Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 529 reviews | 4 out of 5

4.0 stars

529 reviews | 4 out of 5

4.0 stars

529 reviews | 4 out of 5

79%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
319
4 stars
82
3 stars
25
2 stars
25
1 stars
78
1-20 of 529 total reviews
79%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 529 total reviews
1-20 of 529 reviews
It does work, on some bugs
12/12/2011

Customer review by MomaHoward

4.0 stars 12/12/2011 by MomaHoward
by MomaHoward

The previous posters both has issues with Ants. For that, I will say, that it is not really that effective. However, if you're dealing with cockroaches or fleas, this stuff does the trick! A property of my mom's became infested with fleas to the point when you'd walk in, you would look like your legs was black. We sprayed this spray all over, and then reapplied 48 hours later (maybe 10 fleas were on you when we re-applied) and the fleas have been gone for over 2 years. It broke the cycle. Now my problem, roaches...it's trickier...because my neighbors keep spraying without notifying us and sending them over here. So, for the roaches we see, they do get killed and seem to not come back, then the neighbors spray, and I guess the product isn't strong enough to keep out an army of them at once. But, to at least minimize the roaches until an exterminator can be afforded, it does work great. It's just NOT a substitute for major infestations that require an exterminator...save your money and get one to come out.

Was this review helpful? (39) (10)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MomaHoward
Sapulpa, OK
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
bought my first jug about 2 months ago
6/21/2016

Customer review by ihatespiders123

4.0 stars 6/21/2016 by ihatespiders123
by ihatespiders123

I've sprayed like it says to spray in the instructions, and I'm no stranger to doing pest control in my house. Having said that, I've noticed since I've sprayed every once in awhile usually after mowing my grass I find grass spiders in my house dead. I assume this is from crawling through the barrier. I've found every spider listed in the description as what it kills except one... I've found 2 brown recluse. so very few products are effective with these spiders so I figured I should say this is why i'm not 5 stars. I bought this to kill all pests, but I chose this because it's supposed to kill the recluse.. maybe some improvements could be made? or some advice, as I know these spiders are very sneaky and can live for over a year without food or water..

ihatespiders123
Arkansas, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Expertise:Intermediate
I HATE SPIDERS
7/14/2016

Customer review by Kelli

5.0 stars 7/14/2016 by Kelli
by Kelli

I am deathly afraid of spiders. I've been bitten by a Brown Recluse and was in the hospital for 3 days. I have a quarter size hole in my arm from it. I use this stuff religiously. I spray about every 2 months. I spray my entire house deck and yard. Because I've used it for so many years I do not have spiders anymore (knock on wood). I am now fighting fleas, I am going to spray my dogs bed and then wash it - I hope this works. My friends joke that I wear it for perfume! :)

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Kelli
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
TERRIBLE! !!!
7/2/2016

Customer review by SeriouslyDisappointed

1.0 stars 7/2/2016 by SeriouslyDisappointed
by SeriouslyDisappointed

I bought Ortho Max Home Defense. Followed all the directions. We are having a serious problem with ants. This stuff doesn't even come close to working!

Was this review helpful? (1) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
SeriouslyDisappointed
Would recommend to a friend? No
Perimeter Control
6/30/2016

Customer review by OCDHomeowner

3.0 stars 6/30/2016 by OCDHomeowner
by OCDHomeowner

I highly recommend this product, unfortunately, I do not suggest paying the higher price for the trigger enabled container due to the fact the trigger stopped working after only one application. I was forced to go out and buy an additional spray bottle to finish.

OCDHomeowner
Maryland
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Expertise:Intermediate
Works on ants, but not roaches.
6/13/2016

Customer review by Amanda08

2.0 stars 6/13/2016 by Amanda08
by Amanda08

I bought this to get control on the ants since they were everywhere in my house, I had to do 2 separate occasions of spraying to get rid of them. After 2 months i now only see a few ants, but am now seeing roaches, a few ants & definitely quite a few spiders. This product does not last for 12 months as said, & if timing is everything on control of these pests then I think I had good timing on the roaches because I didnt have a roach problem before now so if it lasts 12 months I should of never seen them.

Comment from Amanda - 6/20/2016

We are sorry to hear of your experience with our product. Most insects cannot be controlled in the egg stage, so insecticides are targeted to control insects in the larval or adult stages. Also, more mature or larger insects will take longer to control than younger or smaller insects. You may not see the insects die immediately, but you should see a reduction in the pests or their damage within a few days. Treating both the outside entry points and the inside at the same time will also help. We want you to be confident in our products. For this reason, we offer a product guarantee to our consumers. At your earliest convenience please contact us to see what can be done. You may visit our contact page by clicking on the following link http://tinyurl.com/7ag7a3n

Amanda08
Blacksburg, VA 24060, USA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Female
Expertise:Intermediate
So far so good
5/7/2016

Customer review by CSweet

5.0 stars 5/7/2016 by CSweet
by CSweet

Purchased this product on sale at my local TSC. We live in the country and the bug issue was getting out of hand especially the ants and Asian beetles. My dad recommended this product and he's usually pretty on point with his suggestions. Purchased the 1 gallon and I live in a 1600 square foot house and I was surprised how much was left after spraying the inside, basement and outside. It has been 24 hours and there is a huge decrease in the amount of bugs in the house as well as the increase in the amount of dead ants I cleaned up this morning. After reading the reviews, I am excited to see how well it works after 2 weeks. Application was super easy but don't expect it to kill many bugs on contact, but I could tell they were upset when they were in my line of fire. I will post an update in a few weeks.

CSweet
Michigan
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Expertise:Beginner
Been using it for years...always works
10/18/2014

Customer review by Victoria

5.0 stars 10/18/2014 by Victoria
by Victoria

I go back to this same product every time because it works so well. I see that another reviewer mentioned it didn't work for fleas...so far I haven't had to worry about that but I can say that in the Midwest we get the normal run of the mill spiders, ants, earwigs, centipedes, etc. Once I spray with Ortho Home Defense we're bug-less for months. That's saying a lot because I'm one of those people who often leaves my door open. :-D About twice a year I go around the outside and spray: -the line where the exterior walls meet the ground -the complete outline around the doors and windows -cracks -holes where an inlet has been drilled (like for a cable, the ac unit, pipes, hoses, spigots). Then I spray inside around the doors, windows and vents, including the doorway that separates the basement from the main level. I have pets. I make them wait about 30 minutes before I let them into a sprayed area. So far, Ortho has kept my home bug free and there hasn't been any issues with staining or with my pets.

Victoria
Minnesota, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Expertise:Intermediate
Incredible!!!
8/19/2014

Customer review by MorganRic

5.0 stars 8/19/2014 by MorganRic
by MorganRic

I live in a very wooded area by a canal in florida so summer time brings serious palmetto bug/roach problems. Once the sun goes down, I don't even dare going into the garage due to how many nasty critters are in there. It was to the point where my fear of spiders have subsided to give way to my new fear of palmettos. They squeeze their gross little selves under my doors in search of leftovers my toddler hid around the house. I used the barrier spray right before dusk around the perimeter and on the floor in the garage and on the borders of every door and window around my house. At around 11:30 that night I peaked out into that bug cave and to my surprise I didn't see a single roach, palmetto beast, or other creepy crawly that is usually out there. The only ones that are seen anymore are dead!! I'm super impressed and will definitely be a returning customer. I highly recommend this to anyone with a pesty bug problem. And the price was awesome for how big the container was!! Thanks so much Ortho!!!!

MorganRic
Tampa, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Works well. Easy to use.
6/18/2016

Customer review by Bugsforevermore

5.0 stars 6/18/2016 by Bugsforevermore
by Bugsforevermore

I have been using this product for the past few years to kill roaches, ants and some spiders. The roaches are my main target. It is very effective on the roaches and ants. The spiders are tougher to get rid of. No stains, no odor. I don't believe it really lasts for 12 months. I usually have to spray a few times per year. I'm fine with that.

Bugsforevermore
New Mexico, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Expertise:Intermediate
This product Home Defense Ortho works like a champ if used correctly.
6/12/2016

Customer review by BlackPanther2016

5.0 stars 6/12/2016 by BlackPanther2016
by BlackPanther2016

Many times I see dead large cock roaches near the entrance of my front door and inside my back door. I also saw dead roaches behind my refrigerator. During Hurricane season when it rained off & on 3 to 4 days the ants reappeared outside like they didn't have a worry in the world. For the most part I am happy that the roach problem is under control.

BlackPanther2016
Jacksonville, Fl USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Expertise:Intermediate
7/19/2011

Customer review by Gemini0605

2.0 stars 7/19/2011 by Gemini0605
by Gemini0605

This stuff is easy to use, but in spite of the claim that it will last up to 12 months, I had lots of insect activity in treated outdoor areas within less than 1 week of application. Since the label says "up to 12 months", it can mean anywhere from 1 day to 12 months. I had a bad infestation of flying ants, it killed on contact but 2 days later the same area that had been nearly saturated with this stuff was full of the flying ants again, and they were getting into my home as well, so had to spray perimeters of some rooms. After it dried the ants were still crawling right through the treated areas, and 2 days later they were STILL crawling in. I guess I'm going to stick with my exterminator for the time being. This stuff may have a scent that causes the insects to panic and split the colony and if that's the case, it made my problem worse. I understand it takes a few days for this stuff to be fully effective but a letter from the company clearly states that the product is not designed to be effective in the egg stage, only larval and adult stages are effected. So it probably won't work on a wasp or hornet's nest, either.

Was this review helpful? (17) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Gemini0605
Waukesha, WI
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
So easy to use!
6/16/2015

Customer review by Lisabugkiller

5.0 stars 6/16/2015 by Lisabugkiller
by Lisabugkiller

I usually get deadly sick smelling any type spray. I could not smell this at all! It really works. I have sprayed my house, rental house and my commercial building with this, so fast and easy. That was over three weeks ago and I am still finding dead spiders, bugs, granddaddys' and grasshoppers. I have the pump powered by batteries and I can not say enough good things about it. I have a bad back, but using this is not problem. Love it, love it, love it. I will never again go without keeping my house sprayed with this stuff. I always waited at least a year between spraying due to the smell. I sprayed under my desk and outside too, a few minutes later I saw two brown recluse come running out. One I killed but the other got away, next morning a I saw the one that got away under my briefcase dead. I sprayed just like the directions said. I also sprayed my ceilings too. Don't know about anyone else but I have had brown recluse drop down from the ceiling on me in bed.

Lisabugkiller
Mountain Home, AR, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Expertise:Intermediate
This product projects nothing
6/15/2016

Customer review by Ishy73

1.0 stars 6/15/2016 by Ishy73
by Ishy73

This product is no good, it didnt project nothing. In fact more roaches came out when using it..

Comment from DeMario - 6/21/2016

We apologize for the inconvenience experienced while using Orthos Home Defense MAX Insect Killer For Indoor & Perimeter. Generally when using the product to kill insects spraying along the floorboards where the floor walls meet will assist in killing your insects. In cases that include a severe infestation reapplication may be needed in order to control the hatch-lings. Reapplication in this case would have to take place every one to two weeks in order to obtain the maximum effect. We appreciate you taking the time to write your review. If you have any questions or would like further assistance, please contact us at http://tinyurl.com/npw4xxd and one of our representatives would be glad to assist you. We hope this experience has not caused you to lose faith in our product, as we use reviews like yours to maintain and improve the quality product that you and other consumers have come to know and love.

Ishy73
Orlando
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Male
Expertise:Intermediate
Terrible
6/6/2016

Customer review by Scooter34

1.0 stars 6/6/2016 by Scooter34
by Scooter34

Sprayed the perimeter of my house one time after I was finally able to get it to prime to spray. Well a week later still bugs. I mainly bought it for ants sprayed them directly and a good line around my foundation the bugs crawling all over the same spots as before. Tried to spray again the sprayer wouldn't prime at all so no spraying. I transferred it to my own sprayer and re sprayed still no dead ants. Very very disappointed in this product.

Comment from Erin - 6/16/2016

We are very sorry to hear that you had a problem with your Ortho Home Defense MAX not spraying or kiling the ants. We take your feedback very seriously because it helps us to make better products, so we appreciate you letting us know. Timing is an important factor in insect control. More mature or larger insects will take longer to control than younger or smaller insects. You may not see the insects die immediately, but you should see a reduction in the pests or their damage within a few days. We want you to be confident in our products. For this reason, we offer a product guarantee to our consumers. At your earliest convenience, please contact us to see what can be done. You may visit our contact page by clicking on the following link: http://tinyurl.com/npw4xxd

Scooter34
Willow Springs, MO 65793, USA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Male
Expertise:Intermediate
No more spiders!
10/13/2015

Customer review by AKWife

5.0 stars 10/13/2015 by AKWife
by AKWife

I bought this product to deal with a spider infestation in our old 60's-era apartment. Our unit was directly over the building's basement, and huge (1-2" leg diameter) grass spiders were coming up from the baseboard heaters and around the edges of the poorly-installed carpet. We saw an average 1-3 of these spiders daily. I sprayed this stuff EVERYWHERE around all the doors, windows, edges of walls, closets, corners, behind furniture, and directly under and down inside the baseboard heaters. About a week later there were no more spiders! They reappeared about 3-4 months later so I re-sprayed successfully. YAY! Only downside is the batteries are inconvenient to change since you need a tiny star-head screwdriver. I did have the sprayer clog on me once but swishing it in hot water for 10 seconds worked great. Also, the white plastic wand is kinda flimsy (I broke it - my fault- but tubing is still intact so still works). Could be sturdier IMO. We are in a new apartment now, and I have already recommended this product to our neighbor.

AKWife
Alaska, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Expertise:Beginner
soaked a roach in it and it started bathing
6/6/2016

Customer review by An anonymous customer

1.0 stars 6/6/2016 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

How long does this garbage take to kill a roach? more than 5 minutes when soaked in it, if at all. It ATTRACTS roaches! Places I've sprayed have them swarminbg on them now!

Comment from DeMario - 6/16/2016

We apologize for the inconvenience you're having with Ortho Home Defense MAX Insect Killer for Indoor & Perimeter. Generally when the product is applied to the insect directly or spread around the room along where the insects are coming from the product will kill the insects. Reapplication of the product may need to take place every 1-2 weeks before complete control of the roaches can be obtained. In regards to your product attracting more roaches, Ortho Home Defense MAX Insect Killer for Indoor & Perimeter doesn't contain any ingredients that would be attractive to animals or insects. What could be happening is that the roaches are coming from that area and dying along the treated area. Some of the ones that could still be moving a little may be feeling the effects of the solution and its taking a little more time to kill the insect. If you have any questions or would like further assistance, please contact us at http://tinyurl.com/npw4xxd and one of our representatives would be glad to assist you. We hope this experience has not caused you to lose faith in our product, as we use reviews like yours to maintain and improve the quality product that you and other consumers have come to know and love.

An anonymous customer
Columbus, OH, USA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Expertise:Expert
Great stuff
5/30/2016

Customer review by wilbur40

5.0 stars 5/30/2016 by wilbur40
by wilbur40

I only have to use it once a year and I get 3 years out of a jug. I spray in the spring when I see the first spider. I have never seen another spider until the next spring.

wilbur40
Erie, Pa
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Expertise:Intermediate
Horrible!!
5/26/2016

Customer review by Me05

1.0 stars 5/26/2016 by Me05
by Me05

I bought this mainly for carpenter ants. I sprayed once and they were still around so I sprayed again for in case I somehow did something wrong. Needless to say, the carpenter ants and other bugs are still here and have started coming in the house instead of staying outside like before I sprayed. Very disappointed

Comment from Erin - 6/8/2016

We are sorry to hear that this product did not kill the carpenter ants as expected. We have shared your concerns with our quality assurance department. It is through feedback from consumers such as yourself that we can continue to improve our products. We want you to be confident in our products, this is why we offer a product guarantee. If you are not satisfied and would like to further discuss this, please contact us here: http://tinyurl.com/npw4xxd

Me05
Michigan, USA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Female
Expertise:Beginner
Works great on ants, bees, and wasps
2/27/2016

Customer review by Marcel76

4.0 stars 2/27/2016 by Marcel76
by Marcel76

I've been using Ortho Home Defense Max for four years now and it seems to really work well on ants. If you douse an outdoor ant nest with this stuff, they are all dead within 2 weeks. The ones that get sprayed directly die really fast and it even gets all the foragers as they return home to their colony. I also had some mud wasps building nests in my patio ceiling so I sprayed their entry points and a week later no more wasps. I had some wild bumble bees make a nest in the siding/skrting of my mobile home and with about 4 applications over three weeks they were all dead as well. (took alot longer to wipe out the bees but it did eventually work. So for bees, wasps, and ants this is really effective stuff. Honestly I'm hesitant to use it indoors but I have on occasion used it on a few problem areas on the baseboards. It would be helpful if the instructional literature was more detailed for noobs like me but overall I honestly think this is a good product. Good enough that I took ten minutes out of my life to write this review. Thanks Ortho, you've saved me alot of grief! I do reccomend you to my family and friends.

Marcel76
West Kelowna, BC, Canada
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Expertise:Beginner
1-20 of 529 total reviews
1-20 of 529 reviews