Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 635 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

4.0 stars

635 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

4.0 stars

635 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

87%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
344
4 stars
184
3 stars
34
2 stars
26
1 stars
47
1-20 of 474 total reviews
87%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 474 total reviews
1-20 of 474 reviews
Don't let the brand put you off
12/25/2011

Customer review by LovesAFantasticDeal

5.0 stars 12/25/2011 by LovesAFantasticDeal
by LovesAFantasticDeal

Saw several other good reviews on this TV and thought it was worth taking a chance on. Plus, WalMart has a 90 day in store return policy even when you purchase online. We got it for a bedroom that we use as a playroom and it's just the right size. First, I had to attach the swivel base. No big deal and it even comes with a screwdriver. However, the TV tilts slightly and I have pulled the stupid base off and checked everything and re-attached and still it tilts. Annoying, but I slid the manual that came with it under one side of the base and problem solved (wall mounting would be even better). Now for the good part. The picture is awesome. Right out of the box. We have a 61" Samsung DLP in the living room and this picture is crisper with even more refined detail. I don't know if it's due to the differences in LCD vs. DLP or that the specs (contrast, etc.) just get better and cheaper. We hooked up our PS3 via HDMI cables (purchased seperately) and the picture is amazing. The sound was what almost every review on almost every flat screen TV says - tinny, no bass. Not intolerbale by any means, but bass makes so much difference in game playing and movie watching. I hooked up our desktop Logitech 2.1 speakers with small subwoofer. I bought these years ago for $20 and they make a big difference. It's not surround sound and they lack midrange, but the bass makes up for it in my opinion. The TV has tons of connections - 4 HDMI, component, RCA, USB, headphone (which is how I connected the speakers) and several others. I tried the USB and the menu was pretty decent. It will show pics and has a slideshow setting and will play music files. It doesn't play any videos, but that would be a lot to expect at this price. For $359, the USB is a nice bonus. This model may not be a brand name, but it isn't stripped down - far from it. Of course, the real test will be how long it lasts before something goes wrong. I bought the extended warranty just to cover my bases, but intend to update this review periodically because this, to me, is the most important part of a good review - are you still happy with the purchase in 6 months, a year, two years? That's what matters more than it was great out of the box. Still, you be hard pressed to find a TV of this size, with this many features for this price and that combination made it a great purchse for me.

Was this review helpful? (455) (47)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
LovesAFantasticDeal
Round Rock, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great value for the money.
12/2/2011

Customer review by Nanook1

4.0 stars 12/2/2011 by Nanook1
by Nanook1

I set this television up yesterday in my living room. The picture quality is very good. It can be easily adjusted using the Picture button on the remote. Vivid was the level that brought the most vibrant colors. Low looked to be a little muted to me as did the power save selection. Sound quality really isn't all that great. It's passable, but I would highly recommend getting a set of surround sound speakers to go with this unit. Don't forget to purchase a HDMI cable for this TV. because it doesn't come with one. The remote comes with 2xAAAA batteries. Total set up time from opening the box to watching TV is about 5 minutes. The only assembly required is mounting the base to the bottom of the TV by screwing in 7 small screws. The box includes a small screwdriver to use. As far as picture quality goes, I think that Vizio and Sony have slightly better pictures than this brand. However, the cost of this unit is about $250-$300 less and it's quality is at least on par with the other brands out there that cost much more. If I had to do this all over again and buy a TV, I would purchase this one based on the value for the money.

Was this review helpful? (213) (19)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Nanook1
Missoula, MT
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great buy great TV so far!
10/22/2011

Customer review by llllll09

5.0 stars 10/22/2011 by llllll09
by llllll09

Okay so I looked at this purchase as taking a chance.. I'd buy an off brand and then buy the 3 year extended warranty and hope for the best out of the box... I haven't been disappointed so far! The picture right out of the box is as good as my other flat screen LCD's- All name brands. I guess the only negative so far is that we can't control the TV volume with the Direct TV remote.. We'll figure that out or use two- No biggy! Everything about this TV is fine! Great picture- Great sounds, it's so lightweight we'll bring it inside and outside to the patio as planned.. Game 2 of the World Series was pretty awesome on it- Especially the top o the 9th inning!! :0 Go Rangers!! Awesome TV- Take advantage of the $379.00 price tag and enjoy!

Was this review helpful? (338) (64)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
llllll09
Frisco, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Good value
11/30/2011

Customer review by MikeinTulsa

4.0 stars 11/30/2011 by MikeinTulsa
by MikeinTulsa

I was concerned about buying other than a brand name, but this is a really good purchase. The picture is bright and clear with excellent color and sharp contrast. I am quite happy with my purchase. Good thing I bought when I did because Walmart's web site says they are now out of stock. I am disappointed in the sound quality. At higher volumes it becomes distorted. Tone is not to my liking. I may try a sound system to see if it will be better. I used the THX picture adjustment system found on certain DVDs. The picture is much improved after the adjustment. The default adjustment from the factory leaves much to be desired. Will change to five stars if I can get better sound with a sound system.

Was this review helpful? (144) (34)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MikeinTulsa
Tulsa, OK
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great TV for a Great Price!!!
1/11/2012

Customer review by Driller213

4.0 stars 1/11/2012 by Driller213
by Driller213

I had to order this tv site to store(great experience). My tube TV FINALLY died and it was time to get my 1st HDTV. I spent 2 months comparing prices, brands, and specs (I wanted 4 HDMI) as I'm picky about investing alot of money in something that I want to last me a long time. I found this to be the best deal available anywhere. Picture's awesome. Sound quality's not the greatest, but it's something that surround sound can take care of. Great quality for the price. My only drawback so far is that I've got my cable box hooked up to it and the remote for the cable box interferes at times with the TV. I think they're the same frequency. I think that's something that I can fix.?.? I've already recommended this TV to multiple people. Thanks for the great overall experience!!!

Was this review helpful? (34) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Driller213
Milwaukee, WI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great tv until it died
12/22/2011

Customer review by AndreaS61

1.0 stars 12/22/2011 by AndreaS61
by AndreaS61

We were so happy to get this tv. Ours was pretty old so this was a huge upgrade. Setup was easy. Picture and sound were good. We didn't hook it up to the computer or a home theater or anything, just cable and Xbox. Everything was great....until it died about 10 days later. Just up and died! Like it wasn't plugged in. We called the "800" number and left a message but nobody called back so I called Walmart. They told me to return it to Customer Service. It's an online only item. We didn't want another one, so we got a refund. Walmart was great and refunded entirely - including the service plan. We ended up getting a tv at Best Buy.

Was this review helpful? (75) (23)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
AndreaS61
Everett, WA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Sceptre 42" LCD TV - After years of use
6/4/2012

Customer review by JBHofCO

5.0 stars 6/4/2012 by JBHofCO
by JBHofCO

Had to find a replacement for the dinosaur museum's show room's big screen that died and found the Sceptre 42" available as an Internet order item and well worth the time it took to get to our local Walmart store. Now years later it is still running every day 10 hours just like new. I had no second thoughts ordering as an IT manager I knew the name well as I have ordered scores of Sceptre computer monitors since the 80's and have never been disappointed. Now am waiting for my own 40" to arrive for our home - can't wait! Overall quality is fine to me considering it provides a crisp bright display that years ago would cost $800 or more to purchase. Today there seems many brand choices that have very similar features which makes me think like calculators in the 80's, technology has got it down and the prices reflect this. The addition of external speakers would be a no brainer for anyone who cares about the theater experience audio is very important and most any internal TV sound system is not going to sound as well as even with a $140 400W w/Subwoofer PC sound system. Most of us have an AVR and speaker system ready to work with the TV...No? Surge filters and power UPS helps keep things running too here as we do have a lot of lightening in Colorado above 8,000'. I'll review the 40" as soon as I get enough time with it.

Was this review helpful? (22) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
JBHofCO
Colorado
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
12/10/2011

Customer review by Kevin76

4.0 stars 12/10/2011 by Kevin76
by Kevin76

My wife and I just received this TV yesterday, and the ease in which (she) put it together was a breeze! She had the TV, blu ray player , and the Wii all hooked up and ready to go when I came home from work!! I wholeheartedly agree with previous reviews, the fact that the picture is well worth the price. The only issue so far, is the sound quality. At times, it will be a little distorted or "tinny" sounding. (we may also need additional time to adjust the settings the way we like) Nothing that we be believe some additional surround sound wont cure. (which we were planning on adding anyway.) Overall, so far this is a great buy. Making a 42" HDTV with 4 HDMI inputs affordable to almost everyone. Thanks Sceptre!

Was this review helpful? (25) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Kevin76
Tampa, Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
11/30/2011

Customer review by 4Dutch

5.0 stars 11/30/2011 by 4Dutch
by 4Dutch

Picture is beautiful. I was a bit sceptical since it was a brand I was not familiar with. The price was great and the product is excellent so far. Good value.

Was this review helpful? (19) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
4Dutch
North Carolina
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
This product rocks!
12/22/2011

Customer review by JB052

4.0 stars 12/22/2011 by JB052
by JB052

Quick delivery - after reading other reviews, I was concerned about possible sound issues with this product. Unfounded fears, the sound quality is very good. Picture quality is very good. Overall features are good. Also has a USB port that can be used to view JPEG pictures and also to play MP3 music. Keep in mind that it will only except up to 2 gig. size flash drive and only FAT 32 format. Don't plan to use this feature very much but it is a nice addition. Would advice changing the picture setting from power saving to vivid. This product rocks.

Was this review helpful? (19) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
JB052
Arizona
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Great TV, great price!
1/9/2012

Customer review by Loomsky

4.0 stars 1/9/2012 by Loomsky
by Loomsky

We recently purchased this TV and it's great! Attaching the tv to the base takes about 5 mins, they even have a small screw driver in the package....doesn't get any easier than that. You just need to read the directions! The picture quality needs to be set to vivid, again just read because it's default setting is on power saver mode...takes one sec! The sound is fine! We have a sound bar and have not even attached it yet. We have the sound serring set to standard for regular tv, as we did have in on dynamic and it was getting lower than louder during our favorite tv shows. Not sure why people have complained about the sound in previous reviews, ours is great, and loud! This tv has an excellent picture quality and I would reccommed it to anyone looking to purchase one! We saved a lot of money and it is a quality tv, don't be afraid of name brands! This tv is excellent and if we need another one in the future we would purchase a Sceptre.

Was this review helpful? (18) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Loomsky
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Don't buy it!
2/2/2012

Customer review by TNKIKI

1.0 stars 2/2/2012 by TNKIKI
by TNKIKI

It looks like a great TV and sells for a great price, but the picture completely quit working after only 2 weeks. The Sceptre customer service rep said "it must have been dropped during transport" and that he has received other similar complaints.

Was this review helpful? (15) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
TNKIKI
Chattanooga, TN
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Excellent value.
11/27/2011

Customer review by SavvyP

5.0 stars 11/27/2011 by SavvyP
by SavvyP

Can't beat it for the $$. Quick to come on. Very sharp picture. Everything I expected it to be.

Was this review helpful? (18) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
SavvyP
Lincoln Park, NJ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
11/14/2011

Customer review by jazzyj21

5.0 stars 11/14/2011 by jazzyj21
by jazzyj21

the tv is great esp. for the price i love the tv i have the 42 inch i also have the 32 inch and i love them both

Was this review helpful? (14) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
jazzyj21
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Okay buy
12/20/2011

Customer review by Feness

3.0 stars 12/20/2011 by Feness
by Feness

My TV sat in the box for one month while I awaited a move into my new home. When it finally got set up my return to walmart had expired. The picture seems grainy and I feel it would have been worth it to pay the extra money for a Samsung (which is the brand that I had previously). Never buy a TV if it is not a brand kept in the store for your viewing prior to buying!

Was this review helpful? (19) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Feness
Would recommend to a friend? No
Great Value
12/19/2011

Customer review by ThaKevMan

4.0 stars 12/19/2011 by ThaKevMan
by ThaKevMan

I bought this TV as a bundle that came with a separate sound system. I was skeptical because I didn't recognize the brand, but after reading reviews which were mostly positive I decided to take a chance considering the great price. I initially hooked it up without the sound system just as a test. The picture is surprisingly great. HD movies and football games look awesome. The sound however is lacking, so I suggest a separate sound system. My main complaint is that the remote is not very responsive. Sometimes I have to push a button several times before the TV responds, but that is definitely not a deal-breaker considering I don't have to use it for channel/volume changes. If you're on a budget and have a separate sound system, this TV is definitely a good choice.

Was this review helpful? (12) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ThaKevMan
Fort Worth, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Tried it Twice with No Luck
2/7/2012

Customer review by ladyjays

1.0 stars 2/7/2012 by ladyjays
by ladyjays

I decided to try this tv based on the good reviews it received. It was on sale and we needed one for our bedroom. The first one came in and would have been nice except the port where the cable goes in wasn't working properly. It worked fine on DVD's and the picture quality seemed good but need it to work on all inputs. Returned it and ordered a replacement. Replacement came and it looked as if someone had dropped it on the ground. The glass was intact but the screen was damaged. No picture at all! Not trying again will go somewhere else.

Was this review helpful? (14) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ladyjays
Colorado
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
Poor quality control !!
1/18/2012

Customer review by Rusky101

1.0 stars 1/18/2012 by Rusky101
by Rusky101

I ordered this TV online and waited over a week for the arrival at the store on a Saturday. Set it up and found that the four HDMI inputs did not work !!! Bummer !!! E-mailed Tech support, no reply !!! Called the Tech center on Monday and they agreed that it was probably a bad board. I returned the TV to local Walmart, which was no problem !! Decided to take a refund because it would be a 50-50 chance that that the replacement would be defective !!! This makes me think twice about ordering a TV online due to quality control. I went to another store and bought a name brand in stock and had no problems.

Was this review helpful? (21) (12)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Rusky101
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Sceptre 42" Class LCD 1080P
5/7/2012

Customer review by TELLITLIKEITIS2010

5.0 stars 5/7/2012 by TELLITLIKEITIS2010
by TELLITLIKEITIS2010

Normally I don't write reviews but this time I will. We love the television. We had concerns since it wasn't a brand name - to us. I'm really impressed with the picture. I bet if the name was covered up and you were watching the tv you would never guess the brand. I thought we got a great buy. We're very happy. The picture (right out of the box) is as good as I've seen.

Was this review helpful? (11) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
TELLITLIKEITIS2010
Sumter, SC
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
best purchase ever
1/7/2012

Customer review by PatricD

5.0 stars 1/7/2012 by PatricD
by PatricD

I know you are probably like me and are thinking, "I'm not buying a Sceptre, what the heck is a Sceptre?" I spent 10 days during Christmas going through every possible web site to purchase a new TV for my bedroom (Best Buy, Target, Sears, etc.). I read at least 200 reviews and found this 42 In Sceptre, 1080. I'm really glad I purchased this TV. It sounds great, looks really nice, and for $350 it is a steal. I actually like it more than my Sony Bravia. Set up was really easy. My only issue was the silly energy saving sticker you have to peel off the bottom, I hate peeling off stickers. I also noticed that you have to push the remote buttons kind of hard, but you probably won't use that remote too often if you have cable or Dish. You will like this TV and don't worry about the name brand. Trust me, I spent so long researching every TV possible and it is really hard finding a 1080 TV this size at this price. Get the 2 year Wal-Mart warranty also and you total cost will be around $420. I hope this helps.

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
PatricD
Vegas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 474 total reviews
1-20 of 474 reviews