Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 39 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

4.5 stars

39 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

4.5 stars

39 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

92%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
33
4 stars
2
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 stars
2
1-20 of 39 total reviews
92%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 39 total reviews
1-20 of 39 reviews
Works great
11/21/2016

Customer review by Landa

5.0 stars 11/21/2016 by Landa
by Landa
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Get the job done.dont see ants, roaches,any insects for months.the best ever .very happy.

Was this review helpful? (9) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Landa
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Kills them dead overnight!!!
7/27/2011

Customer review by ortho123

5.0 stars 7/27/2011 by ortho123
by ortho123

The day before my son's 4th birthday party, I realized the yard was overun with fire ants. I bought one bottle of Orthene Fire Ant Killer and spread it on every mound I could find. The next morning, I came out to check out the yard and it looked like a cemetery. There were dead fire ants everywhere. I swept them up and the party went on, out in the yard, without a single person getting stung. What a wonderful product!!!

Was this review helpful? (57) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ortho123
Hiram, GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:A few times per year
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Age:25 - 34
Can't Sprinkle From Package
5/15/2017

Customer review by ToddlerNC

2.0 stars 5/15/2017 by ToddlerNC
by ToddlerNC

The powder is fine ... but what am I supposed to spread it on the mounds with? Am I supposed to try and pour it on the mounds with that huge 3" round opening? I used a spoon for a while but that just sucks and is messy. There should just be a standard spin top with a sprinkle or pour option.

Comment from - 5/22/2017

We appreciate your feedback on this product. You would sprinkle the product on the mound with a teaspoon or a tablespoon. The size or amount needed would depend on the size of the mound and that information is located on the label. If you have any other questions or concerns, please contact us here: http://tinyurl.com/npw4xxd.

ToddlerNC
Charlotte, NC, USA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Male
Expertise:Intermediate
GREAT FOR A BUG FREE HOME
10/28/2013

Customer review by KayePrice

5.0 stars 10/28/2013 by KayePrice
by KayePrice

This stuff kills roaches. Any time I move in somewhere sprinkle ortho! I live around water and I have NO roaches and No spiders or any other bugs. My son is 6 soon to be seven and when we go to other peoples houses he says "mom theres a BUG!" he doesn't even know what a roach is....lol

Was this review helpful? (81) (14)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
KayePrice
Dallas TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Once per year
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Age:25 - 34
Bad smell
9/2/2016

Customer review by Tiredofthesmell

5.0 stars 9/2/2016 by Tiredofthesmell
by Tiredofthesmell

I put down too much around the walls of my flower beds and now the smell has begin to come into the house is there any way to get rid of the smell or how long do I have to wait before it just goes away

Was this review helpful? (35) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Tiredofthesmell
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Is a great product killing all ant in the house
10/15/2012

Customer review by Housekeeping2013

5.0 stars 10/15/2012 by Housekeeping2013
by Housekeeping2013

I like to have this product in my house all a time because it can keep my house out of any ant for all day in my life.

Was this review helpful? (17) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Housekeeping2013
Denison,IA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Once per year
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Age:35 - 44
Fire ants must die!
4/7/2016

Customer review by Toreniak

5.0 stars 4/7/2016 by Toreniak
by Toreniak

Ortho Orthene Fire Ant Killer is the best way to kill fire ants, which we are plagued with in Central Florida. Buy this product and kill the ants, the queen and make their mounds into fire ant ghost towns!! Best product there is on the market.

Was this review helpful? (24) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Toreniak
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Wonderful fire ant killer
9/17/2012

Customer review by JiShers

5.0 stars 9/17/2012 by JiShers
by JiShers

Most powerful fire ant killer. It does not matter how large or small the fire ant mound is, only 2-shake application will kill whole colony within 12 hours. Do not need any watering, only shake a little bit power, That is it !! So easy to apply, but really effective. I strong recommend to my friends and coworker. Thanks for this product research and manufacture.

Was this review helpful? (25) (10)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
JiShers
Houston, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Age:55 - 64
7/4/2012

Customer review by MssAbilene

5.0 stars 7/4/2012 by MssAbilene
by MssAbilene

I'm not a bug person this helps me keep them away

Was this review helpful? (17) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MssAbilene
Abilene,Tx
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Once per month
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Age:35 - 44
This products couldn't be any better!
9/2/2012

Customer review by Mel3180

5.0 stars 9/2/2012 by Mel3180
by Mel3180

It does exactly what it says it's going to do. This product worked amazingly.

Was this review helpful? (19) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Mel3180
Grand Prairie, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Once per week
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Age:25 - 34
Best I have found
11/15/2012

Customer review by Silverbullett

5.0 stars 11/15/2012 by Silverbullett
by Silverbullett

Have used this for years with outstanding results. We always have bottle handy when mowing the yard...doctor the mounds as we go. Use it even in the pastures

Was this review helpful? (12) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Silverbullett
Teague,Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Every few days
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Age:65 or older
work's!
4/22/2016

Customer review by kitta

5.0 stars 4/22/2016 by kitta
by kitta

I was told by a friend to get it and when I got it I was impressed

Was this review helpful? (10) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
kitta
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
THE BEST FIRE ANT KILLER BAR NONE!
8/30/2016

Customer review by Yapper

5.0 stars 8/30/2016 by Yapper
by Yapper

We live in the Arizona high desert and we have fire ants here... and they were spreading like crazy. We tried literally everything until we tried this, none of it worked. First time out Ortho Orthene worked amazingly and FAST! Sprinkle it and it's done! It also works great on black ants here too. This eliminated ALL ants from our property. Other products we tried in the past it was like chasing them around the yard. This DOES get the queen and the whole colony. We will never be without this product again! And... we can walk in our yard again without being stung, and our dog can relax in the yard without being stung too. Thank you ORTHO company... PLEASE do not change a thing about this wonderful product, it works GREAT!

Yapper
Northwest Arizona, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Expertise:Intermediate
Best product on the market
10/15/2016

Customer review by Jett

5.0 stars 10/15/2016 by Jett
by Jett

I live in North Texas on an acre lot without curbs and gutters, so every rain brings new colonies washing in from neighboring yards. Once the rains stop and colonies can be seen, I apply Orthene and the mounds are typically dead in 1-2 days with no follow up required. The only problem I have is finding Orthene in stores locally as the big boxes sell out quickly. I've been forced to buy other brands as a result and having to repeat treatments 2-3 times. Do the math, and Orthene is the better value.

Jett
Aledo, TX 76008, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Expertise:Intermediate
Totally Confused
5/11/2016

Customer review by ArtProf

3.0 stars 5/11/2016 by ArtProf
by ArtProf

I am 76 years old and I have fought fire ants for years. Someone recommended the Orthene Fire Ant killer. I applied on one bed and another bed 10 feet away under the same circumstances. Next day I was shocked to see what amounted to about 1/2 cup of dead fire ants lying in a pile on bed A. I stirred the bed and did not find one live ant. I then searched the bed 10 feet away, bed B and could not find one dead ant. I stirred the bed and the ants poured out. Why did I have such great results with the one bed and zero results on the other? Both beds are fire ant beds and I applied at the same time under the same circumstances. Again, I am completely confused. I applied to bed A and bed B within minutes of one another. I know fire ants and both beds are fire ant beds. What could have happened. I have applied once again to bed B so I am eager to see what happens. I am a retired college art instructor and a very good designer. I would like to see a better way to dispense the dust without using my plastic spoon. I think Ortho should at least include a plastic spoon of the proper dimensions. Has anyone else had an experience similar to mine? I own a Facebook group with more than 7000 members and I am confused as to how to report back to the group.. Bed A, 100% effective. Bed B, 100% ineffective.. By the way, the smell was not that bad! Are we a bunch of wimps <G> I was in the US Army and a does of the chemical I encountered would have you guys dropping like flies!

ArtProf
Hattiesburg, Mississippi
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Expertise:Intermediate
Best product on the market for ants
9/28/2012

Customer review by SCHMIDT

5.0 stars 9/28/2012 by SCHMIDT
by SCHMIDT

while this product is labled for fire ants it will work on all ants, any crawling bugs when put in its path !!! I have been using and recomending orthene for years. I have 3 acres and live in FL the fire ant capitol 1 large container will last me for 2 years ! Just a small amount on the bed and the next day it is a grave yard ! Mix a small amount with powdered sugar for ants in the house place in a bottle cap in the path of the ants overnite remove it the next day no more ants.It is labled for outdoor use !! There is astrong smell but that goes away quickly.

SCHMIDT
Wildwood, FL, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Expertise:Expert
Like "Agent Orange" for the Toughest of Ant Mounds
9/5/2014

Customer review by mcdano71

5.0 stars 9/5/2014 by mcdano71
by mcdano71

I live in Michigan and normally do not have many and problems. With this years cool and wet summer, I have had some major problems with various types of ants in my lawn, garden, driveway, etc.. I tried Spectracide drop poison for all kinds of bugs and slugs and still was left with ant hills. Using this as directed not only kills the mounds, but all the smaller hills in the area of the larger visible mounds. It gets the queen. All hail the Orthene King!

mcdano71
Port Huron, MI, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Expertise:Expert
Misleading Quantity in Container
5/20/2015

Customer review by GMan36

1.0 stars 5/20/2015 by GMan36
by GMan36

Opened the container and found that it was filled up to about 1/3 of the bottle container. This is outright misleading! I'll never buy this product again nor purchase any Ortho products in the future. Yes, it gives the weight of the product but how many people are going to weigh it to make sure. You will naturally assume the container will be full. Otherwise, why buy a big container and receive a small quantity?

Comment from Drew - 7/23/2015

We're saddened to hear that you had found the container size to be misleading. We fill the container by weight instead of volume, which can sometimes cause the container to appear short-filled. We want you to be confident in our products, which is why we offer a product guarantee to our customers. At your earliest convenience, please contact us using the information that can be found by following the link below, and we would be more than happy to assist you further. http://www.scotts.com/smg/gosite/Scotts-v2/help

GMan36
Kerrville, TX, USA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Male
Expertise:Intermediate
Slower kill than expected
8/15/2014

Customer review by spgcrkgirl

4.0 stars 8/15/2014 by spgcrkgirl
by spgcrkgirl

I applied the recommended amount to the mounds around yard in our subdivision. The smaller ones were vacant with no activity within a day. The larger mounds had to be retreated within a week. This second application worked for at least 4 months. Now I am seeing ant mounds return to my yard. It seems that we chase mounds from one neighbors' yard to the next in our subdivision until our very short winter.

spgcrkgirl
Wetumpka, AL, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Controls scale outbreak on orchids
9/28/2012

Customer review by rowe

5.0 stars 9/28/2012 by rowe
by rowe

One tablespoon per gallon, applied with a sprayer to tops and undersides of foliage helps tremendously in controlling scale, both hard and boisduval, on orchid plants. Scale is one of the most persistent, annoying and disfiguring pests of orchids. Orthene is one of the valuable weapons in my efforts to control this insect. Use of a buffer to adjust pH to 5.5 or so increases residual effect.

rowe
South Louisiana
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1-20 of 39 total reviews
1-20 of 39 reviews