Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 12 reviews | 2.8 out of 5

3.0 stars

12 reviews | 2.8 out of 5

3.0 stars

12 reviews | 2.8 out of 5

42%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
4
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
2
1 stars
5
1-12 of 12 total reviews
42%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

Failed at 18 months, not ill-used
2/12/2014

Customer review by OliverStreet

1.0 stars 2/12/2014 by OliverStreet
by OliverStreet

This battery was purchased 7/12 to replace a Mopar original battery from 2004 that had outlasted any reasonable expectations, so on the general principle that nothing lasts forever it was retired to sit on a trickle charger in the garage and an old spare boat battery was turned in to buy the new car battery. In the same vehicle, under the same operating conditions this Everstart Maxx battery has lasted exactly 19 months. It has a shorted cell and won't hold a full charge and goes 2v low almost instantly. It's a little irritating that I've had to reinstall the 10 year old Mopar battery to drive to Walmart to exchange the new Eversmart Maxx battery. You'd think that the premium price would have included the better structure and chemistry that keeps PbS crystals from forming and shorting out the plates so quickly. Well, I'm just hoping they've gotten tired of making free exchanges and improved the product in the last year and a half, but I wouldn't recommend what I bought to anyone.

Was this review helpful? (30) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
OliverStreet
Boston, MA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
2 years then dead
8/24/2015

Customer review by DDOUBLE2

1.0 stars 8/24/2015 by DDOUBLE2
by DDOUBLE2

The battery was almost 2 years old. Went out to start the car and nothing but click click click. Put the battery charger on it and it started the car. The next morning click click click - wouldn't start the car. This is August, it doesn't take a lot of energy to start a 3 ltr engine in hot weather. I couldn't believe the battery was the problem so I installed an old boat battery in the car (which worked fine for the past week and bought a battery tester to check the walmart battery. After a full charge it tested weak, the following morning it tested bad. I've never had a top of the line, heavy duty battery go bad in two years (or any battery for that matter). Especially a heavy duty battery in a light duty application. Now I find walmart is out of stock. Been waiting a week still out of stock, good thing I had an old boat battery. Nothing worse than having a defective product and no available replacement. Walmart is not the place to buy anything you might need replaced (under warranty) in a hurry!!!

Was this review helpful? (4) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
DDOUBLE2
Would recommend to a friend? No
Still going strong!!!
1/3/2016

Customer review by TheSmugOne

4.0 stars 1/3/2016 by TheSmugOne
by TheSmugOne

I bought this battery on 3/22/2014 to replace a stock GM battery and it's still going strong.I haven't had any problems yet.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
TheSmugOne
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
I had two of this model battery fail.
10/3/2013

Customer review by tjbsr2

1.0 stars 10/3/2013 by tjbsr2
by tjbsr2

My first maxx 34n failed in about 2 years. It was replaced with the same model under warranty. The second battery failed in two years and was not covered under warranty because the origional battery was purchased 4 years prior. I am 62 years old and have purchased many batteries. In my experience, even inexpensive batteries will last at least 3 years. I ended up purchasing a different brand of battery.

Was this review helpful? (104) (12)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
tjbsr2
Omaha, Ne
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Three batteries in less than a year
12/18/2013

Customer review by cjzam

1.0 stars 12/18/2013 by cjzam
by cjzam

Worst battery ever! Not pleasnt having to run into Walmart at 10 o'clock at night to trade in one piece of junk battery for another. I would not recommend this model, it's burned me too many times. Even though they consistently have replaced this under warranty it doesn't matter. The battery does not have enough cranking power. I had it measured and the battery loses it's power quickly. Don't know if they made a bad batch but every one of these failed. Bought an Interstate (which was $100 more ) and never had a problem.

Was this review helpful? (52) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
cjzam
Cranford, NJ
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
excellent battery
12/12/2015

Customer review by UpstateNySubbie

5.0 stars 12/12/2015 by UpstateNySubbie
by UpstateNySubbie

I'm surprised to read the negative reviews here. I have an EverStart Maxx 34N from early 2009 that's been in my Subaru Forester almost 7 years (upstate NY). It has been strong and is still going. Shopping for a new battery now since it's overdue! Maybe they changed the batteries since 2009.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
UpstateNySubbie
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
The Price Is Right...More bang For the Buck!
12/9/2015

Customer review by Bigaymonababy

5.0 stars 12/9/2015 by Bigaymonababy
by Bigaymonababy

I have a 2012 Impala Sedan and the installation was quite easy, Just needed a ratchet and about three sockets. Price in comparison to other batteries out there was much much more reasonable. You really do get more bang for the buck for this battery. and I highly Rx it to all.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Bigaymonababy
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Early failure, not even a year.
12/8/2013

Customer review by WisconsinTec

1.0 stars 12/8/2013 by WisconsinTec
by WisconsinTec

Failed 17 days before the ONE-YEAR anniversary of the install date. This had happened at another brand-store, too...so not an improbable-occurance. What happens next, (As I go for warrenty-service) will determine if I buy from Walmart-automotive again. At the other "Brand"'s store, they started the warrenty all-over-again...as if the battery was NEW.

Was this review helpful? (40) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
WisconsinTec
Milwaukee, Wi.
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
As good if not better battery than competitors
10/4/2014

Customer review by FenderGuitarGuy

5.0 stars 10/4/2014 by FenderGuitarGuy
by FenderGuitarGuy

I bought this battery from Walmart, right off the shelf. This is a great battery! Over the past 45 years, I have bought at least a dozen car batteries of almost every famous name brand on the market. I consider myself to be a highly advanced car mechanic hobbyist. I have had this battery in my car for more than four years. It still cranks like new. Even during this past severe NY winter, the battery cranked over the car every morning, like it was summertime. This battery performs as good as the best of them. So much so that I recently bought another one for my back-up car.

Was this review helpful? (20) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
FenderGuitarGuy
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Lasted 47 mos
12/28/2013

Customer review by oguz1

5.0 stars 12/28/2013 by oguz1
by oguz1

Mine lasted 4 years and I abuse the battery (forget lights on, never clean terminals) and it lasted longer than the stock battery. It would probably have gone longer had I not had a short somewhere - it was still holding charge but not as good (400cca).

Was this review helpful? (25) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
oguz1
PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Poor quality battery, great service.
7/7/2014

Customer review by An anonymous customer

2.0 stars 7/7/2014 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

HI - Well never thought I would right a review. This battery lasted 26 months - poor quality. However there is a silver lining. I had purchased the " max" which has a 3 year unconditional warranty. Walmart checked the battery and they confirmed what I thought i knew (after several recharges). They replaced the battery within 10 minutes with a new warranty good for another 3 years - I guess I should be happy - this could go on forever. To sum it up the battery is poor but the service was great.

Was this review helpful? (18) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
An anonymous customer
Would recommend to a friend? No
Weak
11/23/2015

Customer review by Series100

2.0 stars 11/23/2015 by Series100
by Series100

I purchased to replace original jeep battery which lasted 9 years. This battery lasted almost 2 years before starting to get weak. I will return for replacement but next time I'll go elsewhere and get a dependable battery.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Series100
Would recommend to a friend? No