Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 157 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

4.0 stars

157 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

4.0 stars

157 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

84%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
104
4 stars
26
3 stars
4
2 stars
4
1 stars
19
1-20 of 157 total reviews
84%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 157 total reviews
1-20 of 157 reviews
Junk. Doesn't work at all on ground beetles
8/8/2016

Customer review by Karyn

1.0 stars 8/8/2016 by Karyn
by Karyn

Specifically bought this for ground beetles (which are in the long list of target bugs), and it does not do a single thing to them, or apparently to ants for that matter. I have an issue with ground beetles being around the perimeter of my house, and coming into my old house literally every night in the Summer and Fall. I applied this with a spreader according to package instructions almost 3 weeks ago and have seen no improvement whatsoever. Over a week ago, I put in a "pitfall trap" (yogurt cup with the rim at ground level) that the beetles fall into, but can't climb out of. I've been catching DOZENS of live beetles within the treated area directly around the house. They are nowhere near dead. I've resorted to killing them with a homemade spray of water, dish soap, and essential oils. Ants are roaming around in the same treated area with seemingly no ill effects. I've so far seen one dead Japanese beetle, everything else is thriving. Don't waste your money on this.

Comment from Eliza - 8/11/2016

We are sorry that you were disappointed in the performance of Ortho Bug B Gon MAX Insect Killer for Lawns Granules. This product has been thoroughly tested to be effective in controlling the insects listed on the product label. It is important to make the first application when insect activity is first noticed. More mature or larger insects may take longer to control, but you should see a reduction in the pests or their damage within a few days. For severe infestations, you may need to reapply the product according to label directions. We want you to be confident in our products. For this reason, we offer a product guarantee to our consumers. At your earliest convenience, please contact us to see what can be done. You may visit our contact page by clicking on the following link http://tinyurl.com/npw4xxd.

Karyn
MA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Female
Expertise:Intermediate
Ants Have No Chance
10/12/2016

Customer review by philbur

5.0 stars 10/12/2016 by philbur
by philbur

This has been a bad year in west central Ohio for ants for some reason or another. I have had more ant colonies show up in my yard than I can remember. This pic I have included was the biggest colony ever in my 14 years living here. Bug B Gone applied, watered it down, and one week later I have a dirt patch ready for grass seed. Amazing! [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]

philbur
Northwest Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Received free product:Yes
Gender:Male
Product Really works
8/15/2014

Customer review by raylavin

5.0 stars 8/15/2014 by raylavin
by raylavin

Had large area of my lawn destroyed by bugs, ,decided to use "bug b gone" . It really worked ,in almost seven weeks the large dirt area has change back to lawn.

raylavin
Dallas,Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Expertise:Intermediate
Pest control to the Max!
6/7/2012

Customer review by Dillman

5.0 stars 6/7/2012 by Dillman
by Dillman

Excellent product for removing all those nasty pests! Once a month application and the bugs stay far away!

Dillman
Apple Valley, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Expertise:Expert
Junk
4/8/2017

Customer review by ZooZoo24

1.0 stars 4/8/2017 by ZooZoo24
by ZooZoo24

If you have even slight breezes, the flakes float back into you and get into your eyes like sawdust. Plus there is a huge dust cloud and if the breeze shifts at all, it goes all over your skin and clothing. I am afraid the dust alone floated onto my blossoming fruit trees and may kill any bees that come. Having used this product two consecutive seasons and comparing it to truly encapsulated products like Bayer insect pellets, I've concluded it has no redeeming value, even should it control any insect it claims to control. It is very hard to control where it lands, when you spread it. I was so angry after using it, that I immediately came online to report this. I better go take a shower now and throw my clothes in the wash, after the dust bath and financial bath I just took!!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Comment from - 5/11/2017

We are sorry to hear of the trouble you had while using Ortho Bug B Gon Insect Killer for Lawns. We will share your experience with our Quality Control. We want to be confident in our products and for that reason we offer a product guarantee. At your earliest convenience please call us at 877-220-3089, please refer to your review when calling.

ZooZoo24
Would recommend to a friend? No
Worked good in Summer of 2016
5/9/2017

Customer review by RichardR

4.0 stars 5/9/2017 by RichardR
by RichardR

This review is from actually the 2016 season but this worked well and seems to do what it is intended to do. I put this on my lawn in 2016 and didn't see many bugs in the lawn including ants were my biggest problem in the late summer of 2016 and this seemed to rid the lawn of these. Scotts has few products that can help with any insect in your lawn. [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]

RichardR
Oswego, IL, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Received free product:Yes
Expertise:Intermediate
Gender:Male
I have used this for years. Great all around.
5/8/2012

Customer review by TrulyWalmartSavvy

5.0 stars 5/8/2012 by TrulyWalmartSavvy
by TrulyWalmartSavvy

I have four outside dogs and I use this to keep the fleas and ticks to a minimum. Ants were a problem as well and it helps. I put the product in my Scotts® Easy® Hand-Held Spreader and walk the lawn in the morning while there is still dew in the ground. Along with the dogs, I have four children and I feel safe letting them go out and play without any problems with biting insects. It may be better to use it on a fresh cut lawn but I use it when I can and it last for months. I sometimes even opt to use it once a month because I have so many dogs. Even move I have made Ortho Bug-B-Gon Max was with me and will be for years to come.

Was this review helpful? (48) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
TrulyWalmartSavvy
Chattanooga, TN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:A few times per year
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Age:25 - 34
Safe and effective grub control!
4/7/2017

Customer review by Stephen49

5.0 stars 4/7/2017 by Stephen49
by Stephen49

Applied last season and now in current season. No evidence of any grubs and I will continue using this effective product. [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]

Stephen49
Ohio, USA
Received free product:Yes
Expertise:Intermediate
Gender:Male
Great For Fleas in the Yard
8/15/2013

Customer review by Broganbubbles

5.0 stars 8/15/2013 by Broganbubbles
by Broganbubbles
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I have used this product for years, to kill fleas in the yard! Works great!

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Broganbubbles
Charleston,SC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Once per month
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Age:45 - 54
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great product
4/13/2017

Customer review by zelly217

5.0 stars 4/13/2017 by zelly217
by zelly217

Bug b gone is great. Everyone lives it when they come over no bugs are bites them. [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]

zelly217
New Orleans
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Received free product:Yes
Expertise:Intermediate
Gender:Female
Works well
4/4/2017

Customer review by Mitch99

5.0 stars 4/4/2017 by Mitch99
by Mitch99

Didn't notice as many insects in the lawn or inside the house. [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]

Mitch99
Columbus Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Received free product:Yes
Gender:Male
It's all in the name, Bugs Are Gone!
3/8/2017

Customer review by PsychoGardener1

5.0 stars 3/8/2017 by PsychoGardener1
by PsychoGardener1

This product took care of the problem bugs! Easy to use and effective. Will be using again in the spring. [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]

PsychoGardener1
Jacksonville, FL, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Received free product:Yes
Expertise:Intermediate
Gender:Female
Bug Be Gon Max works great
2/10/2017

Customer review by NFred

4.0 stars 2/10/2017 by NFred
by NFred

I used this product when I notices some ant hills appearing in the lawn, it was easy to use with my spreader and after a couple of weeks I could not find any ants living in the lawn. Instructions were clear and easy to follow. I will use this product again. This product did not appear to kill all the grubs in the lawn as there have been an armadillo visiting and digging. [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]

NFred
North Port, FL, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Received free product:Yes
Expertise:Intermediate
Gender:Male
Stink Bugs and Asian Lady Bugs B Gon
1/11/2016

Customer review by dickiebobby

5.0 stars 1/11/2016 by dickiebobby
by dickiebobby

We originally put this down for ticks, but we got a pleasant surprise. We live out in the country in the middle of 500 acres of pine trees and adjoining state forest lands and have problems with 4 different pesky bugs in our house, the Brown Marmorated stink bug, the Leaf-footed pine Tree Bug, a fly that was released in the 90”s to eat the Gipsy Moth, these are kind of large house fly and I refer to them as dumb flies, and subsequent Asian Lady Bugs that were release to kill the dumb flies. Asian lady bugs infest our house in the fall by the thousands if not tens of thousands, constantly moving into light fixtures and gathering in the corners of the walls. Although not that much of a bother, we just didn’t like having to clean the light fixtures all the time. After spreading the Bug B Gon their populations have reduced drastically, we now spread this product yearly and have been completely satisfied. [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]

dickiebobby
Mcconnellsburg, PA 17233, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Received free product:Yes
Expertise:Intermediate
Gender:Male
ORTHO 10-lb Bug B Gon Max Insect Killer for Lawns
10/16/2016

Customer review by markwoten

5.0 stars 10/16/2016 by markwoten
by markwoten

I used to have a serious problem with various bugs throughout my lawn. The major issue was those Japanese beetles. Their larvae (grubs) were dug up by moles in the Spring which produced a torn up looking lawn with dirt hills all over. I thought I had gophers at first!!! I have tried the others, mainly because of price, but I have found that you get what you pay for. So I tried the Ortho insect repellent products several years back and have NEVER had any major issues. The Ortho products do exactly as promised. Well worth the money. I even got my neighbor turned onto this product. If you follow the instructions you'll be fine. Due to the size of my property, I need more than 1 bag to properly cover my lawn. It covers @ 10,000 square feet. Guaranteed to kill or your money back!! [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]

markwoten
Bellefontaine, OH 43311, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Received free product:Yes
Expertise:Intermediate
Gender:Male
Good for the price..
6/18/2014

Customer review by Komodan

4.0 stars 6/18/2014 by Komodan
by Komodan
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Bayer insect bug killer maybe better but it cost a lot more, and does work that much better.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Komodan
Gainesville, Ga.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Age:65 or older
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
a product that works
10/20/2016

Customer review by nwp11111

5.0 stars 10/20/2016 by nwp11111
by nwp11111

I have used this product in the liquid form to control ants ,spiders and other small insects from getting into my home,all I can say is this product done the job.I use the liqiuid form for spraying around the foundation of my home,I have had a problem with these little bugs every year,and as soon as I started the spraying of this product my problem was solevd.There has been a few times were I needed to respray and that solved the probelm again.So I have treid this product in the bag form and I got the same results,Bug B Gone does work well it worked for me,some of the bugs that did make it in the house I found dead already,so yes this Bug B Gone in the bag does the job,it worked for me and I'm a happy guy..... [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]

nwp11111
Bloomingdale, IL, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Received free product:Yes
Gender:Male
Apply at 4lb. per 1,000 Rate.
6/7/2013

Customer review by R3Wood

4.0 stars 6/7/2013 by R3Wood
by R3Wood

I think it helps if you soak the lawn, then put this down one day before a rain (we have sandy soil along the coast, for me, it seems to boost the effectiveness and minimizes the runoff). I also used (4) 10lb. bags in a Scotts EdgeGuard spreader on 6 1/2, for a lawn that was 11,000 sq. ft. It says 4lbs. per 1000 square feet for 3 month protection. It was $10 per bag with a $10 rebate. For me, up in the NE, the little black and red ants seem the toughest to control. Perhaps the Bug B Gon needs to penetrate the nest which can be 3" under the ground before controlling, over 20,000 ants a colony can produce? It is a decent product if you apply it at the 4/1000 rate. You can't cheap out and buy 1 bag for 15,000 sq. feet and spread it on number 3. If you apply it in May, then you are good until August and you can apply again in September and be good until winter.

R3Wood
Somers Point, NJ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Expertise:Intermediate
No more bugs
12/12/2016

Customer review by Seaside

5.0 stars 12/12/2016 by Seaside
by Seaside

This works really well, I had a lot of holes in my yard from something digging for bugs. Since I put this out, no more holes so the bugs must be gone! Very happy with this product. [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]

Seaside
Largo, FL, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Received free product:Yes
Gender:Female
Kills off Lawn Moths and Sodweb worms
10/14/2016

Customer review by drgk

5.0 stars 10/14/2016 by drgk
by drgk

In Fla, lawn moths which infest St Augustine grass is a major problem when the temps turn hot. I have always had big problems with these pests and have tried a number of products to control them. A single female can lays hundreds of eggs. I put down the Bug B Gon granulars at the max rate and it seems to have really killed most of them. In addition, I use the Bug B Gon spray to hit the moths on the surface. The active ingredient is the one chemical that the Agriculture Dept states kills the sod web worms most effectively. They will also lay dormant over the winter and so you need to treat again in very early spring. [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]

drgk
Jacksonville, FL, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Received free product:Yes
Expertise:Intermediate
Gender:Male
1-20 of 157 total reviews
1-20 of 157 reviews