Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 8 reviews | 4 out of 5

4.0 stars

8 reviews | 4 out of 5

4.0 stars

8 reviews | 4 out of 5

88%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
4
4 stars
2
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 stars
1
1-8 of 8 total reviews
88%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

Excellent freezer for RV use
6/23/2012

Customer review by CollieWagon

5.0 stars 6/23/2012 by CollieWagon
by CollieWagon

I live in a Travel Trailer. This freezer fit through my 20 inch door with room to spare, and occupies one dinette seat. There are some sharp edges on the back, so be careful how you pick it up. It is very quiet (I can't hear it at all over the other fans running in the trailer) and made ice cubes in only a few hours. I have the temperature set to the factory recommended halfway and my ice cream is firm, but not rock hard. The door seems to seal as well as a household freezer. No visible frost yet, but I've only been running it a few weeks. The lock appears fairly sturdy, so it should hold the door closed when you're on the road. I emailed Sunpentown's tech support, and they promptly replied that the compressor draws 1.2 amps when running. It's quiet enough that I can't tell how often it cycles, but I'm hopeful that I may be able to eventually get a big enough Solar power system to run it off the grid. The Haier 1.3 cu. ft. model seems to be the closest competition and is about $50 cheaper. The Sunpentown is 2 inches narrower on the outside and holds 15% more on the inside (smaller compressor? more compact insulation?). Please note that about a quarter of either freezer is taken up by the compressor, so the top shelf goes all the way back and the bottom shelf is very shallow. The Sunpentown arrived very well packed, with no scratches or dents (apparently this is a problem with the Haier freezers). The 17.75 inch width was the deciding factor for my little trailer, but I'm very pleased with the Sunpentown so far. I'm guessing the durability will be OK, but that's just based on the fact that it appears to be well made.

Was this review helpful? (42) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
CollieWagon
Tyler, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
works great
7/31/2012

Customer review by OFRSolar

5.0 stars 7/31/2012 by OFRSolar
by OFRSolar

We are running this off solar power and you barely know its plugged in. Draws very little power and freezes very fast.

Was this review helpful? (13) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
OFRSolar
Southern Utah
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
6/7/2013

Customer review by emmajoe

5.0 stars 6/7/2013 by emmajoe
by emmajoe

This little freezer works great. It is idea for small spaces and freezes within a couple of hours. I would highly recommend it and have no complaints. I have only had it for a month, but am glad I bought it .

Was this review helpful? (9) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
emmajoe
spring,tx
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great addition to out rv
8/22/2012

Customer review by imkat

4.0 stars 8/22/2012 by imkat
by imkat

We love fishing trips and it is nice to have the extra freezer space for the fish we catch..it frees up the inside freezer for food and gives us added room outside for our catch of the day!!

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
imkat
NM
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per month
Serves the Purpose
11/19/2014

Customer review by Pagara

4.0 stars 11/19/2014 by Pagara
by Pagara

I've only had this mini-freezer for a few weeks. Before purchasing it I did check out reviews from other customers who'd already purchased the freezer. Therefore, I knew that the compressor would take up half of one of the 2 shelves. However, it has given me enough extra freezer space to make the purchase worth the expense. As stated in a previous review it is very quiet and I hardly know it is running. Also, it's size is compact enough that I found placing it on top of my refrigerator was a good solution to having a small apartment where extra space for appliances can be a challenge. Since buying the mini-freezer I'd stocked up with a pot of chili and I know I can now buy a turkey this Thanksgiving because I have the room for it in the freezer.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Pagara
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
3/13/2013

Customer review by jecain

3.0 stars 3/13/2013 by jecain
by jecain

First of all, the freezer does not have the advertised capacity. It is a l.l cubic foot freezer, not l.5. Had I known, I would have bought the 1.3 Haier, which was less expensive. I don't know if this constitutes false advertising, or is an honest mistake. I did not want to go through the hassle of exchanging it, so I kept it and it performs very well. I would, however, like to have the extra space I thought I was getting. It is quiet, and so far keeps everything frozen solidly.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
jecain
Abingdon, MD
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Nirad
1/29/2013

Customer review by Niradskcaj

1.0 stars 1/29/2013 by Niradskcaj
by Niradskcaj

The freezer is making a loud rattling sound. I may have to return it.

Was this review helpful? (2) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Niradskcaj
Vancouver
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
excelent
1/12/2015

Customer review by CROHR

5.0 stars 1/12/2015 by CROHR
by CROHR

good stuff

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
CROHR
Would recommend to a friend? Yes