Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 4349 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

4.0 stars

4349 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

4.0 stars

4349 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

88%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
2486
4 stars
1214
3 stars
194
2 stars
134
1 stars
321
1-20 of 3851 total reviews
88%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 3851 total reviews
1-20 of 3851 reviews
Better Than Expected
10/28/2011

Customer review by LRPhotographer

4.0 stars 10/28/2011 by LRPhotographer
by LRPhotographer

For what I paid for this, I didn't expect it to be quite as good as it actually is. Yes, there're better 40" 1080p LCD TV's out there, but when they cost more than twice as much for only a slightly better picture and sound, it's hard to justify opting for those over this one. The picture is still plenty clear, bright, and contrasty, without being so much so that highlights are blown out and shadows are blocked up, with very little in between. You just have to be patient in manually changing the image settings. I found that a brightness of 75, contrast of 50, and a color saturation of 25 with the tint left dead-center produces the best results, no matter the material being viewed. As for the sound, folks have complained that it's prone to getting really loud, then really quiet, without warning and seemingly without reason. This is caused by the auto volume leveling software in the TV. It's really quite terribly implemented. Turn off AVL/AVS, and this problem should go away. One of the really cool things about this TV, besides the huge array of input options, is that it has a 3.5mm headphone jack on the back of the TV. This will allow you to use computer speakers for external audio, if you'd like to go that route and save some money on what you'd otherwise pay for a sound bar, bookshelf system or full-blown HT system. You can get computer speakers that sound as good as if not better than a $250 sound bar for around $40. This is about the best bang-for-buck TV I've found anywhere, and even being the A/V aficionado I am, I have absolutely no problems recommending it. Again, for more than twice the price, you'll get only marginally better quality, but since the whole point of shopping at Walmart is to save money, why not go ahead and save a ton of it by getting this TV? You'll be extremely hard-pressed to find a better deal even here.

Was this review helpful? (2075) (257)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
LRPhotographer
Little Rock, AR
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Top 50 contributor
great value - good choice for external audio
5/30/2011

Customer review by whydoihavetoenteraname

5.0 stars 5/30/2011 by whydoihavetoenteraname
by whydoihavetoenteraname

Great picture. Default audio isn't the best, but it can be adjusted so that it's ok. If it lasts, it's an absolute homerun (I've never had a piece of no-name electronics fail, but I have had an expensive Sony TV fail the day after the warranty expired). I picked this TV because of the connections - particularly the audio. You can't tell from the useless Walmart web specs, but it has every meaningful kind of video input, and both digital and analog audio outputs. Digital audio outputs are missing from lots of the low-end TVs, and analog audio out is a nice touch that's hard to find anywhere. There's also computer sound/video inputs and a usable USB port. If you're willing to buy things sight-unseen, and aren't scared off by the lack of a major brand name, this TV is worthy of consideration.

Was this review helpful? (2040) (294)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
whydoihavetoenteraname
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Top 50 contributor
putting the quality question to rest!
2/18/2012

Customer review by reviewforyou001

5.0 stars 2/18/2012 by reviewforyou001
by reviewforyou001

Before I bought this 40” Sceptre LCD HDTV, I looked at many top brands. I own a Samsung. Then I read all the reviews on this Sceptre 40” TV. If you read reviews on any top name brands, you will see all the same complaints by the same small percentage of people. The main complaint on this TV, and on most big name brand Flat-panel TVs was the sound. I hope this sets the record straight … flat panel TV sets do not have the room for a decent speaker with a full base, they all sound thin. My old (1993) JVC 27” tube TV sounds far superior to any flat panel TV I have ever listened to; those old boxy TVs have room for big speakes. I am very tech savvy and have always had high-end surround sound systems that I have run my old tube TV sets through. This 40” Sceptre TV is as good, in every way, as the top name brands., and for the money it is a remarkable value. I paid $329, on sale. The picture is stunning, high contrast, very brilliant, good as any out there. I watched the super-bowl game and did not notice any movement blur during the game, and I was looking for it. Now for the kicker… I am only hooked up to an indoor amplified rabbit-ear antenna. If it is this good on rabbit-ears, then when the cable is in, it will be spectacular. Anyone who complains about the picture simply has something set up wrong. In the back, it has all the connections you will need including 4 HDMI connections. My Blue-Ray DVD player works great connected through the HDMI port. ABOUT THE SOUND! All flat panel TVs have poor speakers and the manufacturers know that most people who buy this size TV will buy a sound bar such as Visio’s bar, or run the set through their stereo system. I listened to the TV for two weeks before I got around to hooking it up to my surround-sound system with a powered sub-woofer. The TV’s own sound was average and quite acceptable for a plat-panel TV, but once it was hooked up to my old JVC surround sound amp., it blue the roof off, (in a good way). Sounds just like in a movie theater. The sound electronics built into this TV are superb. Again, anyone complaining simply has it set up wrong, and I suggest to everyone to take the time to read through the manual as I did. One feature I like is the sturdy swivel base. It is great when I go into the kitchen; I just turn it in that direction. It is also helpful when plugging in your cables. Many don’t swivel. Even though I bought this TV on line through Walmart, I bought three extra years warranty through Costco for just $29.99, which makes a total of 4 years. So if by chance anything does go wrong, which can happen with any company, I am well covered. Costco uses “SquareTrade” for their service plans. One last thing… I called the tech number twice with questions about hookups, and each time I called, people from the actual company in Culver City, Ca. answered the phone and were very friendly, knowledgeable, and helpful. They told me they buy top components, test for compatibility, and then assemble them just as most computers are made, today. I hope this review puts all the confusion to rest regarding the small percentage of conflicting reviews. I highly recommend this brand.

Was this review helpful? (284) (31)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
reviewforyou001
Los Angeles, Ca.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Sceptre TV Review
11/24/2011

Customer review by hghost

5.0 stars 11/24/2011 by hghost
by hghost

Fast shipping and no shipping fee was great.Purchased this Tv due to ratings.Easy assembly and hook up was a breeze. Picture is Awesome and while many seem to complain about audio this TV's audio is Great.Its loud and crisp and precise.It does have a slight buzz if turned up to loud.Have to set sound at low setting becuse of its output will blow your ears off ( so do not understand the negative remarks about its audio?# Has many options. USB port / TV Cable connection /VGA port for a PC #can use TV as a PC monitor / Audio in & out,Video,YPbPr#DVD players,Satellite,cable set top boxes that use component cables[green,blue,red,white,red AV] # connections / 4 HDMI ports / can also accept HDCP video device for video / SPDIF #surround sound receivers# / Headphone connection .ALL picture settings can be adjusted with ease,can also be adjusted for a PC monitor clarity. Sound can be adjusted to Surround,Analog,Digital,also has AVL a feature that adjusts volume from overly loud commercials. It has Equalizer settings you can adjust individually or as presets #user.off,rock ,pop,jazz# also Trusurround XT it enables SRS trusurround sound affects # if a channel or movie or programming has surround sound audio# also has Dialogue Clarity enhances human voice clarity on TV programs, and TruBass which enhances the Bass.Whether you have cable,antenna,Dish,or whatever this TV will allow TV Tuner channel search to gain access to those channels.It also is a HDTV for all those HD channels.#if you have HD service# It also has parental controls .install a password to not allow certian rated movies or shows to be seen without pass entered .Has closed captioning, with adjustable font size and in digital or analog type.No operations setting which allows the TV to be turned off automatically after 3 hours if no command has been given to the TV in that 3 hour span. The USB connection allows MP3 and picture display.A flashdrive can be used [up to 2GB] slideshow of pics effect. Music play mode,repeat and auto play which will play all music on flasdrive.The USB does not support USB hubs.USB flash drives supports FAT32 and FAT16 file system only.Biggest file size is 4 GB [FAT32] Picture functions only supports JPEG file baseline only[ progressive is not supported] All USB functions are operated by the TV Remote.The TV Screen Ratio can be set to Normal,Wide screen,Cinema,Zoom,Dot by Dot[PC settings] and Full 100%[this mode only available under antenna or cable while being fed a 1080i signal,it will show 100% of the screen without cropping#] Also has Favorite channel set up to just watch your favorites with one click operation. Can also hook up all game systems,Wii,PS3,PS2,Xbox and uses RED,YELLOW,WHITE AV cables for ease of play . Also has controls on side of TV such as on/off ,Volume up/down, channel up/down,Menu,source.Power, if you do not use the included Remote controller . The Hand held remote controller will allow you to set it to your cable or satellite provider.You will need to contact tech support for them to access the correct code for teh remote # I have a cable box and use its remote and I have the access codes that came with that unit and this TV 's code was in it and my cable remote works perfectly with this TV )Remote has Power button,FREEZE [ freezes the TV picture] SLEEP [sets sleep timer] MTS [ selects stereo,momo,or second audio programming] FAVORITE [favorite channel setting] ADD/DEL [ add /delete channels] 0-9 [sets channels] DASH#-# inserts dash for selecting digital channels] CH#+)CH(-)VOL(+)VOL(-) MUTE [mutes audio] SOUND [selects various presets] ASPECT [ selects different viewing modes of the TV] GUIDE [opens correct digital channels] ^<> all arrow buttons for selections . SOURCE [gives you list of port connections to switch to] MENU [opens/exits the TV Menu ] EXIT [exits TV Menu] TV [ changes source to TV tuner] USB [ launches USB reader function for pics and music] INFO [ shows TV info] Sceptre is a City of Industry, California based company.I have never heard of this brand, but now after seeing it in action, I will remember to check all products from this company in the future So far this TV is Great and with its low cost and Great workmanship it can not be beat in my book by any great name brand that costs hundreds more. A Great buy from Wal-Mart and did i mention Free shipping to my Home ? That made my choice alot easier.Thanks to those who reviewed this product and took the time to tell us about it.That and the price and free shipping helped me make up my mind to purchase this Great Sceptre product . And I am so Glad I did .

Was this review helpful? (739) (173)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
hghost
WV
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Top 500 contributor
Very Happy
5/29/2011

Customer review by TrainerGuy

5.0 stars 5/29/2011 by TrainerGuy
by TrainerGuy

I was skeptical about the unknown brand but so far I am very happy with it. Easy to set up. Great picture and great sound without surround sound.

Was this review helpful? (185) (29)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
TrainerGuy
Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great buy with little mone
4/20/2011

Customer review by ExcitedfromBoston

5.0 stars 4/20/2011 by ExcitedfromBoston
by ExcitedfromBoston

For the price this is an excellent choice, I just purchased and it was easy to assemble and hooks up easily to any kind of satellite or cable system. Make sure you have or purchase an HDMI cord...other than that it is a great buy still excited about my purchase and the picture quality is great....luv it!!!

Was this review helpful? (660) (150)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ExcitedfromBoston
Boston, MA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Top 1000 contributor
GREAT TV!!!
12/3/2013

Customer review by wallyworldshopper23

4.0 stars 12/3/2013 by wallyworldshopper23
by wallyworldshopper23

If you want a modern tv and don't need the built-in wi-fi, apps, or 3D abilities, then I HIGHLY recommend this tv. I am writing this after unboxing and testing both the 40" and 32" versions so know that I cannot yet speak to long-term performance. However, I am so impressed that I'm taking the time to share a review and perhaps answer questions you didn't know you have. THE BASICS: I think both the picture and sound are VERY good. It's lightweight and easy to setup. If you want to hang the tv, screws will have to come with the bracket. This review covers the same exact model in both 32" and 40" as I got both. HOW I USE IT: (I've thoroughly tested these too) * Broadcast TV * HDMI tablet, phone, or computer input for video or pics or sharing web page viewing with others or computer instruction * USB thumb drive left plugged in back loaded with mp3 music libray and pics. It's easy to play the music based on folders (not tags as far as I can tell) and use the tv as a digital picture frame at other times. This is great for a parent!!! Also, on the wall on a big screen it makes for some cool rotating pictures if you like landscapes and such like I do with computer backgrounds. With such a large screen, varying landscape and portrait pictures are easily viewed and not an issue like in small, digital frames. WHY THIS TV IS IMPRESSIVE (what isn't advertised): 1) Unexpected excellent PACKAGING: It was well-protected with all applicable items in their own ziploc style bags which I will recycle to use with small items. The INSTRUCTION BOOK (if you need it - I never needed it) is in all color and large print. It even comes with its own little screwdriver that you can have immediately available to attach the base. The 40" already came with the post portion installed. I figure they do this for convenience. It can easily be removed if you are going to hang it. The 32" required 2 minutes to attach the same post. I ended up with a handy phillips head screwdriver as well as packaging that I can recycle for projects from large, sturdy cardboard backing to corner sponge foam that can be taken apart by the layers and used in various projects. 2) The tv CONFIGURATION MENU is VERY INTUITIVE. Again, I never even needed to use the instruction book. 3) The REMOTE CONTROL is has a lot going on, but that is to the user advantage (see the pic). It's very comfortable in hand and allows for quick viewing changes in aspect, picture quality, sound quality, and much more. It appears to have some sort of universal programming for a soundbar at bottom too; however, I do not have one so did not test this ease of use or take the time to read about it in the instruction book. 4) The tv can SWIVEL on the base about 20 degrees each direction. How easily it swivels simply depends on how tightly you install the screws on the base. This is a very easy adjustment. I did all of this intuitively. I didn't even know they could do that. 5) I didn't expect much of the USB interface. I was wrong! It can play mp3 files and show pictures whether individually or as a slideshow. The menu for navigating any of these is very USER FRIENDLY and easy for people of any age or lack of tech experience. I navigated a portable drive of music organized by folder like in windows and easily got to what I wanted. The onscreen interaction is also intuitive in use with the remote. 6) The SOUND is good for a modern, thin, flat panel LED TV. Ours are on table tops so the sound reflects well. I do not have to turn them up loud at all! It has easy-to-use sound adjustments as well as an equalizer whether for tv shows or for the type of music to which you are listening. 7) The PICTURE is very good with easy aspect ratio adjustments when needed as well as picture quality. HOWEVER, I would say they picture quality "presets" could be more different. I tried a Cielo tv that did this very well. I gave that up for the other features of this Sceptre. I note this picture aspect again later with more info. This should not be a detractor, however, from purchasing. 8) HOOKUP was easy. All 3 HDMI inputs are on the side as well as the one USB. The antenna feed and VGA are at bottom. I would recommend leaving a VGA cord attached if you intend to use that. Detaching and reattaching to the bottom can be difficult. The power cord was the average length if not slightly longer. It is a "utility" style cord - round with a 3-prong plug. 9) INPUT SOURCES are easily changed through Source on the remote or some remote shortcuts. Cielo has a slight one-up on this, but this is very good. 10) CHANNEL CHANGING RESPONSE TIME. I'm using over-the-air tv. Punching the channel number takes 5-6 seconds to respond if you don't hit the ENTER button which is far down the numbers section. It takes about 3 seconds after hitting enter immediately. RECALL to switch between previous channels takes 2-3 seconds. POWER ON takes about 9-10 seconds for the channel to show. 11) The BRUSHED METAL appearance of the bezel as well as the base (the base is strong plastic) are very nice. You only notice it up close. Unlike the picture advertising this, it does not appear silvery. It is black. The bezel is only about 1" around. 12) Power COST - 32" shows under $9 based on average cost and 5 hours use. 40" shows under $12 for the same. 13) The digital tuner picked up everything that my local channels have as opposed to the older tv on the same antenna (it is a good, indoor, flatwave antenna after MANY attempts to find one that worked well). 14) It has a SLEEP function with a simple one-button access. 15) It does have a small, ALWAYS-ON red light at the bottom. This turns blue when the tv is turned on. If I want "smart tv" features other than 3D, I can get a Roku or similiar item that can be moved to any tv. I do most if not all of that stuff through a tablet or tv anyhow. The only reason I gave it 4 vs. 5 stars is because I think the picture features can be adjusted better like the Cielo that I tried. If you manually adjust brightness and contrast, you have to go really high or low before you see a difference. As previously mentioned, the presets for this could be better. I only can say this after first settling on the Cielo until it has other problems arise with the screen, unfortunately (and it didn't have the USB functions). However, I don't have to do a lot of adjusting as the pic is good. I liked this tv and the USB abilities so well that I bought another for a family member for Christmas. Users of this tv cover all age ranges and do not have to be tech savvy to take advantage of the features! It's a GREAT PRICE for a GREAT PRODUCT. I've never used Sceptre before. If these tv's last well in the long run, they have a repeat customer in me! Walmart will also for the free, fast, ship-to-home part for such a product also. Standard shipping came quickly by Fedex and showed no signs of bad handling.

Was this review helpful? (462) (96)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
wallyworldshopper23
Goose Creek, SC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Top 1000 contributor
Great for the price. Met all my expectations.
6/5/2011

Customer review by Odogwu

5.0 stars 6/5/2011 by Odogwu
by Odogwu

I strongly recommend this product for anybody on low budget and wants incredible value for their money. Too good for the cost and it is a great quality product.

Was this review helpful? (153) (24)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Odogwu
Bronx
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
excellent product!
12/30/2013

Customer review by demish

5.0 stars 12/30/2013 by demish
by demish

I've had the tv for 2 weeks now and it's excellent. The picture quality is awesome and the sound is great. The screen actually swivels and that's an awesome feature. I was a little nervous because I've never heard of the name brand and the price was so low but I took a chance with this product. I also made sure to purchase the 4 year warranty.

Was this review helpful? (435) (96)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
demish
new haven, ct
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Great Value For Bedroom TV
12/13/2013

Customer review by MrGJohn

4.0 stars 12/13/2013 by MrGJohn
by MrGJohn

I needed a TV for my bedroom and found this one very affordable with the features I needed. The TV has 3 HDMI and a true 40" screen at 1080 resolution. It is important to know that if you do not have an HD cable box connected by HDMI you will not see the true HD image the TV is capable of. On my cable box I had to adjust the settings to 1080. The TV will display a small onscreen display that will tell you the connection and resolution you are in when you power on the TV. The TV is fairly light and looks great with the dark brushed metal bezel (frame). As others have mentioned, the sound is not very strong on the set but I find it is not hard to hear. For movies when you want a richer bass sound, I suggest a soundbar or simply hooking up a home stereo to the set as I have (picture). You can also use any amplified speaker set. I purchased the extended warranty thru Walmart for 4 yrs. You may never need this but if or when you do it is well worth the cost. Dust, humidity and temperature all affect electronic components. So, even if the TV is not heavily used or just sits there is always a chance for failure. I hope this helps. Enjoy your TV ;)

Was this review helpful? (291) (58)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MrGJohn
Orlando, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Looks great, sounds horrible.
2/14/2014

Customer review by NWWisconsinChick

4.0 stars 2/14/2014 by NWWisconsinChick
by NWWisconsinChick

Although it was packaged lightly, with only Styrofoam around the corners, there weren't any imperfections on the housing, stand, or bezle when I unboxed the unit. I found no dead or bright pixels when I turned it on and flipped through various colored/levels of brightness images. I was very pleased with the picture quality and was surprised at the wide range of angles I could watch from before running into viewing issues, which can be an issue in some televisions and computer monitors. My only real complaint the sound: I really wasn't expecting much from a television's built-in speakers, but even setting the bar low I was disappointed. If you want to enjoy the big booms in action movies, or listen to music or videos on your new TV, you're going to want to pick up some speakers to go with it.

Was this review helpful? (149) (23)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
NWWisconsinChick
North-West Wisconsin
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Good tv for a great price
12/27/2013

Customer review by SVDW

4.0 stars 12/27/2013 by SVDW
by SVDW

Everything I expected in a LED television. I love it! Perfect size and at the right price! The sound levels are a bit off but the picture is great and the different settings make it even better! There are three slots for the use of a HDMI cable which is convenient if you like to plug in other devices to your tv. Overall this tv has many features and is worth the amount.

Was this review helpful? (261) (51)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
SVDW
San Dimas, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Two weeks in..
7/8/2011

Customer review by tjtechster

4.0 stars 7/8/2011 by tjtechster
by tjtechster

Best price I have found on a 40" LCD tv, and unlike others in the same price range, they have a decent website, and support site.. I was familiar with Sceptre due to their LCD computer monitors, which I have had excellent success with.. After reading previous reviews I was concerned that it would quit working shortly after I turned it on, but it has been working fine for the last 2 weeks.. Packing is pretty minimal, so if you receive the product with external damage, I would open it at the store and verify that it is functional.. Now to the product review: It is cosmetically clean and well designed. Assembly is easy and very intuitive. Good documentation. Comes with AC cable only.. PC input DOES support 1920x1080 (some cheap 1080p TV's do not!) Remote has limited functionality (would have been nice to have last input recall) Picture is solid with "over the air" and satellite receiver and HD is very good, although the backlight (w/ brightness @ 35%) is very bright in a very dark room.. Audio is thin sounding, so would recommend external sound system.. So far, it seems to be a definite bargain, and as nice as any <$600 LCD TV I've seen.. Took 7 days for "Ship to Store" delivery..

Was this review helpful? (100) (10)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
tjtechster
Oregon
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Sceptre HDTV=AWESOME
4/30/2011

Customer review by tazvang2000

5.0 stars 4/30/2011 by tazvang2000
by tazvang2000

I just got this TV like 2 days ago(4-27-11). Got it online, and shipped to site for free pickup. Its cheap, its good and i love it. People might get worried about the name brand but I love this TV. The picture is nicer then my Vizio at home. Its a good TV for under 400 bucks. I totally recommended this tv for ppl who just want to enjoy watching TV with HD =). The only part that make me kinda frustrated is that it took longer then expected. they say it take up to a week but it took almost 2 weeks to get to the site. But overall, I love it! 5 star!

Was this review helpful? (140) (22)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
tazvang2000
Saint Paul, MN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Surprisingly good picture & sound/A Real Bargain!
5/24/2011

Customer review by supernanny

5.0 stars 5/24/2011 by supernanny
by supernanny

Thought I'd take a chance and buy this no name TV since the price was right, and we haven't been dissapointed. All my fireinds who've seen it are amazed cuz the picture is clearer and more vivid than their TVs which they paid a lot more for. And with the money I saved I bought the 3 year warranty- just in case - and I still saved a couple of hundred dollars over the other big name brands. We highly recommed this one!

Was this review helpful? (127) (18)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
supernanny
Boston, MA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
great tv, excellent deal
4/28/2011

Customer review by SingleDadCA

5.0 stars 4/28/2011 by SingleDadCA
by SingleDadCA

I was tempted but concerned by this incredible deal because I'd never heard of this brand. So I read reviews on similar models (this one was new and had not reviews). The reviews were positive, overall, so I snapped this up and got the extended warranty. I'm so glad I took a chance. Sound is excellent; on-screen tools help you adjust to various pre-settings or make your own profile. Sound is fantastic too. I cannot think of anything to put in as a con. (If I encounter any problems, I'll update my review.)

Was this review helpful? (268) (59)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
SingleDadCA
Bay Area, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Excellent value HDTV
4/30/2011

Customer review by OlderBoy

5.0 stars 4/30/2011 by OlderBoy
by OlderBoy

I bought this set 3 days ago. I was concerned that a brand I didn't know might have some problems, but this set is as good as the more expensive ones. It has both analog and digital tuners built in, and as a result all of the non-HD channels look just fine. And of course the HD channels look great. I'm hooked up to cable without any receiver box, and may not need one. I heartily recommend this set.

Was this review helpful? (99) (11)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
OlderBoy
Warsaw, IN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
I love this TV!
11/11/2013

Customer review by JCraig207

5.0 stars 11/11/2013 by JCraig207
by JCraig207

I was a little hesitant about buying this TV because my research indicated that it cost much less than most TVs of this size. I am glad to report that my reservations were not justified in the least because it works great! The picture quality is as good or better than any of the other LEDs I have ever owned. I definitely recommend this TV.

Was this review helpful? (136) (20)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
JCraig207
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
"BEST DEAL AROUND"
2/18/2014

Customer review by LUXX559

5.0 stars 2/18/2014 by LUXX559
by LUXX559

Best value around, me and my wife wanted to get a Samsung or Panasonic TV, but prices where over our budget so I did a little research on Sceptre TV. Found some information that Hitachi from Japan might be making these neat TV's. Proformance is good for what we need. If you want loud buy a sound bar or system. Got my PS3 connected to our Sceptre tv and it looks awesome! Remote control it big with big buttons I hate little controls eazy to lose. Well there is my review. Hope you get a good deal before Sceptre gets popular and they up there prices.

Was this review helpful? (190) (36)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
LUXX559
COALINGA, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
'Best Deal Of 2011'
5/22/2011

Customer review by fleefarmer

5.0 stars 5/22/2011 by fleefarmer
by fleefarmer

I purchased the Sceptre 40" Class LCD X402BV -FHD from Walmart 3 weeks ago for under $401.00. TV arrived within 10 days. I reveiw many TV's (all brands and sizes) online weekly, just to keep up with modern technoloy and to learn all about the features that are available. I researched Sceptre. Great company and quality products with a very promising future. The picture quality, sound and available features rate in value and quality with TV's priced at least $200 more. All TV's sell and advertise features, size, hertz, class (LED, plasma, etc.). This TV performs exceptionally well for the purpose that it was manufactured for. I purchased what I expected and got much more. With the factory warranty (1year) and 3 years from Walmart, I would suggest to anyone looking for a great deal...Jump on this one. Because just like the gas prices it won't last long. I haven't found anything wrong with this TV, and believe me I have put it through every test possible in 3 weeks. The remote is very good, easy to use to personalize your setting. An Awesome Product.

Was this review helpful? (729) (194)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
fleefarmer
Cocoa, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Top 500 contributor
1-20 of 3851 total reviews
1-20 of 3851 reviews