Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 64 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

4.5 stars

64 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

4.5 stars

64 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

89%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
43
4 stars
13
3 stars
4
2 stars
4
1 stars
0
1-20 of 58 total reviews
89%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 58 total reviews
1-20 of 58 reviews
What a TV!!!
12/13/2011

Customer review by jsr2292

5.0 stars 12/13/2011 by jsr2292
by jsr2292

I purchased this unit on sale at Walmart. I was shopping for LCD TV's for a while...took a TON of time to research everything from reliability to picture quality. It came down to the usual suspects in terms of picture quality (Samsung/LG/Sony/Toshiba and a couple of others...and Philips). I looked at them all at Best Buy, Walmart and other stores just to make sure there was consistency. The picture is absolutely excellent. I really can't say enough about it (and I'm not just saying it because I made the purchase!) Many people tout the Samsung units (and they are excellent); however this Philips TV is every bit as vivid and has the same level of quality. (Keep in mind; I was comparing apples to apples in terms of screen size, refresh rate...etc..) Value? Well I got it on sale and the price was HUNDREDS better than some of the other units. The features are perfect and the sound quality is great for an LCD TV. I don't think ANY LCD TV has "Excellent" sound quality; which is why I rated it good; but I hooked it to my sound system for those times when I want to create a true theatre experience (like watching the Lord of the Rings trilogy-LOOKS AMAZING ON THIS SET!!!) I'm very pleased with the value...but also impressed with the quality of this unit. Save your money and buy this one; maybe take the money you saved and buy some accessories!

Was this review helpful? (76) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
jsr2292
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Good TV for price. Some hot spots on screne, but not bad.
6/17/2012

Customer review by animator

4.0 stars 6/17/2012 by animator
by animator

Pros: -Is hooked up with Netflix and Pandora integration. *awesome -Great picture clarity -Good speakers -Probably the most aesthetically pleasing tv out there (design wise) Cons: - While the picture is rich and sharp, the deeper/darker colors even on Blu ray movies are somewhat lost due to the low contrast ratio. - Hot spots. Slight glowing spots near the corners and upper middle-right of screen. Only really noticeable when screen is black or while watching a movie that is letter-boxed. - The only video formats this tv reads from a memory stick are: .mp4 or .avi. This is kind of awful because all of my video files are .mov and .mv4 or even .flv. Why the heck cant this thing read a quicktime file? Quicktime files are great and who's using .avi's anyway. I've been converting some of my files to .mp4 but that is an awful compressor that gives either super bad quality or a massive file size that takes forever to convert. Defeats the purpose of the seemingly convenient feature.

animator
Los Angeles, CA, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Right Router is key
2/12/2012

Customer review by dmillington

5.0 stars 2/12/2012 by dmillington
by dmillington

I love design price and picture of this product. My experience is however been distracted by the router I had...I had a Belkin 150 to start and it was great for our laptops at home but limited reception and constant stuter and reloadin made for horrible experience. I recognized issue and new it was not television, but router handling I upgraded to belkin n600 figuring increased bandwidth would satisfy problem. The problems then was connection kept getting dropped and it wasn't just one belkin router I tried three times. Solution NETGEAR!!!! I believe this brand is just more stable maybe a small amount more money, but SO worth it and it has dramatically impacted experience with this device. I think phillips should have this as a recommended product because obviously the compatibility is far superior than other devices. Enjoy again I love quality of this product and glad I can finally use features....oh side note if you have a mac and want to stream video vuze works perfect!!

dmillington
Orlando, FL, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Good TV for the price but......
1/31/2012

Customer review by Shalomusa

4.0 stars 1/31/2012 by Shalomusa
by Shalomusa

I purchased this Philips 40” TV in May this year. Walmart was excellent in delivery and price. No complains with the store. However I discover a flaw in in engineering of this product. It has surround sound and this was a feature that appealed to me. The problem is that all 4 speakers are in the back of the TV so if you hang it on the wall the sound is muffled. It hits the wall with very little energy to dissipate. I installed mine 16” from the wall on stand. I swiveled it to the left as to afford more space and the sound still comes out pretty lousy. So I decided to go buy external speakers.....Guess what it does not have sound output. With my Toshiba it was no problem. So if you can live with not so great sound, it is a good TV for the price.

Was this review helpful? (18) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Shalomusa
Baltimore,MD.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great TV
12/10/2011

Customer review by Sirafina

5.0 stars 12/10/2011 by Sirafina
by Sirafina

I bought the refurbished version of this TV and so far so good. It serves as the main television in the living room of an apartment. I'm really impressed with the sound quality compared to other LED/LCDs. There is an option called "Delta" volume that significantly increases the volume output. I don't think I will need to purchase a surround sound system. The picture quality with an HDMI cable connected to my HDTV cable box is excellent. I did months of research before purchasing a TV. I am really happy with my decision to buy this Philips TV!!!

Was this review helpful? (17) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Sirafina
Baltimore, MD
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Good but not as expected.
2/11/2012

Customer review by SRSden

3.0 stars 2/11/2012 by SRSden
by SRSden

I bought it as it was advertised to be a 120 Hz TV and had everything I wanted. But found it to be 60 Hz so had to send it back. Walmart was excellent in helping with the return and got it picked up. I did give it a try and found the TV is built well as far as audio/video quality is concerned. Connecting to net through wired or wireless was a breeze. But the apps are quite limited and strangely you dont see a volume bar in Netflix videos. Another big turn-off for me was buggy subtitle support for Netflix. The subtitles when enabled will play for a while and then disappear. The remote looks great but feels heavy on the top which is not so comfortable. And the round button on the top is not soft and hence clicks with every press which feels like typewriter key. Mediaconnect is really cool but worked well on wired connection only for me. If you are looking for a 60Hz tv and ok with these few shortcomings, it is a good value for money.

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
SRSden
SJ, CA
Would recommend to a friend? No
More than expected it to be
6/27/2012

Customer review by Ron43

4.0 stars 6/27/2012 by Ron43
by Ron43

This TV replaced an old Phillips tube unit that had worked well for 10 years. I needed a TV with multiple inputs for DVD player and Wii as well as an output for my audio system. Most low end units did not have the inputs/outputs I needed. This one did, sort of. My audio system used an S-video connection which this TV did not have but, with some research, I was able to find an adapter that made it work. When I bought it, I was not aware that this TV would connect to my wireless network. It does but not well. I bought a signal booster that helped but my Wii connects easier, faster and more reliably. It's good that I don't plan to use it to access the internet. However, my laptop computer plays through it quite nicely so I can connect to the internet that way, if necessary. I don't know if it's the many features or my advanced years but this is not as intuitive to use as I would like. All in all, I'm very pleased with this TV and would recommend it to anybody.

Ron43
Northeast Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
1/19/2012

Customer review by Peetee

5.0 stars 1/19/2012 by Peetee
by Peetee

Purchased online with ship to store option. I was able to track the shipment. It arrived at the Walmart store within the time frame stated on my order comfirmation. Once I had the television out of the box it was easy to instal the stand. The setup took about ten minuetes including the internet connection. I did shop around but Walmart price was the best, I check five stores in the area Walmart had the lowest price.

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Peetee
Payson AZ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Good design but bad engineering
4/22/2016

Customer review by SevInMN

3.0 stars 4/22/2016 by SevInMN
by SevInMN

This TV is good overall but the little things going wrong are really annoying. The remote is terrible. You need to be right in front of the TV for it to work. If you're slightly to the side, it won't work. The response time for the remote is also very slow. It takes around 2 seconds from when you press a button to the action on the TV. And after a couple years owning this TV, the lack of updates is annoying. Netflix has different users now for the same account. They don't show up. And don't try to select a specific episode from a specific season. It's impossible. If you want to select season 3, the cursor will move to season 4. No matter how patient and slow you are, it doesn't work.

SevInMN
Would recommend to a friend? No
Everything you could want in a bedroom TV
9/5/2011

Customer review by GiantsYankees

5.0 stars 9/5/2011 by GiantsYankees
by GiantsYankees

This TV has everything I could want, especially the internet access and ability to get movies from Netflix or VUDU. It was very easy to set up, has an easy to understand remote, and a really great picture. I shopped around and WalMart had the best price.

Was this review helpful? (23) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
GiantsYankees
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
LED is NICE!!!
1/12/2012

Customer review by JKGinWA

5.0 stars 1/12/2012 by JKGinWA
by JKGinWA

I shopped in-store at Wal-Mart and they only had a couple LED tv's and they were quite expensive, I read revues all over the web and LED #1 uses the least amount of energy #2 has a better picture than plasma or LCD because you get black'er blacks. I got the special internet pricing n this so I was stoked , it was also larger than the in store ones, had it a month now picture is sweet with HDMI , xbox 360 , I definitely chose wisely!

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
JKGinWA
Centralia,Wa
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
3/14/2012

Customer review by gsdcal

5.0 stars 3/14/2012 by gsdcal
by gsdcal

Well I might as well tell everyone what a great buy this tv is. I have had it a week now and have had no problems. Hooked up wifi no problem, and that is with WEP encription ability, which some vizios' don't even offer in there wifi tvs'. I hear people complain about sound all the time. Panel tvs don't really have good sound compared to the older tvs'. This model has great sound. no problem getting loud, and it does have an equalizer for custom sound. Make sure you check out the inputs and outputs on what ever model you choose so you won't be suprized when you go to hook up something. I see excellent color using the HDMI cable with cable box. I havean't played a blue ray disc yet. I don't see any bad side of buying a 60hz compared to the 120hz. In fact the 120hz model of this t gets bad reviews. I actually bought this 40 inch because it has a small bezel which makes the tv fit in a smaller space. The wifimediaconnect works. Netflix works great and doesn't keep loading like someone was complaining about. That must be the persons internet connection. I can't think of anything else to write about

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
gsdcal
san diego,ca
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Fantastic TV
2/22/2012

Customer review by Oshunslilly

3.0 stars 2/22/2012 by Oshunslilly
by Oshunslilly

Although I am not tech savvy, I will first mention that I always prefer and look to buy the latest tech products with the latest software in the market (at the time) and I tend critique everything; so, I read all the reviews for this TV before eventually purchasing it. I was on a budget of $600 for at TV and despite some doubts when deciding on whether to buy it; this TV is worth it and I am glad I bought it. Overall, I came across the same obstacles as what some have mentioned: Slow response of buttons when changing or adjusting something on the NET TV. That will really be annoying if you are not patient. I am patient, so that didn’t break me. The sound quality could be better, because I have heard better from other TVs, but I am in a one bedroom 750 square foot apartment so the sound is appropriate for my space or a small space. The highest volume level I have had it up to is thirty-five out of a hundred. So my additional guess is that some people who complained about the sound wanted a surround sound feeling? Because going higher than 35, I feel like you are risking your eardrums. Perhaps some other things will come up later, since I have only owned this for 6 days as of this review, but nothing to say this TV isn’t great! This TV is a great bargain: Although Philips isn’t up there with Sony or LG, it is at least a brand you can rely on better than Coby, Scheptre and Westinghouse. There are brands priced cheap for a reason. This Philips is probably priced cheap for some reason, but it's coming from a trustworthy brand, where you know you are less likely to get serious issues with your TV. I eventually chose to buy this TV with the expectation that Philips at least attempts to provide quality and lasting products. Taking from that, this TV is priced at a deal price for an LED internet TV with built in WIFI...The others are in the 700-2000 dollar price range even at Wal-Mart, Don’t even think you can get a TV like this at Best Buy or HHGregg, I even tried eBay and a TV like this one at this price is likely to be a refurbished one even on eBay. And again taking from fact that LED TVs have a distinct difference in how images are projected regardless of the lighting in your room; like I said, I have a one bedroom apartment, so this TV is in my living room, that is always lit up by the light coming from my balcony and usually glares on and obstructs TV screens, but that hasn’t been a problem when watching with this TV during the day. Finally, there are TVs out there that claim to be Wi-Fi/internet ready TVs but are really NOT. What is said here is exactly it. This TV is easy to set up and is WIFI ready. Although I do not know VUDU or reviewed any of the other web applications on this and I only use Netflix, Facebook and Pandora; you’ve already got them built into your TV at no extra expense of buying an apple TV etc. Then on top of that, it’s got at least 4 HDMI inlets back there, I didn’t really count, but the more the better to give this TV multiple uses and functions. Although some may not be completely convinced; the drive to purchase this TV is the updated and extensive components you are getting, the assurance of the company's effort to provide a good product, at a really good price. So if you're on a budget, this is a great TV. If you are more into the special functions, hi-technology etc., 100% guarantee of quality then just go for a Sony, they are the best at that, otherwise there is no need to go anywhere else.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Oshunslilly
Philadelphia, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
2/23/2012

Customer review by Jack512

4.0 stars 2/23/2012 by Jack512
by Jack512

Let me start by saying this is a great TV. Awsome picture quality, some other reviews complained about the sound. I find it acceptable, nothing to complain about. It looks great, easy to mount, lots of ports in easily accessable spots. The WiFi works just fine right out of the box it picked up my signal connected to the internet and Netflix worked right away. Now heres my problem, right in the product description it says "Wirelessly connect a MAC". THIS IS NOT THE CASE! In the instuction book it say not compatable with a MAC. So I went right to the Philips web site looked up the TV and the same thing "Wirelessly connect to a MAC". OK so I call Philips and let them know about the problem after some beating around the bush by the first person I spoke with I asked for a supervisor. He found exactly what I was talking about on the Philips web site and asked what I wanted him to do. I told him I specificaly bought this TV for my Mac and I would now have to go out and buy an Apple TV device for and extra $100. He said he would have to go higher to see if he could help me. He called me back the next day and said "Corprate" said theres nothing they could do and return the TV if I wanted. Nothing they could do?! Return the TV?! Yeah I have nothing better to do then take this TV off my wall try to fit it back in the box and return it. Real nice. So anyway I guess my gripe is with Philips and not the TV. Hope this helps. BEWARE MAC USERS !!!!!

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Jack512
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
A disappointment
8/28/2011

Customer review by Chigie

2.0 stars 8/28/2011 by Chigie
by Chigie

I either misunderstood or was misled by the manufacturers comments about this TV. My intent was to utilize the TV with the internet as much as possible to access TV programming. The so called "wi-fi out of the box" comment was true on a limited basis. The only wi-fi you could get was the preprogrammed stuff put there, for a price I'm sure, by Philips. One of their techs told me I could neither add nor detract any wi-fi programming. The Phillips technology installed in this machine instead of an 802.11 was sorely disappointing and may have been the root of all my disappointment. It was necessary to go to the Philips web site to download some software to make it all go and it just never went. Picture and sound were supposed to transist from the PC to the TV sequentially, first the picture then the sound over a longer period of time. The picture transition was tolerable but the sound usually did not make it. Then suddenly many minutes later, the sound would blare out from the TV speakers. Overall sound quality from the speakers was not good. Customer support was also disappointing. I got a guy named "Jerome" did not appear to be knowledgeable...sorry for all the negativity...bummer deal.. Walmart, however, was stellar as usual in handling the process..

Was this review helpful? (16) (26)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Chigie
Would recommend to a friend? No
1/9/2012

Customer review by pamkelly

5.0 stars 1/9/2012 by pamkelly
by pamkelly

I love this tv, because it's new and pretty and hi-tech and everything. It was so simple to set up and program. But, I still love my big old tv with my ROKU box better. The ROKU offers SO many more options for internet channel streaming. Too late, I already gave my brother and his wife and kids my old tv and ROKU, plus bought them a year of NETFLIX. They love it!! I do like the ease of watching NETFLIX on my Philips better than thru ROKU because on the Philips I can watch tv or Netflix with the same remote. With ROKU, I had to use two remotes. I did study a bunch of other tv's before buying the Philips. Philips rose to the top of my list. Overall I'm very happy with it. :D

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
pamkelly
englewood, ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
This is a 60 Hz TV not 120 Hz as advertised.
12/22/2011

Customer review by VKFL

2.0 stars 12/22/2011 by VKFL
by VKFL

I ordered this TV for Christmas and to my dismay it turned out to be a 60 Hz TV not 120 Hz as advertised. I contacted Walmart.com customer service and they were very helpful and scheduled a pickup date and refunded my money. Only problem is that now I have to do my research all over again to try and find another TV with similar features. However, if you do not mind the 60 Hz refresh rate, then this TV is a good buy.

Was this review helpful? (16) (21)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
VKFL
Would recommend to a friend? No
So far it is what I expected
2/20/2012

Customer review by Jaddy

4.0 stars 2/20/2012 by Jaddy
by Jaddy

I bought this about a month ago and love the TV, however it is not perfect. Imperfections first... As of all flat screens, the sound is not great. I bought the Philips Home Theater(least expensive one on this site) and now the sound is great. Secondly, there are some areas in the corners where light shows through the blackness more so than other areas, but only on a completely black screen. Third, there is no swivel on the stand, or maybe I haven't figured it out. And lastly, my Harmony 650 is not working well with it. Here is what's good. The picture is great with a great feed. BluRays look fantastic. Connectivity was easy right out of the box. Netflix and the feature where you can transmit your computer screen to the Tv both work great. And finally, the price was great. I expected a good tv that can have a great picture and that is what I got.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Jaddy
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
12/23/2011

Customer review by bbbbbbjjjjjjjj

3.0 stars 12/23/2011 by bbbbbbjjjjjjjj
by bbbbbbjjjjjjjj

Wal-mart has made an error in listing this TV as 120 Hz. Look up the product specifications for this model number on the Phillips website, and you will see that it has a refresh rate of 60 Hz.

Was this review helpful? (5) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
bbbbbbjjjjjjjj
Would recommend to a friend? No
marie789
3/14/2012

Customer review by mary467

4.0 stars 3/14/2012 by mary467
by mary467

So far so good. The only thing that we aren't really happy with is the sound. I guess we shouldn't have expected much though considering this was one of the cheaper LED tvs for it's size, and the speakers are in the back. I'd recommend buying a sound system to go with this if you can.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
mary467
newark, NJ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 58 total reviews
1-20 of 58 reviews