Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 35 reviews | 4.7 out of 5

4.5 stars

35 reviews | 4.7 out of 5

4.5 stars

35 reviews | 4.7 out of 5

94%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
30
4 stars
2
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 stars
2
1-20 of 35 total reviews
94%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 35 total reviews
1-20 of 35 reviews
Best product out there!
5/28/2013

Customer review by Annanieto

5.0 stars 5/28/2013 by Annanieto
by Annanieto

This is the best product by far for fire ants and it also can cure your home if u have a roach problem. We put it in the yard first and killed all the ants in a day. If you have roaches and you've tried everything you should try this I've recommend this to several friends and we are all roach free now . The powder is for outside so it does stink like rotten cabbage but if your as desperate as I was you won't mind. Sprinkle it thinly like you would boric acid around all base boards under stove, refrigerator, toilet, and all appliances where they hide put it in paper plates under cabinets. Clean and reapply after 1st 7 days then wait another week after 7 more days clean every thing very good and just put a then layer under appliances. Depending on how bad your infested it how many applications you'll need you may need less or more. I promise within a month you won't have roaches any more. Keep out of reach of pets and children. I hope I helped some one battling bugs like I have .

Was this review helpful? (140) (11)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Annanieto
Arkansas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per year
Fire ants must die!
4/7/2016

Customer review by Toreniak

5.0 stars 4/7/2016 by Toreniak
by Toreniak

Ortho Orthene Fire Ant Killer is the best way to kill fire ants, which we are plagued with in Central Florida. Buy this product and kill the ants, the queen and make their mounds into fire ant ghost towns!! Best product there is on the market.

Was this review helpful? (12) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Toreniak
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
work's!
4/22/2016

Customer review by kitta

5.0 stars 4/22/2016 by kitta
by kitta

I was told by a friend to get it and when I got it I was impressed

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
kitta
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Kills them dead overnight!!!
7/27/2011

Customer review by ortho123

5.0 stars 7/27/2011 by ortho123
by ortho123

The day before my son's 4th birthday party, I realized the yard was overun with fire ants. I bought one bottle of Orthene Fire Ant Killer and spread it on every mound I could find. The next morning, I came out to check out the yard and it looked like a cemetery. There were dead fire ants everywhere. I swept them up and the party went on, out in the yard, without a single person getting stung. What a wonderful product!!!

Was this review helpful? (48) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ortho123
Hiram, GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
GREAT FOR A BUG FREE HOME
10/28/2013

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 10/28/2013 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

This stuff kills roaches. Any time I move in somewhere sprinkle ortho! I live around water and I have NO roaches and No spiders or any other bugs. My son is 6 soon to be seven and when we go to other peoples houses he says "mom theres a BUG!" he doesn't even know what a roach is....lol

Was this review helpful? (56) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
An anonymous customer
Dallas TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per year
Is a great product killing all ant in the house
10/15/2012

Customer review by Housekeeping2013

5.0 stars 10/15/2012 by Housekeeping2013
by Housekeeping2013

I like to have this product in my house all a time because it can keep my house out of any ant for all day in my life.

Was this review helpful? (12) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Housekeeping2013
Denison,IA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per year
Wonderful fire ant killer
9/17/2012

Customer review by JiShers

5.0 stars 9/17/2012 by JiShers
by JiShers

Most powerful fire ant killer. It does not matter how large or small the fire ant mound is, only 2-shake application will kill whole colony within 12 hours. Do not need any watering, only shake a little bit power, That is it !! So easy to apply, but really effective. I strong recommend to my friends and coworker. Thanks for this product research and manufacture.

Was this review helpful? (23) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
JiShers
Houston, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
This products couldn't be any better!
9/2/2012

Customer review by Mel3180

5.0 stars 9/2/2012 by Mel3180
by Mel3180

It does exactly what it says it's going to do. This product worked amazingly.

Was this review helpful? (19) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Mel3180
Grand Prairie, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Totally Confused
5/11/2016

Customer review by ArtProf

3.0 stars 5/11/2016 by ArtProf
by ArtProf

I am 76 years old and I have fought fire ants for years. Someone recommended the Orthene Fire Ant killer. I applied on one bed and another bed 10 feet away under the same circumstances. Next day I was shocked to see what amounted to about 1/2 cup of dead fire ants lying in a pile on bed A. I stirred the bed and did not find one live ant. I then searched the bed 10 feet away, bed B and could not find one dead ant. I stirred the bed and the ants poured out. Why did I have such great results with the one bed and zero results on the other? Both beds are fire ant beds and I applied at the same time under the same circumstances. Again, I am completely confused. I applied to bed A and bed B within minutes of one another. I know fire ants and both beds are fire ant beds. What could have happened. I have applied once again to bed B so I am eager to see what happens. I am a retired college art instructor and a very good designer. I would like to see a better way to dispense the dust without using my plastic spoon. I think Ortho should at least include a plastic spoon of the proper dimensions. Has anyone else had an experience similar to mine? I own a Facebook group with more than 7000 members and I am confused as to how to report back to the group.. Bed A, 100% effective. Bed B, 100% ineffective.. By the way, the smell was not that bad! Are we a bunch of wimps <G> I was in the US Army and a does of the chemical I encountered would have you guys dropping like flies!

ArtProf
Hattiesburg, Mississippi
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Expertise:Intermediate
7/4/2012

Customer review by MssAbilene

5.0 stars 7/4/2012 by MssAbilene
by MssAbilene

I'm not a bug person this helps me keep them away

Was this review helpful? (15) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MssAbilene
Abilene,Tx
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per month
Best I have found
11/15/2012

Customer review by Silverbullett

5.0 stars 11/15/2012 by Silverbullett
by Silverbullett

Have used this for years with outstanding results. We always have bottle handy when mowing the yard...doctor the mounds as we go. Use it even in the pastures

Was this review helpful? (10) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Silverbullett
Teague,Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Excellent Product - One Question
11/4/2015

Customer review by vincepage

5.0 stars 11/4/2015 by vincepage
by vincepage

Ortho Orthene is the best product to use on our ants in Texas, but we've had a lot of rain / fog / heavy dew this year, and I was just wondering what happens to the effectiveness of this product in those conditions. I try to apply between rains, but inevitably subsequent mornings have heavy dew and/or fog.

vincepage
Pattison, TX, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Expertise:Intermediate
Best product on the market for ants
9/28/2012

Customer review by SCHMIDT

5.0 stars 9/28/2012 by SCHMIDT
by SCHMIDT

while this product is labled for fire ants it will work on all ants, any crawling bugs when put in its path !!! I have been using and recomending orthene for years. I have 3 acres and live in FL the fire ant capitol 1 large container will last me for 2 years ! Just a small amount on the bed and the next day it is a grave yard ! Mix a small amount with powdered sugar for ants in the house place in a bottle cap in the path of the ants overnite remove it the next day no more ants.It is labled for outdoor use !! There is astrong smell but that goes away quickly.

SCHMIDT
Wildwood, FL, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Expertise:Expert
Misleading Quantity in Container
5/20/2015

Customer review by GMan36

1.0 stars 5/20/2015 by GMan36
by GMan36

Opened the container and found that it was filled up to about 1/3 of the bottle container. This is outright misleading! I'll never buy this product again nor purchase any Ortho products in the future. Yes, it gives the weight of the product but how many people are going to weigh it to make sure. You will naturally assume the container will be full. Otherwise, why buy a big container and receive a small quantity?

Comment from Drew - 7/23/2015

We're saddened to hear that you had found the container size to be misleading. We fill the container by weight instead of volume, which can sometimes cause the container to appear short-filled. We want you to be confident in our products, which is why we offer a product guarantee to our customers. At your earliest convenience, please contact us using the information that can be found by following the link below, and we would be more than happy to assist you further. http://www.scotts.com/smg/gosite/Scotts-v2/help

GMan36
Kerrville, TX, USA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Male
Expertise:Intermediate
Like "Agent Orange" for the Toughest of Ant Mounds
9/5/2014

Customer review by mcdano71

5.0 stars 9/5/2014 by mcdano71
by mcdano71

I live in Michigan and normally do not have many and problems. With this years cool and wet summer, I have had some major problems with various types of ants in my lawn, garden, driveway, etc.. I tried Spectracide drop poison for all kinds of bugs and slugs and still was left with ant hills. Using this as directed not only kills the mounds, but all the smaller hills in the area of the larger visible mounds. It gets the queen. All hail the Orthene King!

mcdano71
Port Huron, MI, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Expertise:Expert
This powder really works!
5/2/2015

Customer review by Misha

5.0 stars 5/2/2015 by Misha
by Misha

Not only does it work on the mound, but I use it along the base of my house and the perimeter of my property and it works to keep ants and other pests from crossing the line! Wish there was a little more in each container for the price, but it is effective. Smells like rotting cabbage, so watch where you put it if you have pets, they like the smell. [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]

Misha
Palm Coast, FL, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Expertise:Expert
Slower kill than expected
8/15/2014

Customer review by spgcrkgirl

4.0 stars 8/15/2014 by spgcrkgirl
by spgcrkgirl

I applied the recommended amount to the mounds around yard in our subdivision. The smaller ones were vacant with no activity within a day. The larger mounds had to be retreated within a week. This second application worked for at least 4 months. Now I am seeing ant mounds return to my yard. It seems that we chase mounds from one neighbors' yard to the next in our subdivision until our very short winter.

spgcrkgirl
Wetumpka, AL, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Controls scale outbreak on orchids
9/28/2012

Customer review by rowe

5.0 stars 9/28/2012 by rowe
by rowe

One tablespoon per gallon, applied with a sprayer to tops and undersides of foliage helps tremendously in controlling scale, both hard and boisduval, on orchid plants. Scale is one of the most persistent, annoying and disfiguring pests of orchids. Orthene is one of the valuable weapons in my efforts to control this insect. Use of a buffer to adjust pH to 5.5 or so increases residual effect.

rowe
South Louisiana
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
GREAT PRODUCT - LOUSY CONTAINER
10/21/2012

Customer review by SKIPVOR

4.0 stars 10/21/2012 by SKIPVOR
by SKIPVOR

WORKS AS GOOD AS ANY FIRE ANT KILLER, AND BETTER THAN MOST. EASY TO USE EXCEPT FOR CONTAINER. cONTAINER CAN BE DIFFICULT TO OPEN AND TO HOLD DUE TO LARGE ROUND SHAPE. I HAVE AN ACRE LOT, SURROUNDED BY VACANT LOTS OR HOMES THAT DON'T BOTHER TO TRY TO CONTROL FIRE ANTS. I HAVE A CONSTANT BATTLE WITH FIRE ANTS AND THIS PRODUCTS WORKS BETTER THAN ANY I HAVE TRIED...AND I HAVE TRIED THEM ALL

SKIPVOR
SEGUIN, TEXAS
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Expertise:Expert
Kills Fire Ants
8/15/2014

Customer review by Allison

5.0 stars 8/15/2014 by Allison
by Allison

Works like a charm. Great value - nothing is worse than not being able to relax, walk anywhere in your yard without worrying about being stung by fire ants. So painful, it is ridiculous that something so small can inflict such pain. And this product did not hurt any birds, rabbits, squirrels, etc. in the yard. Thank goodness for Ortho.

Allison
Columbia, SC, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Expertise:Intermediate
1-20 of 35 total reviews
1-20 of 35 reviews