Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 155 reviews | 3 out of 5

3.0 stars

155 reviews | 3 out of 5

3.0 stars

155 reviews | 3 out of 5

61%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
38
4 stars
43
3 stars
14
2 stars
8
1 stars
52
1-20 of 123 total reviews
61%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 123 total reviews
1-20 of 123 reviews
Good for the money
6/3/2012

Customer review by Alandee51

3.0 stars 6/3/2012 by Alandee51
by Alandee51

At 34.98 I did not expect much. Since I hardly ever go anywhere that I need a GPS it has not been something I considered a priority unless I could find one dirt cheap. Definitely not a high end unit but it does seem to lock onto the satellite pretty quick. I am still getting use to how to use it and since I'm not electronics literate I figured one made for dummies was appropriate. I have only set a couple destination routes thus far. Seems to get hung up sometimes when running through the menu. This very well is due to my error and lack of knowledge. The only way I have been able to reset it is shut it down and start over. Once I finally get it on my route it works great. The speed limit warning is not accurate with posted speed limits and is just a nuisance. Just leave it off. All in all it's worth the $35.00 bucks I paid for it.

Was this review helpful? (130) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Alandee51
Tennessee
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
This works SWEET!
6/13/2012

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 6/13/2012 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

I wasn't expecting ANYTHING special from this for a mere 35.00! Boy was I pleasently suprised! It's sooooo easy to use and the size is perfect. Has compass, speed. speed alerts, 2d, 3d maps, walking mode, and so much more. Really.....why pay more?

Was this review helpful? (95) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
Wisconsin....
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
6/14/2012

Customer review by lilchiefy

4.0 stars 6/14/2012 by lilchiefy
by lilchiefy

A great navigation for a beginner, easy to read and understand.

Was this review helpful? (53) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
lilchiefy
Cresco, Pa.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Not as advertised
6/10/2012

Customer review by GeeGadwa

1.0 stars 6/10/2012 by GeeGadwa
by GeeGadwa

My problem was reading the technical information and believing it. It stated that it would be easy to update, and that I could also get international maps, all which were false. I had a vacation planned to Canada, was hoping to try out the GPS but unfortuantely I was not able to update or purchase any maps, support for the product conssisted of a dead link and no tech support.

Was this review helpful? (56) (15)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
GeeGadwa
USA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per week
It does more than I thought it would.
6/18/2012

Customer review by teresa1963

5.0 stars 6/18/2012 by teresa1963
by teresa1963

For 35$ this is a great little GPS. The screen is smaller than most GPS, but it is clear and bright and works just fine. One of my concerns was if it had turn by turn text, and it does..which I love so you can read and check where it wants to send you. Just go to manage route It also has an 'avoid' button if you do not want to go on a certain road/street. I think it does everything I need it to do. The maps are from 2009, so I know it may not always have the newest roads, but for the basic needs I have it will work just fine. I bought my sister one also and she has enjoyed it. It did have a glich it told us to turn left on EAST when it should of said left on WEST once, but we figured it out and went on our way just fine. We also have to laugh how it pronounces some names, for example Des Moines, Iowa is pronounced with the S's which is not the correct way to say them, but does not effect the directions..just made us laugh. It is a great basic GPS, and comes with the cords, and the brackets to mount it to your window, or dash. Also you can not pick your voice, I know the Tom Tom we had we could go online and pick all kinds of fun voices..this just comes with one..so, it is does not have many bells and whistles, but it will get you where you are going.

Was this review helpful? (26) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
teresa1963
Iowa
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
Another Super Value From Walmart
8/7/2012

Customer review by VeteranUSAF

5.0 stars 8/7/2012 by VeteranUSAF
by VeteranUSAF

I wanted a GPS to find places. I always seem to get lost on my own or from AAA directions. It was on sale for $34.95. You can't beat that. I was surprised how easy it was to learn to use. In a short time it was operating and sending me on my way to my destination. It talked to me move by move making it very easy. It even showed me a short cut I didn't know about. I am very happy with this product. It came with all the accessories I needed for mounting and operating. I found a couple things annoying, but nothing to complain about. I also recommend buying the extended warranty against droppage & breakage etc for only $4.00 more. Once again, I'm a happy Walmart customer!

Was this review helpful? (16) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
VeteranUSAF
Schenectady, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Don't buy!!! Map is too old.
7/24/2012

Customer review by linzzzz

1.0 stars 7/24/2012 by linzzzz
by linzzzz

I like the way the GPS works and sounds. Everything was great until I checked the date of the map. I purchased in July 2012 and the map installed is 2009. I called the toll free number and left a message--NO RESPONSE. I made contact online-- NO RESPONSE! Don't waste your time. Buy a GPS with free lifetime maps. The new GPS for Dummies is a good price but useless with old maps.

Was this review helpful? (14) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
linzzzz
Waynesboro, PA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Product is discontinued
6/21/2012

Customer review by DisappointedInWisconsin

1.0 stars 6/21/2012 by DisappointedInWisconsin
by DisappointedInWisconsin

I bought this as a present for my husband for Father's Day. We took and it out of the box and it didn't work. I called the GPS company and they stated that this product has been discontinued and that we would have to return it to Walmart for a refund. This was a complete waste of my time and it would have been nice to know that this was discontinued before I even ordered it because I would have ordered something else instead.

Was this review helpful? (15) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
DisappointedInWisconsin
Wisconsin
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
For the money-GREAT Deal!
6/28/2012

Customer review by Steviebeef

5.0 stars 6/28/2012 by Steviebeef
by Steviebeef

With shipping to my house I paid about $37 which is amazing considering that it works just as well as my $ 400, Magellan of 6 years ago. There are limitations, it has a small screen which gets tough to see at an angle, and the menu is a bit awkward to work with. The trick is not to take this out, plug it in and go for a cross country ride, because you'll be disappointed. Instead, go to the car, plug it in, let it charge the battery, and then plod through the menu and set your features up. The non-changeable Lithium Battery is so-so, don't bet your life on it. but plugged in it works great. While it is very potable, it's so cheap I've gotten another one for a second car. How anybody made money on this is beyond me, twice the price would still be a deal.

Was this review helpful? (11) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Steviebeef
Atlanta, Ga.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
better then i thought it was going to be
8/1/2012

Customer review by banditsdaddy

4.0 stars 8/1/2012 by banditsdaddy
by banditsdaddy

it is my frist gps. so i compared it to my friends and it is just as good as theres that cost much more. easy to use and i have bought more for my family members, my 75 year old father has no problem useing it.

Was this review helpful? (10) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
banditsdaddy
el dorado springs, mo
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
GPS Navigation for Dummies
7/1/2012

Customer review by fergiewinelover

5.0 stars 7/1/2012 by fergiewinelover
by fergiewinelover

I have had the 1st version of this model and a Garmin in between, this is far better than both as it anounces the street names as the last two I had did not. For this price it is amazing. Worth Every dollar. Had it ship site to store and had it in two days!!! Good BUy!

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
fergiewinelover
Owings Mills, MD
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great Product.
7/31/2012

Customer review by Superslime

5.0 stars 7/31/2012 by Superslime
by Superslime

I have owned several New Gps'es in the past and none can compare to this one hands down!!! Easy to set up and operate! I just returned from a road trip to upper Ohio and it went way over my expectations!

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Superslime
Tennessee
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
6/16/2012

Customer review by robet

4.0 stars 6/16/2012 by robet
by robet

Works great. screen is a bit small but a great value.

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
robet
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Could not return it fast enough
7/19/2012

Customer review by DarthSlacker

1.0 stars 7/19/2012 by DarthSlacker
by DarthSlacker

This GPS unit is truly a case of "you get what you pay for". The user interface is very lacking, and exceedingly annoying. On initially trying it out, it took a very long time to acquire its location, and was not very accurate. There was no real way to get information on local points of interest or dynamically search for locations you might need in a timely fashion. Spend a little more and get a different unit with better capabilities.

Was this review helpful? (7) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
DarthSlacker
Houston, TX
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
6/28/2012

Customer review by upray

5.0 stars 6/28/2012 by upray
by upray

This item was purchased for my granddaughter as a graduation present. She loves it.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
upray
Winston Salem,N.C.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
Dont waste your money on this product.
7/24/2012

Customer review by hunterchickrules

1.0 stars 7/24/2012 by hunterchickrules
by hunterchickrules

What a cheap product. I returned it the same day I bought it. The item did not recognize roads even in my hometown. It took over 2 hours to find the sattelite. Invest a few more dollars and get a different unit that actually works.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
hunterchickrules
Madrid, NY
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
DO NOT BUY FROM MAYLONG PRODUCTS!
9/10/2012

Customer review by An anonymous customer

1.0 stars 9/10/2012 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

When I received this product, the screen would turn on but nothing would happen. I am currently in a war with their customer service because they refuse to acknowledge the products warranty. The woman actually had the audacity to tell me that the warranty was only valid from the time the product was made, not from when it was purchased. She told me that Walmart had no business selling such an old product (even though Amazon carries this exact same model as well) and that Maylong will not honor any warranty on a product more than a few years old. I am being forced to use my product replacement plan through Walmart to get a refund because Maylong will not take any responsibility for the faultiness of its products. Every time I have called back I have been either hung up on or sent to voicemail. Please be aware that if you buy from Maylong products they will be as honest as a politician in doing everything they can to keep from fulfilling their legal agreements.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
Vernon, CT
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
You'll get there.......eventually
7/18/2012

Customer review by brainsmasher

2.0 stars 7/18/2012 by brainsmasher
by brainsmasher

For the price you can't beat it. It works similar to other GPS units I have owned or used. I used it in the Dallas/Forth area. There is a lot of construction going on. I think this unit chose the longest possible route to each destination. Several times I had to reprogram the unit before I reached my destination. Several times I ignored the prompts from the unit when signs were pointing me in a different direction. The unit would recalculate and then guide me the rest of the way.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
brainsmasher
wichita,ks
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
cheaply made
7/6/2012

Customer review by wolves11

1.0 stars 7/6/2012 by wolves11
by wolves11

I see now why this GPS is so much cheaper than anything else on the market. part that plugs into car power point was broken off, ( plastic ) returned it the same day. This was the second item I had purchased from walmart.com, in a week, and had to return both.

Was this review helpful? (6) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
wolves11
Fort Myers FL
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
Maps 3yrs old
9/27/2012

Customer review by doggie87544

1.0 stars 9/27/2012 by doggie87544
by doggie87544

Beware that the maps are from 2009 and when you call tech support they say they don't know when new maps will be available and they will cost $35. Doesn't matter when you bought unit. "that's why we sell them so cheap !"

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
doggie87544
Santa Fe, NM
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
1-20 of 123 total reviews
1-20 of 123 reviews