Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 11 reviews | 3.7 out of 5

3.5 stars

11 reviews | 3.7 out of 5

3.5 stars

11 reviews | 3.7 out of 5

73%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
5
4 stars
2
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 stars
2
1-11 of 11 total reviews
73%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

Good Value for Emergency Power
8/30/2011

Customer review by Prepper

5.0 stars 8/30/2011 by Prepper
by Prepper

I have purchased 5 of these 125AH MAXX-29DC batteries over the last 8 years for use with 1200W 120VAC inverters to power my TV, computer, cable modem, lights, fan and etc. when a storm knocks out the electricity. The oldest one (2003) went bad two years ago when I accidentally let the water get low while it sat on cheap 10A charger for almost a week. The other three (2005, 2007, 2009) are still as strong as the one I bought last week. Four of them will keep everything I need running for a week (except the A/C!). They are a good price for one of the biggest batteries you will find on a shelf around town. Just pay the extra $25 for a smart charger and be sure to check the water level before and after you charge them, or once a month if you trickle charge them. The $6 plastic battery box works great to protect your carpet.

Was this review helpful? (54) (11)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Prepper
NoVa
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:A few times per year
Best for the money if properly maintained
9/5/2011

Customer review by Shadowmanace2002

4.0 stars 9/5/2011 by Shadowmanace2002
by Shadowmanace2002

If you check out bass pro their battery that is one size down costs $249.99 This battery is not maintainence free and as noted needs the water checked every time you charge and if the battery is going to be stored for a long time a trickle charger will help it last for many years. I used a minkota endura 30 on speed level 3 and got 6-7 hours of straigt run time and with 2 batteries I could fish all weekend. The battery at bass pro lasted 18 months this is less then 1/2 the price and has 25% more capacity.

Was this review helpful? (25) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Shadowmanace2002
Summervill, SC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
top price bottom value
8/24/2011

Customer review by j55555

1.0 stars 8/24/2011 by j55555
by j55555

18 month free replacement 24 warranty battery lasted 25 months used in my boat very little had to put my old ones back in they are 6 years old but still work

Was this review helpful? (20) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
j55555
Would recommend to a friend? No
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
Great value - lasted 5 years
9/29/2011

Customer review by boatowner100

5.0 stars 9/29/2011 by boatowner100
by boatowner100

had pair of them seperated by isolator switch. they always cranked my cranky yamaha 115 hp two stroke and had plenty of charge to do so. i am buying another pair.

Was this review helpful? (7) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
boatowner100
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
good battery at a good price
3/3/2012

Customer review by turborich

5.0 stars 3/3/2012 by turborich
by turborich

Let's be real about batteries for a minute. Everstart branded batteries sold at Wal-Mart are manufactured by Johnson controls, This is the same company who manufactures batteries for just about all of the "big box" stores as well as most of the discount auto parts stores. Johnson Controls also makes batteries for Interstate battery company, Ford, GM & Chrysler. These batteries are simply re-branded for different retailers. Just because you buy this battery from Wal-mart for $30 less then Interstate does not make it any less of a battery. I usually get about 4 years out of my "Everstart" automotive batteries and at least the same out of my Everstart Deep Cycle batteries. They are a good battery at a decent value. If you guys are only getting 1-2 years out of this battery it's because you have other issues such as leaving your battery hooked up when in storage (parasitic drains) or using the incorrect type of battery maintainer charger causing the water to boil. Read up on battery maintenance before blaming the battery for the real cause.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
turborich
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great Battery
2/10/2012

Customer review by Shadester

5.0 stars 2/10/2012 by Shadester
by Shadester

I've had two of these batteries in my boat for quite a few years. One was purchased in 2005 and one in 2007 and still running strong. I've kept them charged at all times and they haven't let me down. When they die, they will be replaced with new Maxx-29 batteries.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Shadester
Kansas City
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per month
Good as deep cycle, not as cranking source
11/22/2011

Customer review by wsunweed

3.0 stars 11/22/2011 by wsunweed
by wsunweed

Ive owned this Max marine all purpose battery, as well as the older max all purpose marine and a standard everstart marine deep cycle battery. None of these batteries can be depended on as your primary cranking battery!!! I have learned this the hard way but have found that they are still an excellent value for your deep cycle (trolling motor) purposes. A few years back I bought the largest MAX they had in the store because the advertised CCA / MCA specs and tried to use it. The battery was able to start my 60HP Mercury for only 1 month before I had to start using a jump box and eventually the jump-box was not even effective. Now I rely on an Optima (I am a cheapskate, but this was the best investment I have made in my boat) for my cranking batteries and Everstart for my troller. I am running a 3 battery (1 optima, 1 everstart DC marine, and one MAX) The MAX and the Everstart are isolated to only run accessories and troller. I have a Minn Kota Terrova 55AP and can run it all day and only on the very long days do I have to use the second Everstart. This is my second year now with this system and these batteries have continued to perform their assigned task. The way they are holding a charge right now while they are in storage leads me to believe that I will get one more season out of the Everstart batteries and 2 more seasons out of my optima.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
wsunweed
Lake Wallula, WA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
9/13/2011

Customer review by WHYME49999

4.0 stars 9/13/2011 by WHYME49999
by WHYME49999

I purchased two of the batteries and one of them will not keep a charge. The other one works great.

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
WHYME49999
Cranberry, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
2/15/2012

Customer review by PoisonIvy75

5.0 stars 2/15/2012 by PoisonIvy75
by PoisonIvy75

Ive used these kind of batteries in my boat for several years now. My 2 trolling batteries are five years old and still going strong. They have never let me down yet on the water. Lately ive been trolling for stripers, and some days I will run the trolling motor very hard. Especially in the wind. These two trolling batteries are the second set of Everstart Maxx Marine batteries I have had. The first set was equally as good. I just had to replace my starting battery wich is the same Maxx Marine battery. It was four years old. Last winter the livewell pump was acidentally turned on and ran the battery completely dead and then it went through some very cold weather. If this had not happened the battery would still be going strong. It still lasted another year though. Ive found that if the batteries are kept charged especially in the winter time they will last a long time. I suspect that is the same with all batteries. For the price and the warranty that these batteries carry they are a really good investment. Ive had a total of 6 of these batteries over a long period and they are good as long as they are taken care of like any battery should be.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
PoisonIvy75
Garfield, AR
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
2/19/2012

Customer review by fredone

3.0 stars 2/19/2012 by fredone
by fredone

I just took my 16 month old battery back to wal-mart because it boils over when charging (acid everywhere). This is at only 6 amp charge. The manager told me they DID NOT have a warranty on marine batteries.

Was this review helpful? (1) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
fredone
Would recommend to a friend? No
good price.. bad quality
12/6/2011

Customer review by oldwalmartshopper55

1.0 stars 12/6/2011 by oldwalmartshopper55
by oldwalmartshopper55

bought this battery July 2009 to use on a travel trailer.. now it won't hold a charge.. has always been on a trickle charger when not in use.. should last longer than 29 months!

Was this review helpful? (1) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
oldwalmartshopper55
palmetto, ga
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year