turning brown. I've always used Scotts products and should have trusted my instinct and used this when I first saw on the shelf in the store a few years ago.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Fantastic!!
6/23/2017
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
It works! Well priced if only using for nutsedge. I would like a larger container with a wand to use for larger weed problems (pot annua, wild violets). I have used the hose attachment for this and other week killers but the problem is should there be something wrong with the connection (manufacturer mistake or mine), you get a sprayerful of the chemical --- not good. The larger container with the wand is safer to use. I would give it more stars for value if I didn't have 3-4 small empty containers in my garage as a result of not being able to buy it in greater pre-mixed quantities. This is because it also works on wild violets, of which I have many. I would love to use it for poa annua but I would need many more bottles of this to address that problem!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Great Nutgrass spray
8/13/2012
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Hard to find & cheapest around. Great for destroying nutgrass/nutsedge. Doesn't kill good grass around it when sprayed.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (5)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Does what it says
7/10/2014
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I have a lawn service, but it does not kill nutsedge. I found this stuff by chance and used it with perfect results. Taller and more mature nutsedge will need a couple applications to finally kill it so make sure you have at least 4-5 bottles on hand. I buy it by the the case of 6 from Walmart. It doesn't hurt the grass and two or three applications kill it entirely. Like someone else said, too bad they didn't sell it in larger bottles or a refill type gallon container. It is back-breaking to keep bending over to make sure you get it all and one bottle doesn't go far. This stuff definitely works though.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (3)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Excellent product that really works
8/5/2012
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I bought this stuff because I have had problems with Nutsedge in my Tall Fescue Lawn. I live in Raleigh NC and have had a time trying to find a product that would not hurt the lawn. This stuff works like it says. Within 2 days, I saw all of the Nutsedge in my lawn start to turn brown and wilt! The product works great and I would recommend it to anyone. My only suggestion is that the product needs to be offered in larger quantities with a pump spray option. Squeezing this small bottle can make your wrist tired. Additionally, paying almost $7 for such a small bottle seems a bit steep. This stuff is all over the lawn and I had to buy multiple bottles of this stuff. Overall, I was very pleased with its performance.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (4)No (1)
Report
Was this review helpful?
It Works!
5/19/2017
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Works!!!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (1)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
It works
2/29/2012
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
As advertised. Sedgegrass died and St Augustine is taking over again. Buy multiple bottles.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (4)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Effective, but Inconvenient
8/9/2012
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I have struggled with Yellow Nutsedge in my lawn for over 5 years. Professional lawn treatment services could control it, but when I switched to taking care of my lawn all by myself, this weed became established in my lawn and got worse with each year. A few years ago I tried a herbicide containing methanearsonate, but it yellowed my yard considerably for a few weeks, and the nutsedge came back. Two years ago I paid TruGreen for a single application to treat it, but the nutsedge came back. I bought a bottle of Ortho Nutsedge Killer at WalMart last year and used it on my worst patch of nutgrass. It worked great, killing the nutgrass, and not damaging the lawn. I went back for more and it was sold out for the year. This year I bought 8 bottles, and have used 5 of them so far. During mid summer, I have to walk the yard a couple of times a week with a bottle, spraying all the nutsedges I see, but it then kills them.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
nutsedge killer
9/3/2016
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
The Ortho Nutsedge Killer 24 oz is good. It kills the weeds. The bad thing this weed is one of the worst weeds ever to eliminate forever. I've heard it can take up to 3 years and you need to start early in the season. Walmart's price is better than Amazon and Lowes's.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (2)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
It works
2/13/2014
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I have st augustine grass and it was being choked out severely by nutsedge..I bought the nozzle type hose attachment sprayer and covered my lawn with the product...well it started to work in a couple days and it kept working for a few more weeks it killed most of it but if you are heavily infested with sedgegrass You must be prepared for dead looking grass around for a while if you spray too late in the season.as the nutsedge dies off it leave spaces where theres no grass. ..so spray in the summer before the fall growth spurt when it gets cooler.. as now I have to wait until spring for my lawn to thicken up where the nutsedge was thick, and Im now seeing clovers filling in the areas before the grass can...but at least the nutsedge is gone...it defiantly works! I am planning on doing it again but this time right before my grass has a growing season like early spring...
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Don't over do it
5/13/2017
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
The product works great, but don't douse the area. I had a couple of spots that looked like it the product did not do it's job. This was after 2 days. I hit it again and it got the nutsedge, but it also got the blue grass. It looks like I applied vegetation killer....everything died. I've learned to go lightly and wait at least a week before applying again. Used in this manner it works great.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
THIS PRODUCT TOTALLY SUCKS!!!
4/21/2017
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
DO NOT USE THIS GRASS KILLING, WEED IGNORING PRODUCT. IT DESTROYED MY LAWN AND ALL ORTHO WOULD DO IS REFUND MY PURCHASE PRICE. NOTHING LIKE BEING THE GUINEA PIG FOR A GIANT CHEMICAL COMPANY. I WILL NEVER USE AN ORTHO PRODUCT EVER AGAIN.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Electrode, Comp-184642876, DC-prod-dal3, ENV-prod-a, PROF-PROD, VER-8.12.5, SHA-f8bb53b0cf6e9da799126d89d3bcede34110bf32, CID-