Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 43 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

4.0 stars

43 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

4.0 stars

43 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

81%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
31
4 stars
1
3 stars
4
2 stars
0
1 stars
7
1-20 of 43 total reviews
81%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 43 total reviews
1-20 of 43 reviews
Ortho Nutsedge Killer works great
7/19/2016

Customer review by Tom62

5.0 stars 7/19/2016 by Tom62
by Tom62

I have had a huge Nutsedge problem in my yard for years - my lawn always looks great in the spring but as soon as the St. Louis heat starts up so did the Nutsedge. Over the years I have tried everything and nothing seemed to work until I found Ortho Nutsedge Killer. This product worked perfectly on my lawn and did not kill the regular grass - (I have a mixture of Tall Fescue / Bluegrass / Zoysia). I have a very large yard and it took a few bottles to get the Nutsedge under control and then a few spot applications as some new areas started to spring up but my yard has never been this free of Nutsedge in over 20 years that I have lived here. I always spray the Nutsedge a few days after I mow, because it is easy to see as it grows so much faster than the regular grass. I then can see it turn brown and die and by the next time I mow it doesn't come back. Hopefully I won't have any new Nutsedge next year but if I do, I know how to get rid of it now. Thank You Ortho for making a product that really works.

Tom62
Saint Louis, MO, USA
Gender:Male
Expertise:Intermediate
Follow tips & read reviews
7/16/2012

Customer review by MeScrappy

3.0 stars 7/16/2012 by MeScrappy
by MeScrappy

The tips & reviews are accurate. Instructions said apply to 2" or less leaves,,, I applied to 7-8". Maybe that's why I need another application. The leaves turned brown in most of the areas that I sprayed in rather short order. The surrounding grass is still alive (yeah). Now 5 days later, the sedge that didn't die is taller and stronger than ever,,, I will blast it again. I expect it will kill the remaining sedge. Lesson here is to buy more than 1 bottle. Buy many.... I don't know if the seed sacs below surface are killed and only time will tell, but so far most of the sedge is brown and wilted. So a second application is in the works. If I think about it, I will return and provide further updates. Prior to this,,, plucking was our only success. A little neglect and the area becomes over run. The spray is the only stuff that works so far. The game is on and the score is Tom 7 Sedge 3. Application #2 coming and that should declare me the sedge war winner. Cross fingers.

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MeScrappy
Hartford, CT
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per year
This KILLED my nutsedge
7/19/2016

Customer review by abcmommy

5.0 stars 7/19/2016 by abcmommy
by abcmommy

In July, Day 1... At 6pm I sprayed the patches of nutsedge all over my front and backyard during 80 degree weather. 24 hours later, the previously green nutsedge was turning yellow/brown. On Day 3, it rained for 30 minutes, hopefully pushing the poison down into the dirt to kill the bulbs of the nutsedge, and there was more wilting and dying. On Day 5 before mowing the lawn, they were wilting and brown even more. AND this was all during days of 90 degree summer heat.... my grass was hardly damaged; there were two small patches probably where I sprayed a bit too much. On Day 7, after mowing you can barely see the nutsedge that is left. Now to be honest, I had the same results last year, but some still grew back. I guess it'll take a few years to get rid of it all. Good luck!

abcmommy
Hamilton Square, NJ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Expertise:Beginner
Killed Lawn in several places....
7/27/2016

Customer review by tap50

1.0 stars 7/27/2016 by tap50
by tap50

Used this product to knock my nutsedge back in several places, but it has killed the centipede in three places of main application. The only thing left is dead grass and bare dirt. Doesn't seem to hurt the bermuda that volunteers up though. Very disappointed because I was using another product that DIDN't kill my grass. May have to re-sod the three areas. Will be contacting customer service for help.

Comment from Eliza - 7/29/2016

We are sorry to hear that you have had a negative experience with using Ortho Nutsedge Killer Ready-to-Use. We want you to be confident in our products. For this reason, we offer a product guarantee to our consumers. At your earliest convenience, please contact us to see what can be done. You may visit our contact page by clicking on the following link http://tinyurl.com/npw4xxd.

tap50
Albany, GA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Male
Expertise:Intermediate
Effectively kills nutsedge, but needs more user-friendly means of application
8/6/2012

Customer review by halcock

5.0 stars 8/6/2012 by halcock
by halcock

This product kills nutsedge as advertised, but it is sold only in a small pump bottle which creates two problems. First, the small spray bottle requires me to bend ever further over to the ground as the level of the fluid decreases in the pump bottle in order to keep feeding fluid to the sprayer. A solution is to combine remaining amounts of fluid from bottles into a single bottle that is kept full, but this is hardly an optimal solution. Second, by the time I discovered this product, the infestation was widespread, so it requires tedious application using numerous small spray bottles to cover the several large areas of infestation and widely separated emerging clumps of nutsedge. It would be great if this product could be made available as a concentrate suitable for a hose-end sprayer or tank sprayer, but Scott indicated to me last year that they have no plans to market the product other than in the small spray bottles. Application problems aside, this is a great product that takes care of nutsedge.

halcock
Collegeville, PA 19426, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Expertise:Intermediate
Nutsedge Killer
7/22/2016

Customer review by JimMac5522

4.0 stars 7/22/2016 by JimMac5522
by JimMac5522
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Does a decent job of keeping the nutsedge in check in my lawn

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
JimMac5522
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Overall satisfied
6/25/2016

Customer review by ralphmouth

5.0 stars 6/25/2016 by ralphmouth
by ralphmouth

I like this product but must use caution as it will "kill" the grass if it is left to long on the sprayed area (I use the hose/attached bottle). I also used the Ortho dial-a-spray bottle for diluting other Ortho products and was wondering what the attached bottle orifice is as I'd like to put the setting on half on that of the attach bottle.

ralphmouth
Beatiful Zoo Jersey
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Expertise:Intermediate
Does exactly what it should - it is a killer...
6/29/2012

Customer review by banzai77

5.0 stars 6/29/2012 by banzai77
by banzai77

Works beautifully, my kyllinga died after three days... the only drawback is, you need multiple bottles. One bottle is enough to treat a small patch of nutsedge/kyllinga.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
banzai77
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Effective, but Inconvenient
8/9/2012

Customer review by DanG

5.0 stars 8/9/2012 by DanG
by DanG

I have struggled with Yellow Nutsedge in my lawn for over 5 years. Professional lawn treatment services could control it, but when I switched to taking care of my lawn all by myself, this weed became established in my lawn and got worse with each year. A few years ago I tried a herbicide containing methanearsonate, but it yellowed my yard considerably for a few weeks, and the nutsedge came back. Two years ago I paid TruGreen for a single application to treat it, but the nutsedge came back. I bought a bottle of Ortho Nutsedge Killer at WalMart last year and used it on my worst patch of nutgrass. It worked great, killing the nutgrass, and not damaging the lawn. I went back for more and it was sold out for the year. This year I bought 8 bottles, and have used 5 of them so far. During mid summer, I have to walk the yard a couple of times a week with a bottle, spraying all the nutsedges I see, but it then kills them.

DanG
Kansas City, MO, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Expertise:Expert
Great Nutgrass spray
8/13/2012

Customer review by MCAA

5.0 stars 8/13/2012 by MCAA
by MCAA

Hard to find & cheapest around. Great for destroying nutgrass/nutsedge. Doesn't kill good grass around it when sprayed.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MCAA
PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
It works
2/29/2012

Customer review by subaqueou

5.0 stars 2/29/2012 by subaqueou
by subaqueou

As advertised. Sedgegrass died and St Augustine is taking over again. Buy multiple bottles.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
subaqueou
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Excellent product that really works
8/5/2012

Customer review by Coronnaman007

5.0 stars 8/5/2012 by Coronnaman007
by Coronnaman007

I bought this stuff because I have had problems with Nutsedge in my Tall Fescue Lawn. I live in Raleigh NC and have had a time trying to find a product that would not hurt the lawn. This stuff works like it says. Within 2 days, I saw all of the Nutsedge in my lawn start to turn brown and wilt! The product works great and I would recommend it to anyone. My only suggestion is that the product needs to be offered in larger quantities with a pump spray option. Squeezing this small bottle can make your wrist tired. Additionally, paying almost $7 for such a small bottle seems a bit steep. This stuff is all over the lawn and I had to buy multiple bottles of this stuff. Overall, I was very pleased with its performance.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Coronnaman007
Raleigh, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Killed nutsedge but browned grass
4/25/2016

Customer review by tcool6

3.0 stars 4/25/2016 by tcool6
by tcool6

I have a nutsedge problem in my back yard in north central Florida. I applied it to St Augustinr grass which it says is safe. It saw great results within 48 hours and noticed that the nutsedge was dying. However, my grass has turned yellow and looks really bad in the days since. I know the bottle says that stressed lawns may discolor but I'm a little worried that I've killed my lawn. I'll give this better reviews if my lawn comes back, just be cautious with this product and try it on a small patch first.

tcool6
Florida
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Male
Expertise:Intermediate
Killed my lawn , nutsedge still growing
5/8/2016

Customer review by Qneo

1.0 stars 5/8/2016 by Qneo
by Qneo

Used to the direction, has browned or killed my tall fescue, nutsedge still growing. Do not use, use a spot treatment, not a broadcast spray. Just keeps getting worse, after 2 weeks of almost constant rain it just kills more lawn and nutsedge is still present.

Comment from Madison - 5/31/2016

We apologize that our Nut sedge Killer did not preform as you expected. Your concerns have been sent to Quality Control Department, in the meantime we would really like to further discuss this problem you have experienced with you. To do this please contact us at your earliest convenience using the following link. http://tinyurl.com/npw4xxd

Qneo
Philadelphia, PA, USA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Male
Expertise:Intermediate
It works
2/13/2014

Customer review by MarieMarie

5.0 stars 2/13/2014 by MarieMarie
by MarieMarie

I have st augustine grass and it was being choked out severely by nutsedge..I bought the nozzle type hose attachment sprayer and covered my lawn with the product...well it started to work in a couple days and it kept working for a few more weeks it killed most of it but if you are heavily infested with sedgegrass You must be prepared for dead looking grass around for a while if you spray too late in the season.as the nutsedge dies off it leave spaces where theres no grass. ..so spray in the summer before the fall growth spurt when it gets cooler.. as now I have to wait until spring for my lawn to thicken up where the nutsedge was thick, and Im now seeing clovers filling in the areas before the grass can...but at least the nutsedge is gone...it defiantly works! I am planning on doing it again but this time right before my grass has a growing season like early spring...

MarieMarie
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Expertise:Intermediate
Weed Killer
2/23/2016

Customer review by wolf1064

1.0 stars 2/23/2016 by wolf1064
by wolf1064

I bought this product to try and kill and stop the spread of weeds in my yard. I live in central Texas and have St Augustine grass for my lawn. I used this product on the whole yard and, after a week it looked like i just feed all the weeds is is suppose to kill! I will plan on try to get my money back for wasting my time!! I have resorted to trying and pull the weeds by hand!! I am in the process of finding a product that can produce what is says it can!! I would not recommend this product at lest for St Augustine lawns!!

Comment from Kiara - 2/29/2016

Thank you for taking the time to review t Ortho® Nutsedge Killer For Lawns. We're sorry you did not get the results as expected. When using this product as directed you may see a complete kill of the weeds after 3 weeks. Results may vary depending on different temperature and watering conditions. We rely on your satisfaction. When products do not perform as expected we offer our product guarantee. Please feel free to reach out to us to see what we can do for you. You may contact us at the following link http://tinyurl.com/7ag7a3n

wolf1064
Central, TX 75969, USA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Male
Expertise:Intermediate
Does what it says
7/10/2014

Customer review by pmharley

5.0 stars 7/10/2014 by pmharley
by pmharley

I have a lawn service, but it does not kill nutsedge. I found this stuff by chance and used it with perfect results. Taller and more mature nutsedge will need a couple applications to finally kill it so make sure you have at least 4-5 bottles on hand. I buy it by the the case of 6 from Walmart. It doesn't hurt the grass and two or three applications kill it entirely. Like someone else said, too bad they didn't sell it in larger bottles or a refill type gallon container. It is back-breaking to keep bending over to make sure you get it all and one bottle doesn't go far. This stuff definitely works though.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
pmharley
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
It worked like a charm!
5/19/2012

Customer review by nullnull6146

5.0 stars 5/19/2012 by nullnull6146
by nullnull6146

I have tried lots of different weed killers that did absolutely nothing to the spreading nutsledge patch I have in my lawn. I'd never seen this week before last summer. My regular Scott's Weed & Feed treatment worked on everything else. Applied Halts twice very early this year and again a couple of moths later. I live in a warmer climate and of course the winter was very mild this year. It was still there when my bermuda started to come out of dormancy, so I tried this product. It killed the nutsledge dead! Just wish I could buy it in "mixable" form on some other spots with just a small infestation where I see just 4 of 5 of the blades coming up fast! I highly recommend this product.

nullnull6146
Fort Worth TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Expertise:Intermediate
It really really works!
9/4/2014

Customer review by hoppypc

5.0 stars 9/4/2014 by hoppypc
by hoppypc

So for 3 years I had the lawn that looked like it grew in spots overnight after a cutting. My mailman said I had nutgrass. So I research it and its not grass but a weed.....this season I was sick looking at the high grass. I did online research and found Ortho Nutsedge. I tried it in 3 areas and waited .....BOOM!!! the stuff turned brown by the 3rd day and after 3 weeks it never grew back. I purchased a few more bottles to finish the property. I had to treat 5/8 of an acre and the spray with hose system was great!! Easy to use and it did not kill my real grass. It killed off some other weeds too -BONUS!!! Yes by this and stop lookin at your tall green Nut Grass.

hoppypc
Bucks County, PA, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Expertise:Intermediate
Hello? Ortho, read your reviews - GIVE US A BIGGER BOTTLE
7/10/2014

Customer review by OutdoorLady

5.0 stars 7/10/2014 by OutdoorLady
by OutdoorLady

Used 2 weeks ago on yellow nutsedge in St. Augustine grass - it works! Want to retreat new patches and VERY disappointed to learn this product isn't available in (at minimum) a 1 gallon refill bottle or (at maximum), a 1-2 gallon bottle with *easy* spray applicator. I am a jr. baby boomer, and as such, suffer from a bad back and tendinitis in my elbows (which your spray pump exacerbates). I strive to be *green* and will not waste water with hose application. There is no reason why product in gallon sized jugs could not be poured into a pressurized spray applicator for those of us with large infestations (and aging backs and elbows).

OutdoorLady
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Expertise:Beginner
1-20 of 43 total reviews
1-20 of 43 reviews