Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 59 reviews | 3.7 out of 5

3.5 stars

59 reviews | 3.7 out of 5

3.5 stars

59 reviews | 3.7 out of 5

72%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
29
4 stars
11
3 stars
3
2 stars
4
1 stars
12
1-20 of 59 total reviews
72%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 59 total reviews
1-20 of 59 reviews
Stink Bugs and Asian Lady Bugs B Gon
1/11/2016

Customer review by dickiebobby

5.0 stars 1/11/2016 by dickiebobby
by dickiebobby
Spark Reviewer - received free product

We originally put this down for ticks, but we got a pleasant surprise. We live out in the country in the middle of 500 acres of pine trees and adjoining state forest lands and have problems with 4 different pesky bugs in our house, the Brown Marmorated stink bug, the Leaf-footed pine Tree Bug, a fly that was released in the 90”s to eat the Gipsy Moth, these are kind of large house fly and I refer to them as dumb flies, and subsequent Asian Lady Bugs that were release to kill the dumb flies. Asian lady bugs infest our house in the fall by the thousands if not tens of thousands, constantly moving into light fixtures and gathering in the corners of the walls. Although not that much of a bother, we just didn’t like having to clean the light fixtures all the time. After spreading the Bug B Gon their populations have reduced drastically, we now spread this product yearly and have been completely satisfied.

dickiebobby
Mcconnellsburg, PA 17233, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Expertise:Intermediate
Spark Reviewer - received free product
I have used this for years. Great all around.
5/8/2012

Customer review by TrulyWalmartSavvy

5.0 stars 5/8/2012 by TrulyWalmartSavvy
by TrulyWalmartSavvy

I have four outside dogs and I use this to keep the fleas and ticks to a minimum. Ants were a problem as well and it helps. I put the product in my Scotts® Easy® Hand-Held Spreader and walk the lawn in the morning while there is still dew in the ground. Along with the dogs, I have four children and I feel safe letting them go out and play without any problems with biting insects. It may be better to use it on a fresh cut lawn but I use it when I can and it last for months. I sometimes even opt to use it once a month because I have so many dogs. Even move I have made Ortho Bug-B-Gon Max was with me and will be for years to come.

Was this review helpful? (42) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
TrulyWalmartSavvy
Chattanooga, TN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
It doesn't work as advertised.
1/11/2016

Customer review by Joe69

2.0 stars 1/11/2016 by Joe69
by Joe69
Spark Reviewer - received free product

I was having an "ant" problem around my house with ants even coming into my house. I spread your product at the heavy setting around the total outside of the house and it still did not totally control the issue. I repeated the process and I still would see ants. This product is supposed to eliminate them or at least control them for three months. It definitely does not. Your product was thoroughly watered in after spreading it by over an inch of rain.

Comment from Amanda - 1/15/2016

We're troubled to hear of your results after using our Bug B Gon MAX Insect Killer for Lawns. We have alerted our Quality Assurance Team of your review so that they may research this issue further. This product is listed to control ants, although it may take 48 hours or more to see a reduction in their population. For severe infestations, repeated applications every 7-14 days may be necessary. We want you to be confident in our products. For this reason, we offer a product guarantee to our consumers. At your earliest convenience please contact us to see what we can do for you. You may visit our contact page by clicking on the following link http://tinyurl.com/7ag7a3n

Joe69
Succasunna, Roxbury Township, NJ, USA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Male
Expertise:Expert
Spark Reviewer - received free product
Great For Fleas in the Yard
8/15/2013

Customer review by Broganbubbles

5.0 stars 8/15/2013 by Broganbubbles
by Broganbubbles
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I have used this product for years, to kill fleas in the yard! Works great!

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Broganbubbles
Charleston,SC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
This product just didn't work
10/1/2015

Customer review by Rlnorris04

1.0 stars 10/1/2015 by Rlnorris04
by Rlnorris04

I bought the 20lb bag of granules to put on my yard. I have 3 small dogs and I try to keep the fleas eliminated or under control as much as possible along with all the other insects in Louisiana. Especially mosquitoes. My back yard is approximately 1700 sq feet and my front yard is about 1500sq ft. After I mowed my yard I decided to make sure my yard is treated very good so I wouldn't have to worry about my dogs with fleas and disease carrying mosquitoes and other Flying swarms of gnats and all the other annoying insects. I decided to use more then it recommended I spread 8 pds in my back yard another 8 in my front yard and the finial 4 pds along a drainage ditch evenly with a spreader After I finished spreading it I immediately turned on the sprinklers making sure I watered it down good but not to much like recommended. Here it is 5 days later the swarms of gnats are even worse , I have earwigs still crawling around the flower beds beside my house, yard moths are always flying around and getting in my home, the mosquitoes are still bad and I did clean up all standing water and I keep my yard very clean and free of all trash and debris and the draining ditch was bone dry I can put on white socks walk barefooted in the yard and they will be covered in fleas and other pest so even though I put on about triple the recommend amount it did nothing IDK if I bought a bad batch or bag of saw dust they would have had the same out come. I do not recommend this product. To me it was a waste of money a waste of a beautiful morning. Ortho normally has good products but this is just not one of them in my opinion

Comment from Honey - 10/2/2015

We are sorry that you were disappointed in the performance of Ortho Bug B Gon MAX Insect Killer for Lawns Granules. This product has been thoroughly tested to be effective in controlling the insects listed on the product label. It is important to make the first application when insect activity is first noticed. More mature or larger insects may take longer to control, but you should see a reduction in the pests or their damage within a few days. For severe infestations, you may need to reapply the product according to label directions. We want you to be confident in our products. For this reason, we offer a product guarantee to our consumers. At your earliest convenience please contact us to see what can be done. You may visit our contact page by clicking on the following link http://tinyurl.com/7ag7a3n

Rlnorris04
St Tammany Parish, LA, USA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Male
Expertise:Intermediate
Works every time and believe me i would say differently if it did not work. As i have not seen any living bugs since we started using this. Kudos
10/11/2015

Customer review by Prettymom

5.0 stars 10/11/2015 by Prettymom
by Prettymom

Excellent very happy with the product. Will use it again

Prettymom
Fenton,michigan
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Apply at 4lb. per 1,000 Rate.
6/7/2013

Customer review by R3Wood

4.0 stars 6/7/2013 by R3Wood
by R3Wood

I think it helps if you soak the lawn, then put this down one day before a rain (we have sandy soil along the coast, for me, it seems to boost the effectiveness and minimizes the runoff). I also used (4) 10lb. bags in a Scotts EdgeGuard spreader on 6 1/2, for a lawn that was 11,000 sq. ft. It says 4lbs. per 1000 square feet for 3 month protection. It was $10 per bag with a $10 rebate. For me, up in the NE, the little black and red ants seem the toughest to control. Perhaps the Bug B Gon needs to penetrate the nest which can be 3" under the ground before controlling, over 20,000 ants a colony can produce? It is a decent product if you apply it at the 4/1000 rate. You can't cheap out and buy 1 bag for 15,000 sq. feet and spread it on number 3. If you apply it in May, then you are good until August and you can apply again in September and be good until winter.

R3Wood
Somers Point, NJ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Expertise:Intermediate
Product was difficult to apply due to clumps
8/28/2015

Customer review by Sinclair

1.0 stars 8/28/2015 by Sinclair
by Sinclair

The product was full of clumps. I tried to break it up as much as possible but even the smallest clump would block the product from falling through my broadcaster correctly or accurately. I felt several bags where I made my purchase and they all felt hard so the clumping wasn't isolated to the bag I bought. I wouldn't recommend this product and definitely won't buy it again.

Comment from Honey - 9/3/2015

We are sorry that you were disappointed in the consistency of Ortho Bug B Gon MAX Insect Killer for Lawns Granules. Ortho makes every effort to ensure that our products meet consumer expectations on every level, and we appreciate the time you took to make us aware of the problem. We want you to be confident in our products. For this reason, we offer a product guarantee to our consumers. At your earliest convenience please contact us to see what can be done. You may visit our contact page by clicking on the following link http://tinyurl.com/7ag7a3n

Sinclair
Would recommend to a friend? No
Expertise:Intermediate
Watering is the trick.
7/27/2015

Customer review by Tezterz

5.0 stars 7/27/2015 by Tezterz
by Tezterz

Once you apply it, at the correct rate to a dry ground, make sure to water properly. If you have pest afterwards you probably either had too much water which washed away the product or too little water and the product didn't dissolve. Water thoroughly, but without runoff, and you should be good.

Tezterz
Missouri, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Expertise:Intermediate
This product did not work as specified
6/6/2015

Customer review by Pickle

1.0 stars 6/6/2015 by Pickle
by Pickle

It has always been my understanding that Ortho products were of a quality product. Therefore, as the normal ant colonies began showing up, I looked for a product that would help eliminate them. I purchased 3 bags of Bug B Gone and used the product as specified. After approximately 3 weeks I have noticed that the ants in my yard are spreading more and quicker than prior to spreading Bug B Gone. After using the product I would not recommend it to any one nor use it again, in fact, I spent a lot of money for nothing.

Comment from Jeremy - 7/29/2015

We are sorry that you were disappointed in the performance of Ortho Bug B Gon MAX Insect Killer for Lawns Granules. This product has been thoroughly tested to be effective in controlling the insects listed on the product label. It is important to make the first application when insect activity is first noticed. More mature or larger insects may take longer to control, but you should see a reduction in the pests or their damage within a few days. For severe infestations, you may need to reapply the product according to label directions. We want you to be confident in our products. For this reason, we offer a product guarantee to our consumers. At your earliest convenience please contact us to see what can be done. You may visit our contact page by clicking on the following link http://tinyurl.com/7ag7a3n

Pickle
Lincoln, AR 72744, USA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Male
Expertise:Intermediate
Amazing
7/12/2015

Customer review by Texan1950

4.0 stars 7/12/2015 by Texan1950
by Texan1950

Spread early this am with Off mosquito spray on, approximately 6 hrs later after a shower in house, came outside with no mosquito s to be found. Wait and see about other insects.

Texan1950
Benton Harbor Michigan
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Expertise:Beginner
Envy of my neighbors and friends
9/30/2014

Customer review by Bwmize871

5.0 stars 9/30/2014 by Bwmize871
by Bwmize871

Look, most all my neighbors receive chemical treatments for their lawn. For fertilizer, weed control and lawn pest control. I don't use ANY of those professional services and my lawn looks like Fenway Park and my neighbors look like a dog park! I follow the text alerts sent by Scott's and they are all green with envy! I am always getting questions about "Who does your lawn!" My reaction is "I do and Scott's and Otho does!" This is the third house I have owned and I only used Scott's. I made the mistake once of using a professional service but was never satisfied. I have no fire ant mounts, no army worm or any other lawn eating pest. NO LIE! My lawn is softer than my carpet! Get the app and get the lawn of the month and year for years to come!

Bwmize871
Birmingham, AL, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Expertise:Expert
Good Product
6/16/2015

Customer review by ConMan

4.0 stars 6/16/2015 by ConMan
by ConMan

We had ants in the house. Treated them in the house with no luck. Bought this product, put in a broadcast spreader and treated grassy areas and flower bed around the house. It really took care of the ant problem. Thanks

ConMan
Georgia, USA
Expertise:Intermediate
Good for the price..
6/18/2014

Customer review by Komodan

4.0 stars 6/18/2014 by Komodan
by Komodan
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Bayer insect bug killer maybe better but it cost a lot more, and does work that much better.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Komodan
Gainesville, Ga.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
dont work
6/13/2015

Customer review by robgreenthumb

1.0 stars 6/13/2015 by robgreenthumb
by robgreenthumb

really just disappointed it's Paul product doesn't work well at all I use the 20,000 square foot bag on about twelve to fifteen thousand square feet of grass I still have a ton of ants amongst a bunch of other bugs.

Comment from Jeremy - 7/30/2015

We are sorry that you were disappointed in the performance of Ortho Bug B Gon MAX Insect Killer for Lawns Granules. This product has been thoroughly tested to be effective in controlling the insects listed on the product label. It is important to make the first application when insect activity is first noticed. More mature or larger insects may take longer to control, but you should see a reduction in the pests or their damage within a few days. For severe infestations, you may need to reapply the product according to label directions. We want you to be confident in our products. For this reason, we offer a product guarantee to our consumers. At your earliest convenience please contact us to see what can be done. You may visit our contact page by clicking on the following link http://tinyurl.com/7ag7a3n

robgreenthumb
Warwick, RI, USA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Male
Expertise:Expert
Works okay
4/26/2015

Customer review by Texas123

4.0 stars 4/26/2015 by Texas123
by Texas123
Spark Reviewer - received free product

My big problem is ants. The good news is, if I put this right on the ant hill, it totally works, kills every one of them - for a while, they do seem to come back a couple months later though and in full force within 4-5 months. The bad news is, if I have a low density of ants, and I can't find the hill, it seems hard to get rid of them. Also, there's one little tiny ant it doesn't seem to kill Argentina ant or something like that. I don't know how to get rid of those things.

Texas123
Houston Tx
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Spark Reviewer - received free product
Great product!
6/10/2015

Customer review by teel0

5.0 stars 6/10/2015 by teel0
by teel0

I bought this for the yard we had a big bug problem, between the spiders, ticks, and fleas it was a mess I put this on and there is a big difference! Even less spiders in the house I love it!

teel0
La Vergne, TN, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Didn't work this year
8/6/2014

Customer review by mikeupton

2.0 stars 8/6/2014 by mikeupton
by mikeupton

I have used this product in years past, with great success. I put it down, and water it in as directed. 2 weeks after doing my annual treatment this year I have ant infestations everywhere. Front and Back yard. They were swarming all over the ground in the front yard today, carrying larvae, probably to the new nests that they have built. I'm irritated, as I had no major signs of ants prior to the application. Now it is so bad I won't let the kids or the dog in the yard until they are all gone. It's like a Hitchcock movie, but worse. As I stated, I have used this in the past with success. I will try it one more time. Right now, however, I'm an angry customer.

Comment from Jeremy - 8/13/2014

We are sorry that you were disappointed in the performance of Ortho Bug B Gon MAX Insect Killer for Lawns Granules. This product has been thoroughly tested to be effective in controlling the insects listed on the product label. It is important to make the first application when insect activity is first noticed. More mature or larger insects may take longer to control, but you should see a reduction in the pests or their damage within a few days. For severe infestations, you may need to reapply the product according to label directions. We want you to be confident in our products. For this reason, we offer a product guarantee to our consumers. At your earliest convenience please contact us to see what can be done. You may visit our contact page by clicking on the following link http://tinyurl.com/7ag7a3n

mikeupton
Reading, MA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Male
Expertise:Intermediate
Killed Army Worms FAST!!
8/26/2014

Customer review by DST

5.0 stars 8/26/2014 by DST
by DST

We have newly established Bermuda Sod, almost ready for it's first cutting. Noticed Army worms, had some Diatomaceous Earth and sprinkled all over the yard, suppose to work in 24 hours, but it rained after 3 hours and washed it off. Went to WallyMart and bought 2 bags of Bug-B-Gone, hand dispersed all over yard yesterday morning, yard was very wet and sod couldn't take anymore water, so I did not put anymore water on it. Dew fell again last night, so I was hoping that would be enough water. This morning, I walked all around the yard and no sign of the hungry little critters...GONE!! Thank you, Thank you ORTHO!

DST
Dunlap, TN 37327, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Expertise:Intermediate
The ticks are still there...
5/14/2014

Customer review by CJFrazier

1.0 stars 5/14/2014 by CJFrazier
by CJFrazier

I evenly spread this product throughout my yard and let the rain water it down as I do not have a hose. I bought this product to get rid of the ticks in my yard. Fleas were not listed on the bag but I had hoped it killed them too but it doesn't but I wanted those ticks gone for sure. It has been 4 days and I am still finding ticks. The bag states that it is suppose to start working immediately. The number of ticks found each day has not even gone down. I do not recommend this product for ticks. I don't know how well it is for the other insects listed since I do not have a problem with insects except fleas and ticks.

Comment from Lee Ann - 5/15/2014

We are sorry to hear that you are disappointed with the Ortho Bug B Gon Insect Killer for Lawns. The product will control both ticks and fleas. However, it will only control fleas at the time of the application and will not provide three month control. The product must be applied at 4 lbs per 1000 square feet to get the 3 month control. For heavy infestations a repeat application can be made two weeks after the original application. We want you to be confident in our products. For this reason, we offer a product guarantee to our consumers. At your earliest convenience please contact us by clicking on the following link http://tinyurl.com/7ag7a3n

CJFrazier
Texas, USA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Female
Expertise:Beginner
1-20 of 59 total reviews
1-20 of 59 reviews