Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 636 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

4.0 stars

636 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

4.0 stars

636 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

87%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
346
4 stars
184
3 stars
34
2 stars
26
1 stars
46
1-20 of 475 total reviews
87%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 475 total reviews
1-20 of 475 reviews
I have three
2/26/2016

Customer review by JayH

5.0 stars 2/26/2016 by JayH
by JayH

I have a 32, 42 and a 50. I'd recommend these TVs to everyone.

JayH
Virginia, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
great tv
11/25/2014

Customer review by richpurdom

5.0 stars 11/25/2014 by richpurdom
by richpurdom

I brought this tv not knowing the brand.as it turns out its a spin off of sony,remotes work on both name tv's.picture is great if I had complaint it would be the sound difference,one channel is too loud while another is too low.for the money you cannot go wrong.i even went and brought another one for another room in the house.

richpurdom
Barry, IL, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Nice TV
11/3/2015

Customer review by charlie927

5.0 stars 11/3/2015 by charlie927
by charlie927

I am really enjoying this TV. It has a great picture and works like it is supposed too. I am pleased with my purchase of this TV.

charlie927
SC, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Great affordable TV.
7/16/2015

Customer review by 1ruslcrew

4.0 stars 7/16/2015 by 1ruslcrew
by 1ruslcrew

We have owned this TV for over 2 years now and we are very pleased with it. We would recommend Sceptre TVs to anyone looking for a very affordable television.

1ruslcrew
North Augusta, SC, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Good picture
4/4/2015

Customer review by CDL Auction

5.0 stars 4/4/2015 by CDL Auction
by CDL Auction

I won this tv and I'm very happy with. It was easy to hook up it I think the sound is good. But it does change from each station

CDL Auction
Kenosha, WI, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
sound
2/22/2015

Customer review by byrd7g

4.0 stars 2/22/2015 by byrd7g
by byrd7g

sound is on the weak side, but everything else works very well

byrd7g
Maud, OK, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Its certainly cheap, but you get what you pay for.
1/15/2012

Customer review by Jeffredo

3.0 stars 1/15/2012 by Jeffredo
by Jeffredo

I was hoping for some great bargain, but as with anything you get what you pay for. The picture quality is fair to mediocre. The picture is fairly dull and dark (even on "Vivid"), there is an odd "rosiness" to skin tones in dark scenes that calibration wouldn't eliminate, and its not particularly sharp. The sound is pretty terrible and I don't mean normal LCD terrible, I mean terrible period. Very uneven tone from channel to channel, HD to SD. The headphone jack is useless since the level is off the scale (even with the volume on "1" its far too loud). I tried turning on and off all the various sound options (of which there are quite a few) and nothing helped much. Its not a piece of junk, but its definitely not the quality of a $600 TV as many reviewers are claiming it to be. Set up was a breeze and there panel had no dead or stuck pixels. As for Walmart's ship to store, it went very well and I'll definitely use it again. This one's going back - going to try an LG 42".

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Jeffredo
Oroville, California
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
best purchase ever
1/7/2012

Customer review by PatricD

5.0 stars 1/7/2012 by PatricD
by PatricD

I know you are probably like me and are thinking, "I'm not buying a Sceptre, what the heck is a Sceptre?" I spent 10 days during Christmas going through every possible web site to purchase a new TV for my bedroom (Best Buy, Target, Sears, etc.). I read at least 200 reviews and found this 42 In Sceptre, 1080. I'm really glad I purchased this TV. It sounds great, looks really nice, and for $350 it is a steal. I actually like it more than my Sony Bravia. Set up was really easy. My only issue was the silly energy saving sticker you have to peel off the bottom, I hate peeling off stickers. I also noticed that you have to push the remote buttons kind of hard, but you probably won't use that remote too often if you have cable or Dish. You will like this TV and don't worry about the name brand. Trust me, I spent so long researching every TV possible and it is really hard finding a 1080 TV this size at this price. Get the 2 year Wal-Mart warranty also and you total cost will be around $420. I hope this helps.

Was this review helpful? (8) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
PatricD
Vegas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great TV, great price!
1/9/2012

Customer review by Loomsky

4.0 stars 1/9/2012 by Loomsky
by Loomsky

We recently purchased this TV and it's great! Attaching the tv to the base takes about 5 mins, they even have a small screw driver in the package....doesn't get any easier than that. You just need to read the directions! The picture quality needs to be set to vivid, again just read because it's default setting is on power saver mode...takes one sec! The sound is fine! We have a sound bar and have not even attached it yet. We have the sound serring set to standard for regular tv, as we did have in on dynamic and it was getting lower than louder during our favorite tv shows. Not sure why people have complained about the sound in previous reviews, ours is great, and loud! This tv has an excellent picture quality and I would reccommed it to anyone looking to purchase one! We saved a lot of money and it is a quality tv, don't be afraid of name brands! This tv is excellent and if we need another one in the future we would purchase a Sceptre.

Was this review helpful? (20) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Loomsky
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Not bad at all for the price
4/18/2012

Customer review by Lilkty

4.0 stars 4/18/2012 by Lilkty
by Lilkty

To my taste the colors are a little bit off, but this can only be noticed in a few shows and movies with low saturation, other than that the picture is quite crisp and the size is just perfect for your average sized living room. I'd say the reason this is missing the fifth star is the sound, we bought it in a bundle with a home theater system, which fixes this issue for us but we had to get an audio output cable and we just used the TV without the home theater system meanwhile. The sound wasn't anything great, we noticed it right away. A tiny detail for nitpicky people like me is that I found it hard to turn off the motion interpolation in this TV, I had a hard time going through the menus looking for whatever name they gave to it, but some people actually like the soap-opera effect it gives to movies so I didn't really take it into consideration. Overall this is a good starter for those who enjoy watching some movies or playing HD videogames in it. It's nothing too fancy but it's nice looking and serves it's purpose.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Lilkty
El Paso, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Not bad for the price
12/12/2012

Customer review by pumpkin6689

5.0 stars 12/12/2012 by pumpkin6689
by pumpkin6689
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I purchased this TV for my living room to replace a nearly 30 year old RCA clunker I had in there that I should not knock since I certainly got my monies worth on that TV I finally got it all set up the other day. It was a breeze to set up everything worked the first time the cables were plugged in (even the use of only having to use one remote that belongs to the cablebox) which believe me is usually not the case when it comes to electronics in my home LOL Nearly every other TV in my home you need to use two remotes the TV remote to turn the TV set on and the cable company remote for all other functions The picture and sound quality are good and for the price I am very very satisfied I have not had the time yet to sit down and experiment with all the settings but the factory settings seem to be working just fine. The only review I read and did change was to change the picture quality to vivid which seemed to make the picture better I would recommend this TV for anyone on a budget

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
pumpkin6689
GREAT NECK, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great value for the money.
12/2/2011

Customer review by Nanook1

4.0 stars 12/2/2011 by Nanook1
by Nanook1

I set this television up yesterday in my living room. The picture quality is very good. It can be easily adjusted using the Picture button on the remote. Vivid was the level that brought the most vibrant colors. Low looked to be a little muted to me as did the power save selection. Sound quality really isn't all that great. It's passable, but I would highly recommend getting a set of surround sound speakers to go with this unit. Don't forget to purchase a HDMI cable for this TV. because it doesn't come with one. The remote comes with 2xAAAA batteries. Total set up time from opening the box to watching TV is about 5 minutes. The only assembly required is mounting the base to the bottom of the TV by screwing in 7 small screws. The box includes a small screwdriver to use. As far as picture quality goes, I think that Vizio and Sony have slightly better pictures than this brand. However, the cost of this unit is about $250-$300 less and it's quality is at least on par with the other brands out there that cost much more. If I had to do this all over again and buy a TV, I would purchase this one based on the value for the money.

Was this review helpful? (214) (19)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Nanook1
Missoula, MT
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great TV for a Great Price!!!
1/11/2012

Customer review by Driller213

4.0 stars 1/11/2012 by Driller213
by Driller213

I had to order this tv site to store(great experience). My tube TV FINALLY died and it was time to get my 1st HDTV. I spent 2 months comparing prices, brands, and specs (I wanted 4 HDMI) as I'm picky about investing alot of money in something that I want to last me a long time. I found this to be the best deal available anywhere. Picture's awesome. Sound quality's not the greatest, but it's something that surround sound can take care of. Great quality for the price. My only drawback so far is that I've got my cable box hooked up to it and the remote for the cable box interferes at times with the TV. I think they're the same frequency. I think that's something that I can fix.?.? I've already recommended this TV to multiple people. Thanks for the great overall experience!!!

Was this review helpful? (34) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Driller213
Milwaukee, WI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great buy great TV so far!
10/22/2011

Customer review by llllll09

5.0 stars 10/22/2011 by llllll09
by llllll09

Okay so I looked at this purchase as taking a chance.. I'd buy an off brand and then buy the 3 year extended warranty and hope for the best out of the box... I haven't been disappointed so far! The picture right out of the box is as good as my other flat screen LCD's- All name brands. I guess the only negative so far is that we can't control the TV volume with the Direct TV remote.. We'll figure that out or use two- No biggy! Everything about this TV is fine! Great picture- Great sounds, it's so lightweight we'll bring it inside and outside to the patio as planned.. Game 2 of the World Series was pretty awesome on it- Especially the top o the 9th inning!! :0 Go Rangers!! Awesome TV- Take advantage of the $379.00 price tag and enjoy!

Was this review helpful? (339) (64)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
llllll09
Frisco, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Sceptre 42" LCD TV - After years of use
6/4/2012

Customer review by JBHofCO

5.0 stars 6/4/2012 by JBHofCO
by JBHofCO

Had to find a replacement for the dinosaur museum's show room's big screen that died and found the Sceptre 42" available as an Internet order item and well worth the time it took to get to our local Walmart store. Now years later it is still running every day 10 hours just like new. I had no second thoughts ordering as an IT manager I knew the name well as I have ordered scores of Sceptre computer monitors since the 80's and have never been disappointed. Now am waiting for my own 40" to arrive for our home - can't wait! Overall quality is fine to me considering it provides a crisp bright display that years ago would cost $800 or more to purchase. Today there seems many brand choices that have very similar features which makes me think like calculators in the 80's, technology has got it down and the prices reflect this. The addition of external speakers would be a no brainer for anyone who cares about the theater experience audio is very important and most any internal TV sound system is not going to sound as well as even with a $140 400W w/Subwoofer PC sound system. Most of us have an AVR and speaker system ready to work with the TV...No? Surge filters and power UPS helps keep things running too here as we do have a lot of lightening in Colorado above 8,000'. I'll review the 40" as soon as I get enough time with it.

Was this review helpful? (22) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
JBHofCO
Colorado
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
3/1/2012

Customer review by Rhjwe

1.0 stars 3/1/2012 by Rhjwe
by Rhjwe

I found this great TV online and thought for the price you can't go wrong. It was easy to set up and was working great. After 6 months of use, I turned the TV on one day and the menu display kept showing. I couldn't change the channel or control the volume. The next day the TV would not even turn on.I had a friend come over and look at it to see if there was a reset button or anything and there wasn't. Customer Service was called and they told us how to reset the TV, however that didn't work either and it still would not turn on. I called customer service three more times and no one answered. I left three messages and still have not received a phone call back. This TV will go back to Walmart and they can deal with it. I hope I don't have any problems with the return. Walmart is usually pretty good about that.

Was this review helpful? (9) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Rhjwe
Gwinner, ND
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
12/10/2011

Customer review by Kevin76

4.0 stars 12/10/2011 by Kevin76
by Kevin76

My wife and I just received this TV yesterday, and the ease in which (she) put it together was a breeze! She had the TV, blu ray player , and the Wii all hooked up and ready to go when I came home from work!! I wholeheartedly agree with previous reviews, the fact that the picture is well worth the price. The only issue so far, is the sound quality. At times, it will be a little distorted or "tinny" sounding. (we may also need additional time to adjust the settings the way we like) Nothing that we be believe some additional surround sound wont cure. (which we were planning on adding anyway.) Overall, so far this is a great buy. Making a 42" HDTV with 4 HDMI inputs affordable to almost everyone. Thanks Sceptre!

Was this review helpful? (26) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Kevin76
Tampa, Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Good Quality, Value TV
12/24/2012

Customer review by LoveComputersBilliardsTV

4.0 stars 12/24/2012 by LoveComputersBilliardsTV
by LoveComputersBilliardsTV
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I'm rating this with the thought in mind that this is a low-end value TV. The quality is good. You will be hard-pressed to find a TV with the quality viewing for the same money. I purchased this TV for my mom to replace a dinosaur she had. If you are not a TV fanatic, need a good quality set for with a low-end price, you should definitely consider. For myself, I have purchased Sceptre before and the quality was surprising for what I expected. I didn't hesitate to buy this 42". For myself, I have a 22" in my office and a 37" in my basement as a 2nd tv. Being a TV fanatic, I would compare this brand to be on the same plane as any inexpensive models from Visio, RCA, Panasonic, LG, etc. If you are considering one of those brands, take a look at this model. I wouldn't have it replace my Sony Bravia, but I'm very satisfied with my purchases of this brand. As is usual with these TV brands, the sound is somewhat low. If you are in a big space or have a crowd, you will need to augment the sound with a sound system.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
LoveComputersBilliardsTV
Yonkers, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Pleasantly Surprised
1/23/2012

Customer review by ant13

5.0 stars 1/23/2012 by ant13
by ant13

My intention was to buy a 40" Toshiba, and then I read the not-so-good reviews on it. Along the way, I read the reviews on this TV as well, which were much better. Now, in shopping for a new TV, my primary driver is price, because let's face it, in 6 months, even the newest technology is available at half the price. So this TV grabbed my attention at 2" bigger and 50 bucks cheaper. I'm pretty pleased. Great picture. Great refresh. Decent sound and volume level. I've given the picture only 4 stars, because (I think) of the features - I'm still messing with some settings to figure a way around this... It seems as if they are too specific and not general enough - if you set it up to have a 5 star picture on your sports channels (what I watch/record), the kids stuff just seems to be too rich in color and contrast. Not that they care. And I'm ok with it all, because the games look great. And BTW... my wife's shows also look great. It's just those dang kids' shows.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ant13
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Do not be fooled into this TV.
12/3/2012

Customer review by kid22

1.0 stars 12/3/2012 by kid22
by kid22

I upgraded to the 42" screen due to my eyesight. I got this just over three months ago. Right away the remote stopped working, and after two different universal remotes and trying all the factory suggestions, I gave up and went to the set to adjust it. The sound was not good, and it took a lot of adjusting to get the colors right. I tried to give this TV a chance, so I did not return it. Tonight I was watching a DVD, and boom, it blew. I mean a very loud popping noise and it went black. So I will deal with Walmart tomorrow and see how it turns out. I am no beginner at electronics, so shame on me for trusting this off brand. If Walmart refunds my money I will get another brand from them maybe. It depends on what they have to offer, as I won't ever be interested in this cheap imitation. Just because it looks good, and is the right price does not mean it is a quality item. If you need to save money on a larger TV, I suggest at least get a brand you have heard of for a little longer such as Emerson. My 32" TV is in my bedroom now, a Toshiba I purchased in 2009. Lesson learned...

Was this review helpful? (6) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
kid22
Sulphur Springs, Texas
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 475 total reviews
1-20 of 475 reviews