Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 11 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

4.5 stars

11 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

4.5 stars

11 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

91%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
8
4 stars
1
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 stars
0
1-11 of 11 total reviews
91%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

8/22/2011

Customer review by KentuckyReb

5.0 stars 8/22/2011 by KentuckyReb
by KentuckyReb

It is very well built for the money.

Was this review helpful? (10) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
KentuckyReb
Fulton Ky
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
My farthest casting reel at 10% of the price
4/16/2013

Customer review by PVcoach

5.0 stars 4/16/2013 by PVcoach
by PVcoach

I've been fishing for 35 years and this is my favorite reel because I get farther, more accurate casts, and no negative backlash like on my bait-caster reels. I originally bought this for my son, figuring it would be easy to use. When I used it, I was amazed. I've got 2-dozen Zebco 33 reels (various models, from steel to cheap) that are broken or don't work for various reasons and this one blows away all of them. I'm amazed that this reel outperforms my advanced reels with shim and gearing and titanium parts, for 10% the price. At the end of the day, is works, and it works better than ALL the others (I own about 90 rods/reels).

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
PVcoach
Mineral, VA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Best closed face real ever made
6/15/2012

Customer review by MrDWL

5.0 stars 6/15/2012 by MrDWL
by MrDWL

I went bream fishing with a friend of mine the other day who used a new Shakespeare ugly cast reel. I always use a Zebco micro-cast reel because I can throw further with it than I can with the Zebco 33 reels. He was able to throw further with his ugly cast than I could with my micro-cast and the ugly cast has 10 lb test line vs. the micro-cast's 4 lb test. Also every time I caught a fish on the micro-cast I had to pull the tightness out of the reel so it would cast the distance. He never had to do this. I was so impressed with it I bought three of these. Fantastic reel.

Was this review helpful? (8) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MrDWL
Camden, AR
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
excellent for the price
7/5/2012

Customer review by fishinfireman

5.0 stars 7/5/2012 by fishinfireman
by fishinfireman

Have purchased several spin cast reels for younger beginning children and this reel seems to hold up better and cast easier than most of the others so far. Comes with a good line weight for most pond fish. The actions are smooth and quiet with good gear ratios for most lures.

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
fishinfireman
Lincolnton,GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Great spincast!
1/28/2013

Customer review by moondown1

5.0 stars 1/28/2013 by moondown1
by moondown1

For the price nothing else I've tried comes close. It casts great. With an eighth oz rooster tail and ten pound test trilene I can cast about twenty yards that's incredible for such little weight. It reels in smooth as can be and seems to have strong durable gears. I've had mine for about a year with no trouble. Even reeled in a a 4lb 3 oz Largemouth with no trouble besides the normal fight such a fish puts up. Good fishin'!

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
moondown1
Charlotte NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
A good "cheap reel"
3/16/2014

Customer review by thebaconninja

5.0 stars 3/16/2014 by thebaconninja
by thebaconninja

I've used this about a dozen times now since I bought it. I have lots of nice baitcasters, but got this to cast light jigs and such when I go out john boating or farm pond fishing. Meets and exceeds my expectations. I bought a couple Zebco 33s before this, both failed within a couple of trips. This little Ugly Cast reel is more dependable, casts better, and retrieves better than a 33 all day long. The line that comes in it is pretty decent. Drag works well. I haven't caught anything major on it yet. But it's handled a few 3-4 lb largemouth bass with no problems. Well worth the money.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
thebaconninja
Martinsville, VA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Nice lil reel
8/14/2013

Customer review by SoCalFishR

4.0 stars 8/14/2013 by SoCalFishR
by SoCalFishR

I got this for my daughter for Trout and Bass fishing and it works well. She can cast it a country mile and it has worked well thus far.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
SoCalFishR
OC Cal.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Struggles and issues
5/13/2013

Customer review by Rustdog

3.0 stars 5/13/2013 by Rustdog
by Rustdog

Picked up this reel because it had good reviews so I thought maybe give it a try. At first it wouldn't cast or reel in properly then I had to deal with a lot of tangled line. So I had to cut half of the pre-spooled line off because it was awfully tangled. After I did that, it worked flawlessly. Kind of struggled when I was trying to reel in a Northern, too. In my opinion, the Zebco 33 reel was much better than this Shakespeare Ugly Cast Spincast Reel. If you want a good, quality reel I wouldn't recommend this reel. I've had better reels than this.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Rustdog
Springfield, MN
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:14 - 18
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Smooth, reliable, great choice for kids
8/11/2013

Customer review by aCstudent

5.0 stars 8/11/2013 by aCstudent
by aCstudent

In my experience, this is the reel of choice for taking kids along on a fishing trip without breaking the bank. It is a few bucks more than the cheapest Zebco, but I find the Ugly Cast to be smooth and reliable - very unlike my frustrating experiences with low-end Zebcos.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
aCstudent
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Shakespeare Ugly Cast Spincast Reel
4/4/2014

Customer review by MississippiSteve

5.0 stars 4/4/2014 by MississippiSteve
by MississippiSteve

Great spincast reel, been fishing with it for a couple of weeks now, waiting on the fish to start biting. Haven't had a malfunction with it yet after hundreds of casts. Got it for under $15 on WMT's daily 'sales' on their website. Love this reel.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MississippiSteve
Mid Mississippi
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Probably OK
3/21/2014

Customer review by Imhawg

3.0 stars 3/21/2014 by Imhawg
by Imhawg

Took 2 weeks to get the reel, and then it was broken. Probably not Walmart's fault, but a little bummed out !

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Imhawg
Kaufman, Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.