Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 17 reviews | 4 out of 5

4.0 stars

17 reviews | 4 out of 5

4.0 stars

17 reviews | 4 out of 5

88%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
7
4 stars
7
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 stars
2
1-12 of 12 total reviews
88%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

Very good combo
7/9/2011

Customer review by Beerdog27

5.0 stars 7/9/2011 by Beerdog27
by Beerdog27

I love this rod and reel for the money, Don't let the price fool you, I had a combo for 3 years and still performs great, I just bought another one. I fish about 6 months out of the year and do it every weekend of those 6 months. This combo is a great buy, and a great rod and reel, I fish for Northern Pike, Bass, Walleye, and other fish, most of the big fish I catch are from 5 lbs. - 30 lbs and this combo does the job with ease. I don't use any special line, I go from the store to the shore and use the combo right away. I would recommend this combo to beginners and pro's alike, just because the price is low does not mean you get a cheap made product, I love mine and have bought 6 of them as gifts and everyone who got one loves them. The price is low, the value is high, good product, lasts a long time

Was this review helpful? (85) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Beerdog27
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great rod and reel... line is cheap
7/24/2011

Customer review by slakr

4.0 stars 7/24/2011 by slakr
by slakr

For the price, you can't go wrong. this combo has worked flawlessly catching fish up to 10lbs. It comes with 8lb test line but it's cheap line so id put it at about 5lb actually. I've lost a few monsters because of line breaking, but after respooling with better line i have had absolutely no problem getting em all in the boat. I'd take this combo to a tournament to be honest.

Was this review helpful? (33) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
slakr
Machesney Park, Il
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Walmart associate
Great combo for a beginner
6/22/2011

Customer review by Fisherman13

5.0 stars 6/22/2011 by Fisherman13
by Fisherman13

This is a great combo for a beginner or as an extra rod for smaller fish. I have had mine for 3 years now and its still great!

Was this review helpful? (38) (11)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Fisherman13
East texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per month
Great Rod For the average joe
10/3/2011

Customer review by jgarc926

5.0 stars 10/3/2011 by jgarc926
by jgarc926

caught a 7 inch 10lb catfish on my first cast.

Was this review helpful? (12) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
jgarc926
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
THE PERFECT ROD AND REEL COMBO
4/22/2012

Customer review by Kdrigsby9

5.0 stars 4/22/2012 by Kdrigsby9
by Kdrigsby9

I was 100% satisfied with this combo. It casts long and short distances with ease. Its is the perfect length for precision handling. The reel is good and tight. It has a good smoothe drag and retrieve. The stock line is great but i recomend changing it out at least once a year. (I recomend to do that with any and every rod and reel) IF it ever needs repair (BIG IF) it is very easy to work on. I have caught small and large bream, average crappie, all sizes of large mouth bass, up to 5 pound catfish and as big as a 15 pound hybrid striper. It does it all

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Kdrigsby9
Alabama
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
I've caught a lot of fish with this combo.
12/5/2012

Customer review by Parrain

4.0 stars 12/5/2012 by Parrain
by Parrain

I bought 2 of these combos about 4 years ago. They get used mostly by the kids and almost entirely in saltwater. I have never had an issue with them. I have changed the line a couple of times and I rinse them very well with fresh water after each use. They still work like new.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Parrain
South Louisiana
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Its been great so far.
9/16/2013

Customer review by CamperM

4.0 stars 9/16/2013 by CamperM
by CamperM

I bought this combo last year in the color blue just to hold me over until my main fishing gear was shipped to me. Also the price at the time was hard to pass up, $12 dollars. During my short yet fruitful time with it I became very impressed with it. I wouldn't try to fish for anything over 8 pounds with the pre-spooled line but it handles pan fish and bass very well. Over all a good buy. Now with some usage on the reel, there is some small issues that have shown up. First one is the drag. It does a sputter once and awhile under a good fight. I'm not worried about this because with drag systems like this, they do wear out because the washer that is used is plastic and it does slow compress over time. That's why you should always have no drag set when you store your reels. Second issue is the reel itself. Since the reel is open faced the bar can sometime stick after casting. What I mean is that once you cast into the water and you start reeling in, the bar sometime will not close back until you manual close it. I've always closed the bar manually but I conducted this test and it seems it does stick from time to time. Again I wouldn't worry about it to much but if your fishing style is cast and click with the handle the it might be bothersome. If you do get this combo my suggestion is to get rid of the pre-spooled line and go with some better line and keep it under 10 pounds. Next I would ensure the drag is set properly and finally, have some fun with this combo. I still use mine and will continue to until something breaks.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
CamperM
Mid-Missouri
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
8/19/2012

Customer review by IvanB

5.0 stars 8/19/2012 by IvanB
by IvanB

very good product for the price and I use it so much and it is awesome.

Was this review helpful? (1) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
IvanB
Westfield, MA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Handle keeps coming loose.
10/2/2012

Customer review by drjpb3

4.0 stars 10/2/2012 by drjpb3
by drjpb3

I kept having problems with the handle coming loose. Then one day it came off and to the bottom of the lake it went. If you look for this reel on eBay they all have the handle missing. Shame because this was a great perch and gill fishing pole. But for the price?

Was this review helpful? (1) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
drjpb3
monroe mi
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
WARNING!!! DO NOT BUY!!
8/19/2011

Customer review by Vanetian

1.0 stars 8/19/2011 by Vanetian
by Vanetian

This rod and reel was a terrible experience! The first day of fishing it worked fine but on the second day the reel completely fell apart! I kid you not, half hour into the trip, I casted out and parts of my reel feel into the river! If you actually want to enjoy your fishing experience, invest a few more dollars and buy something of better quality! I seriously wish I had not wasted my time with this mess.

Was this review helpful? (5) (24)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Vanetian
St. Louis, MO
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
It works well. Good combo for the price
4/16/2013

Customer review by BestFisherman

5.0 stars 4/16/2013 by BestFisherman
by BestFisherman

I bought 3 of these for me and my children. They work very well and have an excellent price. Hope you have in existence to buy 2 more.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
BestFisherman
Dominican Republic
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Nice starter pole!
1/4/2013

Customer review by Neutral36116

4.0 stars 1/4/2013 by Neutral36116
by Neutral36116

I bought this pole as a starter pole and it got the job done. I bought it online for $9.97 so you can't beat that. It's not good for catching anything over 10 pounds but for the price it's great for younger kids or things of that nature.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Neutral36116
Sarasota, Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.