Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 52 reviews | 4 out of 5

4.0 stars

52 reviews | 4 out of 5

4.0 stars

52 reviews | 4 out of 5

78%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
35
4 stars
2
3 stars
4
2 stars
0
1 stars
11
1-20 of 52 total reviews
78%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 52 total reviews
1-20 of 52 reviews
Killed my lawn , nutsedge still growing
5/8/2016

Customer review by Qneo

1.0 stars 5/8/2016 by Qneo
by Qneo

Used to the direction, has browned or killed my tall fescue, nutsedge still growing. Do not use, use a spot treatment, not a broadcast spray. Just keeps getting worse, after 2 weeks of almost constant rain it just kills more lawn and nutsedge is still present.

Comment from Madison - 5/31/2016

We apologize that our Nut sedge Killer did not preform as you expected. Your concerns have been sent to Quality Control Department, in the meantime we would really like to further discuss this problem you have experienced with you. To do this please contact us at your earliest convenience using the following link. http://tinyurl.com/npw4xxd

Qneo
Philadelphia, PA, USA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Male
Expertise:Intermediate
Finally, a Poa Annua killer
5/14/2015

Customer review by Lynn44

5.0 stars 5/14/2015 by Lynn44
by Lynn44

I was skeptical about the claim that this kills Poa Annua, but no longer. It Works! After reading all the websites on Poa Annua with no success, I tried Ortho Nutsedge Killer and voila, the Poa is dying. Hooray! You have to advertise this more to help others with the problem I had.

Lynn44
La Grange, IL, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Expertise:Intermediate
Follow tips & read reviews
7/16/2012

Customer review by MeScrappy

3.0 stars 7/16/2012 by MeScrappy
by MeScrappy

The tips & reviews are accurate. Instructions said apply to 2" or less leaves,,, I applied to 7-8". Maybe that's why I need another application. The leaves turned brown in most of the areas that I sprayed in rather short order. The surrounding grass is still alive (yeah). Now 5 days later, the sedge that didn't die is taller and stronger than ever,,, I will blast it again. I expect it will kill the remaining sedge. Lesson here is to buy more than 1 bottle. Buy many.... I don't know if the seed sacs below surface are killed and only time will tell, but so far most of the sedge is brown and wilted. So a second application is in the works. If I think about it, I will return and provide further updates. Prior to this,,, plucking was our only success. A little neglect and the area becomes over run. The spray is the only stuff that works so far. The game is on and the score is Tom 7 Sedge 3. Application #2 coming and that should declare me the sedge war winner. Cross fingers.

Was this review helpful? (10) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MeScrappy
Hartford, CT
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Once per year
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Age:45 - 54
It Works!
5/19/2017

Customer review by amber

5.0 stars 5/19/2017 by amber
by amber

Works!!!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
amber
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Don't over do it
5/13/2017

Customer review by OldBob

4.0 stars 5/13/2017 by OldBob
by OldBob

The product works great, but don't douse the area. I had a couple of spots that looked like it the product did not do it's job. This was after 2 days. I hit it again and it got the nutsedge, but it also got the blue grass. It looks like I applied vegetation killer....everything died. I've learned to go lightly and wait at least a week before applying again. Used in this manner it works great.

OldBob
SE PA
Gender:Male
Expertise:Intermediate
Ortho Nutsedge Killer works great
7/19/2016

Customer review by Tom62

5.0 stars 7/19/2016 by Tom62
by Tom62

I have had a huge Nutsedge problem in my yard for years - my lawn always looks great in the spring but as soon as the St. Louis heat starts up so did the Nutsedge. Over the years I have tried everything and nothing seemed to work until I found Ortho Nutsedge Killer. This product worked perfectly on my lawn and did not kill the regular grass - (I have a mixture of Tall Fescue / Bluegrass / Zoysia). I have a very large yard and it took a few bottles to get the Nutsedge under control and then a few spot applications as some new areas started to spring up but my yard has never been this free of Nutsedge in over 20 years that I have lived here. I always spray the Nutsedge a few days after I mow, because it is easy to see as it grows so much faster than the regular grass. I then can see it turn brown and die and by the next time I mow it doesn't come back. Hopefully I won't have any new Nutsedge next year but if I do, I know how to get rid of it now. Thank You Ortho for making a product that really works.

Tom62
Saint Louis, MO, USA
Gender:Male
Expertise:Intermediate
Effectively kills nutsedge, but needs more user-friendly means of application
8/6/2012

Customer review by halcock

5.0 stars 8/6/2012 by halcock
by halcock

This product kills nutsedge as advertised, but it is sold only in a small pump bottle which creates two problems. First, the small spray bottle requires me to bend ever further over to the ground as the level of the fluid decreases in the pump bottle in order to keep feeding fluid to the sprayer. A solution is to combine remaining amounts of fluid from bottles into a single bottle that is kept full, but this is hardly an optimal solution. Second, by the time I discovered this product, the infestation was widespread, so it requires tedious application using numerous small spray bottles to cover the several large areas of infestation and widely separated emerging clumps of nutsedge. It would be great if this product could be made available as a concentrate suitable for a hose-end sprayer or tank sprayer, but Scott indicated to me last year that they have no plans to market the product other than in the small spray bottles. Application problems aside, this is a great product that takes care of nutsedge.

halcock
Collegeville, PA 19426, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Expertise:Intermediate
THIS PRODUCT TOTALLY SUCKS!!!
4/21/2017

Customer review by ORTHOYOURETHEWORST

1.0 stars 4/21/2017 by ORTHOYOURETHEWORST
by ORTHOYOURETHEWORST

DO NOT USE THIS GRASS KILLING, WEED IGNORING PRODUCT. IT DESTROYED MY LAWN AND ALL ORTHO WOULD DO IS REFUND MY PURCHASE PRICE. NOTHING LIKE BEING THE GUINEA PIG FOR A GIANT CHEMICAL COMPANY. I WILL NEVER USE AN ORTHO PRODUCT EVER AGAIN.

Comment from Jalexus - 5/13/2017

We apologize for your disappointment of our Nutsedge Killer For Lawns. We want you to be confident in our products, this is why we offer a product guarantee. If you are not satisfied and would like to further discuss this, please contact us here: http://tinyurl.com/npw4xxd

ORTHOYOURETHEWORST
Would recommend to a friend? No
Does exactly what it should - it is a killer...
6/29/2012

Customer review by banzai77

5.0 stars 6/29/2012 by banzai77
by banzai77

Works beautifully, my kyllinga died after three days... the only drawback is, you need multiple bottles. One bottle is enough to treat a small patch of nutsedge/kyllinga.

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
banzai77
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
THIS PRODUCT KILLS LAWNS!!!
3/24/2017

Customer review by DONTKILLYOURLAWN

1.0 stars 3/24/2017 by DONTKILLYOURLAWN
by DONTKILLYOURLAWN

Used this product in early March and it barely phased the weeds, yet burned and killed much of my KY31 established grass. This product SUCKS!!!

Comment from - 5/8/2017

We are very sorry to hear that Nutsedge Killer for Lawns did not perform as expected. We strive to deliver quality products to consumers that deliver expected performance. This product has been tested safe for cool season grass types such as Creeping Bentgrass, Fine and Tall Fescue, Perennial Ryegrass, Kentucky & Rough Bluegrass and warm season grass types such as Bahiagrass, Bermuda, Buffalograss, Carpetgrass, Cenitpedegrass, Kikuyugrass, Seashore Paspalum, St. Augustinegrass (including Floratam), and Zoysiagrass. When used according to label instructions this product will not permanently damage listed grass types, but an application to a stressed lawn (due to weather, disease, other pesticides, etc) may results in temporary discoloration. For best results using this product your outside temperatures should be consistently between 60 and 85 degrees when applying. We want you to be confident in our products and that is why we offer a product guarantee. If you are not satisfied and would like to further discuss this, please contact us here: http://tinyurl.com/npw4xxd

DONTKILLYOURLAWN
Would recommend to a friend? No
Great Nutgrass spray
8/13/2012

Customer review by MCAA

5.0 stars 8/13/2012 by MCAA
by MCAA

Hard to find & cheapest around. Great for destroying nutgrass/nutsedge. Doesn't kill good grass around it when sprayed.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MCAA
PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Age:35 - 44
It works
2/29/2012

Customer review by subaqueou

5.0 stars 2/29/2012 by subaqueou
by subaqueou

As advertised. Sedgegrass died and St Augustine is taking over again. Buy multiple bottles.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
subaqueou
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Effective, but Inconvenient
8/9/2012

Customer review by DanG

5.0 stars 8/9/2012 by DanG
by DanG

I have struggled with Yellow Nutsedge in my lawn for over 5 years. Professional lawn treatment services could control it, but when I switched to taking care of my lawn all by myself, this weed became established in my lawn and got worse with each year. A few years ago I tried a herbicide containing methanearsonate, but it yellowed my yard considerably for a few weeks, and the nutsedge came back. Two years ago I paid TruGreen for a single application to treat it, but the nutsedge came back. I bought a bottle of Ortho Nutsedge Killer at WalMart last year and used it on my worst patch of nutgrass. It worked great, killing the nutgrass, and not damaging the lawn. I went back for more and it was sold out for the year. This year I bought 8 bottles, and have used 5 of them so far. During mid summer, I have to walk the yard a couple of times a week with a bottle, spraying all the nutsedges I see, but it then kills them.

DanG
Kansas City, MO, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Expertise:Expert
Excellent product that really works
8/5/2012

Customer review by Coronnaman007

5.0 stars 8/5/2012 by Coronnaman007
by Coronnaman007

I bought this stuff because I have had problems with Nutsedge in my Tall Fescue Lawn. I live in Raleigh NC and have had a time trying to find a product that would not hurt the lawn. This stuff works like it says. Within 2 days, I saw all of the Nutsedge in my lawn start to turn brown and wilt! The product works great and I would recommend it to anyone. My only suggestion is that the product needs to be offered in larger quantities with a pump spray option. Squeezing this small bottle can make your wrist tired. Additionally, paying almost $7 for such a small bottle seems a bit steep. This stuff is all over the lawn and I had to buy multiple bottles of this stuff. Overall, I was very pleased with its performance.

Was this review helpful? (3) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Coronnaman007
Raleigh, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Once per week
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Age:45 - 54
It works
2/13/2014

Customer review by MarieMarie

5.0 stars 2/13/2014 by MarieMarie
by MarieMarie

I have st augustine grass and it was being choked out severely by nutsedge..I bought the nozzle type hose attachment sprayer and covered my lawn with the product...well it started to work in a couple days and it kept working for a few more weeks it killed most of it but if you are heavily infested with sedgegrass You must be prepared for dead looking grass around for a while if you spray too late in the season.as the nutsedge dies off it leave spaces where theres no grass. ..so spray in the summer before the fall growth spurt when it gets cooler.. as now I have to wait until spring for my lawn to thicken up where the nutsedge was thick, and Im now seeing clovers filling in the areas before the grass can...but at least the nutsedge is gone...it defiantly works! I am planning on doing it again but this time right before my grass has a growing season like early spring...

MarieMarie
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Expertise:Intermediate
Ortho Nutsedge killer
9/10/2016

Customer review by Captain

1.0 stars 9/10/2016 by Captain
by Captain
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I found this product works well.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Comment from - 9/13/2016

WE're glad you liked the performance of Ortho Nutsedge Killer. If you ever have any questions or need assistance with any of our product please feel free to contact us via http://tinyurl.com/npw4xxd and one of our representatives will be glad to assist you.

Captain
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Does what it says
7/10/2014

Customer review by pmharley

5.0 stars 7/10/2014 by pmharley
by pmharley

I have a lawn service, but it does not kill nutsedge. I found this stuff by chance and used it with perfect results. Taller and more mature nutsedge will need a couple applications to finally kill it so make sure you have at least 4-5 bottles on hand. I buy it by the the case of 6 from Walmart. It doesn't hurt the grass and two or three applications kill it entirely. Like someone else said, too bad they didn't sell it in larger bottles or a refill type gallon container. It is back-breaking to keep bending over to make sure you get it all and one bottle doesn't go far. This stuff definitely works though.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
pmharley
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
This KILLED my nutsedge
7/19/2016

Customer review by abcmommy

5.0 stars 7/19/2016 by abcmommy
by abcmommy

In July, Day 1... At 6pm I sprayed the patches of nutsedge all over my front and backyard during 80 degree weather. 24 hours later, the previously green nutsedge was turning yellow/brown. On Day 3, it rained for 30 minutes, hopefully pushing the poison down into the dirt to kill the bulbs of the nutsedge, and there was more wilting and dying. On Day 5 before mowing the lawn, they were wilting and brown even more. AND this was all during days of 90 degree summer heat.... my grass was hardly damaged; there were two small patches probably where I sprayed a bit too much. On Day 7, after mowing you can barely see the nutsedge that is left. Now to be honest, I had the same results last year, but some still grew back. I guess it'll take a few years to get rid of it all. Good luck!

abcmommy
Hamilton Square, NJ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Expertise:Beginner
Works great.
9/25/2016

Customer review by justaguy

5.0 stars 9/25/2016 by justaguy
by justaguy

The hose attachment type is 1.4 % active ingredient and the ready to use is 0.05. Thats 28 time more dilute. So if one uses 1/2 a cup (4 oz) of the hose product and adds 14 cups of water (14 x 8oz +112oz) it almost equals a gallon (128oz) of the ready to use concentration. I'm trying this at the moment in my pump sprayer.

justaguy
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
WOW
9/29/2016

Customer review by tomtom911

5.0 stars 9/29/2016 by tomtom911
by tomtom911
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Sprayed one day, next day Nutsedge turned brown

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
tomtom911
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1-20 of 52 total reviews
1-20 of 52 reviews