Back

Customer Reviews

Average rating: 3.3out of 5 stars
3.3 out of 5 | 206 reviews
5 stars
84
4 stars
33
3 stars
11
2 stars
14
1 stars
64
Sort by: 
1-20 of 192 reviews
1-20 of 192 reviews
hair removal kit
10/5/2017
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
some people say this facial hair product is too expensive. I prefer this product to other less expensive ones no odors no harsh after burn quickly removes hair the other products I have tried sometimes need a longer time on skin to work. this results in red bee sting looking skin for days. try this one and you'll be back
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Amazing Hair Remover!
9/28/2011
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
This product is absolutely terrific for removal of facial hair! After trying all sorts of hair removal products that irritated my skin and smelled terrible, Olay Smooth Finish Facial Hair Removal Duo is nothing short of a miracle! Step 1 (the protective balm) prepares, mositurizes, and protects your skin. Step 2 (hair removal cream) removes hair gently, without burning and/or irritating your skin and without that horrible hair remover smell. Your skin feels calm, soft and smooth after use. WHAT A WONDERFUL PRODUCT!!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (123)No (16)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Great hair removal for your face.
8/31/2017
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Great hair removal for your face. I use it on my upper lip & chin area. Sometimes I use it all over my face. Great product. I used it for over 5 yrs.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (2)No (1)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Fantastic!!!!!!
10/3/2011
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
This was so easy to use. It worked just like Olay said it would. No smell, no burning and no irritation at all. Best of all...no pain! In 10 minutes every hair was completely gone. One week later, still smooth. When I waxed I needed to do it at least once a week. This is so easy. Just be sure to apply a thick coat of the cream and extend the balm further than you need. Walmart seems to be the only store around, right now, that is selling it in the store. Not sure when I'll have to do it again. Still anything over a week, is a gift.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (125)No (18)
Report
Was this review helpful?
8/24/2011
Average rating:2out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Maybe it's just for the upper lip, because it did nothing for my chin hair. I was disappointed because I use many olay products and love them.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (229)No (26)
Report
Was this review helpful?
8/26/2011
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I love Olay products, I wish that they were cheaper as I am stretched to keep using them. More coupons would be good. This product works very well to prevent skin burn, the barrier that it forms is the very best that I have ever used.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (106)No (18)
Report
Was this review helpful?
5/22/2012
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I have read a lot of review for this product and a lot of people said it did not work for them. It had either burn their skin or did not remove any hair. So I wasn't sure if I should buy the product but I'm glad I did! it worked perfectly find for me, there's no burning and no pain, it didn't get all the hair but not that noticeable, it could be the way I applied the product, maybe not enough time or product on the hair. My skin type is fair to medium and my hair type on the upper lip is medium. I was really afraid to try the product due to the reviews i've read online. So before I tried the product on my upper lip I test it on 2 different spot on my body. 1st i tried it on my forearm, the hair there is Fine. Then I tried it on my leg, a spot near the ankle, hair there is coarse. It worked in both spot but didn't work so well for coarse hair. But the box did say its for "FINE TO MEDIUM HAIR". So I finally got the courage to try it. But i've read somewhere that shower first to soften the hair then use the product. I even youtube it to see how people applied it on your upper lip. Its very important to follow the instruction perfectly. Everyone is different so you won't know if a product is for you unless you tried it first, don't take peoples word for it.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (18)No (4)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Love this product
1/5/2012
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I've had problems with facial hair for a long time on my chin and cheeks. I have been twee-zing which I hate but it's a better option than shaving and I don't have a lot of extra money for laser hair removal, so when I saw Olay Smooth Finish Hair Removal advertised in a magazine I thought I would try it. I've used it twice now and each time it has removed hair, not all but a lot. Of course I only left if on for 8 minutes both times so next time I will try for the full 10 minutes. It hasn't irritated my skin which I was really worried about and the smell isn't the best but I can live with it if I never have to use tweezers again to get rid of my facial hair. Have already recommended to my sister and have no problems recommending to my friends.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (13)No (3)
Report
Was this review helpful?
1/22/2012
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Works great on unwanted facial hair! as with other hair remover products, if you have previously shaved the hair and it is only "stubble" it wont get rid of it. I'm convinced that it's because the layer of protective cream. but if you wait for it to grow out just a little bit more, it works fabulously! no burn, and most importantly, no hair!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (13)No (1)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Works great!
11/12/2011
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Finally!! a product that works as it claims! I have a lot of facial hair, light/blond, but I hate it and was constantly tweezing and sometimes even trimming it off. I have sensitive skin so I didn't dare use the regular hair removers. This product is wonderful, you put on the skin protectant (kind of like chapstick) and it protects your skin....and the hair is gone! Works pretty quickly too! Kinda pricey, but worth every penny for smooth skin! Keep the hair remover cream on the area you have put the protectant on, it is pretty strong.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (25)No (6)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Fast and Easy!
10/6/2011
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Walmart associate
I don't have time going to salon, so I just got this Olay Smooth Finish Hair Removal and I love it. It saves me so much time and money. The first step is to use the balm to protect your skin. Then use the second tube to put on the hair removal cream. Leave for 5-8 minutes and then scrub off. That easy and fast!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (36)No (8)
Report
Was this review helpful?
3/6/2012
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I purchased this product and was disappointed, the good thing is it doesn't burn the face, other than that not much to say except it does not work,you have to use it 2 or 3 times to get the hair completely off. It costs too much to have to use it that many times at once.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (8)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
I really love this product!
11/25/2011
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I love this product! IT IS VERY GENTLE ON MY SENSITIVE SKIN AND ACTUALLY REMOVED THE HAIR ON MY UPPER LIP ON THE FIRST TRY! The price is great, it is very easy to use and at a price I am happy to pay. Thank you Olay.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (9)No (1)
Report
Was this review helpful?
I have very sensitive skin, after I used it no red
4/2/2012
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
People with sensitive skin don't be afraid to use it, no burn, no red, works great.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (5)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
It's About Time
10/12/2013
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I used the original formula for fine-to-medium hair (turquois stripe). But, the newer duo is for coarser, more resilient hair (magenta stripe). I even tried applying petroleum jelly before depilatory creams, once. The jelly just blocked the cream completely and nothing happened. So, I was excited to try this "guarding balm" before applying the cream. I always rub the balm wider than needed (and apply the cream only where it's needed) to provide more protection. The balm is thin enough to allow the cream to work, but tough enough to prevent chemical burns!!! After 5 minutes, I remove both products with a WARM damp (not soaked) paper towel. Then I rinse, while GENTLY rubbing the treated area with my fingers. I pat dry and apply a gentle moisturizer. Do NOT use a toner, a retinoid or an acne treatment on you hair removal days. If you need to leave the product on longer than the allotted 8 minutes, try the stronger formula. I didn't experience any discomfort or irritation. But if one formula irritates you, try the gentler one next time.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Product does what it say's.
7/9/2017
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
As a lady in my 60's, had my face waxed on regular basis, after began growing light beard. Didn't like discomfort with waxing, but it worked. After reading abt. "Olay Facial Hair Removal Duo," decided to try it. Have been extremely pleased! Baum Protector's wonderful! Found wasn't necessary using a thick coat of hair removal creme. NO offensive smell, as some hair removals have. As long as it keeps on doing what it says, NO more waxing! Even my husband was impressed with results.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Much better than plucking!!
11/5/2011
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I will use this product again. I have only used it once so far, but it worked very well on my upper lip. I thought it might be a "one use" product, but I would guess there is enough to use it 5 times or more. The only thing negitive about it is that it made me feel like I shaved....you know stubble.....but it only bugged me for a few days and my husband has a mustache anyway so he couldn't feel it....hehe....so it's all good! I'm guessing I'll have to use it once a month, so for the price, that's not too bad. NO MORE PLUCKING!!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (12)No (6)
Report
Was this review helpful?
African american with black facial hair. It works.
11/1/2012
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
I am african american and I have fine black facial hair. I wanted something to remove my mustache and I didn't want to wax. The product was a bit pricey and I wasn't hopeful that it would work due to the bad reviews. I gave it a try anyway and am happy that I did so. While it didn't remove all of the hair it did remove most of it and the little thats left is 2 small spots that are hard to see. Unfurtunately you have to wait 72 hours before you reapply it and the smell isn't great. I will purchase this product again.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (3)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
2/10/2012
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
this was a first time try with a product for facial hair. i followed instructions to the letter, making sure to use ample amount of removal cream, and keeping it on for full amount of time. the hair on my upper lip is light, not coarse, there is just a lot of it and tweezing is not a great way to deal with the removal. i was very pleased with the results! smooth as silk, no redness or irritation, or pain(as is waxing). process will have to be repeated approx every 4weeks due to regrowth but i do think i will get about 4-6 treatments out of this kit. that value is remarkable for under $25!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (5)No (2)
Report
Was this review helpful?
7/5/2012
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
The product did not remove the facial hair as advertised. I tried it twice and left it on for an extended amount of time, but it did not remove the fine hairs over my top lip.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (11)No (5)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Electrode, Comp-184643925, DC-prod-dal4, ENV-prod-a, PROF-PROD, VER-8.12.5, SHA-f8bb53b0cf6e9da799126d89d3bcede34110bf32, CID-