Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 14 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

4.5 stars

14 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

4.5 stars

14 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

85%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
9
4 stars
3
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 stars
1
1-14 of 14 total reviews
85%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

8/3/2012

Customer review by CaliFisherman

5.0 stars 8/3/2012 by CaliFisherman
by CaliFisherman

This was my first Baitcaster, it takes some practice but it is great once you get the hang of it but overall it is a great rod & reel combo

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
CaliFisherman
Sacramento , CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Great combo
6/21/2013

Customer review by decota12

5.0 stars 6/21/2013 by decota12
by decota12

It handles 20 lb test mono with ease. The rod is medium heavy just the right amount of backbone. I would buy it again.

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
decota12
Kansas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
horrible reel
7/18/2013

Customer review by fishermaninkaty

1.0 stars 7/18/2013 by fishermaninkaty
by fishermaninkaty

I've used this reel for probably 5 hours throughout a 3 month period, and the reel jammed up on the inside after a cast, it did not backlash, or birds nest, very dissapointed usually a very good brand.

Was this review helpful? (1) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
fishermaninkaty
Katy Texas
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:14 - 18
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
5600 combo
2/14/2011

Customer review by KVD

5.0 stars 2/14/2011 by KVD
by KVD

This combo is an amazing.I mean this good of a reel with a medium heavy Im6 rod.This is a great all around combo.Although I have noticed that it works best worm fishing.

KVD
LaGrange,GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Awesome combo
8/16/2011

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 8/16/2011 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

Great combo. Smooth casting. Strength. Feels great. Get What you pay for and more. What I expect from Abu Garcia.

An anonymous customer
San Antonio,Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
BCX 5500 6'6"
8/17/2011

Customer review by fishiman

5.0 stars 8/17/2011 by fishiman
by fishiman

This was my first "real" rod and reel. I have used it for largemouth bass as well as salt water speckled trout and it has held up very well. It is relatively smooth and tough and handles the 30 lb. braid I've spoiled it with admirably. The drag works great. As a result of using this combo I have purchase 5 other Abu Garcia round reels and I'm looking at another. Abu Garcia makes great products!

fishiman
North Carolina
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
great setup for any condition!
8/17/2011

Customer review by fish-A-nator!

5.0 stars 8/17/2011 by fish-A-nator!
by fish-A-nator!

The 5600 is my favorite setup out of my whole arsenal. i use this for my universal setup with a 15lb line. ive hooked fish from tiny bluegill all the way up to 30-48 inch barracuda and halibut. i love this combo soo much i had to upgrade to the 6600. this setup is light, durable and perfect for any situation. i love the mechanics of the drag system and the line alarm it has! i actually owe a few fish to the line alarm that alerted me when i had a fish on when i wasnt looking!!!!!! big plus! and also the casting/smoothness, this is absolutely a abu garcias product!

fish-A-nator!
Carson, California
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great Product
9/19/2011

Customer review by 17Cicero23

5.0 stars 9/19/2011 by 17Cicero23
by 17Cicero23

I needed to upgrade to a better rod/reel combo. After asking for some opinions, I decided on an Abu Garcia. No regrets, works great, feels great. I live in Florida near the gulf so needless to say it gets a lot of use.

17Cicero23
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
SUPERB!!!
10/10/2011

Customer review by all species

5.0 stars 10/10/2011 by all species
by all species

I've had this combo for 2 1/2 years now and I am stunned. I put 17 lb. Trilene Maxx and a big 1 ounce deep diver on it, and it is perfectly balanced. Thanks Abu Garcia!!!

all species
Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
best bang for buck
6/23/2012

Customer review by ChaseMart

5.0 stars 6/23/2012 by ChaseMart
by ChaseMart

I recieved the bcx combo as a gift last christmas. Since then, I've used it at least four to five days a week on the lake (about 6 months of solid constant use and abuse). I use it for carolina and texas rigging and it performs astonishingly well, especially considering the price. The levelwind system is amazing for casts and for hard pulling fish that will take line off the drag. It allows you to use anything from a 1/8 oz. to a 1 1/2 oz. weight flawlessly and when you have a big lunker bass pulling line off the reel, it keeps it moving smoothly and prevents the spooled line from digging further into the spool. The rod is surprisingly sensative, just springy enough to make long casts and stiff enough to make strong, quick hooksets through any plastic bait. It's not as light or as smooth as a low profile reel but it is an extremely powerful and heavy duty. I intend to bring this combo with me to the texas gulf coast with me this october on the bull red run to test it on giant reds and blacks. It's very good craftsmanship and I praise Abu for this product.

ChaseMart
Bridgeport, TX
My "NEW" favorite catfish rig
2/17/2011

Customer review by bamacat

4.0 stars 2/17/2011 by bamacat
by bamacat

I am pleased with this combo. It works very well, not letting me down when I need it. The reel controls are well placed and easy to use. The rod is sturdy and well constructed. It has helped me pull many large catfish from the river with no problems. Thanks for a great product.

bamacat
Scottsboro, Alabama
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
READY TO GO BAITCAST COMBO
2/2/2011

Customer review by Brian

4.0 stars 2/2/2011 by Brian
by Brian

Love this combo !! Have caught everything from bass to heavy weight black drum. Wanted a little heavier rod for live bait fishing, but with three kids was on a budget....This rod worked out perfectly. Great combo!!!Worked smooth as could be even on a 46lb blck drum that gave us both a real work out

Brian
ocala, fl
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
good for the money
8/17/2011

Customer review by An anonymous customer

4.0 stars 8/17/2011 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

it is a great reel for beginers and still a overall good reel.

An anonymous customer
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
*meh*
1/29/2011

Customer review by jesnab

3.0 stars 1/29/2011 by jesnab
by jesnab

I bought this combo at Wal-Mart, which, I guess, should have been the first red flag. The combo felt good in the hand. The combo casts nice. The drag is decent. The action throughout the rod is nice. The issues that I had was that where the reel attaches to the rod, feels really cheap. It feels like plastic that is ready to break at any given hookset. I maybe put 20 hours on the reel, but now the line feeder at the spool no longer moves, rendering the reel...useless. I bought the combo about 2 years ago but apparently, even with only about 20 hours on the reel, Abu-Garcia won't stand behind this little piece of work. So even though it treated me pretty good up until the malfunction, it ended up to be pretty much a waste of about 85 bucks.

jesnab
California
Would recommend to a friend? No