Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 1068 reviews | 4.7 out of 5

4.5 stars

1068 reviews | 4.7 out of 5

4.5 stars

1068 reviews | 4.7 out of 5

96%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
879
4 stars
138
3 stars
19
2 stars
11
1 stars
21
1-20 of 1034 total reviews
96%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 1034 total reviews
1-20 of 1034 reviews
The "Animal" DC41
3/7/2012

Customer review by Aeonixx

5.0 stars 3/7/2012 by Aeonixx
by Aeonixx

This is my second Dyson vacuum. I bought the Animal when it first came out and I didn't think a stupid vacuum would make any difference to me what so ever. Big deal you push it around and hopefully it picks up last nights party, muddy feet, what ever. Vacuuming was a mundane task and me being the Cool stud that I am, I would never touch a vacuum. Until I bought that first Dyson Animal. My wife had to fight me for vacuuming rights! I loved that thing. Power, killer suction, easy to use attachments,no bag OMG the list goes on. My daughter just moved into her new house (she has two children) . Now I couldn't let those kids run around on a dirty floor and it was the perfect excuse to go but the DC42. So I gave her my old Dyson. It still runs like the day I bought it, perfectly. But the new Animal is a machine made in Heaven as far as I am concerned. Yahoo, I am very impressed and I am the cool stud that didn't give squat about a house cleaning tool. Ha Ha Ha Look at me writing a comment LOL

Aeonixx
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Hard to get used to
3/21/2012

Customer review by kcpaull

4.0 stars 3/21/2012 by kcpaull
by kcpaull

The thing I like best about my Dyson DC41 Animal is it's weight. It's so light I can pick it up easily. It weighs less than one of my cats who's a real chunk who sheds a lot. Compared to other upright vacuums I've owned it feels like it's going to fall apart at any moment but since it hasn't and I've given it a thorough workout, I doubt that it will. I'm so used to those rigidly made monsters that weigh 30 pounds the DC41 feels like vacuuming with a transformer until you get used to the way the whole thing works. It certainly picks up cat hair like a charm. I have three cats and as spring is here they are all shedding like crazy and I can see just how much of their fur it's picking up. It's a little clumsy getting the hose out to use but once you get used to it, it's not so bad. I would recommend this to anyone. While it is very expensive, it comes with a 2 year complete warranty which you won't see in many other vacuums. It's also very quiet while running in comparison to other vacuums.

kcpaull
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Expensive but worth it
11/4/2013

Customer review by DoesntLookDirtyToMe

5.0 stars 11/4/2013 by DoesntLookDirtyToMe
by DoesntLookDirtyToMe

I vacuum the center. The wife dusts but had been taken in by those Dyson ads about balls and attachments. I wasn't. Our old top-rated vacuum was only 7 years old and had three lights - red, yellow, & green - to indicate carpet cleanness. I also wasn't sure that the see-through canister would remain see-through for long or be easy to dump. I was wrong. After vacuuming 2 feet in our clean-to-look-at dining room, I shut off the Dyson to marvel at the obvious accumulation of dirt. The canister was 1/3rd full with cat hair from our short hair and non-descript dirt from this one 11 x 11 room. The carpet looked a shade lighter. Two weeks later when I felt there just might be a need to vacuum again, the house still yielded 3 emptyings of dirt. The see-through canister is not only painless to empty but provides that visual validation that makes vacuuming worth while. You can't find a more powerful machine. Will there be anything left of our carpets after a year of Dyson? Will our cat be denuded?

DoesntLookDirtyToMe
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Excellent Product
3/28/2012

Customer review by kguare

5.0 stars 3/28/2012 by kguare
by kguare

I'm amazed at the power on this machine - it is extremely lightweight, yet it sucks up dirt that you would never know was there. It took me a while to finally purchase this machine as I was afraid of being let down or ripped off by really good commercials, but let me tell you, it was DEFINITELY WORTH THE MONEY. If you think your floors are clean, please vacuum your floors, then borrow this machine from a friend or family member and try it. You will not believe how much it will still pull up, even after you just vacuumed. One thing I absolutely love, besides the suction power, is the ability to go from one floor to the next without adjusting the height of the machine for different carpet types or bare floor. . . it is really easy to use this vacuum and I am so happy I bought it. I honestly can tell you, after going through a vacuum every year or two due to being ultimately unhappy with the machine, is that I will never by another vacuum that doesn't have the name Dyson on it :)

kguare
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Money Well Spent!
12/21/2011

Customer review by leeba

5.0 stars 12/21/2011 by leeba
by leeba

If you have ever wondered if you are getting your monies worth with a Dyson? You will. This is my 2nd Dyson. My first one was purchased seven years ago (and back then everyone thought I was crazy). It's moved across the country 3 times, picked up enough hair to construct at least 50 dogs, enough LEGOs to build a small town and still it kept on. I noticed over the last few weeks that it was making a funny sound, but otherwise seemed to work. But today it gave up the ghost. R.I.P Dyson 07. Today I went out and purchased the new DC41 and love it! It is so light weight and the carpet looks brand new. It pulled out all sorts of indention marks in the carpet. I can't believe all the dirt that was sucked up. I just vacuumed yesterday! The ball feature is great. It takes a little getting used to, but you'll love how much closer you can get to the walls and under the furniture. One aspect that Dyson really excels at is how easy it is to take apart if there are any issues/clogs. This is money WELL SPENT!!

leeba
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Good product/terrible website instructions
4/7/2014

Customer review by SoCal

4.0 stars 4/7/2014 by SoCal
by SoCal

No complaints, only praise for the product itself DC Animal 41. It moves well (if you ride a bike or motorcycle you can handle this), cleans amazingly close to the edge of a wall, the head is low and vacuums under the edge of furniture nicely, fantastic suction, not too heavy though not exactly light weight (smaller ones are). The container is easily emptied and mine came with all sorts of attachments.....with no explanation as to what they are for and there are no real instructions to this thing. A couple of diagrams on how to put it together, but no words, that's it. I always feel like I'm breaking it when I put it in position to vacuum. Instructional video sent by Dyson via their website didn't work (along with not allowing me to register the vacuum, saying the number was ID # was wrong on the box) , pictures didn't answer questions regarding all the attachments. It would be nice if they just included a manual since I've now had difficulty with their website twice.

SoCal
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Definately not the best dyson......
2/5/2012

Customer review by wonbyjc

2.0 stars 2/5/2012 by wonbyjc
by wonbyjc

This is my 5th dyson vacuum I have owned, and after using it for a few months, I decided to write a review, though I typically never do this, but I do read the reviews. I am glad I still kept my old dyson vacuum on top of buying this one. This one has some great features, it maneuvers around wonderfully and the filters are very easy to clean and its very sleek looking, however, it does not pick up the great at all to be honest. I have a long hair dog, only one in the home. I vacuum probably 2 to 3 times a day as I am pretty picky about hair and stuff, and with my Dyson DC 24 I only have to sweep over an area once, with this one, it is at least 2-3 times and then it sorta picks things up. I am not at all impressed with the suction power of this machine. My advice would be to buy an older animal dyson vacuum. This one also is a little more lightweight which is good. I have sworn by Dyson for a long time. My husband also says the same thing, it doesnt pick up too great at all. I am just trying to be honest.

wonbyjc
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
DC41 Animal
11/18/2013

Customer review by MariaEsther

5.0 stars 11/18/2013 by MariaEsther
by MariaEsther

First and foremost, I would like to say that I am very impressed by the power and the ergonomic design of the vacuum. It is very easy to maneuver and it seems as if the vacuum could operate by itself. The instructions so as to assemble the machine are very simple, short and clear. The vacuum is very easy to clean and it can be put away or storage within seconds. I confess that I am obsessed with cleaning the house and I vacuum the carpet five days a week! I have a cat and I must keep the house tidy as much as possible for my husband is allergic to cats. So far, I cannot think of negative aspects of the vacuum at all levels (design, function, effectiveness, etc.). I have used other brands and by far Dyson is the best brand in the market at this time. I purchased it in October 2013 and although it is expensive, I have no regrets at all. This is my personal opinion and I am accountable for what I am writing. I would recommend this brand to anyone looking to buy a vacuum without hesitation (no doubts in my mind).

MariaEsther
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
I think my DC41 is AWESOME!
2/7/2012

Customer review by lydialou

5.0 stars 2/7/2012 by lydialou
by lydialou

I recently purchased a DC41. After years of using other brands, I was tired of vacuums that didn't work well on my hardwood floors and area rugs and were heavy and cumbersome to use. So I read a lot and talked with people who had a Dyson and finally bought one myself. I must say that this is the best vacuum that I have ever had. The suction is incredible. I have hardwood floors, tile floors and some area rugs and two large dogs who shed and a cat who sheds. The Dyson handles all of this with ease. I was stunned with how much it captured from the area rugs. I like the way it turns and moves easily across the floors. There is no leftover dusty smell after I use it. It empties like a dream. I find that this machine is much quieter than any previous vacuum that I owned. I have used the attachments and they work very well and are easy to use. The machine is light and easy for me to carry up my stairs. The cord is long enough for me to do a large area at one time. I highly recommend this product. You won't go wrong.

lydialou
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Convenient and Effective
3/31/2014

Customer review by wdrbbq

5.0 stars 3/31/2014 by wdrbbq
by wdrbbq

While not as light as I had anticipated, it's easy to use and quite maneuverable. I'm used to a canister machine, which means I'm used to dragging it behind me all over the house and quite often tipping it over while dragging it, clogging the filters. The Dyson was a new experience for me: nothing to drag and being able to get into tight spots with ease. It's the sports car of vacuums with unparalleled handling agility. Of course, all of this would be irrelevant without superior suction. I vacuumed the house with the old canister first and then the Dyson. The transparent dust bin showed me how much I had missed and was a snap to empty and remount. The extendable hose and attachments make it easy to get into areas high up without having to contend with the weight of the entire machine also. The only thing I would do differently, and I know it's difficult having to deal with more than one language, would be to give some written instructions for assembly assistance. With pictures only was a little confusing at times.

wdrbbq
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
incredible customer service, great product
7/1/2013

Customer review by nickles

5.0 stars 7/1/2013 by nickles
by nickles

I bought my Animal when I moved to the Anoka Sand Plain and bought a house that formally had cats. The Animal took care of tons of cat hair. Then I bought a Cocker Spaniel that had a heavy coat and the Dyson was really put to the test. I groom my dog and always have lots of hair clipping that the Dyson can handle. 8 years latter I wondered if it was doing the job as well as when first purchased. I called the hot line and told them I was out of warranty. They told me that was not a problem and advised me how to check the filters. In 8 years I had never cleaned the B filter. It was really dirty. I figured since I was taking it apart I would apart completely disassemble the machine and give it a thorough cleaning. The Customer Service rep talked me through the procedure and gave me great hints. I am not a handy person but I was able to get my neglected machine in top working order. I have never had such a positive experience with a customer service program.

nickles
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
I'm so happy with this machine!!
6/21/2014

Customer review by Marilyn1952

5.0 stars 6/21/2014 by Marilyn1952
by Marilyn1952

My Dyson Animal 41 is terrific. I had suffered so many years with my old vacuum that I began thinking there was no hope of finding an efficient, easy-to-use, ergonomically sensitive appliance. And then I took a chance with Dyson and it was best move I ever made. I have 5 indoor cats and I live in the forest so between fur and litter and pine needles and just, plain dirt, I have a heap of cleaning challenges. And Dyson handles them all. It has great suction, manipulates flawlessly in tight spaces, around corners , and when moving from floor (some wood, some ceramic tile) to rug, has a cord that's so long I don't have to use an extension (thank you! thank you! thank you!),and, due to the wonderfully designed canister, empties easier than any vacuum I've ever had. The tool system is efficient and clever in its design but tends to be a little on the stiff and bulky side when using it under furniture or in high places .... but .that's really my only concern . I love my vacuum................and I never thought I'd say that!

Marilyn1952
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Great Vacuum!!!
12/16/2013

Customer review by SJS531

5.0 stars 12/16/2013 by SJS531
by SJS531

I just received my DC41 and I am nothing but impressed. This one blows my 4 year old Dyson away. The "ball" is by far the easiest vacuum to maneuver that I have ever experienced. The motor is quieter than the old one, and doesn't scare the bejeezus out of my cat near as much as others have. The longer cord is a bonus as well, and the wand has more reach; a plus for my carpeted stairs and landing. The self adjusting feature takes some getting used to with area rugs, but once I figured it out, cleaning was a breeze. The suction level never changed, as far as I can tell, and the cleaning power is as good as they say. Now for the downside. The plastic seems "weaker" or maybe I should say "flimsier" than the old one, and I shudder whenever I hit a table leg or baseboard a little harder than normal. I would have liked a locking feature for the wand as opposed to just a slide type lock, but it still does the job. Overall, I am impressed with the DC41, but I have only used it one time. I will edit this review if things change.

SJS531
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Fabulous Vacuum!
2/22/2014

Customer review by kris45

5.0 stars 2/22/2014 by kris45
by kris45

I had a very heavy hard to "drive", heavy vacuum before this one. two friends recommended a dyson to me. It took a few times to get used to the ball for guiding, but I absolutely love it. It turns really easily, and Although I was concerned about the weight of this one, it is fine. not heavy at all. Suction is great. my last one had edge cleaning, which i didn't think i could do without, but the animal has such strong suction, I don't need it. It gets the edges by shear suction power. The controls are accessible and easy to use, and the wand reaches the full length of my staircase easily. The cord is crazy long which is great! I used to have to unplug and replug my old vacuums cord. The only thing I miss that the animal doesn't have is auto cord rewind, and that I have the attachment for upholstery that does not attach to the vacuum, so I have to keep it in a closet and retrieve it whenever I need it. Overall; Fabulous vacuum, So Glad I purchased it!

kris45
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Excellent replacement for the old vacuum I loved
4/4/2014

Customer review by Pitney

5.0 stars 4/4/2014 by Pitney
by Pitney

I had my doubts. I did not want a bag less cleaner. I must say while I hate the cleanup of the container after dumping the dirt. The other advantages far out weigh this negative I just love: The maneuverability...it zips everywhere! The ease at which you can push a button and go from carpet to hard floors...I love that I do not have to stop to do this. The satisfaction of seeing the dirt it is picking up..I know, I am weird. The nice long cord. For all of the sucking power, it is really gentle on my oriental rugs and the hand knotted fringe. Love the super long hose making it so easy to do stairs with the special attachment. You can also reach the ceiling fans... (one in every room in Georgia! The design of the hose and attachments is so convenient and easy to switch to. I have two other vacuums as to have one on each floor of my home. I just may toss them as I find myself carting my "Animal" up and down the stairs!! It is not heavy at all. .

Pitney
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
The DC41 Animal
5/17/2012

Customer review by BASoonersFan

5.0 stars 5/17/2012 by BASoonersFan
by BASoonersFan

We have owned a previous version of the Dyson vacuum for animals for six years. It was a great vacuum because we have had up to three Welsh Pembroke Corgi's who shed tremendously daily and at least two cats. In the last month, we cleaned it repeatedly and it just wasn't getting everything. Since it was used at least 3-5 times per week, we decided to purchase a new vacuum. There was never any question what brand or model we were going to purchase, it was always going to be the Dyson Animal. The new one has the ball technology and it has done an outstanding job of getting the deeply embedded animal hair and dirt out of our carpets and rugs. It also auto-adjusts its height when switching from carpet/rug to our hardwood floors. In our bedroom alone, where all the the animals congregate each night, we had to empty the container five times on the first use on the new DC41, although my wife had just vacuumed it the day before with our old one. So we are very, very pleased and we received a great deal on the purchase of it from Lowe's.

BASoonersFan
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
this vacuum majorly "sucks"
12/22/2011

Customer review by ingway

5.0 stars 12/22/2011 by ingway
by ingway

For the last year my wife and I have had horrible sneezing fits which have not been subdued by rigorous cleaning and constant use of anti-allergen products. I live in a typical rental property - which means my carpets have been here long past their prime and are in terrible condition. I'm sure our 3 cats and 4 ferrets have not helped the situation, but they've never been a cause of any allergies for either of us in the past. We decided to purchase this vacuum after much research - which I was highly skeptical of the feedback on. I thought I would never be able to justify the price tag attached, but after the first use - we were both breathing easily and we now no long need to constantly purchase allergen-blocking medicines simply to function day to day. That fact alone will pay for the vacuum in less than a year between the two of us. The 5 year warranty was originally the only justification for this purchase - now it's just the icing on the cake. I couldn't be any more satisfied. Thanks very much for making such a fine product.

ingway
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
What a machine!
5/12/2012

Customer review by Robert1

5.0 stars 5/12/2012 by Robert1
by Robert1

About 6 years ago, contractors had to drill through our concrete slab to fix a plumbing problem, and fine concrete dust went everywhere. We had a central vac system we thought was great and thought it would get all the dust up. About a month ago, the central vac developed a problem, and both my sons strongly recommended a Dyson to replace it. I noted that the Dyson was a bit pricey, but got the DC41 after my sons assured me I would not regret making the investment. The first time I used the Dyson, I COULD NOT BELIEVE how much fine concrete dust it picked up! I had to empty the canister about every five minutes. After several days of vacuuming, there is hardly any concrete dust remaining, and the carpet, which is 10 years old, feels plush and like new. The Dyson is a little hard to push, but that is because the suction against the carpet is so good. Without a doubt, the best vacuum we have ever had! My two sons gave their old dad good advice.

Robert1
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
I REALLY LIKE MY ANIMAL!!!
11/26/2013

Customer review by BROOKDADDY

4.0 stars 11/26/2013 by BROOKDADDY
by BROOKDADDY

WOW!!! The suction is definitely as advertised. I really like the vacuum! This the second vacuum I've owned in my life..........LOL!!! I thought it was time to upgrade. I had some concerns, but after reading some of the other reviews, I couldn't believe what some of the other reviewers were saying. This thing just glides across the floor with ease! The suction is great! The hose does seem to be a little cumbersome, but after reading the replies from your representatives, then the hose should loosen over time. I've only used mine about four times now. I really love the look of the animal, AGGRESSIVE!!! I will say that it does fill a little flimsy. Sometimes it feels like I'm about ready to twist the handle off. After reading a reply from one of your reps in another review and they explained about the type of plastics used to make this vacuum, then that was good enough for me. When I transport it by the handle on the canister, it seems like it is going to come out, but it hasn't yet! Overall I'm very happy with my DYSON. THANK YOU!!!

BROOKDADDY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Wow!
1/25/2014

Customer review by LR17

5.0 stars 1/25/2014 by LR17
by LR17

I have to admit, I was skeptical about purchasing this vacuum as I had my previous Hoover Futura canister vacuum for 23 years. I have 2 sisters that purchased Dyson upright vacuum cleaners a couple years ago and they have been raving about them ever since. Well, I have to say, they are absolutely right! The first time I used it, I could not believe how much dust it collected. I do not have animals but purchased the Dyson Animal DC41 as I read that the rug beater worked better than other models and I was very pleased. The vacuum was easy to put together and it is very easy to use once you get used to the ball design. I like that it really catches all the dust/dirt on the edges of the carpets and along the floor trim which I previously had to use an attachment to reach. It is much lighter and easier to carry than my old canister vacuum and I love how you can empty the bin with the push of a button! I highly recommend this vacuum cleaner.

LR17
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
1-20 of 1034 total reviews
1-20 of 1034 reviews