Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 199 reviews | 3.2 out of 5

3.0 stars

199 reviews | 3.2 out of 5

3.0 stars

199 reviews | 3.2 out of 5

60%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
78
4 stars
32
3 stars
11
2 stars
14
1 stars
64
1-20 of 185 total reviews
60%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 185 total reviews
1-20 of 185 reviews
2164025708
2/8/2017

Customer review by 2164025708

5.0 stars 2/8/2017 by 2164025708
by 2164025708

Tried the product on Sunday, still hair free on Wednesday. My skin is chocolate colored and the treatment area is about 6" in diameter. Enough in the kit for 2 treatments. Please make this product more accessible and affordable.

2164025708
2164025708
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Works perfectly
2/1/2017

Customer review by Sariver

5.0 stars 2/1/2017 by Sariver
by Sariver

I have been using the product for past one year. Works like a charm. For my upper lip it takes barely two mins. Only thing apply the balm properly too much of it means the product won't work and less of it means your skin burns.

Sariver
India
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Skin type:Combination
Olay I Truly Need More and am Trying to Find this
1/17/2017

Customer review by 1Rachel

5.0 stars 1/17/2017 by 1Rachel
by 1Rachel

This is My 1st Package and It Has Been Completely Perfect!!! However I Really Need Help To be Able to Afford it, So is there Any Way I Could Get Coupons for this Need Also Please???

1Rachel
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Definite Yes!
1/6/2017

Customer review by yesyesyes

5.0 stars 1/6/2017 by yesyesyes
by yesyesyes

It took me forever to try to find a product that worked for my upper lip, as it was much for darker and coarse. This product has given me the results with no pain at all! - unlike waxing, or threading. I've been using this product for over 3 years and honestly it is very reliable, as long as you get used to taking it off. I would definetly recommend!

yesyesyes
SK, Canada
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Skin type:Oily
Does not work
1/8/2017

Customer review by Rider65

1.0 stars 1/8/2017 by Rider65
by Rider65

This product does not work at all. I left the cream on for 10 minutes and no hair had been removed. Disappointing and a waste of money.

Rider65
CT
Would recommend to a friend? No
Skin type:Combination
It's About Time
10/12/2013

Customer review by Vernae

5.0 stars 10/12/2013 by Vernae
by Vernae

I used the original formula for fine-to-medium hair (turquois stripe). But, the newer duo is for coarser, more resilient hair (magenta stripe). I even tried applying petroleum jelly before depilatory creams, once. The jelly just blocked the cream completely and nothing happened. So, I was excited to try this "guarding balm" before applying the cream. I always rub the balm wider than needed (and apply the cream only where it's needed) to provide more protection. The balm is thin enough to allow the cream to work, but tough enough to prevent chemical burns!!! After 5 minutes, I remove both products with a WARM damp (not soaked) paper towel. Then I rinse, while GENTLY rubbing the treated area with my fingers. I pat dry and apply a gentle moisturizer. Do NOT use a toner, a retinoid or an acne treatment on you hair removal days. If you need to leave the product on longer than the allotted 8 minutes, try the stronger formula. I didn't experience any discomfort or irritation. But if one formula irritates you, try the gentler one next time.

Vernae
Birmingham, AL
Skin type:Combination
Disappointed
6/9/2012

Customer review by Nicci76

1.0 stars 6/9/2012 by Nicci76
by Nicci76

I have hair that grows on my upper lip,chin & right under my chin.I'm extremely self conscious about,so much so I have left from places & gone home when I realized I had forgotten to pluck them out.I have tried different types of Nair even the mens Nair,veet & all different types of waxes.I have always really liked Olay products & they have all work for me,so when I saw the commercial for the Oil of Olay facial hair remover last summer 2011,I was extremely excited,I thought (FINALLY SOMETHING THAT'S GONNA WORK!!!) I purchased the Olay facial hair remover on 06-05-2012.When I got it home I read & followed the directions carefully.When I took it off it removed VERY LITTLE of the hair & what it did remove it had come back by the very next morning.I wouldn't recommend this product to anyone.It's had for me to say that because I have always loved all other Oil of Olay products I have used.

Nicci76
Atlanta Georgia
Skin type:Combination
Finally! A product that really works!
3/24/2012

Customer review by Jaclin72

5.0 stars 3/24/2012 by Jaclin72
by Jaclin72

After doing the test on my forearm where the skin is very thin, I used this product on my face today. I have been plagued with "long Peach Fuzz" all along my jaw line and partially up into my cheeks for about 20 years. I finally stopped using makeup because it just made all those fine hairs more visable. After using this product about 1 1/2 hours ago, I am finally "fuzz free"! The only after effect I notice is a slight tingling. I also used it on some hairs on my upper lip that the last waxing missed and it came off too. Because I had such a big area to cover, I probably only have enough product left to use it one more time. I hope that hair doesn't grow back too quickly and lasts long enough for me to enjoy putting on makeup once again for awhile. I can't really put into words exactly how satisfied I am with this product, but I'm sure you get the idea that it really worked for me.

Jaclin72
Leitchfield, KY
Skin type:Dry
Pretty Good
10/6/2016

Customer review by shan24x7

4.0 stars 10/6/2016 by shan24x7
by shan24x7

I have course hair so I use the purple box. I do think the product is pricey but it does seem to be more effective than less expensive products. It has done a good job at removing the hair but in order for it to do so, I use very little of the guarding balm and keep the removal cream on for almost twice the recommended time. That doesn't negatively affect my skin so it works for me.

shan24x7
New Jersey
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Skin type:Combination
Worth Every Cent
1/27/2012

Customer review by happylady

5.0 stars 1/27/2012 by happylady
by happylady

I reserached this product this morning for my 14 year old daughter. I am of Italian decent, and the hair on the upper lip skipped me, but my daughter has it. It is visble to the eye and looks like a "mustache", it is dark & heavy, however not coarse. She has only had two professional lip waxes last year. I was trying to find a home remedy less painful and a way to save money. This is worth every cent! It worked! We followed directions: balm, thick layer of removal cream & left on 10 mins. For removal, we used a dry wash cloth (verses tissue or cotton ball as recommended) to ensure removal. Couldn't believe my eyes, as the hair came clean off! I was so skeptical due to other products (wax strips) not working. It did not burn and her lip was only pink for a few mins afterward (we made sure balm covered area well). This is a life saver for a young girl and her self-esteem! I highly recommend it, especially for young girls who have never shaved or plucked. My daughter is so happy and I am one happy mom to save some money on salon waxing, and to have a product work wonders for a change. Thank you Olay!

happylady
Cincinnati, Ohio
Skin type:Combination
Not what I was expecting
12/31/2011

Customer review by Aline

1.0 stars 12/31/2011 by Aline
by Aline

Well I had researched the product and saw a lot of great reviews that were not on the Olay website so I decided to try the product for myself. I started off by having problems with the tube of the cream itself because I had to cover a large portion of my face with the cream, I get a lot of facial hair and wanted to try it on all areas. I went through a whole tube and when I was trying to get the product out once half way through the tube the cream had a hard time coming out and I wasted a bit because it would shoot out eventually. I then left the cream on for the full 10 minutes which is the maximum time. When I removed it I notice no hair coming off and in some areas my skin was irritated. I had high hopes for this product and was very disappointed. I will not be purchasing it again and will need to find another way to make the hair disappear for longer then shaving.

Aline
London, On
FYI
12/10/2011

Customer review by bubblegum

3.0 stars 12/10/2011 by bubblegum
by bubblegum

I just want to say, seeing that half of the reviews love this and half say they hated it, that not all facial hair is the same. Not all will reacted the same. I have facial hair because of a hormonal imbalance. When I go to get it waxed, the hair on my chin and neck does not come off! They have to pluck it off! Also, the hair on my lip and chin and neck grows back in 2 days, while my eye brows grow back in 2 weeks, which is what is supposed to happen. Also, my facial hair is black and coarse! I have been using Olay products for 10 years now and have never been let down! So for the ones that this product did not work, please do not say that it was a waste of money. You took a chance on a product to remove your facial hair that,for many of us woman, is a daily frustration. By reading the other reviews, it worked great for many, just not on your type of facial hair.

bubblegum
smalltown
Skin type:Combination
Absolutely no difference
9/23/2016

Customer review by ShelljH5

1.0 stars 9/23/2016 by ShelljH5
by ShelljH5

I have coarse hair on my chin so I was excited to use this product. After waiting the 8 minutes I wiped it off and....nothing...absolutely no difference. So disappointing

ShelljH5
Rochester, NY
Would recommend to a friend? No
Skin type:Normal
Very, Very Satisfied
1/7/2014

Customer review by finngirl

5.0 stars 1/7/2014 by finngirl
by finngirl

Duo removed every bit of the blonde peach fuzz on my upper lip, chin, cheeks and jaw. I used my facial features as landmarks to avoid overlapping application. My skin is sensitive and many products cause redness, tingling, itching, etc . I had nothing like that after using Duo. The active ingredient in this product is related to the thio used in perms, which breaks down the chemical bonds in the hair and weakens it and causes the odor mentioned by some reviewers. I used to be a cosmetologist so I was expecting perm odor but there was just an undertone of that. I actually thought the overall smell was rather pleasant. I removed the product with pure cotton balls and found that I needed to turn the cotton and use a fresh surface with each swipe. Product buildup on the cotton ball impeded hair removal but a fresh surface provided enough "friction" to remove all of the hair. After taking a medication 20 years ago which caused excess facial hair growth, I have tried to avoid talking to people while standing in the sun because I could always see them looking at the fuzz on my face. I am so pleased, and I highly recommend this product!

finngirl
Gentle but effective!!
8/9/2012

Customer review by SamSam

5.0 stars 8/9/2012 by SamSam
by SamSam

I was skeptical about trying this product at first. It's quite a bit more expensive than other home kits, and I'm always a little scared to try a new hair removal product because you never really know how your skin will react. But I am SO GLAD I went for it. I bought my first kit a month ago and have used it three times, and every time I was 100% happy with the results. My biggest problem area is my upper lip. I have naturally fair skin but my hair is dark and coarse, so most hair removal products basically burn my skin off but leave the hair intact. Wax strips also irritate my skin and make me break out. Since I started using Smooth Finish, though, all of those concerns have gone away. It actually does its job and REMOVES THE HAIR, which is all I really want it to do, but I also haven't had any redness or irritation. I thought I was taking a risk by putting this new product on my face and waiting to see what would happen, but it's probably one of the best choices I've ever made. As long as I keep getting the great results from Smooth Finish, I will happily spend the few extra bucks and never give a second glance to the products I've been using for years.

SamSam
Skin type:Combination
Love love love
8/20/2016

Customer review by Tiarra

5.0 stars 8/20/2016 by Tiarra
by Tiarra

I personally have not used this one, but I use the one for fine hair. (teal box) I absolutely love this product and am very upset because I cannot find any where any more. If anyone can tell me where to find it please contact me.

Tiarra
Alabama
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
New Favorite
8/2/2016

Customer review by momster8

4.0 stars 8/2/2016 by momster8
by momster8

While the cost of this is a bit more that some other brands, I find that it is worth it. The pre-treat balm helps protect my skin while the hair removal cream works its magic. The smell is not offensive either. This is a keeper! [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]

momster8
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Perfect Product!
1/14/2012

Customer review by TXblonde

5.0 stars 1/14/2012 by TXblonde
by TXblonde

I'm 30 years old and had been contemplating removing the blonde hairs on my upper lip for the first time in my life. I was nervous because of some negative reviews, but I trusted my positive past experience with Olay products and decided to go for it. The results are amazing! I followed the instructions and the hairs wiped right off. My upper lip is smooth and free of all hair! The product doesn't smell bad, hurt or cause any discomfort. I have sensitive skin and I have no irritation so far. The package says up to 12 uses, but I think it will last longer than that. I would say the negative results from others are because their hair is too dark or coarse. This product is designed for fine to medium hair. If you fit in that category, this is the product for you.

TXblonde
Texas
Skin type:Combination
Not bad!
1/3/2012

Customer review by ARQ90

4.0 stars 1/3/2012 by ARQ90
by ARQ90

Having used wax to remove facial hair, all my life I was really wary at first on purchasing and using this product. But after hearing people rave about it, I decided to give it a shot. Needless to say, I'm beating myself up for not using it before. The product itself is amazing. It really is gentle, doesn't irritate and definitely doesn't leave you breaking out. Another plus, is the fact that it takes under 10mins to use and doesn't require you to apply ice, to calm the redness, after using it. The only con, I would say, is the smell. It smells terrible. Fortunately, the stench doesn't stay for long but I really hope Olay can do something to change that in future products. So yeah, really good product, I love it and definitely sticking to it!.

ARQ90
Milford, CT
Skin type:Combination
Disappointed
1/3/2013

Customer review by LL0307

1.0 stars 1/3/2013 by LL0307
by LL0307

I had really high expectations for this product, but it was a disappointment. I have used depilatory creams from other brands in the past, but I have always had to discontinue use. Although these other products worked at removing my hair, they always irritated or burned my skin. Trusting the Olay brand I did not hesitate to try this product even though it costs much more than similar products on the market. I carefully read and followed the directions, but the product only removed about two hairs and left all the rest. Wanting to give this product a fair chance, I tried it again several days later using a much thinner layer of the balm and this time nothing happened. For reference I left the cream on for ten minutes both times I used it.

LL0307
San Antonio, TX
Skin type:Combination
1-20 of 185 total reviews
1-20 of 185 reviews