Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 75 reviews | 2.5 out of 5

2.5 stars

75 reviews | 2.5 out of 5

2.5 stars

75 reviews | 2.5 out of 5

39%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
13
4 stars
10
3 stars
10
2 stars
13
1 stars
29
1-20 of 69 total reviews
39%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 69 total reviews
1-20 of 69 reviews
GREAT PHONE!
6/23/2011

Customer review by GL84010

5.0 stars 6/23/2011 by GL84010
by GL84010

I love it. Includes free 2GB microSD card.

Was this review helpful? (61) (10)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
GL84010
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
6/18/2011

Customer review by THEGREENHOUSE

3.0 stars 6/18/2011 by THEGREENHOUSE
by THEGREENHOUSE

this phone has difficult to read instruction for a older person. some fetures you have to discover your self they do not say all the fetures in the booklet. the radio does work you need a certain type of headphones that are mono not STEREO! for the phone fetures. the first time i got this new unit it was a bear to get to work. when you transfer your number over you have to shut the phone off then turn it back on and you might have to call customer services they will walk you though that proccess do not be alarmed if it says at first you have no time minutes the customer service will work with you till you get it working

Was this review helpful? (95) (25)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
THEGREENHOUSE
barstow
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
7/25/2011

Customer review by garfield2011

1.0 stars 7/25/2011 by garfield2011
by garfield2011

Nice looking phone, nice features but the first one I had to take back because the micro sd card could not be read. I also could not use the phone inside my house. Now you may say that well sometimes this happens but my wife has a samsung straight talk phone and she is never without service inside our house. I swapped the phone at wal mart and the second one does the same thing, no service inside my house. But the sd card does work on this phone and does come out with minimal ease. Also what I have noticed is that I can have 2 or 3 bars and when I go to hit contacts and dial the bars go away, this happened on the first and also the replacement phone. Therefore I am not happy at all...

Was this review helpful? (51) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
garfield2011
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
9/13/2011

Customer review by Ciboloman

5.0 stars 9/13/2011 by Ciboloman
by Ciboloman

So far so good. Had a few problems porting my old number to this phone, but the great (Anne) WalMart associate at the North Vegas (Craig Rd) went the extra mile and fixed the problem. And with a smile too. Switched from Metro PCS because of far to many dropped calls and horrible customer service... Straight Talk, not a dropped call yet, and the customer service is not perfect, but a ton better than Metro PCS. The manual for the Motorola 418 GSM is lacking on clarity in most areas... took a bit to get the settings the way I like them. Also, there isn't a standard (home style phone) ringtone, just music ringtones. And the Straight Talk store has little to offer in that department for us old folks who prefer a good old standard house phone ringtone. Call clarity is top notch so far. Battery life is acceptable (better than Metro PCS phones). If you want a good basic cell phone with great in call clarity, this is the one. If the service continues to be this good through the end of the month, I will be upgrading to one of them fancy phones Straight Talk offers... the ones you need a college education ( or six year old handy) to operate.

Was this review helpful? (31) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Ciboloman
Las Vegas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
AWESOME PRICING FOR AN EASY TO USE CELLULAR PHONE
6/1/2012

Customer review by SheBandit

5.0 stars 6/1/2012 by SheBandit
by SheBandit

This is a VERY EASY TO USE, NO FRILLS ( BUT it does have a good MP3 player, call waiting AND CALLER IDENTIFICATION ) CELLULAR Phone. Perfect for those who simply want it for making phone calls and sending text messages ( YES...YOU CAN SEND PHOTO MESSAGES! ) The price of this phone is very low and varies , right now, if you are not store comparison pricing and want to buy, IT IS FREE , yes FREE, if you purchase a 1 month useage plan ( $35 a month for 1000 calling minutes/1000 text messages or $45 a month for 100% UNLIMITED USE !! ) I suggest to anyone who has the $30 bucks and a plastic card they can use online or on the phone to call Wallmarts STRAIGHT TALK and take advantage of it for an older parent, grandparent, or CHILD ( GREAT first cell phone to give your kids for safety! ) and purchase a months use and get this exact cell phone for FREE while it is still available. If you miss it or want to pay by cash or check , it is a DECENT PURCHASE at ANY WALMART for under $20-$35 bucks, depending on the Walmart you go to ( yes, if you have more than one store close, check them all..you can save up to $20 on this cell phone ! ) ANYWAY IT GOES, IF YOU WANT A SIMPLE CELL PHONE ( with some added bonus features of a more expensive phone ) GET THIS ONE WHILE YOU STILL CAN FOR YOURSELF , YOUR CHILDREN, or OTHER FAMILY MEMBERS ! I have 5 of this model, the coverage area is great , I have used it all over the United States and in Toronto Canada! ) You will not regret or go wrong with this phone, especially if you go to the STRAIGHT TALK online site and get it for FREE ..... $0.00 .... !!!!!

Was this review helpful? (19) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
SheBandit
Great Lakes Region, OHIO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
!!!!!!!!!DO NOT BUY THIS PHONE!!!!!!!!!!
10/12/2011

Customer review by cherhal

1.0 stars 10/12/2011 by cherhal
by cherhal

What an incredible piece of garbage! Sound quality is terrible! It gets no signal when indoors! Everything you want to do takes at least 3 steps more than any other phone! I was looking for inexpensive.....what I got was CHEAP! I've owned quite a few phones and some have been better than others, but this one is terrible! I litterally have to stand outside in the middle of my yard to make a phone call. It drops calls, you can't hear or understand what anyone is saying, the speaker phone is terrible! I will replace this with an LG phone. It cost a little more so I bought this piece of junk. I have always liked LG phones, but every now and then I get something a little cheaper, and it makes me appreciate the quality and durability of all of the LG phones I've had.

Was this review helpful? (19) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
cherhal
Savannah, GA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Was hoping for more.
7/23/2011

Customer review by ldm312

3.0 stars 7/23/2011 by ldm312
by ldm312

If you do a lot of texting you may not like this phone. I like using t9 and there isn't a way to add words into it's dictionary. So I find myself switching back and forth just to type in names etc that the dictionary doesn't have. Selecting who you want to send to takes many more steps than my old phone as well. Web on this phone is pretty slow and not friendly. You can not select ringers or pictures for individuals in your contact list. I'll be changing phones soon.

Was this review helpful? (17) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ldm312
Missouri
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great Basic Phone With Extras
6/30/2012

Customer review by JACB

5.0 stars 6/30/2012 by JACB
by JACB

The people on here whining about texting and such should know that a flip phone without a keyboard is not the easiest thing to text from. That said, it CAN be done. MP3 player - FM radio. It takes a bit to set these things up. But once you have everything set the way you want it, both the MP3 player AND the FM radio work great. If you want the features of an iPhone, then buy an iPhone and quit whining about the basic features of this Motorola. Jeez. Read before you buy. As for the people who go from the Verizon network to the AT&T network and do not realize it is going to happen, you do not need to be on Straight Talk as you apparently do not know what you are doing. You get what you pay for. This is a good basic phone.

Was this review helpful? (11) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
JACB
N.E. Hickory, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Wonderful Service & Product...
7/9/2011

Customer review by Stickboy102

5.0 stars 7/9/2011 by Stickboy102
by Stickboy102

I got my product as soon as 2 days after I placed the order...This product is everything that I wanted from a Straight Talk Cell Phone for a low price...I even like the fact that it is better than my family's Straight Talk Cell Phones...Thanks Wal-Mart for being a Wonderful Store for me to shop at and for giving me a Wonderful Experience every time I order something !!!!

Was this review helpful? (22) (12)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Stickboy102
Humboldt, KS 66748
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Quick buy while porting #
10/23/2011

Customer review by HIATUS247

4.0 stars 10/23/2011 by HIATUS247
by HIATUS247

I decided to finally shop around for a different cell phone/plan/carrier since my Sprint contract is over. My need was to keep my current cell #, lower $ that I pay monthly, and get better coverage. Well after reviewing Straight Talk and going off of 2 personal friends' recommendations; I decided to hurry and port my current cell number before my next bill cycled with SPRINT 24OCT; I purchased this cell because it was the only one available in my price range in the local Walmart you still have 15days to return the phone to any Walmarts (minutes not refundable). First, the port went thru in 10minutes I did have to power my phone off and on. Since this phone is on a GSM the calls will not be great you can tell by the letter in the name of the cell example "MOTO W418G", or for a CDMA network (which is Verizon and is well known for the great coverage) "LG 220C", also ask the sales associate, or read the details of the phone online to see if it is a GSM or CDMA. I then continued to shop for a phone that is on a "CDMA" online. It's free to ship to your Walmart of choice, (still in my price range, but with more features that I want/need). I was paying SPRINT $79.99 + $7/ for insurance (which I still had a $100 deductible,) $8 road side assitance (don't know why I have this I have it thru my bank,) 411 charges applied, and taxes my bill is way over $100 . This phone will only cost me $45/taxes a month unlimited everything ($30 if I need to adjust my spending month to month,) plus I will add the $9 one time warranty option, I am actually happy that I am making this change and I am embarrassed to think of all the money I have wasted over the years with SPRINT...So, research to find a handset that you Need, and if and when your ready upgrade to accommodate your wants. Looking forward to a long inexpensive relationship with Straight Talk!

Was this review helpful? (10) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
HIATUS247
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Bad Reception
10/2/2011

Customer review by TrueGenius

3.0 stars 10/2/2011 by TrueGenius
by TrueGenius

On Walmart.com, you can put in your zip code to make sure the phone works in your area. I put in my zip code, as well as the zip codes around the peninsula, all of which the website said I would get coverage in. However, I did not get service in a couple of the places I needed it most - even after checking BEFORE I purchased the phone. *Keep your reciept! Walmart will take it back if you have the same thing happen to you.

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
TrueGenius
Hampton Roads, VA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
VERY Basic Phone
11/21/2011

Customer review by mossmouse

2.0 stars 11/21/2011 by mossmouse
by mossmouse

This phone has great battery life and would be fine for someone who ONLY makes phone calls. Text messaging is another thing. Receiving picture messages is like pulling teeth, the size limit is somewhere around 300k and it will take you several minutes to download a picture message, if it will download it at all. Most pictures will fail. My husband bought a Samsung Straight Talk phone and he has no problems getting pictures so I think I will be upgrading. The camera is a bit difficult to navigate. It would be nice if it came with a full manual but it doesn't. The quality of the phone itself feels cheap, very lightweight and doesn't feel like it would hold up to much use.

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
mossmouse
Wisconsin
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
12/18/2011

Customer review by ShopAholic037

1.0 stars 12/18/2011 by ShopAholic037
by ShopAholic037

I purchased 2 of these phones but by mistake didnt purchase the replacement a lil over a month of owning on one the main screen quit working couldnt see missed calls, text,& so forth all you could see was the light no options, the front screen still worked where you could see who was calling at the time of the call but if you missed a call or got a text they were just missed.The other one within approx. 1 1/2 weeks same thing happened.These were not refrubished they were bought new from the store.I rate them as total junk would not waste my money!!!!

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ShopAholic037
WV
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great phone
6/26/2012

Customer review by Grady11

4.0 stars 6/26/2012 by Grady11
by Grady11

If you want a cellphone with all the bells and whistles, this is not for you. It is pretty basic. I make calls. So if you text, want pictures, mp3 and all that, you should get something more. I had Boost for a few years. Would still have it, if it worked in this area. But it did not. Soooooooo talked to Walmart employee, who was awesome and knowledgeable. Helped get me up and running immediately. If you ever have a problem and call straighttalk. Well, they are generally less than helpful. Their attitude is, its not guaranteed to work all the time. I did remind them, that I was not guaranteed, to continue using their service (or lack there of). Well within minutes, my phone magically was working right again. Other than straightalk, my experience with phone has been awesome. I would replace with same should I break or lose this one. Hope that helps you in deciding.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Grady11
Savannah TN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Has one VERY important feature...
11/19/2011

Customer review by ImisstheoldWalMart

3.0 stars 11/19/2011 by ImisstheoldWalMart
by ImisstheoldWalMart

This Motorola 418g has an airtime meter, showing minutes remaining, expiration date, remaining available messages, and remaining minutes of internet. This is important to me, because I don't want to spend more than $30 monthly and this allows me to budget my airtime. On other models, you have to squander airtime calling StraightTalk to get your balance. Unfortunately this phone also has an external volume rocker switch. When working, driving, or sometimes just walking, the volume switch is beeping away, as it gets bumped in my pocket. Without your knowledge, it can turn the volume so low that you cannot hear the ringtone. I've had a lot of calls go straight to voice mail, because the phone has turned down the ring volume. Also, I miss a lot of calls with the poor GSM coverage in my area. I got a USB cord for it on eBay, so I can download ringtones, music, etc. from my computer. The full Motorola 418g manual is available on line. I'm still shopping around for an alternative, as Straight Talk customer service is lousy.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ImisstheoldWalMart
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
1/2/2012

Customer review by simpleminded1

5.0 stars 1/2/2012 by simpleminded1
by simpleminded1

I've had this phone and service for about a month (switching from Sprint) and I am very happy and pleased with it.....easy to use and the price is right! The only down side is the manual that it comes with is too vague....to get a more "in depth" manual you have to go online....I emailed StraightTalk asking for a "hard copy" to be sent "snail mail" to me and they just sent me the version which is online....there is also an icon on the home page that I can't figure out what it means and StraightTalk told me to call them and they will help me out........SO....for the cost,,,it's well worth it.......I should've got this sooner.....

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
simpleminded1
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
It's just Okay
6/20/2012

Customer review by SparkyTX

3.0 stars 6/20/2012 by SparkyTX
by SparkyTX

I had an AT&T IPhone before this one, while I miss all the added features of my IPhone, I don't miss the cost. Really, all I did was make calls and sent some texts, so this little Motorola does just fine. I forgot about the effort it takes to send a text with a phone that just has the phone dial pad for texting, so I've cut down on that. Good volume, good reception, does the job. Wish the phone had some other ring tones for someone from my generation, but hey, kids think I'm cool! The dark numbers on the dark keys weren't the best idea in low light settings. I really don't know why they bother offering data and internet access on these small phones, not gonna do it, just not gonna!

Was this review helpful? (6) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
SparkyTX
Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Only worked 1 month!!
10/20/2011

Customer review by nknikki

2.0 stars 10/20/2011 by nknikki
by nknikki

We have had 2 other straight talk phones by Samsung and no problems. This Motorola phone stopped working 3 days after we refilled it for the second month. After 4 phone calls to technical service and phone only worked intermittently for 6 days, then they decide to send me a replacement phone. FYI if you need a replacement they send you a shipping label thru snail mail to send the non working phone back. When they receive the old phone THEN they will send you the replacement. Keep in mind the whole time that you are without a working phone! They will credit you the days but with a teenager this was like the end of the world. I will rate the second phone when ever we get it. Like I said no problems with the Samsung phones.

Was this review helpful? (6) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
nknikki
Tennessee
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
12/22/2011

Customer review by dadof4gs1

5.0 stars 12/22/2011 by dadof4gs1
by dadof4gs1

The phone has great service. Has met all expectations. Would highly recommend!!

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
dadof4gs1
Perkins,GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great phone for the Price
5/20/2012

Customer review by TheFamilyC

4.0 stars 5/20/2012 by TheFamilyC
by TheFamilyC

The Only Problem I have ever had was that it took alittle Longer to get on the Net then anyones elses. Besides that I love/loved this phone i have had it for over a year and it is just now starting to mess up we use it for everything i mean it is opened and closed prob more than a 1000 times aday, My son has Sprint and has went throught 7 of there phones compared to my one .

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
TheFamilyC
Tennessee
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 69 total reviews
1-20 of 69 reviews