Back

Customer Reviews

Average rating: 4.5out of 5 stars
4.5 out of 5 | 42 reviews
5 stars
35
4 stars
2
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 stars
3
Sort by: 
1-20 of 42 reviews
1-20 of 42 reviews
Awesome for roaches
7/11/2017
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
This product was a lifesaver. I use it for whenever I move into new places. If you have a roach problem just sprinkle this around your roaches will be gone in a matter of two or three days I don't know what I would do without this stuff!!!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (21)No (3)
Report
Was this review helpful?
The best
8/20/2017
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Best product ever... my only problem is that I can't find it anymore..my nearby Walmart has not had it. I used it indoors.. now I'm trying to use it outside and can't find it.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (3)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Kills them dead overnight!!!
7/27/2011
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
The day before my son's 4th birthday party, I realized the yard was overun with fire ants. I bought one bottle of Orthene Fire Ant Killer and spread it on every mound I could find. The next morning, I came out to check out the yard and it looked like a cemetery. There were dead fire ants everywhere. I swept them up and the party went on, out in the yard, without a single person getting stung. What a wonderful product!!!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (66)No (5)
Report
Was this review helpful?
GREAT FOR A BUG FREE HOME
10/28/2013
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
This stuff kills roaches. Any time I move in somewhere sprinkle ortho! I live around water and I have NO roaches and No spiders or any other bugs. My son is 6 soon to be seven and when we go to other peoples houses he says "mom theres a BUG!" he doesn't even know what a roach is....lol
Was this review helpful?
Yes (110)No (18)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Bad smell
9/2/2016
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I put down too much around the walls of my flower beds and now the smell has begin to come into the house is there any way to get rid of the smell or how long do I have to wait before it just goes away
Was this review helpful?
Yes (68)No (15)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Works great
11/21/2016
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
Get the job done.dont see ants, roaches,any insects for months.the best ever .very happy.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (22)No (3)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Is a great product killing all ant in the house
10/15/2012
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I like to have this product in my house all a time because it can keep my house out of any ant for all day in my life.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (20)No (3)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Wonderful fire ant killer
9/17/2012
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Most powerful fire ant killer. It does not matter how large or small the fire ant mound is, only 2-shake application will kill whole colony within 12 hours. Do not need any watering, only shake a little bit power, That is it !! So easy to apply, but really effective. I strong recommend to my friends and coworker. Thanks for this product research and manufacture.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (31)No (10)
Report
Was this review helpful?
This products couldn't be any better!
9/2/2012
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
It does exactly what it says it's going to do. This product worked amazingly.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (25)No (7)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Fire ants must die!
4/7/2016
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Ortho Orthene Fire Ant Killer is the best way to kill fire ants, which we are plagued with in Central Florida. Buy this product and kill the ants, the queen and make their mounds into fire ant ghost towns!! Best product there is on the market.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (25)No (10)
Report
Was this review helpful?
7/4/2012
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I'm not a bug person this helps me keep them away
Was this review helpful?
Yes (22)No (7)
Report
Was this review helpful?
mother@51
7/22/2017
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I bought this because it was suppose to keep the ants away for 6 months, I put it down on and around the mound, put the water on it, did the spreader on the rest of the lawn and after 6 weeks they were back, about 5 feet from the original mound and in another spot that had been covered by the spreader, don't waste your money.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (11)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Best I have found
11/15/2012
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Have used this for years with outstanding results. We always have bottle handy when mowing the yard...doctor the mounds as we go. Use it even in the pastures
Was this review helpful?
Yes (16)No (7)
Report
Was this review helpful?
work's!
4/22/2016
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I was told by a friend to get it and when I got it I was impressed
Was this review helpful?
Yes (15)No (9)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Can't Sprinkle From Package
5/15/2017
Average rating:2out of5stars, based onreviews
by
The powder is fine ... but what am I supposed to spread it on the mounds with? Am I supposed to try and pour it on the mounds with that huge 3" round opening? I used a spoon for a while but that just sucks and is messy. There should just be a standard spin top with a sprinkle or pour option.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
THE BEST FIRE ANT KILLER BAR NONE!
8/30/2016
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
We live in the Arizona high desert and we have fire ants here... and they were spreading like crazy. We tried literally everything until we tried this, none of it worked. First time out Ortho Orthene worked amazingly and FAST! Sprinkle it and it's done! It also works great on black ants here too. This eliminated ALL ants from our property. Other products we tried in the past it was like chasing them around the yard. This DOES get the queen and the whole colony. We will never be without this product again! And... we can walk in our yard again without being stung, and our dog can relax in the yard without being stung too. Thank you ORTHO company... PLEASE do not change a thing about this wonderful product, it works GREAT!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Best product on the market
10/15/2016
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I live in North Texas on an acre lot without curbs and gutters, so every rain brings new colonies washing in from neighboring yards. Once the rains stop and colonies can be seen, I apply Orthene and the mounds are typically dead in 1-2 days with no follow up required. The only problem I have is finding Orthene in stores locally as the big boxes sell out quickly. I've been forced to buy other brands as a result and having to repeat treatments 2-3 times. Do the math, and Orthene is the better value.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Totally Confused
5/11/2016
Average rating:3out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I am 76 years old and I have fought fire ants for years. Someone recommended the Orthene Fire Ant killer. I applied on one bed and another bed 10 feet away under the same circumstances. Next day I was shocked to see what amounted to about 1/2 cup of dead fire ants lying in a pile on bed A. I stirred the bed and did not find one live ant. I then searched the bed 10 feet away, bed B and could not find one dead ant. I stirred the bed and the ants poured out. Why did I have such great results with the one bed and zero results on the other? Both beds are fire ant beds and I applied at the same time under the same circumstances. Again, I am completely confused. I applied to bed A and bed B within minutes of one another. I know fire ants and both beds are fire ant beds. What could have happened. I have applied once again to bed B so I am eager to see what happens. I am a retired college art instructor and a very good designer. I would like to see a better way to dispense the dust without using my plastic spoon. I think Ortho should at least include a plastic spoon of the proper dimensions. Has anyone else had an experience similar to mine? I own a Facebook group with more than 7000 members and I am confused as to how to report back to the group.. Bed A, 100% effective. Bed B, 100% ineffective.. By the way, the smell was not that bad! Are we a bunch of wimps <G> I was in the US Army and a does of the chemical I encountered would have you guys dropping like flies!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Best product on the market for ants
9/28/2012
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
while this product is labled for fire ants it will work on all ants, any crawling bugs when put in its path !!! I have been using and recomending orthene for years. I have 3 acres and live in FL the fire ant capitol 1 large container will last me for 2 years ! Just a small amount on the bed and the next day it is a grave yard ! Mix a small amount with powdered sugar for ants in the house place in a bottle cap in the path of the ants overnite remove it the next day no more ants.It is labled for outdoor use !! There is astrong smell but that goes away quickly.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Like "Agent Orange" for the Toughest of Ant Mounds
9/5/2014
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I live in Michigan and normally do not have many and problems. With this years cool and wet summer, I have had some major problems with various types of ants in my lawn, garden, driveway, etc.. I tried Spectracide drop poison for all kinds of bugs and slugs and still was left with ant hills. Using this as directed not only kills the mounds, but all the smaller hills in the area of the larger visible mounds. It gets the queen. All hail the Orthene King!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Electrode, Comp-184643931, DC-prod-dal4, ENV-prod-a, PROF-PROD, VER-8.12.5, SHA-f8bb53b0cf6e9da799126d89d3bcede34110bf32, CID-