Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 20 reviews | 3 out of 5

3.0 stars

20 reviews | 3 out of 5

3.0 stars

20 reviews | 3 out of 5

60%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
3
4 stars
5
3 stars
5
2 stars
2
1 stars
5
1-18 of 18 total reviews
60%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

Terrible Kit
2/19/2012

Customer review by Capsic

1.0 stars 2/19/2012 by Capsic
by Capsic

While this appears to be a decent kit for the price, the quality is TERRIBLE! After using one time, the box became warped (very thin wood, if you can call it that), the parts don't fit together very well and are very sloppy. A total waste of money. I would definetly pass on this one. Great idea though, just doesn't deliver. Winchester should be embarassed to have their name on this product.

Was this review helpful? (45) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Capsic
Would recommend to a friend? No
OK for the $
3/12/2012

Customer review by L8BLOOMER

3.0 stars 3/12/2012 by L8BLOOMER
by L8BLOOMER

1st let me say that I really don't like single task items...with the exception of a fire extinguisher. I wanted a multi-use kit & because of the price I wasn't expecting much. I have used it on a .45 1911, 12 & 20 ga 870, & a .30 cal rifle. It took a little trial & error to see which fittings worked the best, but I have found a pretty good combo for each. I've found the brass brushed to work well & they've been able to thoroughly clean everything I've used it on...sometimes it requires a little elbow grease though. I also clean pretty regularly, so there isn't lots of buildup on my firearms. My biggest complaint is that the pieces need to be tightened between cleaning strokes & if you forget, they'll sometimes come apart. So, you pick them up & screw them back in. I also fear pushing to hard or quickly & causing the rods to bend/or break. For the $$ & as an entry level, multi-use set, it's adequate.

Was this review helpful? (23) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
L8BLOOMER
Fresno, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
A fine beginners kit
4/23/2012

Customer review by fisheh

3.0 stars 4/23/2012 by fisheh
by fisheh

I don't think there is a more versatile kit out there for the price($16-ish). The wood case is decent and is easy to keep organized. No solvents or oils are included with this kit, but for an extra 7-10 bucks you can pick those up and have a complete kit for around $20-25. I have used this cleaning kit on a .40 S&W carbine and a .22 rifle. My only complaints are that there is no nylon brush included and the cheapo cleaning pads are pretty much worthless.

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
fisheh
Oconomowoc,WI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
great price for an amazing product
8/22/2012

Customer review by sharpshooting

4.0 stars 8/22/2012 by sharpshooting
by sharpshooting

The cleaning kit is awsome you can clean any gun. The box you get is not heavy duty but it works, and you do need to buy bore cleaner solvent and clp (clean lubricat preservative)other than that you cant get more for your money. I would definitely recoment it to family and friends.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
sharpshooting
Hamlin NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Total Junk
12/31/2012

Customer review by JustShootin4Fun

1.0 stars 12/31/2012 by JustShootin4Fun
by JustShootin4Fun

After cleaning one gun with the .22 brush, I found that the brush had pulled out of the crimp attaching it to the threaded boss enough that the brush would no longer fit into the case. I then began cleaning my .308 with the .30 cal brush and the brush pulled out of the crimp on the second stroke, leaving the brush stuck halfway down the bore of the gun...yeah that was real fun to get out! Don't waste your time or money on this kit. I'm bringing mine back to Wally World.

Was this review helpful? (4) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
JustShootin4Fun
Ithaca, NY
Would recommend to a friend? No
missing items
6/1/2013

Customer review by rylayne48

4.0 stars 6/1/2013 by rylayne48
by rylayne48

This kit has everything to clean and take care of any gun. But, it should have oil and Bore cleaner included in the set. Thats another 2 items you have to BUY seperate so I can't give it a 5 on anything.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
rylayne48
Pennington Gap, VA.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
for the money cant beat it.
12/28/2013

Customer review by blueollar

4.0 stars 12/28/2013 by blueollar
by blueollar

Its not the best cleaning kit. But I bought an Otis kit for twice as much and it hasn't been used since besides the pics. I think for the money you can't go wrong. And since its a lot cheaper than many kits what you don't have u can buy.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
blueollar
illinois valley
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
Decent value for the price
6/8/2013

Customer review by jesseinfoley

4.0 stars 6/8/2013 by jesseinfoley
by jesseinfoley

It comes with all the adapters you'll need. It's not super high quality but then it's very inexpensive. I was more than happy with this item.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
jesseinfoley
alabama
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Don't waste your money
2/3/2014

Customer review by hurricane92

1.0 stars 2/3/2014 by hurricane92
by hurricane92

To begin with the 12 ga bore mop will no fit in the barrel. It my be possible to force it, just not with the cleaning rod provided. It would take a much more substantial cleaning rod. To swab the bore I used one of the provided cleaning patches wrapped around the bore brush and the patch disintegrated as though it were made of paper. Spend a few more bucks and find a better cleaning kit, your gun deserves it.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
hurricane92
central Florida
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
Not usable for multiple calibers.
11/30/2012

Customer review by Brandysbuff

2.0 stars 11/30/2012 by Brandysbuff
by Brandysbuff

Not as usable as advertised. Many properly sized items missing. Could at least supply a reasonable amount of patches in various sizes. It's hit and miss whether the kit will be usable to the buyer. I use some of the brushes a couple times a year, but prefer others I have purchased seperately. Proof positive that you get what you pay for.

Was this review helpful? (1) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Brandysbuff
Santa Ana, CA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
great tool
4/28/2014

Customer review by don62801

5.0 stars 4/28/2014 by don62801
by don62801

easy ordering - pay with paypal - no hassle - pleasant experience

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
don62801
centralia il
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
17 hmr owner stay !!!!!!!!!!
10/12/2012

Customer review by Franscio

1.0 stars 10/12/2012 by Franscio
by Franscio

I got this for .17 hmr,didt have thing that fit for.very sad. So if own .17 dont buy it.

Was this review helpful? (2) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Franscio
Would recommend to a friend? No
Walmart associate
Fair price for a good kit.
5/15/2014

Customer review by PIPELINER57

5.0 stars 5/15/2014 by PIPELINER57
by PIPELINER57

Very pleased with it. It was exactly what I expected. Granted the box is not made with old world craftsmanship. But what do you want for 19 bucks. I rubbed a little gun stock oil on it and figure it will last until I'm dead and gone. Very happy with it.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
PIPELINER57
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
4/1/2013

Customer review by scottom

4.0 stars 4/1/2013 by scottom
by scottom

It is a cheep kit and you get what you paid for.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
scottom
Phx. Az.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Frail and flimsy, I'd pass...
9/21/2014

Customer review by DaddyBiggs

3.0 stars 9/21/2014 by DaddyBiggs
by DaddyBiggs

OK at best for a casual shooter. Parts are weak and will easily cross-thread and bend. Sad Winchester put their name on this.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
DaddyBiggs
Would recommend to a friend? No
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
It works
8/31/2014

Customer review by AvidTrapShooter

3.0 stars 8/31/2014 by AvidTrapShooter
by AvidTrapShooter

The rods are not as bad as most reviewers have said, they are not great quality either. The brushes and mops are up to snuff with any of the other brands you would find on the shelf at gun stores. The jags aren't bad but should be made of metal. The loops are sized well for there job. Box is not amazing quality but it holds, the plastic insert is not as flimsy as I was expecting.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
AvidTrapShooter
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Not a great buy in my oppinion
11/25/2012

Customer review by Norm43920

2.0 stars 11/25/2012 by Norm43920
by Norm43920

No oils or grease comes with this so that was the first disappointment. The mop for 20 Ga Dosent even fit in the barrel. The 22 brush is too tight. The case is chincy. I wanted a kit to clean all my guns. This kit pretty much is worthless to me.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Norm43920
Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Stay away
5/31/2013

Customer review by jssect

1.0 stars 5/31/2013 by jssect
by jssect

Poor quality. Do not be fooled by the Winchester name.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
jssect
CT
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per year