Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 46 reviews | 3.9 out of 5

4.0 stars

46 reviews | 3.9 out of 5

4.0 stars

46 reviews | 3.9 out of 5

82%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
17
4 stars
17
3 stars
5
2 stars
4
1 stars
3
1-20 of 45 total reviews
82%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 45 total reviews
1-20 of 45 reviews
Good product, must have most recent software, bad speaker design
12/29/2015

Customer review by An anonymous customer

4.0 stars 12/29/2015 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

Got this TV free from my mother, LOL she was throwing it away due to it constantly shutting off, and rebooting at random times. I brought it home installed the most recent software/firmware which as of this morning was version .334, She only had .308 running. Tv has been on all day, no problems whatsover. So if you are having the same problem. Be sure to try installing the most recent software. Directions on this sight. This seems to have fixed the problem. Great picture, only real negative I see is the speaker design. Why on earth would they put the speaker on the back, and facing backwards.... Easily fixed however with the addition of a fowardfacing soundbar and subwoofer

An anonymous customer
Cleveland, Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
It would be great if it works
5/4/2013

Customer review by Myhobby

1.0 stars 5/4/2013 by Myhobby
by Myhobby

I bought this unit to replace a 40in Samsung LCD located in my bedroom. Use it primarily for early and late news, some Netflix movies, simple stuff. I was impressed with the specs and the prospect of easy Net access, good picture quality and my first dissapointment was the difficut access to write anithing on the net apps, using the odd screen keyboard. No wireless standard keyboard is available even for purchase. More dissapointed with the intermittent unknown issues that force the unit to do a full reset every unknown amount of minutes. You are watching the netflix movie, or watching the news alert and puff!!! black screen shows and goes into a full restant out of nowhere. Needless to say that I upgraded the firmware to the latest version that supposedly fixes this random resets and NOTHING. Still resets itself. I do not know what else to do as it happens to many other users (watched a youtube from a dutch user that documented clearly the same problem) that suffer this "design flaw"? I have hard time recommending this unit to a friend, until I see Philips behind its products solving the annoying flaws.

Myhobby
Florida, USA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Male
Great size and value
6/5/2012

Customer review by skepticsam

5.0 stars 6/5/2012 by skepticsam
by skepticsam
Top 500 contributor

refresh rate gives it a clear pic with no motion blurs-great sound-easy set up-programing a snap-remote had features abound-my 32 inch was too small-this is like the movie screen in my house-customer support is knowledgeable-the 19 inch in my bedroom is several years old and still going strong-the newer ones will be higher-

Was this review helpful? (3) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
skepticsam
Yuma,Az
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Top 500 contributor
needs to be recalled and fixed
9/20/2013

Customer review by upsetinMaine

1.0 stars 9/20/2013 by upsetinMaine
by upsetinMaine

although it was easy to set up and get running right out of the box, we've had nothing but problems since two weeks into owning this tv that we purchase about 2 yrs ago. The tv shuts down all on it's own while you are watching it. It freezes non stop if you are using the Wi-Fi feature and our Wi-Fi router is sitting right beside the tv! We are unable to use the Netflix feature, which is the main reason we got this, as it takes way to long to load up anything and keeps freezing up on us. It take about 10 minutes just to shut off after hitting the power button. It then takes another 20 minutes to turn it back on if you are simply trying to reboot it to unfreeze it. We have been told over and over again that it's not the TV's fault, it's Netflix, yet Netflix runs just fine over the same router box, on a tv in another room that the signal has walls to go through when it won't work on this tv. Also the speakers are in the back of the tv so it's very hard to hear, unless you are the neighbors across the street cause the sounds going towards them and not you.We have gotten to the point that we've had it. We are thinking about tossing this tv and getting another one.

upsetinMaine
Patten, ME, USA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Female
good value
6/19/2012

Customer review by donthaveone

3.0 stars 6/19/2012 by donthaveone
by donthaveone

Overall I would recommend this television to others. For the money, it is a capable tv. I bought it for its cost to size, number of HDMI connections, and wi-fi capability. Although I bought it for the 4 HDMI connections, I ended up buying a Denon receiver to get better sound quality while watching movies (a flat panel can only do so much) and I now run everything through that and only use 1 HDMI. Picture quality has been good to great for the most part. TV shows and movies have been excellent. Golf, baseball, and auto racing have been great but soccer has been below average to average. Can't figure out why. Although I tested the wi-fi, and it was acceptable, I went with plugging the tv into the wireless router do to my living room setup. NetTV picture quality was average to good but I prefer the better picture quality of the PS3 for Netflix and access to Hulu Plus. Vudu looked just as good through the Philips as it does with the PS3 though. I tested the internet music and video clip selections but nothing appealed to me. Just hope that Philips supports and/or allows others to come up with improvements to the internet viewing options in the future. MediaConnect is an interesting feature and I plan on using it more in the future.

donthaveone
New York metropolitan area, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Great product
9/24/2012

Customer review by jtown

5.0 stars 9/24/2012 by jtown
by jtown

I'm very pleased with this TV and highly recommend it. The internet apps are nice and work well. The picture is great. There is great value with this product. The wireless was a little difficult to set up at first. Perhaps it was my network. It's been working fine now that it is set up. MediaConnect wasn't working at all at first. I think it started working after I did an update with the TV. There's a bit of a delay from computer to TV, so don't expect to use the the TV like a monitor using MediaConnect. You can buy a VGA cable and it works great that way. I'm also disappointed with the audio out options. It only has coaxial digital audio out. Not a very common option with speakers.

jtown
Greensburg, PA 15601, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Awesome TV
9/1/2012

Customer review by wedgekev1

5.0 stars 9/1/2012 by wedgekev1
by wedgekev1

I absolutely luv my new Phillips . The picture absolutely rocks . Smart TV is friggin great , luv the ability to stream movies . The TV coming outta the box was easy to set up . The user menu is very user friendly . My only complaint was I purchased a sound bar with my TV . upon set up of sound bar I discovered that it blocked the signal of the remote . Had to return sound bar . But I discovered that I didn't really need the sound bar , because the speakers on TV are really good . All in all I am pretty impressed with myself for picking this TV . Hurray for me .

wedgekev1
North Highlands, CA, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Great Picture and sound at a great price
6/22/2012

Customer review by captain11

5.0 stars 6/22/2012 by captain11
by captain11

This TV I would consider to be above average in both picture and sound. It replaced a more expensive SONY and outperforms it hands down. The online manual is quite comprehensive. The only problem has been the need to occasionally unplug and plugin an HDMI cable to get Netflix to function from my ROKU box. I have not used all the functions that the TV has to offer. Other than the ROKU glitch the TV has been perfect. I had no problems getting the satellite control to program with this TV. I would recommend this TV as a great buy.

captain11
Scituate, MA, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Sharp Picture, good sound
6/16/2012

Customer review by watchalot

5.0 stars 6/16/2012 by watchalot
by watchalot

Maybe because we had a projection TV, but the picture quality is much better than expected. The colors are crisp and true, and all the on-screen adjustments make any changes easy to do. We don't have any additional sound equipment, but the sound from the Phillips can be adjusted to fill our fairly large viewing area. I don't know why it takes so long to display the picture. It seems to go through many internal procedures before any picture is presented on the screen. All in all, the Phillips TV has been a great investment.

watchalot
Southern Kentucky
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
great product
6/17/2012

Customer review by hambone38

4.0 stars 6/17/2012 by hambone38
by hambone38

I have a Philips LCD TV for three months now, and overall I am happy with it. Great picture, great sound level and a nice design. The only issue I have is with the media connect function. Using the media connect function is not that great, because when yo use this function, there is a noticeable lag between the TV and the computer. It is better to just hook up the computer to the TV using a HDMI cable, but overall it is a great product.

hambone38
Four Oaks, NC 27524, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Product Wi-Fi Media Connect software does not work.
6/17/2012

Customer review by review

4.0 stars 6/17/2012 by review
by review

Purchased this TV to use the Wi-Fi Media Connect feature for slide shows. Tried installing the software on four different computers, it would only work for a short period on one computer. Three computers run Windows 7 64 and did not work or find the TV. The computer that ran XP did work sometimes but even though the computer was right next to the TV the signal strength was weak and repeatedly disconnected after a few pictures.

review
Somerset, MA, USA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Male
Ghosting of sport images
8/5/2012

Customer review by GregH

3.0 stars 8/5/2012 by GregH
by GregH

Not impressed with the quality of sports/actions images. While watching live action sports (football, golf, baseball, etc.) the images are not crisp; for instance golf balls and footballs in flight are shown as multiple balls instead of a single crisp image when in 1080i. I'm hopeful that this can be improved by software updates as I have not found a config setting to make the improvement.

GregH
Hollywood, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
We love it
6/17/2012

Customer review by Plwzrd

5.0 stars 6/17/2012 by Plwzrd
by Plwzrd

This is the 4th lcd flat panel. The 1st Phillips. Can't say enough good things. The high def is crystal clear. Put a blu ray in a media pc I just finished. The 1080 satelite is great. The bluray is spectacular. The software update process worked 1st try. Very painless and it improved the built in wifi immediately. Priced very reasonably and delivery to boot at my door in about 6 days.

Plwzrd
33993
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Excellent Purchase
7/15/2012

Customer review by Peachteach

5.0 stars 7/15/2012 by Peachteach
by Peachteach

Great purchase! The television is very easy to set up, and the image and sound are outstanding. We have enjoyed the TV for six months now, and the only complaint is that I cannot access the video options on the net (Netflix, etc.) It starts to load and then just disappears. I have not yet contacted customer service, so I don't know how they will respond.

Peachteach
Colbert, GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great picture
6/17/2012

Customer review by superpop

4.0 stars 6/17/2012 by superpop
by superpop

Very good clear picture with great color enhancement . Difficult and complicated to set up for older person like myself. I still have not been able to set up my network with my computor. Also would have liked to have more connections to plug in vcr,dvd,pc,camcorder,extra surround sound speakers etc. with easier access to reach and better instructions.

superpop
Trussville, AL, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Good features, average picture
10/19/2011

Customer review by Brian1974

2.0 stars 10/19/2011 by Brian1974
by Brian1974

This model has great connectivity to all the apps thru its wireless capabilities. However, a problem with the picture takes off from the overall rating. When viewing from slightly off-center, the color fades rapidly. This is a problem in a wide family room when the furniture cannot always be directly in front of the set.

Brian1974
Cookeville, TN, USA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Male
great picture but cann't connect to my wireless network
6/19/2012

Customer review by Dreamweev

4.0 stars 6/19/2012 by Dreamweev
by Dreamweev

the picture is great sound not so much but hooked it up to a receiver and speakers . but cann't figure out why it will not connect to my comcast wireless network so netflix and remote computer deal doesn't work had to do netflix through the wii. if i could hook it into the internet i would be really happy with it

Dreamweev
Grand Rapids, MI, USA
Gender:Male
Great picture...sound could be better
6/17/2012

Customer review by An anonymous customer

4.0 stars 6/17/2012 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

Fantastic picture quality. The built-in speakers have almost not bass and too much high and mid range. Ended up driving my dvr through the home stereo speakers. Sound is acceptable for my Wii. Also the buttons on the remote a touchy. When I click one, the TV acts as if I press the same button multiple times.

An anonymous customer
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
We are very satisfied with our 46" Philips television
6/17/2012

Customer review by Marshall007

5.0 stars 6/17/2012 by Marshall007
by Marshall007

The picture on our 46" Philips television is excellent, especially with the HD channels or HD movies. The TV channels not in HD would only be average on most televisions. At first, we did not like the sound quality on our TV but after several attemps to adjust the sound, we are now happy with it.

Marshall007
Hanover, Maryland
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
OK Overall
6/17/2012

Customer review by cpaulette

3.0 stars 6/17/2012 by cpaulette
by cpaulette

Looks, picture, sound are all good. The short comings I find: You must have your router very close in order to take advantage of the internet.....,..so I can't. And for some reason it takes a while to come on after hitting the power button. Other than these two problems TV is a go!

cpaulette
Navarre, FL, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
1-20 of 45 total reviews
1-20 of 45 reviews