Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 102 reviews | 3.6 out of 5

3.5 stars

102 reviews | 3.6 out of 5

3.5 stars

102 reviews | 3.6 out of 5

70%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
44
4 stars
21
3 stars
10
2 stars
8
1 stars
19
1-20 of 83 total reviews
70%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 83 total reviews
1-20 of 83 reviews
11/13/2011

Customer review by paulak63

4.0 stars 11/13/2011 by paulak63
by paulak63

When I ordered this product it said it was a mini tower. What I received was not a mini tower it was HUGE! I kept it because my other computer crashed and I needed one. This one is 16" tall x 17" deep x 7" wide(not mini) My compaq was 9" high x 10" deep x 4-1/2" wide. That is what I consider mini. The computer is fast we really like except for the size. Also it has a dvd burner but you will have to purchase a program to run dvd's as it doesn't come with one on it. My old one did. So far a good product though.

Was this review helpful? (76) (13)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
paulak63
Michigan
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
This wasn't refurbished, you're buying it used.
11/18/2011

Customer review by OwnerOfAnOptiplex

2.0 stars 11/18/2011 by OwnerOfAnOptiplex
by OwnerOfAnOptiplex

I jumped at the prospect of a computer this nice for $199. I needed an XP; Pro was a plus. The specs were right where I would want them. A large hdd, but not unmanageable. Plenty of CPU power and RAM, and a nice optical drive. It arrived a day early, so I took my time customizing it. I added a DVD writer, which wasn't included by default, and installed a fax modem. The inside is extremely customizable, and was very clean. I booted it up with the new hardware installed. Everything ran as expected through the Windows Registration and first run. You have to use the refurbished pc code that this comes with. It checked out to be a genuine copy of windows. I began the process of installing programs, transferring files, and repartitioning and checking the hard drive for errors. That's when I found the problem. A desktop hard disk should run at a temperature of a little less than 45 C. After two hours of very light r/w operations, the hard drive S.M.A.R.T. data reported a temp of 59 C. I also noted a power-on count of 50, and a power-on time of 2186 days, 5 (+/- a few) hours. That is almost six years of continuous use, resulting in a hardware overheat. I tried calling Dell, who claim they cannot refund or replace the drive. I'm contacting the refurbishing company, Joy Systems, to see what their excuse for installing this drive is. Everthing else about this computer is top-notch. You couldn't ask for a computer of its size to be quieter or more compatible. I found the 1.5 Gb/s SATA interface to be really cool, with a signal connector and easy-install bay for another HDD. There are two easy-install bays for DVD/CD drives, one for the floppy disk drive, and three pci ports. A fourth pci-like port is open on the back, but I'm not sure what it is called. MT

Was this review helpful? (54) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
OwnerOfAnOptiplex
Colorado
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:14 - 18
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
Refurbished Dell PC tower (only) a great value
11/19/2011

Customer review by Needing2sumos

5.0 stars 11/19/2011 by Needing2sumos
by Needing2sumos

I bought this refurbished Dell tower PC to replace my 6+ yrs old Dell tower. This arrived clean and tidy, not at all looking like a used machine. Has been working well so far. At only 225$ [200 for the machine + 25 for addtl 2 yrs Walmart extended warranty], a very good value.

Was this review helpful? (32) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Needing2sumos
Kansas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Every few days
cheaper than the local used computer shop
11/16/2011

Customer review by imwoody36

4.0 stars 11/16/2011 by imwoody36
by imwoody36

clean, functional, no junk software pre-installed. does what I need it to.

Was this review helpful? (25) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
imwoody36
southern indiana
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Refurbished Dell Optiplex GX620
11/18/2011

Customer review by couponuser

5.0 stars 11/18/2011 by couponuser
by couponuser

I am very pleased with this machine. It is all that is advertised plus. It's quiet, efficient and fast. I would purchase this computer again and with the one year warranty it's a good purchase.

Was this review helpful? (9) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
couponuser
Oklahoma
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great value for a basic computer
1/25/2012

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 1/25/2012 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

I needed an additional computer for my front office. It only had to handle e-mail and my point-of-sale system, so buying a new, powerful machine made little sense. I also did not want to buy a used machine on the open market since it would have no guarantees. I was very happy to see that Walmart sells refurbished computers. The price was excellent and the machine came in like-new condition. Site-to-store delivery was economical and reasonably quick. I have purchased several items using site-to-store and find it preferable to mail order.

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
Cottonwood, AZ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
A lot of work to update.
12/8/2011

Customer review by penst8

1.0 stars 12/8/2011 by penst8
by penst8

Verry disapointed! All the drivers were outdated and several drivers were MISSING!!! I had to pay $30.00 to an online service to update and add missing drivers!!!

Was this review helpful? (7) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
penst8
Lewistown PA.
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
2/3/2012

Customer review by ljm1

5.0 stars 2/3/2012 by ljm1
by ljm1

I wanted a new XP and this one is faster than the original one I had 4 years ago. It is wonderful. The description says a mini tower and this thing is as big as a young elephant but it matters not as it slips into the place under the desk that the former occupied. It is one of the best buys I ever made especially with the 2 year extended warranty. Can't beat it.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ljm1
Streator, IL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great computer
12/26/2011

Customer review by NightShadow

5.0 stars 12/26/2011 by NightShadow
by NightShadow

The computer runs quiet and great! A lot faster then my old computer I 'm loving the internet once again LOL

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
NightShadow
Stone Ridge, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
12/7/2011

Customer review by Raudel

5.0 stars 12/7/2011 by Raudel
by Raudel

Real nice not at all looking like a used machine, plenty of cpu and ram, everything ran as expected

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Raudel
Cutler Bay,Fl.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great bare bones setup for builders.
11/30/2011

Customer review by Satldr75

5.0 stars 11/30/2011 by Satldr75
by Satldr75

I was able to add another 250 gig hard drive for a total of 500 gigs, dvd writer, fax/modem card and upgraded RAM to 4 gigs. I also intend to replace the power supply with a 600 watt unit. Dell has always made a great cabinet for adding components and this system is no exception. The cabinet was a little dinged up but setup went smoothly per directions and all is well with my replacement desktop. I actually bought it because the price fit within my budget limitations after purchasing an Akai USB EWI which I play through it and it sounds great. I am throughly pleased.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Satldr75
United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
2/22/2012

Customer review by tshobie

5.0 stars 2/22/2012 by tshobie
by tshobie

Great price on a good computer. My daughter's computer bit the dust and needed replacing and she didn't want Windows 7, she wanted to stick with XP, I was happy I could find a good computer with XP at a great price. Everything works, no complaints. Looks new. It's good to recycle too.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
tshobie
Lake Havasu City, AZ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
SO quiet I don't even know it's on. Love it!
3/2/2012

Customer review by garrigues

5.0 stars 3/2/2012 by garrigues
by garrigues

I really like this Dell. It's only slightly smaller than a normal sized tower though - not sure why they call it a mini tower. Nonetheless, I have found it to have plenty of USB ports for my average household use. I truly do like that it is soooo quiet. Of the many towers I have had, this is by far my favorite. As for setup - I didn't do it myself, I had a friend do it... he said the product key was outdated and he had to call Dell to get a new one... but Dell was prompt to do so and the product key was nearly immediately validated. As for Walmart service - the delivery was quick.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
garrigues
Washington State
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
12/9/2011

Customer review by chascar

4.0 stars 12/9/2011 by chascar
by chascar

I received the computer a day early which was nice. For the money, I feel it is a very good deal. the only negative is that the keyboard is cheap. The folks at Walmart.com were professional and helpful and I will continue to make purchases with them.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
chascar
Oklahoma
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
No DVD Burner
1/24/2012

Customer review by Bivens

3.0 stars 1/24/2012 by Bivens
by Bivens

I thought this was a great deal, but it is a misleading ad. There in no DVD Burner in this machine. Now I'm spending $40.00 more tomorrow to install a DVD Burner in this machine. It will cost you more than $40.00 if you don't know how to install a DVD Burner yourself- in technician labor costs, plus the burner cost. Other than no DVD Burner, it is working well for me. Remember too that Dell proprietary memory upgrades are more expensive than other memory upgrades. This is something else you need to be able to do yourself if you want to escape additional technical labor costs.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Bivens
Columbus, Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
12/13/2011

Customer review by charnkth

2.0 stars 12/13/2011 by charnkth
by charnkth

When we set this up we found the USB ports did not work....sent it right back. Customer service very nice about crediting back to credit card. Went somewhere else and bought new PC with more capability at about $80 more.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
charnkth
council bluffs, ia
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
Don't Buy
1/21/2012

Customer review by thepolarbear

1.0 stars 1/21/2012 by thepolarbear
by thepolarbear

Despite saying mini-tower it is a full-sized tower. Also despite the specs saying it comes with PS/2 ports and a PS2 keyboard and PS2 mouse comes with USB ports and on top of that the machine wouldn't even boot up out of the box - continuous reboot cycle. Overall piece of junk.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
thepolarbear
Would recommend to a friend? No
4/3/2012

Customer review by jerryjr50

4.0 stars 4/3/2012 by jerryjr50
by jerryjr50

I purchased this computer because I don't do a lot of things on line play poker,pictures and some purchases. I find this computer to be a little slow at times and unable to boot up at times but it eventuaely will boot. Over all for the price and my needs I think I made a good purchase and am happy with the product

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
jerryjr50
Mcminnville,Oregon
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
1/10/2012

Customer review by TastyTurtle

3.0 stars 1/10/2012 by TastyTurtle
by TastyTurtle

The modem for the internet commection is like having dail up connection. Getting ready to just reconnect my old computer and chalking this DELL up to experience and my loss.

Was this review helpful? (3) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
TastyTurtle
Blue Island, IL
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
12/1/2011

Customer review by chipley

3.0 stars 12/1/2011 by chipley
by chipley

good for the money, but it makes a lot of noise.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
chipley
barnegat, n. j.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
1-20 of 83 total reviews
1-20 of 83 reviews