Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 151 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

4.0 stars

151 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

4.0 stars

151 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

84%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
100
4 stars
25
3 stars
4
2 stars
4
1 stars
18
1-20 of 151 total reviews
84%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 151 total reviews
1-20 of 151 reviews
Junk. Doesn't work at all on ground beetles
8/8/2016

Customer review by Karyn

1.0 stars 8/8/2016 by Karyn
by Karyn

Specifically bought this for ground beetles (which are in the long list of target bugs), and it does not do a single thing to them, or apparently to ants for that matter. I have an issue with ground beetles being around the perimeter of my house, and coming into my old house literally every night in the Summer and Fall. I applied this with a spreader according to package instructions almost 3 weeks ago and have seen no improvement whatsoever. Over a week ago, I put in a "pitfall trap" (yogurt cup with the rim at ground level) that the beetles fall into, but can't climb out of. I've been catching DOZENS of live beetles within the treated area directly around the house. They are nowhere near dead. I've resorted to killing them with a homemade spray of water, dish soap, and essential oils. Ants are roaming around in the same treated area with seemingly no ill effects. I've so far seen one dead Japanese beetle, everything else is thriving. Don't waste your money on this.

Comment from Eliza - 8/11/2016

We are sorry that you were disappointed in the performance of Ortho Bug B Gon MAX Insect Killer for Lawns Granules. This product has been thoroughly tested to be effective in controlling the insects listed on the product label. It is important to make the first application when insect activity is first noticed. More mature or larger insects may take longer to control, but you should see a reduction in the pests or their damage within a few days. For severe infestations, you may need to reapply the product according to label directions. We want you to be confident in our products. For this reason, we offer a product guarantee to our consumers. At your earliest convenience, please contact us to see what can be done. You may visit our contact page by clicking on the following link http://tinyurl.com/npw4xxd.

Karyn
MA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Female
Expertise:Intermediate
Bug Be Gon Max works great
2/10/2017

Customer review by NFred

4.0 stars 2/10/2017 by NFred
by NFred

I used this product when I notices some ant hills appearing in the lawn, it was easy to use with my spreader and after a couple of weeks I could not find any ants living in the lawn. Instructions were clear and easy to follow. I will use this product again. This product did not appear to kill all the grubs in the lawn as there have been an armadillo visiting and digging. [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]

NFred
North Port, FL, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Expertise:Intermediate
ORTHO 10-lb Bug B Gon Max Insect Killer for Lawns
10/16/2016

Customer review by markwoten

5.0 stars 10/16/2016 by markwoten
by markwoten

I used to have a serious problem with various bugs throughout my lawn. The major issue was those Japanese beetles. Their larvae (grubs) were dug up by moles in the Spring which produced a torn up looking lawn with dirt hills all over. I thought I had gophers at first!!! I have tried the others, mainly because of price, but I have found that you get what you pay for. So I tried the Ortho insect repellent products several years back and have NEVER had any major issues. The Ortho products do exactly as promised. Well worth the money. I even got my neighbor turned onto this product. If you follow the instructions you'll be fine. Due to the size of my property, I need more than 1 bag to properly cover my lawn. It covers @ 10,000 square feet. Guaranteed to kill or your money back!! [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]

markwoten
Bellefontaine, OH 43311, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Expertise:Intermediate
No more bugs
12/12/2016

Customer review by Seaside

5.0 stars 12/12/2016 by Seaside
by Seaside

This works really well, I had a lot of holes in my yard from something digging for bugs. Since I put this out, no more holes so the bugs must be gone! Very happy with this product. [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]

Seaside
Largo, FL, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
a product that works
10/20/2016

Customer review by nwp11111

5.0 stars 10/20/2016 by nwp11111
by nwp11111

I have used this product in the liquid form to control ants ,spiders and other small insects from getting into my home,all I can say is this product done the job.I use the liqiuid form for spraying around the foundation of my home,I have had a problem with these little bugs every year,and as soon as I started the spraying of this product my problem was solevd.There has been a few times were I needed to respray and that solved the probelm again.So I have treid this product in the bag form and I got the same results,Bug B Gone does work well it worked for me,some of the bugs that did make it in the house I found dead already,so yes this Bug B Gone in the bag does the job,it worked for me and I'm a happy guy..... [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]

nwp11111
Bloomingdale, IL, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
No more ants!
11/29/2016

Customer review by hophop

5.0 stars 11/29/2016 by hophop
by hophop

We were having a terrible ant problem this year. Purchased Ortho Bug B Gone. Applied around perimeter of our house and flower garden. Ant problem disappeared ! Totally pleased with the product and will use again. Thanks, Ortho [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]

hophop
Indianapolis, IN, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Bug B Gon works
11/29/2016

Customer review by benn2

5.0 stars 11/29/2016 by benn2
by benn2

With the wet summer we had this year. I had many bugs in my yard as well as fleas. I applied Bug B Gon as directed. I used it around foundation and yard. My bug problem was gone in a few days. [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]

benn2
Ohio, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Expertise:Intermediate
Easy and quick!
12/1/2016

Customer review by Tanny

5.0 stars 12/1/2016 by Tanny
by Tanny

Within 1 day I didn't find slugs across the walk. Ants were tremendously reduced...awesome! [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]

Tanny
Clearwater, FL, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
I say Bugs B Gon
12/1/2016

Customer review by sfcop2003

5.0 stars 12/1/2016 by sfcop2003
by sfcop2003

Great product...the name says it all....BUG B GON. [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]

sfcop2003
Crandall, TX, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Expertise:Intermediate
Stink Bugs and Asian Lady Bugs B Gon
1/11/2016

Customer review by dickiebobby

5.0 stars 1/11/2016 by dickiebobby
by dickiebobby

We originally put this down for ticks, but we got a pleasant surprise. We live out in the country in the middle of 500 acres of pine trees and adjoining state forest lands and have problems with 4 different pesky bugs in our house, the Brown Marmorated stink bug, the Leaf-footed pine Tree Bug, a fly that was released in the 90”s to eat the Gipsy Moth, these are kind of large house fly and I refer to them as dumb flies, and subsequent Asian Lady Bugs that were release to kill the dumb flies. Asian lady bugs infest our house in the fall by the thousands if not tens of thousands, constantly moving into light fixtures and gathering in the corners of the walls. Although not that much of a bother, we just didn’t like having to clean the light fixtures all the time. After spreading the Bug B Gon their populations have reduced drastically, we now spread this product yearly and have been completely satisfied. [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]

dickiebobby
Mcconnellsburg, PA 17233, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Expertise:Intermediate
It works wonders!
11/16/2016

Customer review by Lgreen

5.0 stars 11/16/2016 by Lgreen
by Lgreen

I did the whole perimeter of my house, which I found a lot of ant hills close to the foundation. It's been several weeks now and this product even killed the ants. I see no more spider webs and my porch is bug free. Very happy with the product! [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]

Lgreen
Fort Myers, FL, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Expertise:Intermediate
Does the job!
11/13/2016

Customer review by mick223

5.0 stars 11/13/2016 by mick223
by mick223

I got this product to get rid of several different bugs I noticed in my Bermuda grass. When walking in the grass I noticed ants, spiders, beetles and started seeing grubs. So I applied this product with my spreader and haven't had any problems in the last several months. [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]

mick223
Tega Cay, SC, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Expertise:Intermediate
Kills off Lawn Moths and Sodweb worms
10/14/2016

Customer review by drgk

5.0 stars 10/14/2016 by drgk
by drgk

In Fla, lawn moths which infest St Augustine grass is a major problem when the temps turn hot. I have always had big problems with these pests and have tried a number of products to control them. A single female can lays hundreds of eggs. I put down the Bug B Gon granulars at the max rate and it seems to have really killed most of them. In addition, I use the Bug B Gon spray to hit the moths on the surface. The active ingredient is the one chemical that the Agriculture Dept states kills the sod web worms most effectively. They will also lay dormant over the winter and so you need to treat again in very early spring. [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]

drgk
Jacksonville, FL, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Expertise:Intermediate
Great contorol and easy to use
11/10/2016

Customer review by Bill609

5.0 stars 11/10/2016 by Bill609
by Bill609

I applied this product when I received it and it and I was very happy with the results. I noticed a reduction in insects within a few days and it has worked well now through the start of November. I wish they could make a product that would be as effective as this on the box elder bugs which are really bad this year. [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]

Bill609
Rockton, IL, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Expertise:Intermediate
Excellent Product Easy To Spread
10/26/2016

Customer review by TLFSR

5.0 stars 10/26/2016 by TLFSR
by TLFSR

This product is one bad Bug Killing Machine. I use this product twice a year whether I need it or not. I put it out using my Scotts Rotary Spreader in the Spring and Fall Seasons. I have great confidence in the product. I really enjoy watching my Grandchildren play in my yard they always say Pop we like playing in your yard because you have no Stickers or Ants. Yes I highly Recommend this Product. Thanks Again [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]

TLFSR
Longview, TX, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Expertise:Intermediate
Kills lawn insects FAST!
10/26/2016

Customer review by 925

5.0 stars 10/26/2016 by 925
by 925

I have used this product in the past but had not used it in over 3 years. It was easy to apply (using a fertilizer spreader) and it quickly brought an end to a sod webworm invasion in my yard. I did follow up with a liquid version to spray all the hedges bordering the lawn as I had read that this is where the adult (moth) webworms live. Disclaimer: I was provided a free sample in return for my review. [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]

925
Orlando, FL, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Ortho® Bug B Gon® MAX® Insect Killer For Lawns is the Best!
10/13/2016

Customer review by d2s29445

5.0 stars 10/13/2016 by d2s29445
by d2s29445

I used Ortho® Bug B Gon® MAX® Insect Killer For Lawns on my lawn to get rid the insects i saw crawling around. I followed the directions and applied as directed. I haven't seen an insect crawling around for weeks now. Ortho® Bug B Gon® MAX® Insect Killer For Lawns works very well and I would Highly recommend it to anyone that is having an insect problem with their yards. this product is the real deal! I wish I could give Ortho® Bug B Gon® MAX® Insect Killer For Lawns more than 5 stars because it deserves it. I would Highly recommend it to anyone! [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]

d2s29445
Charleston, SC, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Expertise:Intermediate
Problem Ants
10/23/2016

Customer review by Sheila

5.0 stars 10/23/2016 by Sheila
by Sheila

This year we had more issues with ant hills than we have ever had. We weren't sure what to use that wouldn't hurt the grass because of the heat this summer. We've used Bug B Gone lots in the years prior around our foundation to keep bugs away but had never put it on the lawn. So that's what we did this year...we put this on the lawn. So awesome! Within 11 days, the building of these hills had stopped and ants were down all around. [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]

Sheila
Muscatine, IA, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Expertise:Intermediate
A Great Product to Get Rid of Your Lawn Insects
10/21/2016

Customer review by Tantar

5.0 stars 10/21/2016 by Tantar
by Tantar

When I walked through my grass, noticed damaged areas, saw moths flying everywhere, I knew I had a sob webworm problem. I decided to treat the entire yard and not just the damaged areas with the Bug B Gon. I am so glad I did. It took only a short time to notice a huge difference. The damaged areas begin to turn green and healthy again and I had no new damaged areas to appear. This product works great and I highly recommend it. [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]

Tantar
Houston, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Help control the bug population
10/18/2016

Customer review by smbowron

5.0 stars 10/18/2016 by smbowron
by smbowron

We like to use this Bug B Gon product to help control the bugs in our lawn. Especially since it helps with fleas and ticks. We have a dog who we treat with a flea/tick topical preventative, but we figure also treating the lawn helps to decrease the chances of him picking up anything. We also like that it helps to control ants because we have had a problem with ants in the past. We have not had an issue with them since using the Bug B Gon for lawns product. [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]

smbowron
Indiana, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
1-20 of 151 total reviews
1-20 of 151 reviews