Back

Customer Reviews

Average rating: 3.5out of 5 stars
3.5 out of 5 | 115 reviews
5 stars
39
4 stars
30
3 stars
17
2 stars
10
1 stars
19
Sort by: 
1-20 of 107 reviews
1-20 of 107 reviews
Less than expected
9/1/2007
Average rating:2out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I may be naive, because I actually hoped that this bed would look alright even though it was such a steal. I knew it'd be veneered plywood, but didn't guess that it'd be poorly wrapped in woodgrain-look plastic that was peeling. And it says low profile, which I'm assuming now means the edging around it, because my mattress sits higher than in my old bed. It's so high because the platform part of the bed is even with the top of the wooden edges. I assumed (because that's how most beds are constructed) that the mattress would sit within the side rails, on a platform that's midway down. No. So instead, now you can see a large gap between the mattress and the edge [yes, I'm using the right size mattress] where light colored plywood is highly visible. It looks ugly and contrasts highly with the dark woodtone edging. Also, in putting it together there were a number of holes missing that we needed to drill ourselves [yes, I read the directions correctly], and two screws missing. Needless to say the construction process was a bit frustrating. I'm not mad at the bed. It is what it is. I'm mad at myself for hoping that it might be something else.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (48)No (5)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Do not purchase!!
12/27/2013
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I have had this bed for less than 1 year and it has completely fallen apart. The support beams in the middle as well as the connecting parts have broken. My husband and I do not weigh more than a combined 300 lbs so it is not from overweighting the bed!!! It looks nice and we liked it when we first got it, but it has not held steady for more than 10 months!!!! Spend a little more and get a better bed!!!!!!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (10)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
It's nice once put together.
9/21/2017
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
You will definitely need a drill because just using standard screw drivers SUCKS! ND is time consuming. So it took almost 2days. Once I got a drill to complete the rest it took 20 mins. Have a drill on hand
Was this review helpful?
Yes (1)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Love it!
7/12/2013
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I have had the bed for about 30 days, I think it looks awesome.. At first it was very stable but in the last few days it started bowing the top where the headboard goes and the foot of the bed. So I added a leg to one of slats and then screwed all the slats into the heaboard and footboard as well as screw into the slats that go opposite of the others.. It is totally awesome now, quiet and durable.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (6)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Looked Great - Poor Quality
11/23/2016
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
This "Bed" totally fell apart after 2 years. Most of the slats/supports snapped. Waste of money!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
A Total Waste of Time, Energy and Money
1/13/2014
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I bought this bed with the matching headboard. At delivery one side rail of the bed was cracked, even though it had been in the middle of the box, and the outside of the box was not damaged. This suggests that it left the factory cracked. A replacement was sent, but they sent the wrong piece, so then I had to call back for a third piece. The holes for the top rail of the headboard did not line up, so I had to request a replacement piece. The holes in the second piece they sent also did not line up. Then they made me take pictures to send them, plus a copy of the original order, since they could find no record of it. The holes in the third top rail they sent also did not line up, so I finally gave up and figured I would try to fix it myself. The bed frame lasted 2 months before it snapped off from the headboard. The screws actually snapped in half. In my opinion, this was a really shoddy product. It's made of very weak pressed wood, and the hardware is didn't hold up.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (5)No (1)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Waste of money.
8/11/2012
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I bought this fully aware that it did not come with a headboard. I was fine with this as I had already purchased a headboard and needed a white platform bed to go with it. It was very heavy and I had to have a friend put it together. The bed is not sturdy at all. It makes creaking noises constantly anytime I turn or adjust or even move my leg. It makes me afraid to even move around in it. I plan on getting a new platform bed at some point, as I doubt that this is going to last very long. It is not worth $150.00. I am just starting out on my own, and I thought buying something basic and "cheap" would be okay to help me get a head start... However it is just creating a bigger headache. My apartment is on the third floor and this is very heavy. And to purchase a different bed and move this out of the apartment to bring the new one in is going to be a headache. Please do not waste your money. I recommend saving up for something efficient.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (6)No (1)
Report
Was this review helpful?
2/6/2012
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
This bed is great. Bought it for my daughter, she loves it. The assembly was easy, which took about about 45 mins. with 2 people. The instructions were really easy to follow. Once it was together, it looked amazing, along with the matching headboard which I purchased also. Definitely recommend this bed. Thanks
Was this review helpful?
Yes (17)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Good looking product
3/7/2009
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Bed was easy to put together, in approximately 45 minutes. Boards are surprisingly sturdy. Frame is slightly too large for mattress. When assembled it looks very nice, better than expected. My only complaint is that the corners at the foot of the bed are very sharp and hurt when brushed up against, both my girlfriend and I have already gotten cuts on our legs from brushing up against the corners.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (14)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Good starter bed
10/20/2012
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
My likes: The bed is sturdy, a nice color/finish, and a good price. As I stated in my review of the South Shore Soho headboard, I am a female in her early 20s (for those it matters to) and I was able to assemble all the pieces together by myself; it took me less than 2 hours (with a few breaks in there). Dislikes: If you can open the package when you pick it up, do so! I ended up having to call the actual South Shore company (which is based in Canada btw) to get 2 missing pieces sent to me. Also, I wish the bed was a little higher from the ground; I usually like to store stuff under my bed so I have more space. The added headboard legs and the proximity to the front bed legs don't quite seem to be able to accomodate bed risers; oh well, guess I'll have to see. Again, great started bedroom furniture :)
Was this review helpful?
Yes (8)No (1)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Good for the money
7/12/2007
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
This is a very good product for the money. It is very easy to put together. Took me about 30 minutes to assemble. The floor of the platform is solid, unlike some beds that have only slats supporting; this bed uses planks that completely cover the bottom. Would purchase again.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (27)No (2)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Nice bed
10/19/2011
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Well, this bed was easy to put together, i did it on my own, but a second person doesn't hurt. You get what you pay for with this bed. It is a good looking and sturdy bed. I'm a happy customer.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (20)No (1)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Love it!
10/18/2011
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Just as pictured. Instructions called for 2 people to put together. Would be easier with two, but was able to do it alone. Using it with 12"foam mattress. SO comfortable!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (39)No (5)
Report
Was this review helpful?
3 Days In - Read Below
2/5/2016
Average rating:3out of5stars, based onreviews
by
So far so good. But lets touch on some things and please take all of this into consideration. 1)The item came 2 days early (PLUS) 2)The package weighs more than 150lbs so please have at least 2 other people assist you with moving it, opening the package and assembling it. Its delivery build is tall and slim (HEAVY). 3)Remove each piece and lay them out in groups according to the steps in the manual, this helps with assembly. Have at least 3 Phillips Screwdrivers and 3 Hammers so that all 3 persons involved in putting the bed together can work simultaneously. There are very few pre-drilled boards so make sure everyone is capable of the manual labor. (Especially for stage 6) 4)Stage 11 is time and strength consuming. I may suggest using a power tool, however I didn't. (The more hands the better). 5)Stage 12 - I added more support by purchasing Garrett center leg bed frame supports. 6)The frame is a bit larger than my queen size mattress so the corners at the end has caused some major bumps and bruises on my shins. I am in the process now of making my own leather "coasters" if you will to make softer corners and keep it aesthetic in line. 7)I hope this bed lasts a long time because I truly think it looks amazing in my space. I hope this helps you all!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (15)No (4)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Great bed - lousy customer service
11/17/2013
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
I love this bed. Customer service, however fell short. The bed arrived without the hardware. I called customer service, and they shipped the hardware within 24 hours. They would not expedite shipping. 10 days later the hardware arrived. The package was missing a support. I called customer service - same story - another 10 days. Instructions were very poor and some pieces were missing holes. Once assembled (with a little guess work on the instructions and drilling out missing holes) the bed is sturdy, very good looking and adds the sleekness I was looking for in my bedroom.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (4)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Just the design I wanted!
7/11/2007
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
This is the platform bed that I wanted!. It assembled easily and looks great. It was a great price at WalMart and I LOVE the Ship to Store feature. This saved me about $100. in shipping. The people at WalMart were so kind in helping me load the bed into my PT Crusier to take home.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (11)No (2)
Report
Was this review helpful?
DO NOT BUY THIS BED
9/28/2012
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
This bed was put together properly and reinenforced three times but continued to break under the weight of 115lbs.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (9)No (1)
Report
Was this review helpful?
average
9/8/2008
Average rating:3out of5stars, based onreviews
by
The bed was inexpensive compared to other queen sized beds. It's what I paid for. There is nothing special about it. The queen size mattress is not big enough for the queen size frame so the unfinished wood shows thru. It took 1 experienced builder and myself about 20 minutes to put together.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (5)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Broken Bed On The First Night
6/20/2012
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
This bed looks great and it very stylish and trendy. I bought it so that I would have room for bed boxes and because I wouldn't need to use box springs. My husband put the bed together and it broken on one corner the very first night. So at 2AM, we got to move to out pull out couch instead! The materials are not very strong and the screws just pulled right out of the frame. The only way to fix it was to purchase 30 worth of metal braces and to try to screw it back together as well as possible. I'm afraid it's going to break again. I wanted to return it, but the pieces are so heavy. I didn't know where to start. Not to mention, I need a bed to sleep in. Find another product and don't spend your time fixing this bed at 2AM!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (6)No (2)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Decent For The Price
10/15/2011
Average rating:3out of5stars, based onreviews
by
The bed seems to be an overall fit for a platform bed. The instructions are okay but the fine print is hard to read which led me to redo some steps. The locking wheels to the permanent screws leave the bed a bit wobbly so you need 2 people to move it. Other than the price is a bit high for a particle board bed.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (14)No (4)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Electrode, Comp-184640655, DC-prod-dfw3, ENV-prod-a, PROF-PROD, VER-8.12.5, SHA-f8bb53b0cf6e9da799126d89d3bcede34110bf32, CID-