Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 1058 reviews | 4.7 out of 5

4.5 stars

1058 reviews | 4.7 out of 5

4.5 stars

1058 reviews | 4.7 out of 5

96%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
873
4 stars
137
3 stars
18
2 stars
10
1 stars
20
1-20 of 1026 total reviews
96%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 1026 total reviews
1-20 of 1026 reviews
One word... amazing!
11/17/2011

Customer review by Ihave2dogsandwoodfloors

5.0 stars 11/17/2011 by Ihave2dogsandwoodfloors
by Ihave2dogsandwoodfloors

Fist of all, I never write reviews for products; however, I have fallen in love with this vacuum and want to recommend it to everyone. For those of you skeptical about spending A LOT of money on a vacuum, let me reassure you... it is worth every single penny. I have 2 large inside dogs, and I have mostly hardwood floors and tile with a few rugs. It is really hard to find a vacuum cleaner that doesn't blow the dog hair around while you are trying to clean. If you get anywhere near the hair, dust, etc., it instantly sucks it up. I honestly thought my floor was clean before using this vacuum, but I was definitely mistaken. It sucks up every piece of dirt in the carpets and in every crevice in the floor. This machine is AMAZING on hard floors and carpet and I would recommend it to anyone interested in purchasing a vacuum. I am a first time Dyson owner and will never own another type of vacuum. The cord is super long, and the dust/dirt bin is very large so you won't have to empty as often. Maneuvering the ball was challenging at first (since I was familiar with the typical vacuum), but it made cleaning so much easier and faster when I became used to it. Also, it is a bit on the heavy side when carrying it around (you don't roll the vacuum when not in use), so it maybe difficult for some people. Overall, this is a well engineered piece of machinery and definitely worth the money. I can't believe I didn't buy one sooner!

Was this review helpful? (55) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Ihave2dogsandwoodfloors
Auburn, AL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Great vacuum for all floors. Love it!
3/30/2014

Customer review by BambooRoot

5.0 stars 3/30/2014 by BambooRoot
by BambooRoot

I never purchased a pricey vacuum, before. But boy, I have been missing out. Right after the product was delivered to our home, I put the vacuum together (which was easy, by the way), and I started vacuuming the basement. Immediately, I was impressed by the vacuum's suction power. We have a dog who I thought didn't shed a whole lot of hair, but apparently, I was wrong. The Dyson was picking up puppy hair that my other cheap, vacuum failed to pick up from the carpet. I was curious to see how well the Dyson would perform on hardwood floors, and once again, I was very impressed. Even though, the snow outside is long gone, the salt/sand still remains and gets tracked into our house, which drives me nuts. When I used our cheaper vacuum on the hard woods, the vacuum would pick up some of the sand, but other particles would just blow around. Thus, I had to use a broom to finish the job. With the Dyson, I can keep the broom in closet: the Dyson sucks up all the sand with no issues at all. I love this vacuum!

Was this review helpful? (38) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
BambooRoot
NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
I love this vacuum
11/26/2011

Customer review by MtPudel

5.0 stars 11/26/2011 by MtPudel
by MtPudel

I love this vacuum - and I must add that I HATE vacuuming. Almost as much as I hate dusting. I live in the country with 3 big dogs & a husband who are in and out all day long. We leave windows open in nice weather. We get red clay dust, pollen, dog hair (I groom them myself in the house). I opened the box, assembled this and started vacuuming using just the quick setup guide. By the time I had made a few passes down over the scatter rugs I had already filled the cannister. Who knew the dog's favorite little rug was pink and not beige? It made the rugs look like new. It easy grabbed stuff from right up against the baseboards. The hose is stiff, but I was able to get cobwebs off ceilings and the dusting brush worked great. It actually vacuumed up the dust, rather than just collecting it in the bristles. So far I've used the crevice tool, the dusting brush, the multi-angled brush (great for ceiling fans) and the flexible floor brush (I bought most of the attachments). When it stopped picking things up, I looked at the instructions, turned it over, removed the clip and took the vacuum attachment off. Sure enough -- it was clogged with dust, hair & leaves. I pulled it out and we were off and running again. I have had it 2 weeks now and have filled the cannister about 6 times already. I just take it outdoors and push the button to dump it into a shopping bag. Love that it is bagless and you don't have to touch anything. For years I was told that the best thing for hardwood floors was a cannister vac. I think they were wrong -- I love the way this maneuvers. It gets under all but the lowest furniture (I use the hose/floor attachment for getting under dressers). I love that you can push a button to turn the beaters on & off as you hit scatter rugs. I love that it picks up dog kibble on one pass. I hope it lasts a long time, because this is the first vacuum I've ever loved.

Was this review helpful? (30) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MtPudel
Southcentral VA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Excellent Buy
11/20/2011

Customer review by WoodsFamily

5.0 stars 11/20/2011 by WoodsFamily
by WoodsFamily

At first I thought, Wow what an expensive Vacuum Cleaner. I have to admit the price scared me. But after I read the reviews and also spoken to a couple of folks who purchased a Dyson Vacuum Cleaner. I thought let me try it. I have a puppy boxer at home and he sheds a lot of hair. My old Vacuum Cleaner just blew the hair all over the place. However I can not tell you enough on how much I LOVE MY NEW DYSON Vacuum Cleaner!!! This vacuum is very powerful. It picks up everything. It's worth every penny. It works great on my hardwoods floors and carpet. This is a definite buy. You won't regret it. I love this vacuum. Very easy to use. I strongly recommend.

Was this review helpful? (17) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
WoodsFamily
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Not worth the hype!
2/20/2014

Customer review by PBenny

1.0 stars 2/20/2014 by PBenny
by PBenny

Always heard great things about Dyson and decided to try one after using the cheap vacuums all my life. I have a dog and a cat and was looking for something that was good at picking up pet hair. For the $400 I paid for this, it is a TOTAL RIPOFF! Cleans the same as a cheap $65 vacuum. It is pretty lightweight and easy to use, and I like it for that.... but the suction power is a joke. Does not pick up any small pieces of debris, such as a few flecks of dry cat litter... Picks up most of the pet hair but anything heavier than a hair is left on the ground, no matter how many times I roll over it. Our carpet is not that thick and I was hoping for more from a Dyson. Will not ever buy a dyson again!

Was this review helpful? (27) (11)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
PBenny
Would recommend to a friend? No
Overall happy with the Dyson DC41
3/25/2014

Customer review by Wise01

4.0 stars 3/25/2014 by Wise01
by Wise01

I was hesitant to purchase this vacuum, as I had read it was not the quality that Dyson had once been known for. But after trying a Shark (which could not stand up to the pets in our house) and since Oreck only provides one bagless vacuum which is not one of their better products) I decided an Animal was my only option. I purchased this and have been using it for a week. I agree with reviews I read that this vacuum is of lesser quality than previous Dysons. The DC 41 feels flimsier, the ball squeaks when I push it, and the canister is much smaller than my previous Animal. I gave it 4 stars because: 1) performance is still pretty great 2) the cord is long enough so I do not constantly have to plug it into other outlets 3) I have yet to have to cut dog hair out of the roller (I have a Great Pyrenees), which I've always had to do with other vacuums (even my previous Dyson). Overall, I would suggest this product to friends. And if you have never owned an older Dyson Animal, you probably won't even see any negatives with this product.

Was this review helpful? (19) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Wise01
Arlington, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
If this is your 2nd Dyson Forget it-terrible!
3/3/2014

Customer review by oldshopper713

1.0 stars 3/3/2014 by oldshopper713
by oldshopper713

Are you shopping for your 2nd Dyson? Forget it. They have lowered their standards. This Dyson is smaller across the brush area; the bucket for debris is also smaller. It does not do well going from rug to floor and vice versa. You must change the direction of the push and the even lift the rug edge to get the small pieces. The entire weight of the Dyson is focused on the palm of your hand. The ergonomics of the machine makes it most awkward to push. Due to the fact that with this vacuum you must make so many passes to clean up small items it is actually extremely uncomfortable to vacuum your house. Yes, it has powerful suction but not like their past models! I had another Dyson Animal for 13 years and only decided to get this one because my daughter needed a vacuum for her new apartment. Huge Mistake! Don’t get caught up by the big name/big price/it must be better idea-it is NOT!

Was this review helpful? (19) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
oldshopper713
Atlanta, Georgia
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Best Vacuum Cleaner Made
11/26/2011

Customer review by dragonmageds

5.0 stars 11/26/2011 by dragonmageds
by dragonmageds

This new Dyson Animal is unbelieveable. Picked up so much animal fur, dirt and grime that we had to empty for each room vacuum. Second vacuuming we got two rooms per canister. Really like that the two filters are easy to get to and you wash and dry them, so you don't have to buy new filters all the time. The new self adjusting floor/rug head has so much power that I had to shut vacuum off to get a power cable out of the head because the suction was too strong to just pull it out. If you have pets this is definitely the vacuum to buy. Also, ladies the new vacuum is a dark metallic purple color.

Was this review helpful? (16) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
dragonmageds
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
AWFUL!!! NOT WORTH THE PRICE!!!
1/7/2013

Customer review by AKcleanFREAK

1.0 stars 1/7/2013 by AKcleanFREAK
by AKcleanFREAK

I bought a DC41. That's over $600 for a vacuum. It did "OK" for about 1 week. Had issues picking up half a pellet of cat food from my hard wood floors. It wouldn't pick up my long haired cats fur unless I went over it 3-4 times to pick it all up. We have a wood fireplace and random SMALL wood pieces will get on the carpet from hauling wood inside to burn. The Dyson wouldn't pick those up on the carpet unless I went over them slowly 2-3 times. Forget about it if it was on the hardwood floors. I had to SWEEP before vacuuming...kinda makes the hardwood floor cleaning option pointless! I have 3 cats, and a 3000+ sq.ft. home. I am a VERY clean person and would vacuum every 2 days. I expect a $600+ vacuum to do everything I want it to! YES: I cleaned the vacuum out after each use and took care of it. YES: I even tried another of the same model and had the same issues. I was not impressed, so I returned it and bought the Bissell Total Floors Pet vacuum instead for $140 at my local Wal*Mart in Wasilla, AK. It DOES EVERYTHING I WANTED: Cleans hard wood & tile floors while picking up everything without hesitation. Has a convenient foot pedal button to turn the brush off. Has all the attachments the Dyson had. One swipe and the cat hair is gone. Nice Febreeze filter makes the whole house smell wonderful. Much easier to clean out after use than the Dyson. I am SUPER impressed with THAT vacuum, especially for the GREAT price! ***DON'T***give into the hype and spend your hard earned money on a "designer" vacuum. The Bissell Total Floors Pet vacuum does 10x a better job for SO much cheaper! I owned a Dyson years ago. They don't make them the same. NEVER again!!!!

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
AKcleanFREAK
Pt. MacKenzie, AK
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Dyson Animal Upright Ball Vacuum
6/3/2014

Customer review by Shapoo640

5.0 stars 6/3/2014 by Shapoo640
by Shapoo640

This is my second Dyson. My other one lasted 9 years through 4 German Shepherds and Florida black sand! These machines ROCK!!!!!!!!!!!!!! When we first moved back to Michigan my sister loaned me her Bissell Bagless Upright Vacuum. Ummmm, It just doesn't get it. This newer model of the Dyson Animal is even better and more nimble than my first one. Yep I am in Love again. It is awesome. These machines have some assembly required when they arrive. This one was even easier than my first machine. I don't care that I had to put them together the machine works better than ANY machine I have ever used. Sorry Kirby you are heavy and stinky and hard to clean. My Dyson comes apart easily so you can wash it so after a couple months of use you don't have that funky smell when you vacuum the house. I love love love it!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? (7) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Shapoo640
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great vacuum for pet owners
1/30/2012

Customer review by NoMoreShedding

5.0 stars 1/30/2012 by NoMoreShedding
by NoMoreShedding

This is my second Dyson vacuum. My first one I keep in the basement (where the dogs are not allowed). I didn't want to "contaminate" that vacuum with tons of dog hair that is upstairs (sounds silly I guess), so I ordered the Dyson DC41 for upstairs. The DC41 appealed to me because of the ability to deep clean and remove pet hair. I ordered my DC41 through Walmart's website. The vacuum was cheaper by far than any other store. Shipping was only 97 cents, it arrived quickly and it was easy to assemble. Because I have 2 big short-haired dogs who shed a lot, I was eager to see what would appear in the canister. The first day I vacuumed, the canister was full of dog hair/dust/dirt. The second day it was 2/3 full. By the 3rd day and everyday since, each time I vacuum, the canister is about 1/2 full. I use the attachments to clean off the sofa and the chairs that the dogs lean against and that the kids drag dog hair onto. The attachments are easy to use. This model has a different hose set-up than my other one. The hose on this one is easier to use, and I like that the rigid tube part of the hose completely detaches from the flexible hose part for getting areas that don't require an additional 2-1/2 ft stretch. I have half carpet and half tile/hardwood floors that I vacuum upstairs and being able to turn off the brush for the hard surfaces is great. No more "flinging" debris in front of the vacuum and chasing it down. I've also found that if I turn the brush off while vacuuming bathroom area rugs, the threads don't pull out of the rug and get wrapped around the brush bar. The ball is a great feature. The first time I used it, it felt a little awkward because it was so much easier to maneuver, but by the 2nd room I had it figured out. The ball makes it so I can get into tight/hard to reach areas without the back and forth of regular vacuums. When vacuuming on the carpet with the brush on, the vacuum almost pulls itself. Between that and the ease of maneuverability of the ball, it makes for effortless vacuuming. The only thing I don't love about this vacuum is that to stand the vacuum up (when finished or while using the hose) you have to push the handle forward until you hear/feel a click. But the "click" is very faint and it seems like I am going to break it trying to push it far enough forward to find the click. For the 3 weeks I have been using it, I love it. If my opinion changes, I will update my post. Thanks for listening.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
NoMoreShedding
Colorado
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
Very disappointed after one year.
6/24/2014

Customer review by royboy321

1.0 stars 6/24/2014 by royboy321
by royboy321

I bought this and was very happy with it for a little over a year then it just stopped working. There is no suction now, and no one locally can work on it. Very frustrating for a high end vacuum cleaner that should have lasted for years.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Comment from DysonProductExpert - 7/3/2014

Hi Roy, this is Joe with Dyson.<br /><br />I am glad to hear that you enjoyed the performance of your DC41. However, I am sorry to hear that your machine does not appear to be operating properly. I am sure this is something we can have resolved for you. If you have not contacted us already, please send us an email with your contact details to askdysonUS@dyson.com and we will be in touch as soon as possible. <br /><br />Best wishes,<br /><br />Joe

royboy321
Would recommend to a friend? No
Not as powerful as led to believe.
12/18/2011

Customer review by froggeebear

3.0 stars 12/18/2011 by froggeebear
by froggeebear

It's a pretty machine. But the suction power just is not that great for $600. I find that I have to vacuum over the same areas repeatedly to pick everything up. The suction works more on the pull back than the push forward. After I vacuum and put the machine away, I'll see stuff still in the carpet, so I have to pull it back out again and re-vacuum. My old vacuum, which was only around $50, did as good of a job. I think I'm going to return it and get my $600 back and try a different vacuum.

Was this review helpful? (6) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
froggeebear
Myrtle Beach, SC
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
1/10/2012

Customer review by Faststeph

4.0 stars 1/10/2012 by Faststeph
by Faststeph

This product is awesome... getting ready to have a new baby in the home, and wanted the best vacuum to keep the whole house clean. I love it, and it's really quite compared to my old one. It's easy to manuver around, its pretty light, and really easy to empty the canister. I wish it came with a bag or something to keep all the attatchments together, because they don't attatch to the vacuum unless you are using them. Also you have to unwind the entire cord to use the turbine head, which isn't a big deal, but more to put away if you have a little job.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Faststeph
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Great Vacuum!
1/10/2012

Customer review by Shop4Little

5.0 stars 1/10/2012 by Shop4Little
by Shop4Little

I never imagined that I would use the word "love" when describing a vacuum cleaner, but I LOVE the DC41. We recently adopted a border collie and her hair is everywhere. The Dyson does a wonderful job of getting all the hair out of the carpet and a lot of dirt that is apparently deeply imbedded. Although it is rather costly, it is worth every penny.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Shop4Little
Gettysburg, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Exceeded my very high expectations!
12/29/2011

Customer review by Ambii1013

5.0 stars 12/29/2011 by Ambii1013
by Ambii1013

I bought this vacuum yesterday after days of researching vacuum after vacuum. Due to the very high price tag associated with this machine I was really hesitant to spend so much money. With that being said, I would have paid double for this vacuum cleaner & still would be satisfied! (Don't get an ideas, Dyson!) :p I have a pug & she sheds like a maniac, but with this vacuum, I have a visual confirmation of all the dog hair it is picking up, left behind by my previous cleaner. You can literally FEEL the difference of your carpet after just one use. It's magic, pure magic. I have a baby that is soon to be crawling & the peace of mind this vacuum gives me is well worth the price tag. I would recommend this to anyone & everyone, especially those with pet hair problems.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Ambii1013
Raeford,NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great Vac
6/15/2014

Customer review by DogsNStuff

5.0 stars 6/15/2014 by DogsNStuff
by DogsNStuff

I've historically purchased junky vacs - $100 max. If they didn't break after a few uses, they'd just stop sucking things up at all. I've only had the Dyson a few weeks, but it's sturdy (despite the plastic) and does a pretty amazing job pulling dirt/hair/lint/dust from our carpets. They all look new. My one complaint is the abundance of plastic on the vac. For $400+ dollars, I'd expect some more solid construction. But it hasn't been an issue abd the warranty is pretty good. Overall - worth the reduced price tag Wally World puts on it... Not a dollar more.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
DogsNStuff
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
love it
5/1/2014

Customer review by loveilovtk

5.0 stars 5/1/2014 by loveilovtk
by loveilovtk

everyone kept saying get a dyson - now I know why - used my regular vacuum then the dyson - so it was clear from how much the dyson picked up compared to my old vacuum (the old one was a top brand) what I really love is how easy it is to push - my back did NOT hurt when I used the vacuum

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
loveilovtk
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Dyson Animal Upright Ball Bagless vacuum
7/4/2014

Customer review by Buvy

5.0 stars 7/4/2014 by Buvy
by Buvy

So far I really am impressed with it. It is one of the easiest vacuums that I have ever used and the suction is great.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Buvy
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
LOVE IT!! Why did I wait so long to buy this!?!?!
2/12/2012

Customer review by TXatHeart

5.0 stars 2/12/2012 by TXatHeart
by TXatHeart

I went into this purchase thinking...this better be a AMAZING vacuum for $600!! or I'm returning it...I was NOT disappointed!! It is AMAZING quiet!! strong suction!! puts out clean air!! I've used this vacuum multiple times to vacuum my whole house and the filter in the tank is still spotless!! it pulls out way more dirt than my old dirt devil ever thought about doing! and I can tell that it is putting out clean air not just by the smell in my house after vacuuming (there is no smell!!) but also I don't have to dust as often!! I was shocked how poorly my old vacuum was actually doing after using this one. I've been raving about this vacuum and hope to do so for a long time to come!!

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
TXatHeart
West Plains, MO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
1-20 of 1026 total reviews
1-20 of 1026 reviews