Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 467 reviews | 3.7 out of 5

3.5 stars

467 reviews | 3.7 out of 5

3.5 stars

467 reviews | 3.7 out of 5

73%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
168
4 stars
126
3 stars
75
2 stars
41
1 stars
57
1-20 of 391 total reviews
73%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 391 total reviews
1-20 of 391 reviews
great product for the price
1/9/2011

Customer review by DMRN720

5.0 stars 1/9/2011 by DMRN720
by DMRN720

I bought 4 of these beds for my 4 kids,,,didn't want to go really expensive since kids definintely ruin their furniture. I found this bed to be perfect for them. I just put one together today- very easy. Did it by myself in about 45 minutes...the next 3 will be a breeze...instructions are somewhat confusing but if you look at the pictures- you can figure it out. I'd definitely recommend this product if you don't want to spend and arm and a leg...

Was this review helpful? (104) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
DMRN720
Smithtown, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Excellent product
10/22/2009

Customer review by Jzajza

5.0 stars 10/22/2009 by Jzajza
by Jzajza

Product arrived 2 days after I placed online order. As previously stated a twin sized mattress will not cover the entirety of the platform, however an inexpensive dust ruffle covers that up. The ends which could scrape a leg are covered with corner guards. I purchased to beds for my 11 and 8 year old sons. The beds are sturdy and came with all pieces. My oldest son who is 19 had both beds assembled in 1 hour. This is a great buy and I would recommend it.

Was this review helpful? (116) (17)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Jzajza
Forest Park, GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Bed
7/4/2010

Customer review by designer142

4.0 stars 7/4/2010 by designer142
by designer142

Well i read the reviews before i bought this bed so i knew what to expect. I really like the rating system on here, because you have people who own the product that can give you some real expectations on the value of what you are looking to buy. We were already prepared based on the reviews stating that the bed was very heavy when assembled so we put it together in my daughters room, and thank goodness we did because it is heavy. One thing that was strange was that you have to nail the top part where the mattress sits, on by your self . There are no holes or anything. You have to guess and use your own perception to make sure it is straight. It gives you a little wooden square block to measure right...weird. Another thing i was prepared for was that the wood would show under the mattress when it was on there....so we had to paint it...we had re painted my daughters room so we just used some paint we had left over...now it looks good. Im really not sure why they wouldnt paint this white...other than that it was what i had expected it to be. Not bad for $92. Over all when the bedding is on it, its a nice bed. Hope this helps someone looking to buy :)

Was this review helpful? (138) (25)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
designer142
az
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
black platform twin bed
8/20/2009

Customer review by shophalic

1.0 stars 8/20/2009 by shophalic
by shophalic

the bed is very misleading in the picture, it is described as a solid black bed but after putting it together the top is pressed wood (brown) with just the edging black and a twin mattress does not cover it all so you have the brown showing all the way very misleading ad

Was this review helpful? (141) (28)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
shophalic
Would recommend to a friend? No
Great bed for the Price!!
9/11/2011

Customer review by Liszet

4.0 stars 9/11/2011 by Liszet
by Liszet

I wanted to upgrade my small room into something more modern. After debating on a lot of different style beds that would hopefully give me more space in my small room (loft bed, sofa bed, etc) I came across this one. The bed is small & does not take up extra space with unnecessary headboards or platforms. After reading the other reviews of the bed, I was a bit hesitant to purchase it because of the comments regarding the unpainted platform that could be seen with a regular sized mattress on top. Regardless, the price was too good to pass by & so I purchased it. It was very easy to assemble & I quickly came to an idea to fix the unpainted platform. I purchased precut black fabric also at Walmart ($10) & wrapped each individual plank with the fabric & stapled it underneath with a heavy duty stapler. After I wrapped all 3 planks, I screwed them in to the base of the bed. It was a perfect, easy, & cheap solution to the problem!!! Now it even has a more modern feel to the bed because it is completely black. I love the bed because it is small, does not take up much room, does not make any noise, and it is very sturdy!! Definitely an excellent purchase.

Was this review helpful? (56) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Liszet
Delaware
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
A basic bed
8/8/2009

Customer review by Jedi1971

4.0 stars 8/8/2009 by Jedi1971
by Jedi1971

One must realize when chosing to perchase this item, that this is simply a wooden platform to place a matress on. It's more of a hastle to put together than a standard metal bedframe. But..... I find it surprisingly sturdy for something made of particle board and it handles my "plus sized" 5'10" person very well. If you are still worried about duribility, I would reinforce it with woodglue. But I reiterate it is STURDY. All-in-all it is an inexpencive alturnitive to simply having a matress on the floor. :-)

Was this review helpful? (57) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Jedi1971
Central FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Excellent
3/11/2011

Customer review by Katand6

5.0 stars 3/11/2011 by Katand6
by Katand6

This was a great product. I bought two of the beds, one for my 15yr old daughter and one for my 12yr old daughter. They loved them, and they look great in their rooms. These beds are a great value for someone on a tight budge like myself.

Was this review helpful? (52) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Katand6
FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Awesome Product
8/12/2009

Customer review by WalmartInvestor

5.0 stars 8/12/2009 by WalmartInvestor
by WalmartInvestor

This platform bed made the perfect bed frame for the twin bed for my daughter going to college. It was in excellent condition when we received it and it was very easy to put together.

Was this review helpful? (35) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
WalmartInvestor
TN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Good bed for the price
3/9/2010

Customer review by 4brats

4.0 stars 3/9/2010 by 4brats
by 4brats

I got this for my soon-to-be 3 year old. She loved it. The bed is closer to the ground, so she has no problems getting in and out of the bed by herself. The bed is quite sturdy too. The only thing I wish they would have done is to have the top of the bed finished. The mattress doesn't cover the platform completely, so some unfinished wood is exposed. The corner guard is a nice and thoughtful touch. As long as my little one is not too rough on the bed, I can see that she will be using it for at least several years.

Was this review helpful? (36) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
4brats
Illinois
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Good for little ones
12/6/2009

Customer review by walleworldshoper

5.0 stars 12/6/2009 by walleworldshoper
by walleworldshoper

This is for our 2 yr old who needs more space and can easily get on and off the bed. Sturdy for him and sometimes one of us to read and comfort. I do suggest to using the corner guards for protection and the mattress does not totally cover the bed platform so you will have to paint if this will bother you or just try using a bed skirt.

Was this review helpful? (42) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
walleworldshoper
Nevada
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
GREAT OPTION FOR YOUR $
1/17/2010

Customer review by FAITHFIRST

5.0 stars 1/17/2010 by FAITHFIRST
by FAITHFIRST

I PURCHASED 2 OF THESE BEDS FOR MY TWO BOYS AGES 13 & 5, OURS DID NOT HAVE THE TOXIC SMELL OTHERS SPOKE OF, THEIR COMMENTS MADE ME A LITTLE HESITANT TO PURCHASE, BUT FOR THE PRICE I TOOK MY CHANCES. MY KIDS WERE THRILLED WITH THEIR NEW BEDS & SO AM I, THEY WERE ALSO EASY TO PUT TOGETHER!

Was this review helpful? (64) (19)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
FAITHFIRST
WASHINGTON STATE
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Very Sturdy and Pretty!
4/18/2011

Customer review by MadiTheBargainHunter

4.0 stars 4/18/2011 by MadiTheBargainHunter
by MadiTheBargainHunter

I was kind of skeptical when I purchased this, just because the price was so amazing I figured it wouldn't be very good quality, but it is AMAZING! The reason i rated it 4 instead of 5 stars though is because when putting the actual frame/border of the bed together, the holes to put the screws in didn't go all the way through the wood, so I had to push it through myself which took quite a bit of effort. But besides that, I couldn't be happier with this bed! My twin mattress fits perfectly on it! And although it took a couple of hours to put together, I did it all by myself and I'm only 15! So overall, this bed is great and I would definately recommend you get it! Great price, great quality, and great look!

Was this review helpful? (26) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MadiTheBargainHunter
California
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Functional
12/24/2010

Customer review by lovenotmakewar

4.0 stars 12/24/2010 by lovenotmakewar
by lovenotmakewar

Pros: -affordable -easy to assemble -sturdy -doesn't make any noise Cons: -the platform is bigger than a standard twin mattress so that the unpainted brown side of the particle board that's facing up can be seen around the mattress -the corners are sharp and the rubber corner guards that came with the product always falls off. You don't want to bump your shin into that! -the bed sits quite low I'm a grad student and purchased this bed for myself for a very small room. It is functional and not uncomfortable to sleep on. However, it is not an attractive piece of furnishing. It's good for someone on a tight budget.

Was this review helpful? (17) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
lovenotmakewar
Rochester, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Nice modern look, pressed wood shows on top
7/30/2011

Customer review by DSiZomutt

3.0 stars 7/30/2011 by DSiZomutt
by DSiZomutt

The bed was quite easy to put together, although it is easy to miss the boards when screwing in the top planks where the bed sits. A twin mattress will not cover the top; it then reveals pressed wood unless you have an oversized comforter and you always have the sheets made. It is a very basic bed, no drawers on the bottom and no headboard. If that doesn't bother you, this bed is a fine choice. If you would like something more visually appealing and easy to maintain, keep looking.

Was this review helpful? (16) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
DSiZomutt
Pennsylvania
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:14 - 18
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
GREAT Bed!!!!
3/11/2011

Customer review by CM123

5.0 stars 3/11/2011 by CM123
by CM123

I purchased this bed for my 7 year old daughter. It was a great purchase. price was good, quality was good-- I would lay in bed with her to read :-) I would recommend it to EVERYONE! I also did NOT have any chemical smell or difficulties upon receipt of the product. I would recommend having a second set of hands to assemble-- my husband and I are not handy and we had no difficulties.

Was this review helpful? (16) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
CM123
Lancaster, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
10/7/2011

Customer review by cttwin

3.0 stars 10/7/2011 by cttwin
by cttwin

the product received as scheduled. the platform bed had to be assembled. the platform had pre drilled holes that screws fit into on four panels. the holes were incorrectly drilled on the finished side of the bed on one panel. You can still assemble the platform but you can see the screws on the finished side of the platform on one panel Overall it is a nice piece but the manufacturer made an error on one panel

Was this review helpful? (15) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
cttwin
CT
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Disappointing
12/12/2009

Customer review by Frowns

2.0 stars 12/12/2009 by Frowns
by Frowns

I purchased this bed for my toddler's room. I liked the moderrn platform look and the height off the floor. The price was attractive, especially for a toodler room. The box was pretty heavy so I figured that it must be pretty sturdy. Upon opening the box I noticed a heavy scent. It smelled sort of new/chemical like. I assumed that it would decrease once it aired out. The scent is still holding strong. Now I got to research it to see if it's hazardous or not. It would be so much trouble to try to take back to the store.... I thought it would be a cute addition to the bedroom but now it's turning out to be a headache. I am very disappointed.

Was this review helpful? (23) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Frowns
Meridian, MS
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
TOXIC GARBAGE DO NOT BUY IT
11/26/2009

Customer review by MotherOf2fromSA

1.0 stars 11/26/2009 by MotherOf2fromSA
by MotherOf2fromSA

Once assembled it is VERY heavy to move around - also the wood composite sticks out around the perimeter of the mattress which looks terrible - also the wood composite SMELLS TOXIC - it is horrible - do not buy it

Was this review helpful? (28) (14)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MotherOf2fromSA
Would recommend to a friend? No
3/9/2011

Customer review by BorItaliana

5.0 stars 3/9/2011 by BorItaliana
by BorItaliana

I bought this for my 2 year olds bed room. I was kind of worried after ordering it being as though I found my self reading all of the BAD reviews AFTER I purchased it but I am definitely glad I bought it! I am so happy with the way his room turned out and every one seems to love the way it! I definitely would recommend the south shore product line for any room.

Was this review helpful? (13) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
BorItaliana
Pennsylvania
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Exceptional Value
4/25/2011

Customer review by WeekendDaddy

5.0 stars 4/25/2011 by WeekendDaddy
by WeekendDaddy

This platform bed is the best price/quality ratio one can find for a child's room. Goes together in about 40 minutes and completed construction is very sturdy. The only thing I would change is to add the bumper strips found on the larger sized beds. The addition of a headboard is possible but will require drilling mounting holes. But as a platform bed pushed against the wall no headboard is really needed. And that is the configuration I am using it in...no headboard. The neutral appearance of the bed will allow this bed to be used over and over and only the decor changed in the room as your child grows and interests change. I anticipate that I can use this bed until my son reaches his teen years. He is now 5 years old and the theme he chose was "Hot Wheels". All I have to do to re-decorate/choose a different theme, is add accessories like comforters, sheet sets, wall decor, and other room stuff. This is absolutely the best deal I have found...period! And the construction is very sturdy considering the minimal cost.

Was this review helpful? (10) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
WeekendDaddy
Dunn, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
1-20 of 391 total reviews
1-20 of 391 reviews