Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 1065 reviews | 4.7 out of 5

4.5 stars

1065 reviews | 4.7 out of 5

4.5 stars

1065 reviews | 4.7 out of 5

96%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
877
4 stars
138
3 stars
19
2 stars
11
1 stars
20
1-20 of 1032 total reviews
96%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 1032 total reviews
1-20 of 1032 reviews
Great vacuum for all floors. Love it!
3/30/2014

Customer review by BambooRoot

5.0 stars 3/30/2014 by BambooRoot
by BambooRoot
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I never purchased a pricey vacuum, before. But boy, I have been missing out. Right after the product was delivered to our home, I put the vacuum together (which was easy, by the way), and I started vacuuming the basement. Immediately, I was impressed by the vacuum's suction power. We have a dog who I thought didn't shed a whole lot of hair, but apparently, I was wrong. The Dyson was picking up puppy hair that my other cheap, vacuum failed to pick up from the carpet. I was curious to see how well the Dyson would perform on hardwood floors, and once again, I was very impressed. Even though, the snow outside is long gone, the salt/sand still remains and gets tracked into our house, which drives me nuts. When I used our cheaper vacuum on the hard woods, the vacuum would pick up some of the sand, but other particles would just blow around. Thus, I had to use a broom to finish the job. With the Dyson, I can keep the broom in closet: the Dyson sucks up all the sand with no issues at all. I love this vacuum!

Was this review helpful? (38) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
BambooRoot
NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Overall happy with the Dyson DC41
3/25/2014

Customer review by Wise01

4.0 stars 3/25/2014 by Wise01
by Wise01
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I was hesitant to purchase this vacuum, as I had read it was not the quality that Dyson had once been known for. But after trying a Shark (which could not stand up to the pets in our house) and since Oreck only provides one bagless vacuum which is not one of their better products) I decided an Animal was my only option. I purchased this and have been using it for a week. I agree with reviews I read that this vacuum is of lesser quality than previous Dysons. The DC 41 feels flimsier, the ball squeaks when I push it, and the canister is much smaller than my previous Animal. I gave it 4 stars because: 1) performance is still pretty great 2) the cord is long enough so I do not constantly have to plug it into other outlets 3) I have yet to have to cut dog hair out of the roller (I have a Great Pyrenees), which I've always had to do with other vacuums (even my previous Dyson). Overall, I would suggest this product to friends. And if you have never owned an older Dyson Animal, you probably won't even see any negatives with this product.

Was this review helpful? (19) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Wise01
Arlington, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
If this is your 2nd Dyson Forget it-terrible!
3/3/2014

Customer review by oldshopper713

1.0 stars 3/3/2014 by oldshopper713
by oldshopper713

Are you shopping for your 2nd Dyson? Forget it. They have lowered their standards. This Dyson is smaller across the brush area; the bucket for debris is also smaller. It does not do well going from rug to floor and vice versa. You must change the direction of the push and the even lift the rug edge to get the small pieces. The entire weight of the Dyson is focused on the palm of your hand. The ergonomics of the machine makes it most awkward to push. Due to the fact that with this vacuum you must make so many passes to clean up small items it is actually extremely uncomfortable to vacuum your house. Yes, it has powerful suction but not like their past models! I had another Dyson Animal for 13 years and only decided to get this one because my daughter needed a vacuum for her new apartment. Huge Mistake! Don’t get caught up by the big name/big price/it must be better idea-it is NOT!

Was this review helpful? (19) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
oldshopper713
Atlanta, Georgia
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Excellent product!
3/26/2012

Customer review by SoldOnDyson

4.0 stars 3/26/2012 by SoldOnDyson
by SoldOnDyson

Overall, I love my new Dyson, Animal Upright Ball Bagless Vacuum Cleaner, DC41. I've had an old vacuum that doesn't work for so long. After shampooing my carpets for twelve hours and seeing the amount of dog hair it picked up, I knew it was time for a new vacuum. A week later after a lot of research, I had my new Dyson. I used it the minute I got it assembled and was absolutely amazed at how much MORE dog hair it picked up considering I had just shampooed it a week earlier. I would have rated this product even higher except it does not have a light on it and the hand tools, primarily the hose is not as easy to use as others I've used in the past. I also learned the first time I had to empty the bagless canister to do so outside as the dust flies into the air. I've never had bagless before so I guess that's a trade off. I have adjusted to it and LOVE my Dyson DC41. It also saves me a lot of time vacuuming as I don't have to go over the same area over and over again.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
SoldOnDyson
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
The "Animal" DC41
3/7/2012

Customer review by Aeonixx

5.0 stars 3/7/2012 by Aeonixx
by Aeonixx

This is my second Dyson vacuum. I bought the Animal when it first came out and I didn't think a stupid vacuum would make any difference to me what so ever. Big deal you push it around and hopefully it picks up last nights party, muddy feet, what ever. Vacuuming was a mundane task and me being the Cool stud that I am, I would never touch a vacuum. Until I bought that first Dyson Animal. My wife had to fight me for vacuuming rights! I loved that thing. Power, killer suction, easy to use attachments,no bag OMG the list goes on. My daughter just moved into her new house (she has two children) . Now I couldn't let those kids run around on a dirty floor and it was the perfect excuse to go but the DC42. So I gave her my old Dyson. It still runs like the day I bought it, perfectly. But the new Animal is a machine made in Heaven as far as I am concerned. Yahoo, I am very impressed and I am the cool stud that didn't give squat about a house cleaning tool. Ha Ha Ha Look at me writing a comment LOL

Aeonixx
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Hard to get used to
3/21/2012

Customer review by kcpaull

4.0 stars 3/21/2012 by kcpaull
by kcpaull

The thing I like best about my Dyson DC41 Animal is it's weight. It's so light I can pick it up easily. It weighs less than one of my cats who's a real chunk who sheds a lot. Compared to other upright vacuums I've owned it feels like it's going to fall apart at any moment but since it hasn't and I've given it a thorough workout, I doubt that it will. I'm so used to those rigidly made monsters that weigh 30 pounds the DC41 feels like vacuuming with a transformer until you get used to the way the whole thing works. It certainly picks up cat hair like a charm. I have three cats and as spring is here they are all shedding like crazy and I can see just how much of their fur it's picking up. It's a little clumsy getting the hose out to use but once you get used to it, it's not so bad. I would recommend this to anyone. While it is very expensive, it comes with a 2 year complete warranty which you won't see in many other vacuums. It's also very quiet while running in comparison to other vacuums.

kcpaull
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Expensive but worth it
11/4/2013

Customer review by DoesntLookDirtyToMe

5.0 stars 11/4/2013 by DoesntLookDirtyToMe
by DoesntLookDirtyToMe

I vacuum the center. The wife dusts but had been taken in by those Dyson ads about balls and attachments. I wasn't. Our old top-rated vacuum was only 7 years old and had three lights - red, yellow, & green - to indicate carpet cleanness. I also wasn't sure that the see-through canister would remain see-through for long or be easy to dump. I was wrong. After vacuuming 2 feet in our clean-to-look-at dining room, I shut off the Dyson to marvel at the obvious accumulation of dirt. The canister was 1/3rd full with cat hair from our short hair and non-descript dirt from this one 11 x 11 room. The carpet looked a shade lighter. Two weeks later when I felt there just might be a need to vacuum again, the house still yielded 3 emptyings of dirt. The see-through canister is not only painless to empty but provides that visual validation that makes vacuuming worth while. You can't find a more powerful machine. Will there be anything left of our carpets after a year of Dyson? Will our cat be denuded?

DoesntLookDirtyToMe
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
One word... amazing!
11/17/2011

Customer review by Ihave2dogsandwoodfloors

5.0 stars 11/17/2011 by Ihave2dogsandwoodfloors
by Ihave2dogsandwoodfloors

Fist of all, I never write reviews for products; however, I have fallen in love with this vacuum and want to recommend it to everyone. For those of you skeptical about spending A LOT of money on a vacuum, let me reassure you... it is worth every single penny. I have 2 large inside dogs, and I have mostly hardwood floors and tile with a few rugs. It is really hard to find a vacuum cleaner that doesn't blow the dog hair around while you are trying to clean. If you get anywhere near the hair, dust, etc., it instantly sucks it up. I honestly thought my floor was clean before using this vacuum, but I was definitely mistaken. It sucks up every piece of dirt in the carpets and in every crevice in the floor. This machine is AMAZING on hard floors and carpet and I would recommend it to anyone interested in purchasing a vacuum. I am a first time Dyson owner and will never own another type of vacuum. The cord is super long, and the dust/dirt bin is very large so you won't have to empty as often. Maneuvering the ball was challenging at first (since I was familiar with the typical vacuum), but it made cleaning so much easier and faster when I became used to it. Also, it is a bit on the heavy side when carrying it around (you don't roll the vacuum when not in use), so it maybe difficult for some people. Overall, this is a well engineered piece of machinery and definitely worth the money. I can't believe I didn't buy one sooner!

Was this review helpful? (55) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Ihave2dogsandwoodfloors
Auburn, AL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Excellent Product
3/28/2012

Customer review by kguare

5.0 stars 3/28/2012 by kguare
by kguare

I'm amazed at the power on this machine - it is extremely lightweight, yet it sucks up dirt that you would never know was there. It took me a while to finally purchase this machine as I was afraid of being let down or ripped off by really good commercials, but let me tell you, it was DEFINITELY WORTH THE MONEY. If you think your floors are clean, please vacuum your floors, then borrow this machine from a friend or family member and try it. You will not believe how much it will still pull up, even after you just vacuumed. One thing I absolutely love, besides the suction power, is the ability to go from one floor to the next without adjusting the height of the machine for different carpet types or bare floor. . . it is really easy to use this vacuum and I am so happy I bought it. I honestly can tell you, after going through a vacuum every year or two due to being ultimately unhappy with the machine, is that I will never by another vacuum that doesn't have the name Dyson on it :)

kguare
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Money Well Spent!
12/21/2011

Customer review by leeba

5.0 stars 12/21/2011 by leeba
by leeba

If you have ever wondered if you are getting your monies worth with a Dyson? You will. This is my 2nd Dyson. My first one was purchased seven years ago (and back then everyone thought I was crazy). It's moved across the country 3 times, picked up enough hair to construct at least 50 dogs, enough LEGOs to build a small town and still it kept on. I noticed over the last few weeks that it was making a funny sound, but otherwise seemed to work. But today it gave up the ghost. R.I.P Dyson 07. Today I went out and purchased the new DC41 and love it! It is so light weight and the carpet looks brand new. It pulled out all sorts of indention marks in the carpet. I can't believe all the dirt that was sucked up. I just vacuumed yesterday! The ball feature is great. It takes a little getting used to, but you'll love how much closer you can get to the walls and under the furniture. One aspect that Dyson really excels at is how easy it is to take apart if there are any issues/clogs. This is money WELL SPENT!!

leeba
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Not worth the money
1/7/2016

Customer review by dolphluv82

2.0 stars 1/7/2016 by dolphluv82
by dolphluv82

The only good thing about this vacuum is, it stands up to the Dyson promise of never losing suction. This machine is cheaply built. I have had numerous issues with this vacuum. With the most recent being the switch to turn the vacuum on, to carpet cleaning mode, just stopped working. For no reason. I haven't even had this vacuum three years. My next purchase will not be from Dyson.

dolphluv82
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Excellent Buy
11/20/2011

Customer review by WoodsFamily

5.0 stars 11/20/2011 by WoodsFamily
by WoodsFamily

At first I thought, Wow what an expensive Vacuum Cleaner. I have to admit the price scared me. But after I read the reviews and also spoken to a couple of folks who purchased a Dyson Vacuum Cleaner. I thought let me try it. I have a puppy boxer at home and he sheds a lot of hair. My old Vacuum Cleaner just blew the hair all over the place. However I can not tell you enough on how much I LOVE MY NEW DYSON Vacuum Cleaner!!! This vacuum is very powerful. It picks up everything. It's worth every penny. It works great on my hardwoods floors and carpet. This is a definite buy. You won't regret it. I love this vacuum. Very easy to use. I strongly recommend.

Was this review helpful? (17) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
WoodsFamily
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Dyson Animal Upright Ball Vacuum
6/3/2014

Customer review by Shapoo640

5.0 stars 6/3/2014 by Shapoo640
by Shapoo640
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This is my second Dyson. My other one lasted 9 years through 4 German Shepherds and Florida black sand! These machines ROCK!!!!!!!!!!!!!! When we first moved back to Michigan my sister loaned me her Bissell Bagless Upright Vacuum. Ummmm, It just doesn't get it. This newer model of the Dyson Animal is even better and more nimble than my first one. Yep I am in Love again. It is awesome. These machines have some assembly required when they arrive. This one was even easier than my first machine. I don't care that I had to put them together the machine works better than ANY machine I have ever used. Sorry Kirby you are heavy and stinky and hard to clean. My Dyson comes apart easily so you can wash it so after a couple months of use you don't have that funky smell when you vacuum the house. I love love love it!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? (7) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Shapoo640
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
I love this vacuum
11/26/2011

Customer review by MtPudel

5.0 stars 11/26/2011 by MtPudel
by MtPudel

I love this vacuum - and I must add that I HATE vacuuming. Almost as much as I hate dusting. I live in the country with 3 big dogs & a husband who are in and out all day long. We leave windows open in nice weather. We get red clay dust, pollen, dog hair (I groom them myself in the house). I opened the box, assembled this and started vacuuming using just the quick setup guide. By the time I had made a few passes down over the scatter rugs I had already filled the cannister. Who knew the dog's favorite little rug was pink and not beige? It made the rugs look like new. It easy grabbed stuff from right up against the baseboards. The hose is stiff, but I was able to get cobwebs off ceilings and the dusting brush worked great. It actually vacuumed up the dust, rather than just collecting it in the bristles. So far I've used the crevice tool, the dusting brush, the multi-angled brush (great for ceiling fans) and the flexible floor brush (I bought most of the attachments). When it stopped picking things up, I looked at the instructions, turned it over, removed the clip and took the vacuum attachment off. Sure enough -- it was clogged with dust, hair & leaves. I pulled it out and we were off and running again. I have had it 2 weeks now and have filled the cannister about 6 times already. I just take it outdoors and push the button to dump it into a shopping bag. Love that it is bagless and you don't have to touch anything. For years I was told that the best thing for hardwood floors was a cannister vac. I think they were wrong -- I love the way this maneuvers. It gets under all but the lowest furniture (I use the hose/floor attachment for getting under dressers). I love that you can push a button to turn the beaters on & off as you hit scatter rugs. I love that it picks up dog kibble on one pass. I hope it lasts a long time, because this is the first vacuum I've ever loved.

Was this review helpful? (30) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MtPudel
Southcentral VA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Good product/terrible website instructions
4/7/2014

Customer review by SoCal

4.0 stars 4/7/2014 by SoCal
by SoCal

No complaints, only praise for the product itself DC Animal 41. It moves well (if you ride a bike or motorcycle you can handle this), cleans amazingly close to the edge of a wall, the head is low and vacuums under the edge of furniture nicely, fantastic suction, not too heavy though not exactly light weight (smaller ones are). The container is easily emptied and mine came with all sorts of attachments.....with no explanation as to what they are for and there are no real instructions to this thing. A couple of diagrams on how to put it together, but no words, that's it. I always feel like I'm breaking it when I put it in position to vacuum. Instructional video sent by Dyson via their website didn't work (along with not allowing me to register the vacuum, saying the number was ID # was wrong on the box) , pictures didn't answer questions regarding all the attachments. It would be nice if they just included a manual since I've now had difficulty with their website twice.

SoCal
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Definately not the best dyson......
2/5/2012

Customer review by wonbyjc

2.0 stars 2/5/2012 by wonbyjc
by wonbyjc

This is my 5th dyson vacuum I have owned, and after using it for a few months, I decided to write a review, though I typically never do this, but I do read the reviews. I am glad I still kept my old dyson vacuum on top of buying this one. This one has some great features, it maneuvers around wonderfully and the filters are very easy to clean and its very sleek looking, however, it does not pick up the great at all to be honest. I have a long hair dog, only one in the home. I vacuum probably 2 to 3 times a day as I am pretty picky about hair and stuff, and with my Dyson DC 24 I only have to sweep over an area once, with this one, it is at least 2-3 times and then it sorta picks things up. I am not at all impressed with the suction power of this machine. My advice would be to buy an older animal dyson vacuum. This one also is a little more lightweight which is good. I have sworn by Dyson for a long time. My husband also says the same thing, it doesnt pick up too great at all. I am just trying to be honest.

wonbyjc
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Dyson
12/29/2015

Customer review by Pattipoo

3.0 stars 12/29/2015 by Pattipoo
by Pattipoo

I've had this vacume DC41 Animal for about a year now and my only complaint is the hose and attachments. The hose kinks no matter how far you pull it out or in. Very frustrating because I have to use another vacume with a hose that works.

Pattipoo
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
DC41 Animal
11/18/2013

Customer review by MariaEsther

5.0 stars 11/18/2013 by MariaEsther
by MariaEsther

First and foremost, I would like to say that I am very impressed by the power and the ergonomic design of the vacuum. It is very easy to maneuver and it seems as if the vacuum could operate by itself. The instructions so as to assemble the machine are very simple, short and clear. The vacuum is very easy to clean and it can be put away or storage within seconds. I confess that I am obsessed with cleaning the house and I vacuum the carpet five days a week! I have a cat and I must keep the house tidy as much as possible for my husband is allergic to cats. So far, I cannot think of negative aspects of the vacuum at all levels (design, function, effectiveness, etc.). I have used other brands and by far Dyson is the best brand in the market at this time. I purchased it in October 2013 and although it is expensive, I have no regrets at all. This is my personal opinion and I am accountable for what I am writing. I would recommend this brand to anyone looking to buy a vacuum without hesitation (no doubts in my mind).

MariaEsther
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
I think my DC41 is AWESOME!
2/7/2012

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 2/7/2012 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

I recently purchased a DC41. After years of using other brands, I was tired of vacuums that didn't work well on my hardwood floors and area rugs and were heavy and cumbersome to use. So I read a lot and talked with people who had a Dyson and finally bought one myself. I must say that this is the best vacuum that I have ever had. The suction is incredible. I have hardwood floors, tile floors and some area rugs and two large dogs who shed and a cat who sheds. The Dyson handles all of this with ease. I was stunned with how much it captured from the area rugs. I like the way it turns and moves easily across the floors. There is no leftover dusty smell after I use it. It empties like a dream. I find that this machine is much quieter than any previous vacuum that I owned. I have used the attachments and they work very well and are easy to use. The machine is light and easy for me to carry up my stairs. The cord is long enough for me to do a large area at one time. I highly recommend this product. You won't go wrong.

An anonymous customer
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Great machine
12/26/2015

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 12/26/2015 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

works on all our floors. Keeps the pet hair at bay. Hasn't lost any suction since we purchased it 2 years ago.

An anonymous customer
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
1-20 of 1032 total reviews
1-20 of 1032 reviews