Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 16 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

4.5 stars

16 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

4.5 stars

16 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

94%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
11
4 stars
4
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 stars
1
1-11 of 11 total reviews
94%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

Works Great
1/27/2012

Customer review by dgaus

5.0 stars 1/27/2012 by dgaus
by dgaus

This drive works great. It only contained an install disc for Power2Go7 and a Firmware update neither of which I installed. I simply slid the drive in, hooked the power and SATA cable to it and to the board in my PC and the drive was immediately recognized on start up and reads/rips/burns etc quite well. Windows supplies all drivers so no worries. Burned video played flawlessly and I used a cheap quality BD-R disc to test it. I would not expect a drive to include "video" editing, burning or really even playing software. Most PC's come with something already and there are plenty available out there and each person has their preference. Why increase the price for everyone who doesn't need additional software. I held off about 6 months before adding a second drive to my PC then saw this one for $50 after rebate and picked it up. Very happy with the purchase.

Was this review helpful? (20) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
dgaus
Madison WI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
This is a great drive for the price.
6/26/2012

Customer review by AVandIT

4.0 stars 6/26/2012 by AVandIT
by AVandIT

The only reason that I did not give this 5 stars is there was no software to play a Blu-ray movie. The drive installed easily with no problems and has given me none in the two weeks that I have had it. It burns regular DVD's and dual-layer discs quickly enough and reads all of the disks that I have placed in it. I have not had a chance to burn a Blu-ray yet so I can not comment on that yet. Besides burning a Blu-ray disk the other major thing that I would think that everyone who would buy this disk would do is play a Blu-ray movie. Therefore, why would you not provide any Blu-ray movie player software? They do give you the software to burn a disk but, they stop there. I have multiple players on my computer and none would play a BD movie. I had tried serveral free and shareware players then decided to go with Arcsoft's Total Theater which, works well with the drive. They loose a star for making me chase down the TT software and for loading and uninstalling 4 other pieces of junk software in the interim.

Was this review helpful? (13) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
AVandIT
FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Buy Another Product!
10/16/2011

Customer review by RealWalmartConnoisseur

1.0 stars 10/16/2011 by RealWalmartConnoisseur
by RealWalmartConnoisseur

ASUS does NOT have support for their products. There are NO drivers available on their site for this item. Also, the software that comes with the BluRay Player does NOT PLAY bluray discs! You can make data copies on bluray and dvd. Anything specific you want to do with this drive, you will have to purchase everything separately (in addition to this drive & the included software).

Was this review helpful? (25) (25)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Comment from Asus_Answers - 8/30/2013

Dear RealWalmartConnoisseur, <br /><br />Please understand that there is no need to install or update drivers with your unit as all of our ASUS optical drives are Plug-N-Play. If there’s a critical update for the driver, then we will post it to our download page. Blu-ray player software is usually not included so that the overall cost of the product remains reasonable and thus it lets you select the Blu-ray playback of your choice. The good news is that there are several Blu-ray players available for download and some are free. Please visit download.com and type-in "Blu-ray playback" in the search box. Should you require my assistance, please reach out to me. My email is cl-celeste@asus.com; please include case#2925920 in the subject line. ASUS Customer Loyalty is here to listen and respond to your concerns and to help you with a positive ASUS experience. <br /><br />Sincerely,<br />Celeste<br />ASUS Customer Loyalty

RealWalmartConnoisseur
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
It gets the job done.
10/26/2012

Customer review by CamHelper

5.0 stars 10/26/2012 by CamHelper
by CamHelper

Easy to install. It went right to work without a glitch. Love it. Made a little whir sound but haven't heard that any more. I've made two 25GB Blu-Ray's so far. Excellent quality for sure. Made one expensive Verbatim coaster, unrelated to Asus writer. Enjoy.

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
CamHelper
Central California
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Good Blu-Ray Burner
12/22/2013

Customer review by cprice55

5.0 stars 12/22/2013 by cprice55
by cprice55

Easy installation. I replaced a DVD burner I had with the ASUS BW-12B1ST. Used the same SATA connection. I checked several online reviews and this burner kept coming up along with several others. This one was one of the favorites with high ratings and price was about the same price compared with Newegg.com and Amazon.com. The burner worked like I had hoped. Great with no problems. This was my first purchase at Walmart.com. The delivery time was fast. It was only a couple of days. It was like having Federal Express delivery but for free. I had it delivered to the local Walmart store. Printed out the emailed receipt, was in and out of the store in about 5 minutes. I found the best place to get blank Blu-Ray disks was at Microcenter.com. Walmart did not sell them yet. It takes awhile for the retail stores to catch up with the latest and greatest computer technology. I had the same experience when CD's and DVD's first came out. I highly recommend the ASUS BW-12B1ST Blu-ray burner and Walmart.com

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
cprice55
Lincoln Park, MI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great for 3d Blu Ray disc
6/6/2014

Customer review by fanner100

5.0 stars 6/6/2014 by fanner100
by fanner100

good price for a quality product.....burner functions with no problems.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
fanner100
Richmond, VA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Excellent Product
12/10/2013

Customer review by Oxarango

5.0 stars 12/10/2013 by Oxarango
by Oxarango

I am very pleased to recommend this Internal Asus BW-12B1ST 12x Blu-ray Writer to everyone. This is an excellent product. As soon as I connect it to my PC, the system recognizes it immediately. Blu-ray runs perfectly.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Oxarango
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Excellent Burner
10/19/2013

Customer review by rsg003

5.0 stars 10/19/2013 by rsg003
by rsg003

No problems. A very good burner from Asus.

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
rsg003
New Orleans
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
love it
4/26/2013

Customer review by leveil40

5.0 stars 4/26/2013 by leveil40
by leveil40

I love it, but have no use for it right now. I will have to build a computer that accepts the blue ray writer.

Was this review helpful? (0) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
leveil40
chicago, il.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
It's okay for the price
8/13/2012

Customer review by jpizzel

4.0 stars 8/13/2012 by jpizzel
by jpizzel

After purchasing, I found that I didn't have the option to change the face plate to white or at least a color close to my Tower. All of the BD, CD and DVD internal drives I've purchased came with two face plates even if it was not stated on the package or in the fine print. This one did not. My computer and furniture is white. I need it for now, but I ordered another one that is almost indentical in color to my tower Manufactured by Lite-On. The drive performance is good. I just thought that option was standard, but it was not.

Was this review helpful? (1) (10)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
jpizzel
Ontario, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
exelent upgrade
7/2/2014

Customer review by foxx1

5.0 stars 7/2/2014 by foxx1
by foxx1

This was purchased as an upgrade and added to compliment my dvd rewriter, unit install was easy, software install also. Now for those who do not know, units like this DO NOT come with BD player software. You are going to replace it anyway. I copied some files, music and photos, then viewed them through my BD player on my LED TV. pics were great to watch on 50" screen. Tunes played through AV amp. great unit for the money.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
foxx1
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.