Back

Customer Reviews

Average rating: 4.2out of 5 stars
4.2 out of 5 | 159 reviews
5 stars
105
4 stars
26
3 stars
4
2 stars
4
1 stars
20
Sort by: 
1-20 of 159 reviews
1-20 of 159 reviews
Junk. Doesn't work at all on ground beetles
8/8/2016
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Specifically bought this for ground beetles (which are in the long list of target bugs), and it does not do a single thing to them, or apparently to ants for that matter. I have an issue with ground beetles being around the perimeter of my house, and coming into my old house literally every night in the Summer and Fall. I applied this with a spreader according to package instructions almost 3 weeks ago and have seen no improvement whatsoever. Over a week ago, I put in a "pitfall trap" (yogurt cup with the rim at ground level) that the beetles fall into, but can't climb out of. I've been catching DOZENS of live beetles within the treated area directly around the house. They are nowhere near dead. I've resorted to killing them with a homemade spray of water, dish soap, and essential oils. Ants are roaming around in the same treated area with seemingly no ill effects. I've so far seen one dead Japanese beetle, everything else is thriving. Don't waste your money on this.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Ants Have No Chance
10/12/2016
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
This has been a bad year in west central Ohio for ants for some reason or another. I have had more ant colonies show up in my yard than I can remember. This pic I have included was the biggest colony ever in my 14 years living here. Bug B Gone applied, watered it down, and one week later I have a dirt patch ready for grass seed. Amazing! [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Product Really works
8/15/2014
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Had large area of my lawn destroyed by bugs, ,decided to use "bug b gone" . It really worked ,in almost seven weeks the large dirt area has change back to lawn.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Pest control to the Max!
6/7/2012
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Excellent product for removing all those nasty pests! Once a month application and the bugs stay far away!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
I have used this for years. Great all around.
5/8/2012
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I have four outside dogs and I use this to keep the fleas and ticks to a minimum. Ants were a problem as well and it helps. I put the product in my Scotts® Easy® Hand-Held Spreader and walk the lawn in the morning while there is still dew in the ground. Along with the dogs, I have four children and I feel safe letting them go out and play without any problems with biting insects. It may be better to use it on a fresh cut lawn but I use it when I can and it last for months. I sometimes even opt to use it once a month because I have so many dogs. Even move I have made Ortho Bug-B-Gon Max was with me and will be for years to come.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (51)No (4)
Report
Was this review helpful?
hasn't gotten rid of ants or ticks after 2 apps
6/16/2017
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
After 2 applications so far this season, the ant hills are still active and they seem to walk right over the granules of the Bug b gone like it't not even there! I followed directions and yet I am still finding ticks on me when I come in from my yard, the same area I did TWO applications of this stuff. I don't trust it one bit! It seems like the granules should break down and dissolve after a light watering or rain, yet they don't. I just have these granules everywhere. And all these reviews seem to be from paid promotions, and as such, not authentic.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (2)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Great For Fleas in the Yard
8/15/2013
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
I have used this product for years, to kill fleas in the yard! Works great!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (12)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Junk
4/8/2017
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
If you have even slight breezes, the flakes float back into you and get into your eyes like sawdust. Plus there is a huge dust cloud and if the breeze shifts at all, it goes all over your skin and clothing. I am afraid the dust alone floated onto my blossoming fruit trees and may kill any bees that come. Having used this product two consecutive seasons and comparing it to truly encapsulated products like Bayer insect pellets, I've concluded it has no redeeming value, even should it control any insect it claims to control. It is very hard to control where it lands, when you spread it. I was so angry after using it, that I immediately came online to report this. I better go take a shower now and throw my clothes in the wash, after the dust bath and financial bath I just took!!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (3)No (2)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Ortho Bug B Gon Max
6/7/2017
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I have been using Ortho Bug B Gon Max since 2011, mainly for Ticks. I am so pleased with this product. I do highly recommend it to lots of people, my friends, people loitering the aisles of walmart, lol, and people on FB. Since I started using this product, I have not had any ticks, except for 1 time, and that was when I went longer than 3 months before putting it on my yard. I cannot brag enough about this product. It is on my list to buy again today. I spread this on my yard every 3 months, year round. Thank you! Bren
Was this review helpful?
Yes (1)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Stink Bugs and Asian Lady Bugs B Gon
1/11/2016
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
We originally put this down for ticks, but we got a pleasant surprise. We live out in the country in the middle of 500 acres of pine trees and adjoining state forest lands and have problems with 4 different pesky bugs in our house, the Brown Marmorated stink bug, the Leaf-footed pine Tree Bug, a fly that was released in the 90”s to eat the Gipsy Moth, these are kind of large house fly and I refer to them as dumb flies, and subsequent Asian Lady Bugs that were release to kill the dumb flies. Asian lady bugs infest our house in the fall by the thousands if not tens of thousands, constantly moving into light fixtures and gathering in the corners of the walls. Although not that much of a bother, we just didn’t like having to clean the light fixtures all the time. After spreading the Bug B Gon their populations have reduced drastically, we now spread this product yearly and have been completely satisfied. [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Good for the price..
6/18/2014
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
Bayer insect bug killer maybe better but it cost a lot more, and does work that much better.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (4)No (1)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Worked good in Summer of 2016
5/9/2017
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
This review is from actually the 2016 season but this worked well and seems to do what it is intended to do. I put this on my lawn in 2016 and didn't see many bugs in the lawn including ants were my biggest problem in the late summer of 2016 and this seemed to rid the lawn of these. Scotts has few products that can help with any insect in your lawn. [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Apply at 4lb. per 1,000 Rate.
6/7/2013
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I think it helps if you soak the lawn, then put this down one day before a rain (we have sandy soil along the coast, for me, it seems to boost the effectiveness and minimizes the runoff). I also used (4) 10lb. bags in a Scotts EdgeGuard spreader on 6 1/2, for a lawn that was 11,000 sq. ft. It says 4lbs. per 1000 square feet for 3 month protection. It was $10 per bag with a $10 rebate. For me, up in the NE, the little black and red ants seem the toughest to control. Perhaps the Bug B Gon needs to penetrate the nest which can be 3" under the ground before controlling, over 20,000 ants a colony can produce? It is a decent product if you apply it at the 4/1000 rate. You can't cheap out and buy 1 bag for 15,000 sq. feet and spread it on number 3. If you apply it in May, then you are good until August and you can apply again in September and be good until winter.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
ORTHO 10-lb Bug B Gon Max Insect Killer for Lawns
10/16/2016
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I used to have a serious problem with various bugs throughout my lawn. The major issue was those Japanese beetles. Their larvae (grubs) were dug up by moles in the Spring which produced a torn up looking lawn with dirt hills all over. I thought I had gophers at first!!! I have tried the others, mainly because of price, but I have found that you get what you pay for. So I tried the Ortho insect repellent products several years back and have NEVER had any major issues. The Ortho products do exactly as promised. Well worth the money. I even got my neighbor turned onto this product. If you follow the instructions you'll be fine. Due to the size of my property, I need more than 1 bag to properly cover my lawn. It covers @ 10,000 square feet. Guaranteed to kill or your money back!! [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Great product
4/13/2017
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Bug b gone is great. Everyone lives it when they come over no bugs are bites them. [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Safe and effective grub control!
4/7/2017
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Applied last season and now in current season. No evidence of any grubs and I will continue using this effective product. [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Works well
4/4/2017
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Didn't notice as many insects in the lawn or inside the house. [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
a product that works
10/20/2016
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I have used this product in the liquid form to control ants ,spiders and other small insects from getting into my home,all I can say is this product done the job.I use the liqiuid form for spraying around the foundation of my home,I have had a problem with these little bugs every year,and as soon as I started the spraying of this product my problem was solevd.There has been a few times were I needed to respray and that solved the probelm again.So I have treid this product in the bag form and I got the same results,Bug B Gone does work well it worked for me,some of the bugs that did make it in the house I found dead already,so yes this Bug B Gone in the bag does the job,it worked for me and I'm a happy guy..... [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
It's all in the name, Bugs Are Gone!
3/8/2017
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
This product took care of the problem bugs! Easy to use and effective. Will be using again in the spring. [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Bug Be Gon Max works great
2/10/2017
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I used this product when I notices some ant hills appearing in the lawn, it was easy to use with my spreader and after a couple of weeks I could not find any ants living in the lawn. Instructions were clear and easy to follow. I will use this product again. This product did not appear to kill all the grubs in the lawn as there have been an armadillo visiting and digging. [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Electrode, Comp-184641771, DC-prod-dfw4, ENV-prod-a, PROF-PROD, VER-8.12.5, SHA-f8bb53b0cf6e9da799126d89d3bcede34110bf32, CID-