Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 463 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

4.0 stars

463 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

4.0 stars

463 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

83%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
297
4 stars
75
3 stars
21
2 stars
16
1 stars
54
1-20 of 463 total reviews
83%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 463 total reviews
1-20 of 463 reviews
It does work, on some bugs
12/12/2011

Customer review by MomaHoward

4.0 stars 12/12/2011 by MomaHoward
by MomaHoward

The previous posters both has issues with Ants. For that, I will say, that it is not really that effective. However, if you're dealing with cockroaches or fleas, this stuff does the trick! A property of my mom's became infested with fleas to the point when you'd walk in, you would look like your legs was black. We sprayed this spray all over, and then reapplied 48 hours later (maybe 10 fleas were on you when we re-applied) and the fleas have been gone for over 2 years. It broke the cycle. Now my problem, roaches...it's trickier...because my neighbors keep spraying without notifying us and sending them over here. So, for the roaches we see, they do get killed and seem to not come back, then the neighbors spray, and I guess the product isn't strong enough to keep out an army of them at once. But, to at least minimize the roaches until an exterminator can be afforded, it does work great. It's just NOT a substitute for major infestations that require an exterminator...save your money and get one to come out.

Was this review helpful? (13) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MomaHoward
Sapulpa, OK
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
7/19/2011

Customer review by Gemini0605

2.0 stars 7/19/2011 by Gemini0605
by Gemini0605

This stuff is easy to use, but in spite of the claim that it will last up to 12 months, I had lots of insect activity in treated outdoor areas within less than 1 week of application. Since the label says "up to 12 months", it can mean anywhere from 1 day to 12 months. I had a bad infestation of flying ants, it killed on contact but 2 days later the same area that had been nearly saturated with this stuff was full of the flying ants again, and they were getting into my home as well, so had to spray perimeters of some rooms. After it dried the ants were still crawling right through the treated areas, and 2 days later they were STILL crawling in. I guess I'm going to stick with my exterminator for the time being. This stuff may have a scent that causes the insects to panic and split the colony and if that's the case, it made my problem worse. I understand it takes a few days for this stuff to be fully effective but a letter from the company clearly states that the product is not designed to be effective in the egg stage, only larval and adult stages are effected. So it probably won't work on a wasp or hornet's nest, either.

Was this review helpful? (14) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Gemini0605
Waukesha, WI
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
7/19/2011

Customer review by murumby

3.0 stars 7/19/2011 by murumby
by murumby

It does work only indoors but this product is not long time effective as it used to be. Out doors perimeter it not effective. It has to be used every two days. Ants always returns

Was this review helpful? (8) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
murumby
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Keeps bugs out!
5/2/2013

Customer review by Summertime49

5.0 stars 5/2/2013 by Summertime49
by Summertime49

We use this perimeter spray every 6 months as well as bug bombing our house every spring when the weather warms up and we never have any problems with bugs! I know it says up to 12 months but i'm a "rather be safe than sorry" kind of woman, especially when i have kids in the house, and every 6 months seems to do the trick.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Summertime49
Mt
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
Why Don't You People Learn to Use the Product
3/6/2013

Customer review by shannondu

5.0 stars 3/6/2013 by shannondu
by shannondu

So many of the bad reviews on here for this product state something like this: "I sprayed it on the bug and it didn't die"... This product is NOT like a can of RAID! You don't spray it directly on bugs and wait for the bugs to die. You obviously aren't reading the directions! What you have to do is clean the floors, spray it according to the directions indoors and outdoors around the perimeter of the home. WAIT for the insecticide to DRY. And then, at that point, when bugs cross the insecticide "barrier" and go about their business, then they WILL die! If you spray only one area inside the home, that won't stop bugs from entering from other areas. It's like an invisible "force field" that you are putting up. Spray it around the baseboard and in front of all doors in your home so that there are no "holes" in your force field. Then, spray it around the outside of the home where the home meets the ground. I usually go up a foot and out a foot. That's it. Simple. It's gonna take about 2 hours to do a whole inside and outside of a regular sized home correctly. If you skip a doorway or skip a room, you should expect to not see results because you didn't complete your force field. If you see lots of insects running around with the first couple of days after a proper application, that's because they are trying to relocate before they die off. If you see your population decrease, but there is still some population left a few months later, that's because the babies hatched. Just keep using this once ever 3-4 months until you have the problem under control, then you'll only need to use it once a year. I've had great success in three different homes with a literal ARMY of ants and cockroaches. Once I used this stuff they were gone. I've also gotten rid of black widows and other spidery pests. This stuff is great! There is a tiny itsy bitsy hint of an odor when first applying it - but it goes away within a couple of hours.

shannondu
Georgia, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Expertise:Intermediate
Love this product
9/21/2013

Customer review by Kalely

5.0 stars 9/21/2013 by Kalely
by Kalely

This is an amazing product. Better than any other product for cockroaches on the market. Kills it within a few minutes. Once sprayed as directed, the first time I used it, I had NO cockroaches for nine months. Then imoved to another apt with ,unknowingly to me, had the same type of infestation. They were in the fridge that was there, the microwave, everywhere. After I sprayed, I saw one the next day, then several babies, then none for 10 months! They just started coming back, so I bought some more. I SATURATE, maybe more than the directions say. I also take out all the drawers and spray behind them pipes that go into walls, under the stove and on walls. Any cracks between walls and appliances, I spray everywhere! Couldn't live without it!

Kalely
Los Angeles, CA, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Expertise:Beginner
had very bad flea problem
7/22/2012

Customer review by kellyals

5.0 stars 7/22/2012 by kellyals
by kellyals

day two and no fleas in the house and my animals are very happy

kellyals
Trenton, SC 29847, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Expertise:Intermediate
Look no further for spiders!
9/11/2013

Customer review by joely7502

5.0 stars 9/11/2013 by joely7502
by joely7502

If you need proof that this product works, come and visit me here in Houston, TX. About a month or so ago, I started noticing an abundance of black widow spiders beginning to dwell along the outside hallways of my apartment building. Each morning I would come home, MORE would be building nests and awaiting the arrival of bugs...or worse...me. I have a serious case of arachnaphobia and purchased this product at the recommendation of my mother. I took the spray and committed a mass genocide of widows outside of my door on the 3rd floor. And by mass genocide...I seriously mean I may have went a little nuts around my door. I sprayed above, below, on the sides, around it, around my trash receptacle, EVERYWHERE! No black widows were to be found. I had called my apartment complex the next day to describe the problem, and pest control came out the next Monday. It has been about 4-6 weeks now. I came home from the gym tonight to find TWO HUGE black widow spiders awaiting my arrival at the bottom of the stairs. Two more on the second landing, and several more in between the stairs between the 2nd and third floors. Third floor? NOTHING! Not a bug in sight! No spiders, no beetles, no roaches, no scorpions, NOTHING! I am going to re-spray inside my apartment this weekend to make sure, as I haven't treated it in several months, but I would say this is as successful a test as you can probably get. If you don't like spiders, THIS IS THE PRODUCT FOR YOU!!!

joely7502
Katy, TX, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Expertise:Intermediate
Very effective!
9/27/2012

Customer review by mpower

5.0 stars 9/27/2012 by mpower
by mpower

This product has been very successful in curbing the cricket problem I've had. More so than any other product I have tried, Home Defense Max is by far more effective in controlling these pests.

mpower
Turnersville, Washington Township, NJ, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Expertise:Intermediate
Ortho® Home Defense MAX® Insect Killer for Indoor & Perimeter 1
9/29/2012

Customer review by ecobb

5.0 stars 9/29/2012 by ecobb
by ecobb

I have been using Ortho Home Defense Max Insect Killer for indoor and perimeter 1 for several years. I use this product twice annually. If you follow the instructions as written, you will find this product does exactly as it says it will. I don't see any spiders, ants, centipedes, ticks, etc. in or outside my home. After a day of using the application, I will find dead spiders, centipedes, etc. and just sweep them up and toss. My house remains free of webs and unwanted bugs. I recommend this product to all I speak with. By using the product twice annually, I am assured my house will remain free from all bugs. I am so glad I found this product. It does what it says it will do and more. Thanks Ortho!

ecobb
Boston, MA, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Expertise:Intermediate
Works very well
6/25/2012

Customer review by tsyme

5.0 stars 6/25/2012 by tsyme
by tsyme

I trust it every year the earwigs are no match!! I started to use it when we had a very very bad earwig and Carpenter ant problem all around our house.

tsyme
Sterling Heights, MI, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Expertise:Intermediate
This product works wonderfully. Easy to use.
6/4/2013

Customer review by shezataz

5.0 stars 6/4/2013 by shezataz
by shezataz

Have used this product for a couple of years. Wouldn't considering using anything else. Not a cheap product, but well worth the cost. We have poison spiders, scorpions and common other bugs. Always does a great job.

shezataz
Truth or Consequences, NM
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Expertise:Intermediate
Only thing that worked for Ticks!
12/17/2012

Customer review by DONNABUC

5.0 stars 12/17/2012 by DONNABUC
by DONNABUC

A few years ago we had a tick infestation of ticks. We have four dogs and I was pulling like 20 off of them a day. They then were crawling up our walls. We could see the tiny ones up near the ceiling also. I was so embarrassed to have people over, being afraid we would see one going up the wall, or find one on them. We tried bombs they didn't work at all. Then we tried this spray. I would spray near the ceiling and baseboards everyday! I can't remember how long it took, but it wasn't that long. We have been tick free 3-4 yrs now. My neighbor has then now and I told them they had to go buy this stuff.

DONNABUC
Margate, Fl
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Expertise:Intermediate
Works great
3/6/2013

Customer review by dustykol

5.0 stars 3/6/2013 by dustykol
by dustykol

This product is convenient and easy to use. It got rid of my bugs completely!

dustykol
Sherman, TX, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Expertise:Beginner
Keeps on working
12/10/2012

Customer review by LDuncan

5.0 stars 12/10/2012 by LDuncan
by LDuncan

I have used the HomeDefense product to have it take care of either flea issues, roach issues or even spider issues. Make sure you clean your spray area first. Then apply per instructions and soon you will see many little dead bugs you did not know were living in your house.

LDuncan
Denison, TX, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Expertise:Beginner
No more Bugs
5/18/2012

Customer review by GeneBra

5.0 stars 5/18/2012 by GeneBra
by GeneBra

I spray indoor perimeter (baseboards,doorways,heat vents,window sills) twice a year with Home Defence Max, no more bugs. Excellent product.

GeneBra
Reisterstown, MD, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Expertise:Intermediate
Good stufff...but be patient.
9/27/2012

Customer review by ahorlacher

5.0 stars 9/27/2012 by ahorlacher
by ahorlacher

When purchasing this product, it is important to remember that this is rated for home use, indoors and out. When I read reviews that say that this did not instantly kill a spider when it was sprayed, I want to reply and say 'you are expecting the result of arsenic'. Well, you don't want that effect, because imagine what that would also do to your pets, kids and others that may come in contact? As I have used this over the years, I've learned that you have to be patient with this product and use it exactly as it is recommended. This doesn't necessarily kill bug instantly, but rather creates a constant deterrent zone where new bugs do not want to enter, and makes existing bugs want to leave. For example, I live in an area where ants and 'hobo' spiders are a big problem. In the spring, I spray a wet, constant perimeter around my home (in garage, window wells, etc). After a few days, I notice that the window wells are free of spiders, and the ants are no longer marching in through the cracks. After a few weeks and into the summertime, I keep reapplying as directed. In the fall, when the bugs want to come into a warm home, I keep up the applications. I stop only once the weather starts freezing. If I remain consistent, and keep the area 'protected', this product is extremely effective. Bugs do not like this stuff. Again, this is a home-grade product, and because of the safer nature of the formula, the results may take a little time as the pesky bugs pack up and leave. Apply the spray effectively, inside and out, and you'll see less and less bugs until they are gone. And it does not smell nearly as bad as some of those old bug sprays you may remember when you were younger. Once it dries, it's pretty much odorless. The best part of this product is that it is as effective as your neighbor who just paid Mr. Orkin 10 times what you spent, for the same results. I've been using this stuff for 8 years, and know that it works, while not worrying about the toxic effects of chemicals in years past.

ahorlacher
SLC, Utah
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Expertise:Intermediate
Works to prevent bugs.
5/31/2012

Customer review by garnsdorff

5.0 stars 5/31/2012 by garnsdorff
by garnsdorff

Dropped monthly service and replaced with Ortho Home Defense Max. Works as well at greatly reduced cost.

garnsdorff
Southeast Georgia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Expertise:Intermediate
Works Great
6/8/2012

Customer review by Fink

5.0 stars 6/8/2012 by Fink
by Fink

I apply this early in spring and then every thirty days or so for added pretection. It works great. I have a wife and three daughters in my house and they don't want to see one spider, ant, or those dreaded stink bugs. This product keeps them and me happy all summer.

Fink
Pittsburgh, PA, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Expertise:Intermediate
Say Good Bye To Bugs!
6/14/2012

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 6/14/2012 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

This has been the best bug spray that I have ever purchased. I use it inside my home every few months in the summer to eliminate any bugs that sneak in. I am very impressed with the price and effectiveness of this product. Another great perk is that it does not have a strong smell. I would recommend it to everyone! So cancel your pest control service and go out to buy it today!

An anonymous customer
Huntsville, AL, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Expertise:Intermediate
1-20 of 463 total reviews
1-20 of 463 reviews