Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 38 reviews | 4.7 out of 5

4.5 stars

38 reviews | 4.7 out of 5

4.5 stars

38 reviews | 4.7 out of 5

95%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
33
4 stars
2
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 stars
2
1-20 of 38 total reviews
95%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 38 total reviews
1-20 of 38 reviews
Best product on the market
10/15/2016

Customer review by Jett

5.0 stars 10/15/2016 by Jett
by Jett

I live in North Texas on an acre lot without curbs and gutters, so every rain brings new colonies washing in from neighboring yards. Once the rains stop and colonies can be seen, I apply Orthene and the mounds are typically dead in 1-2 days with no follow up required. The only problem I have is finding Orthene in stores locally as the big boxes sell out quickly. I've been forced to buy other brands as a result and having to repeat treatments 2-3 times. Do the math, and Orthene is the better value.

Jett
Aledo, TX 76008, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Expertise:Intermediate
THE BEST FIRE ANT KILLER BAR NONE!
8/30/2016

Customer review by Yapper

5.0 stars 8/30/2016 by Yapper
by Yapper

We live in the Arizona high desert and we have fire ants here... and they were spreading like crazy. We tried literally everything until we tried this, none of it worked. First time out Ortho Orthene worked amazingly and FAST! Sprinkle it and it's done! It also works great on black ants here too. This eliminated ALL ants from our property. Other products we tried in the past it was like chasing them around the yard. This DOES get the queen and the whole colony. We will never be without this product again! And... we can walk in our yard again without being stung, and our dog can relax in the yard without being stung too. Thank you ORTHO company... PLEASE do not change a thing about this wonderful product, it works GREAT!

Yapper
Northwest Arizona, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Expertise:Intermediate
Totally Confused
5/11/2016

Customer review by ArtProf

3.0 stars 5/11/2016 by ArtProf
by ArtProf

I am 76 years old and I have fought fire ants for years. Someone recommended the Orthene Fire Ant killer. I applied on one bed and another bed 10 feet away under the same circumstances. Next day I was shocked to see what amounted to about 1/2 cup of dead fire ants lying in a pile on bed A. I stirred the bed and did not find one live ant. I then searched the bed 10 feet away, bed B and could not find one dead ant. I stirred the bed and the ants poured out. Why did I have such great results with the one bed and zero results on the other? Both beds are fire ant beds and I applied at the same time under the same circumstances. Again, I am completely confused. I applied to bed A and bed B within minutes of one another. I know fire ants and both beds are fire ant beds. What could have happened. I have applied once again to bed B so I am eager to see what happens. I am a retired college art instructor and a very good designer. I would like to see a better way to dispense the dust without using my plastic spoon. I think Ortho should at least include a plastic spoon of the proper dimensions. Has anyone else had an experience similar to mine? I own a Facebook group with more than 7000 members and I am confused as to how to report back to the group.. Bed A, 100% effective. Bed B, 100% ineffective.. By the way, the smell was not that bad! Are we a bunch of wimps <G> I was in the US Army and a does of the chemical I encountered would have you guys dropping like flies!

ArtProf
Hattiesburg, Mississippi
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Expertise:Intermediate
Best product on the market for ants
9/28/2012

Customer review by SCHMIDT

5.0 stars 9/28/2012 by SCHMIDT
by SCHMIDT

while this product is labled for fire ants it will work on all ants, any crawling bugs when put in its path !!! I have been using and recomending orthene for years. I have 3 acres and live in FL the fire ant capitol 1 large container will last me for 2 years ! Just a small amount on the bed and the next day it is a grave yard ! Mix a small amount with powdered sugar for ants in the house place in a bottle cap in the path of the ants overnite remove it the next day no more ants.It is labled for outdoor use !! There is astrong smell but that goes away quickly.

SCHMIDT
Wildwood, FL, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Expertise:Expert
Like "Agent Orange" for the Toughest of Ant Mounds
9/5/2014

Customer review by mcdano71

5.0 stars 9/5/2014 by mcdano71
by mcdano71

I live in Michigan and normally do not have many and problems. With this years cool and wet summer, I have had some major problems with various types of ants in my lawn, garden, driveway, etc.. I tried Spectracide drop poison for all kinds of bugs and slugs and still was left with ant hills. Using this as directed not only kills the mounds, but all the smaller hills in the area of the larger visible mounds. It gets the queen. All hail the Orthene King!

mcdano71
Port Huron, MI, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Expertise:Expert
Misleading Quantity in Container
5/20/2015

Customer review by GMan36

1.0 stars 5/20/2015 by GMan36
by GMan36

Opened the container and found that it was filled up to about 1/3 of the bottle container. This is outright misleading! I'll never buy this product again nor purchase any Ortho products in the future. Yes, it gives the weight of the product but how many people are going to weigh it to make sure. You will naturally assume the container will be full. Otherwise, why buy a big container and receive a small quantity?

Comment from Drew - 7/23/2015

We're saddened to hear that you had found the container size to be misleading. We fill the container by weight instead of volume, which can sometimes cause the container to appear short-filled. We want you to be confident in our products, which is why we offer a product guarantee to our customers. At your earliest convenience, please contact us using the information that can be found by following the link below, and we would be more than happy to assist you further. http://www.scotts.com/smg/gosite/Scotts-v2/help

GMan36
Kerrville, TX, USA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Male
Expertise:Intermediate
Excellent Product - One Question
11/4/2015

Customer review by vincepage

5.0 stars 11/4/2015 by vincepage
by vincepage

Ortho Orthene is the best product to use on our ants in Texas, but we've had a lot of rain / fog / heavy dew this year, and I was just wondering what happens to the effectiveness of this product in those conditions. I try to apply between rains, but inevitably subsequent mornings have heavy dew and/or fog.

vincepage
Pattison, TX, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Expertise:Intermediate
Slower kill than expected
8/15/2014

Customer review by spgcrkgirl

4.0 stars 8/15/2014 by spgcrkgirl
by spgcrkgirl

I applied the recommended amount to the mounds around yard in our subdivision. The smaller ones were vacant with no activity within a day. The larger mounds had to be retreated within a week. This second application worked for at least 4 months. Now I am seeing ant mounds return to my yard. It seems that we chase mounds from one neighbors' yard to the next in our subdivision until our very short winter.

spgcrkgirl
Wetumpka, AL, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Controls scale outbreak on orchids
9/28/2012

Customer review by rowe

5.0 stars 9/28/2012 by rowe
by rowe

One tablespoon per gallon, applied with a sprayer to tops and undersides of foliage helps tremendously in controlling scale, both hard and boisduval, on orchid plants. Scale is one of the most persistent, annoying and disfiguring pests of orchids. Orthene is one of the valuable weapons in my efforts to control this insect. Use of a buffer to adjust pH to 5.5 or so increases residual effect.

rowe
South Louisiana
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
GREAT PRODUCT - LOUSY CONTAINER
10/21/2012

Customer review by SKIPVOR

4.0 stars 10/21/2012 by SKIPVOR
by SKIPVOR

WORKS AS GOOD AS ANY FIRE ANT KILLER, AND BETTER THAN MOST. EASY TO USE EXCEPT FOR CONTAINER. cONTAINER CAN BE DIFFICULT TO OPEN AND TO HOLD DUE TO LARGE ROUND SHAPE. I HAVE AN ACRE LOT, SURROUNDED BY VACANT LOTS OR HOMES THAT DON'T BOTHER TO TRY TO CONTROL FIRE ANTS. I HAVE A CONSTANT BATTLE WITH FIRE ANTS AND THIS PRODUCTS WORKS BETTER THAN ANY I HAVE TRIED...AND I HAVE TRIED THEM ALL

SKIPVOR
SEGUIN, TEXAS
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Expertise:Expert
This powder really works!
5/2/2015

Customer review by Misha

5.0 stars 5/2/2015 by Misha
by Misha

Not only does it work on the mound, but I use it along the base of my house and the perimeter of my property and it works to keep ants and other pests from crossing the line! Wish there was a little more in each container for the price, but it is effective. Smells like rotting cabbage, so watch where you put it if you have pets, they like the smell. [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]

Misha
Palm Coast, FL, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Expertise:Expert
Kills Fire Ants
8/15/2014

Customer review by Allison

5.0 stars 8/15/2014 by Allison
by Allison

Works like a charm. Great value - nothing is worse than not being able to relax, walk anywhere in your yard without worrying about being stung by fire ants. So painful, it is ridiculous that something so small can inflict such pain. And this product did not hurt any birds, rabbits, squirrels, etc. in the yard. Thank goodness for Ortho.

Allison
Columbia, SC, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Expertise:Intermediate
Generally a quality product
3/11/2013

Customer review by palubob

5.0 stars 3/11/2013 by palubob
by palubob

The product seems to be highly effective, and I don't mind the smell. However, my two most recent purchases (from a local WalMart) were disappointing in that the product was very lumpy and not at all a dust as it is supposed to be. The lumpiness means that more product must be applied to a given mound to obtain sufficient cvoerage.

palubob
Rowland, NC 28383, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Expertise:Intermediate
Texas gardener
9/30/2014

Customer review by bknox

5.0 stars 9/30/2014 by bknox
by bknox

We live in rural North Texas so fire ants are a major issue in our landscape! After a few failed attempts, I found Ortho Orthene. The mounds die quickly so there is little damage to turf and plants. This is the easiest, most effective product of its type on the market.

bknox
Cooke County, TX, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Expertise:Intermediate
Great product
8/17/2014

Customer review by LTE

5.0 stars 8/17/2014 by LTE
by LTE

I live in the land of fire ants, TEXAS. This product solves my problem not only with fire ants, all ants, including carpenter. This product has a seal when you remove the lid. I poke holes in the seal to spread over ant mounds. This product does the job.

LTE
Austin, TX, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Expertise:Intermediate
kill em fast
4/23/2015

Customer review by sfcop2003

5.0 stars 4/23/2015 by sfcop2003
by sfcop2003

This works fast and the mound is gone...well the ants in the mound are gone. I like to disturb the mound and sprinkle on top of fire ants when they emerge. .I think it works faster like that. [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]

sfcop2003
Crandall, TX, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Expertise:Intermediate
Use this product to put an end to fire ant mounds.
8/16/2014

Customer review by daisy416

5.0 stars 8/16/2014 by daisy416
by daisy416

Ortho Orthene Fire Ant Killer really does a good job killing the ant mounds in my yard. One application is all it takes. Application is easy and convenient and needs no watering in. I fully recommend this product.

daisy416
Georgia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Expertise:Intermediate
works great
5/8/2015

Customer review by papae56

5.0 stars 5/8/2015 by papae56
by papae56

Use ortho all the time. As the hills come back the ants seem to get smaller and smaller. I think it messes with their genes. Any body else notice this?

papae56
NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Expertise:Intermediate
Orthene works great and fast
9/4/2014

Customer review by DWFreidell

5.0 stars 9/4/2014 by DWFreidell
by DWFreidell

I have a problem with ants getting into my pool motor and other motors around the property. I tried the Orthene on these ants and they were killed quick and did not come back. Thanks Ortho!

DWFreidell
Cedar Hill, TX, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Expertise:Expert
Kills the mound
10/5/2014

Customer review by rstutes

5.0 stars 10/5/2014 by rstutes
by rstutes

It just plain works. I put it on the mound, and it looks the same the next day, but there are no ants. But it really does smell like rotten broccoli. Ha!

rstutes
TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Expertise:Beginner
1-20 of 38 total reviews
1-20 of 38 reviews