Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 92 reviews | 3.4 out of 5

3.5 stars

92 reviews | 3.4 out of 5

3.5 stars

92 reviews | 3.4 out of 5

67%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
35
4 stars
22
3 stars
8
2 stars
1
1 stars
26
1-20 of 77 total reviews
67%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 77 total reviews
1-20 of 77 reviews
Beginners - You Don't Want this Computer
10/30/2011

Customer review by Sky2222

2.0 stars 10/30/2011 by Sky2222
by Sky2222

I don't usually write reviews, but I thought I needed to do one for this computer. If for no other reason than to educate someone who is not really computer literate. This is not the computer to buy if you are the type who plugs one in and expects to start using it. Trust me, I am computer literate and I still spent about three hours getting this thing up and running. Now I have nothing against Dell. They make good machines and I have had several. CONS: My major disappointment was the machine did not come with the full version of XP Pro. In order to get this CPU up and working, you have to jump thru a bunch of hoops. I had to register windows and office. I needed to download a bunch of upgrades to the software on it. I also had to register the CPU itself by submitting a product key for that. That code is on a sticker attached to the case that needs to be viewed with a high powered magnifying glass. That is a hit against Dell!! There was no anti-virus software on the machine. Albeit like new, this is an old machine. Would you believe it has a 3 inch floppy drive? This CPU is about 25% more in size and weight than current designs. PROS: Cheap and it makes a good spare backup which are the only two reasons why I bought it. Has six USB slots (none on the front), and both a 9 and 15 pin cable plug. Also has PS2 plugs for the "older" mouse and keyboard connections. Wal-Mart site to store shipping is quick! If you are computer literate the price works. If not you will be disappointed.

Was this review helpful? (218) (18)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Sky2222
Texas
Would recommend to a friend? No
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
11/4/2011

Customer review by Monacat

5.0 stars 11/4/2011 by Monacat
by Monacat

I purchased two(2) units, the first one had a defective motherboard, but the second one was great. Walmart promptly returned my money for the defective unit with no questions asked.

Was this review helpful? (56) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Monacat
Lawrenceville, Ga.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Piece of Junk
11/2/2011

Customer review by Nawlinsgal

1.0 stars 11/2/2011 by Nawlinsgal
by Nawlinsgal

I guess you really do get what you pay for. This refurbished computer is a piece of junk. I was only able to get the computer to come on once. Every other time I tried to turn it on, it just sounded like a jet was taking off, and never came on. I will be taking this computer back to WalMart today and hoping to find a NON-refurbished model to buy.

Was this review helpful? (77) (10)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Nawlinsgal
Would recommend to a friend? No
Great Product No Wireless Though
3/21/2012

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 3/21/2012 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

CONS: This doesn't have a wireless connection that I could find. I had to hook it up via wires to my internet router. Wasn't a problem for me, but could be a potential deal killer for others. Not loaded with any software like Office or such. You have to buy that on your own. PROS: It's a fast processor, I just use it for my kids to surf the internet, watch Hulu, Netflix, and Amazon Prime. They also use it to play kids games, like the discs you can buy at Staples. So far, no crashes or memory problems. I put Norton Anti-Virus on it and downloaded the drivers for my laser printer so the kids could print up pics for their homework. It's a breeze to work with and you can NOT beat the price! I've bought several Dell products either new, refurbished by Dell or via Walmart. I've never bought a lemon. They are solid dependable products. You can trust that if you have a Dell, you have a working computer that will last for years and won't let you down.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
An anonymous customer
Central Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
If not need for internet, it will be fine
11/4/2011

Customer review by JeffEB

3.0 stars 11/4/2011 by JeffEB
by JeffEB

Just the basic OS was on it. the IP address was expired and Dell wanted a Service Contract before the would do anything with it. Since it wasn't going to be connected to the internet, wasn't a big deal. If you are looking for something for the internet, stay away from this computer.

Was this review helpful? (50) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
JeffEB
Omaha
Would recommend to a friend? No
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Great Value for the money
11/13/2011

Customer review by Leeroy68

4.0 stars 11/13/2011 by Leeroy68
by Leeroy68

This PC is a great value and works awesome. You will not know it was ever refurbished. You will however need to download/install a few things like DVD decoder to play DVD's (which does cost some money $14.99). Also run all of your Window updates and purchase and run an antivirus. Otherwise system is quite fast on the internet and works great for viewing movies, downloading music etc.

Was this review helpful? (12) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Leeroy68
Lewiston, Idaho
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
hard drive wrong
12/4/2011

Customer review by rrenoulshopper

3.0 stars 12/4/2011 by rrenoulshopper
by rrenoulshopper

This is advertised as 80GB but after checking the specifications it is only a 40GB. I think you should get what is advertised. There is a 40GB with a 3.2 processor for approx $40.00 cheaper. You are not getting what you are paying for.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
rrenoulshopper
mass
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
Failed to operate
2/12/2012

Customer review by WhoCaresForQuality

1.0 stars 2/12/2012 by WhoCaresForQuality
by WhoCaresForQuality

Bought this unit to replace a Dell GX280 computer that had a failed motherboard. The "new" unit failed to recognize its Ethernet port. Installing new drivers did not fix the problem. Returned the "new" GX280 to Walmart and obtained a refund. The return process was easy. The process of discovering the "new" unit could not be made to work cost me a day.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
WhoCaresForQuality
Murrieta, CA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Not as advertized, doesn't work
2/1/2012

Customer review by An anonymous customer

1.0 stars 2/1/2012 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

I thought this would be a good way to replace a desktop that crashed. It's intended use was merely to act as a print server for the wireless laptops that are in use within the house. It could also be used as a guest computer and enable me to run some software that is incompatible with Windows 7. Although this was advertized to be a "mini-tower", it was massive in size. The computer would NOT boot and the fan was extremely loud. Too much to allow anyone to sleep in the same room. I spoke with the tech rep from Joy Systems to no avail. It's back in the box and back to Wallmart.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
An anonymous customer
Beloit, WI
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Yeah right
12/26/2011

Customer review by nutnhoney6

1.0 stars 12/26/2011 by nutnhoney6
by nutnhoney6

I got the product in a timely manner which was great. After I set it up, the power supply had a short in it, when I did get it to turn on, I was not able to upgrade the ram, computer crashed second day, I did a reinstall of XP and it did not update the drivers so was not able to use several plug and plays or onboard parts till I searched for the drivers online. Then the video card went out and was not able to even use the computer when it did come on. I would not recommend this model to anyone. Mini tower, yeah right, it was bigger than my first computer.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
nutnhoney6
Dallas, Texas
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
3/17/2012

Customer review by Momma2002

1.0 stars 3/17/2012 by Momma2002
by Momma2002

This product was not even worth the money. Since I have received it, it has slowed my high speed internet way down and it freezes all the time. I would not recommend a refurbished tower to anyone. Highly disappointed

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Momma2002
Albion, IN
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Paper Weight
11/23/2011

Customer review by darkknt33

1.0 stars 11/23/2011 by darkknt33
by darkknt33

The computer was the most expensive paper weight I've ever had. It didn't boot up when I got it, and the INDUSTRIAL sounding fan inside could be heard all over the house. I had to take it back to my local store to get a refund. On top of that, apparently Walmart contracts this out to a company that only does tech support Monday-Friday, 8-5, so I was never able to get anyone to try to troubleshoot the issue, since I also work during those hours. My advice, DO NOT BUY!!!!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? (7) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
darkknt33
Atlanta, GA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
Not for the Beginner
4/8/2012

Customer review by BasicBeliever

5.0 stars 4/8/2012 by BasicBeliever
by BasicBeliever

I bought it as a second computer to be online, for the family living room. I tested the computer at a friends house because he has quick and easy access to hook up cables and connections. It went to double images after I played Pinball that came with the Windows XP. I returned that computer to Walmart. When my money was returned to my account, I ordered another GX280. This one did the same thing, it showed double images on the monitor. But this time I took it home and hooked it up to my monitor, and it worked perfectly! It has been on day and night for two months now. If you hook your fingers under the lip of the front bottom panel that has the dell logo, and lift it up; it will reveal one USB port and one mini stereo headphone jack under the panel. So the first computer that I returned, was good; it was my friends monitor that was faulty.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
BasicBeliever
Crest Hill, IL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
12/15/2011

Customer review by Nevuela

3.0 stars 12/15/2011 by Nevuela
by Nevuela

I was thrilled to have a new PC again after nearly 5 months without one, and at such a great price, but I was very disappointed by the fact that the disc drive does not function. Sometimes it refuses to open, and when I am able to insert a CD or DVD, it doesn't play or extract any information, and yes, I downloaded and installed all the correct codexes. In 'My Computer' it claims there is nothing in the drive, even when I know there is. There was absolutely nothing in the item description that warned me of this.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Nevuela
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
A strong do not buy
11/22/2011

Customer review by macdaddy25

1.0 stars 11/22/2011 by macdaddy25
by macdaddy25

This machine is slow and clunky. Internet connection is very slow. I received a serial mouse since there are no ps2 ports. The serial port did not work. The machine also was not very clean. There was a lot of storage dust on it. Needless to say, I returned the machine.

Was this review helpful? (6) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
macdaddy25
Fontana, CA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Dell GX280 - Refurbished
8/28/2012

Customer review by AC99

5.0 stars 8/28/2012 by AC99
by AC99

The package offered seemed like a good value for the price on a refurbished unit. It arrived quickly and was very well packaged. Both the keyboard and mouse provided were brand new. Set up was extremely easy with well detailed directions. While setting up the computer, I became aware of two issues: 1) the keyboard was missing the ESC key and the computer, once turned on, gave a "low internal battery" warning. I contacted the support group via the 800-number on the reference sheet included with the computer. Their response was quick and courteous. They promptly reported my issue and sent out both a new keyboard and a replacement battery. The computer has worked flawlessly and I will definitely shop Walmart again for my electronic needs. Based on this purchase, I would highly recommend the refurbished items that Walmart sells.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
AC99
Zion, IL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
1/10/2012

Customer review by AMBROSIO

4.0 stars 1/10/2012 by AMBROSIO
by AMBROSIO

This is a great buy. Need to be computer savy for this product. I would recommend upgrading the mem to 2gb ram. In the tower I purchased the sound card was off. Had to go thru Bios set up to turn on. Other then that hit has done the job. Good speed on the processor. I am using this tower in an insurance office and it has worked out. Would buy again.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
AMBROSIO
DALLAS, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
I would recommend this to all of my friends.
11/27/2011

Customer review by lippincott

5.0 stars 11/27/2011 by lippincott
by lippincott

Ordered the computer, and received it within a week. Plugged in and it operated flawlessly, you may need more softwares to go along with the needs. I have nothing bad to say about the product, I would recommend this to all of my friends.

Was this review helpful? (5) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
lippincott
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Wasn't worth the time, much less the money !
12/8/2011

Customer review by TBARDS

1.0 stars 12/8/2011 by TBARDS
by TBARDS

First, the keyboard would't work, then, the mouse wouldn't work ! Finally got the sound to come on, and then everything quit ! I bought it for my "girl" to play "SCRABBLE" with ! Had to return it, and put the money towards something that workes !

Was this review helpful? (6) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
TBARDS
Indianapolis, IN.
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Older unit but adequate for my workplace
9/7/2012

Customer review by CrucialKnowledge

4.0 stars 9/7/2012 by CrucialKnowledge
by CrucialKnowledge

I won't be using it as my primary computer, but it is in great shape and will suffice for spreadsheets, mailing lists, internet access and some graphics works. The surprise was that it included a wired laser mouse (USB) and a USB keyboard. Granted, both accessories were cheapo, but it still was a surprise. My only small squawks are that the graphics card won't support 1920x1080 (with this ship-to-store purchase, I also bought an AOC 2436Vw monitor which has this as its native resolution), and also that the dvd drive rattled a bit on initial start. That rattle has not returned. I plan to someday get another graphics card to take advantage of the monitors resolution. Also pleased that XP Pro was already loaded, and yet the well packaged box also included a cd of the xp operating system to use as a backup. Not a unit for gamers, but certainly a great unit with a warranty for a small business or as a secondary computer. Who could argue with the price? Also, I've seen complaints about the cabinet size, but to me, that is not an issue. It is no larger than many units still in use out there.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
CrucialKnowledge
Wichita, KS
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 77 total reviews
1-20 of 77 reviews