Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 4943 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

4.0 stars

4943 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

4.0 stars

4943 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

88%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
2840
4 stars
1352
3 stars
220
2 stars
151
1 stars
380
1-20 of 4444 total reviews
88%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 4444 total reviews
1-20 of 4444 reviews
Good for the price
1/6/2013

Customer review by TechEnthusiast2

5.0 stars 1/6/2013 by TechEnthusiast2
by TechEnthusiast2

Overall, it's a nice TV. I use it with my PC via the HDMI port. I run it at 1920x1080@60Hz, with 4:2:2 pixel format. Overall, it looks and performs great. No dead pixels. Strong and sturdy stand with only 4 screws [and it came with a decent philips screwdriver]. Very nice whites and blacks after tweaking the color and contrast/brightness. However, text isn't displayed as good as other LCD/LED TVs of this size on the market, but this one is a lot cheaper than those TVs. I traded a 42in HiSense LED TV [in related products] for this one and saved 100$ in the process while adding a 3-year service plan to this TV [which I highly recommend]. The sharpness is where this TV lacks. Text that takes only a few pixels to display gets blended with its surroundings [especially when its black text and a bright color background], but it's hard to notice. Games, videos, pictures all look fantastic for the price. The menu is nothing to brag about, but it does have all the basic settings. The speakers are pretty pitiful, but that is what I expected for two 10-watt speakers. Remote is quite nice for the price [soft buttons, good connections and layout, came with batteries], and the TV was packaged very well [thanks, Sceptre!]

Was this review helpful? (83) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
TechEnthusiast2
Oro Valley, AZ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great Product for Price
12/13/2011

Customer review by Spooner72

5.0 stars 12/13/2011 by Spooner72
by Spooner72

Bought this TV for less than $400 and did not know what to expect given that I have never heard of the brand. Decided to take some chances. I have had this product mounted on the wall and viewing for about 2 weeks now. It is not my primary TV but it certainly is a great TV. The picture quality is superb (Watched the Transformers - Dark of the Moon in bluray), the sound is amazing for the room size and it is got 4 HDMI ports and many more others. Though the room is well lid during the day, the picture clarity remains great. I do not have any cons! I hope it lasts. I will definitely recommend this TV.

Was this review helpful? (76) (12)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Spooner72
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Meh... You Get What You Pay For...
2/5/2012

Customer review by Seraphim242

2.0 stars 2/5/2012 by Seraphim242
by Seraphim242

Bottom line is if you are looking for a top quality, sharp and super crystal clear picture on your television, go with a brand name and size down. The only setting in which the picture looks the clearest is normal, leaving a 6 inch black border on the sides, and a 4 inch border on the top and bottom, making this 40 inch screen actually much smaller. If you are not planning on using an HDMI cable, the picture is blurry at best. With an HDMI cable, the picture is clear, but the colors are washed out. Compared to my 47 inch Vizio, which I have had for 4 years, this tv is subpar. Now I understand the difference between a brand name versus an off brand. I am returning this to Walmart tomorrow, and plan to purchase a 32 inch Vizio in it's place. Happy hunting! :-D

Was this review helpful? (45) (17)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Seraphim242
Atlanta
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
terrible!
12/9/2012

Customer review by alexiaa

1.0 stars 12/9/2012 by alexiaa
by alexiaa

This t.v. took a killing in less then a week of installing it! the channels now all of a sudden look like it is getting blended by a blender or has two pictures in one! I'm returning it today. Getting my money back!

Was this review helpful? (50) (13)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
alexiaa
vacaville ca
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
gave it a chance
8/4/2011

Customer review by scvlcd

1.0 stars 8/4/2011 by scvlcd
by scvlcd

Maybe mine was one of the few bad ones, I loved it for the three days that it worked. Now am not willing to waste any more time troubleshooting and awaiting another week for a replacement and driving back and forth to the store and hope that this one works. Now i will spend the extra $$$ and buy another sharp and enjoy my new tv for years to come like the first one.

Was this review helpful? (24) (11)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
scvlcd
valencia, ca
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
awesome for the money!
2/18/2013

Customer review by bumblebee2792

5.0 stars 2/18/2013 by bumblebee2792
by bumblebee2792

This TV had majority good reviews but I was afraid to buy it because when there were bad ones they were bad. Let me just say I'm so glad I didn't listen! I was skeptical the whole way opening it and putting it together but when I got it all set up and turned it on I was blown away. I had it shipped from site to store which was wonderful! I ordered it on Sunday and was told it would be ready by Thursday but was able to pick it up on Wednesday! I had a 32" before this, Samsung and I'd say this TV is just as good if not better. Clear picture and a giant screen. The speakers are complete garbage though but there's a headphone jack in the back and I just attached some computer speakers instead. I will also say the stand rotates which is good and bad. Good for viewing purposes but bad if its knocked at all. Theres also no buttons on the actual TV so if you lose the remote your screwed. Overall very excellent TV! Other 40"-ers are at least $500. I would also reccomend the warranty its pretty cheap and covers just about everything. You never know with cheapo TVs.

Was this review helpful? (26) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
bumblebee2792
virginia beach, va
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
The price is right.
11/29/2011

Customer review by noob60

5.0 stars 11/29/2011 by noob60
by noob60

This television has a perfect balance of dimensions in inches and price. I paid $310 for a 40 inch screen. You will see plenty of larger hdtvs but a price that is not fair. What I am trying to to say is that if you pay double ($620) you will not get double the tv (80inches). On the other hand, you will pay double and get a tv in the low 50's (inches). Now that I got that off my chest; yes this hdtv is considered cheap, but it does a great job. You have to mess around with the settings for picture and sound but you cannot beat this price. If you are upgrading to this tv from an hdtv in the 20's(inches) prepare to be AMAZED. If this is your first HDTV your heart will drop when you see the immense size of the packaging box alone. The blurays in 1080p are amazing. The videogames are too.

Was this review helpful? (24) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
noob60
NYC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great for the money!
11/27/2013

Customer review by b0nnie

5.0 stars 11/27/2013 by b0nnie
by b0nnie
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I could not be more pleased. Easy to set up...I did it myself. I read reviews before I made the purchase and read poor ratings regarding sound quality....certainly seems fine to me. I have not connected my laptop or other things to it but so far for a television I am beyond pleased!!!! I will update if it does not maintain the quality it has now.

Was this review helpful? (17) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
b0nnie
Pearl, Ms.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
What a bargain!
2/1/2012

Customer review by mylil6

5.0 stars 2/1/2012 by mylil6
by mylil6

Kids needed replacement TV for gaming & movies so we shopped online at Walmart for greater selection. Wanted biggest bang for our buck, also wanted good reviews. This TV is all around great bargain for the low price of less than $320.00. Picture quality is excellent, easy to understand operating instructions/menu. Had leftover money to purchase extended service plan for piece of mind since I had never heard of the brand. Shipped directly to my local store for free & speedy pick up. Cant find a deal like this in store or elsewear. Very happy with purchase, hoping we are this satisfied longterm.

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
mylil6
Northwest Indiana
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
8/25/2011

Customer review by An anonymous customer

4.0 stars 8/25/2011 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

Ok, so after reading many of the reviews (the highest and lowest ratings are usually the most useful) I decided to give this TV a shot. On the 16th I ordered it, and paid for 1-day shipping. It arrived 4 days later on Friday. Guess they really milk that 48 hour "Processing" time. And that would have been acceptable except that the TV had a cracked LCD screen (Pictured Below). I would have just gone to a store to get it replaced quickly, but not a single store within 200 miles had one in stock. So I called Walmart.com's customer service center, and was told that they were very sorry about the damage, and would replace it immediately. The representative told me that I would have a new one delivered on Tuesday. It was delivered on Wednesday. Also, they are sending me a shipping label and scheduling a pickup for the broken one, so at least that part is convenient. Now, let's talk about the functional TV. It's really nice! There are more hookups than I know what to do with, and after setting my HD Cable Box to 1080 instead of 720, the picture quality is absolutely amazing. I'm thinking the reason people say that the picture quality is bad is due to them not knowing that "HD" can mean a lot things, and a 720 signal on a 1080 native screen isn't going to look all that great. You might have read about some sound issues in other reviews. Please note that there is nothing wrong with the sound on this TV. In the settings, there are two types of Volume Leveling / Auto Volume Control. They normalize the volume so things aren't either too loud or too quiet. What does this mean to non-technical users? It means they will observe some volume fluctuations. As for how the sound really is, it's not bad at all. Obviously they are integrated TV speakers, and an external and independent sound system would be better, but there is nothing wrong with the ones that are built in. Overall, this is a very good buy. If your TV arrives with a broken screen, just get it replaced. Even if it takes a little longer to arrive, saving the $200-300 is well worth it to those of us on a budget. Note: I do suggest purchasing a Service Plan. Though, even if I bought a top of the line TV from a name brand manufacturer, I would still pay the extra $10 for a 2 year plan. If you really need to save that $10, buy a cheaper (smaller) TV with a service plan instead.

Was this review helpful? (131) (26)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
An anonymous customer
Inland Empire, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great Buy for the Low
8/5/2011

Customer review by Kenny504

5.0 stars 8/5/2011 by Kenny504
by Kenny504

Everything is great...Looks better than most of the Well known Brands. You would have to be used to a SONY, Samsung or a Sharp Aquaos 1080p LCD's to not be fully satisfied. You can use it as your Main or 2nd Television. The remote is ok & I see no problem with the sound. If you really want to get the best out of this TV? Calibrate your TV & watch HD channels instead of analog. I have taken a picture of the tv with my phone to show people how it looks. Picture is in this review.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Kenny504
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Very satisfied with this TV
1/29/2012

Customer review by lendermonster

5.0 stars 1/29/2012 by lendermonster
by lendermonster

The stand was pretty easy to assemble which is great since I live alone. I am just watching it with my regular cable service and it has a great picture. I have read other reviews about the sound but it is more than adequate for my living room. You can clearly see this TV from anywhere in my apartment. The only thing I don't like is that when I mute something there is an annoying box that is always displayed on the screen. All in all, I would definitely recommend this TV and am sure I will enjoy it for a long time to come.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
lendermonster
Fayetteville, AR
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great TV with a great price!!!
2/17/2013

Customer review by Xastar

4.0 stars 2/17/2013 by Xastar
by Xastar
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I bought this tv because I couldn't get over how cheap the price was. The size of the TV is the same size as the one in my living room that I purchased for $800 a couple if years ago. This tv was a gift for my husband to have in his private gaming area and he loves it. The picture quality and sound are amazing.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Xastar
Orlando, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Started out great but fail
12/10/2011

Customer review by Fishtacos27

2.0 stars 12/10/2011 by Fishtacos27
by Fishtacos27

The Picture quality was great, shipped on two days, and was inexpensive. I am returning it after 15 days. The screen now has lines going through, the picture always shows duplicates, and the sound quality is terrible once I pass 30% of the volume.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Fishtacos27
Los Angeles, Ca
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Bad out of the Box.
3/2/2012

Customer review by MrTwobit

2.0 stars 3/2/2012 by MrTwobit
by MrTwobit

Well, I finally got my 'Bad out of the Box' TV# You have to expect it will happen eventually and I've been lucky# This time the LCD panel on the HDTV was bad# I already had it hung on the wall before I turned it on for the first time# Had to take it down , take all the mounts stuff off of it and take it back# That was the ONLY hard part about my experience# WalMart was the absolute best about taking it back# Got my money refunded, went straight to the bank and deposited it, went home and re=ordered the same TV! Wish me luck!

Was this review helpful? (5) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MrTwobit
Murphysboro, IL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
Sceptre 40" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, X405BV-FHD
12/31/2011

Customer review by Akio

5.0 stars 12/31/2011 by Akio
by Akio

This was my Christmas present to myself and I love it. It has built in features so you don't really have to reset anything because the factory settings are really good to get the best picture and audio that it has to offer. I have a small living area and this size is perfect. Good price for a TV this size. I have had it now about 2 weeks and am very happy with it. I wasn't sure about buying this brand but am not disapointed in my purchas at all.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Akio
New Caney, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Worth the low price.
3/24/2012

Customer review by FieryJudge

4.0 stars 3/24/2012 by FieryJudge
by FieryJudge

This TV is a great value for a 40" at less than $300.00 . The picture quality is good. It has more than enough inputs, including 4 HDMI, PC, Video as well as digital and RCA audio out ( for older sound sytems). Bought this to replace a 32" Vizo that I had purchased last year at a higher cost for the bedroom. If you are looking for a decent 2nd TV, this is definately worth the money!

Was this review helpful? (5) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
FieryJudge
Ga
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Great Tv for price
3/29/2012

Customer review by footballaddict50

5.0 stars 3/29/2012 by footballaddict50
by footballaddict50

Great tv for the price has an excellent picture HDTV channels ( has full 1080I) are awesome with Directv has 4 HDMI ports great for blue ray or gaming console my xbox 360 looks great on this for under $300 for a 40" tv I could not pass up this deal was not sure the brand would measure up on quality it surpassed it could not be more happy

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
footballaddict50
Kansas USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great TV, just don't update the firmware!
8/10/2011

Customer review by RyanF84

4.0 stars 8/10/2011 by RyanF84
by RyanF84

I bought this TV because it is a great price for the features offered. The picture is great, the sound quality is decent, and it has TONS of inputs including 4 HDMI, and a VGA for hooking up computers to use the TV as a gigantic monitor (though if your PC's video card supports HDMI, use that. Overall I am very impressed with the amount of TV for the price. Note: DO NOT UPGRADE THE TV FIRMWARE. I had an incident where Sceptre's download site listed a firmware update for X402BV-FHD, I applied it and the TV came back on with a corrupted pcture. When I got in touch with Sceptre support, they said that there are more than one TV model that use this model name and they use different firmware. They emailed me the correct firmware for my TV and I flashed it in and the TV works fine again. I just believe this is misleading on their part. Overall, this is the only real negative experience I have had. For a while I thought I might have ruined my new TV using a firmware update they labelled incorrectly. DO NOT UPDATE THE FIRMWARE! :)

Was this review helpful? (72) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
RyanF84
Huntington, IN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Worked for exactly 1 year and a day
9/30/2015

Customer review by Jack

1.0 stars 9/30/2015 by Jack
by Jack

I really love Wal-Mart. I seem to lose time in there whenever I go shopping. I had purchased a 40" SPECTRE LCD TV. It all worked great for a while. Then one night I was putting my son to bed for school the next day. I shut off his 40" SPECTRE LCD TV. The next morning when I woke my son up for school I tried to turn on his 40" SPECTRE LCD TV and it did not turn on and nor has it since. The 1 year manufactures warranty had just expired and there was nothing Wal-Mart or SPECTRE would do to help sort out my problem. I had wanted it fixed since its brand new basically. The problem is that it would cost more to repair the SPECTRE 40" LCD TV then I paid for it. So my solution people is simple: "BUY NAME BRAND ELECTRONICS!!!!" You may pay a few extra dollars for it, but it is money well spent. I hold no ill will with Wal-Mart whatsoever. They'll always be AWESOME!!!! Remember...YOU GET WHAT YOU PAY FOR!!! Thank you and buyer beware.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Jack
Would recommend to a friend? No
1-20 of 4444 total reviews
1-20 of 4444 reviews